Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

Historical Photos of Early Hollywood
 
(1930s)*^^ - Birds eye view of Hollywood Boulevard at night, looking east from Highland Avenue. The Hotel Christie can be seen to the lower right.  

 

 

 

 
(1937)* -  The neon lights blaze in this night shot of Hollywood Boulevard, which includes the Egyptian Theater, The Pig and Whistle Cafe, the Hotel Christie, and the Citizens Bank. The double bill on the marquee "Life Begins in College" and "Counsel for Crime" played at the Egyptian the second week of November in 1937.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Aerial view of Hollywood Blvd. looking east. Grauman's Chinese Theatre, left, has a sign draped over the Boulevard that reads 'Big Shows Are Back'. Across from Grauman's is the Roosevelt Hotel. A few blocks up on the same side is the Hotel Christie.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Aerial view of Hollywood Boulevard looking east. The intersection of Highland Avenue and Hollywood Blvd. is at lower right, with the First National Bank Building standing at the northeast corner. A sign, 'Hotel Christie' identifies the plain, brick facade of the hotel, also at lower right.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930s)#**# - Postcard view looing west on Hollywood Boulevard during the Christmas season with the prominent First National Bank Building standing tall on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Highland.  Large sign at center-right is for brassieres and reads:  “Her Secret”.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)^^ – Panoramic view of Hollywood looking north showing a great number of well known buildings including (L to R):  Roosevelt Hotel, Grauman's Chinese Theatre, El Capitan Theatre, Hollywood United Methodist Church, and the First National Bank Building.  Hollywood High School can also be seen at lower-center of photo.  Highland Avenue runs up to the Hollywood Hills on the right.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)*# – View looking southeast from the Hollywood Hills as seen from Fareholm Drive just above Laurel Canyon and Hollywood boulevards.  The First National Bank Building Tower (N/E corner of Hollywood and Highland) and Roosevelt Hotel can be seen at upper-right.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - View of Hollywood Boulevard looking east from the top of the Roosevelt HotelGrauman's Chinese Theatre is seen across the street (lower left). In the distance, the tallest building is the First National Bank.  

 

Historical Notes

The First National Bank Building was designed in Art Deco/Gothic style by architects Meyer and Holler and built in 1927. It is located on the northeast corner of Hollywood Blvd. and Highland Avenue.

Grauman's Chinese Theatre was also designed by Meyer and Holler and it too was built in 1927. The theater is located at 6925 Hollywood Boulevard.*

 

 

 

 
(1930)##^* – Postcard view looking east on Hollywood Boulevard from La Brea Avenue.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930)^^^ -  View looking east on Hollywood Boulevard showing a marching band with kilts celebrating Decoration Day. In the background can be seen the B. H. Dyas Building on the corner of Hollywood & Vine.   

 

Historical Notes

Decoration Day is the former name of the Memorial Day holiday.  Memorial Day began as "Decoration Day" in the immediate aftermath of the American Civil War. It was a tradition initiated by General John A. Logan, leader of an organization for Northern Civil War veterans.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)^^^ – View showing the Mosque-like Calmos Auto Service Station located on the southeast corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Alexandria Avenue.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)^^ - View looking at the southeast corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Alexandria Avenue showing a Union 76 Station with rooftop domes and minarets.  

 

Historical Notes

Click HERE to see more Early Views of LA Gas Stations.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)^^ – View showing the Calmos Union 76 Service Station complete with three domes and two minarets located on the S/E corner of North Alexandria Ave and Hollywood Blvd. Note the tracks on Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Although the gas station has been razed to make room for a strip mall, the two minarets seen above are still standing today.

 

 

 

 

 
(2015)*### – Google Street View showing the strip mall at the southeast corner of Hollywood Blvd and Alexandria Ave. Still standing are the two minarets, once part of the original Union 76 Station that use to occupy the lot.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930)* - Aerial view of Hollywood Blvd. and Vermont.  Vermont runs up and down (north/south) in this picture, while Hollywood Blvd. comes in from the left and veers down to the right corner of photo. The extension of Hollywood on the east side of Vermont is Prospect Ave. In the lower left is Barnsdall Art Park, home of the Frank Lloyd Wright designed Hollyhock House.  Los Feliz Elementary School is at center-left.  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)#**# - View of the Los Feliz Mart located on the west side of Vermont Ave south of Franklin Ave, at 1825 N. Vermont Ave. Today, the U.S. Post Office is located on this site.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Exterior view of the Greek Theatre located at 2700 N. Vermont Avenue, Hollywood. The outdoor seating slopes up the hill.  

 

Historical Notes

The Greek Theatre, located in Griffith Park, was built in 1929. It was designed by architect Frederick Heath to resemble a Greek temple.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Aerial view of the Greek Theatre. The bare Hollywood Hills can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Greek Theatre was paid for with a donation from Griffith J. Griffith, who also donated the land for the park, named in his honor.*^

 

 

 
(1930)* - Shown is the first map to picture the location of the new $250,000 Greek Theatre in Griffith Park, issued by the Department of Parks on the eve of the gala inaugural attraction of the municipal playhouse on September 25, 1930.  

 

Historical Notes

The Greek Theatre’s opening performance was a double bill comprised of the grand operas, "Cavalleria Rusticana" and "Pagliacci."

The map indicates principal highways and the route of the special bus service, which connects on transfers with the yellow "V" line and intersecting red cars and Sunset busses. Parking areas adjoining and near the theater with accommodations for 3,250 automobiles, also are shown, as well as location of playgrounds, pool, picnic grounds and other centers of diversion which are stressed by the park board as constituting the Greek Theatre sector of Griffith Park as an ideal week-end rendezvous.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)#^*^ – Postcard view showing a performance at the Greek Theatre in Griffith Park.  

 

Historical Notes

The amphitheatre had a limited concert season during its first two decades and during World War II it was used as a barracks. In 1947, however, the theatre was used for the Broadway show Anything Goes for two weeks. During the 1950s, under the management of James Doolittle, a concert promoter, the amphitheater underwent a series of renovations that allowed the theater to compete with rival 1950s’ theaters.*^

 

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Caption reads: View of the Griffith Park Greek Theatre. Theatre located in Vermont Canyon is the newest addition to Los Angeles' attractions and a very gem of outdoor playhouse. A gift to the city from the late Col. Griffith J. Griffith, it is the only municipally owned Greek theatre in America. Costing $205,000 and designed to accomodate all types of stage offering, Los Angeles is looking forward eagerly to some novel and inspiring productions during the coming summer months.  

 

 

 

 
(2007)*^ – View of the Greek Theatre as it appears today.  

 

Historical Notes

Although it is owned by the City of Los Angeles, the Greek Theatre is managed, operated and promoted by the Nederlander Organization. The theatre currently has a seating capacity of 5,700.*^

 

 

 

 
(1930)#^ - Aerial view of the Hollywood Bowl looking east. The neighborhood of Whitley Heights is at the center of photo. The serpentine Cahuenga Boulevard can be seen as it extends out of Cahuenga Pass (middle-left) toward Hollywood (upper-right).  

 

Historical Notes

Whitley Heights is a residential neighborhood in the Hollywood district named for Hobart Johnstone "HJ" Whitley, the "Father of Hollywood". Whitley Heights was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

In 1918, HJ Whitley commissioned architect A.S. Barnes to design Whitley Heights as a Mediterranean-style village on the steep hillsides above Hollywood Boulevard, and it became the first celebrity community. The neighborhood is roughly bordered on the north and east by Cahuenga Boulevard, on the west by Highland Avenue, and on the south by Franklin Avenue. It overlooks the tourist district of Hollywood, including the Hollywood Walk of Fame and Grauman's Chinese Theatre, and the Hollywood Bowl amphitheater. The neighborhood was bisected and some landmark homes destroyed when U.S. Route 101, a.k.a. the Hollywood Freeway, was built after World War II.

Among Whitley Heights' many famous residents have been Rudolph Valentino, Barbara Stanwyck, W.C. Fields, Jean Harlow, Carole Lombard, William Powell, Tyrone Power, Ellen Pompeo, Gloria Swanson, Rosalind Russell, Judy Garland, and Marlene Dietrich.*^

 

 

 

 
(1930s)^^ - View of Cahuenga Pass with the Pilgrimage Play Theatre parking lot in the foreground.  Cahuenga runs from the foreground at left towards the San Fernando Valley at upper center-right. The Hollywood Bowl is out of view to the left.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Looking down into the construction site of the Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater, revealing the Cahuenga Pass and the Hollywood Bowl in the background. The new theatre will replace the original one that burned down in 1929.  

 

Historical Notes

John Anson Ford Amphitheatre was built in 1920 as the site of The Pilgrimage Play. The author, Christine Wetherill Stevenson, believed the rugged beauty of the Cahuenga Pass would provide a dramatic outdoor setting for the play. Together with Mrs. Chauncey D. Clark, she purchased this land along with that on which the Hollywood Bowl now sits. A wooden, outdoor amphitheater was built on this site and the play was performed by noted actors every summer from 1920 to 1929, until the original structure was destroyed by a brush fire in October 1929.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^^^ - Postcard view of the front entrance to the Pilgrimage Theatre in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

A new Pilgrimage Theatre was built on the same site as the original and opened in 1931. The new theatre was constructed of poured concrete and designed in the style of ancient Judaic architecture to resemble the gates of Jerusalem. 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^^^ - Looking down into the Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater (renamed the John Anson Ford Theatre in the early 1970s) revealing some of the biblical-like structures on the hillside.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pilgrimage Play Amphitheater resembled the architecture of the Holy Land for the purposes of the play performed there. The religious-themed Pilgrimage Play, written by Christine Whetherill Stevenson, was performed every summer between 1920 to 1941.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)* - Postcard view of the Pilgrimage Play Theatre seating and stage.  

 

Historical Notes

During WWII the theater was deeded to Los Angeles County and converted into dormitories for servicemen. After the war, the play resumed until 1964, at which time it was legally ordered to close due to its religious content.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^^^ - Close-up view of the front entrance to the Pilgrimage Play Theatre.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - View showing a Foster and Kleiser billboard for the Pilgrimage Play outside the Pilgrimage Theatre, later the John Anson Ford Amphitheatre (2580 Cahuenga Boulevard).  

 

Historical Notes

In 1941, the land was deeded to the County of Los Angeles. The Pilgrimage Play continued to be presented until a lawsuit in 1964 forced its closure because of its religious nature.

In 1976, the Pilgrimage Theatre was renamed the John Anson Ford Theatre in honor of the late L.A. County Supervisor's significant support of the arts. John Anson Ford (1883–1983) helped found the L.A. County Arts Commission, encouraged the Board of Supervisors to support the building of the Music Center and led the County's acquisition of Descanso Gardens, among many other achievements.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^^ - View looking north showing the Hollywood Bowl and also the Pilgrimage Play Theatre located on the other side of Cahuenga Pass (right-center of photo).  

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - A banner advertising a Hollywood Bowl summer concert with conductor Alfred Hertz stretches over Broadway packed with pedestrians, streetcars and traffic. Boos Bros. Cafeteria and the Orpheum Theatre are in the middle, on the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1931)* - Jess Willard's Market in Hollywood at 1334 Vine Street on October 30, 1931. It was in an impressive Art Deco building and included a bakery, delicatessen, cafe and beauty shop. It was oriented toward pedestrian traffic, with no parking lot.
 

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - Hollywood Boulevard is a sea of cars as far as the eye can see. In the middle ground the marquee of the Pantages Theatre can just be identified. The view is to the east. On the light post are Christmas decorations.  

 

 

 

 
(1932)* – Claudette Colbert on a step ladder inspects a large photograph of herself surrounded by a Christmas wreath. In the background are the Mirror Theater at 1615 Vine Street and the Taft Building at 1680 Vine Street. In the upper-left is the Broadway-Hollywood Building located at the corner of Hollywood and Vine.  

