Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

Historical Photos of Early Hollywood
1 2 3 4 / next / single page
 
(ca. 1920s)*^ - The HOLLYWOODLAND sign was erected in 1923 to advertise a new housing development in the hills above the Hollywood district of Los Angeles. In 1949 the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce contracted to repair and rebuild the sign. The contract stipulated that “LAND” be removed to reflect the district, not the housing development.  

 

Historical Notes

Real estate developers Woodruff and Shoults called their development "Hollywoodland" and advertised it as a "superb environment without excessive cost on the Hollywood side of the hills". They contracted the Crescent Sign Company to erect thirteen letters on the hillside, each facing south. Each letter of the sign was 30 feet wide and 50 feet high, and the whole sign was studded with some 4,000 light bulbs. The sign would flash in segments; "HOLLY," "WOOD," and "LAND" would light up individually, before lighting up entirely. Below the Hollywoodland sign was a searchlight to attract more attention.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1923)* - Hillsides separated by a road. Three surveyors focus on the Hollywoodland sign on the opposite hill.
 

 

Historical Notes

The sign was officially dedicated on July 13, 1923. It was not intended to be permanent. Restoration company Bay Cal Painting says on its website that the expected life was to be about a year and a half, but after the rise of the American cinema in Los Angeles during the Golden Age of Hollywood, the sign became an internationally recognized symbol, and was left there. Some Hollywood history enthusiasts hope to someday see the sign reverted to its original state.*^

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1923)^# - About a dozen men cheering for the camera in what seems to be the completion of an early phase of the new housing development project. At the same time, construction crews appear to still be working.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1923)*#*# - Closer view of the Hollywoodland sign behind the construction workers and the men in suits.  

 

Historical Notes

Ironically, the real estate venture initially failed but they never got around to taking the sign down and it ended up becoming one of the most iconic signs in history.*#*#

 

 

 

 

 
(1923)*# - Close-up view of a tractor in front of the Hollywoodland sign. Each letter of the sign is 30 feet wide and 50 feet high.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1923)* - View of the hills where roads are being graded for future homes in Hollywoodland. This will be Belden and Flagmoor Streets (looking north east).  

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - Two men in the cab and 2 outside watch as a steam shovel picks up dirt and a very large stone while clearing roads in the Hollywoodland area.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - Three cars are parked in the street in front of a sign for Hollywoodland sales. To the right is the tract office building. Behind that another building is under construction. Another at the top of the hill looks nearly finished.
 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - The construction sign in back reads "You are now in Hollywoodland, Tray E. Shoults Co.". In the street in front of the Tract Office and other buildings approx. 70 men in a line 2 to 3 rows deep stand at the gates of Beachwood Drive.  

 

Historical Notes

Albert Beach paved the way to the Hollywood Hills in 1911 and named Beachwood Drive after himself. Beach owned and developed much of the area in and around Beachwood Canyon in such tracts as Kentland Square and Beachwood Park.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - A bus full of people is stopped in the street outside the real estate sales offices. Two men in the street point to something in the distance for the benefit of the bus. Electric busses like this one were promised for Beachwood Drive in Hollywoodland as soon as the street was paved. Part of the HOLLYWOODLAND sign can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - Horses as well as heavy equipment being used to grade the land in the Hollywoodland real estate development, while workers do preparation for pouring concrete. A sign on a temporary building says "Western Construction Co."  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - An early view of the Hollywoodland sales office seen from the hill above it. In the upper background, It appears as if only the first letter 'H" of the HOLLYWOODLAND sign has been erected, however it turns out to be a stand alone "H" not connected with the HOLLYWOODLAND sign.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)***^ - View of a nearly completed home sitting alone on top of a hill fronted by a large wall with a turret. The "Hollywoodland" sign can be seen in the background. No other homes are seen in this photo.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - Almost identical view of the same home as seen in the previous photo but taken approximately 10 years later. A multitude of new homes have sprung up throughout the Hollywood Hills in a relatively short time span.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)** - Aerial view of the Hollywoodland Sign showing the newly developed land in the foreground as well as the farmland of the San Fernando Valley behind the Hollywood Hills. The HOLLYWOODLAND sign sits below Mt. Lee. Another sign ( just the letter 'H') is seen to the left on top of Mt. Cahuenga.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1923 by Harry Chandler as a billboard for his Hollywoodland real estate development, the Hollywood Sign located on the top of Mount Lee was declared Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument  No. 111 in 1973 (Click HERE to see complete listing).*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)*# - Panoramic look over the “Hollywoodland” Sign and over the ridge of the Hollywood Hills showing a detailed view of Burbank with streets annotated. Note the vast amount of farmland and open fields.  

 

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the San Fernando Valley

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - Panoramic view of Mount Lee and the Hollywoodland sign from the peak of Mount Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1896 Griffith J. Griffith donated over 3000 acres of Rancho Los Felis to the City of Los Angeles to create a public park in his name. Mount Hollywood, the highest peak of the park, rises to an elevation of 1640 feet. Griffith Park was declared Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 942 in 2009 (Click HERE to see complete listing).*

 

 

 
(ca. 1920)* - Cars travel on the road past a sign reading "This is Hollywood." Below and to the left is the rail line, which also goes through the Cahuenga Pass. A trolley car is traveling on the tracks.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1923)^^ - View of Cahuenga Pass from new road leading from Holly Crest Station to new dam in Weed Canyon.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - On the left are the railroad tracks, and paralleling them on the right is the road for cars, both going through the Cahuenga Pass.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - Intersection of Sunset and Cahuenga boulevards with heavy traffic going in all directions. The tall tower in the center of the photo is the Hollywood Athletic Club.  

 

Historical Notes

When the Hollywood Athletic Club was first built in 1924, Hollywood was entering its greatest and most productive period. The building was the tallest building in Hollywood and loomed above Sunset Boulevard. Membership was originally $150 for initiation fees and $10 for monthly dues.

During its early years as a health club, its membership included Johnny Weissmuller, Errol Flynn, Charlie Chaplin, John Wayne, Walt Disney, John Ford, Douglas Fairbanks Sr., Mary Pickford, Cecil B de Mille, Cornel Wilde, Humphrey Bogart, Clark Gable, Jean Harlow, Frances X. Bushman, Howard Hughes, Joan Crawford and Rudolph Valentino, Mae West, Walt Disney, and Buster Crabbe.*^

 

 

 
(1929)* - Street view of the Hollywood Athletic Club, located at 6525 Sunset Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Athletic Club was built in 1924 by Meyer & Holler, the same architectural firm that built the Grauman’s Chinese Theatre and the Egyptian Theatre. At the time is was the tallest building in Hollywood. The building at 6525 Sunset Blvd has been known as the Hollywood Athletic Club, University of Judaism, Berwin Entertainment Complex, and Hollywood Landmark.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - View of Franklin Avenue. Cars are parked on both sides of the street with light traffic, and a dentist sign can be seen to the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1920s)* - Looking west on Hollywood Blvd. toward Cahuenga Blvd. In the foreground is street car no. 493, in the background are 1920's cars and another street car. Over the street is a banner, reading: The Wayfarer at the Coliseum, Sept. 8-15.  

 

 

 

 
(1920s)* - A policeman stands on a low box in the middle of the intersection in Hollywood, directing traffic, including a streetcar with a sign on the front for Santa Monica. In the background can be seen the back of the Hotel Christie.  

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - Aerial view of the old Vermont Avenue campus of the University of California, Los Angeles, which later became Los Angeles City College. Vermont Avenue runs from the bottom of the photo to the right. Built in 1914, the East Hollywood campus was designed by Allison and Allison, architects.  

 

Historical Notes

The University of California, Los Angeles (also known as UCLA) evolved from the Los Angeles branch of the California State Normal School (founded in 1888). In 1919 the school obtained university status and became the Southern Branch of the University of California, located at 855 N. Vermont Avenue.

On May 31, 1929 the university opened its new campus in Westwood.  Shortly thereafter, on September 9, 1929, Los Angeles Junior College was established on the same campus. HERE to see more Early Views of UCLA.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1921)^^* - View of the Granada Theater (later Oriental Theater) located at 7425 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1921, Architects Meyer & Holler designed the theatre in a fanciful Spanish style befitting its original name, the Granada. In 1929 it was known as the West Coast Hollywood Theater.  By 1932 it was the Oriental.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)*# - View of the north side of Sunset Blvd. east of Gardner Ave. The Oriental Theater is running a movie starring Bette Davis and Pat O Brien.  

 

Historical Notes

The Oriental Theater closed in 1985 and has been converted into the Guitar Centre, with the building now altered.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1918)* - View of the large hillside on which the Hollywood Bowl would be built. There are two or three small wooden buildings at center on a part of the hill that has been cleared of trees. The hillside at left is still wooded and in the distance at left, parts of the city of Hollywood are visible.  

 

Historical Notes

The site of the Hollywood Bowl was chosen in 1919 by William Reed and his son H. Ellis Reed, members of the newly formed Theatre Arts Alliance who were dispatched to find a suitable location for outdoor performances.*^

 

 

 
(1922)* - Around 50,000 people gathered for the Easter sunrise service in the Hollywood Bowl. An even larger crowd was expected there on Easter morning when the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra played for the worshipers. The Hollywood Bowl would officially be opened four months later (July 11, 1922).  

 

 

 

 

 
(1922)*^#* – Postcard view of the Hollywood Bowl showing its new covered wooden stage.  The large open space to the right is a parking lot.  In the upper center-right can be seen the Pilgrimage Thatre (later John Anson Ford Theatre).  

 

Historical Notes

The Pilgrimage Amphitheatre was built in 1920. The author, Christine Wetherill Stevenson, believed the rugged beauty of the Cahuenga Pass would provide a dramatic outdoor setting for The Pilgrimage Play. Together with Mrs. Chauncey D. Clark, she purchased this land along with that on which the Hollywood Bowl now sits. A wooden, outdoor amphitheater was built on this site and the play was performed by noted actors every summer from 1920 to 1929, until the original structure was destroyed by a brush fire in October 1929.

In 1976, the Pilgrimage Theatre was renamed the John Anson Ford Theatre in honor of the late L.A. County Supervisor's significant support of the arts.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1922)* - Concert by Rosa Paniella at the Hollywood Bowl prior to its official opening. Note the full parking lot to the right of the stage.  

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - Hollywood Bowl at first Symphony Under the Stars. This was the "Bowl's" official opening and was on the site of a natural amphitheater formerly known as the Daisy Dell.  

 

Historical Notes

On July 11, 1922, with the audience seated on simple wooden benches placed on the natural hillsides of Bolton Canyon, conductor Alfred Hertz and the Los Angeles Philharmonic inaugurated the first season of music under the stars at the Hollywood Bowl. While much has changed in the ensuing years, the tradition of presenting the world's greatest musicians and striving for musical excellence has remained a constant goal of this famed Los Angeles cultural landmark.*^

 

 

 
(1923)* - View of the Hollywood Bowl as seen from the top of the seating, looking down towards the stage.  

 

Historical Notes

At first, the Bowl was very close to its natural state, with only makeshift wooden benches for the audience, and eventually a simple awning over the stage. In 1926, a group known as the Allied Architects was contracted to re-grade the Bowl, providing permanent seating and a shell. These improvements did provide increased capacity (the all-time record for attendance was set in 1936, when 26,410 people crowded into the Bowl to hear opera singer Lily Pons), but were otherwise disappointing, as the re-grading noticeably degraded the natural acoustics, and the original shell was deemed acoustically unsatisfactory (as well as visually unfashionable, with its murals of sailing ships).

For the 1927 season, Lloyd Wright built a pyramidal shell, with a vaguely Southwestern look, out of left-over lumber from a production of Robin Hood. This was generally regarded as the best shell the Bowl ever had from an acoustic standpoint; unfortunately, its appearance was deemed too avant-garde, and it was demolished at the end of the season. It did, however, get Wright a second chance, this time with the stipulation that the shell was to have an arch shape.*^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl

 

 

 

 

 
(1921)* - In this aerial view a church can be seen behind the trees in the lower left corner of the picture. This is the South Methodist Church, located on the S.W. corner of Hollywood Blvd. at Ivar Street. This church was later moved to the vicinity of Sunset Blvd. & Vista where it now stands. Cars and a trolley are on the street, while a paint company is located on the right side of the picture.   

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - An aerial view of Hollywood Boulevard looking west starting at the 6400 block. On the corner on the right is the Kress Drug Co. Other businesses extend on down the street, broken in the middle of the picture by a block of trees. The Hollywood Hills are seen in he background.  

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - An aerial view of Hollywood High School from the southwest. There is practice of some kind on the athletic field. Palm trees line the campus on Sunset and Highland. The original 1905 building is on the bottom right. The Household & Fine Arts building is in the middle of the quadrangle and the gymnasium is to its left when facing Highland.  

 

Historical Notes

The school with a student body of 2500 was three blocks from Charlie Chaplin's studio and six blocks from Mary Pickford's and Douglas Fairbanks' studios. The homes bordering the upper side of the campus were just condemned by the city to make room for additional buildings. The original 1905 building is on the bottom right, the Household & Fine Arts building is in the middle of the quadrangle, and the gymnasium is top, center.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1922)* - Looking west from Sunset Boulevard where it meets Highland Avenue. Hollywood High School can be seen on the northwest corner to the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1921)* - Exterior view of Charlie Chaplin Studios, from La Brea Avenue, photographed in winter, 1921. The street is covered with snow. Five people can be seen standing outside the building. This photo gives a full view of La Brea towards Sunset Blvd. The site of the Studio now houses A&M Records.   

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - Exterior view of the Masonic Temple located on Hollywood Boulevard between Highland and La Brea, in Hollywood. Building was built in 1922 and designed by Architects Austin, Field & Fry in a Greek Revival design with six tall pillars decorating the front entrance of the building.
 

 

Historical Notes

In 1921, the Hollywood lodge of the Masons relocated from their existing lodge on the current site of the Kodak Theatre. The construction of the new three-story building was led by lodge master, Charles E. Toberman, who was responsible for the Hollywood Bowl, Grauman’s Chinese Theatre, the Roosevelt Hotel and the Max Factor Building.

When the new temple opened, it was one of the most substantial structures in Hollywood. It had a billiard room, pipe organ, ladies parlor, ballroom and lodge rooms. One writer described the building as "unsurpassed for beauty, attractiveness and richness of equipment. The architect, John C. Austin also worked on the Shrine Auditorium, Griffith Observatory and Los Angeles City Hall.

Hollywood Masonic Temple, now known as the El Capitan Entertainment Centre was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.*^

 

 

 
(1922)* - Street cars and automobile traffic on Santa Monica Blvd. near Western.  

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - Passengers getting on streetcar on Santa Monica and Gower.  

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - View of Wilcox Avenue in Hollywood, with curbs on the street and houses built along it.  

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - Aerial view looking north of Wilshire at La Brea. Oil wells may be seen throughout the area while Hollywood and the Hollywood HIlls can be seen in the distance.  

 

 

 

 
(1922)^ - Aerial view of Santa Monica Boulevard looking northeast from Sherman (now, West Hollywood). The buildings in the bottom-left stand at the present-day site of the Pacific Design Center. Santa Monica Boulevard runs left-right, intersecting with Holloway Drive at roughly the center of the photograph. Hollywood is visible in the top-right.  

 

Historical Notes

During the final decade years of the nineteenth century, the first large land development in what would later become West Hollywood—the town of "Sherman"—was established by Moses Sherman and his partners of the Los Angeles and Pacific Railway, an interurban railroad line which later became part of the Pacific Electric Railway system. Sherman became the location of the railroad's main shops, railroad yards, and "car barns". Many working-class employees of the railroad settled in this town. It was during this time that the city began to earn its reputation as a loosely regulated, liquor-friendly (during Prohibition) place for eccentric people wary of government interference.

Despite several annexation attempts, the town elected not to become part of the City of Los Angeles.  In a controversial decision, in 1925 Sherman adopted "West Hollywood", "...a moniker pioneered earlier in the decade by the West Hollywood Realty Board" as its informal name, though it remained under the governance of Los Angeles County.*^

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - Residential neighborhood near Santa Monica Blvd. and Gardner Ave. A house with greenery on each side is in the foreground and the background shows additional houses, trees and open spaces.  

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - View of Hollywood, looking southwest from Gardner Avenue, just from above Hollywood Boulevard. An orchard field is surrounded by residential homes.
 

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - Aerial view of West Hollywood in 1924, with Sunset Boulevard at Kings Road in center.  

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - Aerial view showing a Mulholland Dam still under construction at the upper-left.  Also seen is the Bryn Mawr residential subdivision in Hollywood.  A sign, "Bryn Mawr," is to the right of the dam on the hillside.  

 

 

 

 
(1925)#^^* - View of Mulholland Dam shortly after it was completed. It was named after the designer William Mulholland, who was also responsible for the design of the aqueducts and reservoirs for Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

The Mulholland Dam was a concrete-arched gravity dam built as a large reservoir in the Hollywood Hills. The dam was built between August 1923 and December 1924 under the supervision of William Mulholland, chief engineer for the City of Los Angeles Bureau of Water Works and Supply. The reservoir formed behind the dam was called the Hollywood Reservoir (later Lake Hollywood) and would hold up to 2.5 billion gallons of water from the Owens River Aqueduct System (LA Aqueduct) and from the groundwater of the San Fernando Valley.

 

 

 
(1925)#^^* - Hollywood Reservoir and Mulholland Dam are shown with a crowd walking across the dam during the dedication ceremony.  An American flag can be seen draped over one of the towers.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930s)#^^^ – Postcard view showing the Mulholland Dam in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Mulholland Dam and Hollywood Reservoir

 

 

 

 

 
(1923)* - Looking west from Olive Hill, down Hollywood Boulevard on the East side of Hollywood in what appears to be a residential area.  

 

Historical Notes

The famous street was named Prospect Avenue from 1887 to 1910, when the town of Hollywood was annexed to the city of Los Angeles. After annexation, the street numbers changed from 100 Prospect Avenue, at Vermont Avenue, to 6400 Hollywood Boulevard.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - Panoramic view of a residential area in East Hollywood in the early 1920s, looking southwest from Sunset Boulevard and Edgemont Street. In the foreground are the olive trees of Olive Hill. Today, Kaiser Permanente Hospital stands at this corner.  

 

Historical Notes

Olive Hill is located in the East Hollywood district.  Barnsdall Park sits on top of Olive Hill near the intersection of Hollywood and Vermont, and is home to the famous Hollyhock House that was designed in the 1920's by the internationally acclaimed architect Frank Lloyd Wright.

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - Aerial view of Hollywood Presbyterian Hospital, located at 1300 North Vermont Avenue. There is a fire station at right, and open space is seen at left and behind the hospital. Duplexes and apartment buildings are seen as well, and possibly a nursery growing ground at left.  

 

Historical Notes

Hollywood Presbytarian Hospital was founded as Hollywood Hospital in 1924.  It was later known as Queen of Angels-Hollywood Presbyterian Medical Center.  In 2004, it was sold to the CHA Medical Group of South Korea for $69 million.^*

 

 

 
(1922)* - View of the Hollywood Public Market located on the southwest corner of Hollywood Blvd. and Wilcox Ave.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Public Market catered to automobile-driving customers when it opened in 1920. Located on Hollywood Boulevard (foreground) at Wilcox Street, it had eight departments and 5,000 square feet, which was large for the time. Soon, however, larger markets were built nearby.*

 

 

 
(1923)* - Looking west down Hollywood Blvd., a banner hangs over the street with the message "Welcome Will H. Hayes ... See you Saturday at Hollywood Bowl". Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl.  

 

Historical Notes

Will H. Hays left President Harding's cabinet to clean up movie morals in the roaring '20s and in the film industry itself.

He was best known as the author of Hollywood self-censorship with the Hays Code. While some industry heavyweights objected to Hays as the moral arbiter, he was recognized for guarding filmmakers' right to self-regulate at a time when seven states already had provisions for government censorship.

Hays became president of the newly formed Motion Picture Assn. at a time when scandals in Hollywood had brought sharp public reactions. He retired in 1945, with his Hays Office the recognized arbiter of good taste in an industry that had accepted the principle of self- regulation.^^#

 

 

 
(ca. 1923)* - Bird's eye view looking west on Hollywood Blvd. at Cahuenga. The Hollywood Public Market can be seen in the top center of photo at the corner of Wilcox.
 

 

 

 

 

 
(1923)* - View of Hollywood Blvd. at Cahuenga with traffic and pedestrians waiting to cross in 1923. The Security Trust & Savings Bank building is on the left side of the photograph.  

 

 

 

 
(1923)* - Exterior view of Hollywood Branch Library at 6357 Hollywood Boulevard, northwest corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Ivar Street. Architects: Dodd & Richards.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1923)* - Looking north at the intersection of  Western and Fernwood avenues (just south of Sunset Boulevard), The William Fox Studios operated out of Hollywood from 1917-1924 before moving west to what is now Century City.  

 

Historical Notes

The Fox Film Corporation was formed in 1915 by the theater chain pioneer William Fox, who merged two companies he had established just two years earlier in 1913: Greater New York Film Rental, a distribution firm, which was part of the Independents; and Fox (or Box, depending on the source) Office Attractions Company, a production company.

Fox concentrated on acquiring and building theaters; pictures were secondary. The company's first film studios were set up in Fort Lee, New Jersey where it and many other early film studios in America's first motion picture industry were based at the beginning of the 20th century. William Fox sent Sol M. Wurtzel to Hollywood to oversee the studio's West Coast production facilities where a more hospitable and cost-effective climate existed for filmmaking. Fox had purchased the Edendale studio of the failing Selig Polyscope Company, which had been making films in Los Angeles since 1909 and was the first motion picture studio in Los Angeles.

20th Century Fox was founded on May 31, 1935, as the result of the merger of Fox Film Corporation, founded by William Fox in 1915, and Twentieth Century Pictures, founded in 1933 by Darryl F. Zanuck, Joseph Schenck, Raymond Griffith and William Goetz.*^

 

 

 

 
(1922)*^ - Mary Pickford and Douglas Fairbanks hang the entrance signs for their Pickford-Fairbanks Studios in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Samuel Goldwyn Studio was the name that Samuel Goldwyn used to refer to the Pickford-Fairbanks Studios lot and the offices and stages that his company, Samuel Goldwyn Productions, rented there during the 1920s and 1930s. Because several independent producers that distributed through United Artists used "the lot," located on the corner of Formosa Avenue and Santa Monica Boulevard, it was also known as "United Artists Studio." Although Goldwyn did not control the deed for the land, he and Joseph Schenck built many of the facilities on the lot. Today, the nickname "The Lot" is the official name for this studio lot.

After Douglas Fairbanks died in 1939, leaving his share of the deed to Mary Pickford, Goldwyn sought to rename the lot "Samuel Goldwyn Studio." Pickford and Goldwyn fought over the name and ownership of the property until a court ordered that the lot be auctioned in 1955.

James Mulvey, Goldwyn's most trusted business confidant and president of Samuel Goldwyn Inc., outbid Pickford for the property. The lot officially became Samuel Goldwyn Studio and remained so until Warner Brothers purchased the site in 1980.

Warner Bros. sold the studio lot in 1999 and the name of this studio lot was changed to "The Lot."

Across the street is the Formosa Cafe, a legendary Hollywood hangout.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - Aerial view of the Thief of Bagdad set at the Pickford-Fairbanks Studios. The Studio was located at Santa Monica Blvd. and Formosa. Visible in the photograph are the residental areas adjacent to the studios.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1923)* - A view of the courtyard of Grauman's Egyptian Theatre with statues of an Egyptian king, Indian elephants. Billboard advertising for Douglas Fairbanks "The Thief of Bagdad." The theatre opened in 1922 and was designed by architects Meyer & Holler.  

 

Historical Notes

The Egyptian Theatre was built by showman Sid Grauman and real estate developer Charles E. Toberman, who subsequently built the nearby El Capitan Theatre and Chinese Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard. Grauman had previously opened one of the United States' first movie palaces, the Million Dollar Theater, on Broadway in Downtown Los Angeles in 1918. The Egyptian Theatre cost $800,000 to build and took eighteen months to construct.*^

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - Looking toward the stage across the seats in the auditorium, you can see the delicately carved arches around the stage as well as the ornate ceiling above it. The theatre was designed by architects Meyer & Holler.  

 

Historical Notes

The Egyptian Theatre was the venue for the first-ever Hollywood premiere, Robin Hood, starring Douglas Fairbanks, on Wednesday, October 18, 1922. As the film reportedly cost over $1 million to produce, the admission price to the premiere was $5.00. One could reserve a seat up to two weeks in advance for the daily performances. Evening admission was 75¢, $1.00 or $1.50. The film was not shown in any other Los Angeles theater during that year.*^

 

 

 
(1924)* - View of the auditorium of the Egyptian Theatre in 1924.  

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - View of the Grauman's Egyptian Theatre in 1924. Railroad tracks can be seen on Hollywood Boulevard in front of the theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1927, Grauman opened a second movie theater further west on Hollywood Boulevard. In keeping with the public fascination in that era with international themes, he named his new theater the Chinese Theatre. Its popularity eventually rivaled and surpassed the Egyptian because of its numerous celebrity handprints, footprints and signatures in the cement of its forecourt.*^

 

 

 

 
(1932)#^^^ – Postcard view of the front entrance to the Egyptian Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard.  Now Playing:  “Back Street” starring Irene Dunne and John Boles.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - Aerial view of the Garden Court Apartments located at 7021 Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1919, the Garden Court Apartments were designed by architect Frank S. Meline in Beaux Arts style. They were built to accommodate the movie industry. Among its residents were Louis B. Mayer, Mae Murray, and John Gilbert.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - View of the Garden Court Apartments on Hollywood Blvd. (foreground) and the residential neighborhood behind it, including the hilltop Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer, located at 1999 N. Sycamore Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

This 1914 hilltop estate was built to house the Bernheimers' priceless collection of Asian treasures. In order to have an authentic Japanese design, hundreds of skilled craftsmen were brought from Asia to recreate an exact replica of a palace located in the Yamashiro mountains near Kyoto, Japan. The original Bernheimer structure included a 10-room teak and cedar mansion, where carved rafters were lacquered in gold and tipped with bronze dragons.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - Aerial postcard view of the Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer located in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

Historical Notes

In an act of bad timing, Adolph Bernheimer, a multi-millionaire silk importer, and his brother built a replica of a Japanese palace and garden on a hill overlooking Hollywood.  Not only was the Bernheimer’s Teutonic name very suspicious, but so was their fluency in foreign languages.  The new home’s large concrete retaining walls led some locals to suspect an armory or wireless station in the bowels.  Under constant observation from a group of patriotic citizens, the brothers pacified neighbors by buying a $5,000 war bond.  They spent little time in Hollywood after that.***

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - Postcard view of the hilltop Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer.  

