Early Los Angeles City Views (1925 +)

Historical Photos of Early Los Angeles

 
(ca. 1947)^ - Los Angeles Civic Center skyline is seen from Union Station.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1926, a measure was placed on the ballot giving Los Angeles voters the choice between the construction of a vast network of elevated railways or the construction of a much smaller Union Station to consolidate different railroad terminals. The election would take on racial connotations and become a defining moment in the development of Los Angeles. The proposed Union Station was located in the heart of what was Los Angeles' original Chinatown. Reflecting the prejudice of the era, the conservative Los Angeles Times, a lead opponent of elevated railways, argued in editorials that Union Station would not be built in the “midst of Chinatown” but rather would “forever do away with Chinatown and its environs.” Voters approved demolishing much of Chinatown to build Union Station by a narrow 51 to 48 percent.

When Union Station was opened in May 1939, it consolidated remaining service from its predecessors La Grande Station and Central Station. It was built on a grand scale and became known as "Last of the Great Railway Stations" built in the United States.^*

 

 

 
(1947)^ - Exterior view of L.A. Union Station. View is looking southwest from Union depot. City Hall is in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

Union Station was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. It also is listed as Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 101. Click HERE to see the LA Historic-Cultural Monuments list.

 

 

 
(1946)^ - Trains stranded in Los Angeles Union Station during a rail labor strike on May 24, 1946, include a former electric interurban car on the left in Track 12, now lettered ATSF and used for troop movement. Hundreds of coaches were parked at the station with no engines to move them.  

 

 

 

 
(1947)*#^ - View of Los Angeles Street looking north. The large trees in the upper left are in the LA Plaza and across the street is the Vincent Lugo Adobe house with its distinctive hipped roof and dormer windows. In the background can be seen both the Terminal Annex Post Office and Union Station.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles near the Plaza before construction of the Hollywood Freeway with Union Station in the background. The Plaza is seen to the left.  

 

Historical Notes

Union Station opened in May, 1939. The Hollywood Freeway would not be constructed until 1950.

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)*# - Night view of the L.A. Plaza, Union Station, and Terminal Annex Post Office.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Los Angeles Streetcars

 
(1947)^#^ - Los Angeles Transit Lines (ex-Los Angeles Railway) U Line car no. 304 is captured at 5th and
Wall Streets as an LATL crew installs new overhead for the trackless bus systems that will soon be deployed.
 

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Railway (Yellow Cars, LARy) system was sold in 1945 by Huntington's estate to National City Lines, a company that was purchasing transit systems across the country.  The company was renamed as Los Angeles Transit Lines and many of the lines were converted to buses in the late 1940s and early 1950s.

National City Lines, along with its investors that included Firestone Tire, Standard Oil of California (now Chevron Corporation) and General Motors, were later convicted of conspiring to monopolize the sale of buses and related products to local transit companies controlled by National City Lines and other companies in what became known as the General Motors streetcar conspiracy.^*

 

 

 

 
(1948)^#^ - Los Angeles Transit Lines R Line car no. 1375 as seen at 7th and Broadway, looking west.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1948)^#^ - View showing Los Angeles Transit R Line car no. 1391 heading south on Vermont Avenue at 6th Street.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^^## - Three types of tokens used by electric rail cars in early Los Angeles, Pacific Electric Railway, Los Angeles Railway, and Los Angeles Transit Lines  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1948)^#^^ - Panoramic view looking north of the very busy intersection of 9th - Main & Spring Streets.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1950)^#^^ - View of a very busy intersection of Main - Spring - & 9th Streets.  An old Los Angeles Railway manned pole tower (right) kept streetcar switch movements running smoothly.  

 

Historical Notes

In the shot taken on May 23, 1950, Los Angeles Transit Lines car no. 1293 heads south on Main Street working the 8 line. Waiting to make to right turn from Spring St, onto 9th is LATL car no. 1307 working the N line. In the distance, a PE car on the Watts-Sierra Vista line can be seen heading north on Main St. Soon, the N and Sierra Vista lines would be no more.  Andy Payne Photo, Ralph Cantos Collection^#^^

 

 

 

 
(1950)#* – View showing the Los Angeles Transit Lines’ “N” Line, at 9th & Spring Streets on last full day of run before closing down: September 9, 1950  

 

 

 

 

 
(1948)^*** - Wrecking crew tearing out streetcar tracks on Vermont Avenue in Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

After World War II, the Pacific Electric Railway system was slowly dismantled — replaced by buses and freeways.^^

 

 

 
(1958)*#^ - View showing the old streetcar tracks being torn up on Piedmont Street. The Arroyo Seco Library can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

Los Angeles' first municipal power pole is seen here on the corner of Piedmont and N. Figueroa streets (center-left). The pole remains standing today in its original location. Click HERE to see more in L.A.'s First Municipal Power Pole.

 

 
(1960)#* - A No.1522 Pacific Electric Red Car leaves the Pacific Electric Building at 6th and Main streets heading to Long Beach in Dec. 1960 shortly before service ended in 1961.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1961)#* - Old Pacific Electric red cars sit at Terminal Island junkyard, awaiting dismantling to become scrap metal.  

 

Historical Notes

Los Angeles’ Pacific Electric Red Cars were taken out of service in 1961. At their peak, they crisscrossed four counties on more than 1,000 miles of track.^^

 

 

 
(1966)^^#* - Decommissioned street cars, "Yellow Cars," awaiting salvage on Terminal Island.  

 

Historical Notes

The few remaining trolley-coach routes and narrow gauge streetcar routes of the former Los Angeles Railway "Yellow Cars" were removed in early 1963.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1949)^#^^ – View looking north on Spring Street from 6th Street. The Arcade Building can be seen on the left and the Merchants National Bank Building on the right (N/E corner).  

 

 

 

Los Angeles and the Automobile

 
(1949)**^ - Selling papers on Olive (May, 1949). Loomis Dean/LIFE  

 

Historical Notes

After World War II, the American manufacturing economy switched from producing war-related items to consumer goods. The United States became the world's largest manufacturer of automobiles, and Henry Ford's goal of 40 years earlier—that any man with a good job should be able to afford an automobile—was achieved.^*

 

 

 
(1950)^#^^ - Traffic jam on 6th Street during a transit strike, Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

More people joined the middle-class in the 1950s, with more money to spend, and the availability of consumer goods expanded along with the economy, including the automobile. Americans were spending more time in their automobiles and viewing them as an extension of their identity, which helped to fuel a boom in automobile sales. Most businesses directly or indirectly related to the auto industry saw tremendous growth during the decade. New designs and innovations appealed to a generation tuned into fashion and glamour, and the new-found freedom and way of life in the suburbs had several unforeseen consequences for the inner cities. The 1950s saw the beginning of white flight and urban sprawl, driven by increasing automobile ownership.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1949)*##* - Buick Super Sedanette 1949 at the garage - Southern California's car culture.  

 

Historical Notes

In just a decade after the end of WWII, one in six working Americans were employed either directly or indirectly in the automotive industry.^*

 

 

 
(1948)*^^* - Gilmore Self-Service Station located on the south side of Beverly Boulevard east of Fairfax Avenue. View is looking west toward Fairfax. The Fairfax Theatre sign (northwest corner of Fairfax and Beverly) is seen above and behind the Gilmore sign. The tower sign for Herbert's Drive-In Restaurant (southeast corner of Fairfax and Beverly) can barely be made out in the upper left of photo. CBS Television City would be built at this corner in 1952.  

 

Historical Notes

E. B. Gilmore appears to have invented the self-serve gas station. He created a “gas-a-teria” not far from Farmers Market where customers saved 5 cents per gallon by filling their own tanks. Those who preferred to have their gas pumped by “professionals” at the gas-a-teria got unusual service for a period of time when young ladies on roller skates would glide to the pumps to gas the cars up.^**^

 

 

 
(1948)^^** - Gilmore 'Self-Service' Gas Station at the southeast corner of Genesee Avenue and Beverly Boulevard. The self-service concept created a new dynamic for gas attendants.  

 

Historical Notes

A.F. Gilmore and his son, Earl Bell (E.B.) turned their Gilmore Oil Company into the largest distributor of petroleum products in the Western U.S. Through the 1940s and early 50s Gilmore Oil Company evolved into Mobil Oil Corporation.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1948)**** - A woman pumping fuel at the Gilmore ‘Self-Service’ Gas Station (one of the nation's first) near Fairfax and Beverly. Gilmore Field, the home of the Los Angeles Stars minor league team, is visible in the background. Note also the woman's two Dalmations at attention in the car.  

 

 

 

 
(1948)**^ – Aerial view of the area bounded by Beverly, Fairfax, 3rd Street, and Gardner Avenue.  The photo has been annotated and shows the location of Gilmore "Self-Service" Gas Station, Gilmore Stadium, Gilmore Field, Farmers Market, Gilmore Drive-In and the Pan Pacific Auditorium.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1870, when they moved west from Illinois, Arthur Fremont (A.F.) Gilmore and his partner bought two sizable farms, one of which was the 256-acre dairy farm at the corner of 3rd Street and Fairfax Ave. Gilmore gained control when the partnership dissolved later.

Gilmore Oil Company replaced the dairy farm when oil was discovered under the land during drilling for water in 1905. Earl Bell (E.B.) Gilmore, son of A.F. Gilmore, took over the family business. The younger Gilmore started midget car racing and brought professional football to Los Angeles. He built Gilmore Field for the Hollywood Stars baseball team, which was owned by Bing Crosby, Barbara Stanwyck, and Cecil B. DeMille.

Farmers Market started when a dozen nearby farmers would park their trucks on a field to sell their fresh produce to local residents. The cost to rent the space was fifty cents per day.^*

 

 

 
(1949)**^# - View looking southeast of Gilmore Field and Gilmore Stadium. The intersection of Fairfax Avenue and Beverly Boulevard is in the lower left of the photo. Herbert's Drive-In Restaurant stands on on the southeast corner. A portion of Farmers Market can be seen in the upper right and the Gilmore Self-Service Gas Station is out of view in the upper left.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1951, CBS Television City was built facing Beverly Boulevard on the site of Gilmore Stadium. In 1958 Gilmore Field was also demolished and the studio expanded on the grounds where baseball was once played.**^#

 

 

 
(1951)**^ – Aerial view looking southeast showing construction of the new CBS Television City at center.  In the foreground on the southeast corner of Beverly and Fairfax is Herbert's Drive-In Restaurant.  Further in the distance can be seen (L to R):  Gilmore Field, Gilmore Drive-In, Park La Brea Towers, and Farmers Market. Credit: CBS Photo Archive.    

 

 

 

 
(1960)**^ – Aerial view showing a completed CBS Television City.  Note that Gilmore Field is now also demolished but you can still make out the diamond. Credit: CBS Photo Archive.    

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Kiddieland

 
(1947)**^# - Postcard view showing a Merry-Go-Round at Beverly Park (a.k.a Kiddieland) located near the southwest corner of La Cienega and Beverly boulevards.  

 

Historical Notes

Kiddieland was a whimsical amusement park located on less than an acre on the corner of La Cienega and Beverly Boulevard, at the present home of the Beverly Center Mall.  Originally, the land parcel was part of an oil field, which was leased for development.

From 1945-1974, children growing up in Los Angeles had their own mini-fair year round. There were usually about twelve kid-sized rides, as well as animals, hot dogs and cotton candy. Parents and Grandparents sat on benches watching their children ride the merry-go-round, and birthday parties were celebrated at picnic tables.^^^*

Beverly Park was a perfect place to have a Birthday Party. It had a picinic area set aside for such occasions. But most important, it had enough fun rides to keep the kids busy for hours. They could even top off the day with pony rides at Ponyland, which was located just west of Kiddieland on Beverly Blvd.

 

 

 
(ca. 1947)#*#** - A man and two boys with sailor hats stand in front of the Pony Rides at Beverly Park Poneyland, adjacent to Kiddieland.  

 

Historical Notes

Next door to Kiddieland, there was another mom and pop operation which offered a different kind of fantasy to youngsters. This was Ponyland, which opened at 8536 Beverly Blvd, around where the Hard Rock Café is today.^^^*

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Southern California Amusement Parks

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Hollywood

 
(1947)**^ - View looking west on Hollywod Boulevard at the intersection with Vine Street. The Melody Lane Cafe is on the northwest corner.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1940, restaurateur Sidney Hoedemaker of the Pig 'n' Whistle - Melody Lane chain, leased the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine and transformed it into a Melody Lane restaurant. He hired coffee shop modern architect Wayne McAllister and S. Charles Lee to do the design. #^**

Click HERE for more history of the N/W Corner of Hollywood and Vine

 

 

 

 
(1949)^ - Postcard showing the intersection of Hollywood and Vine. The view is north on Vine Street. On the northwest corner is the Melody Lane Cafe and the rear of the Hotel Knickerbocker is also visible behind it.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1940s)**^* - Postcard view looking north on Vine Street from Sunset Boulevard. A multitude of signs and signboards can be seen throughout.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1949)^ - Looking north on Vine Street from Sunset Boulevard. Lots of automobile and pedestrian traffic. Signage on various buildings include American Broadcasting Company, Broadway-Hollywood, Brown Derby, and NBC Radio City.  

 

 

 

 
(1940s)^ - View of the NBC studio complex located at the northeast corner of Sunset and Vine.  The Broadway-Hollywood, Hollywood Plaza Hotel, and the Taft Building can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1942)*# - Hollywood night scene looking south on Vine Street past the Hollywood Plaza Hotel. Included are: Taft Building, Bowling, Equitable Building.  Photo by Dick Whittington  

 

 

 

 
(1940s)*^^ - Looking east down Hollywood Boulevard towards Vine Street and the Broadway-Hollywood Building.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Wilshire Boulevard

 
(1947)^- View looking east on Wilshire Boulevard toward Fairfax Avenue.  Various businesses, including the May Company Department Store at Wilshire and Fairfax (left), are seen on both sides of the boulevard. The Foster and Kleiser billboard (right of center) is advertising Farmers and Merchants National Bank of Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)+# – View looking east on Wilshire Boulevard toward Fairfax Avenue with the May Company Depatrment Store seen on the northeast corner.  There appears to be street improvement work on the north side of Wilshire Blvd.  Note the billboard advertising BOMB SHELTERS for $795.  A market ("__ Food Center" ) stands further west, and beyond that (out of view) is Simon's Drive-in located on the NW corner of Wilshire and Fairfax.  

 

 

 

Miracle Mile

 
(1940s)+## – Aerial view of Wilshire Blvd facing east at the Fairfax Ave, showing the May Company department store on the NE corner. Simon's Drive-in Restaurant can be seen at lower-left on the NW corner. This intersection was referred to as the western gateway to the 'Miracle Mile'.  

 

Historical Notes

The Miracle Mile is an area in the Mid-Wilshire and Mid-City West regions consisting of a 1.5-mile stretch of Wilshire Boulevard between Fairfax and Highland Avenues.  The May Company Building, now LACMA West, marks the western border of Miracle Mile's "Museum Row".^*

 

 

 

 
(1947)^ - Postcard view of the beginning of the Miracle Mile, at Fairfax and Wilshire, with the May Company Building prominently seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1948)*# - View of the Miracle Mile and the May Company Building, looking east down Wilshire Boulevard. Different styles of streetlights run up and down Wilshire Boulevard. Click HERE to see more in Early Los Angeles Street Lights.  

 

Historical Notes

The May Company Building has a Streamline Modern style with gold corner towers. Built in 1940. Architects: A.C. Martin, S.A. Marx.^

In 1992, the building was designated LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 566 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1940s)^ - View looking at the intersection of Fairfax Avenue and Wilshire Boulevard. The May Company Building can be seen on the northeast corner.  

 

Historical Notes

May Company California was established in 1923 when May acquired A. Hamburger & Sons Co.(founded in 1881 by Asher Hamburger). The company operated exclusively in Southern California until 1989 when May Department Stores had dissolved Goldwater's, based in Scottsdale, Arizona and transferred its Las Vegas, Nevada store to May Company California.^*

 

 

 

 
(1940s)+## – Panoramic view looking east on Wilshire Boulevard through the Fairfax Avenue intersection.  We can see the May Company department store (now part of LACMA and future home of the Hollywood museum of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences), Prudential Building, Coulter's Department Store, and the Arthur Murray dance studio. This “Miracle Mile” stretch of Wilshire Blvd is busy now but back then it looks positively jam-packed!  

 

 

 

 

 
(1949)**^ - View looking east of Wilshire Boulevard from Curson Avenue showing the heart of the Miracle Mile.  

 

Historical Notes

Developer A. W. Ross saw potential for the area and developed Wilshire as a commercial district to rival downtown Los Angeles. Ross's insight was that the form and scale of his Wilshire strip should attract and serve automobile traffic rather than pedestrian shoppers. He applied this design both to the street itself and to the buildings lining it.^*

 

 

 
(1949)^ - Looking east down Wilshire Boulevard at Burnside Avenue in the Miracle Mile. Silverwoods Clothes in the Wilshire Tower, the Phelps-Terkel building, and Wetherby-Kayser are seen at right. Traffic is traveling down in both directions on Wilshire. F.B. Silverwood founded his first store at 124 So. Spring Street in the 1890s  

 

Historical Notes

A. W. Ross gave Wilshire various "firsts," including dedicated left-turn lanes and the first timed traffic lights in the United States; he also required merchants to provide automobile parking lots, all to aid traffic flow. Major retailers such as Desmonds, Silverwood's, May Co., Coulter's, Mullen & Bluett, Myer Siegel, and Seibu eventually spread across Wilshire Boulevard from Fairfax to La Brea. Ross ordered that all building facades along Wilshire be engineered so as to be best seen through a windshield. This meant larger, bolder, simpler signage; longer buildings in a larger scale, oriented toward the boulevard; and architectural ornament and massing perceptible at 30 MPH instead of at walking speed. These simplified building forms were driven by practical requirements but contributed to the stylistic language of Art Deco and Streamline Moderne.

A sculptural bust of Ross stands at 5800 Wilshire, with the inscription, "A. W. Ross, founder and developer of the Miracle Mile. Vision to see, wisdom to know, courage to do." ^*

 

 

 
(1949)^ - View of Bullock's Wilshire department store from a block east at Virgil Avenue where it meets Wilshire Blvd. Neighboring businesses, including: a 76 Union Oil gas station, Page Boy Maternity Shop, I Magnin & Co. are also visible throughout the image. On the right, a few cars traveling east on Wilshire are seen stopped at the light at Virgil.  