 

Historical Notes

Claudette Colbert was a French-born American actress, and a leading lady for two decades. Colbert began her career in Broadway productions during the 1920s, progressing to film with the advent of talking pictures. Initially associated with Paramount Pictures, Colbert later gradually shifted to working as a freelance actor. She won the Academy Award for Best Actress in It Happened One Night, and also received Academy Award nominations for Private Worlds and Since You Went Away. With her round apple-face, Colbert was known as an expert screwball comedienne, but her dramatic range enabled her to easily encompass melodrama and to play characters ranging from vamps to housewives. During her successful career, Colbert starred in more than sixty movies. She was the industry's biggest box-office star in 1938 and 1942.

In the 1930s, Colbert alternated between romantic comedies and dramas, and found success in both: She Married Her Boss (1935) with Melvyn Douglas; The Gilded Lily (1935) and The Bride Comes Home (1935), both with Fred MacMurray; Under Two Flags (1936) with Ronald Colman; Zaza (1939) with Herbert Marshall; Midnight (1939) with Don Ameche; and It's a Wonderful World (1939) with James Stewart.*^

 

 

 
(1931)*# – Aerial view looking northeast from above Hollywood Boulevard and Ivar Avenue (lower-center).   The curved road at upper center-left is where Argyle turns into Yucca Street.  

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - View of Hollywood, looking north towards Vine (left) and Argyle (right). Middle foreground is Yucca, Franklin is beyond.  

 

 

 

 
(1928)* - Passengers are seen boarding busses for a real estate promotional tour in the Hollywoodland Tract. Local Pacific Electric jitney busses ran between Hollywoodland, Beachwood Canyon and Beverly Hills.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - A realtor is pounding in a "sold" sign for lot 306 in a real estate development in a hilly area of Hollywood. Next to him is a man scratching his head, as if in unbelief. Note the two towers in the distance directly over the man scratching his head. They were the construction towers used to erect Mulholland Dam in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

Historical Notes

Mulholland Dam was built between 1923 and 1924 in the Hollywood Hills for the sole purpose of creating a water reservoir for the City of Los Angeles.

 

 

 
(1924)#^# - Aerial view showing the construction of Mulholland Dam and the Hollywood Reservoir,  

 

Historical Notes

The reservoir formed behind the dam was called the Hollywood Reservoir (later Lake Hollywood) and would hold up to 2.5 billion gallons of water from the Owens River Aqueduct System (LA Aqueduct) and from the groundwater of the San Fernando Valley.

Clcik HERE to see more in Mulholland Dam and Hollywood Reservoir.

 

 

 
(1926)##^* – View showing Charlie Chaplin sitting on a curb with the Hollywood Hills and "Hollywoodland" sign in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

Sir Charles Spencer "Charlie" Chaplin was an English comic actor and filmmaker who rose to fame in the silent film era. Chaplin became a worldwide icon through his screen persona "the Tramp" and is considered one of the most important figures of the film industry. His career spanned more than 75 years, from childhood in the Victorian era until a year before his death in 1977, and encompassed both adulation and controversy.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - "Hollywoodland" sign seen from road with passenger car and truck in foreground. Car seems to date from early 1930's. A large white building is seen below the sign.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1923 by Harry Chandler as a billboard for his Hollywoodland real estate development.

In 1949 the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce contracted to repair and rebuild the sign. The contract stipulated that “LAND” be removed to reflect the district, not the housing development.*

The Hollywood Sign located on the top of Mount Lee was declared Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 111 in 1973.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - "Hollywoodland" sign with 4 homes in foreground set along a winding road.
 

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - Hollywoodland residences are climbing higher and higher. This home, encroaching on the domain of the Hollywoodland sign, has a majestic 75 mile panorama for a front door.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)#**# - More and more homes go up in the foothills below the Hollywoodland Sign.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - View of residential homes in the Hollywood Hills area near the Hollywoodland sign. Partial view of the "Hollywoodland" sign may be seen on the mountain, left side of this photo.  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)* - View of the Hollywood Hills filled with homes with the "Hollywoodland" sign in the upper right.  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)* - "Hollywoodland" sign in the upper center with Hollywood hills filled with homes in the foreground.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1931)^^ - View of Sunset Boulevard east of Serrano Avenue. At center, a wide paved road is separated by a dotted line through the center that extends into the distance. Homes, parked automobiles and palm trees line the street to either side.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1932)^** - Carpenter’s Drive-in Restaurant, Sunset and Vine, Hollywood, Los Angeles. Photo by ‘Dick’ Whittington   

 

Historical Notes

Carpenter’s Sandwiches drive-in was located at 6285 Sunset Boulevard between Vine Street and Argyle in Hollywood. For 30 cents you could enjoy a hamburger and wash it down with a cup of beer while sitting behind the wheel of your car (5 cents more for the premium beer).

 

 

 
(1933)* - Exterior view of Carpenter's Sandwich drive-in restaurant, with the carhops posing for the photo, in 1933. The drive-in was located at 6265 Sunset Blvd (near the N/E corner of Sunset and Vine).  

 

Historical Notes

Harry B. Carpenter founded the Carpenter's chain with his brother Charles and operated many locations in Los Angeles including: Sunset and Vine, Wilshire and Western, Wilshire and La Cienega, Wilshire and Vine, Pico and Vermont, Silver Lake and Glendale and Sunset and Virgil.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^ - Carpenter's Sandwich drive-in on Sunset and Vine. Two carhops are posing for the camera by the counter while another to the right appears to be serving food.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally located near the northeast corner of Sunset and Vine (6265 Sunset Blvd), Carpenter’s would be torn down to make room for the new NBC Radio City building, constructed in 1938. Shortly thereafter, Carpenter’s was reincarnated across the street on the southeast corner of Sunset and Vine (6290 Sunset Blvd).

 

 

 
(1930s)^^^^* – Nighttime view of Carpenter’s Sandwich at the N/E corner Sunset and Vine.  Signs read:  Ben Hur Delicious Drip Coffee, Sirloin Steak Sandwich - 25 Cents, Fried Oyster Sandwich - 20 Cents, Hot Fudge Sundae - 25 Cents, and “A Real Hamburger Sandwich” - 15 Cents.  

 

 

 

 
(1940s)##^* – View showing cars parked at Harry Carpenter's Drive-in Restaurant on the southeast corner of Sunset and Vine, 6290 Sunset Boulevard, across the street from previous location.  

 

Historical Notes

This Carpenter's Drive-in replaced the one located near the northeast corner of Sunset and Vine (6265 Sunset Blvd), which was torn down in 1938 to make room for the new NBC Radio City building.

Click HERE to see more Early Views of LA Drive-in Restaurants.

 

 

 

 
(1933)* - A man sits on a steel girder on the half-completed dome of the Griffith Observatory as other construction workers are on scaffolds on the building behind the dome. Construction rubble is scattered around the Observatory's foundation.  

 

Historical Notes

3,015 acres of land surrounding the observatory was donated to the City of Los Angeles by Colonel Griffith J. Griffith on December 16, 1896. In his will Griffith donated funds to build an observatory, exhibit hall, and planetarium on the donated land.

Construction began on June 20, 1933, using a design developed by architect John C. Austin based on preliminary sketches by Russell W. Porter. *

 

 

 

 
(1934)* - The construction of Griffith Observatory in the final phases. The exterior domes can be seen here.  

 

Historical Notes

Griffith Observatory was shaped not only by the minds of scientists but also by the times in which it was built. A major earthquake in Long Beach in March 1933 -- just as construction plans were being finalized -- led the architects to abandon the planned terra cotta exterior in favor of strengthening and thickening the building's concrete walls. Lower-than-usual prices caused by the Great Depression enabled the selection of the finest materials of the day for the interior walls, floors, and finishes, making the building both beautiful and durable.^***

 

 

 
(1934)* - The Griffith Observatory and the main building, the planetarium, are seen from below and from the back. A hiking path has been cut into the hillside below, on the south side, but brush still covers much of the area.  

 

Historical Notes

Griffith Observatory's unique architecture and setting, compelling programmatic offerings, and cinematic exposure have made it one of the most famous and visited landmarks in Southern California.^***

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)^^^ - Profile view of the Griffith Observatory on the hillside.  

 

 

 

 
(1935)^^^ - The iconic Griffith Observatory stands out in its brilliance as it is illuminated in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - View of the Zeiss refracting telescope within one of the two smaller domes at the end of the Griffith Observatory.  

 

Historical Notes

Since opening in 1935, more than seven million people have put an eye to Griffith Observatory's original 12-inch Zeiss refracting telescope. More people have looked though it than any other telescope in the world.

The genesis of Griffith Observatory's public telescope occurred when Griffith J. Griffith was invited to visit to Mount Wilson Observatory, then home to the world's largest operating telescope, the 60-inch reflector. While there, he was given the opportunity to view a celestial wonder through the telescope. Profoundly moved by the experience, Griffith seized on the idea of constructing a public observatory with a telescope that could be used by all residents of Los Angeles. He specified in his will that the telescope was to be "at least 12-inches in diameter" and "complete in all its details" and was to be located "high and above the Hall of Science." In 1931, the Griffith Trust ordered the telescope from the Carl Zeiss Company of Jena, Germany; the $14,900 spent on the instrument was the first purchase of material for Griffith Observatory.^**^

 

 

 
(1930s)* - View of the Griffith Park observatory and planetarium with the Astronomers Monument. Several people are on the walks, coming and going to the planetarium (the central section of the building). The domes on the left and the right ends of the building contain the triple-beam solar telescope and the 12-inch Zeiss Refracting Telescope respectively.  

 

Historical Notes

Griffith Observatory opened its doors to the public on May 14, 1935.  In its first five days of operation the observatory logged more than 13,000 visitors.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - Three men gaze at the Foucault pendulum in the foyer of the Griffith Observatory. The pendulum demonstrates the rotation of the earth.  

 

Historical Notes

The first exhibit visitors encountered was the Foucault pendulum, which was designed to demonstrate the rotation of the Earth.*^

 

 

 
(1935)* - Audience viewing a performance at the planetarium at Griffith Observatory.  

 

Historical Notes

The Griffith Observatory also included a planetarium under the large central dome. The first shows covered topics including the Moon, worlds of the solar system, and eclipses. 

During World War II the planetarium was used to train pilots in celestial navigation. The planetarium was again used for this purpose in the 1960s to train Apollo program astronauts for the first lunar missions.

The planetarium theater was renovated in 1964 and a Mark IV Zeiss projector was installed.*^

 

 

 
(1938)* – Aerial view showing the symmetry of the beautiful art-deco Griffith Observatory.  

 

 

 

 
(1935)* - Aerial view of the top and front view of the observatory/planetarium. The Astronomers Monument, designed by Archibald Garner, is out front on the well manicured front lawn, and some parking with cars is seen around the back side (probably for the staff). Behind the planetarium are the tree covered hills and farther back the beginnings of buildings and homes in Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)*^^ - Women visiting the Astronomer’s Monument at a still unfinished Griffith Observatory, 1930’s. The Hollywoodland sign can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Astronomers Monument on the front lawn of Griffith Observatory pays homage to six of the greatest astronomers: Hipparchus, Copernicus, Galileo, Kepler, Newton, and Herschel. Artist Archibald Garner designed the sculpture commissioned by the Public Works of Art Project (PWAP). Garner worked with five other artists (each responsible for sculpting one astronomer) including George Stanley responsible for the "Oscar" statuette. The monument was dedicated November 25, 1934, six months before the Observatory opened.*

 

 

 
(1935)* - Griffith Observatory on its opening day, May 14, 1935, as seen from an affluent neighborhood in northern Los Feliz.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - View of a large Spanish style home, located on Live Oak Drive, belonging to one of the Twentieth Century-Fox film players. In the background the Griffith Observatory is clearly visible.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1936)#^^^ – Postcard view showing the Griffith Observatory perched high above the city in the hills of the sprawling Griffith Park.  The peak to the right of the observatory is Mt. Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Griffith Observatory is 1,124 feet above sea level and is visible from many parts of the Los Angeles basin. Mt. Hollywood is 516 feet higher, at 1,640 feet above sea level.^***

 

 

 

Before and After

 
(ca. 1900)*# - Mt. Hollywood before homes and Observatory (1936)#^^^ - Mt. Hollywood with Observatory and homes.  

