Early Los Angeles City Views (1800s)

Historical Photos of Early Los Angeles

 
(ca. 1890)^ - Unpaved 4th Street, looking east from Hill Street. An awning covers Meuschke's Grocery located on the ground level of the Brighton Hotel building on the N/E corner (left). The Grant Hotel can be seen in the background. Horse-drawn vehicles abound.  

 

Historical Notes

Between 1880 and 1890, the City of Los Angeles saw one of its fastest growing periods (percentage wise). Population increased from 11,200 to 50,400 (350%).*^

 

 

 
(1890)^ - Postcard view of 1st and Spring Streets in 1890. With a thriving population of 50,395, 1st and Spring Streets, where present-day City hall now stands, was the heart of the city. At that time the downtown section extended north of 1st Street, while the residential section started about 4th Street to the south. There are numerous pedestrians seen, as well as horse-drawn vehicles. A streetcar is full of passengers.
 

 

 

 

Temple Street and Broadway

 
(1890)^ - Exterior of the Temperance Temple of the Women's Christian Temperance Union (WCTU), located at 301 N. Broadway at Temple Street. A horse-drawn Temple Street Cable Railway trolley and carriages are shown traveling down both streets past the Temple and other neighboring buildings.
 

 

Historical Notes

The Women's Christian Temperance Union (WCTU) stands for the complete abstinence from alcohol, tobacco, and all harmful drugs and protection of the home. As the membership of the WCTU grew throughout the U.S, a call went out from May Gould, a resident of Los Angeles, to Frances Willard (president of the national organization) to organize a local group in Southern California. On September 20 and 21, 1883, the first State Convention was called and the WCTU of Southern California was organized at the First Presbyterian Church, 2nd and Fort (now Broadway) Streets, Los Angeles. This temple was dedicated in 1889 after money had been donated for its construction in 1886. The Frances E. Willard Home For Girls was housed on the 4th floor from its inception in 1919 until 1933, when the Long Beach Earthquake severely damaged the building.^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - View looking south on Broadway toward Temple Street. The Temperance Temple stands on the N/W corner (center), surrounded mostly by boarding houses.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^^ - View from top of the LA County Courthouse looking northwest. The original Los Angeles High School, which was moved in 1887, can be seen at center of photo. The New Los Angeles High School (built in 1891) is at right-center. In the foreground can be seen the Temperance Temple (WCTU), located on the northwest corner of Temple Street and Broadway.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)#^* – View showing the San Francisco Fire Department brigade and band, in front of the Los Angeles County Courthouse (S/E corner of Temple Street and Broadway) with the Temperance Temple Building across the street. The tower of Los Angeles High School can be seen in the distance (top center-right). On the left is a clear shot of the Clifton (rooming) House (231-233 N Broadway) and the Rivers Bros. Grocery on the corner of Broadway and Temple Street (300 W Temple). The little house immediately above the Rivers Bros. sign is actually on N. Hill Street.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1947, the County of Los Angeles took the site where the Temperance Temple once stood by eminent domain and constructed a power plant. The Temperance Temple was completely razed in 1950.^

 

 

 
(1900)^ - View looking toward the LA County Courthouse located on the S/E corner of Temple Street and Broadway as seen from over the Rivers Bros. Grocery (S/W corner).  

 

 

Main and Winston Streets

 
(ca. 1897)#^ – View looking northwest on Winston Street toward where it intersects with Main Street showing an Edison Electric crew laying conduit for one of LA’s earliest underground electric distribution systems. The building on the right with the two arched windows and a restaurant is the Main Street Savings Bank Building on the N/E corner of Main and Winston streets. Click HERE to see contemporary view.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1896, West Side Lighting Company was organized by private investors to provide another source of electricity for the city of Los Angeles and fringe areas.

In 1897, West Side Lighting merged with the newly established private company, Los Angeles Edison Electric, which owned the rights to the Edison name and patents, especially the underground DC-power rights. The merged company took on the Edison name. An underground system and technology was crucial at this time, since the city voted in a resolution limiting the installation of new overhead utility poles due to excessive overhead wire congestion. Los Angeles Edison Electric installed the first major DC-power underground conduits system in the Southwest.

Until the 1930's, three separate electric utilities served Los Angeles. Click HERE to see more in First Electricity in Los Angeles.

 

 
(ca. 1880s)^ – View looking toward the northeast corner of Main and Winston streets showing the Main Street Savings Bank Building at 426 S. Main Street.  

 

 

 

 
(1890s)^ - View looking north on Main Street showing horse-drawn carriages, streetcar, and pedestrians all sharing the street.  The large building with the awnings on the right is the Government Building, located on the southeast corner of Winston and Main Streets. Further north (N/E corner of Winston and Main) is the Main Street Savings Bank Building. Further in the distance is the Westminster Hotel with tower.  

 

 

 

 
(1893)^ - United States Government Building, southeast corner of Main Street and Winston Street.
 

 

Historical Notes

In June of 1893 the Los Angeles Post Office moved into this building from its location on Broadway near Sixth Street.^

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^^ - View of Main Street looking north from 5th Street. The Westminster Hotel can be seen in the distance. The U.S. Government Building which housed the Los Angeles Post Office is the building on the right with the awnings.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^*# - Close-up view looking north on Main Street from 5th Street. The Westminster Hotel is at center-left (sign on roof line). To its right is the Main Street Savings Bank Building. On far right is the U.S. Government Building  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - 4th and Main looking north. The I. W. Hellman Mansion is on the left and on the right is the Westminster Hotel, designed by Robert B. Young, before it was enlarged.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1898)^*# - View looking north on Main Street at 4th Street. On the N/E corner stands the Westminster Hotel. On the N/W corner is the Van Nuys Hotel (Built in 1895).  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - A horse and buggy and a few people stand on the corner on 4th and Main Streets in front of the Westminster Hotel, architect, Robert B. Young. Down the street to the left is the N.P. Bailey Furniture store.  

 

Historical Notes

The Westminster Hotel was a large Victorian brick building with a six-story tower. It was designed in 1887 by Robert B. Young and was considered the grandest hotel in the city. In about 1870, this area was the site of a Chinese market. By the mid-1930s the hotel was in decline. It, however, continued to operate until 1960 when the building was razed to make room for new development.^^

 

 

 

 
(1890)^ - View looking north on Main Street at 4th Street as seen from the Westminster Hotel.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - Spring Street looking north from the roof of the Stowell Building at 2nd Street, circa 1890. The Hollenbeck Block/Hotel is the first building on the left, next the Bryson-Bonebrake Block (n/w corner of 2nd and Spring) center the County Courthouse, roof of Phillips Block, Temple Market Block and Baker Block.
 

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1888)^##* - View of the Bryson-Bonebrake Block located on the northwest corner of Spring and Second streets. Coulters Dry Goods is to the left, on the southwest corner.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - View of the Bryson-Bonebrake Building located at the northwest corner of 2nd and Spring. Note how the roofline has been shaved off, including towers, domes, and chimneys, to make room for two additional stories (see previous photo).  

 

Historical Notes

Two highly influential figures in 1880s Los Angeles, John Bryson, Sr., the 19th mayor, of LA and Major George H. Bonebrake, President of the Los Angeles National Bank and the State Loan and Trust Company, commissioned John Cather Newsom to erect this 126-room bank and office building. It's cost was projected to be $224,000, a staggering sum at the time. Bonebrake was one of the richest men in the city at the time, and he could afford making such an investment. He located the main headquarters of his bank in the Bryson-Bonebrake Block.^##*

 

 

 

 
(1890)^## - View of Spring at 2nd Street looking north. The Hollenbeck Hotel is seen on the left and the Bryson-Bonebrake Building is on the right. Horse-drawn carriages are parked in front of the hotel.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - The Hollenbeck Hotel sits on the southwest corner of Spring and Second behind trolley lines extending up and down the streets on both sides. On the street are people, a trolley, horses and buggies. Architect, Robert B. Young.  

 

Historical Notes

John Edward Hollenbeck (June 5, 1829 - September 2, 1885) was an American businessman and investor who was involved in the 19th century development of Nicaragua and the city of Los Angeles, California.

Arriving in Los Angeles a wealthy man from his investments in Nicaragua in 1876, Hollenbeck purchased land on the east side of the Los Angeles River, and built a large residence with broad verandas and a tower on extensive grounds on Boyle Avenue. He made twenty-seven acquisitions of property by 1880. In 1884 he purchased and developed an urban business district, known as the Hollenbeck Block, within Los Angeles.

In 1878 Hollenbeck became a stockholder in the Commercial Bank of Los Angeles, and was elected its president. In 1881, he and other investors organized and established the First National Bank. In 1880, Hollenbeck, with former California Governor John G. Downey, horticulturalist Ozro W. Childs and other associates, persuaded the State of California to purchase 160 acres in Los Angeles to foster agriculture in the southland. The property, then known as Agriculture Park, is now known as Exposition Park, home to the Los Angeles Coliseum and the Los Angeles County Museums.*^

 

 

 
(1890)^ - Fort Street (now South Broadway), showing the Fort Street Methodist Episcopal Church, replaced by the Homer Laughlin Building in 1916. Also includes the "Peerless" restaurant, featuring a sign that reads "Best 15 cent meal in the City"!  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^^ - Panoramic view of downtown Los Angeles looking west from Spring Street and Fourth Street toward Bunker Hill across Broadway between Third Street and Fourth Street. Fort Street Methodist Episcopal Church (later purchased by Homer Laughlin for $63,000 in 1899) stands in the center of the photograph which includes principally dwellings. The Crocker Mansion can be seen in the upper right. The tall pole at the top of Bunker Hill seen in the upper-left is one of Los Angeles’ earliest electric stretlights, standing 150-ft tall. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^^ - View showing the Hunter Residence located on Fort Street (later Broadway) near Third Street.  The single-story brick house has a small fence surrounding its perimeters. It features a covered porch, large rectangular windows and a symmetric, inclined roof. Above the covered porch is "furnished rooms" sign. The Fort Street Methodist Episcopal Church is to the left of the small house.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - Bunker Hill neighborhood, as seen from east of Hill Street (foreground). 3rd Street (lower center) is to the left of the First Congregational Church (lower right), which later became the Central Baptist Church then lastly the Unitarian Church. The Crocker Mansion is seen in the upper right and the Leonard John Rose (with cupola) residence at Fourth Street and Grand Avenue is present in the upper left.
 

 

 

 

 

 
(1894)^^ - Panoramic view of downtown Los Angeles, looking east, as seen from the rear deck of the Crocker Mansion .  The view is looking toward the intersection of Broadway and Third Street where the Bradbury Building stands on the southeast corner. The streets are busy with horse-drawn vehicles and pedestrians. A pile of construction supplies and debris is visible near the intersection. City Hall is at left on Broadway and the First Congregational Church at lower-left (NE corner of 3rd and Hill).  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1893, the Bradbury Building was commissioned by LA mining millionaire Lewis L. Bradbury and designed by local draftsman George Wyman. It still stands today and is the oldest building in Downtown LA.

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Bradbury Building.

 

 

 

 

 
(1895)#^* – View looking west at 3rd and Hill Streets with the Crocker Mansion seen at the top of Bunker Hill.  The southwest corner of 3rd and Hill (lower-right) would become the lower station terminal of Angels Flight.  

 

Historical Notes

At the turn of the 20th Century, no building dominated Bunker Hill like the Crocker Mansion. Perched high at the corner of Third and Olive, the imposing 3-story Victorian structure overlooked the emerging metropolis for more than 22 years.#**#

 

 

 

 

 
(1898)^^ - Panorama view from 3rd and Spring streets showing the Crocker Mansion and neighbors on Bunker Hill.  

 

Historical Notes

Construction on the Third Street Tunnel began in 1900, and Mrs. Crocker filed a petition claiming that the mansion was endangered by the street tunnel which was “unsafe, improperly constructed and a veritable death trap.” According to the Los Angeles Times, “the walls of her house are settling, the foundations giving way and the plaster is falling off…Unless something is done, the building is liable to topple into a hole.” The house never did topple and was alive and well in 1902 when Angels Flight began operating and dropping riders off practically on the Crocker doorstep. #**#

 

 

 

 

 
(1901)^*# - Photo of Angels Flight at the grand opening of the railway, December 31st, 1901. An observation tower was also constructed on top of the hill adjacent to the Crocker Mansion.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1901 with financing from Colonel J.W. Eddy, as the Los Angeles Incline Railway, Angels Flight began at the west corner of Hill Street at Third and ran for two blocks uphill (northwestward) to its Olive Street terminus.*^

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Angels Flight.