 

Historical Notes

After the death of one of the brothers in 1922, the art collections were auctioned off. A few years later, the estate served as headquarters for the exclusive Hollywood "400 Club," an organization for the elite of the motion picture industry.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - Closer aerial view of the Japanese estate and gardens showing the hillside terraces.  

 

Historical Notes

The hillside terraces included 30,000 varieties of trees, shrubs, waterfalls, hundreds of goldfish, and even exotic birds and monkeys.*

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - View of the miniature Japanese village on the grounds of the estate of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer, located at 1999 N. Sycamore Avenue in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Surrounding the village are canals, in which small bronze houseboats float. Below the miniature village are a small lake and a 600 year old pagoda from Japan.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - Hillside view from the northwest looking down upon the Japanese estate, gardens and carriage house (smaller structure closer to the hillside).  

 

 

 

 
(1914)*^^* - Close-up view of the Bernheimer Brother's Japanese Palace the year it was built.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - Bernheimer residence in background with part of the garden and statue of Ten-Jin on his ox in foreground.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - Postcard front view of the Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer.  

 

Historical Notes

After WWII, the Bernheimer home was remodeled and converted into apartments. Soon thereafter, Thomas O. Glover purchased the property and began the restoration of what was to become the Yamashiro restaurant.*

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - More recent view of the stair-side entrance of the hilltop Japanese estate and gardens.  

 

 

 

 
(1925)* - Looking east on Hollywood Boulevard from Cherokee Ave.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - The Gilmore Oil Co. entry in the Hollywood Old Settlers Parade is a horse-drawn wagon bearing an oil drum and bearing a sign, "Some Day You Will Own a Horseless Carriage. Our Gasoline will Run it. Gilmore Oil Co." The driver is shielded from the sun by an umbrella. In the background is a sign for the Hollywood Playhouse.
 

 

Historical Notes

Earl Bell Gilmore (1887-1964), whose family had owned the land surrounding the corner of Third and Fairfax in Los Angeles since 1880, was a legendary entrepreneur who with his father (Arthur F. Gilmore) built Gilmore Oil Company, the largest distributor of petroleum products in the Western U.S. He is noted with having invented the self-serve gas station, the "gas-a-teria", where customers saved .05 cents per gallon by filling their own tanks. Gilmore also built Gilmore Field, and Gilmore Stadium, as well as turning the family dairy farm into one of the world's most beloved destinations, the original Farmer's Market. In 1944, Gilmore's 1,200 filling stations became Mobil stations.*

 

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Los Angeles City Views (1925 +)

 

 

 

 

 
(1925)* - Cars cross the street car tracks, a streetcar is seen on the far left. A row of businesses can be seen on the far side: Troy Laundry, Richfield Oil Co., Silverwoods Signboard, Hollywood Auto Service, etc  

 

 

 

 
(1925)* - View reveals numerous homes throughout Hollywood and the Hollywood Hills. Near the center of the image is the Mission Revival/Islamic style Hollywood residence and art gallery once owned by artist Paul de Longpré (1855-1911).  

 

Historical Notes

The home, located on the west side of Cahuenga Blvd. at Hollywood Blvd., is on property Longpré obtained from Mrs. Wilcox Beveridge after he moved to Los Angeles in 1889. The once open areas and gardens around the residence were gradually filled in with homes and apartment buildings, as indicated by this photo. The residence was a popular tourist destination between the late 1890s and the late 1910s. It was demolished in 1927.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)^^ - View of Vine Street looking north from Barton Avenue towards the "Hollywoodland" sign.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)^^ - Panoramic view of Hollywood looking north on Vine Street from Clinton Street. Residential blocks full of one-story houses fill the foreground, turning into high rise hotel buildings as Vine Street approaches the mountains.  A single “H” as well as the “Hollywoodland” sign are visible.  

 

 

 

 
(1926)^##* - A closer view of the Hollywood Hills with the "Hollywoodland" Sign in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1926)* - Looking north towards the Hollywood Hills in the 1500 block of Genesee Street (now Genesee Avenue) just before the street dead-ends. Note the ornate single-lamp streetlights. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Street Lights.  

 

 

 

 
(1927)* - A Pacific Electric "red car" is seen turning onto Gardner Ave. from Sunset Blvd. amidst heavy car traffic. "Gardner Junction" was a major stop for Pacific Electric streetcars. View is looking east toward La Brea Ave.  

 

 

 

 
(1927)* - Aerial view of Hollywood Blvd. looking to the east from the Chinese Theater. Marked on the photograph are some cross streets: Highland Ave., Cahuenga Blvd. and Vine Street.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1926)* - View looking east on Hollywood Boulevard at the intersection of Highland Avenue. The streets are intersected by several streetcar tracks. On the northeast corner can be seen the Hollywood Branch of the Los Angeles-First National Trust & Savings Bank. Within a year of this photo that building would be demolished to make room for a new thirteen story Art Deco building for the First National Bank.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1927)* - Exterior view of Hollywood First National Bank, located on the northeast corner of Highland Avenue and Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1927, the First National Bank building located at 6777 Hollywood Boulevard was designed/constructed by architects Meyer and Holler who are also known for having built Grauman’s Chinese Theatre, Grauman’s Egyptian Theatre, and Culver Studios. The same firm served as engineers and also did the construction.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)* - Exterior night view of Hollywood First National Bank, northeast corner of Highland Avenue and Hollywood Boulevard, located at 6777 Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

The thirteen story building with Gothic/Renaissance elements a la Art Deco is one of a handful of structures in the city that is adorned with gargoyles.  It was the tallest building in Los Angeles from 1927 to 1932.*

The building was occupied by Security Pacific Bank until 2008 and has been vacant since.

 

 

 
(1927)* - Exterior view, Hollywood Plaza Hotel, located at 1637 North Vine Street, showing the entire front of the building, with cars parked outside.   

 

Historical Notes

Designed by architects Walker & Eisen in 1924, this building was one of four major hotels built in Hollywood in the 1920s and once housed one of the most glamorous nightspots, Clara Bow's "It" Cafe named for and operated by the silent film star.*#^#

The Hollywood Plaza Hotel was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 665 in 1999 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - View of the ground floor of the Hollywood Plaza Hotel showing Clara Bow's "IT" Cafe (bar and dining room) and Disney Hats (far right).  

 

Historical Notes

Clara Bow and her husband and Rex Bell opened the 'It' Cafe on the ground floor of the Hollywood Plaza Hotel on October 14, 1937; it closed sometime in 1943.*

Clara Gordon Bow rose to stardom in silent film during the 1920s. It was her appearance as a plucky shop girl in the film It that brought her global fame and the nickname "The It Girl". Bow came to personify the Roaring Twenties and is described as its leading sex symbol.

She appeared in 46 silent films and 11 talkies, including hits such as Mantrap (1926), It (1927) and Wings (1927). She was named first box-office draw in 1928 and 1929 and second box-office draw in 1927 and 1930. Her presence in a motion picture was said to have ensured investors, by odds of almost 2-to-1, a "safe return". At the apex of her stardom, she received more than 45,000 fan letters in a single month (January 1929).*^

 

 

 

 

(ca. 1937)*# - View of the front entrance to Clara Bow and Rex Bell's "It" Cafe located on the ground floor of the Hollywood Plaza Hotel at 1637 N. Vine Street.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1927)* - Entries in either the 1927 or 1928 Hollywood Old Settlers Parade include a horse-drawn vehicle with "B.H. Dyas Co." printed on the side, followed by a light-colored truck with the same sign, driven by two uniformed men. The windshield on the truck has been cranked open.  

 

Historical Notes

The B.H. Dyas Co. celebrated its 34th anniversary in 1927. It owned the store in Hollywood at Hollywood and Vine that was later purchased by The Broadway, as well as other stores and restaurants. At one time it owned the largest sporting goods establishment in the United States. Bernal H. Dyas was the owner.*

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - Exterior view of the B. H. Dyas department store located on the corner of Hollywood & Vine in Hollywood. Street-railroad tracks run in both directions down Hollywood Blvd. This store later became Broadway Hollywood, after Broadway purchased B. H. Dyas Co.  

 

Historical Notes

The ten-story B. H. Dyas Building's (Later Broadway Hollywood Building) construction in 1928 helped to usher in a spatial shift that opened the doors for large-scale retail development outside of downtown Los Angeles. It also was the first department store to introduce women’s slacks.

Built by local businessman Frank R. Strong and designed in the Classical Revival Style by architect Frederick Rice Dorn, the building initially housed the B. H. Dyas Company Department Store. The move by B. H. Dyas to Hollywood was the first case of a department store developing a branch outside of the downtown core and helped to cement the idea of Hollywood as a retail destination. The store prospered for just a few short years until the Depression did the B. H. Dyas Company in and Broadway jumped in to take it over.^#*

 

 

 

 
(1929)* -Exterior view of the B. H. Dyas Co. department store located on the southwest corner of Hollywood & Vine in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1932, the building became the keystone to the Broadway Department Store chain. In 1938, fueled by increased revenues, The Broadway Department Store constructed a seven-story addition to the building’s south side providing 52,000 square feet of additional retail space.

The Broadway Department Store left the building in the 1970s and the building was adapted to office use during the 1980s.

More recently, the building has been converted to condominiums on the top eight floors and is now called The Broadway Hollywood. Atop the main building is the large, metal-formed, neon sign reading: “The Broadway Hollywood". ^#*

 

 

 

 
(1930)^^^ -  View looking east on Hollywood Boulevard showing a marching band with kilts celebrating Decoration Day. In the background can be seen the B. H. Dyas Building on the corner of Hollywood & Vine.   

 

Historical Notes

Decoration Day is the former name of the Memorial Day holiday.  Memorial Day began as "Decoration Day" in the immediate aftermath of the American Civil War. It was a tradition initiated by General John A. Logan, leader of an organization for Northern Civil War veterans.*^

 

 

 

 
(1927)* - Night view shows theater lights and throngs of fans packing the streets for blocks around Grauman's Chinese Theatre. Publicity of Hollywood premiers usually brought stars and other distinguished visitors to magnificent events such as the one seen here - possibly the opening night of a movie starring Douglas Fairbanks.  

 

Historical Notes

After his success with the Egyptian Theatre, Sid Grauman turned to Charles E. Toberman to secure a long term lease on property at 6925 Hollywood Blvd. Toberman contracted the architectural firm of Meyer & Holler (who had also designed the Egyptian) to design a "palace type theatre" of Chinese design. Grauman's Chinese Theatre was financed by Grauman, who owned a one-third interest, and his partners: Mary Pickford, Douglas Fairbanks, and Howard Schenck. The principal architect of the Chinese Theatre was Raymond M. Kennedy, of Meyer and Holler.*^

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - Footprints of the stars at Grauman's Chinese Theater in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

During construction, Grauman hired Jean Klossner to formulate an extremely hard concrete for the forecourt of the theatre. Klossner later became known as "Mr. Footprint," performing the footprint ceremonies from 1927 through 1957.*^

 

 

 

 
(1927)*^^^ - View of Douglas Fairbanks putting his shoe print in the fresh concrete in front of the Grauman's Chinese Theater. Mary Pickford is by his side.  

 

Historical Notes

Douglas Fairbanks and Mary Pickford were the inaugural celebrities to put their feet and handprints into fresh concrete at Grauman's Chinese Theater on April 30, 1927. This picture shows the two stars, exhibitor Sid Grauman, a workman, and how the event was apparently not open to the public.*^^^

 

 

 
(1927)#^* - View of Grauman's Chinese Theatre the year it opened, with its one-of-a-kind grandeur and décor.  

 

Historical Notes

Previously, Grauman built the Million Dollar Theatre in downtown Los Angeles and the lavish Egyptian Theatre a few blocks from the Chinese, but this would be his dream theatre.

Norma Talmadge turned the first spade full of dirt in January 1926 and beautiful Chinese actress Anna May Wong drove the first rivet in the steel girders. Built at a cost of $2,000,000, eighteen months later the Chinese Theatre opened. #***

 

 

 

 
(1927)* - Exterior front view of the Grauman's Chinese Theater located at 6925 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Grauman's Chinese Theatre opened in May 18, 1927, after a construction period of 18 months. Built to resemble a giant, red Chinese pagoda, the architecture features a huge Chinese dragon across the front, two stone lion-dogs guarding the main entrance, and the silhouettes of tiny dragons up and down the sides of the copper roof.*

 

 

 

 
1930)* - Premiere of "Morocco" starring Marlene Dietrich and Gary Cooper at the Grauman's Chinese Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

Morocco is a 1930 American romance drama film directed by Josef von Sternberg and starring Gary Cooper, Marlene Dietrich, and Adolphe Menjou. The film is about a cabaret singer and a Legionnaire who fall in love. The film is most famous for the scene in which Dietrich performs a song dressed in a man's tailcoat and kisses another woman, both of which were rather scandalous for the period.

In 1992, Morocco was selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry by the Library of Congress as being "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant".*^

 

 

 

 
(1930)^^- The premiere of “Hell’s Angels” at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre in Hollywood as seen from across the street.  

 

Historical Notes

Hell's Angels is a 1930 American war film, directed by Howard Hughes and starring Jean Harlow, Ben Lyon, and James Hall. The film, which was produced by Hughes and written by Harry Behn and Howard Estabrook, centers on the combat pilots of World War I.

Originally shot as a silent film, Hughes retooled the film over a lengthy gestation period. Most of the film is in black and white, but there is one color sequence - the only color footage of Harlow's career. Hell's Angels is now hailed as one of the first sound blockbuster action films.*^

 

 

 

 
(1930)^ - Hollywood at night as seen from the Hollywood Hills. Spotlights can be seen in the background as Hollywood premiers another movie.  

 

 

 

 
(1927)^ - View of the corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Vine Street, looking northeast. Pedestrians cross the street as autos and streetcar wait for light to change.  

 

 

 

 
(1927)* - Exterior view of the Spanish style Hollywood Playhouse, located at 1735 N. Vine, near the intersection of Hollywood and Vine.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Playhouse opened for the first time on January 24, 1927.  It was designed in the Spanish Baroque style by the architectural team of Henry L. Gogerty and Carl Jules Weyl in 1926-1927.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1927)* - Facade of the Spanish Baroque style Hollywood Playhouse entrance, designed by Gogerty & Weyl.  

 

Historical Notes

During the Great Depression, the theatre was renamed The WPA Federal Theatre (after the Works Progress Administration), and used for government-sponsored programs.  Later, the theatre hosted numerous CBS Radio Network programs, including Fanny Brice's Baby Snooks show and Lucille Ball's My Favorite Husband program. Lux Radio Theater broadcast condensed movie scripted versions, usually with the movie's original cast performing their movie roles. Ginger Rogers and Ray Milland performed "Lady in the Dark" in 1945.*^

 

 

 

 
(1948)*# - Postcard view of the El Capitan Theatre featuring Ken Murray's "Blackouts".  

 

Historical Notes

In the 1940s, 1735 Vine was renamed The El Capitan Theatre, and was used for a long-running live burlesque variety show called Ken Murray's Blackouts. This should not be confused with the nearby movie theatre of the same name and age, the El Capitan Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard, which at the time was known as the Paramount Theatre.

In the 1950s, still under the name of El Capitan, the theatre became a television studio, and it was from a set on its stage that Richard Nixon delivered his famous "Checkers speech" on September 23, 1952. This event is often mistakenly said (especially on the Internet) to have taken place at the El Capitan Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard, though that theater was never a television studio, and in 1952 was operating as a movie house called the Paramount Theatre.

The theater was also home to The Colgate Comedy Hour, the Lawrence Welk Show, and This is Your Life.*^

 

 

 

 
(2007)*^ - Front view of the Avalon (formerly the Hollywood Playhouse) at 1735 N. Vine St.  

 

Historical Notes

The Avalon (or Avalon Hollywood) is a night club and music venue. Located at 1735 N. Vine Street, it has previously been known as The Hollywood Playhouse, The WPA Federal Theatre, El Capitan Theatre, The Jerry Lewis Theatre, The Hollywood Palace and The Palace. It has a capacity of 2,000.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)* - A view looking east of Hollywood Boulevard from the pedestrian level with cars both parked and moving down the street, a pedestrian crossing in the middle and various businesses. A radio tower with "KFWB" on it, and Christmas tree decorations along the sidewalk can be seen.
 

 

Historical Notes

KFWB's history goes back to 1925, when it was launched by Sam Warner, a co-founder of Warner Brothers. The station launched the careers of such stars as Ronald Reagan and Bing Crosby. The station was the first to broadcast the annual Rose Parade in Pasadena.

The original KFWB studios and transmitter location were at the Warner Bros. Studios, which is now KTLA, at 5800 Sunset Boulevard. One of the two original towers still stands prominently out front. Due to RF interference getting into the movie studio's "talkies" sound equipment, the transmitter was moved in 1928 to the roof of the Warner Theater, now the Hollywood Pacific Theatre, at 6423 Hollywood Blvd. Eventually the studios were also moved to the Warner Theater. Those two towers are still there, as well.*^

 

 

 
(1928)* - Marquee says to "Watch for the Grand Opening" of Warner Bros. Theatre in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally known as the Warner Bros. Theatre or Warner Hollywood Theatre, the Italianate beaux arts building was designed by architect G. Albert Lansburgh with approximately 2,700 seats. It opened on April 26, 1928, showcasing the studio's early Vitaphone talking film Glorious Betsy, starring Conrad Nagel and Dolores Costello.*^

 

 

 
(1928)* - Interior view of the Warner Bros. Theatre at the time of its opening. A very large organ can be seen to the left in the orchestra pit.  

 

Historical Notes

The  murals were designed by Albert Herter.*^

 

 

 
(1928)* - Full exterior view of the Warner Bros. Building and Theatre (Later the Hollywood Pacific Theatre), located at 6423-6445 Hollywood Boulevard. This photo was taken shortly before Warner Bros. installed two radio transmitting towers on top of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1993, the building was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 572 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1930)* - View of the intersection looking north on Wilcox Avenue at Hollywood Boulevard. A sign announces Warners Theatre and KFWB at the intersection, along with Hendrickson and Landstrom Clothing and William Stromberg Jeweler in the building on the northeast corner.  

 

Historical Notes

Warner Bros. owned radio station KFWB and in 1930 installed its radio transmitter towers on top of the Warner building, which remain to this day. Though covered by "PACIFIC" lettering, the original "WARNERS" lettering can still be seen inside each tower.*^

 

 

 
(1930)* - Exterior with crowds for matinee performance of Joe E. Brown in "Top Speed" at the Warner Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(1941)* - Crowds in front of theatre on night of March 12, 1941, for world premiere of "Meet John Doe".  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Pacific Theater (previously Warner Bros.) finally closed its doors as a full-time cinema on August 15, 1994. This was mostly due to water damage to the basement caused by the construction of the Hollywood Subway Red Line and structural damage caused by the 1994 Northridge earthquake.

The theatre is now occupied by Ecclesia Hollywood Church. Given the recent revitalization of Hollywood Boulevard in the early 21st century, it is often speculated that the theatre will one day be restored as a film palace.*^

 

 

 
(1928)* - View of a residential area in East Hollywood, north from Olive Hill in 1928.
 

 

 

 

 
(1928)^** - View of Cahuenga Pass Road, south from the Summit. Railway tracks are on the left.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)#^ - Aerial view of Cahuenga Pass looking northwest. Whitley Heights is at the left. The Hollywood Bowl is located at center left (out of view).  

 

 

 

 
(ca.1928)* - Cars travel in both directions through the Cahuenga Pass near the Hollywood Bowl. The roadway through the Pass, the lowest through the Santa Monica Mountains, connects the Los Angeles Basin to the San Fernando Valley. The hills are truncated where they were excavated for the road bed. On the left, a large hillside billboard advertises the The Outpost development in the Hollywood Hills. A roadside vendor is setup near the Hollywood Bowl parking sign on the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - View of Cahuenga Pass in 1928. There appears to be no lanes for the cars to travel in.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)^^ - View of the Annetta Court Apartments at 5154 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood. A divided sidewalk runs from the foreground to the background at center. A light-colored archway with the name of the apartments can be seen over the sidewalk in the foreground. And although the apartments themselves are long gone, the street side palms survive and are among the tallest in Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - A customer gets full service at the gas pumps at Muller Bros. Service Station on Sunset Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

The Muller family is one of Hollywood’s pioneers. Jacob Muller came to Hollywood in 1893, establishing the first meat market in Hollywood, across from the present Cinerama Dome on Sunset Boulevard. He sold the market in 1907 and established the first ice company in Hollywood, selling that business in 1913. The family’s original house was built Sunset Boulevard at Ivar. This site later became the location of  the RCA Building, built by the Muller Family in 1963. (currently the Los Angeles Film School Building).

Jacob Muller’s sons, Walter and Frank, opened the Muller Bros. Service Station in 1920.^*^*

 

 

 
(1938)*# - View of what appears to be an Auburn Cord being attended to in "full service" at the Muller Brothers Service Station at 6380 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Muller Brothers Service Station was located on the south side of Sunset Boulevard on 4 acres, where the Cinerama Dome Theater is now located. Opened in 1920 by the Muller brothers, Walter and Frank, this became the largest service station in the world (including a large automobile supply center), employing 120 people by 1937. Celebrities, from Rudolph Valentino to Clark Gable, came by regularly to get gas or just work on their cars. In 1963 the site was sold for the Cinerama Dome Theater, and, at that time, an eventual hotel.^*^*

 

 

 
(1928)* - View of traffic traveling on Hollywood Blvd. at Cahuenga in 1928. The Security Trust & Savings Bank building is on the far left side of the photograph.  

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - Panoramic view of Hollywood, looking east over Hollywood Blvd. from the tower of Hollywood First National Bank building's northeast corner at Highland Avenue. The Hotel Christie is at right.  

 

Historical Notes

Arthur Kelley designed the Christie Hotel (6724 Hollywood Blvd.) in 1922. An eight-story Georgian Revival brick structure, the hotel is divided into three towers. Three dormers with rounded pediments project above the roofline.  The hotel’s Greenwich Village Café was a popular gathering spot for the film industry people in the 1920s.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)* - Looking west on the blvd. from Grauman's Egyptian Theatre. On the left street side are signs for: Grauman's, Citizen's National Trust & Savings Bank, the Hotel Christie and in the distance the El Capitan Theater. On the right side in the distance is the First National Bank Building.
 

 

 

 

 
(1928)^ - View of Hollywood Boulevard west from McCadden Place. The tall building on the left on the northeast corner of Highland and Hollywood Blvd is the First National Bank of Los Angeles, Hollywood Branch which is topped by a tower decorated with sculptures in arched niches and a flagpole. In center of the photo is the Montmarte Cafe, the first nightclub in Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - The Montmartre name is on the top and the corner of the building, and over the doorway on the right. To the left are the doorways of a hair store, and of the C.E. Toberman Co. Six windows across on the second floor each have individual shade awnings.  

 

Historical Notes

Eddie Brandstatter was one of Hollywood's greatest early restaurateurs. A native of France, he worked in Paris, London and New York restaurants before moving to Los Angeles in the 1910s. In 1923 he built the famous Cafe Montmartre, designed by Meyer and Holler, at a cost of $150,000. This establishment was described as "the center of Hollywood life", where stars usually frequented, and which was the place to see and be seen.

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)* - Exterior view of the Montmartre Cafe, located at on Hollywood Blvd. between Highland and McCadden. It has a large lighted sign on top, and another which features Roy Fox's Orchestra. Crowds of people are waiting in line to get into the Cafe.  

 

Historical Notes

Eddie Brandstatter was "Host of Hollywood" and catered to Hollywood stars in the 1920s and 1930s. He was owner and manager of the fashionable Montmartre Cafe, Embassy Club and Sardi's.*

 

 

 
(1930)* - A large crowd in the Montmartre Cafe is variously standing, dancing or seated at tables.  

 

Historical Notes

in 1932 Brandstatter declared bankruptcy and sold Montmartre. At one point, he was charged with grand theft in a dispute with Hollywood real estate developer C.E. Toberman for having stolen furnishings, drapes, china, and a large "nude statue" of a woman, as well as other valuables and was convicted, though he was given two years probation after returning the property. In 1933 he bounced back and opened Sardi's, only to be again convicted for illegally selling "stimulants" at the establishment. Sadly, Sardi's Restaurant was destroyed by fire on November 2, 1936. The last venue Brandstatter opened and operated was the Bohemian Grill on Vine. On January 20, 1940 Brandstatter's wife, Helen, found the once-famous restaurateur dead in their home garage in Sherman Oaks. He had committed suicide by carbon monoxide poisoning in his car. He was 54.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)* - Exterior view of the Gower Street entrance of the RKO Studios, located on Gower Street and Melrose Avenue in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

RKO (Radio-Keith-Orpheum) was one of the Big Five studios of Hollywood's Golden Age. The business was formed after the Keith-Albee-Orpheum (KAO) theater chains and Joseph P. Kennedy's Film Booking Offices of America (FBO) studio were brought together under the control of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA) in October 1928.  RCA chief David Sarnoff engineered the merger to create a market for the company's sound-on-film technology, RCA Photophone. By the mid-1940s, the studio was under the control of investor Floyd Odlum.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^^ - Postcard view of the RKO Studios located on the northeast corner of Melrose and Gower.  

 

Historical Notes

RKO has long been celebrated for its series of musicals starring Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers in the mid-to-late 1930s. Actors Katharine Hepburn and, later, Robert Mitchum had their first major successes at the studio. Cary Grant was a mainstay for years. The work of producer Val Lewton's low-budget horror unit and RKO's many ventures into the field now known as film noir have been acclaimed, largely after the fact, by film critics and historians. The studio produced two of the most famous films in motion picture history: King Kong and Citizen Kane.*^

 

 

 
(1928)* - Front view of the Hollywood Storage Co. Building, located at Highland Avenue and Santa Monica Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The 11-story Hollywood Storage Co. building at 1025 N. Highland Ave. was the tallest structure in Hollywood when erected in 1925.  It was purchased by Bekins in 1939. The building was also home of the Evening Herald radio station, KMTR.*

 

 

 
(1928)* - Side view of the Hollywood Storage Co. Building, located at 1025 N. Highland Ave.   