 

Historical Notes

Col. Griffith saw Mt. Hollywood as the obvious site for the observatory and Hall of Science that would bear his name. He envisioned a funicular railway--an elongated version of downtown L.A.'s Angel's Flight, perhaps--trundling passengers to the mountaintop from Vermont Canyon, location of his other great gift to the city, the Greek Theatre.

But the mountaintop observatory and funicular railway proved too costly, and the site had little room for parking. So the observatory was built on the south-facing slope of Mt. Hollywood, elevation 1,124 feet.*^^#

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - View of Griffith Observatory in Griffith Park, looking southeast with the city down below in the background. A woman is standing in the foreground looking down at the view.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930s)*# – View of the Griffith Park Observatory on a clear day with the Los Angeles cityscape in the background.  Several cars are parked in front of the observatory.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Twilight view of the planetarium and observatory in Griffith Park as seen from the hillside.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - Sunset view of the wide lawns and Astronomers Monument from Griffith Observatory. The tall peak in the background is Mt. Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1936)*# - Looking over Griffith Observatory and Los Angeles from Mt. Hollywood. Photography by Julius Shulman.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1976, the Griffith Observatory was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 168 (Click HERE for complete listing).

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1943)* - Seen from a nearby (trail to Mt. Hollywood) hillside is the front of the planetarium, the lawn and parking lot, and road leading down from the Griffith Observatory. Los Feliz, East Hollywood, Hollywood and greater Los Angeles is visible in the distance.  

 

Historical Notes

Since the observatory opened in 1935, admission has been free, in accordance with Griffith's will.*^

 

 

 
(2010s)+^# - A jogger is seen running up one of the hiking trails leading to Griffith Observatory with the downtown skyline in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

In 2002, the observatory closed for renovation and a major expansion of exhibit space. It reopened to the public on November 3, 2006, retaining its art deco exterior. The $93 million renovation, paid largely by a public bond issue, restored the building, as well as replaced the aging planetarium dome.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 2006)* - Panoramic view of Los Feliz, Hollywood and downtown Los Angeles, taken from outside of the Samuel Oschin Planetarium at Griffith Observatory.  

 

Historical Notes

For over 75 years, the planetarium has been used to present astronomical programs overseen by a lecturer. The view reveals a variety of buildings, homes and the numerous skyscrapers located in Downtown L.A. in the background. This photograph was taken not long after the observatory reopened on November 3, 2006, after having been closed since 2002 for an extensive renovation. John C. Austin and Frederick M. Ashley were the original architects of the Art Deco structure.*

 

Garden Court Apartments

 
(ca. 1920)^^^ – Postcard view looking east on Hollywood Boulevard showing the Garden Court Apartments located at 7021 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by architect Frank S. Meline in the Beaux Arts style and built in 1917, the classical structure consisted of 190 two and three room suites composed of hard wood and tile. The apartment building was intended to accommodate prominent members of the movie industry. Among its residents were Louis B. Mayer, Mae Murray, and John Gilbert.*

The Garden Court Apartments offered residents such special amenities as its own garage providing car service, a commissary, two ballrooms, billiard room, beauty parlor, daily maid service, two tennis courts, pergolas, trellises, and gardens. ##*

 

 

 
(1926)#**# – Aerial view looking down at the Garden Court Apartments with the Grauman's Chinese Theatre seen here still under construction. The Hollywood Hotel is further east, at top of photo.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)* - View of the northeast corner of Sycamore Avenue and Hollywood Boulevard showing the western side of the Garden Court Apartments. On the left on the hillside full of trees is the lower area of the property belonging to the Bernheimer brothers.  

 

Historical Notes

Movie magazine Photoplay called it the “largest and most beautiful apartment house in Hollywood,” drawing movie folk and celebrities to its elegant surroundings. Sam Fox, sheet music publisher, vacationed for months at the property with his family. Director King Vidor played tennis on its courts. Actress Julanne Johnston, theatre impresario Sid Grauman, photographer Frank S. Hoover, and director Sidney Franklin lived there in the 1920s, enjoying the Pryor Moore Dance Orchestra, along with classical concerts and voice classes. ##*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1931)^^^ - Postcard view of the Garden Court Apartments. The building was built in 1919, and was the home to many showbiz personalities.  

 

Historical Notes

Businessmen C. E. Toberman and S. A. Hartwell leased the building for 99 years on Feb. 19, 1926, per the Los Angeles Times, retaining all staff. The new managers made few changes, but opened meeting rooms to more diverse uses, including rentals by groups offering Bhagavad Gita and yoga classes. Entertainers performed in its banquet room, with vaudeville performer Virginia Sale headlining her own sketch show in May 1933, which garnered fine reviews in Variety. By 1930, however, Toberman was forced to turn over the structure due to financial difficulties. ##*

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)*# - View of the front entrance to the Garden Court Apartments. A beautiful staircase leads to a fountain containing two figures holding up a bowl.  

 

Historical Notes

The Garden Court Apartments’ fortunes declined in the 1960s and 1970s along with those of Hollywood Boulevard in general. After being vacated in 1980, it was inhabited by homeless squatters and nicknamed "Hotel Hell".

The building was noted in the National Register of Historic Places in 1981, however, that did not prevent it from being razed in 1984.*^

 

 

 
(1976)^^^ - View of the Garden Court Apartments (Hotel) on Hollywood Blvd. Sign in front of building reads Motor Hotel. Note the decorative three-lamp streetlight in front of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The hotel was given landmark status in April of 1981 in an attempt to save it from demolition. The owner, however, vowed to tear down the hotel in 1982, so he did everything he could to ruin the building even further than it already was -- and that is saying something. The city council eventually revoked its landmark status and in 1984, it was torn down.^*^#

 

Hillview Apartments

 
(1930)* - Looking east on Hollywood Blvd. from Hudson Avenue. Cars driving in the middle of the street are blurred because of motion. On the left side of the street is the Hillview Apartment Building, located at 6531 Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

The Historic Hillview Hollywood is considered Hollywood's first "artist's" high-rise. It was founded in 1917 by movie moguls Jesse L. Lasky, co-founder of Paramount Pictures, and his brother-in-law Samuel Goldwyn, co-founder of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, better known as MGM. It was one of Hollywood's only apartment buildings at the time willing to rent to aspiring actors since they were considered a financial risk by most apartment building owners. In fact, it catered specifically to actors.*^

 

 

 
(1930)* - Looking west on Hollywood Blvd. from Hudson, the hills can be seen in the far distance. On the right is the Hillview Apartment Building and beyond it the Roth Furniture building. The First National Bank Building can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hillview became a Hollywood hot spot in the 1920s and 1930s. The vast basement housed a rehearsal space until Rudolph Valentino reputedly converted it to a speakeasy. Former big-screen residents include Mae Busch, Stan Laurel, and Viola Dana. Charlie Chaplin was once a proprietor of the Hillview. Clara Bow found her first home at the Hillview in 1923.*^

 

 

 
(n.d.)^*^# – View showing the Hillview Apartments with a photo of silent film star Evelyn Brent overlaid on it.  

 

Historical Notes

When silent film star Evelyn Brent first arrived in Los Angeles in 1922, she stayed at the Hollywood Hotel. A short time later, she and her new husband, Bernie P. Fineman, moved to the Hillview Apartments at 6531 Hollywood Blvd (now 6533).

One unusual story occurred in 1923, while Brent was filming "Held to Answer." Apparently, she had a nervous breakdown brought on from exhaustion. Because her work on the film had not been completed, Brent offered to return to the studio to finish production, but her physician, Dr. Leo Schulman, confined her to bed. So, what do you suppose happened next? The director, Harold Shaw, took a film crew to the Hillview Apartments and shot Evelyn Brent's remaining scenes in her bedroom.

Sadly, "Held to Answer" is a lost film.

Source: Evelyn Brent by Lynn Kear with James King.^*^#

 

 

 
(2005)* - Close-up view of a Hollywood Special streetlight embellished with five stars along the side of its lamp housing (Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights). The building behind the streetlight is the Hudson Apartments (formerly The Historic Hillview Hollywood), a 54-unit apartment complex located at 6533 Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally constructed in 1917 for silent screen actors, the Hudson Apartments (formerly the Historic Hillview Hollywood) were fully renovated in 2006 and include both residential and retail tenants.*

In October 2009 the corporation that owns the Hollywood Hillview Apartments filed for bankruptcy, and the Historic Hollywood Hillview was forced into foreclosure. The basement lounge club, the restaurant, and the gym have been closed since January 2009. The name was also changed to The Hudson Apartments.

In July 2010 Hollywood real estate investment group CIM purchased the building out of foreclosure for $13,000,000.*^

 

 

DWP Branch Office

 
(1932)* - Exterior view of the Municipal Light-Water-Power (later DWP) Hollywood branch office located at 1613 North Cahuenga Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1902, Los Angeles formed its first municipal water utility and named it the Water Department. Nine years later the Bureau of Power and Light came along. A total of six different names have been used to refer to the two separate water and power organizations since that time. Not until 1937 did both organizations merge and become the Department of Water and Power. Click HERE to see more in DWP - Name Change Chronology.

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* - A salesman is standing next to the electric range display at the Hollywood DWP Branch office on Caheunga.  

 

Historical Notes

For decades DWP was in direct competition with the Souhern California Gas Co. They promoted the use of electricity by putting on display electric ranges, electric refrigerators and smaller electric appliances in most of their commercial branch offices.

Click HERE to see more in Early DWP Branch Offices.

 

 

J. J. Newberry Co.

 
(ca. 1932)^^^ - View of the J.J. Newberry Co. Store on Hollywood Boulevard. Three young boys are seen looking at a display through the window.  

 

Historical Notes

J.J. Newberry's was an American Five-and-Dime store chain in the 20th century originally founded in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. The company was a family business. J.J. Newberry was joined in management by his brothers C.T. Newberry and Edgar A. Newberry in 1919, at which time there were 17 stores with yearly sales of $500,000.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1932)^^^ - Nighttime view of the J. J. Newberry Co. 5-10-25 Cent Store located at 6600-04 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Over the years, the Newberry chain acquired other stores including Hested in Wyoming, Missouri, North Dakota, Colorado, and Nebraska, and Lee Stores in South Dakota, Minnesota, and Iowa. At the time of founder J.J. Newberry's death (1954), the chain had 475 stores. By 1961, the company operated 565 stores with total yearly sales of $291 million. The chain also operated a larger department store called Britt's Department Store.

The Newberry chain was ultimately purchased by McCrory Stores, and then folded slowly as McCrory's downsized  and eventually entered bankruptcy. 300 McCrory stores, mostly Newberry's, closed in 1997.*^

 

 

 

 
(2010)^##* – View showing the Art Deco façade of the Newberry Building on Hollywood Boulevard. Photo by Bill Badzo  

 

Historical Notes

The architects of the Hollywood J.J. Newberry's, now Hollywood Toys and Costumes, created this colorful example of Art Deco at its best. The "Zig Zag" patterns of chevrons and squares in colorful aqua and gold highlight the over-sized industrial windows of the upper stories. #^^

 

 

Sardi's

 
(ca. 1934)* - An exterior view of Sardi's Restaurant and Night Club, located at 6313 Hollywood Blvd. Other businesses, including: Vanity Fair, Joseph Pollock and Sloat-Dennis Furniture are also visible. The Pacific Electric street car tracks are visible in the center of the image and in the background there is a billboard advertising the 1934 film, "I Give My Love", starring Paul Lukas and Wynne Gibson.  

