Early Los Angeles Historical Buildings (1925 +)

Historical Photos of Early Los Angeles

 
(1929)* - Exterior view of the French style Chateau Elysée, located at 5930 Franklin Avenue in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Chateau Elysée was built as a luxury hotel/apartment house in 1929 by Eleanor Ince, the widow of Thomas H. Ince, the successful pioneer silent film producer.  Designed by eminent architect Arthur E. Harvey as a prominent seven story replica of a 17th Century French-Normandy castle, the Chateau Elysée remains as the most impressive of several Hollywood chateaux built during the area's booming 1920s.*^

 

 

 
(1929)* - Street view looking up toward the Chateau Elysée in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Chateau Elysée Hotel provided a home for many of the artists that were then being drawn to Hollywood. Residents included some of the most famous names of the 1930s and 40s. Most notably Bette Davis, Errol Flynn (room 211), Edward G. Robinson (room 216), Carol Lombard (room 305), Edgar Rice Burroughs (room 408), Humphrey Bogart (room 603), Clark Gable (room 604), Ginger Rogers (room 705), Ed Sullivan (room 501), Gracie Allen and George Burns (room 609) along with Lillian Gish, Katharine Hepburn, George Gershwin, and Cary Grant.*^

 

 

 
(1951)* - Exterior view of the Chateau Elysée as it appeared in 1951.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1969 the building began being used as the Church of Scientology's home for its Celebrity Centre; since 1973 the building has been owned by the Church. Several floors are now hotel rooms (for church members only), with the building's topmost stories serving as offices. Free guided tours of the historic building are available to the general public.

The Château's conservatory building houses the acclaimed French rococo-styled restaurant, Renaissance.*^

On September 23, 1987, the City of Los Angeles declared the building as Historic-Cultural Monument No. 329 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

Villa Carlotta

 
(1926)^*# – View showing the Villa Carlotta Apartment Building located on the northwest corner of Franklin and Tamarind avenues.  

 

Historical Notes

The developer Luther T. Mayo built the 50-unit Spanish Colonial-style apartment house in 1926 from a design by architect Arthur E. Harvey, with rumored financing from William Randolph Hearst. Upon completion, it belonged to Eleanor Ince, widow of silent-film magnate Thomas Ince. According to legend, Hearst gave her the building as a gift after accidentally killing her husband on his yacht in 1924. The bullet, so the story goes, was intended for Charlie Chaplin, whom Hearst suspected was having an affair with his mistress, Marion Davies (Rosebud herself). Supposedly, Ince’s wife received the luxury residence hotel for her grief.**

 

 

 
(1929)* - Street view of the 4-story Spanish style Villa Carlotta apartment building, located at 5959 Franklin Ave. Pacific Electric streetcar tracks are visible on Franklin Avenue outside the building.  

 

Historical Notes

Edward G. Robinson, George Cukor, and Marion Davies were among its early celebrity tenants. Louella Parsons, the most famous gossip writer of the era, penned her column from a two-story apartment on the courtyard. A personal favorite of Hearst’s, Parsons was on the yacht the night of Thomas’s alleged shooting, and is said to have received The Carlotta’s finest apartment for her silence.**

 

 

 
(1929)* - Front view showing the main entrance of the 4-story Spanish style Villa Carlotta apartment building as seen from acroos the street.  

 

Historical Notes

The four-story building was designed by Arthur E. Harvey, who also designed the nearby Chateau Elysée located across the street.

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)+#+ – Closer view of the Villa Carlotta apartment building at 5959 Franklin Avenue in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The building is a Churrigueresque wonder of late Spanish baroque and filled with detailing they just don’t do anymore.

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)^*# – Close-up view showing the entrance to the Villa Carlotta apartment building.  Note the Baroque Churrigueresque design.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2015)** – Night view of the illuminated front entrance to the Villa Carlotta, 5959 Franklin Ave. Photo Courtesy Vanity Fair.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2015)*^ - The Villa Carlotta apartments, Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument 315, viewed from the southeast.  

 

Historical Notes

The Lesser family trust owned the building from the 1950s to 2014, when it was bought by investment firm CGI Strategies. The new owner is restoring and renovating the historic building with a focus on preserving its architectural heritage, including keeping and refreshing the features and fixtures that made it a special place for so many residents and visitors.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

La Leyenda Apartments

 
(ca. 1929)^*# – View looking southwest showing the La Leyenda Apartments located at 1737 Whitley Avenue in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1927, the 6-story La Leyenda Apartment Building is located in the residential neighborhood of Whitley Heights in the Hollywood Hills.

 

 

 

 
(1930s)^*# -  View showing the 6-story La Leyenda Apartments with cars parked in front. The building is ornamented with decorative work.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)^*# – Doorman stands by the front entryway to the La Leyenda Apartments.  Note the ornate Churrigueresque stone design.  

 

Historical Notes

The La Leyenda Apartment Building exhibits character-defining features of Spanish Colonial Revival architecture including stucco surfaces which predominate over the openings; low-pitched tile roof; limited number of openings; formal garden; use of decorative ironwork; ceramic tile walls and floors; and Churrigueresque cast stone detailing.^

 

 

 
(2015)*^ - La Leyenda Apartments as it appears today.  Click HERE to see a more contemporary Google Street View.  

 

Historical Notes

In 2005, the La Leyenda Apartment Building at 1735-1737 N. Whitley Avenue was dedicated as Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 817.

 

 

 
(2009)^.^ – Close-up view of the top two floors of the La Leylenda Apartments with its Churrigueresque cast stone detailing. Photo Courtesy: 'Just Above Sunset Photography'  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Warner Bros Theatre (Hollywood)

 
(1928)* - Marquee says to "Watch for the Grand Opening" of Warner Bros. Theatre in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally known as the Warner Bros. Theatre or Warner Hollywood Theatre, the Italianate beaux arts building was designed by architect G. Albert Lansburgh with approximately 2,700 seats. It opened on April 26, 1928, showcasing the studio's early Vitaphone talking film Glorious Betsy, starring Conrad Nagel and Dolores Costello.*^

 

 

 
(1928)* - Interior view of the Warner Bros. Theatre at the time of its opening. A very large organ can be seen to the left in the orchestra pit.  

 

Historical Notes

The  murals were designed by Albert Herter.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)* - Full exterior view of the Warner Bros. Building and Theatre located at located at 6433 Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

The theatre was sometimes called The Warner Hollywood Theatre to avoid confusion with another Warner Theatre in Los Angeles, known as "Warner Downtown Theatre" at 401 W. 7th St.*^

In 1993, the building was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 572 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1930)* - Exterior with crowds for matinee performance of Joe E. Brown in "Top Speed" at the Warner Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard (Later the Hollywood Pacific Theatre).  

 

Historical Notes

Warner Bros. owned radio station KFWB positioned its radio transmitter towers on top of the building, which remain to this day. Though covered by "PACIFIC" lettering, the original "WARNERS" lettering can still be seen inside each tower.*^

 

 

 
(1941)* - Crowds in front of theatre on night of March 12, 1941, for world premiere of "Meet John Doe".  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Pacific Theater (previously Warner Bros.) finally closed its doors as a full-time cinema on August 15, 1994. This was mostly due to water damage to the basement caused by the construction of the Hollywood Subway Red Line and structural damage caused by the 1994 Northridge earthquake.

The theatre is now occupied by Ecclesia Hollywood Church. Given the recent revitalization of Hollywood Boulevard in the early 21st century, it is often speculated that the theatre will one day be restored as a film palace.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Pantages Theatre

 
(1929)^^^ – View looking northeast showing the construction site for the Hollywood Pantages Theatre, located on the northwest corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Argyle Avenue.   

 

Historical Notes

The tallest peak in the distance is Mt. Hollywood, near where the Griffith Park Observatory would be built in 1933.

 

 

 

 

 
(1930)^*# - View of the Pantages Theater still under construction in 1930, located on the northwest corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Argyle Avenue. The tall building to the west is the Equitable Building, located on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Vine.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages Theatre, formerly known as RKO Pantages Theatre was the last theater built by the vaudeville impresario Alexander Pantages. The palatial Art Deco theater opened on June 4, 1930, as part of the Pantages Theatre Circuit.*^

 

 

 

 
(1930)^*# - View looking at the northwest corner of Hollywod and Argyle showing the newly completed Pantages Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The original plans for the Pantages were for a 12-story building: 2 floors dedicated to theater and 10 floors of office space. Completion of the 10 upper floors was halted due to the 1929 stock market crash during construction.*^

 

 

 

 

 
(1930s)^v^ - Street view looking west on Hollywood Boulevard from Argyle Avenue showing the Pantages Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages Theatre can hold claim to two “lasts”: the last movie palace to be built in Hollywood and the last venue erected by vaudeville circuit owner, Alexander Pantages.

 

 

 

 

 
(1930)+#+ – View showing the glitter and lights of the Pantages Theatre on what appears to be opening night.  We’re looking southwest at the back of the theatre with cars parked along Argyle Avenue. Note the Art-Deco bas relief designs on the side of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages opened on June 4th, 1930 with MGM's “The Floradora Girl” starring Marion Davies.

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# –  Profile view looking toward Hollywood Boulevard at Argyle Avenue showing some of the Art Deco designs on the side of the Pantages building. Note the statues along the roof line.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by B. Marcus Priteca at the epitome of the Art Deco era, from sidewalk to stage, the Pantages dazzles theater-goers with chevrons, zigzags, starbrusts, and exotic figures.^

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - Close-up view of one of the many statues that run along the Pantages’ roof line.  They’re of a Mayan man with headdress.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930s)^^ - View looking west on Hollywood Boulevard showing the Pantages Theatre on the right. One block to the west is the intersection of Hollywood and Vine where three taller buildings stand (Equitable Building, Taft Building, and Broadway-Hollywood Building).  

 

 

 

 
(1930)* - Exterior view of the Pantages Theatre located at 6233 Hollywood Boulevard shortly after it opened. Click HERE to see contemporary view.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - Nighttime view of the front entrance to the Pantages Theater. Frank Fink's Apparel Shop is seen on the left.  

 

 

 
(1930)* - View of the foyer at the Pantages Theatre with a close look at the ceiling.  

 

Historical Notes

Alexander Pantages sold the Hollywood landmark in 1932 to Fox West Coast Theaters. In 1949, Howard Hughes acquired the Pantages for his RKO Theatre Circuit and moved his personal offices to the building's second floor.

From 1949 through 1959, the theatre hosted the American motion picture industry's annual Academy Award Ceremonies.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Interior view of the Pantages Theatre. Designed by architect B. Marcus Priteca it is perhaps the most impressive of any Los Angeles theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The grand lobby is a magnificent poly-chromatic fan-vaulted space, that is 110 feet wide and 60 feet deep. It is decorated in a zigzag geometric design in gold and henna shades. The entire area was illuminated by three huge Moderne frosted glass chandeliers hanging from three star-shaped domes.

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - View showing one of the two Art-Deco staircases decorated with Art Deco style statues.  

 

Historical Notes

At each end of the grand lobby is a 20 feet wide stairway, lined with vaguely Egyptian and Assyro-Babylonian styled statues, one of which depicts in an Art Deco style, a camera crew filming.

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - View looking down into the grand lobby from top of staircase showing the magnificent zigzag geometric design of the pillars.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930)* - View of the auditorium interior of the Pantages Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The auditorium was designed to seat 3,212, but it opened with extra legroom and wider seats to give more comfort for its 2,812 patrons.^^#

 

 

 
(1930)* - A partial view of the balcony seats inside the Pantages Theatre. Note the details of the ornamental Art Deco designs on the wall.  

 

Historical Notes

The crowning beauty of the dazzling Art Deco style decorations which cover almost every inch of the theatre interior, by interior designer/muralist Anthony B. Heinsbergen, is the double ceiling made in a series of ‘busy’ fretwork sunray effects which converge from the center, from which is hung a tremendous frosted glass and bronze chandelier.^^#

 

 

 
(1930)* - Close-up view of fans awaiting the arrival of celebrities attending gala opening premiere of "Florodora Girl", starring Marion Davies.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages Theatre was one of the first movie houses to be built after the advent of talking pictures and once boasted the most elaborate sound system in the world. It opened with Marion Davies in “The Floradora Girl” on screen, and “The Rose Garden Idea” a Franchon & Marco stage revue.^^#

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Night view of the Pantages Theater featuring a Clara Bow movie.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages Theater continued to be a major venue for road show movies into the 1970s. From 1965, it was operated by Pacific Theatres. It closed as a movie theater in January, 1977, and re-opened the following month with Bubbling Brown Sugar, the first of the many stage productions that have since become its regular fare.*^

 

 

 
(1931)* - The lighted marquee at night of the Pantages Theatre. The main feature is 'Tarnished Lady' with Tallulah Bankhead and Clive Brook.  

 

Historical Notes

The 1930 Pantages Theatre can hold claim to two “lasts”: the last movie palace to be built in Hollywood and the last venue erected by vaudeville circuit owner, Alexander Pantages. Designed by B. Marcus Priteca at the epitome of the Art Deco era, from sidewalk to stage, the Pantages dazzles theater-goers with chevrons, zigzags, starbrusts, and exotic figures.^#^

 

 

 

 
(1936)+#+ – Life Magazine photo showing a crowd gathered across Hollywood Boulevard from the Pantages Theatre as Universal Pictures hold a whiz-bang premiere for “Show Boat”.  Notice how the marquee claims it is “The Greatest Picture Ever Made”.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1950)* - Exterior view of the Pantages Theatre during the 20th Annual Academy Awards. Crowds of people are seated in bleachers directly outside the theater and on the south side of Hollywood Blvd. A line of cars is seen in the middle of the boulevard. Various signs identify neighboring buildings and businesses: Army Navy store, the Equitable Building, Bond Clothiers, Bank of America, Cinerama and the Guaranty Building. Street car tracks are visible on the street.   

 

Historical Notes

From 1950 to 1960, the awards were presented at Hollywood's Pantages Theatre.

The 22nd Academy Awards Ceremony awarded Oscars for the best in films in 1949. This was the last year for which all five Best Picture nominees were in black and white.*^

Best Picture: All the King's Men

Best Actor: Broderick Crawford – All the King's Men

Best Actress: Olivia de Havilland – The Heiress

 

 

 
(1951)* - The 23rd Annual Academy Awards at the Pantages Theatre in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The 23rd Academy Awards Ceremony awarded Oscars for the best in films in 1950. The nominations were notable this year, as All About Eve was nominated for fourteen Oscars, beating the previous record of thirteen set by Gone with the Wind.*^

23rd Annual Academy Awards (March 29, 1951):

Best Picture: All About Eve

Best Actor: José Ferrer – Cyrano de Bergerac

Best Actress: Judy Holliday – Born Yesterday

 

 

 
(1956)* - View of the crowd gathered in front of the Pantages Theater in Hollywood to watch the stars come out for the Academy Awards. More than 10,000 gathered in front of the famed theater on March 21, 1956, to cheer their favorites. More than 90 regular and reserve policemen were needed to keep the crowd in order.  

 

Historical Notes

The 28th Academy Awards, saw, Marty, a simple and low-budget film usually uncharacteristic of Best Picture awardees, became the shortest film (as well as the second Palme d'Or winner) to win the top honor.*^

28rd Annual Academy Awards (March 21, 1956):

Best Picture: Marty

Best Actor: Ernest Borgnine – Marty

Best Actress: Anna Magnani – The Rose Tattoo

 

 

 

 
(1958)* - 30th Annual Academy Awards at the Pantages Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

1957's best films were honored at the 30th Academy Awards. 

The Oscar for Writing Based on Material From Another Medium was awarded to Pierre Boulle for The Bridge on the River Kwai, despite the fact that he did not know English. The actual writers, Carl Foreman and Michael Wilson were blacklisted at the time and did not receive screen credit for their work. Foreman and Wilson have since been acknowledged by the Academy for their contributions.

Joanne Woodward's win for Best Actress for her triple role as Eve White, Eve Black and Jane in The Three Faces of Eve marked the film as the last film to win Best Actress without being nominated for other awards. This was broken 31 years later when Jodie Foster won Best Actress for her role in The Accused, the film's only nomination.

Peyton Place tied the record for the most nominations without a single win (9) with The Little Foxes. It would not be broken until 1977 when The Turning Point received 11 nominations without a win, which has not been broken since, though The Color Purple subsequently tied the record. Peyton Place also set the record for most unsuccessful acting nominations with five; this record has been tied once, by Tom Jones at the 36th Academy Awards.

It was the first time the ceremonies were broadcast live.*^

30th Academy Awards (March 26, 1958):

Best Picture: The Bridge on the River Kwai

Best Actor: Alec Guinness – The Bridge on the River Kwai

Best Actress: Joanne Woodward – The Three Faces of Eve

 

 

 

 
(1959)* - Photograph caption dated April 7, 1959 reads, "Theater lobby packed - Here at the last moment, crowds of ticket holders make a rush for the Hollywood Pantages door in anticipation of the two-hour telecast of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 31st annual awards presentation. More than 100 famed stars were on hand to regale the packed audience.".  

 

Historical Notes

The 31st Academy Awards ceremony was held on April 6, 1959, to honor the best films of 1958. The show's producer, Jerry Wald, started cutting numbers from the show to make sure it ran on time. Unfortunately, he cut too much material and the ceremony ended 20 minutes early, leaving Jerry Lewis to attempt to fill in the time. Eventually, NBC cut to a re-run of a sports show.

The film Gigi won nine Oscars, breaking the previous record of eight (set by Gone with the Wind and tied by From Here to Eternity and On the Waterfront). It would be shortlived, however, as Ben-Hur broke the record with eleven Oscars the following year.*^

31st Annual Academy Awards (April 6, 1959):

Best Picture:Gigi

Best Actor: David Niven – Separate Tables

Best Actress: Susan Hayward – I Want to Live!

 

 

 

 
(1930)* - Exterior view of the Pantages Theatre located at 6233 Hollywood Boulevard shortly after it opened.   (2008)^v^ – View showing the Disney’s Hollywood Studios Backlot façade based on the Pantages Building design as seen to the left.

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Pictures Backlot façade with its signs, “Flowers, Sweets, Pets,” is based on the famed Pantages Theatre in Hollywood—but only the part of the Pantages that’s to the left of the theater’s entrance and marquee, which is why the Disney version doesn’t look like a theater.

 

 

 

 

 
(2008)*^ - Close-up view of the Pantages Theatre neon sign above the entrance to the Pantages Theatre.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(2012)*^ – View of the Pantages Theatre with the Frolic Room seen just left of the entrance.  

 

Historical Notes

The Frolic Room, located next door to the Pantages Theater is one of the most historic and quintessential dive bar in Hollywood. This watering-hole has gone through a variety of permutations over the years. It began serving as a private speakeasy lounge originally called Freddy’s, then opened to the public in 1934, as Bob’s Frolic Room.

The Frolic Room was reputedly the last place the real Black Dahlia, Elizabeth Short, was seen alive. Both Frank Sinatra and Judy Garland also imbibed here. Howard Hughes owned both the Pantages and the bar from 1949 to 1954. He added the colorful, artistic neon bar sign above the door that still welcomes patrons today, as well as throwing lavishly wild parties.^

 

 

 
(2014)^#^ – Pantages Theatre marquee reads "The Book of Mormon". Photo by Adrian Scott Fine  

 

Historical Notes

In 2000, the theater underwent a massive rehabilitation project, uncovering its Art Deco grandeur, receiving a Conservancy Preservation Award in 2001. 

Now operated by a subsidiary of The Nederlander Organization, the fully-restored Pantages is one of the city’s highest-grossing venues for live stage and Broadway-style productions, packing in audiences for such lavish hits as The Lion King, Wicked, and The Book of Mormon. With a location a few steps from “Hollywood and Vine,” a major hotel complex and a subway station directly across the street, and numerous development projects newly-announced or underway, the best years of the Pantages may well lie in the future.^#^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hollywood Bowl

 
(1929)* - View of the Hollywood Bowl as seen from behind the shell, facing the seating areas on the hillside.  