 

 

 
(1890s)^ - Rear view of the Crocker Mansion showing the full extent of its wide balconies where you could get a great view of the emerging metropolis of Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^^ - Panoramic view of downtown Los Angeles looking southeast on First Street and Hill Street toward Broadway.  City Hall, which is the tall tower with a flagpole, is at center-right. The First Presbyterian Church can be seen at center-left with a spire.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1891)^^ - Panoramic view of Los Angeles from 1st Street and Hill Street looking southeast.  The 3-story Highland Villa (n/w corner of 1st and Hill) is on the far left.  Also on the left, in the distance, stands Los Angeles County Courthouse with it’s distinctive clock tower.  The LA Times Building, located on the northeast corner of 1st Street and Broadway, is seen at center-right between the palms.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^^ - Panoramic view of Los Angeles looking east as seen from the top of the Court House tower, showing the orphanage building in the distance.  The area in the foreground is densely packed with commercial buildings and many of which boasts Greek or Italian-style architecture. Aliso Street can be seen at left running into the left background. Trees are sparsely scattered throughout the city, and what appears to be the Los Angeles River can be seen across the background.  

 

 

Corner of 5th and Hill Streets

 
(ca. 1890)^^ - View showing the first building erected on the corner of Fifth Street and Hill Street in Los Angeles. The small, two-story clapboard house is at center. It has a small balcony with an open doorway at center, as well as a covered porch on the first floor. Large vines have grown up the side of the porch, hiding much of the front of the house from view. Four people are on the sidewalk in the foreground, including two young children at left and a girl and a woman walking at center.  

 

Historical Notes

The building, the home of Mary E. Taft, was moved to face Fifth Street. Later this block would become part of the center of Los Angeles' financial district.^^*

 

 

 

S/W Corner of 2nd and Grand

 
(1890)^ - Photo taken from the southwest corner of 2nd Street and Grand Avenue, looking north on Grand. It shows a modest one-story home. A woman stands on the steps that lead to the entrance of the house and three other people are standing in the garden, all looking toward the photographer. Visible behind tall trees, a larger, more elaborate Victorian home can be seen.  

 

 

 

S/E Corner of 8th and Flower

 
(1890)^- View showing the First English Lutheran Church, located at the southeast corner of Flower and 8th Streets in Los Angeles, shown soon after its construction in 1890 before the streets were paved. The Abbotsford Inn is visible behind the church on the left side and a few residences are seen in the background on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

Abbotsford Inn was converted into a hotel by Abbot Kinney, best known as the developer of Venice. The building, designed by Robert B. Young, was erected in 1887 by D. W. Hanna as Los Angeles College or Hanna College. After the college failed, Kinney took it over.^

 

Broadway and 10th Street (now Olympic Blvd)

 
(1890)^^ – View looking north on Broadway from 10th Street (Olympic Blvd. today).  At least two craftsman-style buildings with chimneys are visible in the background left of the street, partially obscured by trees and other vegetation. The street is unpaved and what appear to be several horse-drawn carriages and/or trolleys are moving along it too quickly to be photographed with clarity. A telephone pole is visible to the right, and what appears to be a pile of cut tree branches is in the lot next to the buildings. Note the tall pole in the center of the photo.  It is 150-ft tall and is one of Los Angeles' First Electric Streetlights.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1932, the entire length of the 10th Street, from East L.A. to Santa Monica, was renamed Olympic Boulevard for the 10th Summer Olympics being held in Los Angeles that year. *^

Click HERE to see the same view in 1926.

Click HERE to see the same view in 2015.

 

 

N/E Corner of Broadway and 8th Street

 
(ca. 1897)+** – View showing the northeast corner of 8th Street and Broadway. A woman and young girl are seen standing in front of the Victorian house. Another woman is seated in a horse-drawn carriage. Click HERE to see contemporary view.  

 

 

 

Pasadena

 
(ca. 1890)^ - Postcard view showing Pasadena and Mount Lowe in the San Gabriel Mounains as seen from the Hotel Raymond.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)*#* - View of Colorado Boulevard, then named Colorado Street, looking east to Marengo Avenue. Horse-drawn wagons with displaying america flags appear to be in a parade (possibly 4th of July).  

 

 

 

 

 
(1890)^ - Exterior view of the Raymond Station in South Pasadena, in 1890. A locomotive with cars, stand ready, outside the station. A horse-drawn vehicle is parked alongside of the station.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Pasadena.

 

 

 

Alhambra

 
(ca. 1890)^ - Photograph of Alhambra, Garfield and Main Street ca. 1890. A horse drawn street car is in front of the elaborate Alhambra Hotrel. The building on the opposite corner is named the Jones Building and was erected in 1887.  

 

Historical Notes

Alhambra was founded as a suburb of Los Angeles in 1903. It existed as an unincorporated area during the mid-19th century. The first school in Alhambra was Ramona Convent Secondary School built on hillside property donated by the prominent James de Barth Shorb family. Thirteen years before the city was incorporated, several prominent San Gabriel Valley families interested in the Catholic education of their daughters established the school in 1890. The city's first public high school, Alhambra High School, was established in 1898, five years before the city's incorporation. The Alhambra Fire Department was established in 1906. On July 11, 1903, the City of Alhambra was incorporated.

Alhambra is named after Washington Irving's book Tales of the Alhambra, not after the Alhambra palace itself.*^

 

 

 

 
(1898)^- This was one of the big hotels in Alhambra in 1898. Early settlers made their homes in Alhambra, gateway to the San Gabriel Valley, because of the water works.  

 

Historical Notes

The elegant Alhambra Hotel stood at the northwest corner of Garfield and Main. This ornate structure was one of the earliest commercial buildings having been built in 1888 and which featured a billiards hall, barbershop, and restaurant. Unfortunately, the building burned down in 1908.*##*

 

 

 
(1887)^ - Alhambra's first restaurant was named "Tilley's" and was located in this two story wood frame building with a sidewalk and unpaved street.  

 

Historical Notes

Tilley's Restaurant opened in 1885.  It was built by H. W. Stanton at the corner of Main and Garfield, the building was first used as a post office and grocery. The upstairs hall was used as a church, school, community meetings, and entertainment gathering place. H. W. Stanton was the first storekeeper, postmaster, teacher, telephone agent, land subdivider and promoter. After subdividing several ranches he became wealthy and retired. He took a trip around the world, but upon his return to Alhambra found that the boom had gone bust, and he too was broke.^#*#

 

 

   
(1898)^ - An unidentified man (possibly one of the owners) stands at the front door of the Crow & Drake Groceries, two-story building located on So. Garfield Ave. It was the first general merchandise store in Alhambra in 1898.    

 

 

 

 

 
(1890)^ - Two men and a horse stand outside a building in Alhambra with a sign on the roof identifying the owner as Charles Winter, horseshoer and blacksmith. The shop opened in 1885 and was located at 4 W. Main Street.  

 

 

 

Wolfskill Ranch - Arcade Station - Arcade Palm

 
(ca. 1880)^ - Full frame lithograph photo of the orange and lemon groves on the Wolfskill Ranch, residence of  William Wolfskill. The Los Angeles and Independence Railroad Station can be seen in the background. The Southern Pacific Arcade Station would later be built on the Wolfskill Ranch.  

 

Historical Notes

William Wolfskill, a native of Kentucky, came to California in 1831 and settled in Los Angeles in 1836.  In March 1838, Wolfskill purchased a 100-acre lot bounded by 3rd to 9th streets and San Pedro to Alameda streets, which he named Wolfskill Ranch, and built a large adobe (known as "Wolfskill Adobe") located at 239 Alameda, between 3rd and 4th streets.

In 1839 Wolfskill became a major grape producer when he planted the first vineyard of table grapes in California. Two years later, in 1841, he planted his first 2-acre plot of citrus behind his adobe, between 4th and 6th streets east of Alameda. In a short period of time, Wolfskill's farm had increased to 28-acres of planted citrus with over 2,500 orange trees. By 1862 he owned 3/4 of all the orange trees in California and was the biggest orange grower in the United States - for which he is considered the father of early California citrus industry.^

 

 

 

 
(1889)^^  - View of a palm tree being moved to the front of the Arcade Depot on Fifth Street and Central Avenue on land that was once occupied by the Wolfskill Adobe.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1888, the Southern Pacific Railroad built the Arcade Depot in competition with the Santa Fe Railroad. Santa Fe R.R. would open the La Grande Station at 2nd Street and Santa Fe Avenue just five years later, in 1893.

The Arcade Depot replaced the adobe house of William Wolfskill and its surrounding orange grove, the largest in Southern California.^

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - View looking east along a street leading to the Southern Pacific Railroad Arcade Station in the background. This turn-of-the-century view shows street railway cars, horse-drawn vehicles, and what appears to be an early automobile behind the pole in the center foreground.  

 

Historical Notes

The first automobile in Southern California appeared in 1897. It was built in a shop on Fifth Street in Los Angeles by S.D. Sturgis for J. Philip Erie. Erie became the first to drive an automobile on Los Angeles roads. By 1904, 1,600 cars were cruising the streets of Los Angeles. The maximum speed limit was 8 mph in residential areas and 6 mph in business districts.^#*

 

 

 
(1897)^ - A river of water on Alameda Street looking south from 4th Street in December, 1897, when rain measured 6.53 inches. Seen is the Southern Pacific Railroad Arcade Station.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1891)^ - Southern Pacific steam engine no. 1364 heads the train at the Arcade Station at Alameda between 4th and 5th St.  

 

Historical Notes

The Arcade Station was the second station built by Southern Pacific in Los Angeles (and first one built primarily for passenger service). Built in 1889 and used until 1914 when it was replaced by larger SP Central Station. It was demolished shortly thereafter.

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^ - Interior view of an empty Arcade Depot. The trains appear to be sitting outside the building.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^## - View showing over a dozen horse-drawn wagons waiting for the next train to arrive at the Southern Pacific Arcade Depot.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1896)^## – Close-up view of the large palm tree standing in front of the Arcade Depot.  Horse-drawn wagons are parked in front of the station.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1908)^^ - Close-up view of the Arcade Depot with it's now-famous palm tree standing tall in front of the main entrance. Horse-drawn carriages can be seen waiting for the arrival of passengers.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1914, the Southern Pacific Railroad replaced the Arcade Station with the Central Station, a larger and more modern railroad passenger depot. The Union Pacific Railroad moved its Downtown Los Angeles passenger terminal to Central Station in 1924 after its original passenger depot just south of First Street on the east side of the Los Angeles River was destroyed by fire.*^

 

 

 

 
(1914)^ - Horse and buggies are parked outside the Arcade Station in its last year of operations at Alameda between 4th and 5th St. The singular Arcade palm tree can be seen in front of the station, the same tree seen being planted in the earlier 1889 photo.  

 

Historical Notes

Amazingly, the original Arcade Depot palm is still alive. It was replanted at a location in front of the Los Angeles Coliseum where it stands today. It along with the Longstreet Palms are considered to be the oldest trees in the City of Los Angeles.^*#

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)#*#* - Plaque commemorating the Arcade Depot Palm as the "Mute witness to the growth of Los Angeles". Both plaque and Arcade Palm are situated in front of the LA Memorial Coliseum.  

 

Historical Notes

The plaque sits in front of the Exposition Park entrance leading to the coliseum. It reads:

“This historic palm tree stood for more than twenty-five years at the entrance of the Southern Pacific Station.  At this railroad portal of the City it became a familiar landmark to many thousands of Los Angeles and Southern California citizens and visitors from elsewhere, and was a mute witness to the growth of Los Angeles from a community of Pueblo days to a great world metropolis of today.  When construction of a new Southern Pacific Station necessitated removal, under the auspices of the Los Angeles Examiner it was presented to te City of Los Angeles by the Southern Pacific Company.  On September 5, 1914, it was placed here, where it and its sentimental associations will be prmanently preserved.”