 

Historical Notes

Sardi’s restaurant opened in 1932 and was the sister of New York’s Sardi’s. It was designed by the world-renowned architect Rudolph Schindler in International style with metal and glass. This was a favorite restaurant of many stars including Charlie Chaplin, Maurice Chevalier, Wallace Beery, Marlene Dietrich and Joan Crawford.^#^#

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^^^ - Nighttime view of Sardi's on Hollywood Boulevard. The restaurant appears to be closed. The lit signboard to the right reads: "Carl Laemle Presents: __ "  

 

Historical Notes

Eddie Brandstatter was "Host of Hollywood" and catered to Hollywood stars in the 1920s and 1930s. He was owner and manager of the fashionable Montmartre Café, Embassy Club and Sardi's.*

 

 

 

 
(1936)^##* – View showing the filming of a movie in front of Sardi’s Restaurant on Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - View showing a woman getting out of a car in front of Sardi's Restaurant on Hollywood Boulevard. Neighboring businesses, include J. Hilliard Wright, Horton & Converse and Sloat-Dennis Furniture. Pacific Electric streetcar tracks run down the boulevard. Photo by Herman J. Schultheis.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)#**# – Night time view of Sardi’s Restaurant on Hollywood Boulevard. On the left is the Blue Room Cocktail Bar and to the right is the Horton & Converse Pharmacy.  

 

Historical Notes

Radio personality Tom Breneman was in Hollywood having lunch in 1940 with friends at Sardi's Restaurant when he realized the location's potential for a radio program. He quickly found an audience when he began broadcasting his Breakfast on the Boulevard January 13, 1941, on KFWB Los Angeles. Breakfast at Sardi's aired on the Blue Network from August 3, 1942, until February 26, 1943, when the title was changed to Breakfast in Hollywood, to avoid confusion with Sardi's in New York.*^

 

 

 

 
(1944)^^#* – Postcard interior view of Sardi’s Restaurant, located at 6313 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Verso reads:  "In the heart of glorious Hollywood -- just a whisper away from Hollywood Blvd. and Vine St. -- stands Sardi's, mecca of Hollywood filmites and Southern California socialites. Here world-famous stars, producers, writers and studio executives gather daily for luncheon and dinner. For it's "Breakfast at Sardi's" national broadcast...the renowned restaurant plays host to Southern California visitors from the world over."

After Sardi’s closed, it later became a Chi-Chicago restaurant, and then in the 1950s it became Zardi's Jazzland. Today, the building is occupied by Le Sex Shoppe and the Cave Theater .

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(1933)* - View looking west down Hollywood Boulevard from Van Ness Avenue. Various businesses, including Hollywood Furniture Company at 5816 (left), are present on both sides of the boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The intersection of Hollywood and Van Ness was drastically changed when the 101 Freeway was built; many of the structures seen here have since been demolished.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)##^* – Postcard view looking east on Hollywood Boulevard. The Warner Bros.Theatre is seen at left on the northeast corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Wilcox Avenue.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1930)* - A view looking east of Hollywood Boulevard from the pedestrian level with cars both parked and moving down the street, a pedestrian crossing in the middle and various businesses. A radio tower with "KFWB" on it, and Christmas tree decorations along the sidewalk can be seen.
 

 

Historical Notes

KFWB's history goes back to 1925, when it was launched by Sam Warner, a co-founder of Warner Brothers. The station launched the careers of such stars as Ronald Reagan and Bing Crosby. The station was the first to broadcast the annual Rose Parade in Pasadena.

The original KFWB studios and transmitter location were at the Warner Bros. Studios, which is now KTLA, at 5800 Sunset Boulevard. One of the two original towers still stands prominently out front. Due to RF interference getting into the movie studio's "talkies" sound equipment, the transmitter was moved in 1930 to the roof of the Warner Theater, now the Hollywood Pacific Theatre, at 6423 Hollywood Blvd. Eventually the studios were also moved to the Warner Theater. Those two towers are still there, as well.*^

 

Iris Theatre (today Fox Theatre)

 
(ca. 1930)* - View looking east on a busy Hollywood Boulevard near Wilcox Avenue. On the north side of the boulevard are the Innes Shoe Co., Warner Bros.Theatre and the Security Trust and Savings Bank; on the south side is the Iris Theater. Note: This view is prior to the installation of the KFWB towers on top of the Warner Bros. Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The Iris Theatre opened in 1918, as the second theatre on Hollywood Boulevard.  It was built by P. Tabor who employed architect Frank Meline, to design a Romanesque style theatre, with a brick façade.^^*

The distinction of being the first movie theater in Hollywood goes to the Idyl Hour Theater. Located at 6525 Hollywood Boulevard, it was established in either late 1910 or early 1911. During its first year the theater was little more than a converted store with chairs, a projector and a screen. The Idyl Hour Theater, whose name changed to the Iris Theater in 1913, moved to 6415 Hollywood Blvd. in 1914, and to a new 1000-seat theater at 6508 Hollywood Blvd. in 1918.^##^

 

 

 
(1934)* - Exterior view of the Iris Theater on July 31, 1934, located on Hollywood Blvd. west of Wilcox (6508 Hollywood Blvd). Its marquee announces an opening of J. Barrymore. Click HERE for contemporary view.
 

 

Historical Notes

The Iris theatre was redesigned by architect S. Charles Lee in July 1934 and was given an Art Deco style.  That survived until 1955, when the current façade was erected and the name was changed to Fox Theatre.^^*

Click HERE to see the Iris Theatre as it appeared in 1918 when it first opened.

 

* * * * *

 

YMCA (Hollywood)

 
(ca. 1934)* - Exterior corner view of the YMCA Spanish Colonial Revival style building located at 1553 N. Schrader Avenue in Hollywood. Bicycle racks are seen, as well as cars parked on the street, which is asphalt over brick paving.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Y was one of many popular men's clubs built in 1920s Los Angeles that encouraged social, moral and physical development through physical fitness (This group also included the Athletic Club on Sunset Boulevard.) Built in 1921 on the undeveloped Thomas Hudson property, the original much smaller Hollywood YMCA building was designed by the Los Angeles architectural firm Hunt and Burns.*^*^

The building was expanded in 1928, architect Paul Williams.

Click HERE for contemporary view.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - View looking east on Hollywood Boulevard.  Trees and plants in the lower left are in front of the Hollywood Hotel.  Across Highland Avenue stands the iconic tower of the First National Bank.  In the distance at center of photo is the eight-story Christie Hotel which was considered Hollywood's first skyscraper when it opened in 1922. On the right is the El Capitan Theatre with a flag reading "The Show Off".  Next to it in the lower right is the Hollywood Masonic Temple.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - Looking west on Hollywood Blvd. from McCadden Place. This photo was made during Christmas and Christmas tree decorations can be seen on the light standards along the street. In the distance on the right is the First National Bank of Los Angeles, Hollywood Branch, designed by Meyer and Holler, architects at the Milwaukee Building Company.  

 

 

 

 
(1935)* - Northeast corner of Highland and Hollywood Blvd. showing the facade of the First National Bank of Los Angeles, Hollywood Branch which is topped by a tower decorated with sculptures in arched niches and a flagpole.  

 

 

Mar-Cal Theatre (later World Theatre)

 
(1935)* - View of the exterior of the Mar-Cal Theatre (later renamed the World Theatre), located at 6025 Hollywood Blvd. The film, Mighty Barnum, is presently showing.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally opened in 1925 as the Mar-Cal Theatre, it later was operated by Pacific Theatres as the World Theatre. In its later years the theater showed second-run features in a triple bill for bargain prices. It closed in the Summer of 1986. ^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1926)* - Marquee of the Mar-Cal Theatre (later renamed the World Theatre) featuring "The Broken Gate" with Dorothy Phillips and William Collier Jr.  

 

Historical Notes

Today the much altered building is in use as a nightclub. Click HERE for contemporary view.

 

 

Vogue Theatre

 
(ca. 1935)^^^ - View of the Vogue Theatre located at 6675 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by noted theatre architect S. Charles Lee, the Vogue Theatre opened on July 16th, 1935 with a seating capacity of 897, all on one floor. The Vogue Theatre was run by Fox West Coast Theatres for many years until Mann Theatres took over in the early-1990’s.

One of the better mid-sized theatres on Hollywood Boulevard, the theatre is located on Hollywood Boulevard & North Las Palmas Avenue, across the next block from the Egyptian Theatre.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^^^ - Interior view of the Vogue Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard with its unique oval ceiling fixture.  

 

Historical Notes

Legend has it this theatre is haunted by a former projectionist, named Fritz, who once worked at the theatre.
The Vogue Theatre closed in around 1995 and for a short time was used as a theatre for psychic performances. It then had occasional use as a film location space. In December 2001, the theatre fittings were stripped out and sold off.^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^^^- The Vogue Theater marquee is lit for business. Two early model cars are parked in front.  

 

Historical Notes

In 2009, the building was fitted out as live performance space named the Supper Club, which caters for an adult audience.^^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 
(1936)* - View of a business district located on Vine Street in Hollywood. Cars are parked at the curb and establishments along the street include a bowling alley ("the only refrigeration air conditioned bowling"), Globe Investment Co., sporting goods, and florist shop.
 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - Hollywood Boulevard looking west toward Western Avenue. On the right is the Hotel Rector which sits on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Western. On the southwest corner of that intersection is the Hollywood-Western Building and further down the Gershwin Hotel (formerly the St. Frances Hotel).  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Exterior view of the Hotel Rector on the northeast corner of Hollywood and Western.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hotel Rector was built in the 1920s.  It provided rooms for stage and film actors and advertised daily rates at $1.50 to $2.*

 

 

Hollywood Western Building

 
(1928)^#^ - The grand opening of the Hollywood Western Building, 5500 Hollywood Blvd, on December 8th, 1928.  

 

Historical Notes

The S. Charles Lee designed Hollywood Western Building, 5500-5510 Hollywood Blvd, was built in 1928. The building was financed by Louis B Mayer and Irving Thalberg for the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA), including the Hays Office. The building also housed Central Casting.**##

 

 

 
(1940s)* - Exterior view of the four-story Hollywood-Western Building housing the Central Casting Corp. and various retail shops located on the southwest corner of Hollywood Blvd. and Western Avenue. Newman Drug Co. is on the corner.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1988, the Hollywood Western Building was designated LA Cultural-Historic Monument No. 336 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

 

West-Way Super Service Station

 
(1933)^^ – View showing the West-Way Super Service Station located at on the southwest corner of Western Avenue and Harold Way in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

This gas station, located at 1535 N. Western Avenue, was initially run by the partnership of John A. Jordan and Milton E. Jaeckel. They previously were operating two gas stations at 5873 Hollywood Boulevard and 1353 N. Western Avenue. They opened this facility either in 1931 or 1932. The West-Way Super Service Station went out of business by sometime in 1936. ^++

 

 

 

 

 
(1933)^^ - Two attendants provide full service on a 1932 Ford V-8, five window coupe at the pump of the West-Way Super Service Station at 1535 N. Western Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

Three different types of gasoline where sold at the facility: Signal Ethyl Purr Pull, which was dyed purple, Signal Regular, and low-priced Signal Peerless that sold for ten gallons for a dollar. ^++

 

 

 

 

 
(1933)^^ - Close-up view showing the four pumps at the West-Way Super Service Station, dispensing three grades of Signal fuel.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of LA Gas Stations

 

 

 

 

 
(1928)*# - Panoramic view looking east on Melrose Avenue at Western Avenue.  Cars share the road with a streetcar.  

 

 

Paramount Studios

 
(1930s)* - Aerial view, looking northeast, of Paramount Studios and sound stages located at 5555 Melrose Ave.  Melrose runs east-west at bottom of photo.  Van Ness Avenue runs south-north at upper right.  The Hollywood Memorial Cemetery is seen at top. Paramount's main office building is seen at bottom-center on the north side of Melrose.  