 

Historical Notes

Morgan, Walls & Clements designed this Spanish revival style building, completed in 1925.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)^^ - Panoramic view of Hollywood looking north from the Hollywood Storage Co. Building, located at Santa Monica Boulevard and Highland Avenue. Several commercial lots and buildings fill the foreground half of the image, while residential blocks full of houses fill the rest, terminating in several high rise buildings in background right before the mountains. Highland Avenue is visible on the right. A lone "H" stands legible on the mountains to the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1930)* - Panoramic view of Hollywood looking northwest on a very clear day. The Hollywood Storage Co. Building, located at Santa Monica Boulevard and Highland Avenue, is the tallest building in the area.  

 

 

 

 

 

(1927)#** – On July 4, 1927 the first Lockheed Aircraft Company Vega 1, NX913, Golden Eagle, made its maiden flight with test pilot Edward Antoine (Eddie) Bellande at Rogers Airport (The airport was at the present location of Wilshire Boulevard and Fairfax Avenue).

 

 

 

 

 
(1927)#** - The first Vega 1, NX913, Golden Eagle, nears completion at the Lockheed Aircraft Company, Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Twenty-eight Vega 1 airplanes were built by Lockheed Aircraft Company at the factory on Sycamore Street in Hollywood before production of the improved Lockheed Vega 5 began in 1928 and the company moved to its new location at Burbank, California. #**

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - Seven men, identified as the "old gang", stand next to a plane at the Lockheed plant in Hollywood. From left to right: Frank Crane, Jimmy Gerschler, Dan Egger, Jerry Vultee, Dick Von Hake and Vard Wallace.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally called the Alco Hydro-Aeroplane Company, Lockheed was founded in 1912 by brothers Malcolm and Allan Loughead. Its next incarnation was Loughead Aircraft Manufacturing Company and was located in Santa Barbara. In 1926, following the failure of Loughead, Allan Loughead formed the Lockheed Aircraft Company in Hollywood. The Great Depression greatly changed the aircraft industry and in 1934, Robert E. Gross was named chairman of the new company, the Lockheed Corporation, which had relocated to Union Airport (Bob Hope Airport) in Burbank, California.*

Click HERE to see more in Aviation in Early L.A.

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - View of Hollywood Bowl's shell, stage, seating and adjacent hills with development. Built in 1928. Architect: Lloyd Wright.  

 

Historical Notes

For the 1928 season, Wright built a fiberglass shell in the shape of concentric 120-degree arches, with movable panels inside that could be used to tune the acoustics. It was designed to be easily dismantled and stored between concert seasons; apparently for political reasons this was not done, and it did not survive the winter.*^

 

 

 
(1929)* - Closeup view of the Hollywood Bowl. An orchestra rehearses on stage. Photograph dated July 12, 1929.  

 

Historical Notes

For the 1929 season, the Allied Architects built the shell that stood until 2003, using a transite skin over a metal frame. Its acoustics, though not nearly as good as those of the Lloyd Wright shells, were deemed satisfactory at first, and its clean lines and white, almost-semicircular arches were copied for music shells elsewhere. As the acoustics deteriorated, various measures were used to mitigate the problems, starting with an inner shell made from large cardboard tubes (of the sort used as forms for round concrete pillars) in the 1970s, which were replaced in the early 1980s by large fiberglass spheres (both designed by Frank Gehry) that remained until 2003. These dampened out the unfavorable acoustics, but required massive use of electronic amplification to reach the full audience, particularly since the background noise level had risen sharply since the 1920s.

The appearance underwent other, purely visual, changes as well, including the addition of a broad outer arch (forming a proscenium) where it had once had only a narrow rim and the reflecting pool in front of the stage that lasted from 1953 till 1972. Sculptor George Stanley designed the Muse Fountain. He had previously done the Oscar statuette.*^

 

 

 
(1929)* - Closeup view of the Hollywood Bowl. An orchestra rehearses on stage. Photograph dated July 12, 1929.  

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - A slightly higher aerial view of the Hollywood Bowl during the same rehearsal.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl

 

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - An early picture of Hollywood looking northeast from Santa Monica Boulevard and Highland Avenue.  

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - Exterior view of the Vine Street Theatre (today the Ricardo Montalban Theater) located at 1615 North Vine Street. Banner hanging from the front of the theatre reads. "Andy Wright presents, Philadelphia, all star cast. Matinees, Thurs. and Sat." Note the Savoy Auto Park adjacent to the theatre. Parking rates are 15 cents a day or $4.00 a month.
 

 

Historical Notes

This Beaux Arts live-performance theater was built in 1926-1927. The premier performance was “An American Tragedy” by Theodore Dreiser. The theater also had a memorable run of the play “Philadelphia” during its early years. The theater features orchestra, mezzanine, loge and balcony seating.

During the depression of the 1930’s, the theater was renamed the Lux Radio Playhouse and became a cinema. The theater was then purchased by the Columbia Broadcasting (CBS) for local affiliate KNX radio and was used as a live performance radio auditorium and local radio station.

In 1954, Mr. Huntington Hartford bought the building for $200,000 from Columbia Broadcasting and extensively remodeled and “modernized” the theater at an additional cost of $750,000. He streamlined the building from the facade, to the lobby and through the auditorium. Hartford ran the theater successfully for ten years.^^*

 

 

 
(1929)* - Another view of the Vine Street Theatre, looking from the side. Banner reads, "Andy Wright presents, Philadelphia, all star cast, Matinees Thurs. and Sat."
 

 

Historical Notes

In 1964 Hartford sold the theater to James Doolittle (owner of the Greek Theater in the Hollywood Hills) for $850,000. Cary Grant had tried to buy the building, but lost over Doolittle. The theater was (not surprisingly) renamed the Doolittle Theater.

Eventually, the theater would run down into disrepair. Until bought in 2000 by the U.C.L.A. performing arts group “Nosotros”, an organization founded in 1970 by actor Ricardo Montalban “to help fulfill the goals of persons of Spanish-speaking origin in the motion picture and television industry”. The founding board included members Desi Arnaz, Vicki Carr and Anthony Quinn.

This theater is often mistaken for other Hollywood theaters, most often with the Hollywood Playhouse at 1735 Vine Street, which in the 1960’s became famous as the Hollywood Palace TV show venue. That theater still stands one block to the north. The Ricardo Montalban Theater has even been confused with the former Jerry Lewis Theater and the El Capitan Theater, which are blocks away.^^*

 

 

 
(1929)* - Exterior view of a Ralphs Grocery Store located at 5711-17 Hollywood Boulevard, in Hollywood. The market, built in 1929, was designed by Morgan, Walls & Clements in a Gothic and churrigueresque revival design.  

 

Historical Notes

Ralphs Grocery Company was founded in 1873 by George Albert Ralphs with the original store being located at Sixth and Spring Streets. The company employed notable architects in designing its stores.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - View of the Ralphs Market on Hollywood Boulevard as it appeared circa 1937. Photo by Herman J. Schultheis.  

 

Historical Notes

Click HERE to see an 1886 photo of George Ralphs standing in front of his original store in the Early LA Buildings (1800s) Section.

 

 

 
(1929)* - Corner view of the Mandarin Market, a Chinese-style drive-in market located at 1234-1248 Vine Street, in Hollywood. A delivery truck full of crates of "Dorado Club," a brand of club soda, is parked on the street.
 

 

Historical Notes

Los Angeles began seeing the proliferation of drive-in markets in the 1920s. The Mandarin Market with its unique Chinese profile, was designed by M. L. Gogerty and built in 1928-1929. It would later become the Hollywood Ranch Market.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)^^ - Closer view of the Mandarin Market located on the northeast corner of La Mirada Avenue and Vine Street. The complex includes a Texaco service kiosk (center), a bakery (far right), a full meat and produce market, and a restaurant (left) known at this time as "Chinatown." Note the ornate two-lamp streetlight on the corner.  

 

Historical Notes

In the late 1920s and 1930s, many of this type of streetlight were installed in various parts of the City, but none more than in the Hollywood area.

Click HERE to see more in Early Los Angeles Streetlights.

 

 

 
(1929)* - Closer view of the Mandarin Market located on the northeast corner of La Mirada Avenue and Vine Street. The complex includes a Texaco service kiosk (center), a bakery (far right), a full meat and produce market, and a restaurant (left) known at this time as "Chinatown."  

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - Exterior view of Mullen and Bluett Clothing Company, located on Hollywood Boulevard and Vine. It is a two-story brick building with shingled roof showing three prominent peaks and numerous windows. A plaque for Roos Bros. is located on the building to the right, and a plaque for B. H. Dyas Co. is located on the building to the left. Note the street-railroad tracks in middle of the main road.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)* - Exterior view of Hollywood Chamber of Commerce at 6520 Sunset Boulevard. View shows the cast stone ornament over the main entrance and lower windows. Designed by Morgan, Walls & Clements, the building has a Spanish Colonial Churriqueresque design. Date built: 1925.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce was formed in 1921 to replace the old Board of Trade. A five-day membership drive resulted in 2,517 members. The first order of business for the new organization was to raise funds for the grading and installation of 20,000 seats to create the Hollywood Bowl.

In 1932, the Santa Claus Lane Parade was first sponsored by the Chamber. In 1978, the parade was given a new look, renamed the Hollywood Christmas Parade and grew to national prominence as the nation’s largest celebrity parade with national television distribution for the first time.

In 1949, the Chamber entered into an agreement with the Department of Recreation and Parks to repair and rebuild the Hollywood Sign and to remove the “land” so that it would spell “Hollywood”. The cost was $4,000. A second restoration was done by the Chamber in 1973. #*^

 

 

 
(1929)* - View of the Out of Door Bowling Alley, located on Sunset Boulevard and Ivar Street. Several people are shown standing at the base of their lanes, taking aim with their bowling balls. Behind them, bowlers wait for their turn or just watch the progress of the game. The Hollywood Laundry Service Co., Inc., a very large laundry and dry cleaning building, can be seen across the way, which runs the length of the street.  

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - Ten pins are neatly lined in the foreground as if anticipating their doom.  A woman with a hat can be seen ready to release her bowling ball down the lane.  

 

Historical Notes

The Muller Bros. Service Station can be seen in the background. It was located on Sunset Boulevard right where the Cinerama Dome stands today.

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)* - View looking north of the Hollywood Hills from the Hollywood Athletic Club on Sunset. The white structure in the upper right of the photo is the Mulholland Dam.  

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - Panoramic view of Hollywood and its surrounding areas. Partial view of the Hollywood Playhouse at 1735 N. Vine Street, is in the lower left corner of this photo. A tall building with several storefronts, upper right hand corner, is the Pacific States Life Building. The Mulholland Dam is in the far background.  

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - Looking towards the Art Deco style Mountain States Building (now Yucca Vine Tower), located at 6305 Yucca Street. Architect: H. L. Gogerty, 1928. The building to the left is a Piggly Wiggly market and the Mulholland Dam is visible in the upper center.  

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - Front view of Mulholland dam in the Hollywood Hills, the most beautiful of a score of storage basins in Los Angeles' water system. The HOLLYWOODLAND sign can clearly be seen in the background.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Mulholland Dam and Hollywood Reservoir

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)* - An overview of the hills with a Mulholland Dam and Hollywood Reservoir off on the right, partially hidden by the steamshovel sitting at the top of the near hill. The back of the HOLLYWOODLAND sign and its supporting brackets can be seen in the bottom of the photo.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)* - Panoramic view of Hollywood and West Los Angeles, as seen from Mt. Lee. Lake Hollywood (Hollywood Reservoir) and “Hollywoodland” is in the foreground.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1929)* - View of the Hollywoodland sign with the letter 'H' appearing to be in a down position. A radio/TV transmitting tower sits behind and above the sign on top of Griffith Park's 1,700 ft. high Mt. Lee.  

 

Historical Notes

Mount Lee is named after early Los Angeles car dealer and radio station owner Don Lee. Lee, a one-time bicycle shop owner who became a protégé of Los Angeles pioneer businessman Earle C. Anthony, purchased the Los Angeles radio station KHJ from Times publisher Harry Chandler in 1927.

Part of Mount Lee was then sold to Howard Hughes, who intended to erect an estate for his then current love interest, Ginger Rogers. Ultimately, the Hughes-Rogers relationship soured, and the mansion was never built.  After utilization during the war by the U. S. Army, the property remained an idle asset for decades, and eventually became part of the Hughes estate.

In 2002, the Hughes estate sold 138 acres of their Mount Lee holdings to a group of Chicago investors. This opened up the possibility of development of four residential buildings adjacent to the sign. Many Angelinos, especially those in the movie industry, felt this would be sacrilege. A successful effort was mounted in 2010 to raise funds to purchase the land and add it to the adjacent Griffith Park.

The large radio tower atop Mount Lee today is owned and operated by the City of Los Angeles. Smaller tenants on the site have included some federal government and amateur radio users.*^

 

 

 
(1929)* - Exterior view of the French style Chateau Elysée, located at 5930 Franklin Avenue in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Chateau Elysée was built as a luxury hotel/apartment house in 1929 by Eleanor Ince, the widow of Thomas H. Ince, the successful pioneer silent film producer.  Designed by eminent architect Arthur E. Harvey as a prominent seven story replica of a 17th Century French-Normandy castle, the Chateau Elysée remains as the most impressive of several Hollywood chateaux built during the area's booming 1920s.*^

 

 

 
(1929)* - Street view looking up toward the Chateau Elysée in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Chateau Elysée Hotel provided a home for many of the artists that were then being drawn to Hollywood. Residents included some of the most famous names of the 1930s and 40s. Most notably Bette Davis, Errol Flynn (room 211), Edward G. Robinson (room 216), Carol Lombard (room 305), Edgar Rice Burroughs (room 408), Humphrey Bogart (room 603), Clark Gable (room 604), Ginger Rogers (room 705), Ed Sullivan (room 501), Gracie Allen and George Burns (room 609) along with Lillian Gish, Katharine Hepburn, George Gershwin, and Cary Grant.*^

 

 

 
(1951)* - Exterior view of the Chateau Elysée as it appeared in 1951.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1969 the building began being used as the Church of Scientology's home for its Celebrity Centre; since 1973 the building has been owned by the Church. Several floors are now hotel rooms (for church members only), with the building's topmost stories serving as offices. Free guided tours of the historic building are available to the general public.

The Château's conservatory building houses the acclaimed French rococo-styled restaurant, Renaissance.*^

On September 23, 1987, the City of Los Angeles declared the building as Historical National Monument No.329 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1929)* - Aerial view of a neighborhood of Hollywood showing Bancroft Junior High School (the year it opened), located at 929 N. Las Palmas Avenue, and surrounding residences. Highland Avenue is seen in the background and Las Palmas is identified in the foreground. The school later came to be called Bancroft Middle School.  

 

Historical Notes

The Bancroft Middle School opened its doors in 1929 as Hubert Howe Bancroft Junior High School. When it first began, it had 700 students enrolled and was staffed with 16 teachers. Today, the school has grown to 1,400 – double its size – and has 55 teachers on staff.

Although the school is located in Los Angeles, it services many children from surrounding areas including West Hollywood.^*#

 

 

 
(1930)* - The Hollywood-Vine service station and parking garage, with free parking provided for nearby establishments, including Pig 'n Whistle, Dyas Restaurant, and Hertz car rentals. Not only did attendants park customers' car, they also took their laundry for dry-cleaning.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Night view of Pig Stand drive-in restaurant, with customers posing for the photo. The Broadway Hollywood sign (located on Hollywood and Vine) can be seen in the background.
 

 

Historical Notes

We didn't quite invent the drive-in restaurant in Los Angeles -- the Pig Stand in Dallas beat us by a year -- but we did do more than anyone to perfect the concept and ensure its spread. After all, we were living in the most car-oriented part of the country, and we did set the standard for what was cool.^^#

A Dallas entrepreneur named Jessie G. Kirby built the first Pig Stand along a Dallas-Fort Worth Highway in October 1921. It was a hit with hungry drivers, and soon it became a chain. (The slogan: "America's Motor Lunch.") Kirby and his partners made one of the first franchising arrangements in restaurant history, and Pig Stands began cropping up everywhere. By 1934, there were more than 130 Pig Stands in nine states. (Most were in California and Florida.) Meanwhile, the chain kept innovating. Many people say that California's Pig Stand No. 21 became the first drive through restaurant in the world in 1931, and food historians believe that Pig Stand cooks invented deep-fried onion rings and chicken-fried steak sandwiches.

But wartime gasoline and food rationing hit the Pig Stands hard, and after the war they struggled to compete with newer, flashier drive-ins. By the end of the 1950s, all of the franchises outside of Texas had closed. By 2005, even the Texas Pig Stands were struggling to survive—only six remained in the whole state—and by the next year they had all disappeared.*##

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Looking north on Wilcox Ave. at Hollywood Blvd. Cars are lined up at both sides of Wilcox Ave. At the corner is the Innes Shoe Co.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - View looking west on Hollywood Boulevard at Cahuenga. Kress Drug Co. is visible in the lower right corner.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)#*^* - View of Musso and Franks Grill located at 6667 Hollywood Boulevard, between Cherokee and Las Palmas Avenues.  

 

Historical Notes

On September 27, 1919, The Hollywood Citizen ran an announcement about the opening of Frank Toulet’s new restaurant, Frank’s Café at 6669 Hollywood Blvd. In time, Toulet partnered with restaurateur Joseph Musso. The pair sold the restaurant in 1927 to two Italian immigrants, Joseph Carissimi and John Mosso, who years later moved The Musso & Frank Grill next door to 6667 Hollywood Blvd., where it still stands. #*#*

By the 1930s Musso and Frank was firmly established at the center of Hollywood's cultural life. Stanley Rose's essential bookstore was right next door to the restaurant, and many of the writers of the hard-boiled fiction that he preferred, who hung out in the back room of the bookstore, spent endless hours in the bar of Musso and Frank; e.g. James M. Cain, John Fante (who frequented the restaurant with famed journalist and historian Carey McWilliams), Raymond Chandler, and Nathanael West. Other literary regulars include William Saroyan, Dashiell Hammett, Erskine Caldwell, Dorothy Parker, William Faulkner, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Elliot Paul, and Donald Ogden Stewart. *^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)*#*^ - View of a woman walking in front of Musso and Frank Grill in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

By the 1940s the restaurant was so firmly identified with the Los Angeles literary scene that aspiring writers, e.g. Charles Bukowski, would drink there in a conscious effort to imitate their role models. Eminent California historian Kevin Starr has said that a list of writers who frequented Musso and Frank resembles "the list of required reading for a sophomore survey of the mid-twentieth-century American novel."

Musso and Frank has also been essential in the social life of the Los Angeles film industry.  The restaurant kept a separate back room for its film industry clientele, which included not only screenwriters, but actors, producers and directors as well, including Tom Mix, Charlie Chaplin, Harry Warner and his brother Jack, Greta Garbo,  Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Douglas Fairbanks, Mary Pickford, Orson Welles, Rudolph Valentino, and Budd Schulberg.*^

 

 

 

 
(2007)*^ - View of Musso and Frank Grill in Hollywood as seen from across the street. On the roof of the restaurant is the name, plus the lettering: "Since 1919. Oldest in Hollywood".  

 

Historical Notes

Surrounded by the blight of tattoo parlors and cheesy knickknack shops following Hollywood’s decline and tourist trap transformation, Musso & Frank Grill literally has not changed. The waiters have been doing their thing for 25 years, and the booths are probably the same ones that Frank Sinatra, Edward G. Robinson, and Greta Garbo used.#^*^

Musso and Frank has not only maintained its classic decor, but its classic steakhouse style menu, which still includes such anachronistic dishes as Welsh Rarebit, Lobster Thermidor,  and the famed chicken pot pie, available only on Thursdays.*^

 

 

 
(1930)* - Sunset Boulevard looking west from Van Ness. To the left is Warner Brothers West Coast Studios; to the right is the Hotel Eldorado, which was earlier the Hotel Iris.  

 

 

 

 
(1930)^^^ - View of the Pantages Theater still under construction in 1930, located on the northwest corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Argyle Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages Theater is designated as Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 193 (Click HERE to see complete listing).  The theater was was designed by B. Marcus Priteca (exterior) and Anthony Heinsbergen (interior) for Alexander Pantages.

The original plans for the Pantages were for a 12-story building: 2 floors dedicated to theater and 10 floors of office space. Completion of the 10 upper floors was halted due to the 1929 stock market crash during construction.*^

 

 

 
(1930)* - Exterior view of the Pantages Theatre located at 6233 Hollywood Boulevard shortly after it opened.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages Theatre, formerly known as RKO Pantages Theatre was the last theater built by the vaudeville impresario Alexander Pantages. The palatial Art Deco theater opened on June 4, 1930, as part of the Pantages Theatre Circuit.*^

 

 

 

 
(1930)* - View of the foyer at the Pantages Theatre with a close look at the ceiling.  

 

Historical Notes

Alexander Pantages sold the Hollywood landmark in 1932 to Fox West Coast Theaters. In 1949, Howard Hughes acquired the Pantages for his RKO Theatre Circuit and moved his personal offices to the building's second floor.

From 1949 through 1959, the theatre hosted the American motion picture industry's annual Academy Award Ceremonies.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Interior view of the Pantages Theatre's grand lobby. Notice the ornate, detailed workings throughout. Perhaps the most impressive of any Los Angeles theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The grand lobby is a magnificent poly-chromatic fan-vaulted space, that is 110 feet wide and 60 feet deep. It is decorated in a zigzag geometric design in gold and henna shades. At each end is a 20 feet wide stairway, lined with vaguely Egyptian and Assyro-Babylonian styled statues, one of which depicts in an Art Deco style, a camera crew filming. The entire area was illuminated by three huge Moderne frosted glass chandeliers hanging from three star-shaped domes.^^*

 

 

 
(1930)* - View of the auditorium interior of the Pantages Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The auditorium was designed to seat 3,212, but it opened with extra legroom and wider seats to give more comfort for its 2,812 patrons.^^*

 

 

 
(1930)* - A partial view of the balcony seats inside the Pantages Theatre. Note the details of the ornamental Art Deco designs on the walls and ceiling.
 

 

Historical Notes

The crowning beauty of the dazzling Art Deco style decorations which cover almost every inch of the theatre interior, by interior designer/muralist Anthony B. Heinsbergen, is the double ceiling made in a series of ‘busy’ fretwork sunray effects which converge from the center, from which is hung a tremendous frosted glass and bronze chandelier.^^*

 

 

 
(1930)* - Close-up view of fans awaiting the arrival of celebrities attending gala opening premiere of "Florodora Girl", starring Marion Davies.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages Theatre was one of the first movie houses to be built after the advent of talking pictures and once boasted the most elaborate sound system in the world. It opened with Marion Davies in “The Floradora Girl” on screen, and “The Rose Garden Idea” a Franchon & Marco stage revue.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^^^ - Nighttime view of the front entrance to the Pantages Theater. Frank Fink's Apparel Shop is seen on the left.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pantages Theater continued to be a major venue for road show movies into the 1970s. From 1965, it was operated by Pacific Theatres. It closed as a movie theater in January, 1977, and re-opened the following month with Bubbling Brown Sugar, the first of the many stage productions that have since become its regular fare.*^

 

 

 
(1931)* - The lighted marquee at night of the Pantages Theatre. The main feature is 'Tarnished Lady' with Tallulah Bankhead and Clive Brook.  

 

Historical Notes

Today, the Pantages Theater is operated by an arm of the Nederlander Organization and is one of Los Angeles' leading venues for live theater (the five highest-grossing weeks in L.A.'s theatrical history were all shows at the Pantages). The theatre has recently presented large-scale Broadway musicals such as Disney's The Lion King, which ran at the theatre for over two years, and hosted the long-running Los Angeles production of the Broadway musical Wicked.*^

 

 

 
(1930s)*^^ - Birds eye view of Hollywood Boulevard at night, looking east from Highland Avenue. The Hotel Christie can be seen to the lower right.  

 

 

 

 
(1937)* -  The neon lights blaze in this night shot of Hollywood Boulevard, which includes the Egyptian Theater, The Pig and Whistle Cafe, the Hotel Christie, and the Citizens Bank. The double bill on the marquee "Life Begins in College" and "Counsel for Crime" played at the Egyptian the second week of November in 1937.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)#^* - View of the Roosevelt Hotel located on the southwest corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Orange Drive as seen from the courtyard of Grauman's Chinese Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The 12-story Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel was designed in Spanish Colonial Revival style and named after United States president Theodore Roosevelt.  The hotel was financed by a group including Douglas Fairbanks, Mary Pickford and Louis B. Mayer and first opened its doors on May 15, 1927.*^

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Exterior night view of the Roosevelt Hotel located at at 7000 Hollywood Boulevard in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel hosted the presentation of the 1st Academy Awards in 1929 inside its Blossom ballroom. Later ceremonies were much larger than this banquet for 250, so there was never an attempt to host the awards at the hotel a third time.

Marilyn Monroe was a resident at the Hollywood Roosevelt for two years when her modeling career took off. Her first magazine shoot was taken in the Roosevelt.

Clark Gable and Carole Lombard paid five dollars a night for their penthouse; it is now named the Gable & Lombard Penthouse. There is also a Marilyn Monroe Suite at the hotel.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - View of Hollywood Boulevard looking east from the top of the Roosevelt Hotel.  Grauman's Chinese Theater is seen across the street (lower left). In the distance, the tallest building is the First National Bank.  

 

Historical Notes

The First National Bank Building was designed in Art Deco/Gothic style by architects Meyer and Holler and built in 1927. It is located on the northeast corner of Hollywood Blvd. and Highland Avenue.

Grauman's Chinese Theater was also designed by Meyer and Holler and it too was built in 1927. The theater is located at 6925 Hollywood Boulevard.*

 

 

 
(1930)* - Aerial view of Hollywood Blvd. and Vermont.  Vermont runs up and down (north/south) in this picture, while Hollywood Blvd. comes in from the left. The surrounding buildings and lawns in the Los Feliz area can be seen.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Exterior view of the Greek Theatre. The outdoor seating which slopes up the hill, can also be seen.  