 

 

 

 
(1950)^ - Looking down Wilshire Boulevard from near Mariposa Avenue, showing the Chapman Park Hotel (left), the Brown Derby (left), the Gaylord Apartments (upper left), Bullock's Wilshire (left of center), Immanuel Presbyterian Church (left of center), the pylon identifying the entrance for the Ambassador Hotel (left of center), and two Foster and Kleiser billboards.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)**^ - Postcard view of Wilshire Boulevard looking east toward the intersection of Alexandria Avenue and Wilshire. From left to right can be seen the Zephyr Room, Brown Derby Restaurant and the Gaylord Apartments. Across the street, on the south side of Wilshire, is the entrance to the Ambassador Hotel.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby chain was started by Robert H. Cobb and Herbert Somborn (a former husband of film star Gloria Swanson). Bob Cobb is known as the inventor of the California Cobb Salad. He was also part owner of the Hollywood Stars baseball team.

The Brown Derby was moved in 1937 to 3377 Wilshire Boulevard at the northeast corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Alexandria Avenue, about a block from its previous location (and about a block north of the Ambassador Hotel).^*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1947)^ - A postcard view of the Zephyr Room at Chapman Park Hotel, located at 615 South Alexandria Avenue. The "Packard Bell" building, with 2 radio towers near it, is also visible.
 

 

Historical Notes

Architect A. C. Martin designed the1931 Cord Building located at 3443 Wilshire Boulevard, which featured a sandstone and marble exterior and a 30 foot tower. E.L. Cord, owner of a Fuller Motors dealership and producer of Auburn and Cord automobiles, chose his business initials KFAC for a new radio station, and in 1932 the Federal Radio Commission approved a new location for the station and towers in the penthouse of the dealership. In 1945 Packard-Bell moved in and the building was renamed. The building underwent a major remodel in 1949.^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)^ - View showing the intersection of Wilshire Boulevard and Western Avenue, looking east down Wilshire. The Pellissier Building / Wiltern Theatre are on the SE corner.  Across the street, SW corner, can be seen the saucer-shaped Melody Lane Drive-in Restaurant.  In the distance is the Wilshire Boulevard Temple with its immense Byzantine revival dome.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1952)##^# – View looking east on Wilshire Boulevard from S. Wilton Place showing several large signboards on both sides of the street.  Three tall buildings can be in the distance (l to r):  St. James' Episcopal Church, Wilshire Professional Building (N/E corner of Wilshire and St. Andrews) and the Pellissier Building (S/E corner of Wilshire and Western). Note the ornate "Wilshire Special" streetlamps. Click HERE to see more in Early LA Streetlights.  

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Westwood Village

 
(ca. 1940)**^* - Postcard view of Westwood Boulevard looking north, circa 1940.  

 

Westwood and UCLA were developed on the lands of the historic 'Wolfskill Ranch', a 3,000-acre parcel that was purchased by Arthur Letts, the successful founder of the Broadway, and Bullock's department stores, in 1919. Upon Arthur Lett's death, his son-in-law, Harold Janss, vice president of Janss Investment Company, inherited the land and started to develop the area in 1922.^*

 

 

 

 
(1949)**^ - View looking northwest down Broxton Avenue in Westwood Village. The Fox Theater tower stands in line with the tall palm trees along the center median of Broxton. The towers of the Sears and Bank of America buildings can also be seen.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1925, in a deal to get the University of California, Los Angeles built, the Janss Investment Company sold 375 acres to the cities of Los Angeles, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills at the bargain price of $1.2 million — about a quarter of its value. The cities, whose voters had passed bond issues to pay for the site, turned around and donated it to the state. While the UCLA campus was being built, Janss Investment Company went to work developing the Westwood Village commercial area and surrounding residential neighborhoods.^*

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of UCLA

 

* * * * *

 

 

UCLA

 
(ca. 1953)*# – Aerial view looking west showing the University of California Los Angeles campus with the Sawtelle Reservoir seen at center-right. The two large quads in the foreground at right are situated where a gully once existed with a bridge over it connecting the campus to Hilgard Avenue.  

 

 

 

Before and After

 
 
(1929)^ vs. (ca 1953)^^ - Aerial view looking west of the UCLA campus before and after the gully was filled-in.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Construction of UCLA

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

West Los Angeles

 
(1950s)*# - Aerial view facing west over the Rancho Golf Courses, the corner of the Hillcrest Country Club, the Cheviot Hills Recreation Center, Motor Avenue and Monte Mar Drive. In the distance are the Santa Monica Mountains, the City of Santa Monica and the Pacific Ocean.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Santa Monica Air Line (Pacific Electric)

 
(1953)#* - A Pacific Electric Santa Monica Air Line car travels eastbound on Exposition Boulevard in front of USC's Mudd Memorial Hall.  

 

Historical Notes

Today’s Expo Line has its origins in a railroad between Los Angeles and Santa Monica that went into service in 1875. The Los Angeles & Independence Railroad later became the PE Air Line (seen above), the direct ancestor of the Expo Line.

Beginning at the Pacific Electric Building at 6th and Main streets in downtown Los Angeles, the line traveled south with other lines alongside what is now Long Beach Boulevard and the Blue Line. At 25th Street, the Air Line turned west onto an exclusive right-of-way alongside Exposition Boulevard toward Santa Monica Beach. The currently abandoned section between the Blue Line tracks and USC is the primary difference between today's Expo Line and Air Line routes.^*

 

 

 
(1953)#* - A Santa Monica Air Line car travels west through Culver City at Venice and Robertson. Photo by Alan Weeks, courtesy of the Metro Transportation Library and Archive.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1875 as the steam-powered Los Angeles and Independence Railroad, it was intended to bring mining ore to ships in Santa Monica harbor's Long Wharf and as a passenger excursion train to the beach. Eventually purchased by Southern Pacific Railroad, it was leased to the Los Angeles Pacific Railroad for electric passenger and light freight use in 1909. Pacific Electric purchased the line in 1911, along with all the other lines owned by Los Angeles Pacific.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1953)#* - A PE Red Car traveling on the Santa Monica Air Line crosses over Motor Avenue. Photo by Alan Weeks, courtesy of the Metro Transportation Library and Archive.  

 

Historical Notes

With the (then) sparse population along much of the route, service on the Air Line was reduced as early as 1924 with passenger cars running only during rush hours. At that point most passengers traveled to Santa Monica on a different rail line which ran primarily down Santa Monica Boulevard.

Passenger service on the Air Line was completely discontinued on September 30, 1953, however freight service remained. Because the Air Line route was also connected to the Santa Monica Boulevard line via tracks on Sepulveda Boulevard, it was the only way for freight trains to reach West Los Angeles, Beverly Hills and Hollywood warehouses (usually at night due to city regulations).

Track replacement and various construction tasks began in 2006, and the first phase of the "Expo Line" from downtown Los Angeles to Culver City opened in April, 2012. Service for the second phase to Santa Monica began on May 20, 2016.^*

 

 

Santa Monica

 
(1950)*#^# - Surfing California. Surfing is more than a sport....it's a way of life!  

 

Historical Notes

“Out of water, I am nothing.” — Duke Kahanamoku

“Surfing’s one of the few sports where you look ahead to see what’s behind.” — Laird Hamilton

“One of the greatest things about the sport of surfing is that you need only three things: your body, a surfboard, and a wave.” — Naima Green

 

 

 
(1968)^ - View of a young surfer riding a wave in Santa Monica.
 

 

 

 

 
(1988)^ - Santa Monica Pier looking north on the first day of Spring. Photograph dated: March 21, 1988.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2011)^#^^ - Panoramic view showing the California Incline as seen from the Santa Monica Pier. LA Times Photo Archives  

 

Historical Notes

The California Incline was originally a walkway known as Sunset Trail, which was cut through the bluffs to provide beach access to pedestrians in 1896. It has become a vital street in Santa Monica, linking the PCH with Ocean Avenue, and California Avenue, bisecting Palisades Park. It begins at an intersection with Ocean Avenue and California Avenue, at the top of the palisades, extending to the PCH at the base of the bluffs.^*

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^ - Tall palm trees line the walking path in Palisades Park. The Santa Monica beach can be seen in the background.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Santa Monica

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Downtown

 
(1940s)*# - Aerial view of downtown Los Angeles from the south. City Hall stands alone as the tallest building.  

 

Historical Notes

From its completion in 1928 until 1964, City Hall was the tallest building in Los Angeles. It's distinctive tower was based on the purported shape of the Mausoleum of Mausolus and shows the influence of the Los Angeles Central Library, completed soon before the structure was started.^*

 

 

 
(1940)^ - View of Downtown L.A. as seen from the Richfield Building. The Flower St. side of the Central Library Building appears in the foreground. The library's park has been partly taken for auto parking. The parking lot would later engulf the remaining grassland. To the right appears a corner of the California Club. On the left, across from the library, is the Sunkist building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Central Library Building was constructed between 1922 and 1926. Architect Bertram Grosvenor Goodhue designed the building with influences of ancient Egyptian and Mediterranean Revival architecture. The central tower is topped with a tiled mosaic pyramid with suns on the sides with a hand holding a torch representing the "Light of Learning" at the apex. Other elements include sphinxes, snakes, and celestial mosaics. It has sculptural elements by the preeminent American architectural sculptor Lee Lawrie, similar to the Nebraska State Capitol in Lincoln, Nebraska, also designed by Goodhue.^*

 

 

 
(1949)^ - View looking southwest showing the Central Library as seen from the corner of 5th and Grand streets. Behind the library stands a tall tower with the name Richfield on it and to the left another sign which reads "Jesus Saves." The California Club can also be seen on the left.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally named the Central Library, the building was first renamed in honor of the longtime president of the Board of Library Commissioners and President of the University of Southern California, Rufus B. von KleinSmid. The new wing of Central Library, completed in 1993, was named in honor of former mayor Tom Bradley. The complex (i.e., the original Goodhue building and the Bradley wing) was subsequently renamed in 2001 for former Los Angeles Mayor Richard Riordan, as the Richard Riordan Central Library.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Arroyo Seco Parkway (later Pasadena Freeway)

 
(1940)^ - Caption reads, "First motorists to travel over the new link are pictured at the Avenue 53 bridge. The freeway is divided in the center by a small parkway. Each side has three wide lanes for traffic. The new part runs from Avenue 40 to Orange Grove drive. The Glenarm-Fair Oaks section has been open some time." Photograph dated: July 20, 1940. The Southwest Museum can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Arroyo Seco Parkway was the first freeway in California and the western United States. It connects Los Angeles with Pasadena alongside the Arroyo Seco seasonal river. It is notable not only for being the first, mostly opened in 1940, but for representing the transitional phase between early parkways and modern freeways. It conformed to modern standards when it was built, but is now regarded as a narrow, outdated roadway. ^*

 

 

 

 
(1940)^^^* – View showing a lone car on the Arroyo Seco Parkway just after the highway opened.  The Southwest Museum can be seen in the background.  Courtesy of the Automobile Club of Southern California Archives.  

 

Historical Notes

The Parkway was designed with two 11–12 foot lanes and one ten-foot shoulder in each direction, with the wider inside (passing) lanes paved in black asphalt concrete and the outside lanes paved in gray Portland cement concrete.^*

 

 

 

 
(1941)*# - The Arroyo Seco Parkway shortly after it was completed. View is looking south from Avenue 60. Note the exit on the right is virtually a perpendicular right turn without an off-ramp or transition.  

 

Historical Notes

Before the Parkway was built, cottonwoods filled the Arroyo Seco at Avenue 26. The first known survey for a permanent roadway through the Arroyo was made by T.D. Allen of Pasadena in 1895, and in 1897 two more proposals were made, one for a scenic parkway and the other for a commuter cycleway.^*

 

 

 
(1942)*# - View of a 1941 Ford Woody, with the bumper-guard and dual spotlights options, waiting at the stop sign before proceeding unto the Arroyo Seco Parkway.  

 

Historical Notes

The Arroyo Seco Parkway design, state-of-the-art when built, included tight "right-in/right-out" access with a recommended exit speed of 5 miles per hour and stop signs on the entrance ramps; there are no acceleration or deceleration lanes.^*

 

 

 
(1947)**^ – View showing the Arroyo Seco Parkway with traffic backed up on the southbound lanes heading into downtown Los Angeles on the Figueroa Street Viaduct.  

 

Historical Notes

The state legislature designated the original section, north of the Figueroa Street Viaduct, as a "California Historic Parkway" (part of the State Scenic Highway System reserved for freeways built before 1945) in 1993. The American Society of Civil Engineers named it a National Civil Engineering Landmark in 1999, and it became a National Scenic Byway in 2002 and was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2011.^*

 

 

 

 
(1940s)*#^ – View looking at downtown Los Angeles from the Arroyo Seco Parkway. The road heading towards the Hall of Justice is N. Hill Street. On the right is a road running around the edge of Chavez Ravine over a decade before the opening of Dodger Stadium.  

 

 

 

 
(1948)^ - View looking north on the Arroyo Seco Parkway showing a car pulled over in the emergency turnout.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1949)^ – View of the Arroyo Seco Parkway, looking south from Bishops Road Bridge. The freeway is divided in the center by a small parkway. Each side has four wide lanes for traffic - though the southbound portion is not visible due to the parkway.  

 

 

 

 
(1949)^ - View is of the Arroyo Seco Parkway, looking south from Bishops Road Bridge. Photograph dated January 31, 1949.  

 

 

 

 
(1949)^#^^ – View showing the outbound Arroyo Seco Parkway at the end of a work day.  

 

Historical Notes

Today, the Arroyo Seco Parkway remains the most direct route between downtown Los Angeles and Pasadena despite its flaws; the only reasonable freeway alternate (which trucks must use) is the Glendale Freeway to the west, which is itself not easily reached by trucks from downtown Los Angeles. ^*

 

 

 

 
(1955)*# - View looking north of Arroyo Seco Parkway (Pasadena Freeway) from College St. bridge. In the distance can be seen the San Gabriel Mountains partly covered with snow. Note the ornate streetlight on the bridge (Click HERE to see more in Early Streetlights in L.A.  

 

Historical Notes

Between 1954 and 2010, it was officially designated the Pasadena Freeway. In 2010, as part of plans to revitalize its scenic value and improve safety, Caltrans renamed the roadway back to its original name. All the bridges built during parkway construction remain, as do four older bridges that crossed the Arroyo Seco before the 1930s.^*

 

 

 
(1950)^ - A crowd of passengers wait to board the Pacific Electric Red Car No. 1148 at 6th and Main, going to Pasadena via Oak Knoll. A man carries a large package labeled "rush" and "fragile".  

 

Historical Notes

The Red Car trolley line to Pasadena made its last run in 1950. The caption for the Oct. 3, 1950 photo read: "Its days are numbered. After Sunday, no more P.E. Oak Knoll Red Cars will rumble from Sixth and Main (above) to Pasadena".^

 

 

 
(1950)*^^ - A Pacific Electric street car turns onto Colorado from Lake, on the last day of the line’s operation in Pasadena, October 7, 1950.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Pasadena

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)^ - Lights of Los Angeles and adjoining cities, as far distant as 60 miles, as seen from Inspiration Point, Mt. Lowe, 5,000 feet above the sea. Fifty-six cities may be viewed on clear nights from this vantage point, the thrill of which attracts thousands of visitors annually.
 

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Mt. Lowe

 

* * * * *

 

 

Highland Park

 
(1955)^#^ - Los Angeles Transit Lines (ex-Los Angeles Railway) W Line streetcar no. 1553 passes in front of tall spring grass heading northbound on Marmion Way with the Southwest Museum in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1914, the Southwest Museum was Los Angeles’ first world-class museums that had an immense collection of Native-American and Pre-Columbian artifacts (collected by Charles Lummis during his travels throughout the Southwest and South America).  Click HERE to see more.

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^#^ – View looking south on N. Ave 61 showing Los Angeles Railway streetcar no. 1544 about to make a turn Monte Vista Street.  The Classic Greek-style building on the left is DWP’s Power Distribution Station No. 2.  

 

Historical Notes

On April 21, 1962, Distribution Station No. 2 was designated Los Angeles Historical-Cultural Monument No. 558 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 

 
(1955)^#^ - Los Angeles Transit streetcar no. 1381 looking is turning west unto Monte Vista Street from N. Ave 61 with DWP Power Distribution Station No. 2 in the background.  Alan Weeks Photo Collection  

 

Historical Notes

Click HERE to see more Early Power Distribution Stations.

 

 

 
(1950s)##^# – Streetcar no. 1380 heading southbound on York Boulevard at N. Ave 50 in Highland Park.  The York Theatre can be seen in the background. Click HERE to see contemporary view.  

 

Historical Notes

The York Theatre, located in the Highland Park district, opened in 1923. It became a Korean Church in about 1985.

 

 

Glendale

 
(n.d.)^ - Exterior view of the surprisingly empty railroad station at Glendale. This is the "back" portion of the station, where travelers wait for their trains to arrive and/or depart. Two stationary freight cars can be seen at the rear of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Glendale Southern Pacific Railroad Depot (now known as Glendale Amtrak/Metrolink Station) was designed in the Mission Revival Style by architects Maurice Couchot and Kenneth MacDonald, Jr. and built by the Southern Pacific Railroad in 1923; replacing an older one that dated as far back as 1883. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on May 2, 1997 - #97000376, and has undergone an extensive renovation since then. The Glendale train station is located at 400 Cerritos Avenue.^

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)^^^^ - Southern Pacific #4194 ‘Tehachapi’ Night Train 55 at the Glendale Station.  Photo by Richard Steinheimer.  

 

 

 

 
(1950)^ - Looking southwest from Fletcher Drive where it meets Glendale Boulevard in Silver Lake. A few homes are present on the hillside and a few different signs are visible. To the left of the Foster and Kleiser billboard promoting Grant's Scotch Whiskey, is a sign for the Thistle Inn, located two blocks south at 2395 Glendale Blvd.  