 

Historical Notes

The site of the Hollywood Bowl was chosen in 1919 by William Reed and his son H. Ellis Reed, members of the newly formed Theatre Arts Alliance who were dispatched to find a suitable location for outdoor performances.*^

 

 

 
(1929)* - Close-up view of the Hollywood Bowl and its shell of concentric arches. An orchestra is seen on stage in what appears to be a rehearsal.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Bowl is known for its band shell, a distinctive set of concentric arches that graced the site from 1929 through 2003, before being replaced with a somewhat larger one beginning in the 2004 season. The shell is set against the backdrop of the Hollywood Hills and the famous Hollywood Sign to the Northeast.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)* - Evening view of the Hollywood Bowl hillside seating area, without the shell.
 

 

 

 

 
(1940)^^ - Panoramic view of the Hollywood Bowl at night, showing spectators.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^*# - Postcard view of the "Muse of Music" Statue at the entrance to the Hollywood Bowl.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1939, the Hollywood Bowl’s “Muse of Music” entrance statue was erected by the WPA. It was designed by sculptor George Stanley, most noted for his design of the “Oscar” statuette.*

 

 

 
(1940)* - Night view of the statue and sign at the Hollywood Bowl entrance on July 10, 1940.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl

 

* * * * *

 

Greek Theatre

 
(ca. 1930)* - Exterior view of the Greek Theatre located at 2700 N. Vermont Avenue, Hollywood. The outdoor seating slopes up the hill.  

 

Historical Notes

The Greek Theatre, located in Griffith Park, was built in 1929. It was designed by architect Frederick Heath to resemble a Greek temple.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Aerial view of the Greek Theatre. The bare Hollywood Hills can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Greek Theatre was paid for with a donation from Griffith J. Griffith, who also donated the land for the park, named in his honor.*^

 

 

 
(1930)* - Shown is the first map to picture the location of the new $250,000 Greek Theatre in Griffith Park, issued by the Department of Parks on the eve of the gala inaugural attraction of the municipal playhouse on September 25, 1930.  

 

Historical Notes

The Greek Theatre’s opening performance was a double bill comprised of the grand operas, "Cavalleria Rusticana" and "Pagliacci."

The map indicates principal highways and the route of the special bus service, which connects on transfers with the yellow "V" line and intersecting red cars and Sunset busses. Parking areas adjoining and near the theater with accommodations for 3,250 automobiles, also are shown, as well as location of playgrounds, pool, picnic grounds and other centers of diversion which are stressed by the park board as constituting the Greek Theatre sector of Griffith Park as an ideal week-end rendezvous.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)#^*^ – Postcard view showing a performance at the Greek Theatre in Griffith Park.  

 

Historical Notes

The amphitheatre had a limited concert season during its first two decades and during World War II it was used as a barracks. In 1947, however, the theatre was used for the Broadway show Anything Goes for two weeks. During the 1950s, under the management of James Doolittle, a concert promoter, the amphitheater underwent a series of renovations that allowed the theater to compete with rival 1950s’ theaters.*^

 

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Caption reads: View of the Griffith Park Greek Theatre. Theatre located in Vermont Canyon is the newest addition to Los Angeles' attractions and a very gem of outdoor playhouse. A gift to the city from the late Col. Griffith J. Griffith, it is the only municipally owned Greek theatre in America. Costing $205,000 and designed to accomodate all types of stage offering, Los Angeles is looking forward eagerly to some novel and inspiring productions during the coming summer months.  

 

 

 

 
(1933)^x^ – Aerial view looking down at the Greek Theatre with the still yet to be completed Griffith Observatory standing on a hill high above it.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)+^^ – Aerial view showing the Greek Theatre located at 2700 N. Vermont Ave with its close neighbor, the Griffith Observatory, high above.  

 

 

 

 
(2007)*^ – View of the Greek Theatre as it appears today.  

 

Historical Notes

Although it is owned by the City of Los Angeles, the Greek Theatre is managed, operated and promoted by the Nederlander Organization. The theatre currently has a seating capacity of 5,700.*^

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

Marshall High School

 
(1931)* – View showing John Marshall High School located at 3739 Tracy Street, shortly after it opened. Photo dated: February 19, 1931.  

 

Historical Notes

The school is named after jurist John Marshall, who served as the fourth Chief Justice of the United States for three decades. It was designed by architect George M. Lindsey in the Collegiate Gothic style, and constructed in 1930.

 

 

 
(1932)* - View looking northeast showing John Marshall High School two months after it opened.  Photo date:  March 27, 1931  

 

Historical Notes

John Marshall High School first opened its doors on January 26, 1931, with approximately twelve hundred students and forty-eight teachers. Joseph Sniffen, for whom the auditorium was named, served as the first Principal, while Hugh Boyd and Geraldine Keith acted as Marshall's first Vice-Principals. The football field was named in honor of Mr. Boyd, while the library was named for Mrs. Keith.*^

 

 

 
(1932)#+# – Aerial view looking northeast showing the community of Franklin Hills with John Marshall High School at upper-center. The beautiful Shakespeare Bridge (built 1926) can be seen at left-center, on Franklin Avenue.   

 

Historical Notes

Franklin Hills borders Los Feliz proper on the northwest and west; Silver Lake on the northeast, east, and southeast; and East Hollywood on the south. The area is residential, boasting very well-kept homes set on the hills east of Los Feliz Village.

Franklin Hills is also home to the Shakespeare Bridge, a small 1926 built bridge on Franklin Avenue east of Talmadge Street that links Franklin Avenue between two tall, steep hills. To the east of the bridge begins the Franklin Hills public stairway system, which provides pedestrian linkages among the curvy streets, a series of 14 staircases originally built in the 1920s to provide hillside homeowners pedestrian access to the trolley lines below.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - Two bike racks are completely full in front of a brick building at John Marshall High School.  

 

Historical Notes

The school's mascot is the "Barrister." The school's service organization is the Continentals. A bust of John Marshall stands in the center of the Senior Court.*^

 

 

 
(2015)##^^^ - Google Street View showing a close-up view of the front of Marshall High School.  

 

Historical Notes

Following the Sylmar earthquake of 1971, some of Marshall's buildings were condemned. The cafeteria was torn down, but the Los Feliz community organized a group called "Citizens to Save Marshall" and campaigned to save the unique Collegiate Gothic Main Building. In 1975, this building was closed for structural strengthening and all classes moved to temporary bungalows. In September 1980 the refurbished Main Building was opened.*^

 

 

Crescent Heights Shopping Center

 
(ca. 1930)^^#* – Panoramic view showing the the Sunset Medical Building (aka “Crescent Heights Shopping Center”) located on the south side of Sunset at Laurel.  The Crescent Heights Market is on the right, and further to the right (out of frame) is Schwab's Pharmacy. On the left is Haverfield Drugs. West Hollywood is west of Crescent Heights.  

 

Historical Notes

The beautiful 1920s 'French Norman revival' building was located on the southeast corner of Sunset Blvd. and Crescent Heights Blvd., just east of the Garden of Allah apartments. The structure faced Sunset Blvd.

 

 

 

 
(1940s)#^* – Postcard view looking at the south side of Sunset east of Crescent Heights showing “Movieland’s Drug Store” (Schwab’s Pharmacy).  

 

Historical Notes

Today, the 8000 Sunset Strip Shopping Center stands at the northeast corner of Sunset and Crescent Heights. The center includes Trader Joe's, CB2 (Crate & Barrel), Sundance Cinema, Crunch Fitness and several offices.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Wilshire Ebell Club and Theatre

 
(1929)* - Exterior of the club house of the Ebell of Los Angeles, built in 1927 on the corner of Wilshire and Lucerne.  

 

Historical Notes

Established in 1897 as a substitute for the university education that women were largely denied, the Ebell club had 2,500 members in its heyday in the 1920s, and activities included Shakespeare, gardening and art appreciation.

The Ebell was named after Adrian Ebell, a German professor who traveled around California forming study groups for women. In the beginning of the 20th century, the Ebell was one of the largest and most elite clubs in the nation, rivaled only by the Friday Morning Club in downtown Los Angeles.^#^#

 

 

 
(n.d.)**^ - Interior view of the Ebell club house built in 1927.  

 

Historical Notes

The club’s home — not its original but by far the longest serving — is an enormous, meandering building designed by the architect Sumner Hunt. It has an elaborate coffered ceiling with gilded rosettes, a grand entrance on Wilshire Boulevard made from 200 separate pieces of wrought iron, and all sorts of fancy sitting rooms.

The stairs maintain their original risers, which were built to allow women to hold their dresses while climbing them with grace.^#^#

 

 

 
(n.d.)**^ - Neon sign perched on top the roof of the Wilshire Ebell Theater located at 4400 Wilshire Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Since 1927, the Wilshire Ebell Theater has hosted musical performances and lectures by world leaders and top artists. Among other events, the Ebell was the site of aviator Amelia Earhart's last public appearance before attempting the 1937 around-the-world flight during which she disappeared, and the place where Judy Garland was discovered while performing as Baby Frances Gumm in the 1930s.*^

In 1982, the Ebell of Los Angeles Building was designated LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 250 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

 

Villa Madama

 
(1930)* - View of the northeast corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Vermont Avenue (foreground) in a neighborhood of large 2-story homes, including the 23-room Italian Renaissance Revival mansion, Villa Madama, seen on the left. In the center of the image is Villa Florist, a floral shop.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1908, architect John C. W. Austin was hired by by Ida Hancock, widow of Major Henry Hancock, to create Villa Madama, which was based on Florence’s Villa Medici. In 1909, the Villa Madama was by built in a subdivision called Shatto Place.*

Hancock Park was developed in the 1920s by the Hancock family with profits earned from oil drilling in the former Rancho La Brea. The area owes its name to developer-philanthropist George Allan Hancock, who subdivided the property in the 1920s. Hancock, born and raised in a home at what is now the La Brea tar pits, inherited 4,400 acres, which his father, Major Henry Hancock had acquired from the Rancho La Brea property owned by the family of Jose Jorge Rocha.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^^** - View of the Hancock Mansion ('Villa Madama') on the northeast corner of Wilshire and Vermont.  

 

Historical Notes

After the passing of Ida Hancock in 1913, her son Captain George Allan, with his first wife, Genevieve, moved into the mansion and stayed there until 1938, when it was decided that Villa Madama would be razed. Prior to the demolition, four rooms, the Reception Hall, the Dining Room, the Music Salon, and the Library, of the mansion were dismantled and relocated in the Allan Hancock Foundation Building (1941) on the campus of the University of Southern California.*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Gilmore Service Station (Future site of E. Clem Wilson Building)

 
(1928)^^ – View of the Gilmore gas station on the northeast corner of Wilshire Boulevard and La Brea Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The gas station was demolished the following year to make way for the construction of the E. Clem Wilson Building. The brick-clad building facing La Brea Avenue in the left background housed an office and switching station for the Southern California Telephone Company, completed in 1925 to serve the city’s western neighborhoods. It was enlarged from three to five floors in 1942 and given a complementary Art Deco facade by architects John and Donald Parkinson. It continues to operate today under the ownership of AT&T.**#*

 

E. Clem Wilson Building

 
(1930)* - Photo of an architectural drawing of the E. Clem Wilson Building in July 1930, located at the northeast corner of La Brea and Wilshire.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1929, the E. Clem Wilson Building was designed by architects Meyer and Holler in Art Deco (Zigzag) Moderne style. It is also known as the Wilson Building.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)*^^ - View of the E. Clem Wilson Building located at 5225 Wilshire Boulevard on the northeast corner of Wilshire and La Brea. An Owl Drug store occupies the ground floor on the corner.  

 

Historical Notes

Elihu Clement Wilson was born on July 5, 1870 in Harrison, Darke County, Ohio to Andrew Porter Wilson, Jr., a farmer, and Arabella Josephine Wiley. He lived for a time, ca. 1880, in Parsons, Kansas, where his father was an insurance agent. By 1888, the family was in LA, where Andrew was a bookkeeper and miner. Elihu was also a bookkeeper, though briefly, in the early 1890s, was a professor at Woodbury Business College. After doing bookkeeping for an iron works, he became a manufacturer of oil well tools (Wilson & Willard Mfg. Co./Wilson Oil Tools Corp.), held several patents and became wealthy. In addition to erecting the Wilson Building, he built a lavish residence on Fremont Place.^**

The Wilson Building portrayed the Daily Planet building in the first Superman TV series.*^^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# – View showing the E. Clem Wilson building entrance, 5217 Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1951)* - Street level view of the E. Clem Wilson Building on the northeast corner of Wilshire at La Brea.  

 

 

 

 
(1954) - Looking east on Wilshire at the E. Clem Wilson building at La Brea and Wilshire.  Sign on building reads: General of America Insurance  

 

Historical Notes

Because of its height and prime location on the northeast corner of Wilshire and La Brea, the Art Deco Wilson Building has attracted prominent signage over the years.

 

 

 
(ca. 1975)* - Exterior view of the Wilson Building, looking east on Wilshire toward La Brea Ave. The sign on the building reads: "Mutual of Omaha"  

 

Historical Notes

Corporate names that adorned The Wilson Building included (in chronological order): General Insurance, Mutual of Omaha (until 1990), Asashi, and Samsung.

 

 

 
(ca. 2010)**#* - Contemporary view of the E. Clem Wilson building at Wilshire and La Brea with Samsung sign.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Dominguez Building (aka Myer Siegel & Co.)

 
(1932)* - An overview of Wilshire Boulevard, looking west. Visible on the left side of the picture is a high rise building labeled Myer Siegel and Company (the Dominguez Building). Farther back on the street is the Wilshire Tower Building with the name Desmonds just visible on the top.  

 

Historical Notes

The Dominguez-Wilshire building (also called the Myer-Siegel Building) was designed in 1930 by architects Morgan Walls and Clemens.   The property was named after its developers, the Dominguez family, the heirs to the first land grant given in California by King Carlos III of Spain.*^

The same setup was used in the Wilshire Tower, two blocks west, with the symmetrical facade facing Wilshire Blvd, rounded corners on the intersections, and a parking lot with an entrance around the back. The 10 stories don't rise as high as the Wilshire Tower, but the building does make a statement among the other low rises along Wilshire Boulevard.*^*#

 

 

 
(1931)^*# - Exterior view of the Dominguez-Wilshire Building (also known as the Myer Siegel Building), located at 5410 Wilshire Boulevard in the Miracle Mile district. The Wilshire Tower Building can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The building was built in 1930 just before Black Monday hit, and the Miracle Mile came crashing down as Angelinos fled from the city. Stores closed and the streets were again barren. In 1934, rebuilding efforts resurrected the Mile, and brought moneymen back to the city.*^*#

 

 

 
(1931)^*# - Rear view of the Dominguez-Wilshire Building (Myer Siegel Building) with a partial view of the parking lot and the rear entrance.  

 

Historical Notes

The Dominguez-Wilshire Building consists of an eight-story Art Deco tower placed on a two-story base.

 

 

 
(1931)^*# - View of the entrance to the Dominguez-Wilshire Building (Myer Siegel Building) showing some of the Art Deco details. The Van's Wilshire store is on the left.  

 

Historical Notes

Today, the Art Deco elements are still visible; especially the entrance has remained perfectly intact. Even the bronze chandelier and the bronze entrance door with many cross-decorations are still present.*^*#

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - Looking west down Wilshire Boulevard from La Brea Avenue in the Miracle Mile at night. The two largest signs in view are: MYER SIEGEL and McDONNELL'S WILSHIRE CAFE  

 

Historical Notes

Not to be confused with today’s McDonald’s fast food restaurants, McDonnell’s Restaurant and Drive-in sandwich stands were part of a chain of restaurants found in LA during the 1930s.

The McDonnell's restaurants throughout Los Angeles were: McDonnell's Monterey (7312 Robertson Boulevard); McDonnell's Wilshire (Wilshire Boulevard and La Brea Avenue); McDonnell's Fairfax (Fairfax Avenue and Wilshire Boulevard); McDonnell's Gates Hotel (Sixth and Figueroa streets); McDonnell's Hill Street (454 S. Hill Street); McDonnell's Figueroa (4012 S. Figueroa Street); McDonnell's Adams and Figueroa (2626 S. Figueroa Street); and McDonnell's Pico Street (Pico and Hope streets).

McDonnell's "Drive-Ins" were located at Beverly Boulevard & Western Avenue, Wilshire and Robertson Boulevards, Yucca Street and Cahuenga Boulevard, Wilshire Boulevard and Fairfax Avenue, and Sunset Boulevard and La Brea Avenue.*

 

 

 

 
(1940)#^*^ – Postcard view showing the Myer Siegel Building standing tall on Wilshire Boulevard, looking west. Photo by Dick Whittington  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Eastern Columbia Building

 
(ca. 1930)^^ - Night view of the Eastern Columbia Building, located downtown at 849 S. Broadway.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1929, architect Claud Beelman designed the Eastern-Columbia Building (aka the Eastern Building, Columbia-Eastern Building, or Eastern Outfitting Retail Store Building) in the Art Deco Moderne stepped-back style and is clad in green and gold terra-cotta.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Eastern Columbia Building, located downtown at 849 S. Broadway, is a reminder of the extravagant style used in architecture during this period of Los Angeles history. Clad in green and gold terra-cotta sheathing, it was built in 1929-1930.  

 

Historical Notes

The Eastern Columbia Building opened on September 12, 1930, after just nine months of construction. It was built as the new headquarters of the Eastern Outfitting Company and the Columbia Outfitting Company, furniture and clothing stores. With the construction of this lavish structure, the companies could also boast one of the largest buildings constructed in the 1930s.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - Detailed close-up view of the top floors of the Eastern Columbia Building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Eastern Columbia building was built of steel-reinforced concrete and clad in glossy turquoise terra cotta trimmed with deep blue and gold trim. The building's vertical emphasis is accentuated by deeply recessed bands of paired windows and spandrels with copper panels separated by vertical columns. The façade is decorated with a wealth of motifs—sunburst patterns, geometric shapes, zigzags, chevrons and stylized animal and plant forms. The building is capped with a four-sided clock tower emblazoned with the name "Eastern" in neon and crowned with a central smokestack surrounded by four stylized flying buttresses.*^

 

 

 
(1950)* - Actress Monica Lewis stands on a ladder underneath the tower clock on the Eastern Building, a thirteen-story Art Deco building designed by architect Claud Beelman at 849 S. Broadway. Photo caption reads: "A reminder that standard time returns at 2 a.m. tomorrow. Actress Monica Lewis gets set to turn back clock an hour atop downtown building".  

 

Historical Notes

In 1985, the Eastern Columbia Building was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 294 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

 

Bankers Building

 
(ca. 1930)^^ - View of the Moderne style Bankers Building located at 629 S. Hill Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Claud Beelman designed Bankers Building (now the International Center) was built between 1929-1930.  The Art Deco/Streamlined Moderne style leans slightly toward the verticality of Gothic.  The Moderne marquee has been removed, but the entrance and elevator lobby still retains its Moderne elegance.  The building is now used by jewelers.*#^#

 

 

 
(late 1930s)**^ - Close-up view of the Art Deco/Streamline Moderne style Bankers Building showing details of the facade.  

 

Historical Notes

The three tiered Art Deco design above the entryway is a Frozen Fountain, an architectural and interior design motif introduced in France around the time of the 1925 “Art Deco” Exposition.

 

 

 
(1938)#* – View looking south on Hill Street from 6th Street showing the Art Deco Bankers Building designed by Claud Beelman.  

 

 

 

 
(2008)#^#* – View of the Bankers Building, located at 629 So Hill Street, now occupied by the Los Angeles Jewelry Center.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2008)#^#* - Detailed view of the Bankers Building façade, showing the Art Deco/Streamline Moderne design.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2018)^.^ – Another view showing the Bankers Building (aka International Jewelry Center) as it appears today at 629 S. Hill Street.  