 

Historical Notes

The Greek Theatre, located in Griffith Park, was built in 1929. It was designed by architect Frederick Heath to resemble a Greek temple.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Aerial view of the Greek Theatre. The bare Hollywood Hills can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Greek Theatre was paid for with a donation from Griffith J. Griffith, who also donated the land for the park, named in his honor.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)#^*^ – Postcard view showing a performance at the Greek Theatre, Griffith Park, Near Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The amphitheatre had a limited concert season during its first two decades and during World War II it was used as a barracks. In 1947, however, the theatre was used for the Broadway show Anything Goes for two weeks. During the 1950s, under the management of James Doolittle, a concert promoter, the amphitheater underwent a series of renovations that allowed the theater to compete with rival 1950s’ theaters.*^

 

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Caption reads: View of the Griffith Park Greek Theatre. Theatre located in Vermont Canyon is the newest addition to Los Angeles' attractions and a very gem of outdoor playhouse. A gift to the city from the late Col. Griffith J. Griffith, it is the only municipally owned Greek theatre in America. Costing $205,000 and designed to accomodate all types of stage offering, Los Angeles is looking forward eagerly to some novel and inspiring productions during the coming summer months.  

 

 

 

 
(2007)*^ – View of the Greek Theatre as it appears today.  

 

Historical Notes

Although it is owned by the City of Los Angeles, the Greek Theatre is managed, operated and promoted by the Nederlander Organization. The theatre currently has a seating capacity of 5,700.*^

 

 

 

 
(1930)#^ - Aerial view of the Hollywood Bowl looking east. The neighborhood of Whitley Heights is at the center of photo. The serpentine Cahuenga Boulevard can be seen is at extends out of Cahuenga Pass (middle-left) toward Hollywood (upper-right).  

 

Historical Notes

Whitley Heights is a residential neighborhood in the Hollywood district named for Hobart Johnstone "HJ" Whitley, the "Father of Hollywood". Whitley Heights was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

In 1918, HJ Whitley commissioned architect A.S. Barnes to design Whitley Heights as a Mediterranean-style village on the steep hillsides above Hollywood Boulevard, and it became the first celebrity community. The neighborhood is roughly bordered on the north and east by Cahuenga Boulevard, on the west by Highland Avenue, and on the south by Franklin Avenue. It overlooks the tourist district of Hollywood, including the Hollywood Walk of Fame and Grauman's Chinese Theatre, and the Hollywood Bowl amphitheater. The neighborhood was bisected and some landmark homes destroyed when U.S. Route 101, a.k.a. the Hollywood Freeway, was built after World War II.

Among Whitley Heights' many famous residents have been Rudolph Valentino, Barbara Stanwyck, W.C. Fields, Jean Harlow, Carole Lombard, William Powell, Tyrone Power, Ellen Pompeo, Gloria Swanson, Rosalind Russell, Judy Garland, and Marlene Dietrich.*^

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Looking down into the site of the future Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater, revealing the Cahuenga Pass and the Hollywood Bowl in the background. The new structure will resemble the architecture of the Holy Land for the purposes of the play performed there. The previous amphitheater on the site was built in 1920, but a brush fire in October 1929 destroyed that wooden structure.  

 

Historical Notes

John Anson Ford Amphitheatre was built in 1920 as the site of The Pilgrimage Play. The author, Christine Wetherill Stevenson, believed the rugged beauty of the Cahuenga Pass would provide a dramatic outdoor setting for the play. Together with Mrs. Chauncey D. Clark, she purchased this land along with that on which the Hollywood Bowl now sits. A wooden, outdoor amphitheater was built on this site and the play was performed by noted actors every summer from 1920 to 1929, until the original structure was destroyed by a brush fire in October 1929.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^^^ - Postcard view of the front entrance to the Pilgrimage Theatre in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

A new Pilgrimage Theatre was built on the same site as the original and opened in 1931. The new theatre was constructed of poured concrete and designed in the style of ancient Judaic architecture to resemble the gates of Jerusalem. 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^^^ - Looking down into the Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater (renamed the John Anson Ford Theatre in the early 1970s) revealing some of the biblical-like structures on the hillside.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater resembled the architecture of the Holy Land for the purposes of the play performed there. The religious-themed Pilgrimage Play, written by Christine Whetherill Stevenson, was performed every summer between 1920 to 1941.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)* - Postcard view of the Pilgrimage Play Theatre seating and stage.  

 

Historical Notes

During WWII the theater was deeded to Los Angeles County and converted into dormitories for servicemen. After the war, the play resumed until 1964, at which time it was legally ordered to close due to its religious content.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^^^ - Close-up view of the front entrance to the Pilgrimage Play Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1941, the land was deeded to the County of Los Angeles. The Pilgrimage Play continued to be presented until a lawsuit in 1964 forced its closure because of its religious nature.

In 1976, the Pilgrimage Theatre was renamed the John Anson Ford Theatre in honor of the late L.A. County Supervisor's significant support of the arts. John Anson Ford (1883–1983) helped found the L.A. County Arts Commission, encouraged the Board of Supervisors to support the building of the Music Center and led the County's acquisition of Descanso Gardens, among many other achievements.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^^ - View looking north showing the Hollywood Bowl and also the Pilgrimage Play Theatre located on the other side of Cahuenga Pass (right-center of photo). Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Jess Willard's Market in Hollywood at 1334 Vine Street on October 30, 1931. It was in an impressive Art Deco building and included a bakery, delicatessen, cafe and beauty shop. It was oriented toward pedestrian traffic, with no parking lot.
 

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - A banner advertising a Hollywood Bowl summer concert with conductor Alfred Hertz stretches over Broadway packed with pedestrians, streetcars and traffic. Boos Bros. Cafeteria and the Orpheum Theatre are in the middle, on the right.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - View of the south side of Hollywood Boulevard looking east between Ivar and Vine. The Broadway Hollywood is on the corner of Vine, with the Taft Building across. I, Magnin & Co. is on the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - Hollywood Boulevard is a sea of cars as far as the eye can see. In the middle ground the marquee of the Pantages can just be identified. The view is to the east. On the light post are Christmas decorations.  

 

 

 

 
(1932)* – Claudette Colbert on a step ladder inspects a large photograph of herself surrounded by a Christmas wreath. In the background are the Mirror Theater at 1615 Vine Street and the Taft Building at 1680 Vine Street. In the upper-left is the Broadway Hollywood building located at the corner of Hollywood and Vine.  

 

Historical Notes

Claudette Colbert was a French-born American actress, and a leading lady for two decades. Colbert began her career in Broadway productions during the 1920s, progressing to film with the advent of talking pictures. Initially associated with Paramount Pictures, Colbert later gradually shifted to working as a freelance actor. She won the Academy Award for Best Actress in It Happened One Night, and also received Academy Award nominations for Private Worlds and Since You Went Away. With her round apple-face, Colbert was known as an expert screwball comedienne, but her dramatic range enabled her to easily encompass melodrama and to play characters ranging from vamps to housewives. During her successful career, Colbert starred in more than sixty movies. She was the industry's biggest box-office star in 1938 and 1942.

In the 1930s, Colbert alternated between romantic comedies and dramas, and found success in both: She Married Her Boss (1935) with Melvyn Douglas; The Gilded Lily (1935) and The Bride Comes Home (1935), both with Fred MacMurray; Under Two Flags (1936) with Ronald Colman; Zaza (1939) with Herbert Marshall; Midnight (1939) with Don Ameche; and It's a Wonderful World (1939) with James Stewart.*^

 

 

 
(1932)* - View of Hollywood, looking north towards Vine (left) and Argyle (right). Middle foreground is Yucca, Franklin is beyond.  

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - Passengers are seen boarding busses for a real estate promotional tour in the Hollywoodland Tract. Local Pacific Electric jitney busses ran between Hollywoodland, Beachwood Canyon and Beverly Hills.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - A realtor is pounding in a "sold" sign for lot 306 in a real estate development in a hilly area of Hollywood. Next to him is a man scratching his head, as if in unbelief.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - "Hollywoodland" sign with 4 homes in foreground set along a winding road.
 

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1923 by Harry Chandler as a billboard for his Hollywoodland real estate development.

In 1949 the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce contracted to repair and rebuild the sign. The contract stipulated that “LAND” be removed to reflect the district, not the housing development.*

The Hollywood Sign located on the top of Mount Lee was declared Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #111 in 1973.

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - Hollywoodland residences are climbing higher and higher. This home, encroaching on the domain of the Hollywoodland sign, has a majestic 75 mile panorama for a front door.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - "Hollywoodland" sign seen from road with passenger car and truck in foreground. Car seems to date from early 1930's. A large white building is seen below the sign.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - View of residential homes in the Hollywood Hills area near the Hollywoodland sign. Partial view of the Hollywoodland sign may be seen on the mountain, left side of this photo.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - "Hollywoodland" sign in the upper center with Hollywood hills filled with homes in the foreground.  

 

 

 

 
(1932)^** - Carpenter’s Drive-in Restaurant, Sunset and Vine, Hollywood, Los Angeles. Photo by ‘Dick’ Whittington   

 

Historical Notes

Carpenter’s Sandwiches drive-in was located at 6285 Sunset Boulevard between Vine Street and Argyle in Hollywood. For 30 cents you could enjoy a hamburger and wash it down with a cup of beer while sitting behind the wheel of your car (5 cents more for the premium beer).

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^ - Carpenter's Sandwich drive-in on Sunset and Vine. Two carhops are posing for the camera by the counter while another to the right appears to be serving food.  

 

Historical Notes

Harry B. Carpenter founded the Carpenter's chain with his brother Charles and operated many locations in Los Angeles including: Sunset and Vine, Wilshire and Western, Wilshire and La Cienega, Wilshire and Vine, Pico and Vermont, Silver Lake and Glendale and Sunset and Virgil.*

 

 

 
(1933)* - Exterior view of Carpenter's Sandwich drive-in restaurant, with the carhops posing for the photo, in 1933. The drive-in was located at 6265 Sunset Blvd (N/E corner of Sunset and Vine).  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^^ - Aerial view of West Hollywood circa 1931. The wide street running from lower-left to upper-right is Santa Monica Boulevard. In the right-center is the Sherman train yard where the Pacific Design Center stands today.  

 

Historical Notes

West Hollywood owes its existence to one of Southern California's first interurban electric railways, the Pasadena and Pacific. Assembled by Moses H. Sherman and his brother-in-law Eli P. Clark from failed and fragmentary predecessors, the Pasadena and Pacific connected the booming city of Los Angeles with the beach town of Santa Monica. Along the way, it crossed a sprawling coastal plain dotted with marshes, tar pits, and citrus groves. Today's Santa Monica Boulevard traces the railway's route across what was then called the Cahuenga Valley.^^^#

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)*^* - View of the Pacific Electric's Sherman rail yard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1896, Sherman and Clark built a rail yard and power plant at roughly the midpoint between Los Angeles and Santa Monica, where today's Santa Monica and San Vicente boulevards intersect.^^^#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)*^^* - View looking northwest of the Sunset Tower Apartment Building in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed in 1929 by architect Leland A. Bryant, opened in 1931, the Sunset Tower  is considered one of the finest examples of Art Deco architecture in the Los Angeles area. In its early years, it was the residence of many Hollywood celebrities, including John Wayne and Howard Hughes.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)***^ - View of the Sunset Strip in the early 1930s. The Sunset Tower Apartment Building is the tallest building in the area.  

 

 

 

 
(1933)^^ - Sunset Tower Apartments at 8358 Sunset Boulevard as seen from a gas station across the street.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally operated as a luxury apartment hotel, it was one of the first high-rise reinforced concrete buildings in California. When it was completed in August 1931 at a cost of $750,000, the Los Angeles Times reported: "What is described to be the tallest apartment-house in Los Angeles County, rising 15 stories or 195 feet, was completed last week at Kings Road and Sunset Boulevard by W.I. Moffett, general contractor, for E.M. Fleming, owner." *^

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - An art deco masterpiece, the Sunset Tower Apartments, located at 8358 Sunset Boulevard.    

 

Historical Notes

In 1933, the Los Angeles Times ran an article about the trend toward luxurious penthouse apartments in the city and noted that Sunset Tower boasted the city's highest penthouse: "It is the highest in the city and due to the location of the fifteen-story structure that supports it, its tenants live on a level with the tower of the Los Angeles City Hall. Imagine the view!" John Wayne, Howard Hughes, Frank Sinatra, Jerry Buss and novelist James Wohl lived in the penthouse at different times, and Hughes reportedly also rented some of the lower apartments for his girlfriends or mistresses. Other former residents include Clark Gable, Errol Flynn, Marilyn Monroe, Michael Caine, Quincy Jones, Roger Moore, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Billie Burke, Joseph Schenck, Paulette Goddard, Zasu Pitts, George Stevens, Preston Sturges, and Carol Kane.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1933)^^^ - Close-up view of the Sunset Tower Apartments showing the details of the bas-relief near the top of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The building is decorated with plaster friezes of plants, animals, zeppelins, mythological creatures and Adam and Eve.*^

 

 

 
(1955)***^ - Full view of the Sunset Tower Apartments showing the Art Deco design details, especially at the top of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

After a period of decline in the early 1980s, the building was renovated and has been operated as a luxury hotel under the names The St. James's Club, The Argyle, and most recently the Sunset Tower Hotel.

The Sunset Tower Apartment building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.*^

 

 

 
(1933)* - A man sits on a steel girder on the half-completed dome of the Griffith Observatory as other construction workers are on scaffolds on the building behind the dome. Construction rubble is scattered around the Observatory's foundation.  

 

Historical Notes

3,015 acres of land surrounding the observatory was donated to the City of Los Angeles by Colonel Griffith J. Griffith on December 16, 1896. In his will Griffith donated funds to build an observatory, exhibit hall, and planetarium on the donated land. As a Works Progress Administration (WPA) project, construction began on June 20, 1933, using a design developed by architect John C. Austin based on preliminary sketches by Russell W. Porter.*

 

 

 

 
(1934)* - The construction of Griffith Observatory in the final phases. The exterior domes can be seen here.  

 

Historical Notes

Griffith Observatory was shaped not only by the minds of scientists but also by the times in which it was built. A major earthquake in Long Beach in March 1933 -- just as construction plans were being finalized -- led the architects to abandon the planned terra cotta exterior in favor of strengthening and thickening the building's concrete walls. Lower-than-usual prices caused by the Great Depression enabled the selection of the finest materials of the day for the interior walls, floors, and finishes, making the building both beautiful and durable.^***

 

 

 
(1934)* - The Griffith Observatory and the main building, the planetarium, are seen from below and from the back. A hiking path has been cut into the hillside below, on the south side, but brush still covers much of the area.  

 

Historical Notes

Griffith Observatory's unique architecture and setting, compelling programmatic offerings, and cinematic exposure have made it one of the most famous and visited landmarks in Southern California.^***

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)^^^ - Profile view of the Griffith Park Observatory on the hillside.  

 

 

 

 
(1935)^^^ - The iconic Griffith Observatory stands out in its brilliance as it is illuminated in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - View of the Zeiss refracting telescope within one of the two smaller domes at the end of the Griffith Observatory.  

 

Historical Notes

Since opening in 1935, more than seven million people have put an eye to Griffith Observatory's original 12-inch Zeiss refracting telescope. More people have looked though it than any other telescope in the world.

The genesis of Griffith Observatory's public telescope occurred when Griffith J. Griffith was invited to visit to Mount Wilson Observatory, then home to the world's largest operating telescope, the 60-inch reflector. While there, he was given the opportunity to view a celestial wonder through the telescope. Profoundly moved by the experience, Griffith seized on the idea of constructing a public observatory with a telescope that could be used by all residents of Los Angeles. He specified in his will that the telescope was to be "at least 12-inches in diameter" and "complete in all its details" and was to be located "high and above the Hall of Science." In 1931, the Griffith Trust ordered the telescope from the Carl Zeiss Company of Jena, Germany; the $14,900 spent on the instrument was the first purchase of material for Griffith Observatory.^**^

 

 

 
(1930s)* - View of the Griffith Park observatory and planetarium with the Astronomers Monument. Several people are on the walks, coming and going to the planetarium (the central section of the building). The domes on the left and the right ends of the building contain the triple-beam solar telescope and the 12-inch Zeiss Refracting Telescope respectively.  

 

Historical Notes

Griffith Observatory opened its doors to the public on May 14, 1935.  In its first five days of operation the observatory logged more than 13,000 visitors.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - Three men gaze at the Foucault pendulum in the foyer of the Griffith Observatory. The pendulum demonstrates the rotation of the earth.  

 

Historical Notes

The first exhibit visitors encountered was the Foucault pendulum, which was designed to demonstrate the rotation of the Earth.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - Audience viewing a performance at the planetarium at Griffith Observatory.  

 

Historical Notes

The Griffith Observatory also included a planetarium under the large central dome. The first shows covered topics including the Moon, worlds of the solar system, and eclipses. 

During World War II the planetarium was used to train pilots in celestial navigation. The planetarium was again used for this purpose in the 1960s to train Apollo program astronauts for the first lunar missions.

The planetarium theater was renovated in 1964 and a Mark IV Zeiss projector was installed.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)*^#* - Postcard view showing the Griffith Observatory in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1935)* - Aerial view of the top and front view of the observatory/planetarium. The Astronomers Monument, designed by Archibald Garner, is out front on the well manicured front lawn, and some parking with cars is seen around the back side (probably for the staff). Behind the planetarium are the tree covered hills and farther back the beginnings of buildings and homes in Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)*^^ - Women visiting the Astronomer’s Monument at a still unfinished Griffith Observatory, 1930’s. The Hollywoodland sign can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Astronomers Monument on the front lawn of Griffith Observatory pays homage to six of the greatest astronomers: Hipparchus, Copernicus, Galileo, Kepler, Newton, and Herschel. Artist Archibald Garner designed the sculpture commissioned by the Public Works of Art Project (PWAP). Garner worked with five other artists (each responsible for sculpting one astronomer) including George Stanley responsible for the "Oscar" statuette. The monument was dedicated November 25, 1934, six months before the Observatory opened.*

 

 

 
(1935)* - Griffith Observatory on its opening day, May 14, 1935, as seen from an affluent neighborhood in northern Los Feliz.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - View of a large Spanish style home, located on Live Oak Drive, belonging to one of the Twentieth Century-Fox film players. In the background the Griffith Observatory is clearly visible.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1936)#^^^ – Postcard view showing the Griffith Observatory perched high above the city in the hills of the sprawling Griffith Park.  The peak to the right of the observatory is Mt. Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Griffith Observatory is 1,124 feet above sea level and is visible from many parts of the Los Angeles basin. Mt. Hollywood is 516 feet higher, at 1,640 feet above sea level.^***

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - View of Griffith Observatory in Griffith Park, looking southeast with the city down below in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Twilight view of the planetarium and observatory in Griffith Park as seen from the hillside.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - Sunset view of the wide lawns and Astronomers Monument from Griffith Observatory. The tall peak in the background is Mt. Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 
(1936)*# - Looking over Griffith Observatory and Los Angeles from Mt. Hollywood. Photography by Julius Shulman.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1976, the Griffith Observatory was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 168 (Click HERE for complete listing).

In 2002, the observatory closed for renovation and a major expansion of exhibit space. It reopened to the public on November 3, 2006, retaining its art deco exterior. The $93 million renovation, paid largely by a public bond issue, restored the building, as well as replaced the aging planetarium dome.

Since the observatory opened in 1935, admission has been free, in accordance with Griffith's will.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)* - View of the northeast corner of Sycamore Avenue and Hollywood Boulevard showing the western side of the Garden Court Apartments.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by architect Frank S. Meline in the Beaux Arts style and built in 1919, the apartment building was intended to accommodate prominent members of the movie industry. Among its residents were Louis B. Mayer, Mae Murray, and John Gilbert. On the left on the hillside full of trees is the lower area of the property belonging to the Bernheimer brothers.*

 

 

 
(n.d.)*# - View of the front entrance to the Garden Court Apartments. A beautiful staircase leads to a fountain containing two figures holding up a bowl.  

 

 

 

 
(1976)^^^ - View of the Garden Court Apartments (Hotel) on Hollywood Blvd. Sign in front of building reads Motor Hotel. Note the decorative three-lamp streetlight in front of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Garden Court Apartments’ fortunes declined in the 1960s and 1970s along with those of Hollywood Boulevard in general. After being vacated in 1980, it was inhabited by homeless squatters and nicknamed "Hotel Hell".

The building was noted in the National Register of Historic Places in 1982, however, that did not prevent it from being razed in 1984.*^

 

 

 
(2005)* - Close-up view of a Hollywood Special streetlight embellished with five stars along the side of its lamp housing (Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights). The building behind the streetlight is the Hudson Apartments (formerly The Historic Hillview Hollywood), a 54-unit apartment complex located at 6533 Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally constructed in 1917 for silent screen actors, the Hudson Apartments (formerly the Historic Hillview Hollywood) were fully renovated in 2006 and include both residential and retail tenants.*

In October 2009 the corporation that owns the Hollywood Hillview Apartments filed for bankruptcy, and the Historic Hollywood Hillview was forced into foreclosure. The basement lounge club, the restaurant, and the gym have been closed since January 2009. The name was also changed to The Hudson Apartments.

In July 2010 Hollywood real estate investment group CIM purchased the building out of foreclosure for $13,000,000.*^

 

 

 
(1930)* - Looking east on Hollywood Blvd. from Hudson Avenue. Cars driving in the middle of the street are blurred because of motion. On the left side of the street is the Hillview Apartment Building, located at 6521 Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

The Historic Hillview Hollywood is considered Hollywood's first "artist's" high-rise. It was founded in 1917 by movie moguls Jesse L. Lasky, co-founder of Paramount Pictures, and his brother-in-law Samuel Goldwyn, co-founder of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, better known as MGM. It was one of Hollywood's only apartment buildings at the time willing to rent to aspiring actors since they were considered a financial risk by most apartment building owners. In fact, it catered specifically to actors.*^

 

 

 
(1930)* - Looking west on Hollywood Blvd. from Hudson, the hills can be seen in the far distance. On the right is the Hillview Apartment Building and beyond it the Roth Furniture building. The First National Bank building can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hillview became a Hollywood hot spot in the 1920s and 1930s. The vast basement housed a rehearsal space until Rudolph Valentino reputedly converted it to a speakeasy. Former big-screen residents include Mae Busch, Stan Laurel, and Viola Dana. Charlie Chaplin was once a proprietor of the Hillview. Clara Bow found her first home at the Hillview in 1923.*^

 

 

 
(1932)* - Exterior view of the Municipal Light-Water-Power (later DWP) Hollywood branch office located at 1613 North Cahuenga Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1902, Los Angeles formed its first municipal water utility and named it the Water Department. Nine years later the Bureau of Power and Light came along. A total of six different names have been used to refer to the two separate water and power organizations since that time. Not until 1937 did both organizations merge and become the Department of Water and Power. Click HERE to see more in DWP - Name Change Chronology.

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - A salesman is standing next to the electric range display at the Hollywood DWP Branch office on Caheunga.  

 

Historical Notes

For decades DWP was in direct competition with the Souhern California Gas Co. They promoted the use of electricity by putting on display electric ranges, electric refrigerators and smaller electric appliances in most of their commercial branch offices.

Click HERE to see more in Early DWP Branch Offices.

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)^^^ - View of the J.J. Newberry Co. Store on Hollywood Boulevard. Three young boys are seen looking at a display through the window.  

 

Historical Notes

J.J. Newberry's was an American Five-and-Dime store chain in the 20th century originally founded in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. The architects of the Hollywood J.J. Newberry's, now Hollywood Toys and Costumes, created this colorful example of Art Deco at its best. The "Zig Zag" patterns of chevrons and squares in colorful aqua and gold highlight the over-sized industrial windows of the upper stories. #^^

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)^^^ - Nighttime view of the J. J. Newberry Co. 5-10-25 Cent Store located at 6600-04 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The company was a family business. J.J. Newberry was joined in management by his brothers C.T. Newberry and Edgar A. Newberry in 1919, at which time there were 17 stores with yearly sales of $500,000.

Over the years, the Newberry chain acquired other stores including Hested in Wyoming, Missouri, North Dakota, Colorado, and Nebraska, and Lee Stores in South Dakota, Minnesota, and Iowa. At the time of founder J.J. Newberry's death (1954), the chain had 475 stores. By 1961, the company operated 565 stores with total yearly sales of $291 million. The chain also operated a larger department store called Britt's Department Store.

The Newberry chain was ultimately purchased by McCrory Stores, and then folded slowly as McCrory's downsized  and eventually entered bankruptcy. 300 McCrory stores, mostly Newberry's, closed in 1997.*^

Today, the Art Deco building is occupied by Hollywood Toys and Costumes.

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)* - An exterior view of Sardi's Restaurant and Night Club, located at 6313 Hollywood Blvd. The building was redesigned in the 1930s by Clifford A. Balch and R.M. Schindler specifically for the restaurant. Other businesses, including: Vanity Fair, Joseph Pollock and Sloat-Dennis Furniture are also visible. The Pacific Electric street car tracks are visible in the center of the image and in the background there is a billboard advertising the 1934 film, "I Give My Love", starring Paul Lukas and Wynne Gibson.  

 

Historical Notes

Sardi’s restaurant opened in 1932 and was the sister of New York’s Sardi’s. It was designed by the world-renowned architect Rudolph Schindler in International style with metal and glass. This was a favorite restaurant of many stars including Charlie Chaplin, Maurice Chevalier, Wallace Beery, Marlene Dietrich and Joan Crawford.^#^#

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^^^ - Nighttime view of Sardi's on Hollywood Boulevard. The restaurant appears to be closed. The lit signboard to the right reads: "Carl Laemle Presents: __ "  

 

Historical Notes

Eddie Brandstatter was "Host of Hollywood" and catered to Hollywood stars in the 1920s and 1930s. He was owner and manager of the fashionable Montmartre Cafe, Embassy Club and Sardi's.*

 

 

 

 

 
(1936)^##*– View showing the filming of a movie in front of Sardi’s Restaurant on Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - View showing a woman getting out of a car in front of Sardi's Restaurant on Hollywood Boulevard. Neighboring businesses, include J. Hilliard Wright, Horton & Converse and Sloat-Dennis Furniture. Pacific Electric streetcar tracks run down the boulevard. Photo by Herman J. Schultheis.  