 

 

La Grande Santa Fe Station

 
(1893)^ - View looking eastward from Santa Fe Avenue at 2nd Street. La Grande Santa Fe Depot is at right, located on the corner of 2nd and Santa Fe.  

 

Historical Notes

Santa Fe opened La Grande Station on July 29, 1893 and it was unique for Southern California in its Moorish-inspired architecture. The station was located at 2nd Street and Santa Fe Ave, just south of the First Street viaduct built in 1929 and on the west bank of the LA River.*^

 

 

 
(1890s)^^ - External view of the La Grande Santa Fe Station. Horse-drawn carriages are parked at the curb waiting for passengers.  

 

Historical Notes

The Moorish-inspired La Grande railroad station was used as a passenger terminal for Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway.^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1894)^## - View of the front entrance to the La GrandeSanta Fe Depot showig the detail of its Moorish-style domes.  

 

Historical Notes

Many Hollywood movies were filmed at the stylish station. Laurel and Hardy's film Berth Marks (1929) was one of the first sound movies shot on location. Other movies that used Santa Fe's La Grande Station included Choo Choo 1931 (Our Gang - Little Rascals), Lady Killer, 1933 with James Cagney, Swing Time 1936 (Fred Astaire) and Something to Sing About 1937 (James Cagney).*^

 

 

 

 
(1890s)*^ - A passenger train is stopped at the La Grande Station as two men are seen posing for the camera.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1893)^*^# – View showing passengers lining up to board the Overland Train at Los Angeles' La Grande Station.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1899)^*^# – Panoramic view showing a train leaving the La Grande Station.  Note the tall poll in the background (center-left).  It was one of Los Angeles’ first streetlights and was 150 ft. tall.  Click HERE to see more in Early LA Streetlights.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Spring Street

 
(1880s)^*# - View looking south at a congested Spring Street. Horse-drawn wagons and trolleys share the road. Pedestrians are seen walking on sidewalks along numerous telegraph poles. To the left is a large sign that reads: CROCER, COFFEES AND TEAS. To the lower right a smaller sign reads: CENTRAL MARKET.  

 

Historical Notes

The Central Market was a retail meat makret located at 149-51 Spring Street. It was owned by Simon Maier, brother of Joseph Maier of the Maier and Zobelin Brewery.

Interesting Fact: The Central Market was located next door to the undertakers (per the 1894 Sanborn Map).^*#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - North Spring Street looking south from Temple in the 1890s approximately 10 years after the previous photo was taken. Horse-drawn vehicles are seen mainly parked along the curbs while pedestrians cross the cable car tracks.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1891)^^ - View of Spring Street looking north from Third Street, ca.1891. The Bryson Block on Second Street and Spring Street can be seen, showing The Fourth Street & Broadway streetcar standing idle with its driver looking on at center as two other street cars pass by. To the left, a very large building topped with several spires dominating the skyline can be seen. Businesses include the Wonder (219 South Spring Street), Burdick & Company, and the Parisian Cloak and Suit Company at  221 South Spring.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1892)^ - A Columbus Day parade on October 26, 1892, on Spring and 2nd Streets.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1899)^ - A view of bicycle riders on Spring Street riding north near 8th St. On the right side (east side of Spring) a sign for the Corum Paper Box Factory is visible on the side of a building.  

 

 

 

San Fernando Valley

 
(ca. 1891)^ - This was the intersection of Lankershim and Chandler as it appeared in the late 19th Century. Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the San Fernando Valley.  

 

Historical Notes

Lankershim Boulevard was named for the town of Lankershim (first called Toluca, now North Hollywood) and its founding family, the Lankershims. Isaac B. Lankershim grew wheat on a wide swath of the Valley floor on his Lankershim Ranch. North Hollywood was established by the Lankershim Ranch Land and Water Company in 1887. It was first named Toluca before being renamed Lankershim in 1896 and finally North Hollywood in 1927.

Chandler Boulevard was originally a leg of Sherman Way, it was renamed for land developer and Los Angeles Times publisher Harry Chandler.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^^ - Photograph of Chatsworth Park and its live oak trees, San Fernando Valley. Beyond a lone oak tree in the foreground, piles of wood are stacked between two pairs of railroad tracks. Four buildings are visible in the center of the field. Grids of newly planted and some mature oak trees border the buildings. Mountains are visible beyond the distant rocky hills.  

 

Historical Notes

In the late 1800s the San Fernando Valley was divided into thirteen ranches, seven of which were located in the southern half of the valley and six in the northern half.  The Granger Ranch, owned by Benjamin F. Porter, became Chatsworth Park.^#

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the San Fernando Valley

 

 

National Soldier's Home

 
(1892)^ - Exterior view of the National Soldier's Home (now Veterans Administration Hospital) in Sawtelle (now Los Angeles), and nearby grounds, where veterans and guests are visible. The veterans are walking single file in two lines down a pathway.
 

 

Historical Notes

The National Asylum for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers was established on March 3, 1865, in the United States by Congress to provide care for volunteer soldiers who had been disabled through loss of limb, wounds, disease, or injury during service in the Union forces in the Civil War. Initially, the Asylum, later called the Home, was planned to have three branches: in the northeast, in the central area north of the Ohio River and in what was then still considered the northwest, the present upper Midwest. The Board of Managers, charged with governance of the Home, added seven more branches between 1870 and 1907 as broader eligibility requirements allowed more veterans to apply for admission.*^

 

 

 

 
(1892)^ - A large crowd gathers to welcome a person or group (?) to the National Soldier's Home (now Veterans Administration Hospital) in 1892.  

 

Historical Notes

The  National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers was established in 1887 on 300 acres of Rancho San Vicente y Santa Monica lands donated by Senator John P. Jones and Arcadia B. de Baker. The following year, the site grew by an additional 200 acres; in 1890, 20 acres more were appended for use as a veterans' cemetery. With more than 1,000 veterans in residence, a new hospital was erected in 1900. This hospital was replaced in 1927 by the Wadsworth Hospital.*^

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^ - View of a street on the grounds of the National Soldier's Home in Sawtelle. In the background can be seen wide open, and still undeveloped land as far as the eye can see.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1896, the Pacific Land Company purchased a 225-acre tract and hired S.H. Taft to develop a new town named Barrett, after Gen. A.W. Barrett, local manager of the veterans home situated in the area. When the Pacific Land Company attempted to secure a post office for the new town, the postal authorities objected to the name "Barrett" on account of its similarity to Bassett, California. In 1899, the name of the town was formally changed to Sawtelle (for W.E. Sawtelle who superseded Taft as manager of the Pacific Land Company).

Sawtelle existed as a separate city until 1922 when Sawtelle voters decided to join Los Angeles*^

 

 

Downtown

 
(1891)^^ – View looking west on Fifth Street from Towne Avenue with several large American flags hanging from wires strung across the street.  

 

 

 

 
(1886)^ - An early picture of the southeast corner of Spring and 5th St. when the building was occupied by Central Saloon. It later became the location of the Security Building.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1892)^ - Several mules or horses pull a flatbed past the crowds watching at the southeast corner of Spring and 5th Street.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1880s)^ - A sketch of the west side of Broadway, at 5th Street. Building signs read "Hawley King & Co.", "L.A. Lighting", and "Perry Electrical Works."  

 

 

 

 

 
(1891)^## - View looking west on 5th Street at Broadway. In the distance can be seen the State Normal School located at 5th and Grand.  

 

 

 

 

 
(2014)#*^# - Google street view looking west on 5th Street at Broadway.  

 

 

 

 

Before and After

 
(1891)^## - Looking west on 5th Street at Broadway with the State Normal School in distance.   (2014)#*^# - Google street view looking west on 5th Street at Broadway.

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1893)^ - Southwest corner view of the State Normal School, located at Grand and 5th Street. A long and winding driveway is located on the left side of the entrance, and a long flight of stairs (barely visible) is on the right; the school sits impressively on the last knoll of Bunker Hill, aptly dubbed "Normal Hill".  

 

Historical Notes

In 1880, with a population of 11,000, Los Angeles was a gas-lit pueblo trying to convince the state to establish in Southern California a second State Normal School, like the one already existing in San Jose, some 300 miles to the north. In March of the following year, the State Assembly approved the establishment of such a school. A group of enthusiastic citizens, over 200 of whom contributed between $2 and $500, purchased a site less than a mile from the business section. Soon the towering Victorian form of the school rose from an orange grove that, today, is the site of the Central Los Angeles Public Library.^

UCLA's roots are intertwined with that of the State Normal School. Click HERE to see the connection in Early Views of UCLA.

 

 

 
(1890)^ - View is seen from the east side of the Normal School. 5th Street is on the left; Grand Avenue is in the foreground. St. Paul's Pro-Cathedral (Episcopal) is on the right-center. Hazard's Pavilion is on the left-center. 6th Street park (later Pershing Square) is in the center.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1892)^ - 2nd and Hill Streets looking east from near Olive Street. Mostly a residential area, there are a few commercial buildings, including one housing O.C. Sens, merchant tailors, entrance on Broadway. The 1888 City Hall at 226 So. Broadway is seen at center. The First Presbyterian Church with its impressively tall spire stands at left on the southeast corner of 2nd Street and Broadway.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1893)^^ – View looking south on Broadway showing the First Presbyterian Church on the southeast corner of Second Street and Broadway (left) with City Hall several lots behind it. The California Bank Building stands on the southwest corner.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1889)^ - Exterior view of the Old City Hall, located at 226 Broadway. This was Los Angeles' third City Hall.  

 

Historical Notes

Los Angeles’ third City Hall was erected in 1888 at 226-238 South Broadway.  This grand Romanesque edifice of marble and red sandstone building stood for 40 years until 1928 when the present day City Hall was completed.^

 

 

 
(1895)^ - Exterior view of the third City Hall, built in 1888, adorned with banners. Horse-drawn wagons are parked in front.  

 

Historical Notes

The following historical timeline lists the buildings used by City Council, also known as City Hall, since 1850, when Los Angeles was incorporated as a municipality:

◆ 1850 - 1853 - used rented hotel and other buildings for City meetings

◆ 1853 - rented adobe house (aka Rocha Adobe) on Spring Street - across from current City Hall (now parking lot for Clara Shortridge Foltz Criminal Justice Center). The buliding was shared with the County who used it as a Court House.

◆ 1861 - moved into John Temple's Clocktower Market Building, but only stayed for less than a year before the County Court House moved-in

◆ 1861 - 1884 - relocated back to the Rocha Adobe and stayed for over 20 years

◆ 1884 - 1888 - moved to new City Hall Building at South Spring Street and West 2nd Street (site of current Los Angeles Times Building)

◆ 1888 - 1928 - moved to new Romanesque Revival Building on 226-238 South Broadway between 2nd Street and 3rd Street; demolished in 1928 and now site of parking lot between LA Times Parking structure and 240 Broadway.

◆ 1928 - moved to current City Hall Building *^

 

 

 
(1895)^ - The view is south on Broadway from near 2nd St. City Hall tower can be seen on the left.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^## - View of Broadway looking north from Third Street.  

 

Historical Notes

City Hall (1888-1928) dominates the right of the picture. Several other landmarks of the day can also be seen here. The tower of Los Angeles High School is partially visible to the left of the power poles. The clock tower in the distance is that of the Los Angeles County Court House. The tall spire next to that belongs to the First Presbyterian Church at the SE corner of Broadway and Second Street. And, the gothic structure just barely visible between City Hall and the Crocker Building (with the two bay windows) is Los Angeles' first Jewish synagogue (B'nai B'rith Temple).*^^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^ - A view of Broadway looking north from 3rd Street. Trolleys as well as horses and carriages are seen on the street. City Hall can be seen down the street on the right (tall tower and flag).  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^^ - Panoramic view looking south on Broadway from the LA County Courthouse.  City Hall is the tallest structure in the distance.  