 

* * * * *

 

Title Guarantee Building

 
(1931)^*# - View looking at the northwest corner of Fifth and Hill streets showing the Title Guarantee Building under construction.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1930-1931, on the site of the California Club, the Title Guarantee Building was designed by The Parkinsons who also designed many Los Angeles landmarks, including Los Angeles City Hall and Bullock's Wilshire.*^

 

 

 
(1931)^^ - View showing the recently completed Art Deco Title Guarantee Building. The building has Zig Zag Moderne features and is topped with a prominent Gothic-style tower. The National Bank of Commerce can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

For the detailing, architects John and Donald Parkinson followed the lead provided by the much-publicized 1926 Chicago Tribune Tower. In addition to such Gothic touches as shields and gargoyle-like drain spouts, the building is crowned with a Gothic tower complete with stylized flying buttresses.

The steel-framed building is clad in glazed terra cotta and rises from a granite base. Piers surround the recessed windows, accentuating the verticality of the structure and extending above the roofline to create a parapet effect.^#^

 

 

 
(1943)* - View showing the northwest corner of 5th and Hill street where the Title Guarantee Building stands tall. Pershing Square is directly across the street at lower-left.  

 

Historical Notes

The Title Guarantee building's interior elevator lobby is decorated with six murals by Hugo Ballin celebrating various phases of Southern California history. Saber-toothed cats are shown at the La Brea Tar Pits, and one panel illustrates the 1876 arrival of the railroad. The ‘modern’ panel depicts the elements that led to Los Angeles’ rise to power: the Owens Valley aqueduct, derricks, machinery, and a modern building – the Title Guarantee & Trust.^#^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^^ - View looking northeast from Pershing Square showing the Title Guarantee Building on the northwest corner of 5th and Hill streets.  

 

 

 

 
(1932)^*# - View of the top floors and Gothic-style tower of the Title Guarantee Building as seen from Pershing Square.  

 

Historical Notes

Everything above the twelfth floor is unoccupied space, a design feature that allowed the building to extend beyond the 150-foot height limit in effect at the time of construction.^#^

 

 

 
(1932)^*# - View showing the upper floors of the Title Guarantee Building. The building is topped with a prominent Gothic-style tower.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2010)+## - The twelve-story Art Deco Moderne Title Guarantee Building. The building was completed in 1931 and features Zig Zag Moderne features.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1984, the Title Guarantee & Trust Company Building was declared Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 278 (Click HERE for complete listing). The building is also listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

The building is now loft-style apartments and is known as the Title Guarantee Building Lofts.^#^

 

 

 
(2015)^+^ – Close-up view of top of the Title Guarantee Building showing the details of its Art Deco, Gothic-style tower.  

 

Historical Notes

Location shots of the building were featured in the CBS television drama series Lou Grant (1977–82), in which it was purported to house the Los Angeles Tribune, the fictional newspaper around which the series was based.

Vampire P.I., Mick St John purportedly lived and maintained his office on the top floor of the building in CBS' Vampire P.I. Drama, Moonlight (2007-2008).*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Equitable Building (Hollywood)

 
(1930)* - View looking at the newly constructed Equitable Building located at 6253 Hollywood Boulevard at Vine Street, Hollywood. Note the architectural designs on the building.  

 

Historical Notes

Located on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Vine, the 12-story Equitable Building was built in 1929.  The Gothic Deco commercial tower was designed by Aleck Curlett.*^

When the Equitable Building was planned in 1927, it would be required to conform to a certain height limit of 150 feet on the NE corner which was for many years the site of a house and later a used auto lot. In 1926 a one-story bank building was built on the site and served the intersection there until the property was cleared for construction in 1929. +**

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - View looking south on Vine Street showing the Equitable Building on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Vine with its large marquee hanging on the edge of the building. At left can be seen the sign of Pantages Theatre (also built in 1930) which stands just east of the Equitable Building and fronts Hollywood Boulevard. The 12-story Taft Building is across the street on the southeast corner.  

 

Historical Notes

The Equitable Building of Hollywood was the second high-rise office building built at the intersection of Hollywood and Vine and would be a symbol of the new money that was being invested in Hollywood. The Taft Building across the street was the first (built in 1927).

The planning and financing of the building was the work of Sam Kress of the drug store chain and he wanted to include a brokerage office that would connect Hollywood directly to Wall Street. The architectural plan designed by architect Aleck Curlett, would include a bank on the ground floor and its design would include gargoyle details and a copper roof. +**  

 

 

 
(1930)* - View looking west on Hollywood Boulevard showing the Equitable Building and its surrounding area. Pantages Theatre is seen east of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Equitable Building was completed at the end of 1930 and in November the powerful agent, Myron Selznick (brother of David O. Selznick) moved his agency into the building bringing with him such clients as Vivien Leigh, Laurence Olivier, Gary Cooper, Henry Fonda, Boris Karloff, Carole Lombard, and others. +**

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)^*# - View looking at the northeast corner of Hollywood and Vine showing the 12-story Equitable Building.  

 

Historical Notes

By 1939 with the success of radio in Hollywood, many advertising agencies leased space in the building. The giant Williams Esty and Company were responsible for the Camel cigarette ads and the sponsorship of the radio version of Blondie with Penny Singleton and Arthur Lake on CBS. +**

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Views looking west on Hollywood Boulevard showing the Equitable Building located on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Vine. The Pantages Theatre is just east of the "high rise" and the Taft Building stands across the street on the southeast corner.  

 

Historical Notes

By 1942, Young and Rubicam Company moved into the building and did the advertising for the U.S. War Department on the radio. In 1945 Rudy Vallee had offices in the building along with the advertising agency, Benton and Bowles who sponsored the popular Glamour and Manor Show. By 1949 Belasco’s Restaurant opened at 1710 N. Vine Street on the ground floor of the building and remained there into the late 1980s until Collectors Bookshop took over the space. +**

 

 

 
(ca. 1955)* - Rooftop view looking down at the intersection of Hollywood and Vine.  The Equitable Building stands on the northwest corner.  Part of the Taft Building can also be seen on the southeast corner. Looking north on Vine Street the "Holywoodland" sign can barely be seen through the haze on the hills beyond the city.  

 

 

 

 
(1954)^^ – Ground view lookng northeast showing the Equitable Building. Large sign on the ground floor face reads: Bernard Luggage Co. The Melody Lane Cafe can be seen across the street on the northwest corner.  

 

Historical Notes

By 1951 the ground floor of the California Bank was taken over by Bernard Luggage Company and four years later by American Airlines. +**

 

 

 
(n.d)* - View showing a doorman standing by the front entrant to the Equitable Building. Two plaques can be seen on either side of the entrance. Plaque on left reads, "A.O. Slaughter, Anderson & Fox, Members, New York Stock Exhange." Plaque on right reads, "Equitable Building of Hollywood, 6253 Hollywood Boulevard."  

 

 

 

 
(1990)* - Exterior view of the art deco style Equitable Building, looking northeast. This iconic Hollywood structure is located on the northeast corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Vine Street.  

 

Historical Notes

Throughout the 1950s-1970s the Equitable Building went through many changes and tenants. With the coming of 2000 Tom Gilmour purchased the building and began a restoration program of two years. In 2002 The Hollywood and Vine Diner opened early in the year with a motif of vintage Hollywood. The interior was designed like the old Hollywood restaurants of yesteryear with wood paneled rooms and booths reminiscent of Musso and Frank and Henry’s. +**

 

 

 
(2014)*^ - View of the Gothic Deco Equitable Building as it appears today. The Pantages Theatre can be seen just east of the building on Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Today, the mixed-use building is also known as The Lofts at Hollywood and Vine. The building underwent a $50 Million condo conversion in 2007 and is now 60 residential units.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Val D'Amour Apartment Building

 
(ca. 1930)* - View of the Art Deco Val D'Amour Apartment Building located at 854 S. Oxford Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The six-story apartment building, designed by C.W. Powers, was built in 1928.*

In 2007, the Val D'Amour Apartment Building was dedicated as Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 875 (Click HERE for complete listing).

 

 

 
(2012)***# - View of the ornate Art Deco fornt entrance to the Val D'Amour Apartments as it appears today.  

 

Historical Notes

This example of the Zigzag (Art Deco) Moderne, exhibits a wide array of characteristic cast ornament. At each side of the entrance two kneeling male figures (in relief) hold the heavy and elaborate ornament entablature on their shoulders and back. Other cast concrete decorative works occur in the recessed spandrels and upon the principal parapet. The vertical row of open fire escape balconies provide additional areas of sculpture and the major vertical piers terminate above the roof in stylized male figures.^*#*

 

* * * * *

 

Precious Blood Catholic Church

 
(1930s)^^ -   Aerial view looking north over Lafayette Park at Sixth Street and Hoover towards Silver Lake, Echo Park, and Westlake. In the foreground at center-left can be seen the First Congregational Church, and just behind it, at the v-shaped corner of Occidental Blvd. and Hoover Street, is the Precious Blood Catholic Church.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)* – View looking north from 5th Street on Occidental Boulevard in the Westlake area.  The Precious Blood Roman Catholic Church is seen on the left behind a palm tree.  

 

Historical Notes

The church building stands on a v-shaped corner of Occidental Blvd. and Hoover St.  This one of the archdiocese's architectural gems, showing a beautiful rose window above the main entrance. It was dedicated in November 1926.*^

 

 

 
(2008)*^ - View of the Precious Blood Catholic Church located at 435 S. Occidental Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

The Italian Romanesque structure has three rose windows that offer a dim and religious life. Twelve large stained glass windows, six yellow windows and the Stations of the Cross Mosaics are over the nave.*^

 

 

 
(2009)*^ - Close-up detailed view of the entrance to the Precious Blood Church.  

 

* * * * *

 

First Congregational Church of Los Angeles (5th Location)

 
(1930)* - Architect's drawing of the First Congregational Church, the oldest continuous Protestant church in Los Angeles. Architects are Allison and Allison. Many of the new church edifices include community and educational centers. The church was built from 1930-1931.  

 

Historical Notes

First Congregational Church of Los Angeles is a historic church at 540 South Commonwealth Avenue. Founded in 1867, the church is the city's oldest continuous Protestant congregation. The congregation moved around using a variety of buildings until it moved to its current location in 1932, with the first service being held on March 13, 1932.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - Exterior view of First Congregational Church of Los Angeles showing the Shatto Chapel, tower and sanctuary.  The church is located on the northeast corner of 6th Street and Commonwealth Avenue in the Wilshire District.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by prominent Los Angeles architects Allison & Allison, the massive concrete structure was reinforced with more than 500 tons of steel. Its dominant feature is a tower soaring 157 feet above the street and weighing 30,000 tons. Four, three-ton pinnacles at the corners of the tower rise another nineteen feet, drawing one’s eyes to the heavens. ^#^

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)*- View showing th First Congregational Church located at 540 S. Commonwealth Avenue, as seen from Hoover Street, with the Sheraton Town House at left.  

 

Historical Notes

Supported by more than 150 caissons extending up to forty-five feet into bedrock, the tower stood strong for more than sixty years, until the Northridge earthquake struck in 1994.  Three of the four pinnacles cracked and shifted at their bases, teetering even more precariously in an aftershock twelve hours later. ^#^

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)**^# - View from the roof of the Town House looking north toward the Hollywood Hills.  The First Congregational Church is seen at the lower-right.  

 

 

 

 
(1948)^^ – View looking south on Occidental Boulevard showing the First Congregational Church in the distance.  Click HERE to see contemporary view.  

 

 

 

 
(2005)* – View showing a large crane placing one of the church’s finials back on its stand.  

 

Historical Notes

The First Congregational Church sustained damage during the 1994 Northridge Earthquake when three of its four tower finials cracked and shifted their base.

The project to replace the pinnacles and restore other elements of the tower earned the church a Conservancy Preservation Award.^#^

 

 

 
(2015)##^^^ – Google street view showing the First Congregational Church of Los Angeles, 540 S. Commonwealth Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

On March 15, 2002, the church was designated Historic-Cultural Monument No. 706 by the Los Angeles Cultural Heritage Commission.  Click HERE to see complete listing.

 

 

 
(2016)##^^^ – Google Earth view showing the First Congregational Church of Los Angeles.  The intersection of 6th and Hoover streets is at lower-left. Commonwealth Avenue runs horizontally at top.  

 

Historical Notes

The First Congregational Church is the longest continuous Protestant church in Los Angeles. The Commonwealth location seen above is the 5th home of the Protestant Church that was first dedicated in 1868 (on New High Street north of Temple Street.

 

Click HERE to see the first 4 locations of the First Congregation Church of Los Angeles

 

 

* * * * *

 

Kerckhoff Hall (UCLA)

 
(ca. 1930)^^ -  View of Kerckhoff Hall (Student Union Building) on the southeast side of the University of California Los Angeles campus, The multi-faceted brick building is three stories tall at its zenith. Towards the back of the building, a small tower is visible, while the lower levels of the building are adorned with tall, bay windows.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by architects Allison & Allison, Kerckhoff Hall was completed in 1931. The hall is named for William G. Kerckhoff, a successful lumber and energy magnate, who died prior to the building's completion. Mr Kerckhoff's widow spent $815,000 to build and completely furnish Kerckhoff Hall.*

The Kerckhoffs visited the Westwood campus under construction in early 1929 and were told by the provost of the need for a student union. On his deathbed a month later, Kerckhoff told his wife that he wanted to build such a building.^***^

 

 

 
(1937)* - View of Kerckhoff Hall (formerly Commissary Hall), as seen from the rotunda at the west end of the quadrangle, where two women are seen talking.  

 

Historical Notes

Today, Kerckhoff Hall is one of the main student union buildings of UCLA. Among its offerings are: study lounges, an art gallery, a coffeehouse, meeting rooms, a salon and the student government offices.^***^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of UCLA

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Van de Kamp's Bakery

 
(ca. 1930)* - Exterior view of Van de Kamp's Bakery headquarters at 2939 Fletcher Drive.  

 

Historical Notes

The Van de Kamp's Bakery headquarters, designed to resemble a 16th -century Dutch farmhouse, located at 2930 Fletcher Drive in Glassell Park, served as the headquarters for the chain of bakeries and coffee shops whose trademark "windmill" buildings and neon signs prevailed throughout mid-20th century Los Angeles. The building was designed by New York architect J. Edward Hopkins in 1930 in the Dutch Renaissance Revival style, reflecting the company's Dutch corporate image.*^

 

 

 

 
(1954)^^ -  Aerial view over Van de Kamp's Bakery north west of the Glendale (CA-2) Freeway at San Fernando Road. Photo by "Dick" Whittington  

 

Historical Notes

The Van de Kamp's Bakery building remains the only example of an industrial plant in the Dutch Renaissance Revival style. The bakery closed in October 1990 after Van de Kamp‘s filed for Chapter 11. The building was declared city of Los Angeles Historic Cultural Monument No. 569 in 1992. Click HERE to see the Los Angeles Historic Cultural Monuments Listing.

This building underwent a $72-million renovation by the Los Angeles Community College District with the intent of being a Los Angeles City College satellite campus. The site is instead leased to charter school and job-training groups.*^

 

 

 
(1931)* - This Van de Kamp's Bakery's building, designed to resemble a 16th-century Dutch farmhouse.  

 

Historical Notes

Theodore J. Van de Kamp and brother-in-law Lawrence L. Frank were the owners and originators of the Van de Kamp Bakeries. Fondly known as the "Taj Mahal of all bakeries". Van de Kamp and Frank also founded both the Tam O'Shanter's (1922) and Lawry's The Prime Rib (1938) restaurants.*^

J. Edward Hopkins designed Van de Kamp’s headquarters in Glassel Park.  Harold Griffith “Harry” Oliver, a set designer by profession, designed the windmill stores.  Oliver also designed the Spadena Home/“Witch’s House” (1921) in Beverly Hills and the altered Montgomery’s Country Inn/Tam O’Shanter Inn of Los Feliz (1922).  The stores were portables!, designed to be moved from location to location if business just wasn't there.

Click HERE to see Van de Kamp's 1st Windmill Bakery Shop.

 

 

 
(1937)* - A Foster and Kleiser billboard advertising doughnuts sold at Van de Kamp's Bakeries. Photo by Herman J. Schultheis  

 

Historical Notes

The bakery was sold by the Van de Kamp family and acquired by General Baking Co. in 1956. The company was sold to private investors in 1979, and closed in bankruptcy in 1990. The Van de Kamp's brand is now owned by Ralphs supermarket chain and used for their line of private-label baked goods.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Airplane Cafe

 
(ca. 1924)* - View of the Airplane Café, a restaurant in the shape of a plane, complete with wings and a propeller. The structure has wheels, but rests on raised slabs of wood. The sign on roof reads: REAL CHILI - GOOD COFFEE - SPECIAL PREPARED HAMBURGER.  

 

Historical Notes

Programmatic architecture momentarily dotted the Greater Los Angeles landscape as it catered to the area’s expanding car culture and commuters by utilizing a commercial building’s architecture to advertise what products consumers could expect to find inside. The programmatic style of architecture became popular in the 1920s and 1930s, and it was highly influenced by the exponential rise of the automobile, a trend that grew through the post-war era.^#^

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - Front end view of the Airplane Cafe (address unknown). The sign in the window reads: “Girl Wanted”.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

The Dugout Restaurant

 
(1929)* - "The Dugout" sandwich stand, which is surrounded by sandbags and has a plane crashed into its roof, located at 6157 E. Whittier Blvd. A sign outside reads: "The famous Dugout French dip sandwiches".  

 

 

 

 
(1920s)* - Close-up view of "The Dugout" showing a man in a soldier's uniform waving from behind sandbags in front of the restaurant.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Zep Diner

 
(1931)* - View of Zep Diner, located at 515 W. Florence Ave, near Figueroa St. A sign hanging from the stairs advertises lunch for .40 cents. The Zep was open “all night” and was the “Home of the Hinden Burger”. The location is now a McDonald’s parking lot.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)#^^ - View of two women standing on the stairway leading to the entrance of Zen Diner. There is a Gilmore Service Station next door.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

The Tamale

 
(1928)* - Exterior view of The Tamale, a restaurant specializing in hispanic foods. Building was built in the shape of a tamale. Located at 6421 Whittier Boulevard in East Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

A rare remaining example of programmatic architecture, The Tamale was designed to advertise its products to passing motorists. It opened in 1928 as a restaurant that served “Tamale pies,” malts, and other “Spanish delights” along with hamburgers and chili.^#^

 

 

 
(2001)* -  Exterior view of Charley's Beauty Salon, once the Tamale Restaurant, located at 6431 Whittier Boulevard. Photo by Milton Slade  

 

Historical Notes

Originally opened in 1928 as a restaurant that served “Tamale pies,” malts, and other “Spanish delights” along with hamburgers and chili, The Tamale is now home to a beauty salon and a dental laboratory.  In 1984, The Tamale was transformed from a restaurant and adaptively reused to meet the needs of its current tenants.  This particular building, which was designed to look like a wrapped tamale, has seen its exterior color change throughout the years but is largely intact. 

Increasingly rare, few examples of programmatic architecture exist in Los Angeles today. Other well-known, extant examples of this style of architecture are The Donut Hole in La Puente and The Darkroom in the Miracle Mile area.^#^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Pacific Mutual Building

 
(1930)* - View looking northwest toward Pershing Square at the corner of 6th and Hill streets. The Biltmore Hotel can be seen in the background. On the left sits the impressive Pacific Mutual Building on the northwest corner of 6th and Olive.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Exterior view of the Pacific Mutual Building. 6th Street is on the left and Olive Street on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pacific Mutual Building, located at 523 W. 6th Street, are actually three interconnected buildings built between 1908 and 1929. The original structure was designed and built between 1908-1912 by John Parkinson and Edwin Bergstrom.

The original structure has seen many changes over the years: a North Side addition was built in 1916 by William J. Dodd; a twelve-story structure was built in 1921 by William J. Dodd and his associate William Richards; the Garage Building was added in 1926 by Schultze and Weaver; and the West Side addition was erected in 1929 by Parkinson and Parkinson. The building underwent Moderne remodeling in 1936 by Parkinson and Parkinson.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - View of the Pacific Mutual Building looking west on 6th Street from Olive. In the lower right can be seen Pershing Square. The clock on top bears the words, "Time to Insure."  