 

Historical Notes

Radio personality Tom Breneman was in Hollywood having lunch in 1940 with friends at Sardi's Restaurant when he realized the location's potential for a radio program. He quickly found an audience when he began broadcasting his Breakfast on the Boulevard January 13, 1941, on KFWB Los Angeles. Breakfast at Sardi's aired on the Blue Network from August 3, 1942, until February 26, 1943, when the title was changed to Breakfast in Hollywood, to avoid confusion with Sardi's in New York.*^

 

 

 

 
(1944)^^#* – Postcard interior view of Sardi’s Restaurant, located at 6313 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Verso reads:  "In the heart of glorious Hollywood -- just a whisper away from Hollywood Blvd. and Vine St. -- stands Sardi's, mecca of Hollywood filmites and Southern California socialites. Here world-famous stars, producers, writers and studio executives gather daily for luncheon and dinner. For it's "Breakfast at Sardi's" national broadcast...the renowned restaurant plays host to Southern California visitors from the world over."

Today, the building is occupied by Le Sex Shoppe and the Cave Theater .

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)* - Hollywood Blvd. near Wilcox Ave. with heavy traffic on Hollywood Blvd. The cars are of 1930's vintage. On the north side of the boulevard are the Innes Shoe Co., Warner Bros. and the Security Bank; on the south side is the Iris Theater.  

 

Historical Notes

The Iris Theatre opened in 1918, as the second theatre on Hollywood Boulevard.  It was built by P. Tabor who employed architect Frank Meline, to design a Romanesque style theatre, with a brick façade.^^*

The distinction of being the first movie theater in Hollywood goes to the Idyl Hour Theater. Located at 6525 Hollywood Boulevard, it was established in either late 1910 or early 1911. During its first year the theater was little more than a converted store with chairs, a projector and a screen. The Idyl Hour Theater, whose name changed to the Iris Theater in 1913, moved to 6415 Hollywood Blvd. in 1914, and to a new 1000-seat theater at 6508 Hollywood Blvd. in 1918.^##^

 

 

 
(1934)* - Exterior view of the Iris Theater on July 31, 1934, located on Hollywood Blvd. west of Wilcox. Its marquee announces an opening of J. Barrymore.
 

 

Historical Notes

The Iris theatre was redesigned by architect S. Charles Lee in July 1934 and was given an Art Deco style.  That survived until 1955, when the current façade was erected and the name was changed to Fox Theatre.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)* - Exterior corner view of the YMCA Spanish Colonial Revival style building on Hudson and Selma Avenues in Hollywood. Bicycle racks are seen, as well as cars parked on the street, which is asphalt over brick paving.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Y was one of many popular men's clubs built in 1920s Los Angeles that encouraged social, moral and physical development through physical fitness (This group also included the Athletic Club on Sunset Boulevard.) Built in 1921 on the undeveloped Thomas Hudson property, the original much smaller Hollywood YMCA building was designed by the Los Angeles architectural firm Hunt and Burns.*^*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - Looking west on Hollywood Blvd. from McCadden Place. This photo was made during Christmas and Christmas tree decorations can be seen on the light standards along the street. In the distance on the right is the First National Bank of Los Angeles, Hollywood Branch, designed by Meyer and Holler, architects at the Milwaukee Building Company.  

 

 

 

 
(1935)* - Northeast corner of Highland and Hollywood Blvd. showing the facade of the First National Bank of Los Angeles, Hollywood Branch which is topped by a tower decorated with sculptures in arched niches and a flagpole.  

 

 

 

 
(1935)* - View of the exterior of the Mar-Cal Theatre (later renamed the World Theatre), located at 6025 Hollywood Blvd. The film, Mighty Barnum, is presently showing.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally opened in 1925 as the Marcal Theatre, it later was operated by Pacific Theatres as the World Theatre. In its later years the theater showed second-run features in a triple bill for bargain prices. It closed in the Summer of 1986.

Today the much altered building is in use as a nightclub.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^^^ - View of the Vogue Theatre located at 6675 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by noted theatre architect S. Charles Lee, the Vogue Theatre opened on July 16th, 1935 with a seating capacity of 897, all on one floor. The Vogue Theatre was run by Fox West Coast Theatres for many years until Mann Theatres took over in the early-1990’s.

One of the better mid-sized theatres on Hollywood Boulevard, the theatre is located on Hollywood Boulevard & North Las Palmas Avenue, across the next block from the Egyptian Theatre.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^^^ - Interior view of the Vogue Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard with its unique oval ceiling fixture.  

 

Historical Notes

Legend has it this theatre is haunted by a former projectionist, named Fritz, who once worked at the theatre.
The Vogue Theatre closed in around 1995 and for a short time was used as a theatre for psychic performances. It then had occasional use as a film location space. In December 2001, the theatre fittings were stripped out and sold off.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^^^- The Vogue Theater marquee is lit for business. Two early model cars are parked in front.  

 

Historical Notes

In 2009, the building was fitted out as live performance space named the Supper Club, which caters for an adult audience.^^*

 

 

 
(1936)* - View of a business district located on Vine Street in Hollywood. Cars are parked at the curb and establishments along the street include a bowling alley ("the only refrigeration air conditioned bowling"), Globe Investment Co., sporting goods, and florist shop.
 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - Hollywood Boulevard looking west toward Western Avenue. On the right is the Hotel Rector which sits on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Western. On the southwest corner of that intersection is the Hollywood-Western Building and further down the Gershwin Hotel (formerly the St. Frances Hotel).  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Exterior view of the Hotel Rector located on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Western.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hotel Rector was built in the 1920s.  It provided rooms for stage and film actors and advertised daily rates at $1.50 to $2.*

 

 

 
(1928)^#^ - The grand opening of the Hollywood Western Building, 5500 Hollywood Blvd, on December 8th, 1928.  

 

Historical Notes

The S. Charles Lee designed Hollywood Western Building, 5500-5510 Hollywood Blvd, was built in 1928. The building was financed by Louis B Mayer and Irving Thalberg for the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA), including the Hays Office. The building also housed Central Casting.**##

 

 

 
(1940s)* - Exterior view of the four-story Hollywood-Western Building housing the Central Casting Corp. and various retail shops located on the southwest corner of Hollywood Blvd. and Western Avenue. Newman Drug Co. is on the corner.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1988, the Hollywood Western Building was designated LA Cultural-Historic Monument No. 336 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Aerial view, looking northeast, of Paramount Studios and sound stages located at 5555 Melrose Ave.  Melrose runs east-west at bottom of photo.  Van Ness Avenue runs south-north at upper right.  The Hollywood Memorial Cemetery is seen at top. Paramount's main office building is seen at bottom-center on the north side of Melrose.  

 

Historical Notes

Paramount Pictures dates its existence from the 1912 founding date of the Famous Players Film Company. Founder Hungarian-born Adolph Zukor, who had been an early investor in nickelodeons, saw that movies appealed mainly to working-class immigrants. With partners Daniel Frohman and Charles Frohman he planned to offer feature-length films that would appeal to the middle class by featuring the leading theatrical players of the time (leading to the slogan "Famous Players in Famous Plays". By mid-1913, Famous Players had completed five films, and Zukor was on his way to success.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1916)* - Entrance to the Famous Players-Lasky Corporation West Coast Studios located at 5555 Melrose Avenue before Paramount was added.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1916, Adolph Zukor maneuvered a three-way merger of his Famous Players, the Lasky Company, and Paramount. The new company Lasky and Zukor founded, Famous Players-Lasky Corporation, grew quickly, with Lasky and his partners Goldwyn and DeMille running the production side, Hiram Abrams in charge of distribution, and Zukor making great plans. Famous Players-Lasky and its "Paramount Pictures" soon dominated the business.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - View of the Paramount-Famous-Lasky Corporation West Coast Studios building.  

 

Historical Notes

Zukor signed and developed many of the leading early stars, including Mary Pickford, Marguerite Clark, Pauline Frederick, Douglas Fairbanks, Gloria Swanson, Rudolph Valentino, and Wallace Reid. With so many important players, Paramount was able to introduce "block booking", which meant that an exhibitor who wanted a particular star's films had to buy a year's worth of other Paramount productions. It was this system that gave Paramount a leading position in the 1920s and 1930s, but which led the government to pursue it on antitrust grounds for more than twenty years.*^

 

 

 
(1936)* - View looking west on Melrose Avenue showing the Paramount Studios corporate office building at center-left and one of the entrance gates in the foreground.  

 

Historical Notes

Paramount films emphasized stars; in the 1920s there were Swanson, Valentino, and Clara Bow. By the 1930s, talkies brought in a range of powerful new draws: Miriam Hopkins, Marlene Dietrich, Mae West, W.C. Fields, Jeanette MacDonald, Claudette Colbert, the Marx Brothers (whose first two films were shot at Paramount's Astoria, New York, studio), Dorothy Lamour, Carole Lombard, Bing Crosby, band leader Shep Fields, famous Argentine tango singer Carlos Gardel, and Gary Cooper among them. In this period Paramount can truly be described as a movie factory, turning out sixty to seventy pictures a year.

In 1933, Mae West would also add greatly to Paramount's success with her suggestive movies She Done Him Wrong and I'm No Angel. However, the sex appeal West gave in these movies would also lead to the enforcement of the Production Code, as the newly formed organization the Catholic Legion of Decency threatened a boycott if it was not enforced.*^

 

 

 
(1957)* - View of the ornate entrance to Paramount Studios in Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)#^* - View of the entrance gates to Paramount Pictures with the current addition of palm trees and fountain.  

 

Historical Notes

Paramount is the fifth oldest surviving film studio in the world behind Universal Studios, Nordisk Film, Pathé, and Gaumont Film Company. It is the last major film studio still headquartered in Hollywood.*^

 

 

 
(1936)* - A marching band in the 1936 Welcome Military Parade on Hollywood Boulevard passes in front of Grauman's Chinese Theater.
 

 

 

 

 
(1936)* - Exterior view of the Hollywood police station, Division 6, located at 1358 No. Wilcox Ave., with the receiving hospital next door at right. Three uniformed officers stand in front, next to parked police cars. A flag flies above the entrance.  

 

 

 

 
(1936)* - An aerial view looking west down Hollywood Boulevard from the intersection with Argyle Avenue. On the left is a Dodge Plymouth motor car dealer, and past that, the Taft Building. Going down the right side of the street we see the Pantages Theater, and beyond that the Equitable Building and then the Guaranty Building. There are a few cars on the street, as well as trolleys.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1936)* - Exterior view of the Spanish style Hollywood Playhouse, located at 1735 N. Vine St. Gogerty & Weyl designed the theater in 1926. The musical "Ready! Aim! Fire!" is the current show being performed at the theater. Neighboring businesses included a beauty salon (left) and a shirt maker (right). Vine Street streetcar tracks are visible in the foreground.  

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - Exterior view of CBS Radio Playhouse, 1615 Vine Street, Hollywood (formerly Vine Street Theatre). Located in the same building, on the left is Miller's Hollywood, on the right is British Bootmakers. Next door on the right is Mike Lyman's Play Room.  

 

 

 

 
(1937)^** - A slightly elevated view of property in Hollywood bordered by Sunset, Vine, Selma, and Argyle. The foreground is occupied by the Luger used car lot. Other businesses visible along the street are auto loan companies, a paint company, a drug store, and a chop suey company.   

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - View of the open air Safeway market with its Spanish tiled roof located on 5509 Sunset Boulevard near Western. Just behind the Safeway market on the upper right can be seen the sign board for the more modern Sam Seelig Market at 1515 N. Western.  

 

Historical Notes

Sam Seelig Company was founded in April 1912 by Sam Seelig, who had come to California from Arizona in 1911. Seelig opened a single grocery store in Los Angeles at the corner of Pico and Figueroa streets. The chain had grown to 71 stores by 1922. After World War I, the firm became deeply indebted to its main grocery wholesaler, a firm owned by W.R.H. Weldon. In a swap of stock for debt, Weldon assumed control of the chain, leaving Seelig in charge of retail operations. Seelig then left the company in 1924 to enter the real estate business, forming Sam Seelig Realty.

As a result of Seelig's departure, the company held a contest in 1925 to develop a new name, the result of which was Safeway. The original slogan was "an admonition and an invitation" to "Drive the Safeway; Buy the Safeway.” The point of the name was that the grocery operated on a cash-and-carry basis; it did not offer credit, as had been traditional for grocers. It was the "safe way" to buy because a family could not get into debt via its grocery bill (as many families did, especially during the Great Depression). By 1926, Safeway Stores had 322 stores centered in Southern California.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - The Hollywood Hotel, located on the northwest corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Highland Avenue.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1938)*^#* – Postcard view of the Hollywood Hotel with early model car parked in front.  

 

Historical Notes

Though the Hollywood Hotel housed many of the great stars in its day, it was razed in August 1956 to make way for a $10 million development, with a twelve story office building for the First Federal Savings & Loan Association of Hollywood, a shopping center and parking lots.*^

 

 

 

 
(1937)^##* - View of the Hollywood Caravan to Spain in front of Grauman’s Chinese Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

Riette Kahn is shown at the wheel of an ambulance donated by the American movie industry to the Spanish government in Los Angeles, California, on Sept. 18, 1937. The Hollywood Caravan to Spain will first tour the U.S. to raise funds to “help the defenders of Spanish democracy” in the Spanish Civil War.^##*

 

 

 
(1937)* - View of Hollywood Boulevard looking west from one-half block east of the intersection of Hollywood and Vine Street on July 21, 1937. There are a few cars on the street, as well as streetcar tracks. The Taft Building is at left, and the Equitable Building and Pantages Theater at right.  

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - Hollywood Boulevard looking east from Sycamore Ave. In the background are First National Bank Building, the Roosevelt Hotel and the Chinese Theater. First National Bank Building was designed by Meyer and Holler.
 

 

Historical Notes

The thirteen story First National Bank Building with Gothic/Renaissance elements a la Art Deco is one of a handful of structures in the city that is adorned with gargoyles. It was the tallest building in Los Angeles from 1927 to 1932.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)^^^ - Postcard view of Hollywood Boulevard looking east.  Two streetcars are seen passing each other in front of the Chinese Theatre.  The Art Deco First National Bank Building stands on the northeast corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Highland Avenue. A very large American Flag flys above its Gothic-style tower.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1937)*^## - Looking north on Highland Avenue near Sunset Boulevard. Hollywood High School can be seen at far left, and in the center distance are the Hollywood United Methodist Church and the Hollywood First National Bank Building.^^  

 

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - A car (1936 Auburn Cord 812 Westchester) stops on Highland at the intersection of Sunset in front of Curries Ice Cream shop, which is located at 6775 Sunset Boulevard. A dimensional sign that looks like a soda with two straws seems to illustrate the claim that the store featured "mile high cones." The northeast corner of Sunset and Highland is now a mini mall.  

 

Historical Notes

Cord was the brand name of an American automobile company from Connersville, Indiana, manufactured by the Auburn Automobile Company from 1929 through 1932 and again in 1936 and 1937.*^

 

 

 
(1938)* - Traffic signal at Hollywood and Vine, looking northeast, with the California Bank building in the background. An ornate two-lamp streetlight is at the upper-right of photo. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights.  

 

 

 

 
(1938)* - View of the Hollywood Knickerbocker Apartment Hotel, located at 1714 Ivar Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1923 E. M. Frasier built this 11-story hotel in Spanish Colonial style, which catered to Hollywood's film industry and was home to many stars throughout the years. This historic building began life as a luxury apartment building that was at the heart of Hollywood back in the 1920s, before becoming a hotel later in its history; its slogan was "Your home for a year or a day".

The building has been linked with tragic deaths and because of this, it is considered haunted by some. Some unfortunate occurrences: D.W. Griffith died of a stroke on July 21, 1948 under the crystal chandelier of the lobby; a costume designer named Irene Gibbons jumped to her death from a hotel window; William Frawley, who lived at the hotel for decades, died of a heart attack on the sidewalk in front of the Knickerbocker. Other stars that frequented the hotel with better luck were: Rudolph Valentino, Elvis Presley, Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio, Frank Sinatra, Lana Turner, Mae West, and Cecil B. DeMille among many, many others.

In 1970 a renovation project converted the hotel into housing for senior citizens.*

 

 

 

 

Historical Notes

Before it became the allegedly haunted apartment complex it is today, this Hollywood hotel was a revolving door of A-list movie stars. Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio used to rendezvous at the hotel bar, and Elvis shacked up here while shooting his first film, “Love me Tender.” *#*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(1956)*# - An Elvis sighting at the Hollywood Knickerbocker Hotel.    

 

 

 

 
(1938)^##* - Looking southeast at Whitley Heights across the intersection of Cahuenga Boulevard (foreground and to the left) and Highland Avenue to the right. Seriously complicated solution to the traffic pattern will be largely eliminated in the coming realignment and widening of Caheunga. Entrance to the Hollywood Bowl is just beyond the shoulder of the hill on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

The first segment of the Hollywood Freeway built was a one and a half mile stretch through the Cahuenga Pass. That segment opened on June 15, 1940. It was then known as the "Cahuenga Pass Freeway." Pacific Electric Railway trolleys ran down the center of this freeway until 1952.*^

 

 

 
(n.d.)*# - Postcard view of the entrance to the Hollywood Bowl. Note the Gruen Watch signboard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1939, the Hollywood Bowl’s “Muse of Music” entrance statue was erected by the WPA at a cost of $100,000. It was designed by sculptor George Stanley, most noted for his design of the “Oscar” statuette.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^^ - Postcard view of the Hollywood Bowl Entrance at dusk.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Evening view of the Hollywood Bowl hillside seating area, without the shell.
 

 

Historical Notes

Over the years, the Hollywood Bowl shell would go through a series of design modifications all in an effort to improve the acoustics. However, in the early years (1926-1929) the shell configuration was dramatically changed four times.*^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl

 

 

 

 

 
(1939)* - View looking north up Vine Street at Selma Avenue, towards the Hollywood Hills. The Taft Building (S/E corner of Hollyood and Vine) stands in the background.  The Brown Derby Restaurant at 1628 N. Vine Street is seen at center-left.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby chain was started by Robert H. Cobb and Herbert Somborn (a former husband of film star Gloria Swanson). Bob Cobb is known as the inventor of the California Cobb Salad. He was also part owner of the Hollywood Stars baseball team. Click HERE to see more in Baseball in Early L.A.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)^ - Exterior view of the Brown Derby Restaurant located at 1628 North Vine Street. The Derby is shown from the front, a long awning extending over the sidewalk that leads to its entrance. At right, a hat-shaped sign for the Derby is visible extending from the second story of a Spanish Revival-style building, below which a second sign reads "Hiram Walker's 'Canadian Club'". At left, an automobile is parked in front of the Eddie Cantor gift shop.  

 

Historical Notes

Despite its less distinctive Spanish Mission style facade, the second Brown Derby, which opened on Valentine's Day 1929 at 1628 North Vine Street in Hollywood, was the branch that played the greater part in Hollywood history. Due to its proximity to movie studios, it became the place to do deals and be seen. Clark Gable is said to have proposed to Carole Lombard there. Rival gossip columnists Louella Parsons and Hedda Hopper are recorded as regular patrons.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)*^^* - The Brown Derby on Vine was featured in that legendary episode of "I Love Lucy" where Lucy Ricardo accidentally covers William Holden in food after gawking at the actor from an adjacent booth.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby in Hollywood is where stars usually frequented, and was the place to see and be seen. Humphrey Bogart, Groucho Marx, Cecille B. Demille and other Hollywood legends could be seen eating here.

 

 

 
(1944)*^^ - The Brown Derby at night, located at 1628 N. Vine Street. Not quite a still life: the long exposure reveals the blurred spectral figure of a man to the left of the entrance awning.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby building was largely destroyed by fire in 1987. Only a small fragment of the restaurant's facade remains, and is being incorporated into a new W Hotels development. In the nineties, the building was home to a family of punk squatters.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)^ - Night view of a market on Hollywood Boulevard circa 1938.  

 

 

 

 
(1938)^^^ - Postcard view looking west down the center of Hollywood Boulevard during the Hollywood Christmas Parade. From left to right can be seen the Hotel Christie, Egyptian Theatre, Roosevelt Hotel, First National Bank Building and the Vogue Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce created the Hollywood Christmas Parade in 1928 to boost shopping. Originally called the Santa Claus Lane Parade, the inaugural event featured only Santa Claus and the actress Jeanette Loff.

The parade continued to grow in scale with the help of local businesses and the community. In 1931 Santa Claus rode a truck-pulled float instead of the reindeer-pulled carriage of previous years. American Legion Post 43 marched with a color guard, drum line and bugle corps.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - A photographic postcard showing the Earl Carroll Theater, located at 6230 Sunset Boulevard, as seen from across the street at night.
 

 

Historical Notes

Earl Carroll Theatre was the name of two important theaters owned by Broadway impresario and showman Earl Carroll. One was located on Broadway in New York City and the other on Sunset Blvd in Hollywood.

Earl Carroll built his second famous theatre at 6230 Sunset Blvd. in Hollywood that opened on December 26, 1938. As he had done at the New York theatre, over the doors of the entrance Carroll had emblazoned the words "Through these portals pass the most beautiful girls in the world." *^

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)*^^* - View showing the Earl Carroll Theater revolving stage under construction.  What appears to be Earl Carroll is reviewing plans with designers and others while the chorus line girls position themselves on the yet to be completed revolving stage.  

 

Historical Notes

An "entertainment palace," the glamorous supper club-theatre offered shows on a massive stage with a 60-foot wide double revolving turntable and staircase plus swings that could be lowered from the ceiling.*^

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)**## – Interior view of the Earl Carroll Theater as seen from the revolving stage.  

 

 

 

 
(1939)***# - View of the front of the Earl Carroll Theatre with a woman's face in neon outline above the entrance.  

 

Historical Notes

The Earl Carroll Theatre's facade was adorned by what at the time was one of Hollywood's most famous landmarks: a 20-foot high neon head portrait of entertainer Beryl Wallace, one of Earl Carroll's "most beautiful girls in the world," who became his devoted companion. The sign had long since vanished by the 1960s, but a re-creation made from photos is today on display at Universal City Walk, at Universal City, as part of the collection of historic neon signs from the Museum of Neon Art.*^

 

 

 

 
(1940s)#^^^ – Postcard view showing the “Wall of Fame”,  Earl Carroll’s Theatre-Restaurant, Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Another major feature at the Earl Carroll Theatre was its "Wall of Fame" where many of Hollywood's most glamorous stars had inscribed personal messages on individual concrete blocks, which were mounted on an outside wall of the building.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Exterior view of the Earl Carroll Theatre, located at 6230 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood. Plaques affixed to the building reveal signatures from some of the top performers of the day; from left to right, Edward G. Robinson, Miriam Hopkins, Jean Hersholt, Binnie Barnes, Charles Laughton, Elsa Lanchester, Bob Hope, Nelson Eddy, Ginger Rogers, and Mickey Rooney. A banner on which most of Jimmy Durante's name is visible hangs a foot or so away from the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Earl Carroll Theatre  was sold following the 1948 deaths of Earl Carroll and Beryl Wallace in a plane crash. After a few changes in ownership over the decades, the building has housed the West Coast production of live-action original series produced for the Nickelodeon cable channel since 1997.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - One of the six Chili Bowl restaurants, located at 801 N. La Brea Avenue. The neon sign mounted on the roof reads, "Get the Chili Bowl Habit!"  Photo by Herman Schultheis  

 

Historical Notes

Art Whizin established the Chili Bowl restaurant chain in Los Angeles in 1931, known for its distinctive shape in the form of a chili bowl. Whizin was a 25-year-old former amateur boxer when he established the business on Crenshaw Boulevard near Jefferson Boulevard with funding raised by selling "his wife's wedding ring and his roadster." Other businesses at the time were also modeled with architecture featuring eye-catching architectural depictions of the goods sold including ice a cream cones and coffee kettles.

Chili Bowl restaurants were arranged with 26 stools around a circular counter (no tables) and employed college "kids" as burger flippers. The specialty dish was an open-faced burger smothered in chili and there were 22 restaurants within a decade of the eatery's opening.  After WWII many of the stores were converted into Punch & Judy Ice Cream Parlors that were later closed, and Whizin also built a mall in Agoura Hills that still bears his name.*^

 

 

 
(1961)* - Exterior of Theater Ninety, located at 972 Vine Street at Willoughby Avenue (lower left). A Texaco service station is on the far right. This structure's shape and size give away its former life as a Chili Bowl restaurant; it has since been demolished.  

 

Historical Notes

Four Chili Bowl structures survive, one in Huntington Park, Long Beach that is now the Guadalajara Nightclub, another became Kim Chuy Chinese restaurant on Valley Boulevard in Alhambra, the one on Pico Boulevard (that remained open 24 hours during the war effort for nearby workers), is now Mr. Cecil's California Ribs, and the one on San Fernando Road in Glendale is a used-car dealership.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^** – Panoramic view showing the south side of Sunset at Laurel.  The Crescent Heights Market is on the right, and further to the right (out of frame) is Schwab's Pharmacy.  

 

Historical Notes

The beautiful 1920s 'French Norman revival' building was located on the southeast corner of Sunset Blvd. and Crescent Heights Blvd., just east of the Garden of Allah apartments. The structure faced Sunset Blvd.

 

 

 

 
(1940s)*^^* – Postcard view looking at the south side of Sunset east of Crescent Heights showing “Movieland’s Drug Store” (Schwab’s Pharmacy).  