 

 

 

 
(1955)##^# - View showing a Pacific Electric Car traveling down Glendale Boulevard in front of Echo Park.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1948)^#^ – View looking south showing Los Angeles Railway Edgeware Shuttle Line streetcar no. 1051 stopped at Edgeware and Temple. Note the gas station to the right and Edgeware Pharmacy in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pharmacy building is still there, now George’s Liquor market. The houses up the street just beyond the old pharmacy building are gone; the land was taken over by the Betty Plasencia School for new class rooms. The land Where the streetcar, lady and the gas station are was excavated away to create the trench for the 101 freeway. Where the photographer was standing is now over the south bound fast lane of the 101. The building to the right of the old pharmacy is also still there but has been stuccoed over and painted off white.

Click HERE to see contemporary view.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Park La Brea

 
(ca. 1947)**^# – View showing Park La Brea under construction. Richard Wojcik Collection.  

 

Historical Notes

At 4,255 units, the complex with its octagonal street layout is the largest housing development west of the Mississippi. Thirty-one 2-story garden apt. buildings opened in 1941 and eighteen 13-story towers opened in 1948.**^#

 

 

 
(1952)*# – View looking northeast showing Park La Brea as seen from the building formerly known as Prudential on Wilshire Boulevard. 6th Street can be seen running across the center of photo.  

 

Historical Notes

Park La Brea represents something of a historical anomaly, having been built at a time when most visions of Los Angeles' development were dominated by low-rise tracts of single-family houses along freeway corridors. The street layout was created in a masonic pattern as a reference to the masonic heritage of the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, which built the complex toward the end of World War II and immediately thereafter (1944 - 1948).^*

 

 

 
(1954)^*** – Aerial view looking west showing Park La Brea at upper center-right.  The intersection of Wilishire and La Brea is at lower-left.  

 

Historical Notes

Park La Brea was originally conceived as an entirely low-rise development. Construction began in 1941, but building restrictions during WWII halted work in 1945 with only the western half of the site completed. By the time construction resumed in 1948, the continued demand for postwar housing had prompted MetLife to dramatically revise the project to provide greater density and site amenities. The second phase of development included 18 towers rising to the city’s 13-story height limit in addition to three groups of two-story buildings matching those already built.*^#

 

 

 
(1954)*# - Aerial view looking northwest over the Park La Brea apartment complex and surrounding area.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1957)^ - Aerial view of Park La Brea and the Miracle Mile; view is looking east. 3rd Street is visible from bottom left and jars to upper left; Pan Pacific Park peeks from bottom left corner; the Gilmore Drive-In is also visible; 6th Street runs from bottom right to middle top; Hancock Park peeks from bottom right corner; Wilshire Boulevard can be seen from lower right to middle top; and La Brea Avenue is horizontally at upper middle.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)^ - A closer view of Park La Brea and the Miracle Mile; view is looking southeast. 3rd Street is visible from bottom left and jars to top left; Pan Pacific Park peeks from bottom left corner; 6th Street runs from lower right to middle top; Hancock Park peeks from lower middle; Wilshire Boulevard can be seen from upper right to top right; and La Brea Avenue is horizontally at top.  

 

Historical Notes

Park La Brea is the largest housing development in the U.S. west of the Mississippi River. It sits on 160 acres of land and has  4,255 units located in 18 13-story towers and 31 2-story "garden apartment buildings".^*

 

 

 
1951)^ - Aerial view of Park La Brea looking northeast. All of the 18, 13-story towers are highlighted in this photo. They stand behind the 2-story garden apartment buildings, most of which were built in the earlier development phase.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)^ - Aerial view taken from a blimp showing one of several roundabouts in the Park La Brea housing development.  

 

 

 

 
(1965)^ - Aerial view is looking east from Fairfax with Wilshire on the right. View shows the Park La Brea Towers and Miracle Mile area. The towers, a residential community, was built at a cost of $40,000,000, which includes 18 apartment buildings 13-stories high, and business and park areas. Photo dated: February 10, 1965.  

 

* * * * *

 

Pershing Square

 
(1951)^ - Aerial view looking southwest showing Pershing Square and surrounding buildings. The Biltmore Hotel is seen in the upper right.  

 

Historical Notes

The entire park was demolished and excavated in 1952 to build an underground parking garage. In its place was concrete topped by a thin layer of soil with a broad expanse of lawn.^*

 

 

 
(1954)^ - View from above onto Pershing Square showing a large central area of cement or blacktop and plantings on the four sides, Jan. 26, 1954. This is the top of the undergound garage before landscaping was added to the central area.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1956)##^# – Postcard view looking southwest showing Pershing Square with two fountains at center.  The Biltmore Hotel is seen at upper-right (SW corner of 5th and Olive streets).  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2011)*#^ – View looking southwest showing Pershing Square as it appears today with the Biltmore Hotel on the right and the downtown skyline in the background.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Pershing Square in the 1800s.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Hollywood Freeway (Downtown)

 
(1945)^ - Aerial view over Bunker Hill looking east toward the Los Angeles Civic Center before construction of the Hollywood and Harbor freeways. Temple Street is on the left running away from the camera. Court Street is on the right running toward the Old Hall of Records and City Hall buildings. A small section of First Street can be seen at upper-right. Figueroa Street runs horizontally at bottom.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1948)^ - View looking west across North Figueroa Street toward the Civic Center.  The outlines indicate the area where the Hollywood Freeway and the four-level bridge is to be constructed. Fort Moore Hill and Bunker Hill are being dug up to make way for the freeway.  

 

Historical Notes

Photo note reads:  Historic Bunker Hill is 'going into history' as workmen push construction of the Hollywood Freeway. The sound of shovels and tractors is roaring heavily these days along North Figueroa Street, between Sunset and Temple. In this area workmen are busily cutting away sections of Fort Moore Hill or Bunker Hill to make way for the construction of the Hollywood Freeway and the four-level bridge. This view shows the area, with historic Bunker Hill almost "gone." Photo dated: May 11, 1948.^

 

 

 

 
(1948)^#^^ – Aerial detailed view looking northwest over the intersection of Figueroa and Temple streets (lower-left) showing the initial excavation for the Four Level Interchange.  Custer Street School is at center/left on Temple between Beaudry and Custer. Sunset Boulevard is at the right edge, a shoo-fly (detour) has been built to allow for the construction. LA Times Photo Archive, February 16, 1948  

 

 

 

 

 
(1949)**^ - Looking northwest across Figueroa Street at the start of construction of the stack interchange between the Hollywood, Arroyo Seco (Pasadena), and Harbor freeways. Temple Street is on the left, Sunset on the right. The large body of water at upper-center is Echo Park.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Freeway’s segment through Hollywood was the first to be built through a heavily populated area and requiring the moving or demolition of many buildings, including Rudolph Valentino's former home in Whitley Heights. The freeway was also designed to curve around KTTV Studios and Hollywood Presbyterian Church. Much of the rubble and debris from the buildings removed for the freeway's construction was dumped into Chávez Ravine, the current home to Dodger Stadium.^*

 

 

 

 
(1949)*#^ – Aerial view looking northwest showing an overlay of the future Hollywood Freeway alignment with the 4-level Interchange location shown at top near Figueroa Street.  Source:  California Highways & Public Works Magazine, May/June 1949. Note that the Hollywood Freeway is referred to as the Hollywood Parkway.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1949)**^ - Looking east during construction of the 101 Freeway from Figueroa. The old Los Angeles High School building is still standing and is visible in the upper-left of photo.  

 

 

 

 
(1949)^ - Aerial view showing the construction of the Four Level Interchange (top of photo)l. Note that Bunker Hill is still covered with apartment buildings and houses.  

 

Historical Notes

The Four Level Interchange was the first stack interchange in the world. Completed in 1949 and fully opened in 1953 at the northern edge of Downtown it connects U.S. Route 101 (Hollywood Freeway and Santa Ana Freeway) to State Route 110 (Harbor Freeway and Arroyo Seco Parkway).^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)*# - Aerial view looking west showing the 4-level interchange where the Hollywood Freeway (U.S. 101) and the Pasadena/Harbor Freeway (SR 110) meet.  Grand Avenue is running left to right at the bottom. Figueroa Street goes under the freeway. It intersects with Boston Street to the right of the freeway bridges. The inbound Hollywood can be seen exiting at the Hope/Temple exit in the lower-left.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1951)^#^^ – View looking west from the City Hall tower on a clear day as the Hollywood and Harbor Freeways come on line.  The inbound Hollywood exits at Hope/Temple at center-right.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1951)+# – View showing the Silver Lake Boulevard exit off the Hollywood Freeway (the 101).  This was one of the last exits before the freeway would dead-end near the four level interchange.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1951)^ - Dedication ceremonies will send cars rolling along the new $7,000,000 link of Hollywood Freeway, reaching from Alameda to Grand Avenue. Bridge shown is the Broadway Bridge. Towards the right is City Hall. Photo dated: December 20, 1951. The section of the freeway that ran all the way through downtown wasn't completed until 1954.  

 

 

 

 
(1953)^^^* - Looking west showing Civic Center and an unoccupied Hollywood Freeway.  

 

 

 

 
(1953)*# - View looking west toward the Hollywood Freeway showing the Aliso Street Project of the Santa Ana Freeway.  Cars are seen being diverted around the construction area. Brew 102 is in the lower right.  

 

Historical Notes

The last section that completed the Hollywood Freeway through Downtown Los Angeles opened on April 16, 1954.^*

 

 

 
(1952)*# - View looking east from the top of City Hall of Aliso Street before the 101 Freeway (Hollywood Frwy) was built. Brew 102 and Friedman Bag Company can be seen adjacent to Aliso St. The section of the Hollywood Freeway that runs through downtown goes right through where Aliso Street is shown above.  

 

 

 

Before and After

 
(1952)*# - Aliso Street before the construction of the 101 Freeway.   (2010)**^ - After the construction of the 101 Freeway.

 

 

 

Then and Now

 
 
(ca. 1950)##^# vs. (2016)##^ – Aerial view showing Civic Center (right) and the Station/LA Plaza area (center-left) before and after the Hollywood Freeway. Sunset Blvd (Caesar Chavez) runs away from the camera at lower center-left.  Temple Street is at lower right.  

 

 

 

Then

 
(1952)*# - Aerial view of Los Angeles Civic Center with City Hall in the background. The surrounding area is annotated to show street names and proposed new building locations.  

 

 

Now

 
(2016)##^ – Google Earth View showing the Civic Center with City Hall in the distance as seen from above the DWP John Ferraro Office Building.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

City Hall

 
(1951)^^ - City at night on New Year's Eve, December 31, 1951. Post Office on left; City Hall on right.  

 

 

 

 
(1951)*# - The rotating beacon (The 'Lindbergh Beacon') is visible atop City Hall, and a portion of Bunker Hill can be seen on the lower left. At center-right is the old State Building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Lindbergh beacon was installed on top of City Hall in 1928. Originally white, the light was replaced with a red light in 1931 after the U.S. Department of Commerce deemed the bright beacon a hazard to air safety. During WWII the light was turned off, and relit just a few of times more before being removed in the early 1950s.

The Lindbergh beacon was rediscovered in the early 1990s. After restoration, it was put on display in the Tom Bradley International Terminal at LAX and relit for the first time in 45 years on April 22, 1992. The beacon was reinstalled on top of City Hall in 2001 and is lit on special occasions.^*

 

 

 
(1950)*# - Oh My! View looking down from the Lindbergh Beacon showing two workers precariously standing on scaffolding attached to the side of the City Hall tower. Both the LA Times Building and the old State Building are seen below.  

 

 

 

 
(1950)++# - Workmen putting stainless steel covering atop Los Angeles City Hall take a lunch break.  

 

 

 

 
(1949)^ - View of the Los Angeles Civic Center, showing the International Bank Building dwarfed by its two bookends, the Federal Courthouse and U.S. Post Office Building and City Hall. The Hall of Justice is seen on the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1954)##^# - Closer view showing the International Bank Building bookended by the Federal Courthouse and U.S. Post Office Building on the left and City Hall on the right with the Goodyear Blimp flying overhead.  

classic holl

Historical Notes

The 1907-built International Bank Building would be razed in 1954, same year as the photo above.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Dodger Stadium

 
(ca. 1952)^ - Panoramic view of the Chavez Ravine area, with Bishops Road cutting through. City Hall is in the background.
 

 

Historical Notes

The land for Dodger Stadium was purchased from local owners/inhabitants in the early 1950s by the City of Los Angeles using eminent domain with funds from the Federal Housing Act of 1949. The city had planned to develop the Elysian Park Heights public housing project which included two dozen 13-story buildings and more than 160 two-story townhouses, in addition to newly rebuilt playgrounds and schools.

Before construction could begin, the local political climate changed greatly when Norris Poulson was elected mayor of Los Angeles in 1953. Proposed public housing projects like Elysian Park Heights lost most of their support. Following protracted negotiations, the City of Los Angeles was able to purchase the Chavez Ravine property back from the Federal Housing Authority at a drastically reduced price, with the stipulation that the land be used for a public purpose. It wasn't until the baseball referendum Taxpayers Committee for Yes on Baseball, which was approved by Los Angeles voters on June 3, 1958 that the Dodgers were able to acquire 352 acres of Chavez Ravine from the City of Los Angeles. (The Dodgers, from 1958 to 1961, played their home games at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.)^*

 

 

 
(1959)**** - Hundreds of onlookers watch bulldozers charging down the hills to begin the massive leveling and grading process for Dodger Stadium. In all, eight million cubic yards of earth were moved to prepare the rugged land for the building of Dodger Stadium. Photo dated: September 17, 1959.  

 

 

 

 
(1960)*# - Photograph of Chavez Ravine Dodger Stadium excavation. The downtown civic center can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1962)#+ – Aerial view looking up N. Hill Street where it merges with the Arroyo Seco Parkway (Pasadena Freeway).  Grading for Dodger Stadium is tearing up Chavez Ravine on the left.   In the background stands the San Gabriel Mountains with an incredibly low snow line.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1962)+*# - Aerial view of Dodger Stadium before it opened looking towards Hollywood. The parking lots are beginning to take shape, some already striped, and the signboards are standing.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Baseball in Early L.A.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Cahuenga Pass

 
(1947)##^* – Postcard view showing the Cahuenga Pass Freeway (later Hollywood Freeway), the “Gateway to Hollywood”.  

 

Historical Notes

The first segment of the Hollywood Freeway built was a one and a half mile stretch through the Cahuenga Pass. That segment opened on June 15, 1940. It was then known as the "Cahuenga Pass Freeway." ^*

 

 

 

 
(1948)^ - This view of the Cahuenga Pass in 1948 shows one road of cars end to end. The short city-built Cahuenga Pass Freeway was opened on June 15, 1940.  

 

 

 

 
(1949)^ - View of the roads, rail lines, and cars traveling through the Cahuenga Pass, the most important section of the Hollywood Freeway, which is the "gateway" that opens fast traffic from the rich San Fernando Valley into Hollywood and the heart of metropolitan Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 
(1952)*# -  View of Cahuenga Pass during rush hour traffic on a rainy morning.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1952)*^^ - A Pacific Electric Red Car headed south in the median of the Hollywood Freeway near Barham.  

 

Historical Notes

Pacific Electric Railway trolleys ran down the center of the Hollywood Freeway through Chauenga Pass until 1952.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(1952)##^# – View of the Lankershim Boulevard underpass at the Hollywood Freeway, showing two Pacific Electric Red Cars passing each other above.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1953)^ - View, looking north, showing the construction of the Hollywood Freeway through Cahuenga Pass.  

 

Historical Notes

The second section of the Hollywood Freeway that stretched from the San Fernando Valley to Downtown Los Angeles opened on April 16, 1954 at a cost of $55 million. The final section, north of the Ventura Freeway to the Golden State Freeway was completed in 1968.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hollywood Freeway

 
(1951)^ – View looking northwest of the Hollywood Freeway as seen from the Vermont Bridge.  Photo dated: September 25, 1951.  

 

Historical Notes

Near the Vermont Avenue exit, there's a seemingly over-wide center strip now filled with trees. This is where the never-built Beverly Hills Freeway was to merge with the Hollywood Freeway. Plans for the Beverly Hills Freeway were halted in the 1970s.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1962)##^# – View looking at the southbound lanes of the Hollywood Freeway near Vermont Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The gore point to the left marked the beginning of the "Bus Only" exit for Vermont. The slow buses used to have to lumber over to the fast lane to use the exit. Then, further to the South, the buses would then have to merge back onto the Freeway into the fast lane and fight their way back to the right. The "Bus Only" exit was finally relocated to the right in the late 1970s or early 1980s. The abandoned left exit and entrance ramps are still there.

 

 

 

 

 

(ca. 1954)**^ - Hollywood Freeway northbound at Melrose Ave.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1954)^#^^ – Aerial view looking east across the four-level.  Sunset dog-legs away from the camera at lower-center.  Photo by Dick Whittington.   

 

 

 

 

 
(1954)*# - Aerial view looking southeast across the Four Level Interchange and Bunker Hill.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1954)##^# - View looking north toward the Four Level Interchange showing the transition from the Harbor Freeway to the Hollywood Freeway.  

 

Historical Notes

The Four Level Interchange was the first stack interchange in the world. Completed in 1949 and fully opened in 1953 at the northern edge of Downtown Los Angeles, it connects U.S. Route 101 (Hollywood Freeway and Santa Ana Freeway) to State Route 110 (Harbor Freeway and Arroyo Seco Parkway).^*

 

 

 
(1954)^ - The Four Level Interchange, built in 1954, is the hub and symbol of the Los Angeles freeway system. Postcard of a photo by Dick Whittington.  

 

Historical Notes

The Four Level, also known as the Stack, gets its name from its multi-tiered structure that separates traffic heading in each direction into dedicated lanes. On the bottom level are curved ramps for those changing from the 110 freeway to the 101. One level above is the main trunk of the 110 freeway, named the Arroyo Seco Parkway north of the interchange and the Harbor Freeway south of it. On the third level are the arcing flyover ramps carrying traffic from the 101 freeway to the 110. Finally, on the fourth and top level is the main trunk of the 101 freeway, named the Hollywood Freeway to the west and the Santa Ana Freeway to the east.^^^*

 

 

 
(1953)^^^* - The Four Level carrying traffic in all eight directions shortly after its 1953 opening.  

 

 

 

 
(1953)^^^* - View of the top level of the Four Level Interchange looking east toward City Hall.  

 

Historical Notes

The interchange was constructed as a stack interchange because surrounding buildings and terrain made construction of a cloverleaf interchange impractical. The mainline traffic of US 101 is at the top of the interchange, above the ramps, a rarity in stack interchanges. Its distinctive architecture has long made it a symbol of Los Angeles' post-World War II development, and it appears on numerous postcards of the 1950s and 1960s.^*

 

 

 
(1959)*# - Aerial view of a helicopter flying over the Four Level Interchange in downtown L.A.  