 

Historical Notes

In 1974, the building underwent an extensive restoration by Wendell Mounce and Associates, with Bond and Steward, which brought it back to its Beaux Arts revival. And in 1985, the entire building was renovated again by the Westgroup, Inc.*

The Pacific Mutual Building is still there today, but the facade of the building on the corner has been modernized. It is listed as Historic-Cultural Monument No. 398 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

Boos Bros. Cafeteria (Hill Street)

 
(1930)* - View looking north on Hill Street between 5th and 6th streets showing the Boos Bros. Cafeteria (lower-center), located across the street from Pershing Square (left).  

 

Historical Notes

In 1906, Horace Boos and three siblings opened one of Los Angeles' first cafeterias. Their idea of a fast food, self-service restaurant consisted of unheard-of impositions for that time: patrons would wait on themselves and return their trays and dishes to the kitchen. The brothers' downtown cafeteria was the first link, in a chain of seven that ultimately stretched from Los Angeles to San Francisco. They opened four more in the downtown area one in Santa Catalina Island, and two in San Francisco.

By the 1920s, the chain of cafeterias had become widely known. When Horace Boos died in 1926, the surviving brothers sold the seven cafeterias for a record $7 million to the Childs Corp. In turn, Childs sold two of the cafeterias to Clifford E. Clinton, who launched the Clifton's Cafeteria Chain. Eventually, Henry Boos bought back two, one on Hill Street (seen above) and the other in Avalon on Catalina Island.*

 

 

 
(1932)#*## – View showing the front of the Boos Bros. Cafeteria located on the 500 block of S. Hill Street. Note the banners hanging on the front of building.  They were for the 1932 Summer Olympics, officially known as the Games of the X Olympiad, held in Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

The Boos Brothers offered inexpensive fare of a "40-cent dinner", but would call it quits in the late 1940s, before cafeterias began losing popularity due to the arrival of luncheonettes, soda fountains, and fast-food restaurants.*

 

* * * * *

 

California State Building

 
(1931)^^ – View looking toward the northwest corner of 1st and Spring streets showing the new State Building under construction with the LA Times Building on the left and the Hall of Records Building to the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)^*# - View looking toward the California State Building on the northwest corner of First and Spring. Five of the more famous buildings in Downtown L.A. history can be seen. They are (left to right): the Old L. A. Times Building, the State Building (still under construction), the Hall of Records, the L.A. County Courthouse, and the Hall of Justice (the only one still standing today). The new City Hall stands to the right of photo (out of view).  

 

Historical Notes

The California State Office Building was designed by the John C. Ausin & Frederic M. Ashley.^^

 

 

 
(1932)^*# - Thousands attend the opening ceremonies of the State Building in downtown Los Angeles. The Hall of Records Building is seen on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

The State Building was completed in 1931 at a cost of more than $2 million. It was dedicated the day before the opening of the 1932 Olympics in a ceremony that featured Amelia Earhart.*#

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - View looking southwest showing the old State Building with City Hall’s shadow cast upon it. Bunker Hill can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)#*## – Postcard view looking east from Bunker Hill showing the State Building and City Hall.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^*# - Close-up view showing design details on the face of the State Building in Downtown Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^ - View looking toward the northwest corner of First and Spring streets showing the California State Building.  Further north on Spring can be seen the Hall of Records and the Hall of Justice.  Photo by Dick Whittington.  

 

 

 

 
(1951)**^ - View of the State Building and LA Times building as seen from City Hall on a smoggy day.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)^^ - Exterior view of the California State Building on the northwest corner of First and Broadway. Built in 1931 and demolished in 1976.  

 

Historical Notes

The State Building was damaged in the 1971 San Fernando earthquake, and in May of 1973 the state authorized an "orderly evacuation" after testing found the building unsafe. The empty building was torn down in early 1976.*#

 

* * * * *

 

Pellissier Building and Warner Brothers Western Theatre (now Wiltern Theatre)

 
(1931)^^ – View showing the Pellissier Building and Warner Bros. Western Theatre (now Wiltern Theatre) in the early stages of construction at the southeast corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Western Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1882, Germain Pellisier, a 33-year-old immigrant from the French Alps, purchased the Southern Pacific's 156-acre tract on the intersection's southeast corner for $3,200. At first Pellissier opened a sheep ranch on his new property, but he was less interested in the land for wool production than as a long-term investment; the foresighted Pellissier believed that a growing Los Angeles would soon spill over its city limits and reach his quarter-section of wilderness.

Events soon proved him right. In April 1885, the Los Angeles County board of supervisors designated one of the roads passing by his tract a county highway, bestowing on it the name Western Avenue. (The other road would later be named Sixth Street before becoming Wilshire Boulevard in 1897.) Pellissier shut down his sheep ranch, and, when Southern California's wild land boom arrived in 1887, parceled out part of his tract, which eventually became known as the Pellissier Square subdivision. By 1905, land that Pellissier had bought for $20.50 per acre was selling for $2,700. #++

 

 

 
(1931)^^ - The Pellissier Building’s steel framing is almost complete.  

 

Historical Notes

Construction began in November 1930.

 

 

 
(1931)^#^ – View of the Pellissier Building and Warner (later Wiltern) Theatre shortly after completion.  

 

Historical Notes

Completed in 1931, the Wiltern was designed by architect Stiles O. Clements of Morgan, Walls & Clements, the city’s oldest architectural firm.

 

 

 
(1930s)* – Closer view of the Warner Bros. Western Theater, later called the Wiltern Theater. Designed in Art Deco (Zigzag) Moderne style, along with the Pellissier office tower.  

 

Historical Notes

Clad in blue-green terra cotta with its tower facing the intersection diagonally, the Stiles O. Clements-designed complex featured offices with sweeping views of the city, street-level retail space, and an opulent, 2,344-seat Warner Bros. movie theater. Developer Henry de Roulet, who had grown up not far from the building's site on the former sheep ranch, named the building after his visionary grandfather, Germain Pellissier. #++

 

 

 
(1931)^^#* – View looking south on Western Avenue toward Wilshire Boulevard showing the grand opening of the Warner Brothers Western Theatre (later Wiltern), Pellissier Building.  

 

Historical Notes

With the grand opening of the Pellissier Building and the adjoining Warner Western theater on Oct. 7, 1931, Wilshire and Western acquired a gleaming ornament that set the intersection apart. And three years later, after a temporary closure due to slow business, the theater reopened with a new name that honored the crossroads: the Wil-Tern (now simply "Wiltern"), a portmanteau of Wilshire and Western. #++

 

 

 
(1931)^^ - The Pellissier Building and the Warner Brothers Western Theatre (now Wiltern Theatre). The above view shows the opening night of the Warner Brothers Western Theatre on the corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Western Avenue, Oct. 7, 1931.  

 

Historical Notes

Narrow windows in the office tower, deeply set between soaring vertical piers, give the illusion of a much taller building than its actual 150 feet (the maximum height permitted by the City at that time). ^#^

 

 

 
(1931)** - A closer view of the Pellissier Building and the Warner Brothers Western Theatre on opening night.  

 

Historical Notes

The entrance to the Wiltern Theatre is flanked by large vertical neon signs while patrons approach the ticket booth set back among colorful terrazzo paving.

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)* - The front entrance to the Wiltern Theater, showing exterior detail under the marquee. The theater and office tower building were built in Art Deco (Zigzag) Moderne style.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - Interior view of the Wiltern Theater, with detail of seating and stage. When the Wiltern Theatre first opened it also housed the largest theater pipe organ in the western United States.  

 

Historical Notes

The Wiltern Theatre was originally designed as a vaudeville theater and initially opened as the Warner Brothers Western Theater, the flagship for the theater chain. Quickly closing a year later, the theater reopened in the mid-1930s and was renamed the Wiltern Theatre for the major intersection which it faces (Wilshire Boulevard and Western Avenue.)*^

 

 

 
(1931)* - Interior view of the Warner Bros. Western Theater, proscenium, auditorium, and balcony. G. A. Lansburgh designed the theater.  

 

Historical Notes

The Wiltern Theatre's interior was designed by G. Albert Lansburgh and is renowned for its Art Deco design containing decorative plaster and tile work along with colorful murals painted by Anthony Heinsbergen.
The most dramatic element of the design is the sunburst on the ceiling of the auditorium, with each ray its own Art Deco skyscraper—G. Albert Lansburgh's vision of the future of Wilshire Boulevard.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - View of Wilshire Boulevard, looking east toward Western Avenue with the Wiltern Theatre (previously Warner Bros. Western Theater) on the right side. In the background is the domed Wilshire Boulevard Temple (formerly the B'nai B'rith Temple), at 3663 Wilshire Blvd and Hobart. The Art Deco and Spanish Colonial Revival style buildings visible on the left hold various shops and offices.  

 

 

 

 
(2014)*^ - The Wiltern Theater and Pellissier Building — Art Deco landmark on Wilshire Boulevard and Western, in the Mid-Wilshire district of Los Angeles. Designed by Morgan, Walls & Clements.  

 

Historical Notes

It remained a functioning movie theater for many decades, but the Warner Wiltern's eventual closing in 1978 and subsequent plans for the Pellissier Building's demolition prompted one of the first triumphs of Los Angeles' preservation movement. After the Los Angeles Conservancy rallied around the historic structure, developer Wayne Ratkovich purchased it in 1981, renovated the offices and theater, and donated a preservation easement to the Conservancy. Reopened in 1985, the Wiltern today is one of Los Angeles' prized performance venues. #++

Both the Wiltern Theatre and the Pellissier Building have been named to the National Register of Historic Places and declared a Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument by the City of Los Angeles (No. 118). Click HERE to see complete listing.

 

* * * * *

 

Wilshire Boulevard Temple (B'nai B'rith's 3rd Temple)

 
(ca. 1928)* - Scaffolding surrounds the Wilshire Boulevard Temple, located at 3663 Wilshire Boulevard, during its construction.  

 

Historical Notes

Wilshire Boulevard Temple, known from 1862 to 1933 as Congregation B'nai B'rith, is the oldest Jewish congregation in Los Angeles. The building, located on Wilshire Boulevard in the Wilshire Center district, was completed in 1929 and was designed by architect Abram M. Edelman (son of the congregation's first rabbi, Abraham Edelman).*^

B'nai B'rith Congregation's previous Temple (their 2nd) was located at 9th and Hope in downtown Los Angeles. Click HERE to see more of B'nai Brith's 2nd Temple.

 

 

 
(1932)* - Exterior view of the Wilshire Boulevard Temple, located at 3663 Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The Wilshire Boulevard Temple’s immense Byzantine revival dome has been a Los Angeles landmark since 1929. It stands at 100 feet in diameter with its top 135 feet from the street, and was the grand vision of the building architect, A.M. Edelman (son of the congregation's first Rabbi, Abraham Edelman). Its base is flanked by 28 buttresses, or small towers, rising from the ring girder for support.*^

 

 

 
(1932)* - Another view of the Wilshire Boulevard Temple. This is the seat of one of the most highly respected Reform congregations, founded in 1862 as Congregation B'nai B'rith.  

 

Historical Notes

The new temple was the dream of Rabbi Edgar Magnin who, over a career of seven decades, forged a Jewish identity for Los Angeles that joined pioneers and Hollywood moguls. Magnin came to B'nai B'rith as assistant rabbi in 1915 and from that time on he championed a new synagogue building. The involvement of the Hollywood moviemakers after World War I and Magnin's promotion to senior rabbi in 1919 allowed the building to go forward. Mostly displaced New Yorkers with marginal religious interest, the Hollywood producers were attracted to Magnin's image of a popular modern Judaism. Rabbi Magnin also foresaw the movement of the city, and especially its Jewish population, westward. In this, the Wilshire Boulevard Temple was both typical and prescient in anticipating the increased suburbanization of American Jewish life. Because the new synagogue was beyond the "car line," it presaged L.A.'s near-total dependence on the automobile, an urban-suburban transformation that would affect most Jewish communities only after World War II.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^*# - Close-up view of the front entrance to the Wilshire Boulevard Temple. Note the detail design in the archways.  

 

Historical Notes

Wilshire Boulevard Temple is one of the largest Jewish congregations in Los Angeles, and has been led by several influential rabbis, especially Edgar Magnin, who served for 69 years from 1915 to 1984. A second campus, on the Westside, opened in 1998.*^

 

 

 
(2007)*^ - View of the front entrance to the beautiful Wilshire Boulevard Temple.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1973, the Wilshire Boulevard Temple was dedicated LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 116 (Click HERE to see complete listing.

The Wilshire Temple began extensive renovations of the historic facility in 2008, and the remodeled sanctuary reopened in 2013.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Wilshire Professional Building

 
(1929)* - Exterior view of Wilshire Professional Building the year it was built, located at 3875 Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The Wilshire Professional Building was built in 1929 in an Art Deco or zig-zag moderne style and was designed by architect Arthur E. Harvey.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1933)* - Exterior view of the art deco style Wilshire Professional Building, located at 3875 Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The thirteen-story Wilshire Professional Building was intended mainly for doctors and dentists, but also housed the office of its architect, Arthur E. Harvey.

Even the sidewalk received special attention. The Portland Cement Company poured a custom terrazzo pattern in front of the entrance, which still exists.^#^

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)* - View of the Wilshire Professional Building, looking east on Wilshire Boulevard. On the left is a partial view of the St. James' Episcopal Church. In the background can be seen both the Wilshire Boulevard Temple and the Pellissier Building.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

St. James' Episcopal Church

 
(ca. 1935)* - Exterior view of St. James' Episcopal Church, located on Wilshire Blvd. and St. Andrews Place, taken from across Wilshire Boulevard. A line of palms are seen on St. Andrews Place.  

 

Historical Notes

Noted Bay-area architect Benjamin McDougall designed St. James' in the Gothic Revival style popular for ecclesiastic architecture in the 1920s. He used reinforced concrete (as was used for other Wilshire Center churches) but coated it with a thin veneer of stucco to conceal the lines of the formwork used in construction. The building was completed in 1925.

The redwood ceiling beams and trusses are said to resemble the inside of a ship's hull, and the floor is paved with tiles bearing the same motif of an ancient cross as those at Immanuel Presbyterian Church a few blocks east.

The building features large amounts of richly colored stained glass, designed and installed by the renowned Judson Studios over many years. The church also houses the rebuilt 1911 Murray H. Harris organ from St. Paul's Cathedral in downtown Los Angeles, built in 1889 and demolished in 1922 to make way for the Biltmore Hotel.^#^

 

 

 
(ca. 2010)^#^ – View showing the St. James’ Episcopal Church located at 3903 Wilshire Boulevard. Note how tall the palm trees are after 75 years. Photo by Hunter Kerhart  

 

Historical Notes

In 1962, at the height of his career, Nat King Cole was invited to sing a solo at the church's Easter service. The backlash from congregants was immediate and included the resignation of the reverend who had invited him, Robert Terwilliger.

Just a few years later in 1965, Cole's  funeral took place at the church, attended by notable figures including Duke Ellington, Frank Sinatra, and Robert F. Kennedy.^#^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Brown Derby (Wilshire - 1st location)

 
(1926)**^ - Panoramic view showing the original Brown Derby Restaurant, still under construction, located on the northeast corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Mariposa Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The Original Brown Derby was built in 1926 on the site that later became the Chapman Park Hotel.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1926)*++ - View showing the Original Brown Derby located on the north side of Wilshire Boulevard between Mariposa and Alexandria avenues.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby chain was started by Robert H. Cobb and Herbert Somborn (a former husband of film star Gloria Swanson). Bob Cobb is known as the inventor of the California Cobb Salad. He was also part owner of the Hollywood Stars baseball team.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1926)**^ – View looking southeast showing the Brown Derby from the rear with the Ambassador Hotel (built in 1921) seen in the background, across Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1926)**^ - Closer view showing the front of the Original Brown Derby Restaurant located at 3427 Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby had to vacate its location on Wilshire between Alexandria and Mariposa when the land was requisitioned for the women’s village for the 1932 L.A. Olympic Games. So it was temporarily moved in 1931 five blocks west into the Bilicke Building located at 3927 Wilshire Blvd.

 

 

 
(1928)^^ - Aerial night view of Wilshire Boulevard looking west as seen from the Gaylord Apartments showing the original Brown Derby Restaurant at center-right. The building with the tall tower at upper-right is the Wilshire Christian Church. Note how well lit Wilshire is and the numerous signboards on both sides of the Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Wilshire Boulevard was designated by The Octagon Museum of the American Architectural Foundation as one of the 'Grand American Avenues' was decorated with this Wilshire Special pole and lantern for nearly six miles of its length. Approximately 100 poles still remain over the distance of about one-and-a-half miles. The original lanterns are solid bronze and stand 7½ feet tall from the base of the lantern to the top of the finial.

Click HERE to see more Early LA Streetlights.

 

 

Wilshire Brown Derby (Interim Location)

 
(1931)* - Looking east on Wilshire Blvd. with the Brown Derby Restaurant at 3927 Wilshire Blvd. (prior to the 2nd derby-shaped building). The St. James Church, and the Wilshire Professional Building are in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

This would be the Brown Derby's interim home, as a tenant in the Bilicke Building. It would remain at this location until 1937 when a new Brown Derby (resembling the original derby-shaped building) would be built on the northeast corner of Wilshire and Alexandria.

The Bilicke Building replaced the Harry Harrington house in 1929. Its design by Morgan, Walls & Clements followed the trend of commercializing Wilshire Boulevard, but differed from its predecessors in that each tenant's storefront was customized.

 

 

 
(1931)* - View looking at the northeast corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Gramercy Avenue showing the Bilicke Building. The Brown Derby Restaurant is seen at right.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1937, The Brown Derby would move out of the Bilicke Building to a newly constructed derby-shaped building at 3377 Wilshire Boulevard. The new location was at the northeast corner of Wilshire and Alexandria which, incidentally, was about a block east of the Derby's original home. 

After its departure, Perino's adapted and widened the Brown Derby's vacated space.

 

 

Wilshire Brown Derby (2nd Derby-Shaped Building Location)

 
(1937)+^^ – View showing the construction of the Brown Derby Restaurant, located at 3377 Wilshire Boulevard, northeast corner of Wilshire and Alexandria, about a block east of its original location.  

 

 

 

 
(1939)* - Exterior of the Brown Derby Restaurant and its patio area located at 3377 Wilshire Boulevard. A woman stands on the corner of Wilshire and Alexandria, at left; and a man with crutches stands at the entrance of the restaurant.  

 

Historical Notes

The derby-shaped building as seen above remains the most famous due to its distinctive shape. Whimsical architecture (or Programmatic Architecture) was popular at the time, and the restaurant was designed to catch the eye of passing motorists. It is often incorrectly thought that the Brown Derby was a single restaurant, and the Wilshire Boulevard and Hollywood branches are frequently confused.*^

 

 
(1938)^^#* - View of a man standing next to a Ford coupe parked in front of the Brown Derby Restaurant. There is an awning over the entrance to the restaurant and a large neon sign in the shape of a derby hat mounted on top of the restaurant with the words "Eat in the Hat".  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Cars travel east down Wilshire Boulevard, where it crosses S. Alexandria Avenue (left), right outside the Brown Derby Restaurant. An original "Wilshire Lantern" street light is seen on the corner (Click HERE to see more in Early Los Angeles Street Lights).  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)^#** - Wilshire Boulevard, looking west near Alexandria, most likely taken from the Gaylord Apartments. The Brown Derby Restaurant can be seen in its new location.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby chain also included restaurants in Hollywood, Beverly Hills, and the Los Feliz area. The Los Feliz Brown Derby at 4500 Los Feliz Blvd is the last remaining branch of the chain still extant and in operation*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)**^ - Postcard view of Wilshire Boulevard looking east toward the intersection of Alexandria Avenue and Wilshire. From left to right can be seen the Zephyr Room, Brown Derby Restaurant and the Gaylord Apartments. Across the street, on the south side of Wilshire, is the entrance to the Ambassador Hotel.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1954)^++_ - View showing a large group of men in business suits crossing Wilshire Buolevard in front of the Brown Derby.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)+^^ – Night view looking east on Wilshire Boulevard across Alexandria Avenue showing the Brown Derby Restaurant on the northeast corner with the Gaylord Apartments standing tall behind it. Immanuel Presbyterian Church can be seen further back on the south side of Wilshire.  