 

Historical Notes

Paramount Pictures dates its existence from the 1912 founding date of the Famous Players Film Company. Founder Hungarian-born Adolph Zukor, who had been an early investor in nickelodeons, saw that movies appealed mainly to working-class immigrants. With partners Daniel Frohman and Charles Frohman he planned to offer feature-length films that would appeal to the middle class by featuring the leading theatrical players of the time (leading to the slogan "Famous Players in Famous Plays". By mid-1913, Famous Players had completed five films, and Zukor was on his way to success.*^

 

Paramount-Famous-Lasky Corporation West Coast Studios

 
(ca. 1916)* - Entrance to the Famous Players-Lasky Corporation West Coast Studios located at 5555 Melrose Avenue before Paramount was added.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1916, Adolph Zukor maneuvered a three-way merger of his Famous Players, the Lasky Company, and Paramount. The new company Lasky and Zukor founded, Famous Players-Lasky Corporation, grew quickly, with Lasky and his partners Goldwyn and DeMille running the production side, Hiram Abrams in charge of distribution, and Zukor making great plans. Famous Players-Lasky and its "Paramount Pictures" soon dominated the business.*^

 

 

 
(1930)^^ - View of the Paramount Famous Lasky Corporation Studios at 5451 Marathon Street in Hollywood. The main entrance is through an elaborately carved stone archway in the foreground at left, and a sign above the entryway bears the name of the studio. A line of dark vehicles is parked along the side of the street in front of the building, and many pedestrians can be seen as well.  

 

Historical Notes

Zukor signed and developed many of the leading early stars, including Mary Pickford, Marguerite Clark, Pauline Frederick, Douglas Fairbanks, Gloria Swanson, Rudolph Valentino, and Wallace Reid. With so many important players, Paramount was able to introduce "block booking", which meant that an exhibitor who wanted a particular star's films had to buy a year's worth of other Paramount productions. It was this system that gave Paramount a leading position in the 1920s and 1930s, but which led the government to pursue it on antitrust grounds for more than twenty years.*^

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - View of the Paramount-Famous-Lasky Corporation West Coast Studios building.  

 

Historical Notes

Paramount films emphasized stars; in the 1920s there were Swanson, Valentino, and Clara Bow. By the 1930s, talkies brought in a range of powerful new draws: Miriam Hopkins, Marlene Dietrich, Mae West, W.C. Fields, Jeanette MacDonald, Claudette Colbert, the Marx Brothers (whose first two films were shot at Paramount's Astoria, New York, studio), Dorothy Lamour, Carole Lombard, Bing Crosby, band leader Shep Fields, famous Argentine tango singer Carlos Gardel, and Gary Cooper among them. In this period Paramount can truly be described as a movie factory, turning out sixty to seventy pictures a year.*^

 

 

 
(1936)* - View looking west on Melrose Avenue showing the Paramount Studios corporate office building at center-left and one of the entrance gates in the foreground.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1933, Mae West would also add greatly to Paramount's success with her suggestive movies She Done Him Wrong and I'm No Angel. However, the sex appeal West gave in these movies would also lead to the enforcement of the Production Code, as the newly formed organization the Catholic Legion of Decency threatened a boycott if it was not enforced.*^

 

 

 
(1940)^^ – Street view showing the front gates to Paramount Studios at 5555 Melrose Avenue.  Several people stand just outside the large archway of the gated entrance to the studios. The top of a Paramount water tower can be seen over the roof in the center distance.  

 

 

 

 
(1957)* - View of the elaborately carved stone archway entrance to Paramount Studios in Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)#**# – Night view showing the Paramount Pictures gate with spotlights accentuating its many features. The lighting shows the texture of the columns, and decorative motifs over the arch. Note how the light at the back projects the intricate ironwork of the gates onto the walls of the arch.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)#^* - View of the entrance gates to Paramount Pictures with the current addition of palm trees and fountain.  

 

Historical Notes

Paramount is the fifth oldest surviving film studio in the world behind Universal Studios, Nordisk Film, Pathé, and Gaumont Film Company. It is the last major film studio still headquartered in Hollywood.*^

 

 

 

Ravenswood Apartments

 
(1936)^*^^ – Postcard view showing the Art Deco Ravenswood Apartments at 570 S. Rossmore Ave.  Caption reads:  “Home of Mae West, Ravenswood Apts., Hollywood, California”  

 

Historical Notes

Throughout the years, the Ravenswood Apartments housed several movie stars, including Mae West, Ava Gardner and Clark Gable.

Mae West moved into Apartment #611, a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit, shortly after her arrival in Hollywood in 1932. The apartment had been reserved for her by Paramount and she liked it so much she never left. Offered a lifetime lease, she eventually had a share in the building when she lent the owners some money and they used the building as collateral. West lived there until her death in 1980.*^

 

 

 

 
(2003)*^ – View of the Ravenswood Apartments on Rossmore Avenue just south of Clinton Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Ravenswood is a historic apartment building at 570 North Rossmore Avenue in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California. Designed by architect Max Maltzman and built by Paramount Pictures in 1930, it is considered a landmark Art Deco masterpiece. It has been declared a Historic-Cultural Monument (No. 768) by the City of Los Angeles (Click HERE to see complete listing).*^

 

 

Grauman's Chinese Theater

 
(1934)#*^# – Close-up postcard view showng the entrance to the Chinese Theatre with the box office installed in the forecourt.  Now Playing:  "The White Parade" with Loretta Young and John Boles  

 

Historical Notes

The White Parade is a 1934 film that was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Picture. It was written by Rian James, Jesse Lasky Jr., Sonya Levien and Ernest Pascal, from the novel by Rian James. The film was directed by Irving Cummings.

Dedicated to "the memory of Florence Nightingale", the plot concerns the travails and romances of young women as they study to become nurses. It stars Loretta Young and John Boles.

The only surviving print is located at the UCLA film archive, and can be viewed at the Instructional Media Lab, Powell Library, after making an appointment.

This is one of two Best Picture nominees that have never been released on home video. The other is East Lynne (1931 film). with Loretta Young and John Boles.*^

 

 

 

 
(1935)#**# – View showing Shirley Temple at age 6 leaving her hand-and-footprint at a ceremony outside the Grauman’s Chinese on March 14, 1935.  

 

Historical Notes

Shirley Temple was, without a doubt, the biggest child star ever.  She was the number-one box-office star from 1935 through 1938. She once said her Mom took her to Bullocks Wilshire to meet Santa Claus. She stopped believing when she sat on his lap and Santa Claus asked her for an autograph. #**#

Temple began her film career in 1932 at the age of three. In 1934, she found international fame in Bright Eyes, a feature film designed specifically for her talents. She received a special Juvenile Academy Award in February 1935 for her outstanding contribution as a juvenile performer to motion pictures during 1934, and film hits such as Curly Top and Heidi followed year after year during the mid-to-late 1930s. Licensed merchandise that capitalized on her wholesome image included dolls, dishes, and clothing. Her box-office popularity waned as she reached adolescence. She appeared in a few films of varying quality in her mid-to-late teens, and retired completely from films in 1950 at the age of 22.

As an adult, now Shirley Temple Black, she entered politics and became a diplomat, serving as United States Ambassador to Ghana and later to Czechoslovakia, and as Chief of Protocol of the United States.*^

 

 

 
(1936)* - A marching band in the 1936 Welcome Military Parade on Hollywood Boulevard passes in front of Grauman's Chinese Theater.
 

 

 

 

 
(1937)^##* - View of the Hollywood Caravan to Spain in front of Grauman’s Chinese Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

Riette Kahn is shown at the wheel of an ambulance donated by the American movie industry to the Spanish government in Los Angeles, California, on Sept. 18, 1937. The Hollywood Caravan to Spain will first tour the U.S. to raise funds to “help the defenders of Spanish democracy” in the Spanish Civil War.^##*

 

* * * * *

 

Hollywood Police Station

 
(1936)* - Exterior view of the Hollywood police station, Division 6, located at 1358 No. Wilcox Ave., with the receiving hospital next door at right. Three uniformed officers stand in front, next to parked police cars. A flag flies above the entrance.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2000s)* - Exterior of Los Angeles Police Dept. Station, Div. 6, located on the southwest corner of Wilcox and De Longpre avenues.  Photo by Tom LaBonge  

 

Historical Notes

A new police station building stands at this site today. Click HERE for contemporary view.

 

Hollywood Post Office

 
(1937)^^ - View showing the opening of the Hollywood Post Office (Hollywood Station) at 1615 Wilcox Avenue with a parade out front.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1937, renowned Art Deco architect Claud Beelman, a partner at Curlett and Beelman, was commissioned by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) to design the Hollywood Post Office Building. A wooden bas-relief inside, titled "The Horseman", was carved by artist Gordon Newell as a WPA commission and still stands above a door.

Claud Beelman was a self-trained draftsman turned "moderne" architect in the early 20th century. He designed the Los Angeles County Fair Gallery, also commissioned by the WPA in 1937.*^

 

 

 
(1937)^^ - A man is seen standing behind a podium and giving a speech to a crowd on the steps of the new Art Deco Hollywood Station.  The post office is located on the northwest corner of Wilcox and Selma avenues.  

 

 

 

 
(1939)* - Exterior view of the Hollywood Post Office, located at 1615 No. Wilcox Avenue in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The post office is one of the few governmental and historical structures left unscathed in Hollywood. It was dedicated as a LA Historic-Cultural Monument in 1985.  Today, the building is also a “dead letter repository for love letters to such Hollywood luminaries as Clark Gable, Judy Garland, and others”. *^

Click HERE for contemporary view.

 

* * * * *

 

Hollywood Citizen-News Building

 
(1934)* – View looking north on Wilcox Avenue from near Sunset Boulevard showing the Hollywood Citizen-News Building at Exterior view of the Hollywood Citizen-News building on Selma and Wilcox, in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Constructed in 1930, the  art deco structure designed by architect Francis D. Rutherford was the production headquarters for the Hollywood Citizen News. The newspaper operated under various owners from the 1930s to the early 1970s. ^^#

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Night view of the exterior of the Hollywood Citizen-News building near the corner of Wilcox and Selma avenues, Hollywood.  

 

 

 

 
(2014)^^# – View showing the Citizen-News Building at 1545 N. Wilcox Avenue. Click HERE to see a more contemporary view.  

 

Historical Notes

The building, which is located between Hollywood and Sunset boulevards, underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation in 2006 to cater to the tastes of tenants in the media and entertainment industries. It has high ceilings, skylights, operable windows and patios on the second floor.^^#

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)*# – Ben-Hur Coffee: ‘The Starbucks of the 1930s’.  View of a market on the northeast corner of Vine and Romaine streets with an oversized sign on top of its roof reading: “Ben-Hur Coffee – Delicious Drip – It Agrees”  

 

 

 

 
(1937)^** - A slightly elevated view of property in Hollywood bordered by Sunset, Vine, Selma, and Argyle. The foreground is occupied by the Luger used car lot. Other businesses visible along the street are auto loan companies, a paint company, a drug store, and a chop suey company.   

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - View of the open air Safeway market with its Spanish tiled roof located on 5509 Sunset Boulevard near Western. Just behind the Safeway market on the upper right can be seen the sign board for the more modern Sam Seelig Market at 1515 N. Western.  

 

Historical Notes

Sam Seelig Company was founded in April 1912 by Sam Seelig, who had come to California from Arizona in 1911. Seelig opened a single grocery store in Los Angeles at the corner of Pico and Figueroa streets. The chain had grown to 71 stores by 1922. After World War I, the firm became deeply indebted to its main grocery wholesaler, a firm owned by W.R.H. Weldon. In a swap of stock for debt, Weldon assumed control of the chain, leaving Seelig in charge of retail operations. Seelig then left the company in 1924 to enter the real estate business, forming Sam Seelig Realty.