 

Historical Notes

In July 2006, the freeway interchange was officially named in honor of Bill Keene, former KNX and KNXT traffic and weather reporter, although the new name is rarely used. Keene referred to the interchange as "The Stacks" and the "4-H Interchange".^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1960s)^ - Aerial view of the four level interchange of the Los Angeles freeway system.  

 

 

 

 
(1960s)^ - Aerial view of one of the busiest hubs of the Los Angeles freeway system, the Four Level Interchange where the Harbor Freeway meets the 101 Freeway near Downtown Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)^ - Aerial view of downtown Los Angeles looking northwest (before either the Hollywood Freeway or Harbor Freeway were completed). The tower, center, is City Hall, the tallest building in Los Angeles until 1964. Behind City Hall, construction for the Civic Center is underway and behind and to the right is the Pasadena Freeway.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Harbor Freeway

 
(1951)*# - Early construction phase of the Harbor Freeway (I-110) as it enters downtown Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 
(1953)**^ - Aerial view looking north across 6th Street showing the Harbor Freeway under construction.  

 

Historical Notes

Initially, the Harbor Parkway was to split at the merge with the Venice Parkway northeast of the University of Southern California, with the East By-Pass and West By-Pass straddling the Los Angeles Central Business District and rejoining at the split between the Arroyo Seco Parkway and Riverside Parkway south of Dodger Stadium. The West By-Pass was soon incorporated into the Harbor Parkway, and the first short piece, by then renamed the Harbor Freeway, opened on July 30, 1952 from the Four Level Interchange south to 3rd Street. (The Arroyo Seco Parkway was completed to the Four Level Interchange on September 22, 1953, and renamed the Pasadena Freeway on November 16, 1954.^*

 

 

 
(1956)*# - Aerial view of the Harbor Freeway facing north approaching the Hollywood Freeway. Also showing Fremont Avenue, Beaudry Avenue, Second Street, and Third Street.  

 

 

 

 
(1955)^ - The Harbor Freeway (I-110) takes form near Exposition Park (center) and USC (left-center) in 1955.  

 

Historical Notes

The Harbor Freeway gradually pushed south, opening to Olympic Boulevard on March 23, 1954 and Washington Boulevard on May 14, 1954. On March 27, 1956, the highway was extended to 42nd Street.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hill Street Tunnels

 
(1954)* - Temple Street looking west with the Hill Street tunnels in view.  

 

Historical Notes

The first of the two Hill Street Tunnels was bored through a part of Bunker Hill in 1909 by Los Angeles Pacific (a predecessor of Pacific Electric). It connects Hill Street from First to Temple. In 1913, the second tunnel (on the left) was bored for streetcar traffic.^

 

 

 
(1945)^ - View looking north from the top of the stairs above the Hill Street tunnels (trains on the left, cars on the right). A northbound train is about to pick up some riders, and then it will cross Temple St. and bear left into the unpaved approach to another tunnel (out of view).  

 

 

 

 
(1953)**^* - The #11 Temple Street bus enters the Hill Street tunnel heading south.*^^  

 

 

 

 
(1954)^^ – Hill Street tunnels seen from Temple Street on a fogbound night. The tunnels connected Temple with 1st Street. Photo by the LA Times on Oct. 12, 1954  

 

Historical Notes

Within two months of the above photo, construction work to enlarge the Los Angeles Civic Center began. By June, 1955, the two Hill Street tunnels were gone.^^

 

 

 

 
(1955)^ - View of the side-by-side Hill Street tunnels, looking north from 1st Street. Two autos and a bus are exiting the left side tunnel, even though the entire surroundings have been demolished, in preparation for future buildings.  

 

 

Click HERE to see the Construction and Opening of the First Hill Street Tunnel

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Los Angeles Streetlights

 
(1952)*# – Sometimes even streetlights get in the way. View shows Officer H.L. Chapman holding a license plate at the scene of a traffic accident (corner of 8th and Bonnie Brae streets) with a downed electrolier lying on the ground.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1953)^ - Looking southeast across the intersection of S. Spring (right) and W. First Street (running from left to right, foreground), showing various restaurants, including Nibblers (center), a bank, storefronts, and other office buildings. Note the two different styles of streetlights on the northeast corner of Spring and First streets.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)#++# – View looking north on Spring Street from north of 2nd Street showing dual lamp electroliers on both sides of the street. The massive LA Times Building and Annex is on the left.  City Hall can be seen in upper-right.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1951)^#^^ – View looking north on Broadway toward 9th Street on a hazy day showing cars sharing the street with a streetcar.  The Orpheum Theatre (842 S. Broadway) can be seen in the upper-right. Note the two-lamp light post on the S/E corner.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1955)*# - View looking north on Broadway toward 11th Street. The Case Hotel is seen on the southeast corner of Broadway and 11th on the right. Note the dual-lamp streetlight standing on the corner next to the Herald-Examiner Building.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Los Angeles Street Lights.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Los Angeles Freeways

 
(1955)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles from an altitude of approximately 5,000 feet. View is looking northwest with the Civic Center at center, and City Hall's tower visible in the middle; 101 Freeway runs right to left through center (barely visible); 110 Freeway runs middle left to middle right (barely visible); Chavez Ravine is at middle (before Dodger Stadium was developed); Los Angeles River zigzags from bottom middle to upper left. The Verdugo and San Gabriel mountains can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1955)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles looking slightly northwest with the Civic Center at lower center; 101 Freeway runs right to left through center; 110 Freeway runs lower left to upper right; the river station yard of Southern Pacific at top right; Chavez Ravine (upper middle) before Dodger Stadium was developed; Los Angeles River runs across top; Union Station just right of center; U.S. Post Office Terminal Annex just to its north; and City Hall is at lower middle.  

 

 

 

 
(1954)^ - Aerial view looking north of an upside down Air Force fighter plane flying over downtown Los Angeles. City Hall can faintly be seen in the upper right corner of the photo. Click HERE to see more in Aviation in Early L.A.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1954)^#^^ – View showing the 101 inbound from the eastside near the Alameda Street/Union Station exit.  Note the bare center-divider medians.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1954)**^ - View looking east on the Hollywood Freeway through the Civic Center. The Los Angeles Street exit is on the right. The freeway just opened and there are already traffic jams.   

 

 

 

 

 
(1953)^#^^ – View looking east at the Arroyo Seco feeder entering the northbound Hollywood Freeway.  The car in the lead at center-left is a 1939 Chrysler followed by a 1952 Chevrolet.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1955)**^# - Rush hour traffic near the Four Level Interchange on a hot afternoon. Not too many cars with air conditioning back then.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1956)**#** – Postcard view of automobiles going East on the Hollywood Freeway, leaving downtown.  Also seen are: the Federal Building; old Hall of Records; City Hall; Taix French Restaurant; and a billboard for "Burgemeister Beer."  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)##^# – View looking southwest toward Downtown from the Hollywood Freeway with Taix French Restaurant seen on the left.  Note the wide center median on the freeway.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1955)^ - Aerial view of the Civic Center looking southwest. The Hollywood Freeway with all its overpasses stands out as it runs through downtown toward Hollywood. Union Station is in the foreground. The circular LA Plaza can be seen at center-right. Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Plaza of L.A.  

 

 

 

 
(1956)+# - Time elapsed photo showing Union Station in the foreground with City Hall, the Federal Courthouse Building, and the Hall of Justice in the distance.  

 

 

 

 
(1956)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles Civic Center, looking east toward City Hall. The Hollywood (101) Freeway runs vertically along the left, Temple Street is on the left of City Hall; 1st Street is to the right of City Hall; 2nd Street is vertically along the right; North Broadway is at forefront; followed by Spring Street, Main Street, San Pedro Street, and Alameda Street (middle left to upper right); Los Angeles River is visible at top.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 
(1954)* - View looking southeast showing Bunker Hill and a portion of Los Angeles civic center. Parking lots are seen throughout.  

 

Historical Notes

Within just a few years of the above photo, Bunker HIll would undergo a major transformation. The hill would be graded to make room for the new Civic Center expansion which would inlcude the construction of new City and County buildings, the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Ahmanson Theatre, and the Department of Water and Power Building.

 

 

 
(1956)^ – View looking northwest from above Hill Street towards Grand Avenue and Bunker Hill showing the early stages of construction on the new Los Angeles County Courthouse.  1st Street is on the left and the building with the turret in the upper-left is the Seymour Apartments.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1956)*# - Panoramic photograph composite taken from the City Hall tower, facing west to northwest towards Bunker Hill and Hollywood. The State Building, Law Library, Hall of Records and the Hall of Justice are visible in the foreground, with the Board of Education Building further in the background. Court Street is seen on top of Bunker Hill at upper left-center. Broadway runs horizontally at the base of Bunker Hill. At center-left can be seen the steel framing for the new LA County Courthouse.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1956)**^ – View looking northeast showing the steel framing of the new County Courthouse located on the north side of First Street between Grand Avenue and Hill Street. In the distance (upper-right) can be seen the Hall of Justice, Federal Building, and the Hall of Records. In the foreground is a row of apartment buildings on the south side of First Street. The building with the turret on the right is the Seymour Apartments (S/W corner of First and Olive).  

 

 

 

 

 
(1957)^^++ – View looking northwest showing the Seymour Apartments (S/W corner of 1st and Olive) shortly before the building was demolished.  Across 1st Street can be seen the County Courthouse under construction.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)^^++ – View looking west on 1st Street at Olive Street with the Seymour Apartments on the southwest corner.  All the buildings on the south side of 1st Street will be demolished within a year.  

 

 

Fort Moore Pioneer Memorial

 
(1958)^^ - A crowd gathers for the dedication of Ft. Moore Pioneer Memorial on Hill Street, north of the Hollywood Freeway. The wall re-creates the city's first Independence Day celebration on July 4, 1847. LA Times photo date: July 3, 1958  

 

Historical Notes

The accompanying LA Times article reads:

The city’s first Independence Day celebration — July 4, 1847 — was recalled yesterday in the dedication of 400-foot-long, 45-foot-high Ft. Moore Pioneer Memorial Wall on Hill St. just north of the Hollywood Freeway.

The Memorial Wall, dedicated “to the brave men and women who faced privation and death in extending the frontiers of our country to include this land of promise,” commemorates Los Angeles’ first Independence Day.

It was in 1847 at the newly constructed Ft. Moore on the hill overlooking the little Mexican pueblo that all American troops in the immediate area — the First U.S. Dragoons, New York Volunteers and Mormon Battalion — gathered to participate in the historic Flag-raising ceremony.

The largest section of the huge bas-relief panel of the Memorial Wall depicts that Flag-raising. Three smaller sections illustrate other aspects of pioneer life.

In addition to the ceramic veneer bas-relief panel, the Memorial Wall features an 80-foot-wide, 47-foot-high waterfall, a 68-foot-high pylon in front of the wall supporting an immense ceramic eagle and a towering flagpole.

Participating in yesterday’s dedication ceremony of the $373,887 memorial were city and county officials, descendants of members of the Mormon Battalion, members of the Sons and Daughters of Utah Pioneers and the 72nd U.S. Army Band and a color guard from Ft. MacArthur. ^^

---

The waterfall was shut-down during the drought of 1977, never to be turned back on. Even though a pump recycled the water, it looked wasteful.

Click HERE to see a contemporary view of the Fort Moore Pioneer Memorial.

 

 

 
(ca. 1958)^ - Photo of one section of the Fort Moore Pioneer Memorial showing a 68-foot high concrete pylon with a 16-foot terra-cotta bas-relief American eagle, designed by noted sculptor Albert Stewart. Below that an inscription reads: "Fort Moore Pioneer Memorial - To the brave men and women who with trust in God faced privation and death in extending the frontiers of our country to include this land of promise." Location: 451 N. Hill St.  

 

Historical Notes

Groundbreaking for the memorial took place on July 13, 1953 and was completed in 1957. Note that the flag to the right of the monument is at half-staff. ^

 

 

 
(2002)^ – Detail view showing the 78 foot tall terra cotta bas relief mural section of the Fort Moore Pioneer Memorial located on the west side of Hill Street, south of Cesar Chavez Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The mural was designed by Henry Kreis and depicts the raising of the American flag on July 4, 1847 at the first Independence Day celebration in Los Angeles. Three other panels depict scenes of agriculture, transportation, and water and power. The site for the Central Los Angeles Area New High School #9 sits just west of the memorial.^

 

 

 
(2012)#^* – Close-up view showing the Pioneer Monument's largest panel.  The text reads: “On this site stood Fort Moore. Built by the Mormon battalion during the War with Mexico. The flag of the United States was raised here on July 4th, 1847, by Unites States troops at the first independence day celebration in Los Angeles. This memorial honors the troops who helped win the Southwest: The United States 1st Dragoons who fought at San Pasqual. The New York Volunteers who came by sea. The Mormon Battalion who made on the longest and most arduous infantry marches in history.”  

 

 

 

 
(2012)#^* – Close-up view of one of the four Pioneer Monument panels.  It reads: “On ranchos where herds of cattle ranged pioneers built homes and planted vineyards and orange groves.”  

 

 

 

 
(2012)#^* - “The prairie schooner stage and iron horse brought many settlers who made Los Angeles a city.”  

 

 

 

 
(2002)^ - Close-up view showing the Pioneer Monument panel that makes reference to the energy resources that contributed to the city's growth. The inscription reads, "Water and Power have made our arid land flourish. May we keep faith with the pioneers who brought us these gifts."  

 

Historical Notes

The Memorial is located at 451 N. Hill Street. Clcik HERE for map showing the exact lcoation.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(1955)*# - Driving east on the Hollywood Freeway, Los Angeles' Civic Center provides a massive and impressive appearance. In immediate foreground is the Hall of Justice, with the Federal Courthouse and U.S. Post Office Building framing it on left and the City Hall and Hall of Records, on right. Grand Avenue exit from new freeway is seen in lower right. Just beyond the Civic Center, Hollywood Freeway joins the Santa Ana and Ramona Freeways, both of which are in the process of extension.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)^ - Traffic on the Hollywood Freeway in the mid-1950s flowed easily in both the southbound and northbound lanes, making the ride around the City of Angels quick and easy. Shown are the popular cars of the day, which would be valuable collectors items if they were around today. When this shot was taken, City Hall dominated the Los Angeles skyline and the Downtown area was still the major shopping spot in the metropolitan L.A. area. The Hall of Justice and part of the old Hall of Records are also prominently pictured. Photograph was taken from Grand Avenue overpass.  

 

 

 

 
(1958)*# – View looking east at the Hollywood Freeway with the Los Angeles Civic Center in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1950s)##^# – Postcard view showing the Hollywood Freeway with the Civic Center in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)#* - Aerial view looking east over Bunker Hill remains, Civic Center.  

 

Historical Notes

In the lower right quadrant of the photo, the last remnants of Bunker Hill are holding on. The Rex Apartments can be seen just west of Figueroa. The 1st Street bridge over Figueroa is easy to pick out, Diamond Street is just to the north of 1st Street (to the left) and runs at a little bit of an angle. The Rex Apartments is the only elongated four story building on the street. #*

 

 

 
(1958)**^ - Aerial view of Downtown Los Angeles looking south from the intersection of Sunset and Figueroa. A helicopter can be seen flying high above the newly constructed Hollywood Freeway.  

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)**^ – Aerial view of the Harbor Freeway looking south from over 1st Street on a light traffic day.  J. Paul Getty Trust Collection  

 

* * * * *

 

 

MacArthur Park and the Westlake Area

 
(1957)^ - Aerial view of the Westlake area, looking east toward downtown. The major street closest to bottom is Hoover Street; Alvarado runs horizontally from middle right to middle left; the Harbor Freeway (110) is farther up from middle right to upper left. The major streets running vertically from bottom right corner to the left are: Olympic Boulevard, 9th Street, 8th Street, 7th Street, and Wilshire Boulevard, which runs through MacArthur Park - at left.  

 

Historical Notes

In the mid-1800's, this area was a swampland. MacArthur Park, created in the 1880s under the name Westlake Park, was later renamed in honor of General Douglas MacArthur. By the 1890s, it was a vacation destination surrounded by luxury hotels; in the early part of the 20th Century, the area became known as the Champs Elysees of Los Angeles. MacArthur Park has been designated City of Los Angeles Historic Cultural Monument No.100 (Click HERE to see complete listing).^

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)*# - Aerial view of MacArthur Park looking northwest from the corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Alvarado Street. MacArthur Lake is on the south side of Wilshire Boulevard, the Towne House Building and the Bullock's Wilshire Tower can be seen further west along Wilshire Boulevard.  Click HERE to see more early views of MacArthur Park (previously Westlake Park).  

 

* * * * *

 

 

405 Freeway (San Diego Freeway)

 
(1957)*# - Construction of the San Diego (405) Freeway, pictured here in 1957 between Wilshire and Venice boulevards, split Westside neighborhoods.  

 

Historical Notes

Construction of the 405 Freeway began in 1957 with the first section, mostly north of LAX Airport being completed in 1961.  The section of the 405 that would connect western Los Angeles to the San Fernando Valley was part of a 12-mile, $20 million project, then the most expensive California highway project to date.^*

 

 

 
(1957)*# - Aerial view looking north toward Sepulveda Pass where construction of the 405 Freeway is underway.  The section between Wilshire Blvd to Venice Blvd in Culver City is the next segment scheduled for construction.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)*# - The San Diego Freeway makes its entry through the Santa Monica Mountains in 1957. The hill on the right is now the site of the Getty Center.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)^^^* - View looking north showing construction of the 405 Freeway just south of Sepulveda Canyon.  Sepulveda Blvd is on the right and the Sunset Blvd Bridge is in the distance.  

 

 

 

 
(1960)****^ – Aerial view looking north toward the San Fernando Valley showing the newly completed Mulholland Drive Bridge.  The Sepulveda Pass is chiseled out in preparation for the construction of the new 405 Freeway.  

 

 

 

 
(1961)^^^* – View looking north showing the construction of the San Diego Freeway through  Sepulveda Pass with a newly completed Mulholland Bridge in the distance and Sepulveda Boulevard on the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1961)^^ - An aerial view of the San Diego Freeway construction project shows the Mulholland Drive Bridge. Dirt is being dug from beneath the bridge and hauled to the San Fernando Valley for freeway fill.  This bridge was constructed like no other, from the top down!  