 

Historical Notes

Today, the 8000 Sunset Strip Shopping Center stands at the northeast corner of Sunset and Crescent Heights. The center includes Trader Joe's, CB2 (Crate & Barrel), Sundance Cinema, Fitness and several offices.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - View of Sunset Boulevard in the city of West Hollywood. It shows the Casanova Restaurant located at 8383 Sunset Blvd.; offering "Dining & Dancing", it dated back to the 1930s. Several automobiles can be seen driving along the winding road, and numerous homes are nestled on the lush hillside. Upon closer inspection, a large castle-like tower can be seen in the distance (seen in top-center of photo). This is the famous Chateau Marmont hotel, located at 8221 Sunset Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Sunset Boulevard, a long winding thoroughfare that begins in downtown Los Angeles and runs westward over 20 miles, ends at the Pacific Ocean near Malibu. The best-known portion of the boulevard is the mile and a half stretch between Hollywood and Beverly Hills, known as "The Sunset Strip".*

The Chateau Marmont Hotel was a great castle on the hill inspired by the architecture of the Loire Valley in France was built in 1927, opened in 1929 as an apartment house, and was changed to a hotel in 1931, becoming the "Hotel to the Stars".*

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)*#*# - Players nightclub on the Sunset Strip, opened by director Preston Sturges during the Summer of 1940. The Chateau Marmont is on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1940 Preston Sturges, successful Hollywood writer and director, opened Players Nightclub. Stars and writers made it their home base. Humphrey Bogart, Dorothy Parker, Robert Benchley, George S. Kaufman (writer of several Marx Brothers movies), and Donald Ogden Stewart (screenwriter of 1938’s Marie Antoinette and 1940’s The Philadelphia Story) all got smashed on The Players’ drinks, which were said to be the most potent in town.

Barbara Stanwyck (Sturges’ leading lady in The Lady Eve), Orson Welles (who stayed next door at the Chateau Marmont when he first came to Hollywood), Joel McCrea (who starred in three of Sturges’ pictures), Rudy Vallee, director William Wyler, and writer William Faulkner were all regulars at their friend’s establishment. Multi-millionaire Howard Hughes became a regular guest. He often dined on the top floor, frequently preferring to eat alone.

At its peak during WWII, The Players was a three-level extravaganza with a restaurant on each floor. There was a barbershop on the mezzanine level. Sturges also built a dinner theatre/dance floor with a revolving, hydraulic stage. Later still, he added a burger stand  for the tourist trade.

The Players never broke even and, by 1953, the burger stand was the only part of The Players still open for business.**##

 

 

 
(ca. 1936)* - Exterior view of the famous Cafe Trocadero located on the Sunset Strip. A second sign below the nightclub name reads, "Phil Ohman's Music."  

 

Historical Notes

The Cafe Trocadero was the center of jitterbug in the 1930s. A black tie French-inspired supper club, the original Trocadero, now demolished, was considered the jewel of the Strip in the 1930s and became synonymous with stars, starlets, movie producers, and fun.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - Night view of the Cafe Trocadero, located at 8610 Sunset Boulevard in what is now West Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally known as the La Boheme from 1929 to 1933, the Café Trocadero was opened by William R. Wilkerson in 1934. Wilkerson was the successful publisher of The Hollywood Reporter who also owned other nightclubs nearby on the Sunset Strip like Ciro's and LaRue.*^

 

 

 
(1936)***^ - Patrons at the Cafe Trocadero before the nightclub was remodeled. Note how the awnings drape around the post of the ornate dual-lamp streetlight. Click HERE to see more in Early Views of LA Streetlights.  

 

Historical Notes

Among the celebrities who frequented the Trocadero were Fred Astaire, Bing Crosby, Cary Grant, Myrna Loy, Jackie Gleason, Henry Fonda, Judy Garland, Lucille Ball, Desi Arnaz, Jean Harlow, and Norma Shearer. The Trocadero was featured in the 1937 movie A Star is Born starring Janet Gaynor and Fredric March.*^

 

 

 
(1938)* - Exterior view of the Cafe Trocadero shortly after it underwent extensive remodeling. Note the art designs on the wall and above each of the doors.  

 

Historical Notes

The building was remodeled in 1938 by new owners Bugsy Siegel and Mickey Cohen.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1945)* - Exterior view of Cafe Trocadera as seen from where Sunset Plaza Drive (foreground) meets Sunset Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

After years of serving as one of Hollywood's best evening destinations, the "Troc" closed in 1946.*

Today, a "new" Trocadero stands as a nightclub at 8610 Sunset Boulevard on the Sunset Strip.*^

 

 

 
(1946)^##* - View looking east of Sunset Plaza located on the 8600 block of W. Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood  

 

Historical Notes

Sunset Plaza is an exclusive shopping complex on the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood that draws an A-list clientele to its designer boutiques and chic sidewalk cafes and restaurants. It is located on both sides of Sunset Boulevard between La Cienega and San Vicente at Sunset Plaza Drive.

 

 

 
(1953)*^^* - View of the Villa Nova Restaurant (previously the Rainbow Bar and Grill) located at 9015 Sunset Boulevard on the Strip.  

 

Historical Notes

Marilyn Monroe went on her first blind date with Joe DiMaggio here in 1953 and Vincent proposed to Judy Garland at the Villa Nova in 1945. When Elmer Valentine, Lou Adler and Mario Maglieri took it over in 1972, they originally wanted to call it "Over The Rainbow" in their honor - but the city would not allow the sign to reach a certain height, so they shortened it to, "The Rainbow".*^^*

 

 

 
(1939)* - Sunset Strip looking north-west, west of La Cienega.  

 

 

 

 
(1939)* - Looking up the palm tree-lined residential area of Normandie and Franklin Avenue. The Planetarium located at the Griffith Park Observatory may be seen in the far background, on the mountain, on a very clear day. Several homes in the Los Feliz area can be seen scattered on the mountain, and numerous automobiles are parked along both sides of the road. Architects John C. Austin and Frederick M. Ashley built the Observatory in 1935; it is located at 2800 E. Observatory Road in Griffith Park.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - This panoramic view taken from behind the Hollywoodland sign captures the structure of the letters as well as Lake Hollywood on the right. Click HERE to see more Early Views of Lake Hollywood and Mulholland Dam.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - View of the back of the Hollywoodland sign capturing the structural supports of each individual letter and the curving mountain roads below.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - Three people hike on a trail below the Hollywoodland sign. Photo by Herman J. Schultheis  

 

 

 

 
(1938)* - View on Paramount Studios lot of "The Old Barn" also known as "Lasky's Barn" where Cecil B. DeMille and Jesse L. Lasky started the first picture studio.  

 

Historical Notes

Cecil B. DeMille rented half of this structure, then used as a barn, as the studio in which was made the first feature-length motion picture in Hollywood-The Squaw Man-in 1913. Associated with Mr. DeMille in making The Squaw Man were Samuel Goldwyn and Jesse Lasky, Sr. Originally located at the corner of Selma and Vine Streets, in 1927 the barn was transferred to Paramount Studios.*

 

 

 
(1956)* - View of celebrities standing on the porch of ‘The Old Barn’ during the California Historical Landmark plaque dedication. From left to right are: Samuel Goldwyn; Jesse Lasky; Cecil B. DeMille; Adolph Zukor; Leo Carrillo and Y. Frank Freeman. Photo dated: December 28, 1956. Location: 2100 N Highland Ave, Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The old barn in which the movie industry was born on December 27, 1913, when Cecil B. DeMille started making "The Squaw Man," was dedicated as California historical landmark No. 554 (Click HERE to see more California Historical Landmarks in Los Angeles).*

 

 

 
(1938)*# - Grand Opening of CBS West Coast Headquarters on Sunset Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

CBS Columbia Square, opened on April 30, 1938, was built for KNX and as the Columbia Broadcasting System's West Coast operations headquarters on the site of the Nestor Film Company, Hollywood's first movie studio. The Christie Film Company eventually took over operation of Nestor Studios and filmed comedies on the site, originally the location of an early Hollywood roadhouse. Prior to moving to Columbia Square, KNX had been situated at several Hollywood locations.*^

 

 

 
(1938)^^^ - Daytime view looking toward the northeast corner of El Centro Ave and Sunset Boulevard showing the newly constructed CBS Columbia Square.  

 

Historical Notes

CBS Columbia Square was designed by Swiss-born architect William Lescaze in the style of International Modernism and built over a year at a cost of two million dollars — more money than had ever been spent on a broadcasting facility.*^

 

 

 
(1939)* - Exterior view of the CBS Columbia Square building located at 6121 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

In early 2009, CBS Columbia Square Studios were designated as a historic-cultural monument by Los Angeles Cultural Heritage Commission.*^

 

 

 
(1939)* - The Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra performs on a stage to an audience at the CBS Columbia Square building for a KNX radio broadcast.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)* - Man sitting at the master control point of CBS, Hollywood Radio Center. Woman is operating the teleplex, an electric typewriter.  

 

Historical Notes

The five-story CBS Columbia Square complex was home to radio stations KNX 1070 and KCBS 83FM, as well as CBS Channel 2 television station.*^

 

 

 
(1939)* - A night view, with neon signs lit, of the exterior of the studio of CBS radio and its L.A. affiliate KNX.  

 

Historical Notes

In 2005, KNX moved into new studios in the Miracle Mile neighborhood on L.A.'s Wilshire Boulevard which it shares with CBS Radio stations KFWB, KTWV, and KRTH. KNX was the last radio station to operate in Hollywood.

In 2007, KCBS-TV and KCAL-TV also left the building and moved their operations to the CBS Studio Center in Studio City, thus ending Columbia Square's status as a broadcast facility.*^

 

 

 
(1938)* - An exterior view of NBC's studio, Hollywood Radio City, located in Hollywood on the northeast corner of Sunset Blvd. and Vine St. The art deco station was designed by John Austin and was built in 1938.  

 

Historical Notes

The West Coast Radio City opened in 1938, the same year as the CBS Columbia Square. It served as headquarters to the NBC Radio Networks' (Red and Blue) West Coast operations and replaced NBC's radio broadcast center in San Francisco, which had been around since the network's formation in 1927.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)#* - Interior view of the front entrance to the studios at NBC Hollywood Radio City. The floor-to-ceiling glass tile windows allows natural light to fill the very large open spaced lobby.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)***# - View of the lobby of NBC’s Hollywood Radio City dominated by 25 x 40 ft. mural painted by Ed Trumbull of New York. Beneath mural is master control room.  

 

 

 

 
(1938)* - Engineer's control room in NBC's Hollywood Radio City.  

 

Historical Notes

NBC’s West Coast Radio City building had 8 large individual studios, four of which had capacity for several hundred people.  The technical facilities included the most modern RCA equipment.*^

 

 

 
(1939)* - Studio "D" in NBC's Hollywood Radio City viewed taken from the back of the stage facing the auditorium.  

 

Historical Notes

In the 1930’s, 40’s, and 50’s the NBC studio complex, coupled with CBS Columbia Square (located just down the street), was home to all the major radio studios that broadcast coast to coast.  It’s where the great personalities of the day, including Bing Crosby, Bob Hope, Jack Benny, Burns and Allen, Al Jolson and many more assembled to entertain America.**^^

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)* - A crowd stands in line waiting to attend the taping of a program at the huge NBC studio complex, located on the northeast corner or Sunset Boulevard and Vine Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The National Broadcasting Company originally used the phrase Radio City to describe their studios at Rockefeller Center in New York City.  When NBC opened their new Hollywood studios at Sunset and Vine in 1938, they placed the words Radio City prominently on the front of their new building.  However, the area between Hollywood Boulevard and Sunset Boulevard on Vine Street became known as Radio City for tourists and locals alike who visited the many radio studios and radio themed cocktail lounges and businesses in the area.**^^

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^^ - View looking northeast at the intersection of Sunset Boulevard and Vine Street. NBC's Radio City stands on the corner. Note the ornate dual-lamp streetlight at the bottom of photo. Click HERE to see more in Early Views of LA Streetlights.  

 

 

 

 
(1940s)* - View of the NBC studio complex located at the northeast corner of Sunset and Vine.  The Broadway Hollywood, Hollywood Plaza Hotel, and the Taft Building can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1940s)^##* - View of a man walking in front of the beautifully sleek streamline moderne architectural design NBC Radio City building.  

 

Historical Notes

Architect: John C. Austin (City Hall, Griffith Observatory, Hollywood Masonic Temple, Shrine Auditorium).*^

 

 

 

 
(1940s)*# - Dusk view of the NBC Hollywood Radio City building on the northwest corner of Sunset and Vine.  

 

Historical Notes

The NBC studio complex stood until 1964 when it was demolished to make room for a Home Savings and Loan bank (now Chase Bank).^##*

 

 

 
(1936)**## - Front view of Crossroads of the World, the world’s first planned outdoor shopping mall located at 6671 Sunset Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Crossroads of the World has been called America's first outdoor shopping mall. Located on Sunset Boulevard and Las Palmas in Los Angeles, the mall features a central building designed to resemble an ocean liner surrounded by a small village of cottage-style bungalows. It was designed by Robert V. Derrah and built in 1936.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)* - Postcard view of Crossroads of the World in Hollywood. Shops at the other end of the building from the tower are in the Spanish Colonial, Tudor, and French Provincial architectural styles.  

 

Historical Notes

Once a busy shopping center, the Crossroads now hosts private offices, primarily for the entertainment industry. It has been used for location shooting in many films, including L.A. Confidential and The Adventures of Ford Fairlane, in TV shows including Dragnet and Remington Steele, and in commercials by McDonald's, Ford and Mattel. A reproduction of Crossroads' iconic tower and spinning globe can be seen just inside the entrance to Disney's Hollywood Studios at Walt Disney World in Florida.*^

 

 

 
(1939)* - Entrance to the Crossroads of the World shopping center designed to look like a Streamline Moderne ship. It has a tall, open tower that is topped with a lighted globe. In the foreground is the John Macsoud shop, located at 6671 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Today, Crossroads is the creative home of a variety of music publishers and producers, television and film script writers, film and recording companies, novelists, costume designers, publicists and casting agencies.*^

 

 

 
(n.d.)*# - Day & Night view of the Cross Roads globe tower.  

 

Historical Notes

The Crossroads can also be seen in the 2012 movie Argo when Tony Mendez (Ben Affleck) and Lester Siegel (Alan Arkin) go to an office there to buy the script for the movie Argo.*^

 

 

 
(1939)* - Exterior view of the Hollywood Station of the U. S. Post Office, located at 1615 No. Wilcox Avenue in Hollywood. The building was designed by Claude Beelman and built in 1937.  

 

 

 

 
(1939)* - View of archway and greenery, Hollyhock House located at 4808 Hollywood Boulevard in Barnsdall Park. The home was built between 1917-1920. Architect: Frank Lloyd Wright. Home has a "pre-Columbian air and stylized hollyhock ornamentation" - Gebhard & Winter, restored by Lloyd Wright (his son).  

 

Historical Notes

Barnsdall Park had its beginning in the early 1900s when Aline Barnsdall came to the West with plans to develop a new theatre company. In 1927, Aline Barnsdall donated the Park and its Frank Lloyd Wright designed structures to the city of Los Angeles, wishing to provide an accessible arts center that incorporated and preserved the famous Hollyhock House as a vital component.*^

Hollyhock House was added to the National Register of Historical Places in 1971 - Building #71000143 and designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #12 in 1963. The 12-acre Barnsdall Park was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #34 in 1965 and Residence A (Barnsdall Park Arts Center) was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #33 in 1965.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^^^ - Exterior view of the Max Factor Building, the "Jewel Box of the Cosmetic World", located at 1666 North Highland Avenue, in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1928 Max Factor purchased the four-story Max Factor Building, formerly the Hollywood Fire Safe Building, known as the Jewel Box of the Cosmetic World and began manufacturing his world-famous make up on the upper floors while transforming the ground floor into a grand salon where fashionable women and celebrities came to see and be seen, as well as to purchase his make-up.*

Famed architect S. Charles Lee designed the building in the so-called Hollywood regency art deco style. Lee was celebrated for his design of many of the grand motion picture theaters in Los Angeles as well as hotels and other signature buildings in the city and elsewhere in California and in Hollywood. #^*#

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)* - Two women are seen walking in front of the Max Factor Make Up Studio located on Highland Avenue just south of Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1935, Max Factor opened the Max Factor Make Up Studio adjacent to his main four-story building. It was fondly nicknamed The Pink Powder Puff.*

Max Factor & Company was founded during 1909 by Maksymilian Faktorowicz, Max Factor, a Polish-Jewish cosmetician from Poland. After immigrating to the United States in 1904 Max Factor moved his family and business to Los Angeles, seeing an opportunity to provide made-to-order wigs and theatrical make-up to the growing film industry. Besides selling his own make-up products he soon became the West Coast distributor of both Leichner and Minor, two leading theatrical make-up manufacturers.*^

 

 

 
(1930s)*^*# – View of a fashionably dressed woman walking in front of the Max Factor Building on the east side of Highland Avenue.  The Hollywood First National Bank stands tall in the background on the northeast corner of Highland Avenue and Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

By 1914 Max Factor had perfected the first cosmetic specifically created for motion picture use — a thinner greasepaint in cream form, packaged in a jar, and created in 12 precisely-graduated shades. Unlike theatrical cosmetics, it would not crack or cake. It was worn for the first time by actor Henry B. Walthall, who served as the model for screen tests.

In 1925 the company received its biggest order to date when it had to complete a rush order to supply 600 gallons of light olive makeup to the set of the movie "Ben-Hur" to ensure that the skin color of the extras used in filming undertaken in America would match that of the darker skinned Italian extras in the scenes filmed in Italy.*^

 

 

 
(2010)*# -  View of the landmark Max Factor Building, currently The Hollywood History Musum, located at 1666 N. Highland Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

Declared L.A. Historic Cultural Monument No. 593 on April 26, 1994, this building eventually became The Max Factor Museum of Beauty. It closed its doors in 1996 but reopened in 2002 as The Hollywood History Museum. It is located at 1666 N. Highland Ave. just one half-block south of Hollywood Boulevard.^

Click HERE to see complete listing of L.A. Historic Cultural Monuments.

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^^ - View looking east on Hollywood Boulevard.  The Warner Theater with its two roof-mounted transmitter towers can be seen on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Wilcox.  

 

Historical Notes

The original KFWB studios and transmitter location were at the Warner Bros. Studios, which is now KTLA, at 5800 Sunset Boulevard. One of the two original towers still stands prominently out front. Due to RF interference getting into the movie studio's "talkies" sound equipment, the transmitter was moved in 1928 to the roof of the Warner Theater, now the Hollywood Pacific Theatre, at 6423 Hollywood Blvd. Eventually the studios were also moved to the Warner Theater. Those two towers are still there, as well.*^

 

 

 
(1940)* - BEFORE SMOG CHECKS - Three cars are driving east from Wilcox on Hollywood Blvd., while on the opposite side two streetcars are coming west past Warners movie theater.
 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)* - A group of people boarding the Pacific Electric Railway car in Hollywood for the Subway Terminal Building via Santa Monica Boulevard circa the 1940s.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Panoramic view of Hollywood looking northwest toward the Cahuenga Pass. The Hollywood Freeway and Cahuenga Pass are visible at the top of the photo, with the San Fernando Valley far off in the distance.  

 

Historical Notes

The cluster of buildings in the middle portion of this urban jungle are: KNX and CBS Radio Playhouse (short, windowless building mid-photo); Plaza Hotel; Broadway Hollywood; Hotel Knickerbocker - which are all along the left side of Vine St.; and the Taft Building - across the street on the right side of Vine Street. The three large white buildings running in an east/west direction along Sunset Blvd. are: CBS Television (long horizontal windows on lower right); the famous Hollywood Palladium (semi-domed white roof, lower middle); and NBC Studios (white building with three long, vertical windows) located on the corner of Sunset and Vine.*

 

 

 
(1940)*^^* - Exterior view of the Hollywood Palladium, located at 6215 West Sunset Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Los Angeles Times publisher Norman Chandler funded the construction of the art deco Hollywood Palladium at a cost of $1.6 million in 1940. It was built where the original Paramount lot once stood by film producer Maurice Cohen and is located between Argyle and El Centro avenues. The style dance hall was designed by Gordon Kaufmann, architect of the Greystone Mansion, the Los Angeles Times building and the Santa Anita Racetrack in Arcadia. He was also the architect for the Hoover Dam and early Caltech dorms.*^

 

 

 
(1940)* - Marquee at the Palladium shows premiere opening of Tommy Dorsey and his orchestra.  

 

Historical Notes

The ballroom opened October 31, 1940 with a dance featuring Tommy Dorsey and his Orchestra and band vocalist Frank Sinatra.  It had six bars serving liquor and two more serving soft drinks and a $1 cover charge and a $3 charge for dinner.*^

 

 

 
(1940s)^#^^ - Hollywood Palladium during WWII. The dance floor is fiilled to capacity.  

 

Historical Notes

During WWII, the Palladium hosted radio broadcasts featuring Betty Grable greeting servicemen’s' song requests. Big Band acts began losing popularity in the 1950s, causing the Palladium to hold charity balls, political events, auto shows, and rock concerts. In 1961, it became the home of the long-running Lawrence Welk Show.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)*^^* - View of Lawrence Welk at the Palladium conducting his 'Polka Music' orchestra.  

 

Historical Notes

The Lawrence Welk Show started in 1951 as a local program on KTLA-TV in Los Angeles. The original show was broadcast from the since-demolished Aragon Ballroom at Venice Beach. The show made its national TV debut on July 2, 1955, and was initially produced at the Hollywood Palladium, moving to the ABC studios at Prospect and Talmadge in Hollywood shortly afterwards. For 23 of its 27 years on the air, the show would originate there. The only seasons not produced there were 1965–66, 1976–77 at the Hollywood Palace and CBS Television City from 1977 to 1979.*^

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - Postcard view of the Hollywood Bowl.
 

 

 

 

 
(1941)* - Photo captions read: "Hollywood Bowl--getting face lifted for July 14 opener: It's pictured in night scene; Bowl enthusiasts will find new 'Meet Me There' circle and other innovations." "Picturesque Hollywood Bowl, home of the 'Symphonies Under the Stars,' will be the scene of a new series between July 15 and Sept. 7. The bowl is shown above with its beautiful panorama of light, color and music."
 

 

 

 

 
(1940)^^ - Panoramic view of the Hollywood Bowl at night, showing spectators.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(1943)**** - Frank Sinatra's Hollywood Bowl debut on August 14, 1943 was the first appearance by a pop singer with the Los Angeles Philharmonic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)**** - View of the Santa Clause Lane Parade in front of Grauman's Chinese Theater.  

 

 

 

 
(1940)**** - Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland at Grauman’s Chinese Theater in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

When “The Wizard of Oz” (1939) was released, Judy and Mickey toured together to promote that film as well as their “Babes in Arms” musical. Mickey would present Judy with her very special Oscar for Best Juvenile Performance that year. They were at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre together when Judy set her hands and feet in cement in 1940.^#*#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Exterior view of neoclassical style Sunset Bowling Center, located at 5858 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1918, the Brothers Warner (Harry, Albert, Sam and Jack) bought 10.2-acres of land in Hollywood from the Beesmyer family at a cost of $25,000. In 1919 they built a giant stage nicknamed The Barn, which measured 50-feet wide by 100- feet long. This stage was torn down in 1923 and was replaced by a collection of smaller stages and buildings.

In 1925, Sam Warner started KFWB radio station on the lot and In 1937, his brother-in-law, Harry Charnas, opened Sunset Bowling Center behind the old executive offices of Warner Bros. Studios. The Sunset Bowling Center was part of a "sports palace" that also contained badminton courts and a skating rink. The 52-lane bowling alley was the largest in the world at that time, with pin boys living in the loft of the building; it operated for ten years.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1941)* - Facade of the Sunset Bowling Center on Sunset Blvd. in Hollywood most likely taken during a bowling tournament held there in 1941. The 1922 building served as the West Coast headquarters of the Warner brothers, Harry, Albert, Sam, and Jack, until 1929. Nearly ten years later the building was converted into a 52 lane bowling alley (seen here).  

 

Historical Notes

In 1954, Paramount bought the site to provide television production facilities for KTLA, which moved to the site in 1958. Gene Autry bought KTLA in 1964, and leased the space from Paramount for three years, after which he bought the property for a whopping $5 million dollars.

n 1982, an investment-banking firm bought the lot and KTLA, and three years later, sold out to the Tribune Company. In January of 2008, Hudson Capital purchased the landmark 1920s Warner Bros. Studio for an astounding $130 million dollars.*

This beautiful building of classical design, which boasts of a big colonnade of Doric columns, was declared Historic-Cultural Monument No. 180 in 1977 by the city of Los Angeles (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1943)* - Postcard view of the Hollywood Canteen for Service Men, located at 1451 N. Cahuenga Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Canteen operated between 1942 and 1945, as a club offering food, dancing and entertainment for servicemen, usually on their way overseas. A serviceman's ticket for admission was his uniform, and everything at the canteen was free of charge.*^

 

 

 
(1942)#^^^ - Abbot and Costello performing one of their routines at opening night of the Hollywood Canteen.  

 

Historical Notes

The driving forces behind its creation were Bette Davis and John Garfield, along with Jules Stein, President of Music Corporation of America. The Canteen was operated and staffed completely by volunteers from the entertainment industry. Stars volunteered to wait on tables, cook in the kitchen and clean up. One of the highlights for a serviceman was to dance with one of the many female celebrities volunteering at the Canteen. The other highlight was the entertainment provided by some of Hollywood's most popular stars, ranging from radio stars to big bands to novelty acts.*^

 

 

 
(1943)*# - View of a long line of servicemen waiting outside the Hollywood Canteen on Cahuenga Blvd. The tall building in the background is the Hollywood Athletic Club on Sunset Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

On September 15, 1943, the one millionth guest walked through the door of the Hollywood Canteen. The lucky soldier, Sgt. Carl Bell, received a kiss from Betty Grable and was escorted in by another beautiful star, including Marlene Dietrich.*^

 

 

 
(1943)* - Marlene Dietrich, Bob Hope and Bette Davis discuss the Hall of Honor which was unveiled at the Hollywood Canteen's first birthday party. Photo dated: November 3, 1943  

 

Historical Notes

A Hall of Honor at the Hollywood Canteen had a wall of photos which honored the film actors who served in the military.

By 1944, the Canteen had become so popular that Warner Bros. made a movie titled Hollywood Canteen. Starring Joan Leslie and Robert Hutton, the film had scores of stars playing themselves. At the time the Canteen closed its doors, it had been host to almost three million servicemen.*^

 

 

 
(1943)* - Photo of The Hollywood Bond Calvacade parading down the street. A long line of jeeps carries a multitude of stars who wave and smile at the crowds.  

 

Historical Notes

During World War II, major Hollywood celebrities participated in many war bond drives, both in Southern California and on major national tours. The Hollywood Bond Calvacade was a 21 day nationwide tour for the Third War Loan drive.*

 

 

 
(1943)^^# - Hollywood celebrities leave for Washington to help in the Third War Loan campaign, Sept. 4, 1943.  