As a result of Seelig's departure, the company held a contest in 1925 to develop a new name, the result of which was Safeway. The original slogan was "an admonition and an invitation" to "Drive the Safeway; Buy the Safeway.” The point of the name was that the grocery operated on a cash-and-carry basis; it did not offer credit, as had been traditional for grocers. It was the "safe way" to buy because a family could not get into debt via its grocery bill (as many families did, especially during the Great Depression). By 1926, Safeway Stores had 322 stores centered in Southern California.*^

 

 

Hollywood Boulevard

 
(1936)^*^^ – Postcard view looking west on Hollywood Boulevard towards Highland Avenue where the 13-story First National Bank Building stands on the northeast corner.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)##^* – View looking east on Hollywood Boulevard at Cherokee Street.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1937)**## – Postcard view looking east along Hollywood Boulevard at Highland Avenue. On the north side of Hollywood can be seen the 13-story First National Bank Building, Montmartre Café, and the new J.C. Penney. Across the street is the Hollywood Theatre showing “Captain Courageous” with Spencer Tracey. On the N/E corner (out of view) stands the Hollywood Hotel.  

 

 

 

Hollywood Hotel

 
(ca. 1937)* - The Hollywood Hotel, located on the northwest corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Highland Avenue.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)#**# – Close-up view showing two women standing under the archway in front of the Hollywood Hotel near the NW corner of Hollywood and Highland.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1938)*^#* – Front view of the Hollywood Hotel with early model car parked in front.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1940)##^* – Postcard view showing the Hollywood Hotel located on the northwest corner of Hollywood and Highland.  The hilltop Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer can be seen in the upper right corner.  

 

Historical Notes

Though the Hollywood Hotel housed many of the great stars in its day, it was razed in August 1956 to make way for a $10 million development, with a twelve story office building for the First Federal Savings & Loan Association of Hollywood, a shopping center and parking lots. In 2001, the Hollywood and Highland entertainment complex, which includes the Hollywood and Highland Center, the current home of the Academy Awards, was constructed on the site.*^

After WWII, the Bernheimer home was remodeled and converted into apartments. Soon thereafter, Thomas O. Glover purchased the property and began the restoration of what was to become the Yamashiro restaurant.*

 

 

Hollywood Boulevard

 
(1937)* - View of Hollywood Boulevard looking west from one and a half blocks east of the intersection of Hollywood and Vine Street on July 21, 1937. There are a few cars on the street, as well as streetcar tracks. The Taft Building is at left, and the Equitable Building and Pantages Theatre at right.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)##^* – View looking west on Hollywood Boulevard at Argyle Avenue showing a streetcar heading east across the street from the Pantages Theatre.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)^^ - View looking west on Hollywood Boulevard showing the Pantages Theatre on the right. One block to the west is the intersection of Hollywood and Vine where three taller buildings stand (Equitable Building, Taft Building, and Broadway-Hollywood Building).  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)#**# – View looking east on Hollywood Boulevard at Sycamore Avenue with the Roosevelt Hotel seen in the background.  

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - Hollywood Boulevard looking east from Sycamore Ave. In the background are First National Bank Building, the Roosevelt Hotel and the Chinese Theater. First National Bank Building was designed by Meyer and Holler.
 

 

Historical Notes

The thirteen story First National Bank Building with Gothic/Renaissance elements a la Art Deco is one of a handful of structures in the city that is adorned with gargoyles. It was the tallest building in Los Angeles from 1927 to 1932.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)^^^ - Postcard view of Hollywood Boulevard looking east.  Two streetcars are seen passing each other in front of the Chinese Theatre.  The Art Deco First National Bank Building stands on the northeast corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Highland Avenue. A very large American Flag flys above its Gothic-style tower.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1937)*^## - Looking north on Highland Avenue near Sunset Boulevard. Hollywood High School can be seen at far left, and in the center distance are the Hollywood United Methodist Church and the Hollywood First National Bank Building.^^  

 

 

 

 

 
(1937)* - View showing a 1936 Packard 120 Straight Eight Coupe making a right turn onto Hollywood Boulevard from Cahuenga. Photo by Herman Schulteis  

 

Historical Notes

Packard was an American luxury automobile marque built by the Packard Motor Car Company of Detroit, Michigan, and later by the Studebaker-Packard Corporation of South Bend, Indiana. The first Packard automobiles were produced in 1899, and the last in 1958.

According to many people the introduction of the Packard 120 (seen above) was Packard's savior in the '30's during the final years of the Great Depression.*^

 

 

 
(1937)* - A car (1936 Auburn Cord 812 Westchester) stops on Highland at the intersection of Sunset in front of Curries Ice Cream shop, which is located at 6775 Sunset Boulevard. A dimensional sign that looks like a soda with two straws seems to illustrate the claim that the store featured "mile high cones." The northeast corner of Sunset and Highland is now a mini mall.  

 

Historical Notes

Cord was the brand name of an American automobile company from Connersville, Indiana, manufactured by the Auburn Automobile Company from 1929 through 1932 and again in 1936 and 1937.*^

People still fondly remember the Currie’s chain and its “mile-high cone” whose replica was often displayed billboard-style on roofs. The chain was started in 1927 by three brothers named Kuhns. After WWII they sold it to the Good Humor Company who later sold it to Lipton in the 1960s. In 1964 the chain opened its 87th store, in North Hollywood. Although Currie’s anticipated launching units in every community in Southern California, only three outlets were listed in the 1967 Los Angeles phone book and the chain had disappeared by the 1980s. +##+

 

 

 
(1936)*# - View showing some filming in front of the CoCo Tree Café on the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine with the Equitable Building in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

Carl Laemmle’s vision was to build a 900 seat theatre and office tower on this corner.  However, the depression thwarted his plan so he opened the CoCo Tree Café and used the top of the building to advertise his Universal Pictures.

Click HERE to see more in N/W Corner of Hollywood and Vine.

 

 

 
(1938)* - Traffic signal at Hollywood and Vine, looking northeast, with the Equitable Building in the background. An ornate two-lamp streetlight is at the upper-right of photo. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights.  

 

 

 

 
(1938)#**# – View looking south on Ivar Avenue from Yucca Street towards the Hotel Knickerbocker.  The iconic windmill of the Van de Kamp’s coffee shop dominates the S/W corner of Ivar and Yucca. Click HERE to see contemporary view.  

 

Historical Notes

Theodore J. Van de Kamp and brother-in-law Lawrence L. Frank were the owners and originators of the Van de Kamp Bakeries. Fondly known as the "Taj Mahal of all bakeries". Van de Kamp and Frank also founded both the Tam O'Shanter's (1922) and Lawry's Prime Rib Restaurant (1938) restaurants.

The bakery was sold by the Van de Kamp family and acquired by General Baking Co. in 1956. The company was sold to private investors in 1979, and closed in bankruptcy in 1990.

Former Los Angeles County District Attorney John Van de Kamp is a grandson of the baker's founder. *^

Click HERE to see Van de Kamp's 1st Windmill Bakery Shop.

 

Hotel Knickerbocker

 
(1938)* - View of the Hollywood Knickerbocker Apartment Hotel, located at 1714 Ivar Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1923 E. M. Frasier built this 11-story hotel in Spanish Colonial style, which catered to Hollywood's film industry and was home to many stars throughout the years. This historic building began life as a luxury apartment building that was at the heart of Hollywood back in the 1920s, before becoming a hotel later in its history; its slogan was "Your home for a year or a day".

The building has been linked with tragic deaths and because of this, it is considered haunted by some. Some unfortunate occurrences: D.W. Griffith died of a stroke on July 21, 1948 under the crystal chandelier of the lobby; a costume designer named Irene Gibbons jumped to her death from a hotel window; William Frawley, who lived at the hotel for decades, died of a heart attack on the sidewalk in front of the Knickerbocker. Other stars that frequented the hotel with better luck were: Rudolph Valentino, Elvis Presley, Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio, Frank Sinatra, Lana Turner, Mae West, and Cecil B. DeMille among many, many others.

In 1970 a renovation project converted the hotel into housing for senior citizens.*

 

 

 

 

Historical Notes

Before it became the allegedly haunted apartment complex it is today, this Hollywood hotel was a revolving door of A-list movie stars. Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio used to rendezvous at the hotel bar, and Elvis shacked up here while shooting his first film, “Love me Tender.” *#*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(1956)*# - An Elvis sighting at the Hollywood Knickerbocker Hotel.    

 

 

 

 

 
(1938)**^** – View looking west on Franklin Avenue from Bronson Avenue.  The Western and Franklin Avenue streetcar is stalled due to street flooding.  On the right is Haig’s Market and a radio store.  

 

Historical Notes

More than six inches of rain fell on March 2, 1938 throughout Southern California, causing widespread flooding throughout Los Angeles County. Rain continued intermittently for several days.**^**

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)*# - Panoramic view looking toward the southeast corner of Cahuenga (left) and Highland Ave (right).  Streetcars and automobiles share the road at this busy intersection. A Texaco service station stands on the corner with the Hollywood Roosevelt Plaza Hotels behind it (Note: this hotel is not related to the famous Roosevelt Hotel on Hollywood Boulevard).  

 

Historical Notes

This little nestle of buildings was known as the French Village. It was set on a triangular plot of land at the point where Highland Avenue and Cahuenga Boulevard converged as they entered the Cahuenga Pass. This puts it roughly across the street from the front entrance of the Hollywood Bowl. It opened in 1920, and throughout the 1920s, 30s, and 40s, the French Village was home to a revolving community of actors, writers, costume designers, dance instructors and singing coaches. #**#

To relieve traffic congestion at this busy Cahuenga and Highland intersection, a tunnel was bored under Highland ca. 1937. A large construction boring tractor can be seen at center of photo.

 

 
(ca. 1938)++^ - View looking southeast showing the Cahuenga and Highland intersection shortly after a tunnel was bored to relieve congestion. US 101 traffic took the tunnel. Highland Ave traffic went to the right.  

 

 

 

 
(1938)^^ - Looking southeast at Whitley Heights across the intersection of Cahuenga Boulevard shortly after the construction of the new underpass to Highland Avenue. The entrance to the Hollywood Bowl is just beyond the shoulder of the hill on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

The seriously complicated solution to the traffic pattern was largely eliminated in the coming years through the realignment and widening of Caheunga.*^

 

 

 
ca. 1938)^^^# - View looking northwest showing Cahuenga Pass as it heads toward the San Fernando Valley.  The tunnel at center-right (since closed) extended Highland Boulevard to the north, under the Freeway. The Hollywood Bowl is on left (out of view) on the other side of the freeway.  

 

Historical Notes

This entire area would change pemanently with the construction of the Hollywood Freeway. The first segment of the Hollywood Freeway built was a two mile stretch through the Cahuenga Pass. That segment opened on June 15, 1940. It was then known as the "Cahuenga Pass Freeway." Pacific Electric Railway trolleys ran down the center of this freeway until 1952.*^

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Cahuenga Pass and the new Cahuenga Pass Freeway.

 

 

 
(ca. 1951)* - Bird's eye view of the Hollywood Freeway through the Cahuenga Pass, looking towards the Valley. The Cahuenga Tunnel under Highland Avenue can be seen at lower center-left. The "Muse of Music" Statue at the entrance to the Hollywood Bowl is visible just to the left of the tunnel as is part of the Hollywood Bowl shell (center-left). Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Cahuenga Pass.  

 

 

 

Hollywood Bowl

 
(ca. 1930s)#**# - View showing newly paved driveway at the entrance to the Hollywood Bowl, with large wooden sign on the dirt embankment.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^^ - Postcard view of the entrance to the Hollywood Bowl showing the "Muse of Music" statue and the Gruen Watch signboard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1939, the Hollywood Bowl’s “Muse of Music” entrance statue was erected by the WPA at a cost of $100,000. It was designed by sculptor George Stanley, most noted for his design of the “Oscar” statuette.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)^^^ - Postcard view of the Hollywood Bowl Entrance at dusk.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Evening view of the Hollywood Bowl hillside seating area, without the shell.
 