 

 

 

 
(1956)*^ - View showing the front entrance to “The Original Brown Derby Restaurant” on Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1958)#*## – View looking northwest showing the Brown Derby on the N/E corner of Wilshire and Alexandria with the Chapman Park Hotel in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1967)*^ - View showing the"Original" Brown Derby Restaurant on the northeast corner of Wilshire and Mariposa. Photo by Chalmers Butterfield  

 

Historical Notes

After being sold in 1975 and renovated, the Brown Derby Restaurant on Wilshre Boulevard was finally replaced in 1980 by a shopping center known as the Brown Derby Plaza. The domed structure was incorporated into the third floor of the building and accommodates a cafe. A Korean mini-mall occupies the site today.*^

 

 

 

 
(2007)*^ - View showing the Wilshire Brown Derby as it appears today.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Willard's - Pico

 
(1920s)* - Postcard view showing Willard's Restaurant featuring 'Far-Famed Chicken & Steak Dinners". A group of people stand by the front entrance and the parking lot appears full.  

 

Historical Notes

The postcard reads at bottom: "No, we are not giving something away-it's only the response to the call of Willard's dinner bell." The address is listed at 9625 Pico Blvd., in Los Angeles, and the phone number is OXford 2296. The postcard also asks "Have you tried the New Willard's, corner Los Feliz and Hillhurst?" The flip side reads "Private Mailing Card," and asks patrons to rate their Willard's dinner.

 

 

Willard's - Los Feliz (later Brown Derby)

 
(1929)^^ - Composite panoramic view showing a crowd of people in front of Willard's Chicken Inn Restaurant, located on the soutwest corner of Hillhurst Avenue and Los Feliz Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Willard's Chicken Restaurant opened in 1929 on the corner of Hillhurst and Los Feliz. In 1940, the property and building was purchased by legendary director Cecil B. DeMille who brought in the Brown Derby fine dining and 24-hour car service in keeping with the drive-in restaurant fad of the era.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)*#^* - View showing a group of peple stianding in front of Willard's (at the corner of Los Feliz and Hillhurst, near the entrance to the Greek Theater. This would become the Los Feliz Brown Derby in 1940.  

 

* * * * *

 

Brown Derby (Los Feliz)

 
(ca. 1940)*#^* - View looking toward the southwest corner of Los Feliz and Hillhurst showing the The Brown Derby (previously Willard's Restaurant).  

 

 

Historical Notes

In 1940, Willard's Chicken Inn Restaurant was purchased by legendary director Cecil B. DeMille who brought in the Brown Derby fine dining and 24-hour car service in keeping with the drive-in restaurant fad of the era. At the time, DeMille was also part owner of the Wilshire Brown Derby.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1947)+^^ – View looking northeast from the parking lot of the Los Feliz Brown Derby showing the circular drive-in component of the restaurant with its neon lights.  This was the only drive-in of the four Brown Derby’s restaurants.  The building is still there, and still a restaurant, which is more than can be said for the other Brown Derby locations.   

 

Historical Notes

This was the last of the four Brown Derby Restaurants to open around Los Angeles; the first was located on Wilshire across from the Ambassador Hotel; the second opened in 1929 in Hollywood , the third in Beverly Hills on Wilshire Boulevard in 1931. It was the only one of the the four with a "Car Cafe".

Click HERE to see more Early Views of LA Drive-in Restaurants.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)*^ - Postcard view showing the Brown Derby Restaurant and Car Cafe located at 4500 Los Feliz Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1960, the Brown Derby was purchased by actor Michael St. Angel (aka Steve Flagg) and became Michaels of Los Feliz, and in 1992, it was transformed into a nightclub known as The Derby. In the late 1990s, it became one of the centers of the resurgence of swing dancing, which launched the careers of modern swing bands such as Big Bad Voodoo Daddy and Johnny Crawford. Oregon rock/swing/ska band the Cherry Poppin' Daddies recorded a song that cites the venue, titled "Brown Derby Jump", on their album Zoot Suit Riot.

In June 2004, when Hillhurst/Los Feliz LLC purchased The Derby and adjacent lots with a view to demolition and replacement by a condominium complex, the planned redevelopment became a cause celebre for historic preservation activists. An independent coalition called "Save The Derby" fought to prevent the demolition, and, on May 19, 2006, the Los Angeles City Council voted unanimously to designate the entire structure an official Historic Cultural Monument of the City of Los Angeles.

In January 2009, the nightclub closed its doors. The current landlord chose not to renew the lease, not long after a shooting inside the club. The Los Feliz Brown Derby space is partially occupied by the gastropub Mess Hall Kitchen and a Chase bank, dividing the dome in half between the businesses.*^

Click HERE for contemporary view.

 

* * * * *

 

Nikabob Cafe

 
(ca. 1930s)* - Exterior view of the Nikabob Café, located at 875 S. Western Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The caption of the newspaper clipping that accompanies this photo reads "Building of hollow cement blocks, design in molded cement over doors, aluminum trim around windows and doors, tan awnings, black marble base, neon and flood lights in colors. Walls and Clements, designers and architects." *

The Nikabob restaurant was named for Nick ____ and Bob Cobb of the Brown Derby and “Cobb Salad” fame.*#^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Adohr Creamery

 
(1931)* - Exterior view of the Adohr Creamery at 1801 La Cienega Blvd. on January 1, 1931.
 

 

Historical Notes

Merritt Adamson established a dairy business in the San Fernando Valley, in Tarzana, known as Adohr Farms, the name representing his wife's name spelled backwards. The business became one of the country's largest dairies, operating one of the largest herds of Guernsey cows in the world.*^

 

 

 
(1931)* - A driver/milkman for Adohr Creamery Company, sits at the wheel of his delivery truck.  

 

 

 

 
(1933)^^ – View showing the Adohr Creamery Service Station. Click HERE to see more Early LA Gas Stations.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Los Angeles Theatre

 
(1931)^*# - Exterior view of the Los Angeles Theater, located at 615 S. Broadway, as it appeared during January 1931. The marquee indicates that Charlie Chaplin's film "City Lights" is currently being shown. People are seen standing in line waiting to get in.  

 

Historical Notes

This Los Angeles Theatre was constructed in late 1930 and early 1931. It was commissioned by H.L. Gumbiner, an independent film exhibitor from Chicago, who also built the nearby Tower Theatre.  It was Designed by S. Charles Lee, and Samuel Tilden Norton.

Construction was completed in less than six months and cost $1.5 million. Charlie Chaplin helped fund the completion so that it would be ready to open with the premiere of his film City Lights in January 1931. With only thirty days to go before the scheduled premiere, the entire theater was constructed off-site and swung in, slotted between the existing buildings.*^

 

 

 
(1931)* - Closer view of the Los Angeles Theater during the showing of “City Lights”.  The neighboring business, Zukor's, is visible to the right of the marquee.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Theatre, designed by S. Charles Lee working with S.Tilden Norton, features twin Corinthian columns which frame the central notched arch. Built in 1931, it was the last such movie palace built on Broadway, as the area began to feel the effects of the Depression and faced competition from Hollywood Blvd.*

 

 

 
(1931)^*# - View of the beautifully designed ornate lobby and staircase to the upper level seating.  

 

Historical Notes

The theater features a French Baroque interior. With its grand central staircase, and gold brocade drapes it has for many years been considered to be among the city's most lavish landmarks.  The opulent interior is said to have been modeled after the Hall of Mirrors in Versailles. A crystal fountain stood at the head of the grand staircase, and a restaurant and a ballroom were on the lower level.*^

 

 

 
(1931)^*# - Inside the Los Angeles Theatre (615 South Broadway), in 1931, the year that it opened.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)^^** - Interior view of the Los Angeles Theater as seen from the stage. Note the ornate design throughout.  

 

Historical Notes

In recent years, the Los Angeles Conservancy has sponsored the showing of classic films at several of the Broadway theatres, including the Los Angeles Theatre. The Broadway Theater and Commercial District were added to the National Register of Historical Places in 1979.*

 

 

 
1931)^^** - View of the Los Angeles Theatre's stage with it's elaborately designed curtain.  

 

Historical Notes

S. Charles Lee is credited with designing over 400 theaters throughout California and Mexico. His palatial and Baroque Los Angeles Theatre is regarded by many architectural historians as the finest theater building in Los Angeles.*^

 

 

 
(1931)^*# - The Los Angeles Theater as it appeared opeining night on Janurary 30, 1931 with the premiere of Charlie Chaplin's City Lights. Various store signs can also be seen lit up including: Silverwoods, Desmonds, Bullocks, and Kress.  

 

Historical Notes

On August 15, 1979, the Los Angeles Theater was designated LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 225 (Click HERE to see complete listing).^^**

 

 

 
(1931)*^^ - A closer view of The Los Angeles Theater on opening night with the premiere of Charlie Chaplin's City Lights.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Theater is most often today used as a location for filming and is frequently seen in commercials, television shows and feature films. It has been featured in New York, New York (1977); Man on the Moon (1999); Charlie's Angels (2000) and its sequel, Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle (2003); the AMC series Mad Men; among many others, and is used in the back drop on the new set of The Tonight Show with Jay Leno.

The theatre's facade and marquee design was used as the inspiration for that of the Hyperion Theatre at Disney California Adventure in Anaheim, currently showcasing Disney's Aladdin: A Musical Spectacular.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Pilgrimage Play Theatre (later John Ford Theatre)

 
(1920s)^*# - View showing the Pilgrimage Amphiteatre in the Cahuenga Pass section of the Hollywood Hills.  

 

Historical Notes

Berkeley architect, Bernard Maybeck designed this original wood-frame facility for Christine Wetherill Stevenson, a Philadelphia-born heiress to the Pittsburgh Paint Company fortune, for the staging of her work,"The Pilgrimage Play;" in 1920. Stevenson was an actress, playwright and arts philanthropist, and had the finances to build venues for her religiously-themed productions. Originally connected to the Theatre Arts Alliance building the Hollywood Bowl, Stevenson and her wealthy friend, Marie Rankin Clarke left that project c. 1920 in a dispute over the religious/spritiualist content that the two women favored. Stevenson bought 29 acres across the street from the Hollywood Bowl property, and established her Pilgrimage Theatre, where "The Pilgrimage Play" was staged each summer until 1929 when a brush fire destroyed the theatre.^^+

 

 

 

 
(1921)^^+ – Close-up view of the Pilgrimage Theatre located at 2580 Cahuenga Bouelvard East.  

 

Historical Notes

The gates of the Pilgrimage Theatre #1 had an exotic look, with crenellated ramparts recreating Jerusalem's City Walls. The upper parts of the ramparts were cantilevered, adding to their apparent visual weight. Two battered towers standing well above the rampart walls, marked either side of the main entry.^^+

 

 

 

 
(1922)#^*^ – Postcard view showing the Hollywood Bowl before it had its first shell (1926) with the Pilgrimage Play Theatre seen in the distance (upper center-right).  

 

Historical Notes

In October 1929, the original Pilgrimage Play Theatre was destroyed by a brush fire. However, within 2 years the Pilgrimage Theatre would be rebuilt in concrete at the same location.

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Looking down into the site of the future Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater, revealing the Cahuenga Pass and the Hollywood Bowl in the background. The new structure will resemble the architecture of the Holy Land for the purposes of the play performed there. The previous amphitheater on the site was built in 1920, but a brush fire in October 1929 destroyed that wooden structure.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^*# - Postcard view of the front entrance to the Pilgrimage Theatre in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

A new Pilgrimage Theatre was built on the same site as the original and opened in 1931. The new theatre was constructed of poured concrete and designed in the style of ancient Judaic architecture to resemble the gates of Jerusalem. 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^*# - Looking down into the Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater (renamed the John Anson Ford Theatre in the early 1970s) revealing some of the biblical-like structures on the hillside.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater resembled the architecture of the Holy Land for the purposes of the play performed there. The religious-themed Pilgrimage Play, written by Christine Whetherill Stevenson, was performed every summer between 1920 to 1941.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)* - Postcard view of the Pilgrimage Play Theatre seating and stage.  

 

Historical Notes

During WWII the theater was deeded to Los Angeles County and converted into dormitories for servicemen. After the war, the play resumed until 1964, at which time it was legally ordered to close due to its religious content.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^*# - Close-up view of the front entrance to the Pilgrimage Play Theatre.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - View showing a Foster and Kleiser billboard for the Pilgrimage Play outside the Pilgrimage Theatre, later the John Anson Ford Amphitheatre (2580 Cahuenga Boulevard).  

 

Historical Notes

In 1941, the land was deeded to the County of Los Angeles. The Pilgrimage Play continued to be presented until a lawsuit in 1964 forced its closure because of its religious nature.

In 1976, the Pilgrimage Theatre was renamed the John Anson Ford Theatre in honor of the late L.A. County Supervisor's significant support of the arts. John Anson Ford (1883–1983) helped found the L.A. County Arts Commission, encouraged the Board of Supervisors to support the building of the Music Center and led the County's acquisition of Descanso Gardens, among many other achievements.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Roos Brothers Building

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - View showing the upscale clothing store, Roos Brothers at 6320 Hollywood Boulevard near Vine Street.  Note the Art Deco detailing applied to the façade of the building. The Mullen & Bluett Building is at left.  

 

Historical Notes

In a later incarnation, the Roos Brothers building became the second Newberry five-and-dime located in Hollywood.*#^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - Close-up view showing the Roos Bros storefront entrance with its Art Deco zig-zag columns.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

J.J. Newberry Building (Hollywood)

 
(ca. 1932)^*# - View of the J.J. Newberry Co. Store on Hollywood Boulevard. Three young boys are seen looking at a display through the window.  

 

Historical Notes

J.J. Newberry's was an American Five-and-Dime store chain in the 20th century originally founded in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. The company was a family business. J.J. Newberry was joined in management by his brothers C.T. Newberry and Edgar A. Newberry in 1919, at which time there were 17 stores with yearly sales of $500,000.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)^*# - Nighttime view of the J. J. Newberry Co. 5-10-25 Cent Store located at 6600-04 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Over the years, the Newberry chain acquired other stores including Hested in Wyoming, Missouri, North Dakota, Colorado, and Nebraska, and Lee Stores in South Dakota, Minnesota, and Iowa. At the time of founder J.J. Newberry's death (1954), the chain had 475 stores. By 1961, the company operated 565 stores with total yearly sales of $291 million. The chain also operated a larger department store called Britt's Department Store.

The Newberry chain was ultimately purchased by McCrory Stores, and then folded slowly as McCrory's downsized  and eventually entered bankruptcy. 300 McCrory stores, mostly Newberry's, closed in 1997.*^

 

 

 

 
(2010)#* – View showing the Art Deco façade of the Newberry Building on Hollywood Boulevard. Photo by Bill Badzo  

 

Historical Notes

The architects of the Hollywood J.J. Newberry's, now Hollywood Toys and Costumes, created this colorful example of Art Deco at its best. The "Zig Zag" patterns of chevrons and squares in colorful aqua and gold highlight the over-sized industrial windows of the upper stories. ##*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)^*# - Nighttime view showing the J. J. Newberry Co. 5-10-25 Cent Store located at 6600-04 Hollywood Boulevard.   (2008)^v^ – View showing the Celebrity 5 & 10 building on Disney’s Hollywood Boulevard at the Disney’s Hollywood Studios theme park near Orlando, Florida.

 

Historical Notes

The Walt Disney Imagineers were inspired by the 1928-built J.J. Newberry Building when they designed their Celebrity 5 & 10 building on Disney’s Hollywood Boulevard at the Disney’s Hollywood Studios theme park near Orlando, Florida.

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

* * * * *

 

 

County Courthouse

 
(ca. 1925)* - L. A. County Courthouse viewed from the east, with the Hall of Records on the left.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1927)* - View is looking northwest toward three powerhouses: Hall of Records, County Courthouse, and Hall of Justice. The construction site of the new Los Angeles City Hall can be seen in the forefront.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hall of Records was built in 1906 and demolished in 1973; the County Courthouse was built in 1891 and demolished in 1936; the Hall of Justice was built in 1922 by Allied Architects.*

 

 

 

 
(1928)^^ - View of the Los Angeles County Courthouse standing in front of a yet to be completed City Hall.  

 

Historical Notes

Constructed in 1891, the Los Angeles County Courthouse stood where the city’s first high school, Los Angeles High School, had been located from 1873 until it moved to North Hill Street to allow for construction of the courthouse.

This building served as the courthouse until 1933, when it sustained damage in the Long Beach earthquake, and was demolished in 1936.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)* - Rear exterior view of the first Los Angeles County Courthouse (built 1891), also as known as the "Red Sandstone Courthouse," located at Spring and Temple. The new City Hall built in 1928 can be seen in the background. Note that the clock tower has been truncated (see previous photo).  

 

Historical Notes

This building served as the courthouse until 1933, when it sustained damage in the Long Beach earthquake, and was demolished in 1936. It appears that in the above 1932 photo the tower has been modified and shortened prior to the earthquake.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1933)^*# – View showing the statue of Senator Stephen M. White in front of the entrance to the great Red Sandstone Courthouse.  

 

Historical Notes

Stephen M. White was elected Los Angeles County District Attorney in 1882, State Senator in 1886 and United States Senator in 1893. During his term in the United States Senate, Senator White’s most notable accomplishment was his successful leadership of the fight to create the Los Angeles Harbor in San Pedro as opposed to Santa Monica Bay, the site that was being advocated by powerful railroad interests.

The statue of Stephen White was first moved to the corner of 1st and Hill outside the new courthouse, located at 1945 South Hill Street.

In 1989, the statue was moved again to its present location, at the entrance to Cabrillo Beach off Stephen M. White Drive, overlooking the breakwater at the L.A. Harbor.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1933)* - Demolition of the L.A. County Courthouse at Broadway and Temple with the new City Hall standing in the background. The Hall of Records, built in 1911, appears on the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - Officials presenting the old courthouse clock to the Los Angeles County Museum on March 2, 1932. Left to right are: Hugh A. Thatcher, P. F. Cogswell, R. W. Pridham, Henry W. Wright, James Hay, W. J. Martin, J. S. Dodge, Fred J. Beatty, W. A. Bryan (director of the museum), J. J. Hamilton, J. R. Quinn, J. Don Wahaffey, V. E. Hinshaw, F. E. Woodley, Dr. J. W. Bovard, and Mayor Frank Shaw.  

 

Historical Notes

The two bearded gentlemen standing front-center of the clock formerly mounted on the old Los Angeles County Courthouse are James Hay and William Martin.  Both were long time County employees who were supervisors before the newly-demolished courthouse was built. The clock has been preserved and can still be seen today at the Natural History Museum's California History Room.**^#

 

* * * * *

 

 

Federal Building and Post Office

 
(1931)**^ - Looking south on Main Street across Temple at the old Federal Building/Post Office and City Hall. Ornate 5-lamp streetlights can be seen in front of the Federal Building (Click HERE to see more in Early Streetlights of LA).  

 

Historical Notes

Constructed between 1906 and 1910, the five-story Romanesque Federal Building housed the post office, U.S. District Court, and various federal agencies, but it soon proved inadequate.  It was razed in 1937 to clear the site for the existing U.S. District Courthouse.*^

 

 

 

 
(1932)^*# - Postcard view of North Main Street as seen from the base of Los Angeles City Hall at Temple Street. The entire 300 block of N. Main Street, from Baker Block to the Ducommun Building, can be seen here. The old Federal Building and Post Office stands on the northwest corner.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hall of Records

 
(1927)^^ – View looking northwest showing the Los Angeles County Hall of Records (built in 1908).  The old County Courthouse and Hall of Justice are also seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

Los Angeles County's 12-story Hall of Records Building was utilitzed by the County of Los Angeles from 1911 until 1976. Designed by the Los Angeles tandem of Hudson and Munsell, Architects, the skyscraper government building cost approximately $1.5 million to erect in 1908.