 

Historical Notes

From left: Judy Garland, Fred Astaire (face visible), Greer Garson, Dick Powell, Betty Hutton, Mickey Rooney, Kay Kyser and Lucille Ball.

 

 

 
(1944)*^^ - Spotlights abound at a War Bonds event at the Hollywood Bowl.  

 

Historical Notes

On June 14th, 1944, radio actors and actresses performed at the Hollywood Bowl during a war bond program.  CBS broadcast the event.^

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl.

 

 

 
(1940s)* - Exterior view of a four-story building housing the Central Casting Corp. and various retail shops at 5504 Hollywood Blvd. at Western Avenue. Newman Drug Co. is on the corner.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)^^ - Photograph of an exterior view of Thrifty Drug Store and A&P Market. The one-story Art Deco-style building is pictured on the southwest corner of Sunset Boulevard and Fairfax Avenue. At left, the sidewalk is lined by palm trees. In the right foreground, a motorcyclist makes his way past two parked automobiles.  

 

 

 

 
(1946)#^ - Exterior view of the Crosby Building, located at 9028 Sunset Boulevard. The entrance to the famous (or infamous) Finlandia Baths can be seen on the left.  

 

Historical Notes

The Finlandia Baths were downstairs in the basement of the Crosby Building where a virtual who's who of closeted gay and straight male stars went for a bake or to rub the kinks out or have them rubbed out, as the case may be. Regulars apparently included Kirk Douglas, Cornel Wilde, Humphrey Bogart, Tony Curtis, Hugh O'Brien, Rock Hudson and the Crosby brothers and many others. The building is still there albeit somewhat folded, spindled and mutilated but the bones are still good and still visible. Finlandia Baths have predictably morphed into a tattoo parlor.#^

 

 

 
(ca. 1943)* - Looking west on Santa Monica Boulevard at Formasa Ave with a view of the Samuel Goldwyn Studios. The Red Post Cafe's sign is also seen, later the site of the Formosa Cafe.  

 

Historical Notes

The closest thing to a studio lot was the 18-acre property owned by Pickford and Fairbanks on the corner of Santa Monica Boulevard and Formosa Avenue in Hollywood. It was originally owned by Jesse Durham Hampton, and then became known as the Pickford-Fairbanks Studio.

In the early 1920s, the “lot” was renamed the United Artists Studio and in 1939 it was renamed again the Samuel Goldwyn Studio.^^#^

 

 

 
(n.d.)*##^ - Exterior view of the Formosa Cafe located on the southeast corner of Santa Monica Blvd and Formosa Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The Formosa was founded in 1925 by 1920s prize-fighter Jimmy Bernstein. Bernstein operated his establishment initially in a Red Car trolley located just east of The Lot Studios. In 1945, Lem Quon went into partnership with Bernstein, taking full ownership in 1976 when Berstein died. The restaurant remains in the family with Quom's grandson, Vince Jung, managing it.

Generations of movie stars such as Humphrey Bogart and Clark Gable have eaten meals at The Formosa. Frank Sinatra is reputed to have spent many nights at the Formosa in the 1950s, pining over Ava Gardner.
The interior and exterior of the Formosa Cafe can be seen in the movie L.A. Confidential. Other movies shot here include The Majestic starring Jim Carrey and Still Breathing starring Brendan Fraser.

In the past, the building housing the Formosa has been described as an "unimpressive, brick-red building with white & black striped awnings, it sits in a particularly faded section of Hollywood, near the corner of Santa Monica & La Brea Boulevards - a corner where hookers have been known to peddle their services even in broad daylight." The City of West Hollywood has since cleaned up the area and a new shopping complex, West Hollywood Gateway, opened in 2004 on the same block.*^

 

 

 
(1940s)* - Spotlights draw attention to a film premiere taking place at Grauman's Chinese Theatre, located at 6925 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(1940s)^^ - Looking east down Hollywood Boulevard towards Vine Street and the Broadway-Hollywood Hotel.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)^ - Photograph of Santa Claus Lane in Hollywood at night. The street runs from the foreground at left to the background at right. It is paved, and streetcar tracks can be seen in the middle of it. The road is wet, and the images of surrounding buildings are reflected in the glossy surface. Shops can be seen lining both sides of the road, and Christmas tree-shaped decorations hang on light posts. A streetlight can be seen hanging over the street at center. Legible signs include, from left: "Tailors", "Platt Music Co.", and "Stoner's Shoes".  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce created the Hollywood Christmas Parade in 1928 to boost shopping. Originally called the Santa Claus Lane Parade, the inaugural event featured only Santa Claus and the actress Jeanette Loff.

The parade continued to grow in scale with the help of local businesses and the community. In 1931 Santa Claus rode a truck-pulled float instead of the reindeer-pulled carriage of previous years. American Legion Post 43 marched with a color guard, drum line and bugle corps.*^

 

 

 
(1945)* - A view looking down upon Hollywood Blvd. from the east on the eve of the annual Santa Clause Lane Parade (now called the Hollywood Christmas Parade). Christmas decorations can be seen on the festively lit boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The Parade was suspended from 1942 to 1944 due to World War II, but reopened in 1945 with record attendance.
In 1946 Gene Autry rode his horse in the parade and was inspired by the children yelling "Here comes Santa Claus, Here comes Santa Claus," to write the song "Here Comes Santa Claus" along with Oakley Haldeman.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1945)* - Looking east on Hollywood Blvd from Highland Ave during the holiday season. Christmas tree decorations can be seen on the light standards lining the sidewalks and bell and star decorations hang across the street at regular intervals on this portion of Hollywood Blvd, which is known as Santa Claus Lane. The Hollywood First National Building, First Federal Savings of Hollywood, and J.C. Penney Co. are visible on the left. Pacific Electric streetcar tracks run in both directions down the center of the boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The parade continued to grow throughout the 1950s, '60s, and '70s, adding floats, animals, bands and celebrities. By 1978, the parade had been renamed the Hollywood Christmas Parade in order to attract more celebrities, and was broadcast locally on KTLA-TV with the help of Johnny Grant. This change also coincided with the shift of the parade being held on Thanksgiving Eve to the Sunday after Thanksgiving.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1948)^^^ - Postcard view of Vine Street looking south from the front of The Broadway Hollywood on southwest corner of Hollywood and Vine. The Brown Derby Restaurant can be seen down the block on the east side of Vine.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1945)* - Postcard view of a crowd looking at the electric billboard on the Taft Building. The view is from the north-west corner of Hollywood and Vine looking south-east. An early traffic sign is in the foreground and in the background the distinctive "hat" of the Brown Derby sign is visible.   

 

 

 

 

 
(1940s)^^ - View of the Taft Building at 1680 N. Vine Street, S/E corner of Hollywood and Vine. The Owl Drug Company occupies the street level corner space. An early model bus is pulling through the intersection as pedestrians are crossing the street.  

 

Historical Notes

A.Z. Taft, Jr. purchased the Hollywood Memorial Church on the southeast corner of Hollywood and Vine, tore it down, and built the 12-story Taft Building.  Completed in 1923, the Classical Revival Style building was designed by Percy A. Eisen and Albert R. Walker. All the movie studios had offices in the building as well as actors Charlie Chaplin and Will Rogers. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences also resided there. Even Clark Gable's dentist was located in the building.*^

In 1999, the Taft Building and Neon Sign were designated Historic-Cultural Monument No. 666 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1940s)*^* - Postcard view of the intersection of "World Famous" Owl Drug Store on the ground floor of the Taft Building, southeast corner of Hollywood and Vine.  

 

Historical Notes

The intersection of Hollywood Boulevard and Vine Street in Hollywood  became famous in the 1920s for its concentration of radio and movie-related businesses.

An historical marker plaque placed at the site by The Broadway-Hollywood Department Store reads:

Hollywood was given name by pioneers Mr. and Mrs. Horace H. Wilcox. They subdivided their ranch in 1887 and called two dirt cross-roads Prospect Avenue and Weyse Avenue. Prospect Avenue, the main artery, was renamed Hollywood Boulevard and Weyse Avenue became Vine Street. This was the origin of "Hollywood and Vine."

The streets were renamed in 1910, when the town of Hollywood was annexed by the City of Los Angeles

 

 

 

 

(1944)**** - The corner of Hollywood and Vine. This location is noted for being the "DISCOVERY OF MOVIE STARS" location. The Owl Drug Store can be seen in the background (S/E Corner).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1947)* - View from northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine looking south. The man with the hat in the lower right is standing on the northwest corner. An early traffic sign is in the foreground and in the background the distinctive "hat" of the Brown Derby sign is visible.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1947)*# - View looking west on Hollywod Boulevard at the intersection with Vine Street. The Melody Lane Cafe is on the northwest corner.  

 

 

 

 
(1947)^#^^ - View toward the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine, looking over an ornate two-lamp streetlight. The traffic signal at lower right shows "GO" even though the intersection is full of cross-traffic.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1947)^^^ – View looking northeast toward the Pantages Theatre from the southwest corner of Hollywood and Vine. Owl-Rexall Drug Store is on the southeast corner.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1946, United-Rexall Drug Inc. launched the Owl Superstores chain. In 1947, the company held a gala opening for their new headquarters and first store in Los Angeles, California. The new Hollywood Owl was reported in Life Magazine as 'the World's Biggest Drugstore'.

Rexall gained national exposure through its sponsorship of two famous classic American radio programs of the 1940s and 1950s: Amos and Andy and The Phil Harris-Alice Faye Show. Both shows were often opened by an advertisement from an actor (Griff Barnett) portraying "your Rexall family druggist", and included the catch phrase "Good health to all from Rexall."

In 1958, the Rexall Drug Company was the largest U.S. drug store franchise, with 11,158 stores (for comparison, there are fewer than 12,000 McDonald's restaurants in the U.S. today).*^

 

 

 

 
(1949)* - Postcard view of Hollywood and Vine looking north. The Hotel Knickerbocker can be seen in the upper left. Note the curved one-arm streetlght. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1947)^** - View of Tom Breneman's Own Restaurant, located on Vine Street off Sunset Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Tom Breneman was host of the show Breakfast in Hollywood which aired on the Blue Network, ABC, NBC and Mutual at various times from 1941 to 1948. His  program went through numerous title changes but was best known as Breakfast in Hollywood (1948-49). By the mid-1940s, Breneman had ten million listeners. The popularity of the radio program was such that he created his own magazine, and in 1945 he opened his own establishment that carried his name.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1947)^^ - Tom Breneman's Restaurant was located on Vine Street off Sunset. Breneman broadcast his Breakfast in Hollywood radio program from here in the late 1940s.  

 

Historical Notes

At the age of 46, Breneman died April 28, 1948, in Encino, California, and other hosts, including Garry Moore, stepped in as replacements, but without Breneman, the ratings dropped, and the program came to an end in January 1949.*^

Later in 1949, American Broadcasting Company moved into the building with its AM radio station (KECA).

 

 

 
(1937)* - Cars line the street in this nighttime view of Wilcox from Selma looking north towards Hollywood Boulevard, which captures the Warner Brothers Hollywood Theater in the distance.  

 

Historical Notes

Architect G. Albert Lansburgh designed the Renaissance Revival style Warner Brothers Hollywood Theatre, which opened in 1928. The office space on the upper floors of the building became KFWB radio studios, which used the two radio masts on top of the theater. The building has also been known as the Warner Cinerama Theatre and the Pacific Hollywood Theatre.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - Hollywood Blvd. looking east from Wilcox. On the north side of the boulevard are the Warner Bros. Theater and the Security Bank.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1948)* - Looking east on Hollywood Blvd. at night during the holiday season. The Broadway Hollywood is visible in the background on the right and the Warner Pacific Theatre is seen on the left. Pacific Electric streetcar tracks run in both directions down the center of the boulevard.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1949)^^^ - Postcard view looking north on Vine Street just south of Sunset Boulevard. NBC's Hollywood Radio City can be seen on the corner.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1949)* - Taken from across the street, this view captures the National Broadcasting Company studios, located on the northeast corner of Sunset Boulevard and Vine Street.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1964 the West Coast Radio City building was demolished, as NBC moved more of their West Coast television operations to the Burbank facility. The site is now occupied by a bank.*^

 

 

 
(1949)* - View of several customers parked outside Tiny Naylor's restaurant, located at Sunset Boulevard (forground) and La Brea Avenue. Designed by Douglas Honnold in 1949, this establishment remained open until 1984.  

 

 

 

 
(1948)* - Aerial view of the San Fernando Valley. View shows the "HOLLYWOODLAND" sign on the mountain. The letter "H" is missing. Within months of the time this photo was taken the sign would be shortened to read "HOLLYWOOD". Photo dated: December 13, 1948.
 

 

Historical Notes

The HOLLYWOODLAND sign was erected in 1923 to advertise a new housing development in the hills above the Hollywood district of Los Angeles. In 1949 the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce contracted to repair and rebuild the sign. The contract stipulated that “LAND” be removed to reflect the district, not the housing development.*

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the San Fernando Valley

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^^ - Panoramic aerial view of Hollywood showing the Chauenga Pass as it heads towards the San Fernando Valley.  The major street running from bottom left diagonally up toward the Cahuenga Pass is Highland.  The Security Pacific Bank building tower on Hollywood and Highland can be seen at left-center of photo.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1943)^^ - View of Cahuenga Pass with light traffic on February 16, 1943.  

 

Historical Notes

The first segment of the Hollywood Freeway built was a one and a half mile stretch through the Cahuenga Pass. That segment opened on June 15, 1940. It was then known as the "Cahuenga Pass Freeway." Pacific Electric Railway trolleys ran down the center of this freeway until 1952.*^

 

 

 

 
(1947)*^#* – Postcard view showing the Cahuenga Pass Freeway (later Hollywood Freeway), the “Gateway to Hollywood”.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1948)* - View of Cahuenga Pass showing one road of cars end to end heading into the City from the San Fernando Valley during rush hour traffic.  

 

 

 

 
(1952)^^ -  View of Cahuenga Pass during rush hour traffic on a rainy morning.  

 

 

 

 
(1949)* - View of the roads, rail lines, and cars traveling through the Cahuenga Pass, the most important section of the Hollywood Freeway, which is the "gateway" that opens fast traffic from the rich San Fernando Valley into Hollywood and the heart of metropolitan Los Angeles. The short city-built Cahuenga Pass Freeway was opened on June 15, 1940.  

 

 

 

 
(1949)* - Early morning view of Cahenga Pass as cars head into Hollywood and metropolitan Los Angeles from the San Fernando Valley.  

 

 

 

 
(1952)*^# - A Pacific Electric Red Car headed south in the median of the Hollywood Freeway near Barham.  

 

Historical Notes

1952 was the last year Pacific Electric Railway trolleys ran down the center of the "Cahuenga Pass Freeway", (Hollywood Freeway).*^

 

 

 

 
(1952)* - This scene is just two blocks north of the famous intersection of Hollywood and Vine, the "Heart of Hollywood." Steel reinforced columns jutting from the hillside will soon support new, wide ribbons of concrete approaching Cahuenga Boulevard. Freeway will be a boon to Valley motorists who use Cahuenga Pass. Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the San Fernando Valley.  

 

 

 

 
(1952)* - Eastbound streetcar and motor traffic uses the new Hollywood Boulevard bridge spanning the Hollywood Freeway near Bronson Avenue.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1953)* - View, looking north, showing the construction progress of the Hollywood Freeway through Cahuenga Pass.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1953)* - View of Cahuenga Pass. All Highland Avenue detour traffic now pours into Cahuenga Boulevard while work continues on the northerly links of the Hollywood Freeway. The new link, of course, also discharges its travelers onto Cahuenga.  

 

Historical Notes

The second section of the Hollywood Freeway that stretched from the San Fernando Valley to Downtown Los Angeles opened on April 16, 1954 at a cost of $55 million.*^

 

 

 
(1954)* - View looking north at Cahuenga Boulevarfd in front of the Hollywood Bowl, shortly before the second segment of the Hollywood Freeway was completed. Automobiles are backed, bumper to bumper for miles, as the final stages of construction wrap up.  

 

 

 

 
(1940)* - Night view of the statue and sign at the Hollywood Bowl entrance.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl

 

 

 

 

 
(1945)*# - "Los Angeles Life Fun Map" distributed by Santa Fe Bus Lines and the Glass House Restaurant. Map highlights all the must see places in Los Angeles during the 1940s (i.e. Hollywood Bowl at very top of photo and also the Pantages Theater at top right-center).  

 

 

 

 
(1945)* - Exterior view of Grauman's Chinese Theatre, where a premiere is taking place. A large banner to the right of the theater announces the film, "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn."  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)* - Daytime view of Grauman's Chinese Theatre, located at 6925 Hollywood Blvd., as seen from across the street. It is one of Hollywood's most beautiful theaters.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1968, Grauman's (Now Mann's) Chinese Theatre was dedicated LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 55 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 

 
(1953)**** - Marilyn Monroe and Jane Russell at Grauman’s Chinese Theater in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

While promoting their hit movie “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes”, Marilyn Monroe and Jane Russell were invited by Grauman’s Chinese Theatre to place their hand and footprints in the theatre’s famed cement forecourt on June 26, 1953.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)* - Name of the star-crossed beauty is emblazoned on the sidewalk of Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Walk of Fame comprises more than 2,500 five-pointed terrazzo and brass stars embedded in the sidewalks along 15 blocks of Hollywood Boulevard and three blocks of Vine Street.

Locations of individual stars are not necessarily random or arbitrary. Stars of most legendary and world-famous celebrities—the so-called "show business royalty"—are found in front of TCL (formerly Grauman's) Chinese Theatre. Oscar winners' stars are usually placed near the Dolby Theatre, site of the annual Academy Awards presentations. Location decisions are made by the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)* - View at dusk, neon signs lit, looking northward on Vine Street from Selma Ave. On the left, The Broadway Hollywood, Plaza Hotel, Mobilgas ; on the right, Equitable Bldg., Taft Bldg., The Brown Derby Coffee Shop  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)* - Vine Street looking northward from Selma Avenue. View of the Equitable building, Taft building, Brown Derby coffee shop, Western Air Lines. Atop the Taft building a very large neon sign for Miller high life beer. Architects of the Taft Building were Walker and Eisen.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1999, the Taft Building and Neon Sign were designated Historic-Cultural Monument No. 666 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1950)* - Exterior view of the Pantages Theatre during the 20th Annual Academy Awards. Crowds of people are seated in bleachers directly outside the theater and on the south side of Hollywood Blvd. A line of cars is seen in the middle of the boulevard. Various signs identify neighboring buildings and businesses: Army Navy store, the Equitable Building, Bond Clothiers, Bank of America, Cinerama and the Guaranty Building. Street car tracks are visible on the street.   

 

Historical Notes

From 1950 to 1960, the awards were presented at Hollywood's Pantages Theatre.

The 22nd Academy Awards Ceremony awarded Oscars for the best in films in 1949. This was the last year for which all five Best Picture nominees were in black and white.*^

Best Picture: All the King's Men

Best Actor: Broderick Crawford – All the King's Men

Best Actress: Olivia de Havilland – The Heiress

 

 

 
(1951)* - The 23rd Annual Academy Awards at the Pantages Theatre in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The 23rd Academy Awards Ceremony awarded Oscars for the best in films in 1950. The nominations were notable this year, as All About Eve was nominated for fourteen Oscars, beating the previous record of thirteen set by Gone with the Wind.*^

23rd Annual Academy Awards (March 29, 1951):

Best Picture: All About Eve

Best Actor: José Ferrer – Cyrano de Bergerac

Best Actress: Judy Holliday – Born Yesterday

 

 

 
(1956)* - View of the crowd gathered in front of the Pantages Theater in Hollywood to watch the stars come out for the Academy Awards. More than 10,000 gathered in front of the famed theater on March 21, 1956, to cheer their favorites. More than 90 regular and reserve policemen were needed to keep the crowd in order.  

 

Historical Notes

The 28th Academy Awards, saw, Marty, a simple and low-budget film usually uncharacteristic of Best Picture awardees, became the shortest film (as well as the second Palme d'Or winner) to win the top honor.*^

28rd Annual Academy Awards (March 21, 1956):

Best Picture: Marty

Best Actor: Ernest Borgnine – Marty

Best Actress: Anna Magnani – The Rose Tattoo

 

 

 

 
(1958)* - 30th Annual Academy Awards at the Pantages Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

1957's best films were honored at the 30th Academy Awards. 

The Oscar for Writing Based on Material From Another Medium was awarded to Pierre Boulle for The Bridge on the River Kwai, despite the fact that he did not know English. The actual writers, Carl Foreman and Michael Wilson were blacklisted at the time and did not receive screen credit for their work. Foreman and Wilson have since been acknowledged by the Academy for their contributions.

Joanne Woodward's win for Best Actress for her triple role as Eve White, Eve Black and Jane in The Three Faces of Eve marked the film as the last film to win Best Actress without being nominated for other awards. This was broken 31 years later when Jodie Foster won Best Actress for her role in The Accused, the film's only nomination.

Peyton Place tied the record for the most nominations without a single win (9) with The Little Foxes. It would not be broken until 1977 when The Turning Point received 11 nominations without a win, which has not been broken since, though The Color Purple subsequently tied the record. Peyton Place also set the record for most unsuccessful acting nominations with five; this record has been tied once, by Tom Jones at the 36th Academy Awards.

It was the first time the ceremonies were broadcast live.*^

30th Academy Awards (March 26, 1958):

Best Picture: The Bridge on the River Kwai

Best Actor: Alec Guinness – The Bridge on the River Kwai

Best Actress: Joanne Woodward – The Three Faces of Eve

 

 

 

 
(1959)* - Photograph caption dated April 7, 1959 reads, "Theater lobby packed - Here at the last moment, crowds of ticket holders make a rush for the Hollywood Pantages door in anticipation of the two-hour telecast of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 31st annual awards presentation. More than 100 famed stars were on hand to regale the packed audience.".  

 

Historical Notes

The 31st Academy Awards ceremony was held on April 6, 1959, to honor the best films of 1958. The show's producer, Jerry Wald, started cutting numbers from the show to make sure it ran on time. Unfortunately, he cut too much material and the ceremony ended 20 minutes early, leaving Jerry Lewis to attempt to fill in the time. Eventually, NBC cut to a re-run of a sports show.

The film Gigi won nine Oscars, breaking the previous record of eight (set by Gone with the Wind and tied by From Here to Eternity and On the Waterfront). It would be shortlived, however, as Ben-Hur broke the record with eleven Oscars the following year.*^

31st Annual Academy Awards (April 6, 1959):

Best Picture:Gigi

Best Actor: David Niven – Separate Tables

Best Actress: Susan Hayward – I Want to Live!

 

 

 
(1954)* - Opening night--celebrities and first nighters are shown arriving at the new million dollar theater, the Huntington Hartford Theater, for its premiere performance. Movie fans standing in bleachers cheer as screen stars enter the lobby of the theater. Photo dated: October 2, 1954.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1954, Mr. Huntington Hartford bought the building for $200,000 from Columbia Broadcasting and extensively remodeled and “modernized” the theater at an additional cost of $750,000. He streamlined the building from the facade, to the lobby and through the auditorium. Hartford ran the theater successfully for ten years.^^*

 

 

 
(1954)^^ – Interior view of the Huntington Hartford Theater during the opening of "What Every Woman Knows" with Helen Hayes. Location: 1615 North Vine Street  

 

Historical Notes

In 1964 Hartford sold the theater to James Doolittle (owner of the Greek Theater in the Hollywood Hills) for $850,000. Cary Grant had tried to buy the building, but lost over Doolittle. The theater was (not surprisingly) renamed the Doolittle Theater.

Eventually, the theater would run down into disrepair. Until bought in 2000 by the U.C.L.A. performing arts group “Nosotros”, an organization founded in 1970 by actor Ricardo Montalban “to help fulfill the goals of persons of Spanish-speaking origin in the motion picture and television industry”. The founding board included members Desi Arnaz, Vicki Carr and Anthony Quinn.

This theater is often mistaken for other Hollywood theaters, most often with the Hollywood Playhouse at 1735 Vine Street, which in the 1960’s became famous as the Hollywood Palace TV show venue. That theater still stands one block to the north. The Ricardo Montalban Theater has even been confused with the former Jerry Lewis Theater and the El Capitan Theater, which are blocks away.^^*

 

 

 
(1955)*^^* – View looking south on Orchid Avenue toward Hollywood Boulevard.  The Hollywood Masonic Temple is seen on the other side of Hollywood Boulevard at the T-intersection.  

 

Historical Notes

Orchid Avenue at Hollywood Boulevard "disappeared" during the construction of the Hollywood Highland complex in the late 90s. The other half of the street still exists and can be accessed off of Franklin Ave, the next street north of Hollywood Blvd.

 

 

 
(1939)*# - View showing a bus making a right turn onto Hollywood Blvd. from Orchid Ave. The Hollywood Hotel is seen on the north side of Hollywood Blvd. between Orchid and Highland. Today, both this section of Orchid Avenue and the Hollywood Hotel are gone. In their place stands the Hollywood and Highland Entertainment Complex.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1945)*^* - View of the P.E. No. 707 (San Fernando Valley Line), north bound on Highland Avenue at Hollywood Boulevard. People are lined up as they get ready to board both electric cars. The Owl Drug Store is seen on the southwest corner. The Hollywood Hotel is directly across the street, northwest corner of Hollwood and Highland.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)* - Looking west on Hollywood Blvd. from Western Ave. Cars dating from the early 1950's and earlier and a streetcar are seen.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1955)* - View of Hollywood Boulevard looking west from the corner of Las Palmas Avenue. Various businesses, restaurants, bookstores, theaters, and banks are found on the north and south sides on the boulevard, where traffic is flowing in both directions. On the left, a sign identifies the stage production of Oklahoma! taking place at the Egyptian Theatre. First National Bank of Hollywood, located at 6381 Hollywood Boulevard, is visible in the center of the image and the Chinese Theatre is present in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1955)* - A Hollywood Boulevard Pacific Electric Railway car that goes to Subway Terminal Building. The street sign says "Sunset Boulevard."  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1955)*^* - Cruising Hollywood Boulevard heading east. Grauman’s Chinese Theatre can be seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1955)* - Hollywood Freeway. View looking north from Mulholland Drive bridge shows traffic, backed up because of a car accident on the freeway. A sign of more things to come as the City continues to grow.  