 

Historical Notes

Over the years, the Hollywood Bowl shell would go through a series of design modifications all in an effort to improve the acoustics. However, in the early years (1926-1929) the shell configuration was dramatically changed four times.*^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)*# - View looking northwest across an empty parking lot toward the intersection of Hollywood and Vine from Selma Ave just west of Argyle Ave. Signboards can be seen everywhere including (l to r): Western Air Lines, Brown Derby, Plaza Hotel, The Broadway-Hollywood, Miller High Life Beer, and the Taft Building.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)* - View of Vine Street looking north from Sunset Boulevard. The Tropics Restaurant and Hollywood Recreation Center Bowling are on the left, with the Broadway Hollywood in the distance. There are no cars on the street. The bowling sign features a ball rolling toward the pins.  

 

 

 

 
(1939)^^ - View looking north on Vine Street toward Hollywood Boulevard and the Hollywood Hills showing several pedestrians walking along the sidewalk.  Some of the legible signs include (left to right):  Bowling, Bank of America, Plaza Hotel, The Broadway-Hollywood, Canadian Club, and The Brown Derby. Photo by 'Dick' Whittington.  

 

 

Brown Derby (Hollywood)

 
(1939)* - View looking north up Vine Street at Selma Avenue, towards the Hollywood Hills. The Taft Building (S/E corner of Hollyood and Vine) stands in the background.  The Brown Derby Restaurant at 1628 N. Vine Street is seen at center-left.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby chain was started by Robert H. Cobb and Herbert Somborn (a former husband of film star Gloria Swanson). Bob Cobb is known as the inventor of the California Cobb Salad. He was also part owner of the Hollywood Stars baseball team. Click HERE to see more in Baseball in Early L.A.*^

 

 

 
(1928)^***^ – View showing the future home of the Hollywood Brown Derby Restaurant located at 1628 N. Vine Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Brown Derby Vine Street building was originally designed and constructed as a studio office for Cecile B. Demille.

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)^ - Exterior view of the Brown Derby Restaurant, Hollywood. The Derby is shown from the front, a long awning extending over the sidewalk that leads to its entrance. At right, a hat-shaped sign for the Derby is visible extending from the second story of a Spanish Revival-style building, below which a second sign reads "Hiram Walker's 'Canadian Club'". At left, an automobile is parked in front of the Eddie Cantor gift shop.  

 

Historical Notes

Despite its less distinctive Spanish Mission style facade, the second Brown Derby, which opened on Valentine's Day 1929 at 1628 North Vine Street in Hollywood, was the branch that played the greater part in Hollywood history. Due to its proximity to movie studios, it became the place to do deals and be seen. Clark Gable is said to have proposed to Carole Lombard there. Rival gossip columnists Louella Parsons and Hedda Hopper are recorded as regular patrons.*^

 

 

 

 
(1930s)^^^ - Postcard view of "The Brown Derby Restaurant" - 1628 N. Vine Street - Hollywood, Calif.  

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)#**# - Interior view of the Vine Street Brown Derby, which opened in 1928. Note the pictures on the wall.  

 

Historical Notes

The walls were covered with famous caricatures drawn by an artist whose name was so long and complicated, he shortened it to Vitch. He originally approached the owners of the Brown Derby asking if he could draw the caricatures of diners in exchange for a bowl of hot soup and a cup of coffee. They became very popular and soon it became a “thing” to sit at the Brown Derby below your portrait. #**#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)##^* – View showing a group of men standing in front of the Brown Derby on Vine Street.  

 

Historical Notes

There were four* Brown Derby restaurants: Beverly Hills, Los Feliz, Wilshire , and this, the most famous, on Vine Street in Hollywood.

* Technically the Brown Derby had a 5th location. In the late 1980s, after a fire destroyed the 1628 N. Vine Street building seen above, the Brown Derby re-emerged on the northwest corner of Hollywood and Vine but only for a very shrot time. Click HERE to see more in History of the N/W Corner of Hollywood and Vine.

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)* - View showing pedestrians walking past the entrance to the Brown Derby. On top of the next building is a prominent sign reading "Western Air Lines".  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Brown Derby became part America's Culture industry.  Stars received fan mail addressed simply to:  The Brown Derby, Hollywood and Vine.

 

 

 
(ca. 1940s)#**# – Life Magazine photo showing the interior of the Vine Street Brown Derby.  The waiters are bustling around the restaurant, tending to well-dressed patrons huddled in booths, while Eddie Vitch’s caricatures fill every square inch of the walls. Note the ornate chandeliers.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1950s)*^^* - The Brown Derby on Vine was featured in that legendary episode of "I Love Lucy" where Lucy Ricardo accidentally covers William Holden in food after gawking at the actor from an adjacent booth.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby in Hollywood is where stars usually frequented, and was the place to see and be seen. Humphrey Bogart, Groucho Marx, Cecille B. Demille and other Hollywood legends could be seen eating here.

 

 

 
(1947)*^^^* - Entertaining caricature map of Post-World War II Los Angeles, which graced the cover of the dinner menu for the famous Brown Derby Restaurant.  Image courtesy of Barry Lawrence Ruderman Antique Maps (RareMaps.com)  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby chain included restaurants in Hollywood, Beverly Hills, L.A. (Wilshire) and the Los Feliz area. The Los Feliz Brown Derby at 4500 Los Feliz Blvd is the last remaining branch of the chain still extant and in operation.*^

 

 

 
(1944)*^^ - The Brown Derby at night, located at 1628 N. Vine Street. Not quite a still life: the long exposure reveals the blurred spectral figure of a man to the left of the entrance awning.  

 

Historical Notes

The Brown Derby building was largely destroyed by fire in 1987. Only a small fragment of the restaurant's facade remains, and is being incorporated into a new W Hotels development. In the nineties, the building was home to a family of punk squatters.*^

After the fire, the Brown Derby re-emerged on the N/W Corner of Hollywood and Vine, but would be there for only a short period of time.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1939)* - Night view of Vine Street looking north from Sunset Boulevard. The Brown Derby neon sign can be seen at right-center. The Tropics Restaurant and Hollywood Recreation Center Bowling are on the left, with the Broadway-Hollywood in the distance. There are barely any cars on the street. The neon bowling sign features a ball rolling toward the pins.  

 

 

 

 
(1940s)* - Night view of the south side of Hollywood Boulevard looking east from Cosmo. The Broadway-Hollywood is on the left at the corner of Vine. Seen also, with neon-lighted signage, are Nancy's, Thrifty, Hollywood Beauty College, Schwabs, Western Union, Hollywood Citizen Stationery Store, and Dinel's.   

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)^ - Night view of a market on Hollywood Boulevard circa 1938.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1938)^^^ - Postcard view looking west down the center of Hollywood Boulevard during the Hollywood Christmas Parade. From left to right can be seen the Hotel Christie, Egyptian Theatre, Roosevelt Hotel, First National Bank Building and the Vogue Theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce created the Hollywood Christmas Parade in 1928 to boost shopping. Originally called the Santa Claus Lane Parade, the inaugural event featured only Santa Claus and the actress Jeanette Loff.

The parade continued to grow in scale with the help of local businesses and the community. In 1931 Santa Claus rode a truck-pulled float instead of the reindeer-pulled carriage of previous years. American Legion Post 43 marched with a color guard, drum line and bugle corps.*^

 

 

 

Earl Carroll Theatre

 
(ca. 1938)* - A photographic postcard showing the Earl Carroll Theater, located at 6230 Sunset Boulevard, as seen from across the street at night. Mark C. Bloome, located just east of the theater, can be seen in the distance.
 

 

Historical Notes

Earl Carroll Theatre was the name of two important theaters owned by Broadway impresario and showman Earl Carroll. One was located on Broadway in New York City and the other on Sunset Blvd in Hollywood.

Earl Carroll built his second famous theatre at 6230 Sunset Blvd. in Hollywood that opened on December 26, 1938. As he had done at the New York theatre, over the doors of the entrance Carroll had emblazoned the words "Through these portals pass the most beautiful girls in the world." *^

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)*^^* - View showing the Earl Carroll Theater revolving stage under construction.  What appears to be Earl Carroll is reviewing plans with designers and others while the chorus line girls position themselves on the yet to be completed revolving stage.  

 

Historical Notes

An "entertainment palace," the glamorous supper club-theatre offered shows on a massive stage with a 60-foot wide double revolving turntable and staircase plus swings that could be lowered from the ceiling.*^

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)**## – Interior view of the Earl Carroll Theater as seen from the revolving stage.  

 

 

 

 
(1939)***# - View of the front of the Earl Carroll Theatre with a woman's face in neon outline above the entrance.  

 

Historical Notes

The Earl Carroll Theatre's facade was adorned by what at the time was one of Hollywood's most famous landmarks: a 20-foot high neon head portrait of entertainer Beryl Wallace, one of Earl Carroll's "most beautiful girls in the world," who became his devoted companion.

 

 

 

 
(2016)^^^# – Close-up view of the Earl Carroll Theatre neon sign that reads:  ‘Thru These Portals Pass The Most Beautiful Girls In The World’. Photo by Sandi Hemmerlein  

 

Historical Notes

The Earl Carroll Theatre's sign had long since vanished by the 1960s, but a re-creation made from photos is today on display at the Museum of Neon Art in Glendale, as part of the collection of historic neon signs from the Museum of Neon Art.

 

 

 

 
(1947)^*^^ – Postcard night view of the Earl Carroll Theatre on Sunset Boulevard near Vine.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1940s)#^^^ – Postcard view showing the “Wall of Fame”,  Earl Carroll’s Theatre-Restaurant, Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

Another major feature at the Earl Carroll Theatre was its "Wall of Fame" where many of Hollywood's most glamorous stars had inscribed personal messages on individual concrete blocks, which were mounted on an outside wall of the building.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Exterior view of the Earl Carroll Theatre, located at 6230 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood. Plaques affixed to the building reveal signatures from some of the top performers of the day; from left to right, Edward G. Robinson, Miriam Hopkins, Jean Hersholt, Binnie Barnes, Charles Laughton, Elsa Lanchester, Bob Hope, Nelson Eddy, Ginger Rogers, and Mickey Rooney. A banner on which most of Jimmy Durante's name is visible hangs a foot or so away from the building.  

 

Historical Notes

Over time, hundreds of movie stars inscribed their signatures on the building’s concrete blocks. One of the great Hollywood mysteries is the fate of all those signed slabs.

 

 

 
(1940s)^^*^* – Postcard view looking southeast showing a couple crossing Argyle Avenue with the Earl Carroll Theatre seen across Sunset Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(1948)^##* – View looking west on Sunset Boulevard at N. El Centro Ave.  The Earl Carroll Theatre can be seen in the distance, with Mark C. Bloome Tires on the left.  

 

Historical Notes

The Earl Carroll Theater was sold following the 1948 deaths of Earl Carrolll and Beryl Wallace in the crash of United Airlines Flight 624. It continued to operate but by the early 1950s it was falling on hard times.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1953)^^*^* –  Night view showing the Frank Sennes Moulin Rouge shown here with the original 20-foot high neon head portrait and also ‘Wall of Fame’ still on the building. Note the Mark C. Bloome sign at left.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1953, Las Vegas showman Frank Sennes reopened the theater as a nightclub under the name "Moulin Rouge". The popular TV contest show Queen for a Day was broadcast from the Moulin Rouge during part of the show's 1956–1964.*^

 

 

 

 
(1966)^^*^* – View showing the Hullabaloo Rock and Roll Club.  

 

Historical Notes

In late 1965 the theater became the "Hullabaloo", a minors-welcome rock and roll club, capitalizing on the popularity of the television variety show Hullabaloo.

For several months in 1968 it was the "Kaleidoscope" and featured many top West Coast rock acts, with an emphasis on local bands such as The Doors.*^

 

 

 
(1970)^^*^* – View showing the Aquarius Theater, two years after it was painted for the opening of "Hair” Photograph courtesy Richard Wojcik.  