 

* * * * *

 

Westlake Park

 
(1880s)^ - View looking southwest showing 6th Street (dirt road) as it heads west towards Westlake Park (now MacArthur Park). As seen, this was the edge of the City at the time, around where Alvarado Street is today.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1880s)^ - Panoramic view looking northwest showing Westlake Park (now MacArthur Park) at the intersection of 7th and Alvarado streets. Alvarado runs diagonally from lower-left to center-right. The surrounding hills are devoid of homes and trees. The building on the far left is the boathouse.  

 

Historical Notes

The park, originally named Westlake Park, was built in the 1880s, along with a similar Eastlake Park, whose lake is artificial. Westlake Park was renamed MacArthur Park on May 7, 1942; Eastlake Park was renamed Lincoln Park.

Both Westlake Park and Eastlake Park (as well as Echo Park) were built as drinking water reservoirs connected to the city's systems of zanjas (small conveyance channels/trenches). When the city abandoned the non-pressurized zanja system for a pressurized pipe system, these smaller, shallow reservoirs located at low points no longer provided much benefit. They were then converted into parks.*^

 

 

 
(1880s)^ - View looking northwest of Westlake Park and its boathouse. The Hollywood Hills stand in the background (top-right).  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1880s)^ - Cable cars parked in front of Westlake Park with two conductors posing for the camera. This was the last stop on the cable railway route that started in downtown Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

In the late 1880s, the Los Angeles Cable Railway ran a line from downton Los Angeles along 7th Street to Westlake Park. The lake was becoming a popular destination for a quick get-away vacation.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - View of Westlake Park looking north with the Holywood HIlls in the background. A lone sailboat is in the center of the lake. The City's new park's landscape is begining to take form. On the right can be seen a tropical tree and a palm.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1892)^^ - View of Westlake Park circa 1892. Two very large homes can now be seen on top of the hill in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

In the mid-19th century the area was a swampland; by the 1890s, it was a vacation destination, surrounded by luxury hotels.*^

 

 

 

 
(1890s)^ - A sailboat and several row boats are seen on the lake at Westlake Park. The hillside is beginning to be filled with new homes. The very tall pole in the background is one of the city’s new streetlights (150-ft tall). Click HERE to see more in Early Los Angeles Street Lights.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1890s)^ - View of Westlake Park (later MacArthur Park). In this scene we see, on the left, a small group in a row boat, while on shore a man lounges on the rustic foot bridge nearby.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - Early view of Westlake Park showing horse and carriages and bicycles on the dirt road that surrounded the lake. A 150-foot tall streetlight can be seen in te upper right of photo.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1890s)^ - View of three people on a foot bridge at Westlake Park. The woman at center is holding a parasol.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^ - View of Westlake Park (now MacArthur Park) circa 1895. Transportation was still mostly by horse and carriage (lower left of picture) and ladies carried parasols to shade themselves from the sun. Multi-story homes fill the hill on the other side of the lake. A 150-foot tall streetlight stands in front of the row of homes.  

 

Historical Notes

Wilshire Boulevard formerly ended at the lake on its west side, but in 1934 a berm was built for it to cross and link up with the existing Orange Street (which ran from Alvarado to Figueroa) into downtown Los Angeles. Orange Street was renamed Wilshire and extended east of Figueroa to Grand Ave. This divided the lake into two halves; the northern one was subsequently drained.*^

 

 

 
(1907)^ - View looking northeast of Westlake Park (later McArthur Park) from 7th Street.  A tree-lined walkway with benches is seen on the edge of the park.  Trolley tracks run down an unpaved 7th Street. Oil derricks+ are seen in the hills across the lake.  In the far background stand the Hollywood Hills.  

 

Historical Notes

+ In 1890, Edward Doheny struck oil south of Angelino Heights and Echo Park, triggering the city’s first oil boom. Soon, hundreds of wells were pumping away in a wide belt stretching roughly south of Temple Street. For decades the wells would change the landscape of the City.****

Click HERE to see more in 1890s Oil Boom.

 

 

 
(1908)^*# - Postcard view showing a tour bus filled with people including young children on the bank of Westlake Park. Writing at bottom reads: "Seeing Los Angeles" - Feb. 24th - "Lakeview" above (referring to the Lake View Hotel, seen in upper-right).  

 

Historical Notes

Westlake Park was renamed MacArthur Park on May 7, 1942*^

 

Click HERE to see more Views of Westlake Park (MacArthur Park) in the 1920s +

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1892)^ - Residences on Orange Street (later Wilshire Boulevard) at Lucas Avenue showing the Shatto Residence on the northwest corner of (top of the photo) of Orange Street; next to it is the Johnson residence. The tall pole seen on Lucas Avenue is another one of Los Angeles’ earliest electric stretlights, standing 150-ft tall. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights.  

 

Historical Notes

The corner house, at 1213 Orange Street, was the residence of George R. and Clara Shatto, and later became the site of Good Samaritan Hospital in Los Angeles. George Shatto, a real estate speculator from Michigan, purchased Santa Catalina Island in 1887 for $200,000 and created the settlement that would become Avalon. He was the first owner to try to develop the island into a resort destination at the height of the real estate boom, and can be credited with building Avalon's first hotel and pier.^

Next to the Shatto house is the Orson Thomas (O.T.) Johnson house at 1221 Orange Street. O.T. Johnson became a very successful businessman in Los Angeles, known for building the Westminster Hotel. Occidental College has the Johnson Hall that was constructed in 1914 and was a gift of the Johnsons.  O.T. was also a big supporter of the LA YMCA, donating a reported $35,000 to construct a YMCA building. Johnson built the Florence Crittenden Home and established a clinic in Los Angeles for the aid of poor children.  He also built a seventy-five suite apartment building named Anna Craven Johnson Home, after his wife, that was established for the use of widowed mothers with dependent children.***^

 

 

 
(1894)^ - Unpaved 2nd Street looking east from Hill. Utility poles and streetcar tracks face a mix of residential and commercial buildings. People relax on wide verandas in the Queen Anne Revival building on the northeast corner across from B. Sens & Son, merchant tailors, who advertise their "Entrance on Broadway." Pedestrians, deliveries and horse and buggy traffic make for a busy street.
 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1887)^*# - Birdseye view of Bella Vue Avenue (now Bellevue, this section of which would later become part of Sunset Boulevard) and the Robinson residence shortly after it was built, looking north from Fort Hill.  

 

Historical Notes

The J.W. Robinson mansion can be seen on the hilltop.  It was located on Teed Street near Bella Vue Avenue  (now Bellevue, this section of which would later become part of Sunset Boulevard).

Teed Street was named after Freeman G. Teed who, in the 1880s and 90s, was LA City Clerk and President of the City Council. He was also a real estate speculator.^*#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - Close-up view of the two-story Victorian style home of Joseph Winchester Robinson, located on Teed Street near Bella Vue Avenue (later Sunset Boulevard). A winged gargoyle watches over the entrance.  

 

Historical Notes

Samuel and Joseph Carter Newsom were the architects. The house was built in 1887 at a cost of $10,000.

Joseph Winchester Robinson was the owner of Boston Dry Goods which later became the J. W. Robinson Department Stores.^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - Panoramic view of Elysian Heights. At left, a woman is visible standing, with three children seated before her on a grassy hill. Bellevue (later Sunset) runs from lower right to middle left.  The Robinson Mansion sits high on the hill in the distance fronted by Teed Street.  North Hill Street runs away from Bellevue on the other side of the Robinson Mansion.  

 

Historical Notes

J. W. Robinson's “Boston Dry Goods Store” began business in of 1883 at the corner of N. Spring and Temple Streets. Joseph Winchester Robinson advertised that his establishment was characterized by “fine stocks and refined ‘Boston’ service.” The arrival of railroads spurred the enormous and long-lived growth of Southern California, and Robinson’s store brought eastern goods and their attendant sophistication to a willing (and growing) public; in 1887 the store was forced to move to larger quarters at 69-73 N. Spring Street. After returning from a trip back east in 1891, Robinson became ill and passed away in his home at the age of 45. His father, H.W. Robinson came to Los Angeles for the funeral and to look after the business founded by his late son. #*^^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^## - View looking northwest from Fort Moore Hill.  The beautiful Victorian mansion (on the right) was purchased by Mrs. Julia S. Ford after the sudden death of J. W. Robinson in 1891.    

 

Historical Notes

The prominent roadway running from center-left to center-bottom, where it is partially obscured by the brow of Fort Moore Hill, is Bellevue (sometimes called Bella View) which would become Sunset Boulevard and then, ultimately West Cesar E. Chavez Avenue. #^*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1897)^ - Panoramic view of the two-story Victorian style home of Mrs. Julia S. Ford, who purchased the residence from J.W. Robinson Estate and then remodeled it.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^^ - View of Sonora Town from Fort Moore Hill looking north along Castelar Street (now Hill Street).  

 

Historical Notes

The Julia S. Ford mansion (previously J.W. Robinson mansion) can be seen on the hilltop, left, overlooking Castelar Street (on the right, running directly away from the camera). Bella Vue (now Bellevue, this section of which would later become part of Sunset Boulevard) is below the frame running right to left. The two-story Victorian style home is located on Teed Street near Bella Vue Avenue.^*#

 

Sonora Town

 
(ca. 1880)^^ – View of homes along an unpaved Castelar Street (now Hill Street) looking north from Sunset Boulevard, Sonora Town. A squat, one-story adobe and an elevated craftsman-style house stand along the left side of the road along with windmill and a cluster of trees. To the right, a third house can be seen, also one-story, partially obscured by tree foliage. A tall antenna-like weather vane appears to extend from its roof. Hills can be seen beyond the trees in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The part of the city called Sonora Town was an old adobe village north of the Plaza and Church of Our Lady, Queen of the Angels. It was Los Angeles' first Mexican quarters, or barrio. The area was named for the numerous miners and families who came from Sonora, Mexico, and may have still been around in the 1930s. Now it is Los Angeles' Chinatown District.**

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1899)^ - Three men are seen relaxing in front of an adobe house with a low hanging roof, at the corner of Castelar Street (now Hill Street) in Sonora Town. Several more homes are visible along Castelar, which has a very wide dirt road as far as the eye can see. A horse-drawn carriage is parked along the right side of the street.  

 

Historical Notes

Hill Street was originally laid out in 1849 by Edward Ord. At that time, the street's northern end was near 4th Street, the roadway being obstructed by its namesake, Bunker Hill. The northern section of the street was originally named Castelar Street, and several institutions along this end of the street still bear that name.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^^ - View of the east side of Castelar Street near Sunset Boulevard. A woman stands in front of a long adobe which has two door-less doorways. Non-adobe houses cordoned-off by picket fences stand to either side. A water tower and windmill are visible in the center background, along with what may be the Los Angeles County Prison to the right. The residential area of the city is visible in front of the mountains in the left distance.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1899)^ - A view of the paved patio and walkway of an adobe restaurant owned by G. Moreno, which is located at 664 N. Spring Street in Sonora Town. More adobe buildings can be seen across the street, possibly stores and/or homes.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1895)^ - North Broadway (formerly named Buena Vista Street) in 1895, looking north from Sunset Boulevard in the area known as "Sonora Town". Adobe buildings can be seen along the street; among them is "Branch of P. Ballade House", a saloon that was located at 207 N. Buena Vista Street.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Sonora Town

 

 

Los Angeles Plaza

 
(1890s)^ - On the left is the Pico House, the Plaza Church in the center. Fort Hill appears in the background, with residences of William Wills, and Mrs. Phineas Banning, and the tower of Los Angeles High School.
 

 

 

 

 

 
(1894)^- Plaza Church as seen by looking north from Pico House on Main Street. This was the parish church for Los Angeles and was never a mission. A woman is seen holding a small child in front of the church.  

 

Historical Notes

The surrounding area was named El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Angeles del Río de Porciúncula ("The Town of Our Lady the Queen of the Angels on the River Porciúncula", which is the present-day City of Los Angeles). A chapel, La Iglesia de Nuestra Señora Reina de los Angeles, was later erected and dedicated on December 8, 1822, and for years served as the sole Roman Catholic church in the Pueblo. It is the oldest church in the city of Los Angeles.*^

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)*### - Men and women gather around the Plaza Church. The church is a stone block building with an arched doorway, ocular window, and a gazebo-like structure mounted on the roof. Shows the faint impressions of paintings on the exterior of the building. Signs on nearby commercial buildings read: "Saloon and Restaurant, Home Brewery" and "F.W. Braun and Co., Druggist."  