 

Historical Notes

On Monday, April 4, 1960, the same day the 1959 Academy Awards were held at RKO's Pantages Theatre in Hollywood, Peter Kiewit Sons Co. completed the Mulholland Drive Bridge across the Sepulveda Pass.

In June 1960, bids were opened for a $14-million contract to extend the San Diego Freeway 7.4 miles from Brentwood to Valley Vista Blvd. in the San Fernando Valley. Mulholland Dr. Bridge would finally span a freeway.^#*

 

 

 
(1961)****^ – View looking north toward the Mulholland Dr. Bridge over a yet-to-be completed San Diego Freeway.  

 

Historical Notes

This Mullholland Dr. Bridge was constructed like no other, from the top down. The bridge was completed over two years before the freeway that connected West L.A. to the San Fernando Valley would open.^#*

 

 

 
(1962)##^# – View looking north through the Mulholland Dr. Bridge shortly after the completion of the Sepulveda Pass section of the San Diego Freeway (Dec, 1962).  The San Fernando Valley is seen in the background.  

 

 

Then and Now

 
 
(1961)****^ vs. (2014)#*## - View looking north toward the Mulholland Dr. Bridge.  2014 Photo by Dean Musgrove  

 

Historical Notes

In 2012, 52 years after it was originally built, the Mulholland Dr. Bridge was demolished and reconstructed to accommodate the widening of the I-405 freeway. The new bridge was widened by approximately 10 feet and designed to the latest seismic standards.^#*

 

 

 
(1962)^ - View looking north toward the San Fernando Valley from the edge of the newly completed 405 Freeway.  An early model Ford Rambler is seen on the left merging onto the freeway, having used the ramp at Sepulveda Boulevard and Fiume Walk in Sherman Oaks. Photo date:  December 26, 1962.  

 

 

 

 
(1962)^^ - Six days after the Sepulveda Pass portion of the 405 Freeway opened, there's hardly a car in sight from the Sunset Boulevard bridge into the San Fernando Valley. Photo date: Dec. 27, 1962  

 

 

 

 
(1968)*# - Aerial view of the San Diego Freeway (US-405) looking north from Wilshire Boulevard along Sepulveda Boulevard.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Olympic Drive-in (formerly Pico Drive-in)

 
(1956)##^# – Aerial view looking northwesterly showing the Olympic Drive-In Theatre located at the intersection of Olympic Blvd (left) and S. Bundy Drive (right).  Note how much land is still undeveloped behind the theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

This former drive-in originally opened as the Pico Drive-In (the first drive-in in California) at Pico Boulevard and Westwood Boulevard in 1934, but moved from that location to Olympic Boulevard in the late-1940’s and was renamed the Olympic Drive-In. ##^^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Bunker Hill

 
(1950s)*^^ - View looking east toward the west end of the 2nd Street Tunnel.  The Stanley Apartments is seen above the tunnel on Bunker Hill.  In the distance can be seen the dome of the Dome Apartments. Bunker Hill would soon be scraped clean to make way for “redevelopment”.  

 

Historical Notes

The Community Redevelopment Agency of the city of Los Angeles undertook the Bunker Hill Redevelopment Project in 1955, a massive clearance project that leveled homes and cleared land for future commercial skyscraper development. This period saw the clearing and upzoning of the entire neighborhood.^*

 

 

 
(1950s)*++ – View looking at the eastern portal of the 2nd Street Tunnel showing a line of cars heading toward the Civic Center. Click HERE to see more Early Views of the 2nd Street Tunnel.  

 

 

 

Broadway

 
(1958)^ - View showing one of downtown's busiest intersections, Broadway and 7th Street, during mid-day. The State Theatre on the corner is showing "The Brothers Karamazov."  

 

Historical Notes

As Los Angeles entered the twentieth century, the area around Broadway and 7th Street became the city's commercial center. James B. Lankershim opened a new, nine-story hotel at the intersection in 1905. His original hotel, meanwhile, came down to make way for John Bullock's seven-story department store, which opened in 1906. Fifteen years later, the Loew's State Theatre -- one of several movie palaces to locate on Broadway -- opened across the street.^^^*

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Broadway and 7th Street (Downtown's busiest intersection).

 

 

 

 
(1959)^*^# – Postcard view showing the intersection of Broadway and 7th Street. The State Theatre (703 S. Broadway) is showing “Ben-Hur.” At left is the Lankershim Hotel and at right is Bullock's Department Store.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1959)^^*# - Postcard view of the bright lights of Broadway, looking south toward 7th Street. Brightly illuminated signs are seen on both sides of the street, including (l to r): Silverwoods, Desmonds, Palace Theatre, Lankershim Hotel, Bullock's, Leroys, Kress Shoes, Los Angeles Theatre, and Swelldom.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1958)^ - The Dodgers ride in a motorcade parade down Broadway, en route to the Coliseum for their first game in Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

In the mid-1950s, Brooklyn Dodger team president Walter O'Malley had tried to build a domed stadium in the New York City borough of Brooklyn, but was unable to reach an agreement with city officials on land acquisition, and eventually reached a deal with the city of Los Angeles. The rest is history.^*

Click HERE to see more in Baseball in Early Los Angeles.

 

 

 
(1958)^^ - Spectators line Broadway as Dodgers Manager Walter Alston, right, and coach Charlie Dressen ride in a 1958 Edsel to their first game at the Coliseum, April 18, 1958 (Click HERE to see more).  

 

Historical Notes

Edsel - In 1958, Ford invested heavily in a yearlong teaser campaign leading consumers to believe that the Edsel was the car of the future – an expectation it failed to deliver. After it was unveiled to the public, it was considered to be unattractive, overpriced, and overhyped. The Edsel never gained popularity with contemporary American car buyers and sold poorly. The Ford Motor Company lost $250 million on the Edsel's development, manufacturing and marketing.

The very name "Edsel" became a popular symbol for a commercial failure. ^*

 

 

Downtown L.A.

 
(1959)*^^ - 25¢ haircuts: The Owl Barber Shop, 117 E. 6th Street, downtown Los Angeles. Located directly across the street from Cole’s Pacific Electric Buffet. In front sits a 1958 Impala Hardtop Sport Coupe.  

 

Historical Notes

The Impala was introduced in 1958 and positioned as top of the line Bel Air coupes and convertibles. From the windshield pillar rearward, the 1958 Chevrolet Bel Air Impala differed structurally from typical Chevrolets. Hardtops had a slightly shorter greenhouse and longer rear deck, giving the impression of an extended body. Three taillights each side would become an Impala hallmark whereas lesser models had two and wagons just one. Special crossed-flag insignias sat above the side moldings plus bright rocker moldings and dummy rear-fender scoops. 1958 was the first year of dual headlamps.

With a six-cylinder engine, a Chevrolet Bel Air Impala started at $2,586, while $2,693 bought a V8. In all, 55,989 convertibles and 125,480 Sport Coupes were built..

The 1959 Chevrolet Impala was radically reworked having large tailfins that protruded outward rather than upward.^*

 

 

 
(1960)**^# – View looking north on Hill Street at Olympic Boulevard with a 1959 Chevrolet Impala parked at right.  Photo courtesy of Bobby Cole  

 

Historical Notes

The 1959 Chevrolet Impala, following the styling excess of the late Fifties, was radically reworked and veered away from the GM pack by shooting its tailfins outward rather than upward. Admakers always were fond of naming nearly every part, but this year's "bat wing" fins above "cat's eye" taillights earned no such designations in the sales catalog. Those nicknames came later, though brochures did brand the deck "saucy." ^^+

 

 

 

 
(ca 1959)##^# – View looking south on the Harbor Freeway in downtown Los Angeles.  The Richfield Oil Company Building with its 146-foot tower sign can be seen at upper-left.  

 

Historical Notes

Construction of the Harbor Freeway began at the Four Level in 1949 and gradually pushed south, opening to Olympic Boulevard on March 23, 1954 and Washington Boulevard on May 14, 1954. On March 27, 1956, the highway was extended to 42nd Street, and on April 24, 1957 it reached temporary ramps at 88th Place. Further extensions were made to Century Boulevard on July 31, 1958, 124th Street on September 24, 1958, Alondra Boulevard (which the county widened to carry the load) on May 2, 1960, 190th Street on July 15, 1960, Torrance Boulevard on August 28, 1962, and finally Pacific Coast Highway (SR 1) on September 26, 1962. There it connected with a section that had been open since June 19, 1956, from Pacific Coast Highway south to Channel Street. Along with the Vincent Thomas Bridge to Terminal Island, the final piece in San Pedro opened on July 9, 1970, completing the Harbor Freeway to its present length.^*

 

 

 

 
(1959)**^ - Rush hour traffic heading south on the Harbor Freeway. By 1960 the Harbor Frwy extended all the way down to 190th Street. It's present length down to San Pedro would not be completed until 1970.  

 

 

 

 
(1961)*# - View looking southeast from 4th Street and Beaudry Avenue showing the Harbor Freeway and how its arteries intertwine with the heart of downtown Los Angeles. LA Public Central Library can be seen in upper-left.  

 

 

 

 
(1968)^ - Looking from west to east towards the intersection of 5th and Figueroa streets in downtown Los Angeles. The vacant lot on the north side of 5th Street (left) is where the Westin Bonaventure Hotel is now located. The Douglas Oil Building and Richfield Oil Company Building (partially visible) are seen on the right. In the background are the LA Public Central Library (left) and the Church of the Open Door, upon which the " Jesus Saves" sign is mounted. The Crocker-Citizens Bank Tower at 6th Street and Grand Avenue is shown under construction.  

 

 

 

 
(1959)*# - A five-globe lamp post with City Hall in the background. Today, the last remaining of these ornate street lights can still be found in the gardens and malls adjacent to City Hall. Click HERE to see more in Early Los Angeles Street Lights.  

 

Historical Notes

Note the similiarities between the design of City Hall and the Central Library (previous photo). City Hall's distinctive tower was based on the purported shape of the Mausoleum of Mausolus and shows the influence of the Los Angeles Central Library, completed soon before the structure was started.^*

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hollywood

 
(1956)^ - Aerial view looking northwest showing the Hollywood business district, with the Capitol Records Building visible middle right.  Other visible buildings include: Pantages Theatre, E.F. Hutton Building, Broadway-Hollywood, Hotel Knickerbocker, Guaranty Building, and the Taft Building. The streets are (diagonally, l to r): Selma Avenue, Hollywood Boulevard, and Yucca Street; and (bottom to top) Gower Street, Argyle Avenue, Vine Street, Ivar Avenue, and Cahuenga Boulevard, to name a few. The Hollywood (101) Freeway is visible along the right as it heads its way through Cahuenga Pass.  

 

 

 

 
(1956)^ - Aerial view of the Hollywood business district, with the Capitol Records Building in the foreground; view is looking south. The cluster of tall buildings around the intersection of Hollywood and Vine can be seen at center of photo.  Visible buildings include: Pantages Theatre, E.F. Hutton Building, Broadway-Hollywood, Hotel Knickerbocker, Guaranty Building, and the Taft Building. The streets are (vertically, l to r): Argyle Avenue, Vine Street, Ivar Avenue, Cahuenga Boulevard; and (horizontally, bottom to top) Yucca Street (extreme bottom), Hollywood Boulevard, Selma Avenue, and Sunset Boulevard, to name a few.  

 

 

 

 
(1956)^ - Aerial view of Hollywood showing the Capitol Records Building in the center surrounded by other buildings near Hollywood Boulevard and Vine Street; view is looking southeast. The visible streets are (diagonally, r to l): Vine Street, Argyle Avenue, Gower Street, and Bronson Avenue and (l to r): Yucca Street, Hollywood Boulevard, and Sunset Boulevard. Other visible buildings are Yucca Vine Building (corner of Yucca and Vine), Equitable Building (corner of Vine and Hollywood), Pantages Theatre (corner of Hollywood and Argyle), and Charles E. Skinner Studios (corner of Argyle and Yucca).  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)^ - View at dusk, neon signs lit, looking northward on Vine Street from Selma Ave. On the left, The Broadway-Hollywood, Plaza Hotel, Mobilgas ; on the right, Equitable Building, Taft Building, The Brown Derby Coffee Shop. Atop the Taft Building a large neon sign for Miller High Life beer. The Capitol Records Building is hidden from view by the Equitable Building.  

 

 

 

 
(1950s)+^+ - View looking north toward the intersection of Hollywood and Vine. The four main buildings located on the corners of the intersection can be seen (L to R): The Broadway-Hollywood, Hody's Restaurant, Equitable Building, and the Taft Building. The iconic Capitol Records Building stands in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1956)*^^ - Long exposure of Hollywood and Vine at night. Capitol Records Building is in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1961)+#+ – View looking south on Vine Street from Yucca Street with the Capitol Records Building on the left.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)^ - View shows the Capitol Records Building (left) and Hotel Knickerbocker (right). Capitol Records, located on Vine Street, is a unique 13-story, 150 ft. high-rise cylindrical building that was built in 1956 by architect Welton David Becket and contractor C. L. Peck Co.  

 

 

 

 
(1970)##^# - Aerial view looking southwest showing a helicopter hovering over Hollywood. The intersection of Hollywood and Vine is at upper center-left and the Capitol Records Building stands tall at center-right.  

 

 

 

 
(1978)^ - A view taken from the west side of Vine St., looking north toward the Capitol Records Building. A sign over the Howard Johnsons on the northwest corner advertises Universal Studios Tour and the film Airport '77. Also visible are stars on a portion of the Hollywood Walk of Fame.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)**** - View of the Capitol Records Building during the holidays. Each year, they add the Xmas tree to help make the city a little more festive.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

* * * * *

 

 

LA Memorial Coliseum and Sports Arena

 
(ca. 1960)*# - Aerial view of the Los Angeles Coliseum, Los Angeles Los Angeles Sports Arena, University of Southern California (USC), Downtown Los Angeles, and the Harbor Freeway (I-110).  

 

 

 

 
(1958)*# - Aerial view of the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on Dodger’s opening day, April, 18, 1958.  

 

Historical Notes

While Dodger Stadium was under construction, the Dodgers played in the league's largest capacity venue from 1958 through 1961 at their temporary home, the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, which could seat in excess of 90,000 people.

Despite their inept play and seventh-place finish, the Dodgers drew a record 1,845,556 fans in their first year in Los Angeles when they played at the Coliseum.*

 

 

 
(1960)^ - Blimps-eye view shows both the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum and the Los Angeles Memorial Sports Arena. Note the baseball diamond in the Coliseum where the LA Dodgers played (1958-1961).  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Baseball in Early Los Angeles

 

 

Super Bowl I

 
(1967)^^ – The Packer’s Jim Weatherwax, No. 73, tries to block a Chiefs kick at Super Bowl I on January, 15, 1967.  

 

Historical Notes

The Green Bay Packers defeat the Kansas City Chiefs 35-10 in the first Super Bowl, played at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. At halftime, the Chiefs were only behind 14-10, but the Packers took over in the third quarter.^^*

Super Bowl I was the only Super Bowl in history that was not a sellout in terms of attendance, despite a TV blackout in the Los Angeles area (at the time, NFL games were required to be blacked out in the market of origin, even if it was a neutral site game and if it sold out). Of the 94,000-seat capacity in the Coliseum, 33,000 went unsold.  Days before the game, local newspapers printed editorials about what they viewed as a then-exorbitant $12 price for tickets, and wrote stories about how to pirate the signal from TV stations outside the Los Angeles area.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Bunker Hill

 
(ca. 1937)^#^^ - View looking northwest from City Hall tower over the Hall of Records. Bunker Hill is covered with multiple dwellings.  

 

Historical Notes

The prominent street running diagonally up from the lower right corner is Temple Street coming from the intersection with Broadway (barely seen, lower right corner). This baroque rooftop in the bottom of the image is the Hall of Records which reaches through from Spring Street all the way to Broadway. Court Street can be seen running directly away from the camera near the left edge. At lower-left, can be seen Court Flight running from the eastern terminus of Court Street down to Broadway (out of view). Mount Lee and the Hollywood Hills are seen in the distance where the elongated white smudge near the top of the ridge is the Hollywoodland Sign.^#^^

 

 

 

 
(1951)##^#– View looking northwest from the top of the Hall of Records showing Bunker Hill as it appeared in the early 1950s.  The Four Level Interchange is seen under construction at center-right.  Parking lots fill the void where apartment house once stood.  Court Street is seen at left running away from the camera.  At lower-right is the instersection of Temple and Hill streets.  The Hollywood Hills and Hollywood Sign can be seen seen in the distance.  

 

 

 

 
(Early 1950s)^#^^ - View looking northwest from City Hall tower. Court Street runs away from the bottom on the left. Bunker Hill has been slightly shaved to make room for the New County Courthouse, which is under construction, and several parking lots. There are still a few remaining dwellings at the far end of Bunker Hill.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)^ - View looking northwest from City Hall toward Bunker Hill prior to construction of the DWP General Office Building and the Music Center.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1970)^ - View of from City Hall looking northwest toward the DWP General Office Building and the Music Center located on Bunker Hill.  

 

 

 

Before and After

 
ca. 1937)*# - Panoramic photograph composite looking west from City Hall along Court Street with Hall of Records roof and Court Flight in the foreground.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1956)*# - Panoramic photograph composite taken from the City Hall tower, facing west to northwest towards Bunker Hill and Hollywood. Bunker Hill has been slightly shaved off to make room for the County Courthouse, which is under construction, as well as several parking lots. There are still a few remaining dwellings at the far end of Bunker Hill. Broad

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)^ - View looking northwest from City Hall.   (ca. 1970)^ - View looking northwest from City Hall.

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1963)^ - Photo taken from the City Hall Tower; view is looking northwest. The old State Building can be seen on the left, and the old Hall of Records (diagonally set building) is on the lower right foreground with a large, practically empty parking lot to the right of the building. In the center of the photo are the New County Courthouse, County Administration, and construction of the County mall (excavated area). In the distance is the Department of Water and Power building, and the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion and Music Center are on the left of DWP (between DWP and County Courthouse).  