 

 

 

 
(1930s)^.^ – View showing the Los Angeles Hall of Records Building located at 220 N. Broadway.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1939)^^ – View looking north on Spring Street toward Temple Street.  The Hall of Records stands tall on the left, with the Hall of Justice in the distance (N/W corner of Spring and Temple). Photo by "Dick" Whittington  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)* - View showing the Hall of Records as seen from across the street through the arches of City Hall.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hall of Records was built in 1906. It is a large, light-colored building that splits into two sections halfway up to the top. Large rectangular windows line the perimeter of the building, and decorative molding can be seen near the top of the structure.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1945)* - The Hall of Records, next to which was the old County Courthouse. At this time it was a hospitality house for servicemen, giving free dormitory space, sponsored by B'Nai B'rith. The statue of Stephen M. White, originally in front of the courthouse, is seen on the left.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1946)* - Partial view of a panoramic photo showing several important buildings: City Hall, Hall of Records, and the U.S. Post Office and Courthouse; the Steven M. White statue can be seen on the lower left corner. The street seen on the right of the photo is Broadway.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)^^ - Close-up view of the beautiful Hall of Records Building.  

 

 

 

 
(1953)* - Spring Street side of the Hall of Records on February 3, 1953. Two men can be seen working on the roof.  

 

 

 

 
(1959)^^ – View looking south on Broadway showing the Hall of Records Building.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)^*# - View of the Hall of Records with City Hall towering behind it. In the foreground stands the Stephen M. White Statue.  

 

Historical Notes

Stephen M. White was elected Los Angeles County District Attorney in 1882, State Senator in 1886 and United States Senator in 1893. During his term in the United States Senate, Senator White’s most notable accomplishment was his successful leadership of the fight to create the Los Angeles Harbor in San Pedro as opposed to Santa Monica Bay, the site that was being advocated by powerful railroad interests.

The Stephen M. White Statue, was originally located on the corner of Temple and Broadway on the lawn of the Hall of Records.  Today, the statue is located at the entrance to Cabrillo Beach off Stephen M. White Drive, overlooking the breakwater at the L.A. Harbor.^###

 

 

 
(1965)* - View of a single-post arm streetlight in front of the Hall of Records with City Hall in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960s)* - View shows Hall of Records as seen from the top of City Hall. The California State Building is on the left. The newly constructed Music Center and DWP Building (GOB) are seen in the background (Click HERE to see more in Construction of the GOB).  

 

Historical Notes

The California State Building (lower-left) was torn down in 1976.*

 

 

 

 

 

(1972)^^ - View of the old Los Angeles County Hall of Records as seen from the west portico of City Hall.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1972)^^ – Night time view showing the Old Hall of Records building and the newer Criminal Courts building from across Broadway at the County Mall. The Hall of Records is at right and is a looming Gothic-style building with narrow rectangular windows around its entire perimeter. The larger Criminal Courts building is at left and is a rectangular building with rows of well-lit windows. The top of the City Hall tower is visible in the background at right. Note the beautiful decorative 5-bulb streetlight in the foreground. Click HERE to see more in Early Los Angeles Streetlights.  

 

 

 

 
(1972)^^ – Birdseye view of the old Los Angeles Hall of Records, looking south along Broadway. The old Gothic building with rows of rectangular windows and small columns on its walls stands in the foreground. A dark, pointed roof can be seen on top of the tower.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1972)^^ – View of the Los Angeles County Mall showing the old Hall of Records Building adjacent to the new Criminal Courts Buildings with City Hall seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hall of Records Building was demolished in 1973 to make room for the expansion of the City Mall.*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum

 
(1984)* - Close-up view of the torch at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum during the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games. Los Angeles also hosted the 1932 Olympic Games.  

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - Crowds have filled the Olympic Stadium (the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum) for the 1932 Olympic Games; the Los Angeles Swimming Stadium, another Olympic venue, can be seen in the upper left. Location: South end of University of Southern California, 3911 S Figueroa, Los Angeles. Click HERE to see more in Early Views of USC.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum originally was completed in 1923 as a memorial to veterans of World War I (rededicated to veterans of all wars in 1968). It was partially redesigned and enlarged for the 1932 Olympic Games. Both designs were by architects John and Donald B. Parkinson. It has witnessed some of the more important sports, political, and historical events in Southern California.*^

 

 
(1932)^^#* - A wide view of the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum during the opening ceremonies of the 10th Olympic Games in Los Angeles. The stadium is full of spectators who are watching the ceremony on the field, where the athletes are divided by country.   

 

Historical Notes

The 1932 Summer Olympics was celebrated in 1932 in Los Angeles. No other cities made a bid to host these Olympics. Held during the worldwide Great Depression, many nations and athletes were unable to pay for the trip to Los Angeles. Fewer than half the participants of the 1928 Summer Olympics in Amsterdam returned to compete in 1932. Even U.S. President Herbert Hoover skipped the event.*^

 

1932 Olympic Highlights

An Olympic Village was built for the first time, in Baldwin Hills, occupied by the male athletes. Female athletes were housed at the Chapman Park Hotel on Wilshire Boulevard.

The victory podium was used for the first time.

The Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum was known in 1932 as Olympic Stadium.

Tenth Street, a major thoroughfare in Los Angeles, was renamed Olympic Boulevard in honor of the Games of the Tenth Olympiad.

Babe Didrikson won two gold medals in the javelin and the hurdles event. She also competed in a jump-off for a silver in the high jump. Her technique in the jump-off was ruled illegal, leaving Didrikson with second place.

In field hockey, only three nations took part. The host nation lost both matches, 1-24 to India and 2-9 to Japan, but still won a bronze medal.

Poland's Stanisława Walasiewicz won the gold medal in the women's 100 m; she would also win the silver medal in the event four years later. After her death in 1980, it was discovered that she was intersex and would have been ineligible to participate.*^

 

 

 
(1932)* - Players representing the United States and Canada shown during a lacrosse match at the Olympic Stadium (the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum).  

 

Historical Notes

When the games of the XXIIIrd Olympiad began here on July 28, 1984, the coliseum became the first stadium in the world to host the Olympic Games twice.*^

 

 

 
(1932) - Canada's Duncan McNaughton wins the high jump with a leap of 1.97m (6.46 ft).  

 

Historical Notes

The colonnade on the east end of the Coliseum is composed of a triumphal arch, flanked by 14 smaller arches and a central torch, rising 107 feet above street level. The torch, which was built for the tenth Olympiad, is constructed of concrete and capped with a bronze fixture that was kept illuminated throughout the games.*

Today, the world high jump record is held by Javier Sotomayor of Cuba at 2.45m (8.5 ft). Click HERE to see Men's high jump world record progression.*^

 

 

 
(1932)* - Exterior view of the colonnade and torch at the front end of the Coliseum.  

 

Historical Notes

The now-signature torch was added for the Olympics during the 1930 renovation. It is still being lit during the fourth quarters of USC football games.*^

 

 

 
(1932)**^- Final score: USC 13 - Notre Dame 0: USC shut out Notre Dame on its way to a second consecutive consensus national title, matching Notre Dame's feat in 1929 and 1930.  

 

Historical Notes

From 1928-1932, USC and Notre Dame combined to win the national title five straight years, with USC winning in 1928, 1931 and 1932, and Notre Dame winning in 1929 and 1930.

Notre Dame and USC have traditionally been counted among the elite programs in college football, with each school having won 11 national championships and 7 Heisman Trophies. This football rivalry, which began in 1926, is considered one of the most important in college football, and is often called the greatest intersectional rivalry in college football.*^

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of USC

 

 

 
(1930s)^***^ - The Los Angeles Coliseum welcomes the Shriners with torch fully lit.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1936)^^ - Fireworks light the night sky over the Coliseum. Photo by Dick Whittington.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum has been designated California Historical Landmark No. 960 (Click HERE to see more in California Historical Landmarks in LA).

 

 

Super Bowl I

 
(1967)#^* – View showing the 1st Super Bowl, held at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on January 15, 1967.  Note all the empty seats.  

 

Historical Notes

Super Bowl I was the only Super Bowl in history that was not a sellout in terms of attendance, despite a TV blackout in the Los Angeles area (at the time, NFL games were required to be blacked out in the market of origin, even if it was a neutral site game and if it sold out). Of the 94,000-seat capacity in the Coliseum, 33,000 went unsold.  Days before the game, local newspapers printed editorials about what they viewed as a then-exorbitant $12 price for tickets, and wrote stories about how to pirate the signal from TV stations outside the Los Angeles area.*^

 

 

 

 
(1967)^^* – The Packer’s Jim Weatherwax, No. 73, tries to block a Chiefs kick at Super Bowl I.  

 

Historical Notes

The Green Bay Packers defeat the Kansas City Chiefs 35-10 in the first Super Bowl, played at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. At halftime, the Chiefs were only behind 14-10, but the Packers took over in the third quarter.^^*

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views showing the Construction of the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum

 

* * * * *

 

 

Pasadena City Hall

 
(1930)* - Scenic view of Pasadena City Hall and its surrounding area, with mountains in the background. City hall is located at 100 North Garfield Avenue in Pasadena. Date built: 1920-1922. Designed by Julian Morgan in Mediterranean style.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1923, the people of Pasadena approved a bond measure issuing $3.5 million towards the development of a civic center. City Hall was to be the central element of this center. The San Francisco architecture firm of Bakewell and Brown designed City Hall, which has elements of both Mediterranean Revival Style and Spanish Colonial Revival Style architecture.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Exterior view of Pasadena City Hall. This is a photograph of a Chris Siemer painting created for a display by the L.A. Chamber of Commerce.  

 

Historical Notes

Pasadena City Hall was completed on December 27, 1927 at a cost of $1.3 million. It measures 361 feet by 242 feet, and rises 6 stories. There are over 235 rooms and passageways that cover over 170,000 square feet. The defining dome, located above the west entrance, is 26 feet tall and 54 feet in diameter. On July 28, 1980 the Civic Center District, including Pasadena City Hall, was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.*^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Pasadena

 

* * * * *

 

Mountain States Building (Yucca Vine Tower)

 
(ca. 1929)^^ - View of the Art Deco style Mountain States Building, located at 6305 Yucca Street. The sign on the building to the left reads: "PIGGLY WIGGLY Will Open Here Soon".  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by Architect H. L. Gogerty, the Art Deco style Mountain States Life Insurance Building was built in 1928 on the northwest corner of Yucca and Vine with bas-relief emphasizing the lines of the windows and gaurdians leaning on their swords at the roofline.

 

 

 
(1929)* - Panoramic view of Hollywood and its surrounding areas showing the Mountain States Building on the N/W corner Vine and Yucca. The Hollywood Playhouse is in the lower left (1735 N. Vine Street) and the Mulholland Dam is at upper right in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

 

 

 
(1933)* - Looking towards the Mountain States Building (now Yucca Vine Tower). The building to the left is a Piggly Wiggly market and the Mulholland Dam is visible in the upper center.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1949)#*## – View looking north near the intersection of Yucca St and Ivar Ave (lower-left) showing the Hollywood Hills and Hollywood Sign in the background with the Mountain States Building (now Yucca Vine Tower) at right.   

 

 

 

 
(1940s)+^^ – View looking north toward the Hollywood Hills showing the Mountain States Building standing on the NW corner of Vine and Yucca streets (on the left).  The Capitol Records Building would be built at lower-left in the 1950s, near the SE corner of Vine and Yucca.  The Hollywood Freeway would also be built in the 1950s and would run across the top of the photo about one block north of Yucca Street.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1955)#*## – Aerial view looking northwest showing the Mountain States Building standing in the shadows of the newly completed Capitol Records Building across the street.  

 

 

 

 
(2015)^*^*^ - View showing the Yucca Vina Tower (previously Mountain States Building) located at 6305 Yucca Street.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2015)^*^*^ – Detailed view of bas-relief sculptures on front face of the Yucca Vine Tower.  

 

 

 

 
(2016)##^^ – Google Earth view showing the Yucca Vine Tower as it appears today with the Capitol Records Building at lower-right and the Hollywood Freeway at top.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Farmers Market

 
(ca. 1934)* - A couple rows of cars are parked on a dirt lot with some parking lines marked. A building has a sign "Supermalts 10 cents" where Farmers Market is located in a section of low buildings. In the background another sign reads "GILMORE" which was the sign on the face of the Gilmore Stadium.  

 

Historical Notes

Farmers Market started when a dozen nearby farmers would park their trucks on a field to sell their fresh produce to local residents. The cost to rent the space was fifty cents per day.

In 1870, when they moved west from Illinois, Arthur Fremont (A.F.) Gilmore and his partner bought two sizable farms, one of which was the 256-acre dairy farm at the corner of 3rd Street and Fairfax Ave. Gilmore gained control when the partnership dissolved later.

Gilmore Oil Company replaced the dairy farm when oil was discovered under the land during drilling for water in 1905. Earl Bell (E.B.) Gilmore, son of A.F. Gilmore, took over the family business. The younger Gilmore started midget car racing and brought professional football to Los Angeles. He built Gilmore Field for the Hollywood Stars baseball team, which was owned by Bing Crosby, Barbara Stanwyck, and Cecil B. DeMille.*^

 

 

 
(1934)^^* - Opening day of the Farmers Market at 3rd and Fairfax on July 14, 1934.  

 

Historical Notes

Farmers Market was created in July 1934 by Roger Dahlhjelm, a businessman, and Fred Beck, an advertising copywriter. They asked the owners of “Gilmore Island,” the former dairy farm at 3rd & Fairfax, if they could invite local farmers to park trucks on vacant Gilmore land to sell fresh produce to local shoppers. #**

 

 

 
(1934)^^* – Carts full of fresh produce draw the attention of visitors on opening day of Farmers Market – July 11, 1934.  

 

Historical Notes

A July 11, 1934, Los Angeles Times article announces the Farmers Market opening:

Like New Orleans and Baltimore, where the system is more than a century old, Los Angeles is going to have a farmers’ public market.

The market will open Saturday morning (July 14) on a five-acre lot on the northeast corner of Third street and Fairfax avenue.

Endorsed by the Farm Bureau and other allied groups, the market is planned as an outlet for the produce of the farmer who owns but a few acres of land and whose output in crops is insufficient to permit help to sell to the large wholesalers.

Only farmers who actually grow their own crops will be permitted to occupy stalls at the market. Each farmer agrees to pick fresh each morning the various vegetables or fruits he plans to sell the same day. Under regulations imposed by Roger Dahlhjelm, director of the project, no farmer will be permitted to sell left-over supplies.

For the privilege of occupying the stalls the farmers pay a nominal fee. They may take the stalls by the day, week or month. Surrounding the stalls is free parking space for more than 500 automobiles.

Among the products to be placed on sale are included eggs, poultry, flowers, vegetables, fruits, honey, nuts and similar articles. … ^^*

 

 

 

 
(1930s)**^ - Aerial view looking northeast showing a busy Farmers Market with a full parking lot. Fairfax and 3rd Street is at lower-right. Gilmore Stadium is in the upper-left and a Gilmore Service Station stands at lower-center.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally called the “Farmers Public Market,” the concept was so popular that within months, permanent stalls were erected to provide the farmers with a more convenient way to provide their produce. The “Public” was dropped from the name almost immediately.#**

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Panoramic view showing rows of cars are parked around and near the buildings of the Farmers Market.
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1942)#^*^ – Postcard view showing two women, pulling straw weaved baskets carts, shopping near the fruit stands at Farmers Market.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1950s)#* - Two women posing in front of a fruit stand at Farmers Market.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1945)^^#^ - View of the northeast corner of 3rd Street and Fairfax showing how Farmers Market looked in the 1940's. The Gilmore Stadium can be seen at the upper-left of the photo. The distinctive windmill sign stands adjacent to the American Flag. The white building next to the windmill is the original Du-Par's Restaurant.  

 

Historical Notes

The first Du-par's was founded in 1938 at Farmers Market by James Dunn and Edward Parsons, who combined their surnames to create the restaurant's name. The chain was purchased in 2004 by an investor group led by W.W. "Biff" Naylor, the son of noted California restaurateur Tiny Naylor. Du-par's expanded in 2009 to include several locations from the bankrupt Bakers Square chain.*^

 

 

 

 
(1949)#* - View looking east showing make-shift stores set up in the Farmers Market parking lot. The Gilmore Stadium can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1949)#*## - View of a Foster and Kleiser billboard advertising Farmers Market:  “2,000 People a Day Eat at the Farmers Market”  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)^^ - View showing the Farmers Market Windmill towering above the buildings on a clear day with the Hollywood Hills in the distance.  

 

Historical Notes

The Windmill was Farmers Marktet's icon from the time it opened in 1934 until 1952, when it was replaced by a Clock Tower. #**

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)#^* – View looking northwest showing parking lot and shops at Farmers Market with the Hollywood Hills in the background. Richard Wojcik Collection.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1952)+^^ – View showing a full parking lot at Farmers Market with its iconic clock tower seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1960s)^*^# – View looking at the northeast corner of Fairfax and 3rd Street showing the Farmers Market parking lot, Dupar’s Restaurant, and CBS Television City in the background. Click HERE to see contemporary view.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1969)**^# - View of Farmers Market looking northeast with CBS Television City in the background. The Farmers Market Clock Tower stands at right.  

 

Historical Notes

When CBS Television City opened next door in 1952, the Farmers Market provided those working or visiting that television studio a convenient place to shop or eat.

In the 1970s The Country Kitchen, a restaurant owned and operated by Jack and Eileen Smith (located next to the still-operating Du-par's), was popular with stars and their fans alike. Mickey Rooney could sometimes be found working behind the counter. Other customers included Elvis Presley, Regis Philbin, Rip Taylor, Mae West, Johnny Carson and even The Shah of Iran on his visit.*^

 

 

 

 
(1965)#^* – View showing two people walking adjacent to a parking lot with the Farmers Market Clock Tower standing tall behind them.  

 

Historical Notes

The Farmers Market Clock Tower, which overlooks Farmers Market Plaza and the main entrances to the Market, has welcomed visitors to the Market for more than half a century (it was first erected in 1952). #**

 

 

 

 

 

(2009)^^* – The iconic Farmers Market Clock Tower stands in the foreground with the Grove Tower seen in the distance.

 

 

Historical Notes

When The Grove at Farmers Market was constructed (2002) and the Market added the Plaza and North Market, the clock tower was carefully taken down, fully restored and erected in its new home with a brand new clock works.#**

 

* * * * *

 

 

Gilmore Stadium and Gilmore Field

 
(1934)* - Aerial view of Gilmore Stadium shows a packed crowd in attendance, October 15, 1934.  

 

Historical Notes

Built by Earl Gilmore, Gilmore Stadium opened in May 1934 and was demolished in 1952. The first professional football team in Los Angeles, the Los Angeles Bulldogs played at Gilmore. Before the neighboring Gilmore Field opened in 1939, the Hollywood Stars used Gilmore Stadium for their home games.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)#** - View showing a football game being played at Gilmore Stadium.  

 

Historical Notes

Gilmore Stadium, built in 1934, just before Farmers Market opened, was home field for the L.A. Bulldogs, the city’s first professional football team. The stadium also hosted rodeos, boxing matches, swim exhibitions and motorcycle races.

 

 

 

 
(1938)^^ - View looking north showing the Gilmore Stadium near the corner of Fairfax and Beverly (upper left). Farmers Market is in the foreground close to the intersection of Fairfax and 3rd Street (lower left). A new baseball field, Gilmore Field, will be built within a year of this photo in the empty lot at center-right of photo.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1949)**^# - View looking southeast of Gilmore Stadium (center) and Gilmore Field (top). The intersection of Fairfax Avenue and Beverly Boulevard is in the lower left of the photo. Herbert's Drive-In Restaurant can be seen on the southeast corner. Farmers Market is in the upper right.  