 

 

 

 
(1894)#*#^ - Firetruck, men and horses in front of the Plaza Firehouse. To the right stands Governor Pio Pico's Office.  

 

Historical Notes

The Old Plaza Firehouse is the oldest firehouse in Los Angeles. Built in 1884, it operated as a firehouse until 1897. The building was thereafter used as a saloon, cigar store, poolroom, "seedy hotel", Chinese market, "flop house", and drugstore. The building was restored in the 1950s and opened as a firefighting museum in 1960.*^

The Old Plaza Firehouse was dedicated as California Historical Landmark No. 730 (Click HERE to see more in California Historical Landmarks in L.A.)

 

 

 

 
(1895)^ - View of Governor Pio Pico's Office located between the Old Plaza Firehouse (left) and the Pico House (right), across from the Plaza. The prominent towers of the Baker Block can be seen in the background.
 

 

Hisorical Notes

Pío de Jesús Pico (May 5, 1801 – September 11, 1894) was the last Governor of Alta California (now the State of California) under Mexican rule.

In 1821 Pico set up a tanning hut and dram shop in Los Angeles, selling drinks for two Spanish bits (US 25 cents). His businesses soon became a significant source of his income.

John Bidwell, an early California settler, mentioned him among the people he knew: "Los Angeles I first saw in March, 1845. It then had probably two hundred and fifty people, of whom I recall Don Abel Stearns, John Temple, Captain Alexander Bell, William Wolfskill, Lemuel Carpenter, David W. Alexander; also of Mexicans, Pio Pico (governor), Don Juan Bandini, and others".

By the 1850s Pico was one of the richest men in Alta California. In 1850 he purchased the 8,894-acre Rancho Paso de Bartolo, which included half of present day Whittier. Two years later, he built a home on the ranch and lived there until 1892. It is preserved today as Pio Pico State Historic Park. Pico also owned the former Mission San Fernando Rey de España, Rancho Santa Margarita y Las Flores (now part of Camp Pendleton), and several other ranchos for a total of over one half-million acres, or 800 mi².  Also, in 1868, he constructed the three story, 33-room hotel, Pico House (Casa de Pico) on the old plaza of Los Angeles, opposite today's Olvera Street.*^

 

 

 

 
(1890s)#*#^ - View of Main Street looking northeast.  The Plaza, Pico House, and Merced Theater are visible.  A sign above the theater reads “Barker & Allen, Furniture & Carpets.” A stagecoach and horse-drawn wagon are parked in front of the Pico House.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Plaza of L.A.

 

 

 

Spring Street

 
(1895)^ - - View showing the Los Angeles Theatre (future home of the Orpheum Theater) located at 227 S. Spring Street. The music hall on the left was the former home of Turnverein. Horse-drawn carriages are shown parked in front.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1903 this interesting Richardsonian Romanesque building became the Orpheum - the second home of Orpheum Circuit vaudeville in Los Angeles. Previously they'd been at the Grand Opera House.

There were four Orpheum theatres in downtown Los Angeles:

◆ 110 S. Main St. -- Grand Opera House was the home of Orpheum vaudeville from 1894 to 1903.

◆ 227 S. Spring St. -- The Los Angeles Theatre, later called The Lyceum, was known as the Orpheum from 1903 to 1911.

◆ 630 S. Broadway -- Now the Palace Theatre -- this was the Orpheum between 1911 and 1926.

◆ 842 S. Broadway -- Orpheum Theatre from 1926 to Today

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1897)^## – View looking north on Spring Street showing the Los Angeles Theatre (turreted building). The theatre would later be called Orpheum and Lyceum Theatre). The building on the left was later known as Lyceum Hall. In the distance can be seen the Bryson-Bonebrake Block.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Theatre opened in 1888. It was built by William Hayes Perry and the building containing it was known as the Perry Building. 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^^ - View of Spring Street looking north from 2nd Street with the Bryson-Bonebrake Block seen on the left. The County Courthouse can be seen at upper-center and the Nadeau Hotel in center of photo.  

 

Historical Notes

The Nadeau Hotel stood on the southwest corner of 1st and Spring Streets until 1932, when it was demolished to make room for the current Los Angeles Times Building.*

 

 

 
(1897)* - The Nadeau Hotel, showing the entire corner at 1st and Spring Streets, the present site of the Los Angeles Times. The hotel was built in 1882 as the first 4-story building in L.A. A paved street now visible. Horses, carriages, cars and trolleys, along with people are now visible. A sign giving the name of the hotel sets on the corner of the roof. The hotel advertises that it is heated by F.E. Brown's hot air furnace, and testimonials are available. Architects, Morgan & Walls.  

 

Historical Notes

Remi Nadeau was a French Canadian pioneer who arrived in Los Angeles in 1861 driving a team of oxen. During the silver-mining excitement in the Cerro Gordo region of Inyo County his teamster operation brought tons of silver to Southern California and hauled back food and supplies to the miners. By 1873 he operated 80 such teams. He also built the Nadeau Hotel, Los Angeles's first four-story structure and the first building with an elevator.*#**

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^ - 2nd Street looking west toward Spring Street. The building at close left is the Wilcox Building, at the far left the Hollenbeck Hotel. At far right is the Bryson-Bonebrake Block. Horse-drawn vehicles and streetcars are seen. There is a telegraph office on the left.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^^ - Hamburger's Department Store seen from down a very busy street, ca.1890-1899. Pedestrians are crossing the street in all directions. Horse-drawn carriages share the street with cable cars. Location: Spring Street and 1st Street, looking north(east) on Spring St.  

 

Historical Notes

A. Hamburger and Sons was one of the first department stores to operate in Los Angeles.  Originally known as A. Hamburger & Son's People's Store, the name later changed to Hamburger's Store.   In 1908 the company relocated their store from Spring Street to a newer building located at Broadway and Eighth Street.  May Department Stores acquired Hamburger's in 1923 and renamed it the May Company. Much later in the century, the May Company and Robinsons chains of department stores would affiliate under the name Robinsons-May; and this entity would be bought out by Macy's in 2005.^^#

Note the elevated kiosk on the northwest corner of the intersection. Elevated booths like these were used by the Los Angeles Railway and the Yellow Cars as a switchman’s tower to control the flow and path of streetcars through the intersection.  Many of these were still standing well into the 1920s.^*#

 

* * * * *

 

 

Arroyo Seco

 
(1890s)^ - Panoramic view of two railroad bridges in Arroyo Seco, in Pasadena.  

 

Historical Notes

The Arroyo Seco, meaning "dry stream" in Spanish, is a 24.9-mile-long seasonal river, canyon, watershed, and cultural area in Los Angeles County.  It was one of the Los Angeles River tributaries explored by Gaspar de Portola in the late summer and fall of 1770. He named the stream Arroyo Seco, for of all the canyons he had seen, this one had the least water.

By 1895 a railroad line had been established from Downtown Los Angeles with a grand wooden trestle that cut a straight line crossing from the west side to the east. Eventually this line would hook up with rail lines built from the east to create the cross-country course of the Santa Fe Railroad. For local commutes, an electric traction trolley was put in and operated by the Pacific Electric Railway, a Henry E. Huntington enterprise, which ran the "Red Cars" from the upper Arroyo and Pasadena through the San Gabriel Valley into Los Angeles and many points beyond. The lower Arroyo Seco was served by the Los Angeles Railway "Yellow Car" lines.*^

 

 

 

 
(1895)^ - Panoramic view of a sparsely-populated Garvanza, with trees and a partly constructed bridge in the foreground across the Arroyo from Highland Park.  

 

Historical Notes

One of the oldest settled areas of Los Angeles, Highland Park is also one of the most scenic due to its location along the Arroyo Seco, between the Mt. Washington hills, the San Rafael hills and the Monterey Hills.*^

Garvanza is considered a sub-district of Highland Park.  The area was named for the garbanzo beans that once flourished there. In 1899, Garvanza was annexed by the City of Los Angeles.*^

 

 

 
(1895)^ - View of the first electric car over Arroyo Seco near the Cawston ostrich farm on March 7, 1895. Pasadena and Los Angeles Railway Co. (Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Pasadena).  

 

Historical Notes

Cawston Ostrich Farm, located in South Pasadena was opened in 1886 by Edwin Cawston. It was America's first ostrich farm and was located in the Arroyo Seco Valley just three miles north of downtown Los Angeles and occupied nine acres.

In 1885 Edwin Cawston charted a ship to take fifty of some of the best obtainable ostriches in the world from South Africa to Galveston, Texas. From there, the ostriches endured a treacherous train journey to South Pasadena. Out of the original fifty, only eighteen survived. Cawston bounced back from the loss of over half of his stock and the Ostrich Farm eventually boasted over 100 ostriches from the original batch.*^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hollenbeck Park

 
(ca. 1896)^ – Early view of Hollenbeck Park and lake in Boyle Heights, just after it was created.  

 

Historical Notes

Hollenbeck Park was a reflection of a citywide effort to establish "pleasure grounds" as part of a national "city beautiful" movement that encouraged healthful and attractive oases in urban environments.  Consequently, several parks sprung up in the city during the late 1880s and early 1890s including Westlake Park, Elysian Park, Griffith Park and others.

The location of the park was a natural arroyo that existed across Boyle Avenue from Mrs. Elizabeth Hollenbeck's estate and a key component of the creation of the facility was the establishment of a dam and reservoir that served as a lake for the new park. ++^^

 

 

 

 
(ca.1896)^ – View showing Hollenbeck Park in the foreground with the original J.E. Hollenbeck Residence in the upper-left and the Hollenbeck Home for the Aged in the upper-right.  

 

Historical Notes

William Workman and Elizabeth Hollenbeck, whose late husband John invested heavily in Los Angeles-area real estate and banking before his 1885 death, agreed to donate fifteen and ten acres, respectively, to the city for a new Boyle Heights park to be dedicated to John Hollenbeck.  The main condition was that the city commit to spending $10,000 over two years for improvements and the council approved the proposal by early 1892. ++^^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - In a photo entitled "Winter Scene, Hollenbeck Park, Los Angeles, Cal.," a woman and child are shown near the lake.  

 

Historical Notes

The effort to plant trees, bushes and shrubs and grass and lay out walkways, benches and other amenities took some time and the park was dedicated in the middle of 1893.  Within a couple of years, a boathouse was established and a franchise awarded for the operation of pleasure boats on the lake. ++^^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1898)^*# – View showing a man steering a bicycle boat with passengers on the lake at Hollenbeck Park.  

 

 

 

 
(1914)++^^ - A view of the original boathouse, built in the 1890s.  From the collection of the Workman and Temple Family Homestead Museum, City of Industry, California.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^ - View showing several people in canoes enjoying the placid waters of the lake in Hollenbeck Park. The boathouse is visible to the right along the lake's edge; a small island, Bamboo Island, sits in the middle of the lake; beyond that, an arched bridge can be partially seen behind still more tree foliage.  

 

Historical Notes

Hollenbeck Park was easily the most visible aspect of Boyle Heights, with many postcards, including real photo cards, professionally published in the first few decades of the 20th century demonstrating its importance. ++^^ 

 

 

 
(1924)^ - Aerial view of Hollenbeck Park and surrounding area. Hollenbeck Home for the Aged can be seen at center-right.  

 

Historical Notes

Over time, development continued to accelerate near the park and elsewhere in Boyle Heights, although development trends in west Los Angeles and the emerging industrial core of the east part of downtown brought about a transformation of Boyle Heights from a middle and upper class residential suburb to a working and middle class enclave. ++^^

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^ - Tall palms along the street skirting Hollenbeck Park.  

 

Historical Notes

In the 1950s, the Golden State Freeway was built against the western boundary of Hollenbeck Park.*^

 

 

 
(2015)#*^# - Google satellite view showing Hollenbeck Park and surrounding area.  

 

Historical Notes

Some of the Park's features include a man-made lake, rolling hills, towering palms, picnic areas, and even a skateboard park. Hollenbeck Park is located at 415 South Saint Louis Street and the corner of Fourth Street in the Boyle Heights area of Los Angeles.^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Los Angeles Athletic Club

 
(1893)^ - Members of the Los Angeles Athletic Club pose in front of the building for a group portrait. The club was located at 226 South Spring Street in the Stowell Block. A young man in front (center) is covered in medals.  