 

 

 

 
(1963)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles Civic Center neighborhood of government offices; view is looking northwest. Identifiable landmarks include the Federal Courthouse at bottom right; Los Angeles City Hall, located at 200 N. Spring St. sits at center forefront; the old Hall of Records, the Hall of Justice behind City Hall; in the distance is the Department of Water and Power building (tall building with horizontal lines), and the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion and Music Center are on the left of DWP (between DWP and New County Courthouse. The Hollywood (101) Freeway is on the right; Temple St. is vertically at center right; 1st St. is vertically at left; Main St., Spring St., Broadway, Hill St. Grand Ave. are horizontally from bottom up; the Harbor (110) Freeway is horizontally at upper middle.  

 

 

 

 
(1963)^ – Aerial view looking northeast showing Bunker Hill and the Civic Center. Both the DWP General Office Building and Dorothy Chandler Pavilion are nearly completed. The Ahmanson Theater and Mark Taper Forum would not be completed until 1967. The empty lot across the street from the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion will become the future home of Walt Disney Concert Hall.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1963)^ - Another aerial view of the civic center with City Hall in the background and the yet to be completed Dorothy Chandler Pavilion and Department of Water and Power General Office Building (GOB) in the foreground.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Construction of the DWP General Office Building

 

 

 

 

Bunker Hill

 
(1960)*# –   View looking southwest from the L. A. County Courthouse at 1st and Grand showing a large empty lot sitting on top of Bunker Hill.  This will become the site of the Walt Disney Concert Hall (completed in 2003).  The multi-story building with the dome seen in the upper-left is the Dome_Hotel and Apartments (S/W corner of 2nd and Grand).  Today, the Broad Contemporary Art Museum stands at that corner.  

 

 

 

 
(1960)*# – Closer view showing the Dome_Hotel and Apartments (built in 1903) on the southwest corner of 2nd and Grand.  The lot to the right is the future location of the Walt Disney Concert Hall.  In the background through the haze and smog can be seen the Richfield Oil Company Building which was demolished in 1969 to make way for the ARCO Towers.  

 

Historical Notes

On the morning of July 25, 1964, the Dome burst into flames.  The building would be razed later that year to make room for a parking lot which existed until 2014 when construction began for the Broad Contemporary Art Museum (completed in 2015).

 

 

 

 

 
(1964)^^#* – View looking north on Flower Street from 4th Street, through the former Bunker Hill neighborhood. The newly constructed Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, right, and the Department of Water and Power headquarters can be seen past 1st Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Bunker Hills Towers have yet to be constructed.

 

 

 

 
(1970)*^#^ - View from atop the Bank of California Building, looking north along Flower Street from 6th Street to the additional onramp construction at 4th Street. Prominent buildings in the background from left to right are the Bunker Hill Apartments and Tower, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power, and the Music Center.  

 

Historical Notes

Since the previous photo, the Bunker Towers have been constructed. Built in 1968, the 32-story Bunker Hill Tower was one of the original buildings in the extensive Bunker Hill Redevelopment Project.

 

 

 

 
(1963)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles Civic Center neighborhood of government offices; view is looking west. Identifiable landmarks include the Federal Courthouse at bottom right; Los Angeles City Hall, located at 200 N. Spring St. sits at center forefront; the old Hall of Records, and the Hall of Justice on the right; Los Angeles St., Main St., Spring St., and Broadway are visible from bottom left to middle right; Temple St., 1st St., and 2nd St. are visible from lower right to middle; the Harbor (110) Freeway is horizontally at top in the far distance.  

 

 

 

 
(1963)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles Civic Center neighborhood of government offices; view is looking southwest. Identifiable landmarks include the Federal Courthouse at bottom middle; Los Angeles City Hall, located at 200 N. Spring St. sits at center forefront; the old Hall of Records, and the Hall of Justice on the right; Hill St., Broadway, Spring St., Main St., Los Angeles St. and San Pedro St. are vertically from right to left; Temple St., 1st St., 2nd St. and 3rd St. are horizontally from bottom to top.  

 

 

 

 
(1963)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles Civic Center neighborhood of government offices; view is looking south. Identifiable landmarks include the Federal Courthouse at bottom left corner; Los Angeles City Hall, located at 200 N. Spring St. sits at forefront; Temple Street, lower right to upper left; Main St. is at upper right to bottom left corner; San Pedro St. from top right corner to lower left; Central Ave. paralleling Alameda St. are top middle to middle left; Los Angeles River at top left corner.  

 

 

 

 
(1963)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles Civic Center neighborhood of government offices; view is looking northwest. Identifiable landmarks include the Federal Courthouse at lower right; Los Angeles City Hall, located at 200 N. Spring St. sits at center forefront; the old Hall of Records, and the Hall of Justice behind City Hall; in the distance is the Department of Water and Power building (tall building with horizontal lines), and the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion and Music Center are on the left of DWP (between DWP and New County Courthouse). The Hollywood (101) Freeway at lower right to upper left; Temple St. is bottom middle to upper left; 1st St. is at bottom left corner; Main St., Spring St., Broadway, Hill St. Grand Ave. are diagonally from bottom right to middle; the Harbor (110) Freeway is horizontally at upper middle. Hollywood can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1963)^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles Civic Center neighborhood of government offices; view is looking northeast. Identifiable landmarks include the Hall of Records, and the Hall of Justice on the left; Los Angeles City Hall, located at 200 N. Spring St. sits at forefront; the Federal Courthouse is under construction on the right, north of the LAPD headquarters (later Parker Center); the Santa Ana (101) Freeway is horizontally across the middle; Union Passenger Terminal, located at 800 N. Alameda St. and the Post Office Terminal Annex are at center right; Hill St., Broadway; Spring St., Main St., Los Angeles St. and Alameda St. are vertically left to right; Temple Street is horizontally at lower center; Cesar Chavez Ave. is horizontally at upper center.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1965)#^^^ – View of the Los Angeles Civic Center looking southwest. The recently completed Federal Building is in the foreground.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hollywood

 
(ca. 1960s)* - Aerial view of Hollywood and its surrounding areas. Cars may be seen travelling the Hollywood Freeway. Traffic going north is towards the Valley, going south is towards Los Angeles. The Hollywood Reservoir is in the hills above Hollywood (Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Hollywood Reservoir).  

 

Historical Notes

The Capitol Records building is in the middle foreground of this photo (it is the cylindrical shaped building whose shape is devised from the vision of a stack of records. 13 stories rise 150 ft. high to provide 78,000 square ft. of space). Architect for the Capitol Records building was Welton David Becket, contractor, C.L. Peck Co. It was built in 1954.*

 

 

 

 
(1960)**^# - Life is Good! Cruising down Hollywood Boulevard on a Saturday night in a shining new 1959 Pontiac Coupe. The Capitol Records Building stands in the background.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Valley State College (CSUN)

 
(1956)*^ - Aerial view of Los Angeles State College, San Fernando Valley Branch (now CSUN), looking northwest. The intersection of Zelzah and Nordhoff is in the left foreground.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1952, state officials had originally identified Baldwin Hills as the site of a satellite campus for Los Angeles State College (now Cal State Los Angeles).  In reaction to the decision, Valley leaders organized to successfully overturn the legislation and to later ensure that a four-year college would be sited in the San Fernando Valley.  On December 21, 1954, advocates for a Valley four-year college hosted 23 legislators for dinner at the Brown Derby on Wilshire Boulevard.  Armed with demographic projections, they pitched the Valley as the only logical place for the next state college.  The pitch worked.  In 1955, state Assemblyman Judge Julian Beck sent the legislation for approval to pruchase land in the north San Fernando Valley for a new satellite campus to Los Angeles State College. #**#

 

 

 

 
(1958)*^ - New sign in 1958 after Los Angeles State College separated from its parent institution and became San Fernando Valley State College (now CSUN) Pictured: Howard McDonald (President of L.A. State College), Ralph Prator (President of San Fernando Valley State College) and Delmar T. Oviatt (Dean of Instruction at San Fernando Valley State College).  

 

Historical Notes

In fall 1956, the San Fernando Valley campus of the Los Angeles State College of Applied Arts and Sciences (later Cal State Los Angeles) was established on the present Northridge site. Soon after, the state Legislature passed Assembly Bill 971, which provided for the campus to separate from its parent college. On July 1, 1958, the founding date of the present university, the institution became San Fernando Valley State College, with about 3,300 students and 104 faculty.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)*^ - Campus of San Fernando Valley State College (now CSUN), aerial view looking north. Nordhoff Hall, the Music Building on the left; Science buildings 1 and 2 and Bookstore Complex in the center.  

 

Historical Notes

On June 1, 1972, the college was renamed California State University, Northridge, by action of the state Legislature and the Board of Trustees of the California State University.*^

 

 

 
(1962)*^ - Another view of the campus of San Fernando Valley State College (now California State University Northridge). Clockwise: Sierra Hall construction site, Science Buildings 1 and 2, Bookstore Complex, Music Building, Nordhoff Hall.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the San Fernando Valley.

 

* * * * *

 

Angels Flight

 
(1952)**** - Angels Flight Railway, probably the top noir location in bygone L.A...Looking west towards Hill St. and the Third Street Tunnel.  

 

Historical Notes

Angels Flight operated from 1901 until it was closed in 1969 when its location was redeveloped. The railway was relocated and reassembled at California Plaza in March of 1995 until it was closed in February of 2001 due to a serious accident. After a 9 year period, which included several safety modifications, Angels Flight reopened (2010) and is still in operation today.^

 

 

 

 

Before and After

 
(1903)^ - Angels Flight   (1952)**** - Angels Flight

 

 

 

 

 
(1948)^ - A side view of two Angels Flight cable cars shortly after they crossed paths as they travel on the funicular tracks. The track for the rail cars is seen mid-air, from the side along Clay Street, with cement "brackets" holding it up in the air.
 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1955)**^* - A man with a bag in his hand climbs the stairs alongside Angels Flight.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)**^* - Dump truck passes underneath Angels Flight cars as they pass each other.  

 

 

 

 
(1955)*^^ - A rundown boarding house provides the backdrop to an Angels Flight car as it climbs Bunker Hill.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)**^* - Angels Flight crossing over Clay Street. Every building on either side of the street would meet the wrecking ball within a few short years.*^^  

 

 

 

 
(1962)^ - View looking up towards the top of Angels Flight with 3rd Street Tunnel entrance to the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1962)^ – View of Angels Flight with the eastern portal to the Third Street Tunnel in the foreground.  

 

Historical Notes

Valley Times photograph caption dated July 21, 1962 reads "The Angel's Flight Railway, a Los Angeles landmark for nearly 50 years, has been authorized by the State Public Utilities Commission to discontinue operation on or before Dec. 1. The Community Redevelopment Agency of the City of Los Angeles has agreed to purchase the landmark for $35,000. It is expected the railway will be moved to Griffith Park's Travel Town or to the Hollywood Bowl, to make way for development of Bunker Hill. The line, on 315 feet long, has shuttled 100 million passengers up the steep incline along Third St. between Hill and Olive streets for a nickel a ride." ^ 

 

 

 

 
(1962)^^ - Bunker Hill buildings are demolished as Angels Flight continues to scale the hillside in 1962.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1959 Angels Flight was destined for demolition as part of Bunker Hill Urban Renewal Project but loyal riders and enthusiastic supporters thwarted those plans, at least temporarily. During the next ten years the community of Bunker Hill changed dramatically as apartment houses were razed and residents dislocated by the redevelopment project.**

 

 

 

 
(1963)**^* - A mound of dirt sits adjacent to Angels Flight where a building once stood.  

 

 

 

 
(1965)^ - View of Angels Flight from a corner at Hill and Third Streets, showing the 33-degree tracks. Most of the old buildings on both sides have been razed as part of the Bunker Hill redevelopment program. At right is the Third Street Tunnel.  

 

 

 

 
(1965)^ - Photograph caption reads, "Old gent waits on Hill St. entrance for ride to top of Angeles Flight."  Photo Credit: Herald-Examiner  

 

 

 

Before and After

 
(1952)**** - Angels Flight   (1965)^ - Angels Flight

 

 

 

 

 
(1966)* - View of Angels Flight during one of its last years of operation. Most of the buildings on the hill have been demolished to make room for progress.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1967)**# - Passengers looking out the Angels Flight doorway as it appears to be heading down the hill.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1969)^^** - View of Angels Flight shortly before it was shut down and dismantled.  

 

Historical Notes

Ever decreasing numbers of commuters and tourists and lack of funding contributed to the inevitable. Even the designation of Historical Cultural Landmark could not save Angels Flight and she was dismantled in 1969.**

 

 

 

 

 
(2010)#^^ - View of Angels Flight at its new location at the California Plaza, 351 S. Hill Street.  

 

Historical Notes

In the 1980s, the Community Redevelopment Agency approved final plans for the California Plaza, which incorporated a restored Angels Flights. Although it took another six years and a good supply of bureaucratic activity, restoration and reconstruction started in 1995 and on February 24, 1996 Angels Flight was re-dedicated, now half a block from its original site.**

Angels Flight Railway was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 13, 2000.

 

 

 

Click HERE to see Earlier Views of Angels Flight

 

* * * * *

 

 

Vincent Thomas Bridge

 
(ca. 1960)##*^ - View of the Vincent Thomas Bridge in San Pedro during its construction. It is the fourth largest suspension bridge in the State of California.  

 

Historical Notes

The Vincent Thomas Bridge is the first suspension span ever to be built on steel piles — 990 of them were sunk to hold it up, instead of the more traditional concrete supports. And it is the first to be built entirely without rivets; the steel is welded together. ##*^

Before the bridge was built, hundreds of cannery and shipyard workers made their daily passage from San Pedro to Terminal Island aboard ferry boats. State Assemblyman Vincent Thomas thought the ferry system inadequate, and proposed the bridge to replace it.^^

 

 

 
(ca. 1963)**^ - View of the Vincent Thomas Bridge showing its longest span nearly completed.  

 

Historical Notes

The bridge is 6,060 feet long, 52 feet wide, 365 feet tall.  Its longest span is 1,500 feet, and the clearance below is 185 feet.^*

Construction of the bridge required: 92,000 tons of Portland cement; 13,000 tons of lightweight concrete; 14,100 tons of steel; and 1,270 tons of suspension cable.

The main span of the Vincent Thomas Bridge is 1,500 feet long as compared to the Golden Gate Bridge at 4,200 feet long.**#^

 

 

 
(1963)^^ - The Vincent Thomas Bridge nears completion between San Pedro and Terminal Island.  

 

Historical Notes

California Assemblyman Vincent Thomas, who represented San Pedro, spent 19 years beginning in 1940 arguing for the 16 different pieces of legislation that were necessary for its construction. When the bridge opened in 1963, Thomas was the longest-serving assembyman. In 1961, the legislature passed a special Concurrent Resolution 131 in order to name it after him while he was still serving.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(1963)*^^^^ - Panoramic view showing "The Islander" ferry in its last days of service with the nearly completed Vincent Thomas Bridge in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Vincent Thomas Bridge officially opened on November 15, 1963 and ferry service discontinued after 22 years of operations. ##*^

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1964)**^^^ - One of the world’s largest car carriers at the time, Volkswagen ship Johann Schulte, arrives at the Port of Los Angeles.  View shows 100s of VW Beetles, all lined up and waiting for transport to dealerships.  The newly opened Vincent Thomas Bridge stands tall in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Volkswagen Beetle, or informally the Volkswagen Bug, was produced from 1938 until 2003. The need for this kind of car, and its functional objectives, were formulated by Adolf Hitler, leader of Nazi Germany, wishing for a cheap, simple car to be mass-produced for the new road network of his country. He contracted Porsche in 1934 to design and build it to his exacting standards. Ferdinand Porsche and his team took until 1938 to finalize the design.

This is one of the first rear-engined cars. With over 21 million manufactured in an air-cooled, rear-engined, rear-wheel drive configuration, the Beetle is the longest-running and most-manufactured car of a single design platform, worldwide.^*

 

 

 
(1988)^^ - Traffic streams across the Vincent Thomas Bridge at dusk.  

 

Historical Notes

Skeptics predicted it would serve fewer than 2,000 vehicles a day and that it would take taxpayers 40 years to pay for the $21-million structure. In its first month of operation, however, the bridge served a daily average of 9,631 vehicles. And most of the debt was paid off within 20 years.^^

 

 

 
(ca. 2010s)##^# – Night view showing the Vincent Thomas Bridge.  

 

Historical Notes

When the Bridge opened in 1963, a 25-cent toll was collected in each direction. On grand opening day, Assemblyman Thomas paid the first toll. In 1983, the toll increased to 50 cents for westbound traffic and was free for eastbound traffic.  In 2000, the Bridge was considered “paid for” and the toll was repealed.**#^

 

 

 
(2013)^^ - Vincent Thomas Bridge on a foggy morning from West Santa Cruz Street, Rancho Palos Verdes.  

 

Historical Notes

The Vincent Thomas Bridge now carries 26,500 vehicles a day. It is widely credited with providing a crucial transportation link to the Port of Los Angeles and of aiding the port’s phenomenal growth.^^

 

 

 

 
(2009)**^^^ - View of the former cruise ship terminal at Berth 153 and the Port of Los Angeles clock tower. Photo taken February 2, 2009.  

 

Historical Notes

The World Cruise Terminal at the Port of Los Angeles (passenger and cargo ternminals at Berth 93), opened in 1963. It was designed by AIA award-winning architect Edward H. Fickett, F.A.I.A. 

The terminal which hosted the original Love Boat TV series from 1977 to 1986 was modernized and expanded in 2010-11 to accommodate the most modern megaships. ##*^

 

 

 

 
(2011)**^^^ - A busy day in San Pedro with four cruise ships docked at the World Cruise Center.  

 

Historical Notes

Located in the San Pedro District beneath the Vincent Thomas Bridge, the World Cruise Center is th largest cruise ship terminal on the West Coast.  It has three passenger ship berths and transports over 1 million passengers annually.^*

Cruise lines served: Carnival Cruise Lines, Celebrity Cruises, Crystal Cruises, Cunard Line, Disney Cruise Line, Holland America Line, Princess Cruises, Norwegian Cruise Line, Royal Caribbean International, Seabourn Cruise Line, Silver Sea Cruises. ##*^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of San Pedro and Wilmington

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Mount Olympus

 
(1963)^ - Aerial view of Mount Olympus as the first of 2500 guests arrive at the hilltop "house warming party" for the 300-acre development of $150,000 homes 1500 feet above sea level near Laurel Canyon Blvd. and Mulholland Drive. View is toward the southeast. Group of buildings at top right are the Park La Brea Towers.  