 

Historical Notes

Gilmore Field opened on May 2, 1939 and was the home of the Pacific Coast League baseball team the Hollywood Stars until September 5, 1957.*^

 

 

 
(1948)**^ – Aerial view of the area bounded by Beverly, Fairfax, 3rd Street, and Gardner Avenue.  The photo has been annotated and shows the location of Gilmore Stadium, Gilmore Field, Farmers Market, Gilmore Drive-in and the Pan Pacific Auditorium.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1952 CBS Television City was built facing Beverly Boulevard on the site of Gilmore Stadium. In 1958 Gilmore Field was also demolished and the studio expanded on the grounds where baseball was once played.**^#

 

 

 
(1940s)* - View showing Gilmore Field (aka Hollywood Ball Park), located near the present-day Farmer's Market in the Fairfax District. This was home field for the Hollywood Stars. The parking lot appears full and there are clusters of people walking out of the main entrance.  

 

 

 

 
(1949)*++ – View of a nearly empty Gilmore Field before start of a game. Photo by Julius Shulman  

 

 

 

 
(1949)*++ – Pre-game view from edge of the grandstands at Gilmore Field. Photo by Julius Shulman  

 

 

 

 
(1951)* - Major league All-Stars managed by Ty Cobb and Tris Speaker clashed at Gilmore Field, with the big-leaguers beating the Hollywood Stars, 4-3, for charity. Fans thrilled to Gus Zernial's two homers. This view is looking southeast toward Park La Brea Towers which can be seen in the distance.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1958, Gilmore Field was demolished to make room for an expansion by CBS Television City on the grounds where baseball was once played.

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Baseball in Early L.A.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Early Gas Stations

 
(1930s)^*# – View of the Art-Deco style Sherman Oaks Service Station located at 15362 Ventura Blvd, southeast corner of Ventura Blvd. and Sherman Oaks Ave.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - View of Specification Motoroil System Service Station on the southwest corner of Washington and 8th (?).  

 

Historical Notes

Apparently the "Specification Motoroil System" was a national chain that did not last too long (no records).**^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)**^ - Closer View of the Art Deco designed Specification System Service Station on Washington Blvd.  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)^^ – View showing the Texaco Service Station located across the street from the Cole House and later theI. Magnin store, southeast corner of Wilshire and New Hampshire Avenue.  Note the Green T Café on the left.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^*^# – View of a Standard Oil Station located on the corner of Beverly and La Brea. Pope and Burton Architects occupy part of the building behind the station.  

 

Historical Notes

The above photo is undated, but possibly late 1920s to early 1930s, since Pope and Burton Architects didn't open their Los Angeles office until 1927.^*^#

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - View of service station with gas pumps on either side located at 1800 1/2 Long Beach Boulevard, South Gate. The signs advertise General Gasoline, Richfield Gasoline, Gilmore Gasoline, Hood Tires, United States Tires and Pennzoil. On the right, an attendant is climbing a ladder.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - One of the first gas stations on a lot on Imperial St., Los Angeles, shown in the 1930's. It was the workplace for a group of men from the Mexican American Community.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*^# - The Umbrella Service Station, General Petroleum Gas, once located at 830 South La Brea in Inglewood. By 1946, the gas station was gone and a retail strip center was built on the site.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)**^ - 'Full Service' at Union Oil Compnay service station.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of LA Gas Stations

 

* * * * *

 

 

Fox Stadium Theatre

 
(1930)^^ - View of the Fox Stadium Theatre located at 8906 W. Pico Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Opened in 1930, The Fox Stadium Theatre was built for and operated by Fox West Coast Theatres.  The rear of the auditorium was with stadium-style seating, a rarity at the time. About the only other early L.A. Theatre with such an arrangement was downtown's Rialto Theatre.  In the 40s, lots of theatres, especially by Fox West Coast (such as the Fox Inglewood), utilized the format.^**#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^^# – Front view of the Fox Stadium Theatre located on Pico Boulevard in Beverly Hills. Now playing: Spawn of the North with Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers.  

 

Historical Notes

The building architects were Robert O. Boller and Carl Boller, Boller Bros.  The Boller Bros. worked all over the country on projects including the Kimo in Albuquerque and the Missouri Theatre in St. Joseph.

Carl Boller moved to Los Angeles in 1921 and in addition to the Fox Stadium, also designed the Fontana Theatre (now a performing arts venue) and the Corona Theatre, now a church. His most opulent theatre in the area was the Tracy Theatre in Long Beach.^**#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^^ – Interior view of the Fox Stadium Theater with auditorium seating (capacity: 1172). Three sections of seats can be seen at center. They make a slight decline as they continue down to the lighted stage. Bright ornate lights hang from the detailed ceiling. Donated by Jim Stone.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1964 the theatre was converted into a synagogue, the B’nai David-Judea.

The building was rehabilitated in 2004.^**#

 

* * * * *

 

 

Sunset Clock Market

 
(ca. 1930)**^# - View of the Sunset Clock Market at the northeast corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Hamilton Drive, one block east of La Cienega Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1929, this C. W. Wilson and Sons designed L-shaped structure once housed a mom-and-pop market and one apartment. This last remaining example of a Wilshire drive-up market currently serves as a Porsche-Audi dealership.*^^#

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - Close-up view showing the clock tower above Sunset Clock Drive-up Market.  

 

Historical Notes

Southern California was the principal center for the development of drive-in markets between the mid-1910s to the early 1940s.

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - Street view showing the gas station at the Sunset Clock Drive-up Market.  

 

Historical Notes

Click HERE to see more Views of Early Gas Stations.

 

 

 
(1932)++^ – View looking north showing the Sunset Clock Market on the northeast corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Hamilton Drive. Note the new signboard on top of the clock tower.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)**^# - The Sunset Clock Market at 8423 Wilshire Boulevard at S. Hamilton, in it's first incarnation as a Plymouth car dealership.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

De Soto Car Dealership

 
(1930s)#*## – View of the De Soto Car Dealership located at 611 S. La Brea Ave.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in the 1920s and designed by Julia Morgan, the building was the home of De Soto Car Dealership for many years. Today, it is occupied by Diamond Foam and Fabric.

The De Soto automobile was manufactured and marketed by the now-defunct De Soto Division of the Chrysler Corporation from 1928 to 1961. The De Soto logo featured a stylized image of Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto. The De Soto marque was officially dropped November 30, 1960, with over two million vehicles built since 1928.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Heinsbergen Building

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - Exterior view of the Heinsbergen Building located at 7415 Beverly Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The castle-like building was built in 1928 for noted muralist Anthony Heinsbergen, and designed by Curlett & Beelman in a Late Gothic Revival and Romanesque style. The building's notable features include the prominent cylindrical tower, a Renaissance-style mural in the tower arch, and the detailed friezes displaying artisans at work.

At least 11 buildings designed by architect Claud Beelman have been listed on the National Register. The building was constructed while Heinsbergen was employed to create murals for Los Angeles City Hall, and he had his building on Beverly Boulevard built using bricks from the old city hall.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^*# - View of the castle-like Heinsbergen Building designed by noted architect Claud Beelman.  

 

Historical Notes

The building served as the office for Heinsbergen's mural-painting business for more than 50 years. Heinsbergen's company, called Heinsbergen Decorating Company or A.T. Heinsbergen & Company, employed 185 artist painters, and created murals for movie palaces and many important buildings, including the U.S. Department of Commerce Building in Washington, D.C. and the Sir Francis Drake Hotel in San Francisco.

In Los Angeles, Heinsbergen's murals can still be seen at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, the Beverly-Wilshire Hotel, Los Angeles City Hall, the Wiltern Theatre, the ceiling of El Portal de La Paz Mausoleum at Rose Hills Memorial Park in Whittier and the Park Plaza Hotel.

After Heinsbergen died, his children continued to operate the business at the Beverly Boulevard building, in many cases working to restore murals that their father had designed decades earlier.*^

In 1984, the Heinsbergen Building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. That same year it was also dedicated LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 275 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(2013)*^ - Front view of the Heinsbergen Building as it appears today, 7415 Beverly Boulevard, north side of Beverly Boulevard between Vista Street and Mattel Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The building was later converted to retail space and was occupied by "Lloyd Klein Couture", the West Coast store for New York fashion designer Lloyd Klein. Klein's customers include Nicole Kidman, Renée Zellweger, Gwen Stefani and Kate Beckinsale. Though Klein's name was prominently featured on the building, the name "Heinsbergen Decorating" is still seen above the door at the base of the tower.

After 12 years at the Beverly Hills location on Robertson, the "Claire Pettibone Flagship Salon" has moved and now occupies the Heinsbergen Building and is officially open as of July 10, 2013. Claire Pettibone is an American fashion designer based in Los Angeles. She is prominently known for her couture wedding gowns, intimate apparel, and lifestyle collection. Pettibone began designing wedding and red carpet gowns for clients including Cameron Diaz, Courteney Cox Arquette, Leona Lewis, Elisabeth Moss and Missi Pyle. Most recently, in 2012, the designer's "Sky Between the Branches" gown was worn by Priscilla Chan in her wedding to Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Fairfax Theatre

 
(ca. 1930)* - Exterior view of the Fairfax Theatre, northwest corner of Fairfax Avenue and Beverly Boulevard. Sign on top of building reads 'ANY SEAT 30 CENTS ANYTIME'  

 

Historical Notes

The Fairfax Theatre opened on March 26, 1930, and was a 1,504 seat single screen, designed for movies and vaudeville.^^#

 

 

 
(1930)* – View showing premier night at the Fairfax Theatre.  There is a long line in front of the theatre and adjacent Bronson Radio Co. store waiting to see the new release of “Troopers 3”.  Marquee reads "Cast in Person - Rex Lease, Dorothy Gulliver, and Slim Summerville"  

 

 

 

 
(1930)^^# - Exterior view of the Fairfax Theater located on the northwest corner of Fairfax Avenue and Beverly Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

The Fairfax was operated for decades by Fox West Coast Theatres and, later, Mann Theatres when they acquired the remnants of the circuit. Mann got out around 1979 and the house became an independent.

The Fairfax occasionally ran live shows. It was the venue for the LA production of "Oh, Calcutta" in 1969.

In late 1981 it was tri-plexed. The front half of the theatre was left intact with two little theatres in the rear of the main floor. A hallway down the middle (between the two rear auditoria) provided an entrance to the main theatre.

Cineplex Odeon took over in the operation of the building in the April 11, 1985.^**#

 

 

 
(1930)^*# – Close-up view of the Fairfax Theatre located at 7907 Beverly Blvd.  Marquee reads:  All Talking – Color - “Sally” - Starring Marilyn Miller and Joe E. Brown.  

 

Historical Notes

Laemmle Theatres purchased and reopened the former Loews Cineplex discount house on November 2, 2001 after an interior makeover with new seats and new carpet added. Extra wide seating was also added which reduced the cinema’s capacity to one screen with 400 seats and two others with 200 seats. The two smaller auditoriums were carved from the original auditorium’s rear, leaving the original screen and organ grilles intact within the largest auditorium.

Laemmle, which has always attempted to preserve the original historic elements of its acquisitions, retained the theater’s free-standing ticket window. The ticket booth is one of the last in the West Hollywood/Hollywood area.^^#

 

 

 
(2010)^**# - View of the Regency Fairfax Cinemas shortly after it closed in February, 2010. Photo by Bill Counter.  

 

Historical Notes

The Fairfax Theatre was closed by Laemmle Theatres in September 2006. However it was taken over by Regency Theatres and operated as a second run art house. It was closed in late-February 2010, just short of its 80th birthday.

In 2013, a City committee approved plans for a 71 apartment complex to be built, preserving the theatre’s facade, marquee and terrazzo floor at the entry, but resulting in the loss of the rest of the theatre,^^#

 

* * * * *

 

 

Laurel Theatre

 
(1946)+^^ - View showing the Gala Opening of the Laurel Theatre, located at 8056 Beverly Boulevard near the intersection of Beverly and N. Laurel Avenue. ALL SEATS 20 Cents  

 

Historical Notes

The building still stands today. Although the facade has been modified, the auditorium has been in use for the better part of four decades as an active synagogue (Congregation Beth Israel).

 

 

 
(2011)##^^^ – Google street view showing Congregation Beth Israel Synagogue at 8056 Beverly Boulevard.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Sunfax Mart

 
(1933)* - Exterior view of the Sunfax Mart, a food market, located on the corner of Sunset Boulevard and Fairfax Avenue, hence the name Sunfax. The market includes a Van de Kamp's Bakery on the corner, where the miniature windwill is seen mounted on the building.  

 

Historical Notes

Sunset Boulevard was dedicated in 1888. Earlier called Bellevue Street--and with some small sections called Short, Bread and Marchessault streets (after Mayor Damien Marchessault)--it started on U.S. Sen. Cornelius Cole's hill in what is now Hollywood, which afforded a fine view of the sunset over the Pacific. By 1937, 11 streets in Hollywood were named after the Cole family.^*^

Fairfax Avenue was named for Lord Fairfax of Colonial America. Some parts of it were previously called Crescent Drive.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Sunset Tower

 
(1930s)^*^# – View looking through a Eucalyptus Tree down toward the Sunset Tower. The Art Deco apartment building is located at 8358 Sunset Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)**^# - View looking northwest of the Sunset Tower Apartment Building in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, opened in 1931, the Sunset Tower  is considered one of the finest examples of Art Deco architecture in the Los Angeles area. In its early years, it was the residence of many Hollywood celebrities, including John Wayne and Howard Hughes.*^

 

 

 

 
(1933)^^ - Sunset Tower Apartments at 8358 Sunset Boulevard as seen from a gas station across the street.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally operated as a luxury apartment hotel, it was one of the first high-rise reinforced concrete buildings in California. When it was completed in August 1931 at a cost of $750,000, the Los Angeles Times reported: "What is described to be the tallest apartment-house in Los Angeles County, rising 15 stories or 195 feet, was completed last week at Kings Road and Sunset Boulevard by W.I. Moffett, general contractor, for E.M. Fleming, owner." *^

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - An Art Deco masterpiece, the Sunset Tower Apartments, located at 8358 Sunset Boulevard.    

 

Historical Notes

In 1933, the Los Angeles Times ran an article about the trend toward luxurious penthouse apartments in the city and noted that Sunset Tower boasted the city's highest penthouse: "It is the highest in the city and due to the location of the fifteen-story structure that supports it, its tenants live on a level with the tower of the Los Angeles City Hall. Imagine the view!" John Wayne, Howard Hughes, Frank Sinatra, Jerry Buss and novelist James Wohl lived in the penthouse at different times, and Hughes reportedly also rented some of the lower apartments for his girlfriends or mistresses. Other former residents include Clark Gable, Errol Flynn, Marilyn Monroe, Michael Caine, Quincy Jones, Roger Moore, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Billie Burke, Joseph Schenck, Paulette Goddard, Zasu Pitts, George Stevens, Preston Sturges, and Carol Kane.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1933)^*# - Close-up view of the Sunset Tower Apartments showing the details of the bas-relief near the top of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The building is decorated with plaster friezes of plants, animals, zeppelins, mythological creatures and Adam and Eve.*^

 

 

 
(1940s)**^ – View looking up at the Sunset Tower Apartments from the De Longpre Avenue side of the building.  

 

 

 

 
(1955)***^ - Full view of the Sunset Tower Apartments showing the Art Deco design details, especially at the top of the building.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1979)* - Looking out upon West Hollywood from a balcony at the Sunset Hyatt Hotel (later Andaz West Hollywood), showing the neighborhood and the iconic Sunset Tower; Downtown Los Angeles is partially visible through the haze on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

The Sunset Tower Apartment building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.

After a period of decline in the early 1980s, the building was renovated and has been operated as a luxury hotel under the names The St. James's Club, The Argyle, and most recently the Sunset Tower Hotel.*^

 

 

 

 
(2005)*^ – View showing the Sunset Tower Hotel located at 8358 Sunset Boulevard in West Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The building was saved from deterioration and possible demolition when it was purchased in 1985 from architect David Lawrence Gray, FAIA by Peter de Savary who promised to "lovingly restore" the building to its former glory by spending $25 million to convert the building into the first American branch of his luxury hotel chain, the St. James's Club.

The Lancaster Group purchased the hotel from de Savary in 1992, renaming it the Argyle.

In 2004, Jeff Klein purchased the hotel.  Klein hired designer Paul Fortune to renovate the hotel, adding more modern amenities, and restored its original name. *^

 

* * * * *

 

Roosevelt Hotel

 
(ca. 1929)**^ - Street view looking west showing the Roosevelt Hotel located at 7000 Hollywood Boulevard. Cars are parked in front of the one-story shops along the south side of Hollywood Boulevard. The blade sign of Grauman's Chinese Theatre can be seen on the right edge of photo.  

 

Historical Notes

The historic Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel was designed by Architects Fisher, Lake & Traver in Spanish Colonial Revival style.  Named after United States president Theodore Roosevelt, the hotel was financed by a group including Douglas Fairbanks, Mary Pickford and Louis B. Mayer.*^

 

 

 
(1927)^*^# – View looking south on Orange Drive toward Hollywood Boulevard where The Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel stands tall. The hotel is located at 7000 Hollywood Boulevard. Click HERE for contemporary view.  

 

Historical Notes

The hotel first opened its doors on May 15, 1927. It cost $2.5 million ($33.9 million in today's money or dollars) to complete this twelve-story building, which holds 300 rooms and suites.*^

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Exterior night view of the Roosevelt Hotel located at at 7000 Hollywood Boulevard in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel hosted the presentation of the 1st Academy Awards in 1929 inside its Blossom ballroom. Later ceremonies were much larger than this banquet for 250, so there was never an attempt to host the awards at the hotel a third time.*^

 

 

 

 
(1935)+^^ - Film fans stand on the roof of the Roosevelt Hotel and watch a big Hollywood movie premiere take place across the road at Grauman’s Chinese.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)#^#^ - View of the Roosevelt Hotel located on the southwest corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Orange Drive as seen from the courtyard of Grauman's Chinese Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

Marilyn Monroe was a resident at the Hollywood Roosevelt for two years when her modeling career took off. Her first magazine shoot was taken in the Roosevelt.

Clark Gable and Carole Lombard paid five dollars a night for their penthouse; it is now named the Gable & Lombard Penthouse. There is also a Marilyn Monroe Suite at the hotel.*^

 

 

 
(1949)#^*^ – Daytime view of the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel.  Caption Reads:  In the center of the movie and radio-television broadcasting studios.  Hollywood, California.  

 

Historical Notes

There have been many rumors of hauntings at this hotel. Some involve celebrities, such as Marilyn Monroe, Montgomery Clift, and Errol Flynn.  Others involve a little girl in a blue dress.  There have also been reports of cold spots, photographic "orbs", and mysterious phone calls to the hotel operator.*^

 

 

 
(2016)++# - View looking across Hollywood Boulevard toward the Roosevelt Hotel as seen from the front of the Chinese Theatre.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2016)+++ - View looking up toward the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel with mature palm tree in the foreground.  

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

N/W Corner of Hollywood and Vine

 
(1929)**^ – Panoramic view showing the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine. Signboard on the one-story building reads: Universal Pictures - Carl Laemmle Presents  

 

Historical Notes

In 1915, at the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine Street sat the home of early Hollywood pioneer and land speculator George Hoover. Hoover was part of the L.A. Pacific Boulevard and Development Company. He was also president of Hollywood's first bank - the Bank of Hollywood and was one of the builders of the fashionable Hollywood Hotel (located at Hollywood and Highland). 

In 1925 German immigrant and movie maker Carl Laemmle purchased the property from George Hoover for $350,000. Laemmle was president of Universal Pictures Corporation and had a very successful movie studio in the San Fernando Valley. #^**

Carl Laemmle’s vision was to build a 900 seat theatre and office tower on this corner.  However, the depression thwarted his plan so he opened the CoCo Tree Café and used the top of the building to advertise his Universal Pictures.

 

 

 
(1936)**^ - View showing some filming in front of the CoCo Tree Café on the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1932, Carl Laemmle opened the one story CoCo Tree Café on this corner. It was designed by Richard Nuetra.