 

Historical Notes

It was on the night of September 8, 1880, in the old Arcadia building located on North Spring Street, that the Los Angeles Athletic Club was born. Forty prominent Angelinos - sons of pioneers, adventurers and athletes - gathered in Frank Gibson's law office to create an American Style Club. During the late 1800's, The Club became a haven for up and coming members of the Los Angeles community. Health, recreation, grace and vigor became the motto of this distinguished club.*#^

The Los Angeles Athletic Club used several locations before settling into its own twelve-story building in downtown Los Angeles in 1912. The LAAC building was notable at the time for being the first building in Southern California to have a swimming pool on an upper floor.*^

 

 

 
(1893)^ - Photo of the Athletic Club bicycle team taken before the 2T mile race at Agriculture Park, October 3, 1893.  

 

Historical Notes

Athletes from the Los Angeles Athletic Club have earned numerous medals in the Summer Olympics, with a particularly high number during the 1932 Los Angeles Olympiad. The total medal tally for the LAAC is 97 medals, including 47 gold.*^

 

 

Agricultural Park (Exposition Park)

 
(1893)^^ - Agricultural Park (later renamed Exposition Park) Start of 25 mile bicycle race, October 3, 1893.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1880, John Hollenbeck, with former California Governor John G. Downey, horticulturalist Ozro W. Childs and other associates, persuaded the State of California to purchase 160 acres in Los Angeles to foster agriculture in the southland. The property, then known as Agriculture Park, is now known as Exposition Park, home to the Los Angeles Coliseum and the Los Angeles County Museums.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^ - Before Exposition Park, Los Angeles had Agricultural Park, at the same spot. Right here.
 

 

Historical Notes

Exposition Park was originally created as an agricultural park, and 160 acres were set aside for the Southern District Agricultural Society. In 1913, it was renamed Exposition Park according to the “City Beautiful” movement with 4 anchor tenants: California Museum of Science and Industry (Exposition Building), National Armory, Domed National History Museum and the Sunken Garden (which in 1928 was later renamed the Rose Garden).^###

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^ - Partial view of the racetrack at Agriculture Park (Exposition Park) in the early 1900s. Photograph shows the grandstand with three open towers, an adjacent smaller structure, possibly a concession stand, and another unidentified structure on the extreme left.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally, this piece of land served as an agricultural fairground from 1871 to 1911. Farmers sold their harvests on the grounds, while horses, dogs, camels, and later automobiles, competed along the racetrack (seen).^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - Race day at Exposition Park, formerly Agriculture Park, taken sometime before 1900. The Club House is in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

In the late 1800s and early 1900s, the city's most influential families moved into the neighborhood but did not appreciate the racing and gambling that came with it. As a result, this racetrack was transformed into the now-famous Exposition Park Rose Garden.^

 

 

 

 

 
(1903)*^#* - A 1903 automobile race in Agricultural Park.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1909, plans were nearly complete for the building of the Natural History Museum (only then it was the Museum of History, Science, and Art) and a state armory. Bids were solicited. The next year, the site changed its name from Agricultural to Exposition park.^

 

 

 

 

 
(1918)*#^* - This aerial photo was taken five years after Exposition Park first opened (Nov. 6, 1913). Note the mile-long auto track, a feature that disappeared after the Coliseum was built in 1923. Click HERE to see more of the Coliseum at Early City Views (1900 - 1925).  

 

 

 

Mt. Lowe Railway

 
(1893)^^ - The great Cable Incline (seen above) went from Rubio Pavilion (the bottom) to Echo Mountain (at the top). In this picture one of the black cable cars, named "Rubio" sits at the bottom with some passengers aboard and others waiting nearby. Also on the left is the electric car which brought customers to the station from Mountain Junction.  

 

Historical Notes

At the turn of the century (1893 - 1938) one of the most famous excursion in Southern California was the Mt. Lowe trip. Sightseers from all around the Los Angeles area took a Pasadena car to Altadena and Rubio Canyon. They then transferred to a cable car on the Incline Railway that went up a 62% grade to Echo Mountain. From there they would take a narrow-gauge trolley car winding its way up the rugged San Gabriel Mtns. and finally would arrive at Alpine Tavern on Mt. Lowe, a nearly 7 mile railway ride from the base of the mountain. The views of the valley floor and beyond were spectacular.^

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - View overlooking Echo Mountain with Pasadena and the San Gabriel Valley in the background below.  

 

Historical Notes

Buildings at Echo Mountain, reached by the Mount Lowe Railway, included the Echo Mountain House, a 70-room hotel at an elevation of approximately 3500 ft., the 40-room Echo Chalet, the observatory, car barns, dormitories, repair facilities, and a casino/dance hall.^

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Mt. Lowe Railway.

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^ - View of some of the hotel guest standing on the veranda and stairways at the front of Echo Mountain House.
 

 

Historical Notes

Completed in the fall of 1894, the Echo Mountain House was a marvel. The four-story Victorian building was marked by a tall, cylindrical tower and capped by a metal dome and a huge American flag. The bright white exterior was marked by a long row of windows on each floor. At the building’s entrance, two sweeping verandas looked off across the canyons and the valley. The interior of the hotel was extravagant, with detailed wood inlay, the finest floral-patterned carpet and handmade furniture throughout. There were seventy guest rooms, large areas for office space, a massive social hall and dining room, a souvenir shop, a Western Union office, a bowling alley, a billiard room, a barbershop and a shoeshine stand.^^##

 

 

 
(1893)^^ - Photograph of the first passengers of Professor S.C. Lowe's dramatic Mount Lowe Railway, July 4, 1893. There are a couple of dozen people in the rail car (number "9") which is headed toward the camera on the circular bridge. The trestle structure is visible below the rails. The hotel on the mountaintop is visible at left as is the rail approach to the hotel.  

 

Historical Notes

From the top of Echo Mtn, passengers could transfer to another trolley line, the Alpine Division, which would take them to the upper terminus at Crystal Springs and Ye Alpine Tavern, a 22-room Swiss Chalet hospice with a complement of amenities from tennis courts, to wading pools, to mule rides. This phase of tracks cut through the broad Las Flores Canyon which gave a tremendous panorama of the valley floor below. At one point a tall trestle was required to bridge a broad and deep chasm with a bridge so named High Bridge.*^

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Mt. Lowe Railway

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1893) - Aerial view of the Southern Pacific Mammoth Wharf, Port Los Angeles, Calif. The wharf was also known as the old Santa Monica Long Wharf, north of Canyon. A white cloud of smoke can be seen from a train travelling on the tracks to the business end, at the end of the wharf.  

 

Historical Notes

When the Southern Pacific Railroad arrived at Los Angeles, a controversy erupted over where to locate the city's main seaport. The SPRR preferred Santa Monica, while others advocated for San Pedro Bay. The Long Wharf was built in 1893 at the north end of Santa Monica to accommodate large ships and was dubbed Port Los Angeles. At the time it was constructed, it was the longest pier in the world at 4700 feet, and accommodated a train.*^

Also known as the Los Angeles Long Wharf the site was designated as California Historical Landmark No. 881 (Click HERE to see California Historical Landmarks in LA).

 

 

 

 
(1898)^ - Photo shows the business end of the mammoth wharf (Long Wharf) in Santa Monica. Several fully loaded railcars can be seen.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1893)^^ - View of the entire length of the Long Wharf from the beach all the way to its extremity almost a mile away. Note the RR turntable in the lower right corner. A horse-drawn carriage can be seen on the beach between the rail cars and the wharf. Empty railcars sit on a bridge over a gully.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1897, San Pedro Bay, now known as the Port of Los Angeles, was selected by the United States Congress to be the official port of Los Angeles (Port of Los Angeles) over Santa Monica. Still, the Long Wharf acted as the major port of call for Los Angeles until 1903. Though the final decision disappointed the city's residents, the selection allowed Santa Monica to maintain its scenic charm. The rail line down to Santa Monica Canyon was sold to the Pacific Electric Railway, and was in use from 1891 to 1933.*^

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of San Pedro and Wilmington.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1927)^ - View of the Santa Monica Bay coastline, showing a lighthouse and bathhouse near the Pacific Palisades. The lighthouse stands at the spot where the Long Wharf used to extend out into the ocean.  

 

Historical Notes

The Pacific Palisades lighthouse was built as a bathhouse with a working light in 1927. In the early 1930s the structure along with the beach was sold to Will Rogers and later the beach was given to the state of California and renamed the Will Rogers State Beach.^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1893)^ - View of Santa Monica beach was taken north from the Hotel Arcadia. Eckert and Hopf's Restaurant for hot and cold lunches can be seen on the left, two buildings are marked John Wieland's, and on the far right a Pavilion Restaurant sign can be seen.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^ - A panoramic view of one of the ocean piers and parks along the ocean before 1900. Huge cowds are on the pier and on the beach next to it.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1896)^ - View is looking north across the bridge on Ocean Avenue, from the Arcadia Hotel. A trolley can be seen on the right. In the middle of the photograph, a sign reads "Arcadia Baths, hot salt baths, new tubs."
 

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1897)^ - A view of the 500 ft. long Ocean Park pier, built by the Santa Fe Railroad in 1895, and located about 300 feet south of Hill St. This view shows several people standing on the pier as we look towards the ocean.
 

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Santa Monica.

 

 

 

Marina del Rey

 
(1890)*#*^ - Duck hunting in what is now known as the Marina del Rey.  

 

Historical Notes

Prior to its development as a small craft harbor, the land occupied by Marina del Rey was a salt-marsh fed by fresh water from Ballona Creek, frequented by duck hunters and few others. Burton W. Chace, a member of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, referred to the area as mud flats, though today the area would more properly be referred to as wetlands.*^

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Marina del Rey.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - A team of horses hauling a wagon loaded with hay on Pico Boulevard just west of Figueroa Street.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1895)^ - Farm operations on the Mark C. Jones tract, at what is now Alvarado Street and Pico Boulevard, in 1895. William Dibble is standing in the wagon.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1897, the Los Angeles Golf Club (predecessor of the Los Angeles Country Club) leased the land seen above and built a nine-hole golf course that came to be known as "Windmill Links," due to the use of an old windmill as the clubhouse. Jones subdivided the land into residential lots in 1902. The lots were sold for $10 each, with the caveat that the buyer was required to build a house costing at least $4,000. The area was promoted as a "second Chester Place," referring to the city's most prestigious street in the West Adams district. By 1906, the development was full.

Alvarado Terrace Historical District is a designated historic district southwest of Downtown Los Angeles, located along Alvarado Terrace between Pico Boulevard and Alvarado Street. Six homes and a church in the district were designated as Historic-Cultural Monuments in 1971, and the entire district was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.*^

Click HERE to see complete list of LA HIstoric-Cultural Monuments.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890s)^^ - View of a Chinese New Year parade in Chinatown, Los Angeles.  A dragon winds its way down the dirt street while the few onlookers show minor interest. In the distance the second Los Angeles High School can be seen on Fort Moore Hill.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^## - View looking south on Los Angeles Street near Arcadia Street. Both the Garnier Block and Jennette Block are on the right.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^## - Looking west on Arcadia Street from Los Angeles Street with Fort Moore Hill in the background. The three story Jennette building is on the northwest corner of Arcadia and Los Angeles Streets with Sanchez Alley running directly behind it up to the Plaza at Republic Street. Photo is misidentified. Aliso Street did not extend beyond Los Angeles Street. This is looking up Arcadia Street.  

 

 

La Fiesta de las Flores Parade

 
(ca. 1894)#^ – View of a parade on Hill Street between Fifth Street and Sixth Street in downtown Los Angeles, with spectators and people on horseback watching a float showing a cable railway on a mountain (Mt. Lowe Railway).  The large building with towers beyond the trees is Hazard's Pavilion (located at Fifth Street and Olive Street) and the Rose Mansion can be seen on the hillside of Bunker Hill.  