 

Historical Notes

Mount Olympus is a prominent neighborhood in the Hollywood Hills area of the city of Los Angeles. A community of single family residences founded by developer Russ Vincent, it is bounded by Hollywood Boulevard, Laurel Canyon Boulevard, Willow Glen Road, and Nichols Canyon Road.^*

 

 

 
(1964)^ - Aerial view showing Mount Olympus grading in preparation for the construction of housing. The city lies beyond, looking southeast.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Los Angeles Freeways

 
(1962)##^# - Aerial view showing the Santa Monica Freeway under construction near the Harbor Freeway with downtown Los Angeles in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

Work on the Santa Monica Freeway progressed slowly, and in stages. It was not until October 1964 that it extended west to La Cienega Boulevard, and on January 29, 1965--several years after residents in the freeway's path were displaced--a Goodyear blimp helped cut the ribbon on the 4.5-mile segment between La Cienega and Bundy Drive.^^^*

 

 

 
(1964)^^^* – View looking west showing the Santa Monica Freeway under construction at La Cienega and Venice boulevards.  

 

Historical Notes

Local opposition immediately coalesced against the Santa Monica Freeway when state highway planners announced a major part of its route in August 1955. The entire route -- known originally as the Olympic Freeway -- would span 16.6 miles between the East L.A. Interchange in Boyle Heights and Pacific Coast Highway in Santa Monica, barreling through quiet bedroom communities on its path to the sea.

Hundreds of churches, homeowners groups, and other community organizations rallied against the proposal, focusing their opposition on the 6.6-mile stretch west of La Cienega Boulevard.

In April 1956 planners revised their original route in the face of community opposition. But while the new route saved 47 homes, it largely shifted the freeway away from the domains of its most vocal opponents and into new neighborhoods. Local opposition persisted, but the highway commission held firm.^^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1965)*# - Aerial view of downtown Los Angeles taken from just above the Santa Monica and Harbor Freeway interchange.  

 

 

 

 
(1980)^^ – Aerial view of the intersection of the Harbor (110) and Santa Monica (10) freeways just southwest of downtown Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 
(1969)*##^ – View looking north showing the Harbor Freeway running through downtown Los Angeles. In the distance can be seen the new Department of Water and Power Building, Music Center, and City Hall.  

 

 

 

 
(1962)^ - Nighttime view of Los Angeles and City Hall, looking southwest from the San Bernardino Freeway. A billboard for the French restaurant "Taix" and "The TIMES" up in lights on the top of a building appear in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1965)^ - Civic center buildings at night; left to right, the Department of Water and Power Building, Music Center and City Hall, seen from across the Harbor Freeway.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Water & Power Building and Music Center

 
(ca. 1970)**#**-  Panoramic postcard view looking east from Beaudry Avenue toward the 110 Freeway, showing the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power GOB, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, and Los Angeles City Hall.   

 

 

 

 

 
(1966)^ - Night view of a well lit Department of Water and Power building, including fountains, as seen from the Dorothy Chandler Pavillion across the street. Click HERE to see more in Construction of the DWP Building.  

 

 

 

 
(1967)* - View of Department of Water and Power Building (GOB) on the left and Dorothy Chandler Music Center on the right from a parking lot across First Street. The parking lot in the above photo is where the Walt Disney Concert Hall stands today (opened 2003).  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1967)^ - An aerial shot of the Music Center and the Department of Water and Power Building.  

 

 

 

 
(1967)*# - Aerial view looking east toward City Hall from directly above the Department of Water and Power Building.  

 

 

 

 
(1968)*#- Aerial view looking toward LADWP's General Office Building (GOB) with the Los Angeles Civic Center in the background.   

 

* * * * *

 

 

La Brea Tar Pits

 
(1962)^ - Panoramic view of the La Brea Tar Pits and the La Brea Park looking west as seen from above Curson Avenue and Wilshire Boulevard. Spectators lean against the fence as they look at the tar pit. In the background, center, is the May Company Department Store. A billboard on Wilshire exhorts viewers to "Fly Delta." Click HERE to see more early views of the La Brea Tar Pits.  

 

 

The Miracle Mile and Los Angeles County Museum of Art

 
(ca. 1965)^ - Aerial view looking east showing the Miracle Mile (Wilshire Blvd.) with the LA County Museum of Art and the La Brea Tar Pits seen in the foreground.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) was established as a museum in 1961. Prior to this, LACMA was part of the Los Angeles Museum of History, Science and Art, founded in 1910 in Exposition Park near the University of Southern California. Early trustee Howard F. Ahmanson Sr. made the lead donation of $2 million, convincing the museum board that sufficient funds could be raised to establish the new museum. In 1965, the museum moved to a new Wilshire Boulevard complex as an independent, art-focused institution, the largest new museum to be built in the United States after the National Gallery of Art.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1965)^ - Aerial view of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. In the background are the Park La Brea Towers appartments. The La Brea Tar Pits can be seen to the right of the museum. The museum was built in 1964 at Wilshire & Genesee (lower center-left).  

 

 

 

 
(1965)^#^^ – Aerial view looking north showing the Los Angeles County Museum of Art located at 5905 Wilshire Boulevard.  On the right is the La Brea Tar Pits.  To the left is the parking structure for May Company Department Store.  

 

 

 

 
(1968)^ - Three life-sized replicas of giant Imperial Mammoths, sculpted by artist Howard Ball, are shown on the shore at the tar pits adjacent to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, present in the background. Click HERE to see more early views of the La Brea Tar Pits.
 

 

* * * * *

 

Century City

 
(1967)^ -  Aerial view looking southeast showing Century City with buildings identified: (1-2) Gateway East and Gateway West; (3) Century Square shopping mall; (4) Prudential building; (5) 1901 building; (6) Century Plaza Hotel; (7) Century Towers; (8) Century Park East apartments; (9) Restaurant; (10) Century City Service Center; (11) Pacific Telephone building; (12) Auto Club   

 

Historical Notes

At the southern edge of Century City, a small community of office buildings, bungalows and sound stages is all that remains of the once grand and sprawling 20th Century Fox Studios.

Before William Fox built his studio here in 1928, the 176-acre site that would one day become Century City was first the personal ranch of movie cowboy legend Tom Mix.

By 1935, Fox—producers of the famous Movietone Newsreels—had merged operations with Daryll Zanuck’s 20th Century Pictures to form what would become one of the truly great studios of the American cinema’s Golden Age—20th Century Fox Pictures.

But by 1957, with box office receipts down and filmmakers shooting more on location, 20th Century Fox decided to either develop part of their extensive 260-acre back-lot or sell it off entirely. Ultimately, in 1961, the Aluminum Co. of America (Alcoa) purchased 260 acres from 20th Century Fox for $43 million, with 80 acres to remain in use by the film company for its studios. +^^

 

 

 

 
(1969)*##^ - View looking north on Avenue of the Stars with the Century Plaza Hotel on the left.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1961, developer William Zeckendorf and Alcoa bought about 180 acres from 20th Century Fox after the studio had suffered a string of expensive flops, culminating in the box-office disaster Cleopatra. The new owners conceived Century City as "a city within a city" with the arc-shaped, 19-story, 726-room Minoru Yamasaki-designed Century Plaza as the centerpiece of the new city.^*

 

 

 

 
(1970)##^* –  Postcard view of Century City looking northeast.  The Century Plaza Hotel stands at center-left. The curved street running down toward the center bottom is Olympic Boulevard and 20th Century Fox Studios is at lower-right. Hollywood can be seen in the far distance (upper-right).  

 

 

 

 

 
(1980)^**# – View showing the the ABC Entertainment Center with the Century Plaza Towers in the background as seen from across Avenue of the Stars in front of the Century Plaza Hotel.  

 

Historical Notes

Completion of the new ABC Entertainment Center was finalized in 1972, offering a movie complex that screened Cabaret as its first film. That same year, as part of Century City’s cultural center, the Shubert Theatre opened with Follies starring Alexis Smith. For the next thirty years, the theater would bring Broadway productions to West Los Angeles, including Sly Fox with George C. Scott, A Chorus Line, Chicago, Ragtime, Cats, Les Miserables, Sunset Boulevard and the Shubert’s longest running hit Beauty and the Beast. +^^

 

 

 
(1991)##++ – Aerial view showing the twin 44-story Century Plaza Towers and the old ABC Entertainment Center seen in the foreground.  Photo by Jim Vines  

 

Historical Notes

1975 marked the end of The Golden Age of Century City development, with the completion of the Century Plaza Towers, which majestically loomed above The ABC Entertainment Center. Designed by Minoru Yamasaki, the two 44- story triangular towers became an instant showpiece for Alcoa, with its aluminum siding that shimmered in the sun for miles around. The following year, on May 17, 1976, the Shubert Theatre hosted the 28th Annual Emmy Awards using the Century Plaza Towers as two large 44-storied neon signs that could be seen from an airplane. Boasting the largest underground parking structure in the world, both The Century Plaza Towers and The ABC Entertainment Center became the heart of Century City. +^^

The Entertainment Center was demolished in October 2002 to make way for the 2000 Avenue of the Stars office building.

The Plaza Towers' prominence in the Century City skyline has been reduced in recent years with the addition of new skyscrapers that partially block their view. Nevertheless, the Century Plaza Towers remain the tallest buildings in Century City and the tallest skyscrapers in Southern California outside of downtown Los Angeles.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hughes Airport - Playa Vista

 
(1968)* - Aerial view looking east along the runway of the Hughes Airport.  Loyola University and Westchester can be seen on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1940, Howard Hughes purchased 380 acres of the Ballona Wetlands just west of Culver City for $500,000. Hughes recognized the area as one of the few large tracts of remaining undeveloped land in Los Angeles. The high water table made it necessary to sink 50' pilings into the wetlands to support Hughes’ buildings & reroute the course of the Centinela River, which flowed through the site every spring & flooded it. On his new land Hughes constructed a 60,000 square foot air conditioned, humidity-controlled aircraft plant with an adjacent grass runway.*#*#

Little known fact: The Los Angeles River was originally alluvial, meaning its banks and bed were formed from loose sediments and rock that allowed it to change its path depending on water flow and season. Up until the early 1800's, the river actually flowed into the Pacific near Marina Del Ray (Ballona Wetlands), but a particularly severe flash flood in 1825 diverted the river all the way to Long Beach, where it has remained since.^^^*

In 1943, Hughes built the world’s longest private runway at the Hughes Airport. Runway 5/23 was 9,600' long - nearly 2 miles in length. It was not paved for its first few years, because Hughes believed that paved runways imparted unnecessary stress on an aircraft's landing gear. He reportedly had to add fill regularly to keep the ground solid.*#*#

 

 

 
(1972)*#*# - Aerial view looking west at the Hughes Airfield.  

 

Historical Notes

After an often strange & reclusive life, Howard Hughes died in 1976.  After the dust of Hughes’ estate had settled, the Culver City property was in the hands of Summa Corporation. Summa proposed a mega-development, with 29,000 people in 13,000 units, and an additional 20,000 employed by an on-site world-class motion picture studio. The project was called "Playa Vista." *#*#

During the late 1990s, DreamWorks failed in its attempt to build a studio in Playa Vista.*^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Aviation in Early L.A.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1970s)^ - The California Federal Plaza building is in the center of an aerial shot showing surrounding commercial and residential areas. Signage on some of the commercial buildings include Van de Kamp's, and Prudential, later renamed Museum Square.  

 

Historical Notes

California Federal Bank, often abbreviated to "Cal Fed", was a savings and loan bank in California with the corporate headquarters being located at 5670 Wilshire Boulevard, in Los Angeles. It existed from 1926 until 2002, when its parent company, Golden State Bancorp, was acquired by Citigroup, resulting in the bank being merged into Citibank. Cal Fed first ceased to be an independent banking company after its acquisition in 1997 by First Nationwide Bank of San Francisco, California. First Nationwide Bank changed the name of the new merged banking entity to CalFed Bank due to the appeal of the CalFed brand name. A few years later the bank was bought out by Citigroup.^*

 

 

 
(1972)**^ - View looking west on Wilshire Boulevard. The Broadway (originally Coulter's) Department Store is at 5600 Wilshire Boulevard. The California Federal Bank Building stands to the right.  

 

Historical Notes

California Federal Bank's historic building, opened in 1965, on Wilshire was one of the original bank corporate headquarters in the Miracle Mile area.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 
(1979)^ - Panoramic view from Los Angeles City Hall, looking northeast from the southern side of Highway 101. Several landmarks are visible, including the Terminal Annex Post Office, Union Station, and the L.A. Plaza.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Plaza of Los Angeles

 

 

 

 

 
(1968)*# - Aerial view facing north over Downtown Los Angeles with the Harbor and Hollywood freeways in the background. Notable buildings are the Eastern-Columbia with the clock tower, Texaco Building, One Wilshire, City National Bank, AT&T Building (under construction), Union Bank Square.  

 

 

 

 
(1970)^#^^ – Aerial view looking south over Dodger Stadium showing downtown and the Bunker Hill Redevelopment area (open space).  

 

 

 

 
(1971)**^ - Aerial view of downtown Los Angeles looking southwest from over the Hollywood Freeway. The Pacific Ocean can be seen in the distance. Note the cleared area at center of photo. It is part of the Bunker Hill Redevelopment Project.  

 

 

 

 
(1970)^ - Aerial view of the Four Level Interchange in downtown L.A. Some of the recently constructed buildings (Music Center, DWP, Bunker Tower, etc.) can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1968)^ - View looking south on Flower Street toward 5th Street. The California Club stands on the left.  The Richfield Building is the tallest building in view. Empty parking lots are seen in the foreground.  

 

 

 

 
(1968)^ - Aerial view looking northeast showing the 42-story Crocker-Citizens Plaza and surrounding buildings in downtown Los Angeles. In the lower-left can be seen Los Angeles Central Library, the California Club, and Church of the Open Door/Biola Institute.  

 

Historical Notes

The Crocker-Citizens Plaza was designed by William L. Pereira & Associates and completed in 1968 (Click HERE to see more).

 

 

 
(1970s)##^# – View looking west from the corner of 5th and Hill streets showing the Biltmore Hotel with Crocker-Citizens Bank Building and Arco Towers behind it.  Thrifty is on the N/W corner.  

 

Historical Notes

The 1923-built Biltmore Hotel was designated a Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 60 in 1969. Click HERE to see the LA Historic-Cultural Monument List.

As of 2009, the Los Angeles Biltmore is operated as part of the Millennium & Copthorne Hotels chain as the Millennium Biltmore Hotel. From its original 1500 guestrooms it now has 683, due to room reorganization.^*

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Biltmore Hotel.

 

 

 
(ca. 1975)##^# – View looking west on 5th Street toward Grand Avenue showing the Los Angeles Central Library seemingly dwarfed by the the Arco Plaza Towers.  

 

Historical Notes

Upon completion in 1972, the ARCO Plaza Towers were the tallest buildings in the city for one year before being overtaken by Aon Center, and were the tallest twin towers in the world until the completion of the World Trade Center in New York City. ^*

 

 

LA's Changing Skyline

 
(ca. 1967)^ - View from City Hall looking south over downtown. The LA Times Building (foreground) has now been expanded, the Atlantic Richfield Building is still standing, and redevelopment on Bunker Hill has not yet been completed.  

 

Historical Notes

Prior to the late 1950s the Charter of the City of Los Angeles did not permit any portion of any building other than a purely decorative tower to be more than 150 feet. Therefore, from its completion in 1928 until 1964, the City Hall was the tallest building in Los Angeles, and shared the skyline with only a few structures having decorative towers, including the Richfield Tower and the Eastern Columbia Building.^*

 

 

 
(1968)**^* - View of Bunker Hill from City Hall looking southwest. The State Building in the foreground sustained damage in the 1971 San Fernando Earthquake and was demolished in 1976 (see next photo).  

 

 

 

 
(1978)^ - View of Bunker Hill from City Hall looking southwest. Same view as previous photo but 10 years later. In the foreground are the remains of the State Building, demolished in 1976. The LA Times Building has a new additon. Also, note how the skyline is beginning to change with the additon of the Arco Towers, Security Pacific Building, and the Westin Bonaventure Hotel among others.  

 

Historical Notes

Built just a few years earlier, both the ARCO Towers and the Bonaventure Hotel (background) are present. A redesigned Grand Avenue (right) running through Bunker Hill has been completed, but other construction in that corridor has not yet begun.^

 

 

 
(1980)*++ - View of Bunker Hill from City Hall, looking southwest, with a clear view of the Westin Bonaventure Hotel (built in 1976) in the upper-right.  

 

 

 

 
(1976)**^ – Aerial view looking southwest showing the Westin Bonaventure Hotel under construction on the southeast corner of 4th and Figueroa streets. Behind the hotel is the Union Bank Building. At lower right stands the microwave tower on top of the Madison Complex Tandem Office Building.  

 

 

 

 
(1980)**^* - View looking west showing from left to right; the Wells Fargo Building (under construction), the Union Bank Building, and the Westin Bonaventure Hotel.  

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

Bunker Hill Development

 
(1968)*# - Aerial view looking northeast showing the Union Bank Building, the first high-rise built on Bunker Hill in Downtown Los Angeles.  The building under construction in the upper left is Bunker Hill Tower. The white building in lower-right is the Douglas Oil Building. The Harbor Freeway is seen at lower left. Also seen in the background is the DWP Building, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, and County Courthouse.  

 

Historical Notes

The Union Bank Building was the first high-rise built (1967) in the Central Business District after the 1920s. It was one of the first skyscrapers erected after the 150’ height limit was repealed in 1957 and the first building taller than City Hall. It was also the first structure to be completed as part of the Bunker Hill redevelopment project that began an era of skyscraper building in the Central Business District.^#^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1968)^ - Aerial view looking north along the Harbor Freeway in downtown Los Angeles.  Union Bank Building stands tall east of the freeway. Also seen at lower-center is the Coldwell Banker Building and the Jonathan Club.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1968)^ - Aerial view looking west along 5th Street toward the #110 Harbor Freeway. The three dominant buildings east of the freeway are (l to r):  the Jonathan Club, Coldwell Banker, and  Union Bank Building.  