 

 

 
(1947)#^* - View looking at the intersection of Hollywood and Vine showing the Melody Lane Restaurant on the northwest corner.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1940, restaurateur Sidney Hoedemaker of the Pig 'n' Whistle - Melody Lane chain, leased the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine and transformed it into a Melody Lane Restaurant. He hired coffee shop modern architect Wayne McAllister and S. Charles Lee to do the design. #^**

 

 

 
(ca. 1961)^###^ – View of Hody’s Coffee Shop, N/W corner of Hollywood and Vine, with the Guaranty Building and Hotel Knickerbocker seen in the background. Next door to Hody's to the west was a Harris & Frank Clothiers and an Arthur Murray School of Dance studio.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1949, Sidney Hoedemaker founded the Hody's Restaurant chain and, in 1955, Hody's restaurant group signed a 20 year lease for the property on the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine. Hoedemaker had it remodeled extensively.

Hody's was a family restaurant. Kid's would get a kid's clown menu that could be worn on their face. By 1969 there were 8 Hody restaurants in Southern California. #^**

 

 

 
(1986)^*# - View looking north from the southwest corner of Hollywood and Vine showing Howard Johnson's across the street and the Capitol Records Building in the distance.   

 

Historical Notes

Howard Johnson's Coffee Shop occupied the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine from 1971 until the mid-1980s. It was opened 24/7 and served breakfast all day!

 

 

 
(1987)^*# - The Brown Derby Restaurant, located on the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1987, a fire destroyed the Hollywood Brown Derby located at 1628 N. Vine Street (half a block south of Hollywood Boulevard). It was then that the Brown Derby moved to the N/W corner of Hollywood and Vine, but stayed only for a short time. Over the years the site would become a slew of struggling retail and nightclubs such as; Premiere, Jack's Sugar Shack, the Deep, and finally the Basque nightclub. In April 2008 the building went up in flames and the lot has been empty since. #^**

There were four Brown Derby restaurants: Beverly Hills, Los Feliz, Wilshire, and Hollywood.

 

 

 
(2015)##^^^ – Google street view showing the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine as it appears today - an empty lot since 2008.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

LA County General Hospital

 
(ca. 1930)* - Aerial view of East Los Angeles and Boyle Heights neighborhoods revealing the construction site of the Los Angeles County General Hospital (center).  

 

Historical Notes

In 1930, the cornerstone for the current Los Angeles County-USC Medical Center was laid and the hospital was completed in 1933.  The building was designed by architects: Edward Bergstrom, Myron Hunt, Perpont Davis, Sumner P. Hunt, William Richards. *#*#

 

 

 
(1931)#^* - Close-up view showing the Los Angeles County General Hospital under construction on State Street in East L. A.  

 

Historical Notes

The original county hospital was built in 1878 and became affiliated with the University of Southern California School of Medicine in 1885.  It then consisted of 100 beds, 47 patients, 6 staff members, and a $4,000 budget.*#*#

 

 

 
(1932)*^^^ - Opening ceremonies in front of the newly built Art Deco style Los Angeles County General Hospital located at 1200 N. State Street in East L.A.  

 

Historical Notes

The twenty-story central concrete and steel unit of the hospital has remained as the landmark in Northeastern Los Angeles. Its basic form is PWA monumental Moderne -- with more than a slight hint of influence of Bertram G Goodhue. Its design is sculptural volumes and heavy arches slightly suggests early Romanesque.^^*#

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)#^* - Ground view showing the profile of the beautiful Los Angeles County Hospital with palm trees seen at right.  

 

Historical Notes

Beginning in 1975, the ABC soap opera General Hospital began using the facility for its exterior shots, appearing primarily in the show's opening sequence, where it still remains. The lower floors of the show's Los Angeles studio are modeled after the actual hospital's emergency room entrance, allowing for the show to shoot outdoor scenes in their own parking lot.*^

In 1995, the hospital had more square feet than the Pentagon, 9,000 employees and an annual budget of $803 million.*#*#

 

 

 
(1933)**^^ - Los Angeles General Hospital’s soaring, sunlit operating theater and its towering bank of windows, ready to play host to scenes of medical drama and scientific progress.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - Aerial view of East Los Angeles and Boyle Heights neighborhoods revealing the Art Deco Los Angeles County General Hospital (center), surrounded by a multitude of residential dwellings. Photo dated: June 15, 1932.
 

 

Historical Notes

The west entrance, which is still partially preserved, has an axial walk-way and garden leading up to the building.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1933)* - Aerial postcard view of the art deco style Los Angeles County General Hospital and grounds. Various residential neighborhoods surround the hospital on all sides.  

 

Historical Notes

The site of numerous significant events in the history of public health, today's Los Angeles County + USC Medical Center contains one of the city's most recognizable Art Deco buildings. The facility is located in Los Angeles' Lincoln Heights neighborhood and has previously been known as County/USC and Los Angeles County General Hospital.

 

 

 

 
(1939)^^ - Close-up view of the Los Angeles County Hospital on State Street.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1963)* - Exterior view of Los Angeles County General Hospital on March 31, 1963.  

 

Historical Notes

On November 8, 2008, transfer of all inpatients from Women's and Children's Hospital and the historic white 800-bed hospital on the hill to a new, $1 billion, state-of-the-art 600-bed replacement hospital just south of it was completed, and the new hospital was fully opened for service. Designed by a joint venture of HOK and LBL Associated Architects, the new hospital consists of three linked buildings: a clinic tower, a diagnostic and treatment tower, and an inpatient tower. It was built because the old building did not meet new earthquake and fire codes enacted in the aftermath of the 1994 Northridge earthquake. The old building remains open for offices and support services only. The new facility has a larger number of intensive care beds to handle patients in the aftermath of disasters.*^

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^x^ - Looking up at a light post with Art Deco County General in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(2017)^x^ – Ornate street lamps in front of L.A. County General Hospital. Note the high relief scultpures on the front face of the building. Click HERE to see more Early LA Streetlights.  

 

 

 

 
(2017)^x^ - High relief sculptures above the building entrance.  

 

Historical Notes

Imposing concrete statues by Salvatore Cartaino Scarpitta overlook the entrance to the building. Occupying the central position is the Angel of Mercy, who comforts an infirm couple.

 

 

 
(n.d.)^^*# - Representations of Western history’s great medical minds—Pasteur, Harvey, Vesalius, Hippocrates, Galen, and Hunter—flank the central figure (previious photo)..   

 

Historical Notes

“The doctors of the staff give their services without charge in order that no citizens of the county shall be deprived of health or life for lack of such care and services.” -- Inscription above the entrance to L.A. County-USC Medical Center.

 

 

 
(2017)^x^ - View showing the front entrance to the Art Deco Los Angeles County + USC Medical Center as it appears today.  

 

Historical Notes

In addition to its architectural significance, the facility is also notable for its relationship to the Chicano Movement of the 1970s and community organizing in response to the HIV/AIDS crisis in the 1980s and '90s.

Due to the age of the facilities and equipment, as well as new earthquake safety standards for medical buildings, most of the operations of the LAC+USC Medical Center have been relocated to a new adjacent building. The 1933 building has since been converted to office use. ^#^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Tom Bradley E. S. & H Charter Magnet (previously 38th Street School)

 
(1927)^^ – View showing 38th Street School located on Dublin Avenue between 38th and 39th streets.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1926, the 38th Street School had a student population of 314.  In 1993, it was renamed 39th Street School and was physically expanded to cover the whole block between 38th and 39th.^+  

 

 

 
(2015)##^^^ - Google Street View showing the Tom Bradley Environmental Science and Humanities Charter Magnet located at 3875 Dublin Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1999, the school was renamed Tom Bradley Environmental Science and Humanities Charter Magnet to honor the outstanding late mayor who made many contributions to the LAUSD school system, City, and community. He also lived in the residential area near the shcool.^+  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Leimert Theatre

 
(1933)^*# - Exterior view of the Leimert Theater at 3341 W. 43rd Pl. in Los Angeles.  The theater still stands today in Leimert Park as the Vision Theater.  

 

Historical Notes

The Leimert Theatre opened in 1931 and was a joint venture between neighborhood developer Walter H. Leimert and Howard Hughes.

It was designed to be operated by the neighborhood theatre chain Hughes-Franklin Theatres. The circuit was run by Hughes and Harold B. Franklin, a former president of Fox West Coast Theatres. Among other theatres, they also operated the Studio, later the Holly Theatre, in Hollywood.

The surrounding neighborhood was designed to resemble a European village. The design was partially by the Olmsted Brothers, a landscape architecture firm run by step brothers John Charles Olmsted and Fredrick Law Olmsted, Jr.  Their father, Fredrick Law Olmstead Sr., was the creator of New York's Central Park.

The Hughes-Franklin circuit was a short-lived entity and soon the Leimert Theatre was being operated by Fox West Coast. The last film to run in the theatre was "Bonnie and Clyde" in 1968. ^**#

 

 

 
(1933)^*# - Interior view of the Leimert Theater located at 3341 W. 43rd Place. The ceiling murals by Anthony Heinsbergen were lit by cove lighting in concentric rings.  

 

Historical Notes

Stiles O. Clements of Morgan, Walls & Clements designed the building. The foundation was built to support a later 13 story addition, which never materialized. The auditorium, as can be seen even from the exterior, is a huge oval rotunda.^**#

 

 

 
(1970s)*^ - View showing the Watchtower Church, formerly the Leimert Theatre. In 1990 it became the Vision Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

In the 1977 the theatre became a Jehovah’s Witness chapel and was known as the Watchtower. The Witnesses, in their renovation fever, destroyed many of the Art Deco decorative elements of the building. But they perhaps get credit for saving the building.

Actress Marla Gibbs bought the theater in 1990 and renamed it the Vision Theatre, intending to make it a venue for African-American movies, live theater and dance productions. The 1992 LA riots and economic recession following the riots hit the area hard and the property was in foreclosure in 1997.^**#

The City purchased the building in 1999. There has been only occasional use of the theatre as a live performance venue since that time. Performances take place on an added thrust stage as the venue was not constructed with a stage house.^**#

 

* * * * *

 

 

Max Factor Building

 
(ca. 1930s)^*# - Exterior view of the Max Factor Building, the "Jewel Box of the Cosmetic World", located at 1666 North Highland Avenue, in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1928 Max Factor purchased the four-story Max Factor Building, formerly the Hollywood Fire Safe Building, known as the Jewel Box of the Cosmetic World and began manufacturing his world-famous make up on the upper floors while transforming the ground floor into a grand salon where fashionable women and celebrities came to see and be seen, as well as to purchase his make-up.^

Famed architect S. Charles Lee designed the building in the so-called Hollywood regency art deco style. Lee was celebrated for his design of many of the grand motion picture theaters in Los Angeles as well as hotels and other signature buildings in the city and elsewhere in California and in Hollywood. #*^#

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)* - Two women are seen walking in front of the Max Factor Make Up Studio located on Highland Avenue just south of Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1935, Max Factor opened the Max Factor Make Up Studio adjacent to his main four-story building. It was fondly nicknamed The Pink Powder Puff.*

Max Factor & Company was founded during 1909 by Maksymilian Faktorowicz, Max Factor, a Polish-Jewish cosmetician from Poland. After immigrating to the United States in 1904 Max Factor moved his family and business to Los Angeles, seeing an opportunity to provide made-to-order wigs and theatrical make-up to the growing film industry. Besides selling his own make-up products he soon became the West Coast distributor of both Leichner and Minor, two leading theatrical make-up manufacturers.*^

 

 

 
(1930s)##^ – View of a fashionably dressed woman walking in front of the Max Factor Building on the east side of Highland Avenue.  The Hollywood First National Bank stands tall in the background on the northeast corner of Highland Avenue and Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

By 1914 Max Factor had perfected the first cosmetic specifically created for motion picture use — a thinner greasepaint in cream form, packaged in a jar, and created in 12 precisely-graduated shades. Unlike theatrical cosmetics, it would not crack or cake. It was worn for the first time by actor Henry B. Walthall, who served as the model for screen tests.

In 1925 the company received its biggest order to date when it had to complete a rush order to supply 600 gallons of light olive makeup to the set of the movie "Ben-Hur" to ensure that the skin color of the extras used in filming undertaken in America would match that of the darker skinned Italian extras in the scenes filmed in Italy.*^

 

 

 
(2010)**^ -  View of the landmark Max Factor Building, currently The Hollywood History Musum, located at 1666 N. Highland Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

Declared L.A. Historic Cultural Monument No. 593 on April 26, 1994, this building eventually became The Max Factor Museum of Beauty. It closed its doors in 1996 but reopened in 2002 as The Hollywood History Museum. It is located at 1666 N. Highland Ave. just one half-block south of Hollywood Boulevard.*

Click HERE to see complete listing of L.A. Historic Cultural Monuments.

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

 

 

 

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 

Please Support Our Cause

Water and Power Associates, Inc. is a non-profit, public service organization dedicated to preserving historical records and photos.  We are of the belief that this information should be made available to everyone—for free, without restriction, without limitation and without advertisements.

Your generosity allows us to continue to disseminate knowledge of the rich and diverse multicultural history of the greater Los Angeles area; to serve as a resource of historical information; and to assist in the preservation of the city's historic records.

 

 

.

 

 

For more Historical Los Angeles Views click one of the following:

 

 

For Other Historical Views click one of the following:

 

 

See Our Newest Sections:

 

 

To see how Water and Electricity shaped the history of Los Angeles click one of the following:

 

Water:

 

 

Power:

 

* * * * *

 

 

References and Credits

* LA Public Library Image Archive

^ LADWP Historic Archive

**DWP - LA Public Library Image Archive

^*Oviatt Library Digital Archives

^^USC Digital Archive

^+LAUSD.net

*# Blogdownton: State Building

^# Online Archive of California: Barlow Library

#*Flickr.com: Michael Ryerson; Bill Badzo

**#UCLA Library Digital Archive

+##USC Dornsife Downtown Los Angeles Walking Tour

#+#Franklin HIlls Residents Association

#++KCET: From Wool Ranch to the Wiltern: A Brief History of Wilshire & Western

+**HollywoodHeritage.com: The Equitable Building of Hollywood

+^^Facebook.com:  Garden of Allah Novels – Martin Turnbull

^+^Caroline Mooore - Wordpress.com

^^#Cinema Treasures: Academy Theatre; Fairfax Theater; Pantages Theater

^**Flickr:: Disney Hall: Jeffrey Bass; Steel and Sky: alanek4; Staples Center: jaubele1; Wilson Building - paulsp23

^^+PCAD - Pilgrimage Theatre #1, Hollywood Hills

^++Pinterest.com: California Dreamin

++^California Historical Society Digital Library

*++Pinterest.com: 3D City and Roadside Fun

^^^The Drive-In, the Supermarket, and the Transformation of Commercial Space in Los Angeles, Richard Longstreth

^#^Los Angeles Conservancy: LA Stock Exchange Building; Title Guarantee &Trust Building; Pantages Theatre; The Tamale; St. James' Episcopal Church; Wilshire Professional Building; First Congregational Church; Wiltern Theatre and Pellissier Building

*#*Project Restore: Van Nuys City Hall

*^#Historical Los Angeles Theatres: Downtown Theatres

#**FarmersMarketla.com

#^^LAtaco.com: Zep Diner

#^*Facebook.com - Vintage LA: LA County General Hospital; Profile View County General Hospital; Schwabs Sunset; Hollywood and Vine

*^^Big Orange Landmarks: Los Angeles City Hall

*++Getty Research Institute

+++Stuff.co.nz: Roosevelt Hotel

++#Water and Power Associates

^^*LA Times: Easter at the Hollywood Bowl; Farmers Market; Farmers Market Opening; Super Bowl I

*#^historylosangeles.blogspot.com: Ice Skating in Westwood

*##LA Weekly - Warner Bros. Theatre

##^Pinterest.com: Favorite Places and Spaces

**^Noirish Los Angeles - forum.skyscraperpage.com; California State Building; Specification Motoroil System; Gilmore Aerial; Max Factor Building; Hollywood and Vine; Brown Derby; Original Brown Derby (1926)

***Los Angeles Historic - Cultural Monuments Listing

*^*California Historical Landmarks Listing (Los Angeles)

^*^LA Street Names - LA Times

*^^Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles: losangelespast.com

^*#California State Library Image Archive

***^Pinterest.com: Bertrand Lacheze

**^^LosAngelesPast.com: LA County Hospital--library.ca.gov

^^**Flickr.com - Floyd B. Bariscale Photostream; Villa Madama

^^#*Huntington Digital Library Archive

^^*#Flickr.com: LA County General Hospital; General Hospital Bas Relief

^#**Facebook.com - City of Angels Brown Derby

*^^^Art Deco in Mono

^*#*Library of Congress Image Archive

^**#Los Angeles Movie Palaces: Leimert / Vision Theatre; Fairfax Theatre; Fox Stadium Theatre

^*^#Facebook.com - Bizzare Los Angeles

^#^#A Sanctuary for Women, Even Today - nytimes.com

#^#^Pinterest.com: Old Hollywood

#^**The Go Go's: N/W Corner of Hollywood and Vine

#^*^Calisphere: University of California Image Archive

#^#*Flickr.com - Army.Arch: Bankers Building

#*^#TheHollywoodMuseum.com: Max Factor Building

^^#^Facebook.com - Great Photos from Los Angeles's Past:: Farmers Market 

*#*#Los Angeles Almanac: LA County-USC Medical Center

*#^*MartinTurnbull.com: Nickabob Restaurant; Brown Derby; Willard's; Brown Derby

*#^#An Architectural Guidebook to Los Angeles

#*##Facebook.com: Classic Hollywood-Los Angeles-SFV

*^*#Sketchup.google.com: Dominguez-Wilshire Building

***#Pinterest: Art Deco - Val D'Amour Apartments

**#*Miraclemilela.com

*^^#Curating the City: Sunset Clock Market

**^#Vintage Los Angeles: Facebook.com; Sunset Clock Market 1; Sunset Clock Market 2; Gilmore Stadium and Field; County Courthouse Clock; Sunset Tower Apartments

^###The Historical Marker Database: Stephen M. White Statue

^###^Flickr.com: timetravelnow

##^^^Google Street View

^***^Campus Destinations: UCLA Kerckhoff Hall

^*^**Pomona Public Library Poscard Collection

*^ Wikipedia - Leonis. Adobe; Carthay Circle Theatre; Drive-in Theatres; Staples Center; Dorothy Chandler Pavilion; Hollywood Bowl; Los Angeles City Hall; Los Angeles Central Library; Ralphs; Hollywood Pacific Theatre; Hollywood Pantages Theatre; Pellissier Building and Wiltern Theatre; Adamson House and Adohr; Greek Theatre; Farmers Market; Hollywood Palladium; FOX Theatre, Westwood Village; Union Station; Westwood Village; Brown Derby; Big Boy Restaurant; CBS Television City; Spring Street Financial District; Gaylord Wilshire; Mark Taper Forum; Van de Kamp Bakery Building; Egyptian Theatre; Phineas Banning; Safeway Markets; Janss Investment Company; Los Angeles Memorial Sports Arena; University of Southern California; Janss Investment Company; Westwood; Bullocks Wilshire; Terminal Annex; US Courthouse - Los Angeles; Shrine Auditorium; Walt Disney Concert Hall; LA Times Building; Westin Bonaventure Hotel; Wilshire Boulevard Temple; Hermosa Beach; Downtown, Los Angeles; Cinerama Dome; Broadway Theatre District - Los Angeles; S. Charles Lee; Los Angeles County Art Museum; Warner Bros.Downtown Theatre; Sunset Tower: Château Élysée; Los Angeles County General Hospital; Ebell of Los Angeles; Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum; Men's High Jump; John Hanson Ford Theatre; St. Vincent Medical Center; USC-Notre Dame Footbal Rivalry; Dominguez-Wilshire Building; Hancock Park; Los Angeles Theater; Du-Par's Restaurant; Pasadena City Hall; Van de Kamp's Holland Dutch Bakeries; 1932 Olympics; J. J. Newberry; Heinsbergen Building; Eastern Columbia Building; Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel; Precious Blood Catholic Church; Max Factor; De Soto (Automobile)

 

< Back