 

Historical Notes

La Fiesta de Los Angeles which began on April 10, 1894, was a four day festival that the city threw in its own honor celebrating its many different cultures. It continued throughout the 1890s and early 1900s. The event featured parades, floats, many flowers, athletic competitions, a costume ball, and carnival attended by masked revelers. It was conceived of by a local business man as a way to attract tourism at a time when the effects of the 1893 depression were being felt.

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1894)^ - Cyclists in leather jackets and hats stand beside their flower-decorated bicycles as they pose on a wide, dirt avenue lined with houses. They are participating in the La Fiesta de las Flores parade.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1894)^ - Members of the cycling club are shown festively dressed prior to the La Fiesta de las Flores parade in downtown Los Angeles.  

 

 

 

 
(1897)^## – Thousands of people line the streets and watch the 4th Annual La Fiesta Parade in downtown Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

Click HERE to see more early views of the La Fiesta de las Flores parade.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1896)^^ – View of the Delaware Hotel on Broadway, looking south between Fifth Street and Sixth Street, which later became the Dalton Theater. A group of nine individuals are bicycling past the front of the building whose brick-faced side sports signs which read "Delaware Elegantly", "Delaware Restaurant First Class [...] All Hours", "Cleveland and Envoy Bicycles" as well as "Wheels for Rent". Behind some tree cover in the background, the Spring St. School and the spire of the First Baptist Church can be seen.  

 

 

 

 
(1896)^ - View is looking west at Washington Street (now known as Washington Boulevard) and Maple Street. There are homes on both sides of the wide dirt road. Horse-drawn carriages can be seen in the background, as well as an early structure for St. Vincent Church (center).  

 

 

 

 
(1896)^^ - View is looking east at Washington Boulevard from Main Street. There are storefronts on both sides of the wide dirt road. Horse-drawn carriages can be seen on the left as well as a very tall white pole or tower, with a small platform at the top. The platform is actually in the middle of the pole (see below).  

 

Historical Notes

The tall pole seen in the upper-left of the photo is one of the City's first 150-ft tall electric light poles. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights.

 

First Automobile in Los Angeles

 
(1897)^ - First automobile in Los Angeles, built for J. Philip Erie, the driver, a resident of Los Angeles at the time.  

 

Historical Notes

The first automobile in Southern California appeared in 1897. It was built in a shop on Fifth Street in Los Angeles by S.D. Sturgis for J. Philip Erie. Erie became the first to drive an automobile on Los Angeles roads. By 1904, 1,600 cars were cruising the streets of Los Angeles. The maximum speed limit was 8 mph in residential areas and 6 mph in business districts.^#*

The passenger seen in the rear seat was William H. Workman, father of Los Angeles' Mayor Boyle Workman.^^^

 

* * * * *

 

 

Echo Park

 
(1895)^## - View of Echo Park with snow-capped peaks in the distance and rolling countryside all around.  

 

Historical Notes

Echo Park Lake didn’t start out as a man-made lake. Instead, its earliest use by the city was as a reservoir, storing water in a section sometimes known as the city’s “West End.” In those years this area was thought of as the city’s west side.

The Los Angeles Canal and Reservoir Co. formed Reservoir No. 4 in 1868. The company obtained the water by digging a ditch that sent water flowing from the Los Angeles River – in the area now known as Los Feliz – along a zigzag path that emptied into the reservoir.***#

Click HERE to see more Early LA Water Reservoirs.

 

 

 

 
(1897)^## - Echo Park as it appeared in 1897.  

 

Historical Notes

Legend says the lake got its name after workers building the original reservoir said their voices echoed off the canyon walls.***#

 

 

 

 
(1900)* - Wooden bridge over Echo Park Lake as it looked at the turn of the century. Note the homes on the hillside behind the bridge and the woman with the hat relaxing alongside the lake.  

 

Historical Notes

In the late 1880s, a carriage maker turned real estate developer, by the name of Thomas Kelley, teamed up with other investors to purchase about 70 acres that included Reservoir No. 4—what is now Echo Park Lake.  Kelley and his business partners sold off pieces of what they called the Montana Tract to individuals who built the business district along Sunset Boulevard and the densely packed homes and apartments that surround Echo Park Lake.***#

 

* * * * *

 

 

Downtown Los Angeles

 
(1898)^ - The intersection of 4th Street looking east from Spring Street toward Main Street in 1898. The Off & Vaughn Pharmacy is seen on the northeast corner, and the Van Nuys Hotel at 103 W. 4th Street at the corner of Main Street. Further in the distance is the Westminster Hotel. Pedestrians and horse-drawn carriages are seen. We are beginning to see overhead line congestions from telephone poles and electric streetcars.  

 

Historical Notes

The Van Nuys Hotel was designed in 1895 by Octavius Morgan and J. A. Walls in a Beaux-Arts style for Isaac Newton Van Nuys. Consolidated Hotels, Inc., leased the hotel in 1929, renamed it to Barclay, and renovated it to include a high-speed elevator and a remodeled lobby.^#^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1898)^*# - View looking north on Main Street at 4th Street. On the N/E corner stands the Westminster Hotel. On the N/W corner is the Van Nuys Hotel. On the S/W corner is the Hellman Residence and future site of the Farmers and Merchants Bank.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1905)^^ - View looking west on 4th Street at Main Street where the Van Nuys Hotel (later the Barclay) is seen on the northwest corner. Across the street, on the southwest corner, can be seen part of the Farmers and Merchants Bank (built in 1905). Both buildings are still standing. Click HERE to see contemporary view.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1985, the Barclay Hotel Building (Van Nuys Hotel Building) was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 288 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(late 1890s)^^# - View of the south 100 block of Spring Street showing overhead line congestion mainly from electric streetcar car and telephone wires. The corner of the Bryson Block looms darkly at extreme left.  

 

 

 

 
(1897)^ - Young boys fill a small gasoline powered streetcar of the "Mateo Street & Santa Fe Ave. Street Car Co." seen traveling on an unpaved Santa Fe Avenue at 9th Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Mateo Street Line ran from First and Santa Fe Avenue South via Santa Fe Avenue to Fourth, using a private right-of-way to Mateo, then from Mateo to Ninth Street. The Los Angeles Railway purchased the Mateo Street Line in April, 1901.*##^

 

 

 
(1898)^^ - View of Bunker Hill looking west from Spring Street near 3rd Street.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1898)^^ - View of Spring Street looking south from the Stimpson Building at Third Street, shortly after it was built. Awnings cover most store fronts looking down Spring Street.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1898)^ - View of Spring Stretet looking south at 2nd Street, one of the busiest blocks in the city at the time. The Los Angeles Theatre (turreted building) can be seen at center-left. The Hollenbeck Building has been raised to four stories. The five-story block at the next corner is the Douglas Block.  

 

 

 

 
(1895)^ - View of Spring Street looking northwest. The Los Angeles Theatre, located at 227 S. Spring Street, is on the right. The music hall, on the left, was the former home of Turnverein. Horse-drawn carriages are shown parked in front.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Theatre opened in 1888. It was built by William Hayes Perry and the building containing it was known as the Perry Building. 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1897)^## – View looking north on Spring Street showing the Los Angeles Theatre (turreted building). The theatre would later be called Orpheum and Lyceum Theatre). The building on the left was later known as Lyceum Hall.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1903 this interesting Richardsonian Romanesque building became the Orpheum - the second home of Orpheum Circuit vaudeville in Los Angeles. Previously they'd been at the Grand Opera House.

There were four Orpheum theatres in downtown Los Angeles:

◆ 110 S. Main St. -- Grand Opera House was the home of Orpheum vaudeville from 1894 to 1903.

◆ 227 S. Spring St. -- The Los Angeles Theatre, later called The Lyceum, was known as the Orpheum from 1903 to 1911.

◆ 630 S. Broadway -- Now the Palace Theatre -- this was the Orpheum between 1911 and 1926.

◆ 842 S. Broadway -- Orpheum Theatre from 1926 to Today

 

 

 

 
(1898)^ - A view of Broadway in 1898. Pedestrians stroll through the street, and flags are draped from buildings for a parade or other festivities. People are gazing at pedestrians from balconies of the Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA) building.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1898)^*^# – View showing the Los Angeles Sharpshooters, also known as Kelly's Kayotes, an exclusive club of marksmen that existed in the late 1890s.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Sharpshooters, also known as Kelly's Kayotes, was an exclusive club of marksmen that existed in the late 1890s. The team was formed in May 1898, under the leadership of Captain Allen Kelly, with around 65 members. Its team rifle was the Winchester. After receiving permission from the Governor to carry firearms in Los Angeles County, the Sharpshooters made quite a showing marching in the July 4 parade. Soon others wanted to join and by the end of the month, there were over 100 members, with others wanting to join. Of course, in order to be accepted, an applicant needed to prove himself with a rifle. The club did, however, offer honorary membership at $20, which was then invested in ammunition.

Their practice range was a gulch called "Hunter Highland View" in Highland Park. Apparently, during their meetings, there would be a lot of drinking, smoking, and tall stories. However, they took their drills seriously.

The team occasionally competed against divisions of armed forces (like the National Guard) and other sharpshooter organizations. Rifle tournaments were held on Round Hill and Glassell Park.

The group ended around 1901-02, when it appears to have merged with another gun club, thus losing its identity.^*^#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895-1898)^^ – View of 2 men standing near a water ditch at the bank of Los Angeles River, north side of Griffith Park. One man leans against a shovel. Horses are visible in the background. Trees are behind the man with the shovel (at right). In the foreground are relatively still waters and cattails.; Originally, the record was entitled as "Los Angeles River headwaters in Griffith Park". The Los Angeles River's headwaters, however, are farther NW in the San Fernando Valley, CA.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^^ - View of a man standing near a water ditch at the bank of Los Angeles River, north side of Griffith Park. The ditch (full of water) has been dug at left. A stand of trees is beside the relatively still water. This is the same view as previous photo but a couple of years later.  

 

 

 

 
(1898)^^ - A man is seen by a water ditch gate at the bank of the Los Angeles River at the present-day site of Griffith Park.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Water in Early L.A.

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)#^*– View looking northwest showing an unpaved Figueroa Street. Note the water-filled ditch (Zanja) on the west side of Figueroa with walkway crossings in front of each of the large homes.  A two-story Victorian-style house is visible to the left, followed further to the right by a one-story clapboard-sided home with a porch, to the left of which a windmill is situated.  

 

Historical Notes

The Zanja (Spanish for ditch) was the original water supply channel for the southwest part of the city. It was built in 1868 and rebuilt in 1885 with concrete. By the 1880s there were 10 zanjas that covered 93 miles.^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1895)^ - View of Figueroa Street near 23rd Street, showing the Zanja water supply channel and people walking on the sidewalk. The houses have massive lawns.  

 

Historical Notes

The original water supply for Los Angeles was delivered in open trenches despite serious problems with public dumping into the trenches. In the 1880s and 1890s gradually piped water was introduced into more expensive neighborhoods, and the zanjas were used for irrigation only.  The zanjas served the city until 1902, when they were replaced with a system of underground pipes.^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^ - Zanja on Figueroa Street near Washington Boulevard. The original water supply channel for the southwest part of the city was built in 1868 and rebuilt in 1885 with concrete.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Zanja Madre (Original LA Aqueduct)

 

 

 

 

 
(1897)^*# - View of Adams Boulevard as seen from Figueroa St. A horse-drawn carriage is seen moving toward the camera on the tree-lined dirt road.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1895)^^ - The Los Angeles Times Bicycle Club on Western Avenue north of Pico.  

 

Historical Notes

Western Avenue, apart from Sepulveda Boulevard, is one of the longest north–south streets in Los Angeles. The name of the street is derived from its history as the westernmost border of Los Angeles before annexations in the early 20th century expanded the city.

Western Avenue eventually ends north of Franklin Avenue in the Hollywood Hills. It swerves to become an east/west street, Los Feliz Boulevard.*^

 

 

 
(1896)^^ - Bicycle race on Western just north of Santa Monica Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(1899)^ - Western Avenue looking north from Melrose along a dirt road and a row of trees.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1897)^^ - Orchard at Western Avenue and Washington Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(1898)#*** - View looking north on Main Street showing the Baker Block in the background. Pedestrians are seen crossing the streetcar tracks on Main Street in front of the Ducommun Building. One of the City's original 150-ft electric streetlights stands at center of photo. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Streetlights.  