 

 

 

 
(1969)^ – View looking northeast across the Harbor Freeway showing the 42-story Union Bank Building, the first skyscraper* on Bunker Hill.  At left can be seen the Bunker Hill Tower Apartments, still under construction, and the Bunker Hill Tower behind them.  To the right stands the Madison Complex Tandem Office Building with its towering microwave tower. The building to the far right is the Douglas Oil Building.  

 

Historical Notes

In the southern end of the Bunker Hill redevelopment zone, in what’s typically thought of as the Financial District, the 40-story, 157 meter tall Union Bank Plaza became the first skyscraper to be built as part of the Bunker Hill Redevelopment Project.

 

 

 
(1971)^ – View looking north showing (L to R) Bunker Hill Apartments, Bunker Hill Tower, and the DWP Office Building rising up from a flattened Bunker Hill.  

 

Historical Notes

The Community Redevelopment Agency of the city of Los Angeles undertook the Bunker Hill Redevelopment Project in 1955, a massive clearance project that leveled homes and cleared land for future commercial skyscraper development. This period saw the clearing and upzoning of the entire neighborhood.^*

 

 

 

 
(1971)**^ – View looking north over the Bunker Hill Redevelopment area on a stormy-looking day. From left to right can be seen Bunker Hills Towers, DWP Building, Music Center, LA County Courthouse, California State Building, Federal Building, City Hall, and in the lower-right foreground, the AT&T Madison Complex Tandem Office Building. Photo by Julius Shulman  

 

Historical Notes

Atop the actual Bunker Hill (but generally thought of as lying within the Civic Center) are two of the first buildings to follow the neighborhood’s redevelopment, the beautiful John Ferraro Building (formerly known as the Department of Water and Power’s General Office Building), completed in 1964, and the Los Angeles Music Center’s Dorothy Chandler Pavilion (1964), Ahmanson Theater (1967), and Mark Taper Forum (1967).

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1970)*# - Overlooking Downtown Los Angeles and the Civic Center from an overpass above the Harbor Freeway. The two 19-story Bunker Hill Tower Apartments are in the foreground with the taller Bunker Hill Tower behind them. DWP's office building is on the left and City Hall is in the background on the right. West Second Street, West Third Street, General Thaddeus Kosciuszko Way can all be seen.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1974)^ - Looking south from the water courtyard of the General Office Building of the Department of Water and Power. Bunker Hill Tower can be seen across the street (1st Street) and the Pac Bell Tower is at center-left.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1968, the 32-story Bunker Hill Tower was one of the original buildings in the extensive Bunker Hill Redevelopment Project. The project was proposed by the City of Los Angeles in 1955 and is scheduled to end in 2015.

 

 

 

 
(1970s)**^ – View looking south from the front entry ‘bridge’ leading to the Water and Power Office Building. The twin ARCO Plaza towers, completed in 1972, are seen in the background. Photo by Julius Schulman  

 

 

 

 

 
(1986)^ - Another view looking south from the water courtyard of the DWP Building 12 years later. Notice how the skyline has changed. The 32-story Bunker Hill Tower now looks small when compared to the other buildings in the background. Click HERE to see more in Construction of the DWP's General Office Building.  

 

 

 

 
(1980)*++ – Aerial view looking south on Flower Street from over 2nd Street showing how the Bunker Hill Redevelopment area is taking shape. To the left is the 55-story Security Pacific Tower and at lower-right are the Bunker Towers. The Westin Bonaventure Hotel is seen at upper-center, with the Union Bank Building to its right.  

 

 

 

 
(1980)*++ – Street view looking north on Flower Street from near 5th Street. Buildings from left to right include: Atlantic Richfield Plaza, Westin Bonaventure Hotel, Bunker Hills Tower, DWP Office Building, and theSecurity Pacific Tower, now known as Bank of America Plaza.  

 

 

 

 
(1982)^ - Older homes, apartments, and businesses (foreground) contrast greatly with the shiny office buildings of downtown Los Angeles. This view, taken on January 23, 1982, is seen from the Hollywood Freeway, just south of Glendale Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The above photograph was also used for article dated March 10, 1985; the caption reads, "Mayor Bradley cites downtown boom as his major feat, but critics say redevelopment funds would have been better spent for low-and moderate-income housing."

 

 

 
(1983)* - Aerial view looking north at downtown Los Angeles, with Harbor Freeway on the left. Some identifiable buildings include offices for First Interstate, Bank of America, City National Bank, One Wilshire, and Security Pacific. Also seen are Los Angeles Public Library, Broadway Plaza, and City Hall.  

 

 

 

 
(1981)^ - The downtown skyline, as seen from the Occidental Center. Broadway Plaza, Robinson's, hotels and office buildings make up the skyline. The First United Methodist Church (lower left) was demolished not long after this photograph was taken, and a few skyscrapers are under construction in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1980)**^* - Pasadena Freeway westbound with the Downtown LA skyline in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1988)^ - City Hall stands tall in the background as darkness descends on Chinatown and North Broadway Street.  

 

 

 

 
(1980)^ – View of the gateway to New Chinatown, with people standing on the sidewalk, near Castelar Street, off Sunset Blvd. Photo by Roy Hankey  

 

 

 

 
(1989)**^* - View of Hollywood from Mulholland Drive. The Hollywood Bowl can be seen in the foreground and the Hollywood Freeway is to the left. In the far distance can be seen Downtown L.A. and the Wilshire corridor.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1987)^ - Looking east from the Hollywood Hills, L.A.'s skyline appears clear and bright as does Hollywood and its distinctive Cinerama Dome. Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1984)^ - Night view of the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion at the Los Angeles Music Center, as seen from the DWP building.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2000)^ - As if straight out of a science fiction movie, cars seem to spill out of the darkness and into the spiral-like light of day. The photo was taken from inside the 2nd Street Tunnel, two pedestrians walking on the right side, and a row of ceiling lights that are spaced out through the entire tunnel are the only visible things inside this black hole.  

 

Historical Notes

The 2nd Street Tunnel is frequently used in movies – notably Blade Runner – and even more frequently in car advertisements, with 73 car ads filmed in the tunnel in 2006–2008, over 2 per month.^*

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^ - Outline of Griffith Observatory is silhouetted against the brilliance of Hollywood lights. Night view taken from Mt. Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)++# - Telephoto view looking northwest showing Mt. Lee tower, Griffith Observatory, and the HOLLYWOOD Sign.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2006)^ - Panoramic view of Los Feliz, Hollywood and downtown Los Angeles, taken from outside of the Samuel Oschin Planetarium at Griffith Observatory.  

 

Historical Notes

For over 75 years, the planetarium has been used to present astronomical programs overseen by a lecturer. The view reveals a variety of buildings, homes and the numerous skyscrapers located in Downtown L.A. in the background. This photograph was taken not long after the observatory reopened on November 3, 2006, after having been closed since 2002 for an extensive renovation. John C. Austin and Frederick M. Ashley were the original architects of the Art Deco structure.^

 

 

 
(1989)^ - Panoramic view of Echo Park Lake on a bright sunny day. The city's skyline can also be seen clearly in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2005)++ – View of downtwon Los Angeles at dusk looikng southeast across the Harbor (110) Freeway. Photo by Michel Anzaldua  

 

 

 

 

 
(2005)* - Panoramic view of Downtown Los Angeles. Photo shows numerous highrise buildings; among them are Ernst & Young, TCW, AON, US Bank, One Wishire, Citigroup, etc. The Harbor (110) Freeway is visible at middle left.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2005)* - Panoramic view of the Central City area, looking northeast. Traffic is moving north and south on the 110 freeway, shown on the left. Photo by Gary Leonard  

 

 

 

 

 
(2005)* - Panoramic view of Downtown Los Angeles looking north showing numerous highrise buildings; among them are Ernst & Young, TCW, AON, US Bank, One Wishire, Citigroup, etc. Hope Street runs away from the camera at lower right. Photo by Gary Leonard  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2012)**^ -   Aerial view  of the Downtown skyline, looking northeast, as seen from west of the Harbor Freeway.  

 

Historical Notes

As of 2015 the tallest building in Los Angeles is the 73-story U.S. Bank Tower (center-top), which rises 1,018 feet in Downtown Los Angeles and was completed in 1989. It also stands as the tallest building in the state of California, tallest building west of the Mississippi, and the 11th-tallest building in the United States. The second-tallest skyscraper in the city and the state is the Aon Center (right), which rises 858 feet.  Seven of the ten tallest buildings in California are located in Los Angeles.^*

 

 

 

 
(2004)^* - View of the Los Angeles skyline as seen from the Grand Central Market. Angels Flight terminal on Hill Street is seen at the lower right.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2007)^* - View looking northwest from Pershing Square showing the  Downtown skyline.  The tallest building, the 73-story U.S. Bank Tower, is at upper-left.  The Biltmore Hotel is directly across Olive Street at lower-left.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2011)**# – View looking southwest from over the intersection of 5th and Hill streets showing Pershing Square with the Biltmore Hotel on the right and the Downtown skyline in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2010)^* - View looking north toward the downtown skyline through what is the LA's oldest palm trees. The trees are located on what was Palm Avenue at Adams Boulevard and were planted cira 1875. Click HERE to see more on LA's oldest palm trees.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2010s)##^# – View looking west showing the Sixth Sthreet Bridge with the Los Angeles Downtown skyline in the distance.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2010)**** - View of MacArthur Park with the Los Angeles Downtown skyline in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2011)#^*# - View of Downtown Los Angeles from behind the Hollywood Sign.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2015)*##^ – Aerial view on a crystal clear day showing the Hollywood Hills,  Hollywood Sign, Mt. Lee Tower, and the San Fernando Valley in the distance.  Photo by Mike Kelley  

 

 

 

 

 
(2012)#** - Space Shuttle Endeavour makes its final flight to LAX on September 21, 2012 as it passes over Disney Hall and the Hollywood Sign.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2012)^** - View of Disney Hall at sunrise as seen from Grand Avenue. The Dorothy Chandler Pavilion stands at right, across 1st Street.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2005)++ – Panoramic view looking northeast showing downtown Los Angeles, with snow-capped San Gabriel Mountains in the background.  The Harbor Freeway and LA Convention Center are in the foreground. Photo by Daniel Castro  

 

 

 

 

 
(2013)*^ – A slightly different angle view also showing downtown Los Angeles with the beautiful snow-capped San Gabriel Mountains in the background.  City Hall is seen at lower center-right. Once the tallest building in Los Angeles (1928 thru 1964), City Hall is now dwarfed by scores of other high-rise buildings.  Photo by Todd Jones  

 

Historical Notes

Los Angeles went through a large building boom that lasted from the early 1960s to the early 1990s, during which time the city saw the completion of 30 of its 32 tallest buildings, including the U.S. Bank Tower, the Aon Center, and Two California Plaza. The city is the site of 25 skyscrapers at least 492 feet (150 m) in height, more than any other city in the Pacific coast region. As of July 2011, there were 505 completed high-rises in the city.

As of May 2011, there were 60 high-rise buildings under construction, approved for construction, and proposed for construction in Los Angeles. 37 of these 60 buildings are over 100 meters tall.^*

 

 

 

 
(2011)###* - Aerial view of Downtown Los Angeles on a clear day. Hollywood and the Hollywood Hills are in the background and the San Fernando Valley can also be seen in the distance.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2008)*#** - Aerial view of Downtown Los Angeles with Wilshire Blvd in the background heading off to the west. Photo by Ron Reiring  

 

 

 

 

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

For more Historical Los Angeles Views click one of the following:

 

 

For Other Historical Views click one of the following:

 

 

See Our Newest Sections:

 

 

To see how Water and Electricity shaped the history of Los Angeles click one of the following:

 

Water:

 

 

Power:

 

* * * * *

 

 

References and Credits

* DWP - LA Public Library Image Archi

^ LA Public Library Image Archive

**LADWP Historic Archive

*^Oviatt Library Digital Archives

*# USC Digital Library

^^LA Times: Photo Archive; An Oil Well on La Cienega; Mulholland Bridge; A Mountain of Red Cars; The Vincent Thomas Bridge; Hill Street Tunnels; Harbor-Santa Monica Freeway Interchange; Super Bowl I; Dodgers Caravan,1958

#*MTA Transportation and Research Library Archives

#+Facebook.com: Paul Ayers

+#Facebook.com: Garden of Allah Novels

++City-Data.com: Los Angeles

#^^Picturetrail.com: KCET - Angels Flight

#^*Downtown LA Public Art: Fort Moore Pioneer Monument

^**Flickr: Enock 1; Eric Richardson

*^#Los Angeles Conservancy: LA Stock Exchange Building; Park La Brea

^#^Pacific Electric Railway Historical Society - Alan Weeks Collection

*#*Westland.net: Venice History

*#^Forum.Skyscraper.com: Arroyo Seco Library; Westwood-Life Magazine; North Los Angeles Street

^#*Metro.net: Mulholland Drive Bridge

**#The California History Room, California State Library: William Reagh

#**Pinterest - California and DailyBreeze.com

#^#Deadhistoryproject.com: Silent Movie Theater

##^Google Street View

+**Los Angeles' Bunker Hill - Alta Visa Apartments

*++Getty Research Institute

+++US 101 Freeway

+*#Lost Los Angeles

+##MartinTurnbull.com: Fairfax and Wilshire

+^^Century City History;History of Century City

^^+How Stuff Works: Chevrolet Impala

+^+Vintage Everyday

+#+Pinterest - California and DailyBreeze.com; Mid Century Hollywood

++#Facebook.com: Photos of Los Angeles

^^#The George A. Eslinger Street Lighting Photo Gallery

^^*Early Downtown Los Angeles - Cory Stargel, Sarah Stargel

***Los Angeles Historic - Cultural Monuments Listing

*^*California Historical Landmarks Listing (Los Angeles)

^*^LA Street Names - LA Times

*^^Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles: losangelespast.com

**** Pinterest.com: Los Angeles Dodgers; Los Angeles and Hollywood; MacArthur Park w/Downtown Skyline; Gilmore Self-Service Gas Station

**^*California State Library Image Archive

**^#Vintage Los Angeles: Facebook.com - Gilmore Stadium and Field; Cruising Hollywood Blvd

^^^^Depaul.edu: Night Train 55

^^++Huntington Digital Library Archive

**#^Vincent Thomas Bridge - Facts and Figures

*#**Flickr-Los Angeles in Good Light - Ron Reiring

^#^^Flickr.com: Michael Ryerson

*#^#Life.time.com: Stoked-Life Goes Surfing

*#*#Abandoned & Little-Known Airfields – Paul Freeman

^#*#LA Magazine: Beverly Park Ponyland

^^##Pacific Electric Railway Historical Society

^**#Los Angeles Movie Palaces: The ABC Entertainment Center

^^*#Historic LA Theatres: Downtown Broadway Theatres

^^#*LA Observed.com: Decommissioned Street Cars; Bunker HIll, 1964

*^^*Pinterest.com: Bertrand Lacheze

^^**Pinterest.com: Vintage California

*##*Pinterest.com: Trucks, Pick-Ups, and Gas Stations

*##^LAist.com: Harbor Freeway, 1969; Century Plaza Hotel

##*^Port of Los Angeles: portoflosangeles.corg

##^*Calisphere: University of California Image Archive

##^^Cinema Treasures: Olympic Drive-In

##++Facebook.com - Beverly Hills Heritage

#**#California State University Northridge History: csun.edu

#++#The Pacific Electric Railway Historical Society (PERyHS)

#*##Daily News: Mulholland Bridge

#^^^Metro Library and Archive

#^**The Go Go's: N/W Corner of Hollywood and Vine

#^*#Flickr.com: Paul Bajerczak

##^#Facebook.com: Classic Hollywood-Los Angeles-SFV

###*Flickr.com: Jessie Hey

^***UCLA Library Digital Archive

^^^*KCET: Welcome to L.A. River; Four Level Interchange; Construction of 5 Southern California Freeways; Beverly Park and Ponyland; Before the 'Carmageddon': A Photographic Look at the Construction of 5 SoCal Freeways; Seventh and Broadway; Creating the Santa Monica Freeway; L.A.'s First Freeways

****^Facebook.com: West San Fernando Valley Then And Now

*^^^^Los Angeles Maritime Museum

^^^**tumblr.com: John Ferraro Office Building; DWP Office Building

**^^^Facebook.com - San Pedro's Original Website, San Pedro.com

#*#**Facebook.com: Beverly Park - L.A.'s Kiddieland

**#**LMU Digital Archive

**^ Noirish Los Angeles - forum.skyscraperpage.com; Westwood-Life Magazine; Selling Papers on Olive; California Federal Plaza Building; Downtown Aerial 1958; 1949 Construction of 101 Freeway; 1953 Harbor Freeway Construction; Wilshire Blvd, 1949; Zephyr Room and Brown Derby Postcard View; Aliso Before and After 101 Frwy; Vincent Thomas Bridge; Gilmore Aerial; Hollywood Frwy Traffic Jam; 2012 Downtown Skyline; View from GOB; Bonaventure Hotel Aerial; Hollywood and Vine; CBS Television City

^* Wikipedia: Hollywood Sign; Carthay Circle Theatre; Fairfax High School; Park La Brea; San Vicente Boulevard; Etymologies of place names in Los Angeles; Los Angeles Central Library; Broadway Tunnel; Pershing Square; Pacific Electric Railway; Gilmore Field; GilmoreStadium; Union Station; Westwood; 6th Street Viaduct Bridge; Figueroa Street Tunnels; Chavez Ravine; 2nd Street Tunnel; Hollywood Freeway; Los Angeles International Airport; Los Angeles City Hall; Wilshire Boulevard Temple; Egyptian Theatre; The Pig 'N Whistle; Sunland-Tujunga; Van de Kamp Bakery Building; Los Angeles County Art Museum; Los Angeles City Oil Field; Los Angeles Railway; Miracle Mile; Interstate 405; Chevrolet Impala; Playa Vista; Harbor Frwy (Interstate 110); History of Los Angeles Population Growth; Los Angeles City Hall Lindbergh Beacon; May Company California; Four Level Interchange; California Federal Bank; Harbor Freeway; Arroyo Seco Parkway; Brown Derby; 2004 Los Angeles Skyline; LA's Oldest Palm Trees; Vincent Thomas Bridge; World Cruise Center; CSUN; Westwood; Westwood Village; UCLA; History of UCLA; 1950s Americal Automotove Culture; Pershing Square; Century Plaza Hotel; California Incline; First A.M.E. Church of Los Angeles; Downtown Los Angeles

 

< Back