 

Historical Notes

In late 1968, the venue was redecorated in the psychedelic art style, renamed the "Aquarius Theater", and rededicated as the home of a long-running Los Angeles production of the Broadway musical Hair. It was still sometimes used for rock concerts on Mondays, when the Hair company had its day off, and as a result the Aquarius is famous as the place where The Doors performed on July 21, 1969, making live recordings that were later issued commercially.

In 1983, the Pick-Vanoff Company purchased the property and converted it into a state-of-the-art television theater that for nine years was the taping site of Star Search.  The Pick-Vanoff Company also owned Sunset-Gower Studios, formerly the home of Columbia Pictures. For many years, it was used for the annual Jerry Lewis MDA Telethon.  In the fall of 1993, the theater was the venue for Fox Network's The Chevy Chase Show under the name "The Chevy Chase Theater". The talk show was a disaster and was cancelled after five weeks; the theater reverted to its previous name soon after.*^

 

 

 
(2011)*^ – View showing Nickelodeon on Sunset at 6230 Sunset Boulevard, once the Earl Carrolll Theatre. Photo by Matthew E. Cohen  

 

Historical Notes

In the late 1990s, the name of the theater was changed to "Nickelodeon on Sunset" and it became the headquarters for Nickelodeon's West Coast live-action television production after the theater was acquired by the cable television channel Nickelodeon. Some of the shows filmed there for Nickelodeon include the ten-season run of All That, The Amanda Show, Drake & Josh, and more recently iCarly and Victorious.

In 2004, it was sold to a private equity firm as part of a larger parcel of property. As of September 2007, the City of Los Angeles Historic Preservation Board was working to assure that the theater is protected.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

 
(1942)^##* – View showing the Mark C. Bloome Service Station located at 6210 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.  This service station was on the S/W corner of Sunset and El Centro Avenue, just about opposite the Hollywood Palladium. The Earl Carroll Theatre is just to the right (west) of the station.  

 

Historical Notes

Mark C. Bloome immigrated to Southern California from Canada in 1924 and parlayed a 15-cent-a-gallon Richfield gasoline station into one of the nation's largest chain of tire stores.  He survived the Depression years by offering glassware giveaways and other free premiums at his expanding chain of stations and at one point even had women on roller skates speeding among the pumps dispensing gasoline.

By the 1950s, Bloome's stations numbered an even dozen and they were selling a broad range of tires from nearly all manufacturers. Customers were waiting in air-conditioned rooms while their cars were being serviced in giant bays a few feet away, a system that was a forerunner of the modern tire store.

In 1972, the family sold the business to Petrolane Inc. and Bloome retired. In 1986, Goodyear purchased it. ^^#

Today you'll find a strip mall, which includes a Discount Tire Centers, where the Mark C. Bloom Service Station and Tire Shop once stood. Click HERE for Google Street View.

Click HERE to see more Early LA Gas Stations.

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1936)#+#+ – View looking south across Sunset Boulevard showing the Sunset Medical Building located at 6642 Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood.  Photo by Julius Shulman  

 

Historical Notes

From the building records, it looks like 6642 was built as a residence in 1921. The description of the Shulman photos names Rudolph M Schindler as architect, and it's his name that appears on the 1936 alteration permit. There also seems to be a demo permit dated as early as 1967. *#

The lot is empty today.  Click HERE to see contemporary view.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1936)#+#+ – Interior view of the Sunset Medical Building on Sunset, showing the latest in dental equipment.  Photo by Julius Shulman  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Chili Bowl

 
(ca. 1937)* - One of the six Chili Bowl restaurants, located at 801 N. La Brea Avenue. The neon sign mounted on the roof reads, "Get the Chili Bowl Habit!"  Photo by Herman Schultheis  

 

Historical Notes

Art Whizin established the Chili Bowl restaurant chain in Los Angeles in 1931, known for its distinctive shape in the form of a chili bowl. Whizin was a 25-year-old former amateur boxer when he established the business on Crenshaw Boulevard near Jefferson Boulevard with funding raised by selling "his wife's wedding ring and his roadster." Other businesses at the time were also modeled with architecture featuring eye-catching architectural depictions of the goods sold including ice a cream cones and coffee kettles. These are knows as Programmatic Architecture.

Chili Bowl restaurants were arranged with 26 stools around a circular counter (no tables) and employed college "kids" as burger flippers. The specialty dish was an open-faced burger smothered in chili and there were 22 restaurants within a decade of the eatery's opening.  After WWII many of the stores were converted into Punch & Judy Ice Cream Parlors that were later closed, and Whizin also built a mall in Agoura Hills that still bears his name.*^

 

 

 
(1961)* - Exterior of Theater Ninety, located at 972 Vine Street at Willoughby Avenue (lower left). A Texaco service station is on the far right. This structure's shape and size give away its former life as a Chili Bowl restaurant; it has since been demolished.  

 

Historical Notes

Four Chili Bowl structures survive, one in Huntington Park, Long Beach that is now the Guadalajara Nightclub, another became Kim Chuy Chinese restaurant on Valley Boulevard in Alhambra, the one on Pico Boulevard (that remained open 24 hours during the war effort for nearby workers), is now Mr. Cecil's California Ribs, and the one on San Fernando Road in Glendale is a used-car dealership.*^

Click HERE to see more examples of Programmatic Architecture.

 

* * * * *

 

Radio Center Market

 
(ca. 1939)#**# - Spotlights greet customers to the opening of the Radio Center Market at 1334 Vine Street, Hollywood, not far from the Sunset and Vine corner where the NBC and CBS radio studios were located.  Note the sign above the corner entrance reads:  'TRUMP' Cleaners – Tailors.  The building still stands today, although modified.  Click HERE for contemporary view.  

 

 

 

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

More Historical Early Views

 

 

Newest Additions

 

 

Early LA Buildings and City Views

 

 

History of Water and Electricity in Los Angeles

 

 

* * * * *

 

References and Credits

* LA Public Library Image Archive

^^ USC Digital Archive

^* California Historic Landmark Listing (Los Angeles)

^ California Historical Society Digital Archive

** Retronaut - Hollywoodland Sign

#^WhitleyHeights.org: Aerial of Cahuenga; Whitley Heights Aerial

#+LA Weekly: Laurel Canyon Country Store

***The Story of Hollywood by Gregory Paul Williams

^^^California State Library Image Archive

^**Huntington Digital Library Archive

**^Table Magazine: LA Observatory

++^US101 - Socalregion.com

^++The Old Motor

**#Beguiling Hollywood: The Hollywood Hotel

^^#LA Times: Hollywood Citizens News Building; Marlboro Man Signboard; Mark C. Bloome

+^#Facebook.com: Hidden Los Angeles

*#*Elvis Blog

#^^Hollywood Walk of Fame Historic Buildings

#++GoCalifornia.about.com: Sunset Strip

#^*Pinterest.com: Old Hollywood; Los Angeles

#^# DWP - LA Public Library Image Archive

##*The Daily Mirror: Garden Court Apartments

*^*MTA Transportation and Research Library Archives

^*^LA Street Names - LA Times

*^^Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles - losangelespast.com

^^*Cinema Treasures: Vogue Theater; Pantages Theater; Iris Theatre; Marcal - World Theatre

*^*^YMCA Hollywood - paulwilliamspoject.org

*^^*Vintage Los Angeles: Facebook.com: Lucy/Holden; Villa Nova; Sunset Tower Apartments; Earl Carroll Revolving Stage; Schwabs Sunset; Player's Club

^*^^Pomona Public Library Poscard Collection

^^^^Water and Power Associates

^*^#Facebook.com - Bizzare Los Angeles

^^^#KCET: How the Town of Sherman Became West Hollywood; The Player's on the Sunset Strip; L.A.'s First Freeways

+++#Go-Go Notebook.com: Flipper's Roller Derby Palace

***^Pinterest.com: Bertrand Lacheze; Vintage Los Angeles: Sunset Strip; Trocadero Nightclub

^***Griffithobservatory.org:

^**^Griffith Observatory: laparks.org

**^^Radio City Hollywood

**##MartinTurnbull.com: The Players; Hollywood-Western Building; Earl Carroll Theater; Sherry's Restaurant; Hollywood and Highland

^#^#Hollywood: Then and Now

^##^Hollywoodphotos.com

+##+Restaurant-ing Through History: Ice Cream Parlors

^##*Flickr.com: Michael Ryerson; Bill Badzo

^#^^Facebook.com - Vintage LA: 1968 Sunset Strip; Yellow Submarine; 1984 Sunset Strip

^^#*Flickr.com: Elizabeth Fuller

*#*#Facebook.com - Great Photos from Los Angeles's Past:  Players Nightclub

*^#*Calisphere: University of California Image Archive

*^^#Mt. Hollywood - Small Mountain, Big Dreams

*^##OAC - Online Archive of California

#**#Facebook.com: Garden of Allah Novels, Martin Turnbull

#*^#Historic Hollywood Theatres: Grauman's Chinese Theatre

#^**The Go Go's: Local Coffee Shops and Diners; PJ's Nightclub

#^^#The Rise and Fall of Dino's Lodge by Kliph Nesteroff

#^##ShareTV.com: 77 Sunset Strip

##^*Facebook.com: Classic Hollywood-Los Angeles-SFV

*###Google Maps

###*GoLosAngeles.abouttcom: History of the Sunset Strip

####Neatorama.com: Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis Restaurant Owners

#^#*Pinterest.com: Rock'n'Roll & Boogie Woogie

#+#+Getty Research Institute

**^**Los Angeles City Historical Society

***^^Oldshowbiz.tmblr.com: Crescendo Club

***##Googie Architecture

**^^^Pinterest.com: Sunset Strip

*^^^^SeriousEats.com: Carneys Diner

*^*^*Blogspot.com: It's a wrap - USA/Mexico - Mel's Drive-In

*^#^*Vintage Everyday

*^*^^Crescendo GNP

^*^*^Go Los Angeles About.com: Sunset Strip

^***^Flickr.com: gsjansen

*^^^*RareMaps.com

^^*^*Los Angeles Magazine: Aquarius Theatre

^#*#^Private Los Angeles Tours: Ciro's Nightclub

^#^#^LA Curbed: Sunset's Tower Records

*#*#*wehoville.com: Tower Records

*# Skyscraperage.com. - Griffith Observatory; Elvis at Knickerbocker Hotel; Gruen Sign; Garden Court Apartments; Mt. Hollywood; Ben-Hur Coffee; Sherry's Restaurant; Griffith Observatory; Sunset Strip 1960s; Cahunega and Highland Intersection ca1937; Googie's; Selma and Argyle; Sunset Medical Building

*^ Wikipedia: Hollywood; Hollywood Athletic Club; Hollywood Bowl; Grauman's Chinese Theatre; Grauman's Egyptian Theatre; Pantages Theatre (Hollywood); John Hanson Ford Theatre; 20th Century Fox; Samuel Goldwyn.Studio; Barnsdall Art Park; Greek Theatre; Griffith Observatory; Cinerama Dome; Ralphs; Hollywood Palladium; Hollywood and Vine; Hollywood Masonic Temple; Hollywood Pacific Theatre; Max Factor; West Hollywood; Brown Derby; Hollywood Christmas Parade; The Hollywood Hotel; Cord Automobile: Sunset Tower; West Coast Radio City - Los Angeles; Earl Carroll Theater; Cafe Trocadero; Breakfast in Hollywood; Whitley Heights; Hollywood Christmas Parade; Garden Court Apartments; Chili Bowl Restaurant - Art Whizin; The Hillview; Paramount Studios; Hollywood Freeway; Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel; J. J. Newberry; Claudette Colbert; Whisky A Go-Go; Gazzari's; The Whtie Parade; The Troubador; Starwood Club; Hollywood Post Office; Chubby Checker; Decoration Day; 77 Sunset Strip; Chateau Marmont Hotel; The Doors; The Comedy Store; Ciro's Nightclub; The Ravenswood; Googie Architecture; Charlie Chaplin; Doheny Drive; Shirley Temple

 

 

< Back