 

 

 

 
(late 1800s)^ - Drawing of North Main Street showing the location of the businesses in the entire 300 block, starting with the Baker Block on the left. The building on the far right is the Ducommun Building, located at 304 N. Main Street.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Historic 300 Block of N. Main Street

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1890)^ - Panoramic view of downtown Los Angeles from First Street and Spring Street looking north. The court house with clock tower is located on Pound Cake Hill (former site of the high school) in the center background. Most of the buildings are two- or three-story brick structures. Mostly roofs are visible. Legible signs include: "Henry J.A. Stuhr, OK Rosedale Whiskies, native wines & brandies", "Waverly [...], best to buy", "Larronde Block", and "Los Angeles ABC Tract Co."  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1898)^## - View of the northwest corner of First and Spring streets showing the Larronde Block with Bunker Hill in the background. Horse drawn-wagons are parked in front of the Larronde Block and pedestrians are seen crossing the intersection. Sign on the awning facing Spring Street reads: "Groceries Crockery Grain - "  

 

Historical Notes

At one time, the name Larronde was a fairly well known one in the City of Angels. Pierre Larronde was a native Frenchman who landed in San Francisco in 1847 and made a killing in the gold mines. When he relocated to Los Angeles in 1851, he amassed a further fortune by successfully raising sheep on one of the Ranchos. Always the astute businessman, Larronde cashed out his sheep empire in the late 1880s and focused his energies on real estate. His holdings included prime land at the corner of First and Spring, and a parcel on North Hope Street near Temple where he built the family home.#**#

 

 

 
(1898)^ - Alameda Street north of Aliso Street showing men working in the street on June 6, 1898.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^ - View of the intersection of Alameda and Aliso streets looking north.  

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)^ - View looking east on Aliso Street from Alameda Street. A French bakery is seen next to the Golden Gate Livery and Sale Stables.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1899)^^ - Panoramic view of Los Angeles looking southwest on Aliso Street from the brewery (Maier Brewing Co). Residential buildings cover a majority of the area in the foreground. Horse-drawn carriages are parked along the curb of the street at right. The tall building with the clock tower to the upper left is the LA County Courthouse. The tall building to the upper right, also with a clock tower, is Los Angeles High School.  

 

Historical Notes

Aliso Street was first named in 1854. When early settlers arrived at the Los Angeles River (El Rio de Nuestra Senora de Los Angeles de Porcinucula) by way of Mission Road, they picked as a nearby gathering point a huge sycamore that gave them shelter and became a landmark, "El Aliso." That Spanish word for sycamore was later used to name the road carved out near the river.^*^

The landmark "El Aliso" was located right about where this photo was taken from. Today, the tree's site is underneath an onramp for the 101 freeway, directly across the highway from Union Station.^*^*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^^ – View looking northeast in line with Aliso Street as seen from the County Courthouse. Aliso Street did not extend past Los Angeles Street until the 1940s.  

 

Historical Notes

Aliso runs directly away from the camera in the middle distance.  Baker Block is at center-left.  The confluence of Temple, Spring and Main Streets is in the lower right. The intersection of Temple and New High Streets is in the bottom center-right at the base of the peaked turreted building. Central Jail is in the lower left corner beyond the blurred diagonal roof cornice from the courthouse. #^*

The section of today's Hollywood Freeway that runs through downtown goes right through where Aliso Street is shown above. It also makes a slight turn and runs directly under where the Baker Block once stood on the 300 block of North Main Street.

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Historic 300 Block of N. Main Street

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^^ – Closer view looking northeast from the County Courthouse.  

 

Historical Notes

Detail shows Aliso Street on the left edge with the Maier Brewery reaching through from Aliso to Commercial Street about halfway up the image. Hotel Oriental in bright sunlight, directly beneath the Gas-o-meter and below the dark stand of trees at Commercial and Alameda Streets. Stationary store is on the northeast corner of Commercial and Los Angeles Streets. #^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1899)*## – View of Los Angeles Railway (LARy) Division 1, horse-drawn tower wagons, facing Central Avenue south of 6th Street. This site is still in operation.   

 

Historical Notes

Los Angeles Railway (1895-1945) also known as the Yellow Cars of Los Angeles, was the local streetcar transit system running down the center of city streets and connecting the city center to neighborhoods in about a six mile radius of downtown.

The original address for the above site was 648 South Central Avenue, but was later changed to 1130 East Sixth Street. Today the division operates hundreds of natural gas powered Metro buses for the Gateway Cities Service Sector.*##

 

 

 

 
(1900)*## – View showing No. 161, a former Main St and Agricultral Park car with Elysian Park behind. No. 161 was built in 1898 and scrapped in 1933.  

 

Historical Notes

There were about 642 miles of track at its peak in 1924. Henry E. Huntington ran the system until his death in 1927. The Huntington Estate later sold LARy to Los Angeles Transit Lines in 1945.*##

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)*## – View showing two conductors standing in front of Los Angeles Railway Car No. 113 on 39th Street, opposite the entrance to Agricultural Park.  

 

Historical Notes

The system slowly morphed into a bus system over the years until the last streetcar ran in 1963.  After a 27 year absence, light rail returned to Los Angeles with the opening of the Metro Blue Line in 1990.*##

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^ - View of the John Anson Bullard Block on Spring and Court streets, looking north on Spring. Southern California Savings Bank is on the southeast corner across the street. Streetcar tracks are seen on Spring, and a carriage is parked at left. A lighted sign above the turret announces the bar in the building.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^ - Closer view of the intersection of Spring and Court streets. The Bullard Building stands on the northeast corner. At one time the building housed the courthouse.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^*# - Open air market at the Los Angeles Plaza. View is looking northwesterly from the Plaza Firehouse. The Old Mission Church is out of view to the left.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)*#*#* - View of the Old Mission Church from across the LA Plaza. Several men are seen relaxing on the Plaza's benches. There is a clear view of Los Angeles High School (2nd location, built in 1891) up on Fort Moore Hill and its relative relationship to the Plaza and the Plaza Church.  

 

Historical Notes

The new Los Angeles High School replaced the original one that was built in 1872, at the former site of Central School on what was then known as Poundcake Hill, at the southeast corner of Fort Street (later Broadway).

This second location atop a hill was completed in 1891 and LAHS moved in. It was an enormous, for then, building. The new high school was built on part of the site of the abandoned Fort Moore Hill Cemetery, the first Protestant cemetery in Los Angeles, which was spread over the slopes of the hill.

Early buildings commissioned to house the Los Angeles High School were among the architectural jewels of the city, and were strategically placed at the summit of a hill, the easier to be pointed to with pride. One of the school's long standing mottos is "Always a hill, always a tower, always a timepiece." ^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^^- Closer view of the Old Plaza Church as seen from the Los Angeles Plaza.  The clock tower of Los Angeles High School can be seen in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

This would be one of the last photos taken of the Plaza Church with its gazebo-like tower. It would soon be replaced with a "bell wall" similar to the one it had prior to 1861.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1900)^*# - Front view of the Old Mission Church with its newly installed "bell wall", similar to the one it had prior to 1861.  

 

 

 

 

Before and After

 
(ca. 1900)^^ - Old Mission Church with "Gazebo Tower"
  (ca. 1901)^*# - Old Mission Church with "Bell Tower"

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Plaza of L.A.

 

 

 

 

 
(1900)^^ – View looking northwest showing the Downey Block on the northwest corner of Main and Temple streets.  There is a streetcar in the street in front of the building at right, and several pedestrians can be seen as well.  

 

Historical Notes

The Downey Block was demolished in 1904. Since then the corner has been the site of two Federal Buildings: the Federal Building and Post Office (1910 - 1937) and the Federal Courthouse and U.S. Post Office Building (1940 - Present).

 

 

 

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

More Historical Early Views

 

 

Newest Additions

 

 

Early LA Buildings and City Views

 

 

History of Water and Electricity in Los Angeles

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

References and Credits

* DWP - LA Public Library Image Archive

^ LA Public Library Image Archive

**LADWP Historic Archive

^^USC Digital Library

^* The Valley Observied: Street Name Origins; Timeline of Valley History

^# Chatsworth Historical Society

#^ Huntington Digital Library Archive

*# Publications of the Historical Society of Southern California, Volume 9: Eternity Street

***Los Angeles Historic - Cultural Monuments Listing

+**Facebook.com: Old Photos of Los Angeles

*^*California Historical Landmarks Listing (Los Angeles)

*#*KCET: When L.A.'s Most Famous Streets Were Dirt Roads

*^#Public Art in LA: Campo Santo

^*^LA Street Names - LA Times

*#^Los Angeles Athletic Club

*##Metro.net - Los Angeles Transit History

^##California State Library Image Archive

**#The Cable-Car-Guy.com: The Los Angeles Railway; Temple Street Cable Railway

^^#CSULB - A Visit to Old LA: Hamburger Dept. Store; Overhead Line Congestion on Spring

^*#Noirish Los Angeles - forum.skyscraperpage.com; Arcade Palm Tree; Spring St. Central Market; Adams and Figueroa; Westminster Hotel; Angels Flight; Robinson Manison and Teed Street; Main and 4th; Hollenbeck Park

#^*Flickr.com: Michael Ryerson

^#*LA Almanac: First Automobile in Southern California

^#^Historic Hotels of Los Angeles and Hollywood (USC - California Historic Society: Van Nuys Hotel

**^History Matters: Calle de los Negros, 1880s

^^*LA Fire Department Historical Archive

^^^LA Times: The Gush of Oil Was Music to 'Queen's' Ears; Gas-powered carriage didn't have much speed to burn

****Theeastsiderla.com: Angelino Heights Oil Boom

***^TheZephyr.com: O.T. Johnson

***#Historicechopark.org: Echo Park Lake

#***Photos of Vintage Los Angeles: Facebook.com

++^^Boyle Heights History Blog: Hollenbeck Park

*^^*Los Angeles Past: City Hall (ca. 1895)

^*^*KCET - El Aliso: Ancient Sycamore Was Silent Witness to Four Centuries of L.A. History

^*^#Facebook.com - Bizarre Los Angeles

*^#*Automobile Club of Southern California

*#*^Pinterest.com: LA History

*#**Mojave Desert.net: Remi Nadeau

*#^*USC Facebook.com

*##*Historic Alhambra

*###Nuestra Señora Reina de los Angeles Asistencia Gallery

^#*#Electronic Scrapbook of Alhambra History

*##^The Street Railway History of Los Angeles - erha.org

^##*Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD): Bryson-Bonebrake Block

^###Exposition Park History - Expositionpark.org

^^##UC Irvine - The White City by Miles Clement

^**^Wikipedia Images: Early L.A. Oil Wells

#^^*Early Downtown Los Angeles - Cory Stargel, Sarah Stargel

#^*^Calisphere: University of California Image Archive

#*#*Walk N Ride LA: Exposition Park

#*#^LAPL-El Pueblo de Los Angeles Historical Monument Photo Archive

#*^^The Department Store Museum: J. W. Robinson's

#**#On Bunker HIll: Larronde Block and Residence; Crocker Mansion

#*^#Google Maps

*#*#*Flickr.com: Views of Los Angeles

*^ Wikipedia: Arcadia Bandini de Stearns Baker; Bunker Hill; Prudent Beaudry; Jonathan Temple; Los Angeles High School; Joseph Widney; Pershing Square; Port of Los Angeles; Belmont High School; Hollenbeck Park; Ducommun; Isaias W. Hellman; Abel Stearns; Sawtelle Veterans Home; Arcade Station; Alhambra; Fort Moore; History of Santa Monica; History of Los Angeles; Burbank; Mt. Lowe Railway; Los Angeles City Oil Field; La Grande Station; MacArthur Park; Los Angeles Athletic Club; Western Avenue; History of Los Angeles Population Growth; Garvanza, Los Angeles; Highland Park; Cawston Ostrich Farm; Arroyo Seco; History of Santa Monica; Los Angeles and Independence Railroad; Pío Pico; John Edward Hollenbeck; Alvarado Terrace Historic District; Sawtelle, Los Angeles; Angelino Heights; Angels Flight

 

< Back