 

 

 

 
(1956)* - Looking northeast over the Sunset Strip in what is now West Hollywood. Off of Sunset Boulevard (left of center running from the foreground to the middle), are several landmarks, including the Argyle Hotel, aka Sunset Tower (center), Ciro's, and the Chateau Marmont (left of center). Fountain Avenue, which runs parallel with Sunset Boulevard, is seen in the foreground, veering to the right as it continues on into the background.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by Leland A. Bryant, an architect known for luxurious structures, the Sunset Tower (Argyle Hotel) has been a popular destination since it opened. Over the years, it has served as the residence for many celebrities, including Frank Sinatra, Howard Hughes, Elizabeth Taylor, Zasu Pitts, Bugsy Siegel, Errol Flynn and Marilyn Monroe. The hotel has also appeared in a number of films and books.*

 

 

 
(1954)^^ - Aerial view of Hollywood facing northeast with snow-capped San Gabriel Mountains in the far distance.  Hollywood Boulevard runs diagonally from lower-left corner to upper-right.  The Art Deco/Gothic style First National Bank Building is seen in the lower left on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Highland. The Hollywood Freeway is in the center-left.  

 

 

 

 
(1956)* - Aerial view of the Hollywood business district, with the Capitol Records Building visible middle right; view is looking north. Other visible buildings include: Pantages Theater, E.F. Hutton Building, Broadway Hollywood, Hotel Knickerbocker, Guaranty Building, and Hollywood Taft Building. The streets are (diagonally, l to r): Selma Avenue, Hollywood Boulevard, and Yucca Street; and (bottom to top) Gower Street, Argyle Avenue, Vine Street, Ivar Avenue, and Cahuenga Boulevard, to name a few. The Hollywood (101) Freeway is visible along the right. Photograph dated June 16, 1956.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960s)* - Aerial view of Hollywood and its surrounding areas. Cars may be seen travelling the Hollywood Freeway. Traffic going north is towards the Valley, going south is towards Los Angeles. The Hollywood Reservoir is in the hills above Hollywood. Capitol Records building (built in 1954) is in the middle foreground of this photo (it is the cylindrical shaped building whose shape is devised from the vision of a stack of records.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Mulholland Dam and Hollywood Reservoir

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1947)* - View looking south on Vine Street at Sunset Blvd.  Various businesses are seen, including the Wallich's Music City (right).  Billboards and signs promote various types of products and beverages, such as locally brewed Eastside Beer.  

 

Historical Notes

Wallichs Music City was located on the northwest corner of Sunset & Vine and operated from 1940 to 1978. Owner Glenn E. Wallichs had started Capitol Records, along with Tin Pan Alley songsmith Johnny Mercer and ex-Paramount movie producer Buddy De Sylva from a small office a little further south down Vine Street in 1942 and moved to larger offices above the store in 1946. After Capitol Records moved into The Capitol Tower in 1956 the offices become the home of Dot Records.*^

 

 

 
(n.d.)^^## - View of a young man shuffling through albums while his girl friend looks on at the Wallichs Music City store.  

 

Historical Notes

Wallichs Music City was one of the first-known music stores to seal record albums in cellophane and put them in display racks for customers to browse. The racks were tabletop height trapezoid-shaped browser boxes (designed by Capitol Records' Frederick Rice) that allowed the covers they contained to be viewed like a card index without damaging the sleeves. The store was also the first to have demonstration booths for listening to records.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1949)^^^ - Postcard view of the American Broadcasting Company's Building on the west side of Vine Street north of Sunset Boulevard.  This is the same building once occuppied by Tom Breneman's Restaurant.  

 

Historical Notes

American Broadcasting Company broadcast its radio station, KECT from this building.  The 790 AM station's callsign was named after Los Angeles broadcasting pioneer Earle C. Anthony, whose initials were also present on then-sister TV Channel 7, KECA-TV (now KABC-TV).*^

In the forties four big national networks dominated the radio industry. The network affiliations were KECA (790 AM, ABC), KFI (640 AM, NBC), KNX (1070 AM, CBS) and KHJ (930 AM, Mutual-Don Lee).

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950)* - Looking north on Vine Street from Sunset Boulevard. Lots of automobile and pedestrian traffic. Signage on various buildings include Capitol Records, American Broadcasting Company, The Broadway Hollywood, The Brown Derby, and NBC.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)^^ - Looking north on Vine Street toward Sunset and Vine showing the neon signs on display.
 

 

 

 

 
(1950s)^##* - View of Vine Street looking north, ilumminated by both streetlights and neon signs.  

 

 

 

 
(1940s)^^^ - Postcard view of the Hollywood Hotel on the northwest corner of Hollywood and Highland.  The hotel’s florist shop fronts Highland and can be seen in the lower right.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1956)**# - Night view of the Hollywood Hotel shortly before it would be razed.  

 

Historical Notes

Though the Hollywood Hotel housed many of the great stars in its day, it was razed in August 1956 to make way for a $10 million development, with a twelve story office building for the First Federal Savings & Loan Association of Hollywood, a shopping center and parking lots.*^

 

 

 
(1956)^#^* – View showing the demolition of the Hollywood Hotel, N/W corner of Highland and Hollywood, with only its florist shop left standing. Both the Chinese Theatre and the Roosevelt Hotel are seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

In 2001, the Hollywood and Highland entertainment complex, which includes the Hollywood and Highland Center, the current home of the Academy Awards, was constructed on the site.*^

 

 

 
(1953)*^* - View of Hollywood Blvd. looking east from the roof of the Roosevelt Hotel. The Hollywood Hotel and the Security First National Bank building can be seen at the intersection of Highland Ave and Hollywood Blvd.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1957)* - Aerial nighttime view of the Hollywood skyline, with klieg light beacons for movie premieres. View is looking  east on Hollywood Boulevard from Highland Avenue. Building on left: Security First National Bank with tower. Right: Paramount Theatre.  

 

 

 

 
(1961)* - Exterior view of the Hollywood Ranch Market, located at 1234-1248 Vine Street. The market with its large neon sign and the neighboring Art Linkletter Playhouse are clearly visible. Remnants of the original Chinese influenced architecture from when the building served as the Mandarin Market are visible above the roof line in the center of the photograph.  

 

 

 

 
(1961)* - Exterior night view of the Hollywood Ranch Market. The market's neon sign with a clock reads, "We never close" and "Shop around the clock." This side view only allows one of the market's vendors, the snack bar, to be visible.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1958)*^^* - Nighttime view, looking south, of the intersection of Vine and Yucca streets. The Capitol Records Building stands tall near the southeast corner.  

 

 

 

 
(1960)*^^* - Cruising down Hollywood Boulevard on a Saturday night in a shining new 1959 Pontiac Coupe. Life is Good!  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)^*#* - View looking north on Vine St. just north of Hollywood Blvd. Du-par's Restaurant is open for business. In the background stands the Capitol Records Building.  

 

Historical Notes

The first Du-par's was founded in 1938 at the Los Angeles Farmers Market by James Dunn and Edward Parsons, who combined their surnames to create the restaurant's name. The chain was purchased in 2004 by an investor group led by W.W. "Biff" Naylor, the son of noted California restaurateur Tiny Naylor. Du-par's expanded in 2009 to include several locations from the bankrupt Bakers Square chain.*^

 

 

 
(1960s)**** - Daytime holiday view of Hollywood and Vine with the Capitol Records Building in background.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1956)*^^ - Long exposure of Hollywood and Vine at night. Capitol Records Building is in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1960)* - View shows the Capitol Records Building (left) and Knickerbocker Hotel (right). Capitol Records, located on Vine Street, is a unique 13-story, 150 ft. high-rise cylindrical building that was built in 1956 by architect Welton David Becket and contractor C. L. Peck Co.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hotel Knickerbocker, a Renaissance Revival/Beaux Arts building located on Ivar Avenue, began life as a luxury apartment building that was at the heart of Hollywood back in the 1920s, before becoming a hotel later in its history. It's been linked with tragic deaths and because of this, it is considered haunted by some. Some unfortunate occurrences: D.W. Griffith died of a stroke on July 21, 1948 under the crystal chandelier of the lobby; a costume designer named Irene jumped to her death from a hotel window; William Frawley, who lived at the hotel for decades, died of a heart attack on the sidewalk in front of the Knickerbocker. Other stars that frequented the hotel with better luck were: Rudolph Valentino, Elvis Presley, Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio, Frank Sinatra, Lana Turner, Mae West, and Cecil B. DeMille among many, many others.*^

 

 

 
(1962)* - The iconic Capitol Records building needle lit as a Christmas tree, 1750 Vine Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Capitol Records Building, also known as the Capitol Records Tower, is a thirteen story tower designed by Welton Becket – and one of the city's landmarks. Construction was contracted by British company EMI soon after its 1955 acquisition of Capitol Records, with completion in April 1956. Located just north of the intersection of Hollywood and Vine and consolidating the West Coast operations of Capitol Records, the structure is home to the recording studios and echo chambers of Capitol Studios — and is listed as LA Historical – Cultural Monument  #857 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

The blinking light atop the tower spells out the word "Hollywood" in Morse code, and has done so since the building's opening in 1956. This was an idea of Capitol's then president, Alan Livingston, who wanted to subtly advertise Capitol's status as the first record label with a base on the west coast. The switch was initially activated by Leila Morse, the granddaughter of Samuel Morse.  In 1992 it was changed to read "Capitol 50" in honor of the label's fiftieth anniversary. It has since returned to spelling "Hollywood". A black and white graphic image of the building appeared on the albums of many Capitol recording artists, with the phrase, "From the Sound Capitol of the World".*^

 

 

 
(1999)* - Detail of the awnings of the Capitol Records Building in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The wide curved awnings over windows on each story and the tall spike emerging from the top of the building coincidentally resembling a stack of records on a turntable. The rectangular ground floor is a separate structure, joined to the tower after completion. The tower incorporates 13 stories, to conform to the 150-foot zoning height limit that was in place at the time of its construction. Earthquake height restrictions were later lifted in 1964.*^

 

 

 
(1963)* - View shows the exterior of this domed-shaped theater and the crowds of people at the entranceway awaiting for celebrities to arrive for the premiere of "Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World."  

 

Historical Notes

In February 1963, Cinerama Inc. unveiled a radically new design for theaters which would show its movies. They would be based on the geodesic dome developed by R. Buckminster Fuller, would cost half as much as conventional theaters of comparable size, and could be built in half the time. Cinerama's goal was to see at least 600 built worldwide within two years. The following April, Pacific Theatres Inc. announced plans to build the first theater based upon the design, and had begun razing existing buildings at the construction site.

Located on Sunset near Vine Street, it would be the first new major motion picture theater in Hollywood in 33 years, and would be completed in time for the scheduled November 2 press premiere of It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World. The design was adapted by the noted architectural firm of Welton Becket and Associates.*^

 

 

 
(1980)* - In the early 1900's a mansion stood here with a large garden of string beans. Today, a long line of movie-goers await to see "The Blue Lagoon" at the Cinerama Dome Theater on Sunset Boulevard, July 8, 1980.  

 

 

 

 
(1988)* - Exterior view of the Cinerama Dome Theatre on Sunset Boulevard. This year (1988) is the 25th Anniversary of the Cinerama Dome.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1998, the Pacific Cinerama Dome Theater was designated Historic-Cultural Monument No. 659 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1987)* - Looking east from the Hollywood Hills, L.A.'s skyline appears clear and bright as does Hollywood and its distinctive Cinerama Dome.  

 

 

 

 
(1964)^**# - The Hollywood Bowl Marquis when the Beatles were in town performing their first of two performances. They would appear again in 1965.  

 

Historical Notes

Tickets went on sale four months before the concert and sold out in 3 1/2 hours. Hundreds of teenage girls camped out overnight on Highland Avenue and the next day the line went from the Bowl entrance nearly to Hollywood Boulevard. At the concert, the screaming of the crowd was so loud, no one could hear the music. After the concert, kids mobbed the backstage area. The producers used a limo as a decoy while putting the Beatles in a Dodge Dart and getting them out before the kids realized they were gone.^**#

Bob Eubanks booked The Beatles' for the August 23, 1964 performance at the Hollywood Bowl.  Capitol Records recorded their performance with the intent of releasing a live album, however, the sound quality of the tapes proved to be inadequate for commercial release.*^

 

 

 
(1965)^**# - The Beatles performing on stage at the Hollywood Bowl on August 29, 1964.  

 

Historical Notes

The Beatles returned the following year for two more shows: August 29th and 30th, 1965. After the previous year's pandemonium, the Bowl's management tried to avoid a panic situation by hiring a Brinks armored truck to bring the Beatles to and from their hotel.

Since then, virtually every rock star (with the possible exception of Elvis) has played the Bowl.^**#

Capitol Records again recorded the two performances by the group as they did the previous year. The sound quality of the 1965 recordings was again disappointing. Capitol did, however, utilize a 48-second excerpt of "Twist and Shout" from the 1964 Hollywood Bowl concert on the 1964 documentary album, The Beatles' Story.*^

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - View of the Hollywood Bowl, as seen from the hillside looking towards the shell. Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Bowl reflecting pool in front of the stage was installed in 1953 and removed only 19 years later in 1972.*^

 

 

 
(1968)* - View of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra performing at the Hollywood Bowl.  

 

 

 

 
(1980)* - Exterior of Schwab's Pharmacy at 8024 Sunset Boulevard, in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Schwab's Pharmacy was a popular hangout for movie actors and movie industry dealmakers from the 1930s through the 1950s. Like many drug stores in the United States throughout the mid-twentieth century, Schwab's sold medicines and had a counter serving ice cream dishes and light meals.

A persistent Hollywood legend has it that actress Lana Turner was "discovered" by director Mervyn LeRoy while at the soda counter at Schwab's. While the 16-year-old Turner was indeed discovered at a soda counter, the actual location was not Schwab's but another Sunset Boulevard establishment, the Top Hat Cafe, and the person who discovered her was not LeRoy but Hollywood Reporter publisher William Wilkerson.

Schwab's closed its doors in October 1983. Five years later, on October 6, 1988, Schwab's was demolished to make way for a shopping complex and multiplex theater.*^

 

 

 
(1974)^#^^ – View looking west on Hollywood Boulevard at Gower Street during the filming of "Earthquake".  Actress Victoria Principal is in the leather jacket standing by the curb.  

 

 

 

 
(1986)^#^ - View of Hollywood Boulevard looking west near Bronson Street. The Hollywood Hills can be seen in the distance.  

 

 

 

 
(1989)^^^ - View of Hollywood from Mulholland Drive. The Hollywood Bowl can be seen in the foreground and the Hollywood Freeway is to the left. In the far distance can be seen Downtown L.A. and the Wilshire corridor.  

 

 

 

 
(1992)* - Aerial view of Hollywood, looking south from near where the 101 Freeway (foreground) crosses Vine Street. Various landmarks, streets, office buildings, businesses, and homes are visible throughout the image.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1970s)*^ - View of the Hollywood Sign in disrepair during the 1970s.  

 

Historical Notes

Over the course of more than half a century, the sign, designed to stand for only 18 months, sustained extensive damage and deterioration.*^

 

 

 
(1970s)**^* - The Hollywood sign went from a deteriorated wooden structure to today’s metal structure in the late 1970s.  

 

Historical Notes

By the 1970s, the first O had splintered and broken, resembling a lowercase u, and the third O had fallen down completely, leaving the severely dilapidated sign reading "HuLLYWO D".*^

In 1978, in large part because of the public campaign to restore the landmark by shock rocker Alice Cooper (who donated the missing O, the Chamber set out to replace the severely deteriorated sign with a more permanent structure. Nine donors gave $27,700 each (totaling $249,300) to sponsor replacement letters made of steel, guaranteed to last for many years.*^

 

 

 
(1970s)**^* - For a short time during the reconstruction period the sign was completely gone from the mountain.  

 

Historical Notes

Following the 1978 public campaign to restore the sign, the following nine donors gave $27,777 each (which totaled $250,000):*^

H – Terrence Donnelly – publisher of the Hollywood Independent Newspaper
O – Giovanni Mazza – Italian movie producer
L – Les Kelley – originator of the Kelley Blue Book
L – unknown
Y – Hugh Hefner – founder of Playboy magazine
W – Andy Williams – singer
O – Warner Bros. Records
O – Alice Cooper – singer, who donated in memory of comedian Groucho Marx
D – Thomas Pooley — donated in the name of Matthew Williams

 

 

 
(ca. 1978)**^* - View of a newly reburbished Hollywood Sign.  

 

Historical Notes

The sign has been painted several times since it was installed, however a recent project completed on December 4, 2012, removed all of the old paint and the sign is now painted on both sides.**^*

 

 

 

 
(1984)**^* - Painters working on the Hollywood sign to spruce it up for Olympics visitors. This view gives a true perspective of the size of the letters. A painter suspended on the side of the letter 'L' can be seen  

 

 

 

 

 
(1995)**^* - Painters often have to climb the 45-foot letters from eight to 10 times a day while working on the job.  

 

 

 

 
(1988)* - A helicopter is seen flying an oversized Oscar statue over the Hollywood Sign in preparation for the 60th Academy Awards presentation on April 11, 1988 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - Aerial view of the Hollywood sign on a crystal clear day. Over the crest of the Hollywood Hills can be spotted a plume of smoke in the distant San Gabriel Mountains.  

 

 

 

 
(1976)***^ - The Hollywood sign was altered to read HOLLYWeeD in January 1976, following the passage of a state law decriminalizing marijuana.  

 

Historical Notes

Although the city has occasionally allowed it in the past for commercial purposes, current policy does not permit changes to the Hollywood sign. This is largely due to neighborhood opposition and to past accidents. However, the sign has been unofficially altered a number of times, often eliciting a great deal of attention.

Click HERE to see a list of alterations.*^

 

 

 
(1986)* - The placement by helicopter of the 45-foot-by-45-foot Roman numeral II was one of several projects sponsored by Hollywood II, a coalition of citizens and businesses promoting the revitalization of Hollywood as a major area for growth.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1987)* - Movie characters and look-alikes, such as Laurel and Hardy, Woody Woodpecker, pose under the Hollywood sign on the occasion of its sale to Universal Studios for advertising purposes.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(2005)*^ - Close-up view of the Hollywood sign as seen from Hollywood Blvd with a telephoto lens.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2011)^##* - Hollywood and Vine - One of the most famous intersections in the world.  

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)***^ - View of the Capitol Records Building during the holidays. Each year, they add the Xmas tree to help make the city a little more festive.  

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - Outline of Griffith Observatory is silhouetted against the brilliance of Hollywood lights. Night view taken from Mt. Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - Los Angeles lights from the Hollywood Hills.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - View of Hollywood from the hills during what appears to be a movie premier. The Security National Bank with tower can be seen on the right.  

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - Night view of tropical palms silhouetted against the brilliance of a Hollywood movie premiere. On left: Security First National Bank with tower. Center: Paramount Theatre. Right: Roosevelt Hotel. Photo taken from the Hollywood Hills Hotel.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2014)#**^ - Front view of the TCL Chinese Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard as it appears today.  

 

Historical Notes

In 2013, the world famous Chinese Theatre teamed up with one of China’s biggest electronics manufacturers, TCL, aka “The Creative Life” in a 10-year naming rights partnership. 

 

 

 

 

 
(2008)* - The 77th Annual Hollywood Christmas Parade on Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2012)#* - Space Shuttle Endeavour makes its final flight to LAX on September 21, 2012 as it passes over Disney Hall and the Hollywood Sign.  

 

 

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

For more Historical Early Views click one of the following:

 

 

See Our Newest Sections:

 

 

For Historical Early Views of Los Angeles click one of the following:

 

 

To see how Water and Electricity shaped the history of Los Angeles click one of the following:

 

Water:

 

Power:

 

* * * * *

 

 

References and Credits

* LA Public Library Image Archive

^^ USC Digital Archive

^*California Historic Landmark Listing (Los Angeles)

^ California Historical Society Digital Archive

** Retronaut - Hollywoodland Sign

#^WhitleyHeights.org: Aerial of Cahuenga; Whitley Heights Aerial

#*Pinterest - California and DailyBreeze.com

^# Selig Film News - Hollywoodland Sign

*^#LosAngelesPast.com: Cahuenga Pass

^*#West Hollywood Patch: Bancroft Middle School

^#^UCLA Digital Archives

*#*Elvis Blog

#**This Day in Aviation: Lockheed Vega 1

#^^Hollywood Walk of Fame Historic Buildings

#*^Hollywood Chamber of Commerce History

#^*Pinterest.com: Old Hollywood

^^^California State Library Image Archive

***The Story of Hollywood by Gregory Paul Williams

**^Table Magazine: LA Observatory

^**Huntington Digital Library Archive

**#Beguiling Hollywood: The Hollywood Hotel

^^#LA Times: 'Swing in, pig out, drive off'; Hollywood Bond Cavalcade; Will H. Hayes

^#*The Broadway Hollywood

*##History.com: Pig Stands

*^*MTA Transportation and Research Library Archives

^*^LA Street Names - LA Times

*^^Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles - losangelespast.com

****Wehadfacesthen.tumblr.com

^*^*HollywoodHeritage.com: The Muller Family Foundation

*^*^YMCA Hollywood - paulwilliamspoject.org

^***Griffithobservatory.org: Griffith Observatory

*^^^Pinterest.com: Hollywood History

^**^Griffith Observatory: laparks.org

^**#Hollywood Bowl Philpedia

**^^Radio City Hollywood

**^*LA Daily News: Hollywood Sign Celebrates its 90th Birthday

^^^#KCET: How the Town of Sherman Became West Hollywood

*##*Squidoo.com: Lawrence Welk

^##^Hollywoodphotos.com

*##^The Daily Meal: Formosa Cafe

^##*Flickr.com: Michael Ryerson; Baytram366

^^#*Flickr.com: Elizabeth Fuller

^#^^Facebook.com - Vintage LA: Hollywood Palladium; Hollywood and Gower; Hollywood and Vine

***#Art Deco Architecture: LA Radio City

**##MartinTurnbull.com: The Players; Hollywood-Western Building; Cross Roads of the World; Earl Carroll Theater

^^##Alison Martino's Vintage Los Angeles: Wallichs Music City

^#^#Hollywood: Then and Now

*#^#Historicla.com: Hollywood

^#*#Bellaonline.com: Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland

^*#*Pinterest - Memories in the SFV 50's, 60's, & 70'

^#^*Flickr.com: Los Angeles - Back in the Day

^^#^History of the Samuel Goldwyn Studio

*^#*Calisphere: University of California Image Archive

*^##OAC - Online Archive of California

*#*^PlantTrout.worldpress: Musso and Frank Grill

*#*#Facebook.com - Great Photos from Los Angeles' Past:  Players Nightclub; Hollywoodland Sign

#*#*Musso and Frank History: mussoandfrank.com

#***Chinese Theatre History

#*^*Hidden Los Angeles: Musso and Frank's Grill

#^*#TheHollywoodMuseum.com: Max Factor Building

#^*^Ascentive Blog: Musso and Frank Grill

#**^Starlinetours.com: TLC Chinese Theatre

#^^*DWP - LA Public Library Image Archive

#^^^Once Upon a Screen: Hollywood Canteen

*^^*Photos of Vintage Los Angeles: Facebook.com: Lucy/Holden; Villa Nova; Palladium; Bernheimer Japanese Mansion; Sunset Tower Apartments; Capitol Records; Cruising Hollywood Blvd.; Earl Carroll Revolving Stage; Masonic Temple; Schwabs Sunset

^^*Cinema Treasures: Vogue Theater; Pantages Theater; Ricardo Montabaln Theater; Iris Theatre; Granada/Oriental Theater; Marcal - World Theatre

*^*#Pinterest.com: Favorite Places and Spaces

***^Pinterest.com: Bertrand Lacheze; LA History; Vintage Los Angeles: Sunset Strip; Trocadero Nightclub; Travel The World: 'HOLLYWEED'; Los Angeles and Hollywood

*# Skyscraperage.com. - Griffith Observatory; Hollywoodland Sign; CBS West Coast Headquarters; Elvis at Knickerbocker Hotel; Muller Bros. Service Station; LA Fun Map; Oriental Theater; Gruen Sign; NBC Hollywood Radio City; Cross Roads of the World; Garden Court Apartments; El Capitan Theater; Hollywood and Vine; "It" Cafe; Orchid Ave and Hollywood Blvd; Aerial of Burbank and Hollywoodland Sign; Max Factor Building

*^ Wikipedia: Hollywood; Hollywood Athletic Club; Hollywood Bowl; Grauman's Chinese Theatre; Grauman's Egyptian Theatre; Pantages Theatre (Hollywood); John Hanson Ford Theatre; 20th Century Fox; Samuel Goldwyn.Studio; Barnsdall Art Park; Greek Theatre; Griffith Observatory; Cinerama Dome; Ralphs; Hollywood Palladium; Hollywood and Vine; Hollywood Masonic Temple; Hollywood Pacific Theatre; Max Factor; West Hollywood; Brown Derby; Hollywood Christmas Parade; The Hollywood Hotel; Cord Automobile; Tom Breneman; Schwab's Pharmacy; Capitol Records Building; Sunset Tower; Mt. Lee; Château Élysée; CBS Columbia Square; West Coast Radio City - Los Angeles; Crossroads of the World; Earl Carroll Theater; Cafe Trocadero; Hollywood Sign; Lawrence Welk; Breakfast in Hollywood; Du-Par's Restaurant; Formosa Cafe; Hollywood Walk of Fame; Marilyn Monroe; Hell's Angels (film); Morocco (1930 film); KFWB; John C. Austin; Whitley Heights; Garden Court Apartments; Chili Bowl Restaurant - Art Whizin; The Hillview; Paramount Studios; Hollywood Playhouse (Avalon Hollywood); The Beatles at the Hollywood Bowl; Hollywood Freeway; Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel; RKO Pictures; J. J. Newberry; 2005 Hollywood Sign; Claudette Colbert: Clara Bow; Musso and Frank Grill; Rexall - Owl Drug Store; Hollywood Canteen; Decoration Day; KABC; Wallichs Music City; Hollywoodland Sign

 

< Back