Early Los Angeles Historical Buildings (1900 - 1925)

Historical Photos of Early Los Angeles

 
(ca. 1920)* - The Pico House, sometimes called "Old Pico House", built by Pio Pico in 1869-70. For a period in the 1920's it became the "National Hotel" and here we see a corner view of the building at the corner of N. Main & Plaza St., with a sign for "Plaza Employment Agency" on the right side of the building. A crowd of people are hanging around the corner, and a row of cars is parked up the left side, while 3 or 4 cars are seen on the right side.  

 

Historical Notes

Pío Pico constructed the Pico House in 1869-70. The first three-story hotel built in Los Angeles, it had about eighty rooms, large windows, a grand staircase, and a small interior courtyard.^*

The Pico House (Hotel) was designated as California Historical Landmark No. 159 (Click HERE to see California Historical Landmarks in LA).

 

 

 
(ca. 1971)*^*^ - View of the Pico House's interior courtyard shortly after it was restored.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Pico House

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hamburger's Department Store (later May Co.)

 
(ca. 1920)* - Exterior view of Hamburger's ornately decorated department store located on the corner of Hill and Eighth streets.  Awnings cover the display windows on one side and cars are parked end to end at the curb.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally designed by Alfred F. Rosenheim and opened in 1908, this Beaux Arts building was enlarged by Aleck Curlett in 1929 to accommodate more merchandise. The store was acquired from A. Hamburger & Sons Co. by David May in 1923 and renamed the May Company.*

A. Hamburger and Sons was one of the first department stores to operate in Los Angeles.  Originally known as A. Hamburger & Son's People's Store, the name later changed to Hamburger's Store.   In 1908 the company relocated their store from Spring Street to a new building located at Broadway and Eighth Street.^^#

 

 

 
(1933)* - View of the May Co. Building (previously Hamburger's Department Store) located on the corner of Eighth and Hill streets. The building runs all the way from Hill to Broadway on the south side of 8th Street.  

 

Historical Notes

May Department Stores acquired Hamburger's in 1923 and renamed it the May Company. Much later in the century, the May Company and Robinsons chains of department stores would affiliate under the name Robinsons-May; and this entity would be bought out by Macy's in 2005.^^#

 

 

 
(1951)* - Photo by Dick Whittington showing the exterior of the May Co. building located in downtown Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

More recently, the building has been known as the California Broadway Trade Center and houses dozens of individual retail stalls.*

The building is now owned by the Afshani brothers who, it is rumored, are planning to bring a hotel, apartments, and revamped retail space to the one-million-square-foot site, which runs all the way between Broadway and Hill.*##

In 1989, the Hamburger/May Co. Department Store Building was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 459 (Click HERE for complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

County Courthouse

 
(ca. 1917)#^*- View of the southeast corner of Temple Street and Broadway showing the County Court House and Hall of Records  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920)^ - View of the Los Angeles County Courthouse and Hall of Records standing side-by-side.  

 

Historical Notes

The LA County Courthouse was built in 1891 at the old site of Los Angeles High School. The building was demolished in 1936.

The Hall of Records was built in 1906 and demolished in 1973.*

 

 

 
(1928)* - View of the Los Angeles County Courthouse viewed through the colonnade of the recently completed City Hall.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(1921)* - The northwest corner of Olive and 7th Streets on December 28, 1921. This is the site of the Bank of Italy. In this photo it is Hotel Ford, with a dentist's office above. It is also known as the United States Hotel. The Knickerbocker Building is at right.  

 

Historical Notes

The Bank of Italy was founded in San Francisco, in 1904 by Amadeo Giannini. It grew by a branch banking strategy to become the Bank of America, the world's largest commercial bank with 493 branches in California and assets of $5 billion in 1945. It was also the first state-wide branch banking system.

The Bank of Italy merged with the smaller Bank of America, Los Angeles in the 1928. In 1930, Giannini changed the name "Bank of Italy" to "Bank of America." As Chairman of the new, larger Bank of America, Giannini expanded the bank throughout his tenure, which ended with his death in 1949.^*

 

* * * * *

 

Loew's State Theater

 
(1921)* - View looking at the southwest corner of Broadway and 7th Street showing the construction of Loew's State Theater. Workers can be seen sitting on different floors taking a break.    

 

Historical Notes

Loew's State Theatre, located at 703 S. Broadway was constructed in 1921 on the site of the Vogel Block (1893-1920).  It opened the same year and had a seating capacity of 2,450. The theater offered both film and vaudeville when it opened. Designed by Charles Weeks and William Day, the 12-story Loew's State is said to be the largest brick-clad structure in Los Angeles.^*

It was the 200th theatre built by Marcus Loew and was the most completely equipped on the coast. The theatre was housed in a twelve-story building costing $2,500,000. The theatre proper cost $1,500,000. It was built by Woods Brothers, Weeks and Day, and was under the direction of Ackerman and Harris, Western managers for Loew in San Francisco.**^

 

 

 
(1921)* - Pedestrians walk by the marquee at the Loew's State Theater on the corner of 7th and Broadway as it advertises Mae Murray in "Broadway Rose". On the ground floor is The Owl Drug Co. Various businesses occupy the other floors. A horse and buggy is stopped at the intersection next to a streetcar.  

 

Historical Notes

Loew's State Theatre was built as the west coast showcase for the product of the Loew's subsidiary Metro Pictures. The opening was on November 12, 1921 at one of downtown's busiest intersections, 7th and Broadway. Loew's State once used entrances on both streets. The 7th St. entrance was closed in 1936.

The opening attraction was MGM's "Liliom." Marcus Loew was in attendance with a bevy of stars. Wonderfully successful as a vaudeville/movie house, it featured elaborate stage shows by Fanchon and Marco with leading performers. Judy Garland sang here when she was still one of the Gumm Sisters.**^

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)^ – View of the Loew's State Building (Loew's State Theatre) at the southwest corner of Seventh Street and Broadway. Many streetcars can be seen operating here as thousands crowd into the theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1924 Marcus Loew engineered the merger of Metro with the Goldwyn Co. (which Sam Goldwyn had departed from in a 1922 power struggle) and the Louis B. Mayer group --  resulting in Metro-Goldwyn Pictures. By 1925, Mayer's name was also part of the company name, thus becoming MGM.**^

 

 

 
(1926)**^ - View from above of 7th & Broadway, downtown's busiest intersection.  Loew's State Theater is playing "Syncopating Sue" starring Corinne Griffith.  

 

Historical Notes

MGM's prestige product was well suited to the type of theatres operated by the Loew's Corporation. Although at its height in the late 1920's, the circuit totaled only about 160 theatres, they were typically lavish first runs in major cities.**^

 

 

 
(1922)* - Exterior view of Loew's State Theatre building. The streets are crowded with pedestrians crossing and standing along the sidewalks. Marquee reads: Now- Flapper week-Doris May in "Gay and Devilish." Occupants of the building also includes a dentist, Headquarters for Moore for Senator campaign, Star Shoe Co. and the Owl Drug Co.  

 

Historical Notes

The theater is noted for the seated Buddha located in a niche above the proscenium arch. The exterior has an elaborate "silver platter" chased ornamentation above the ground story.

In 1998, Metropolitan Theaters stopped showing movies at the State and leased the space to the Universal Church. As of 2008, the State was being operated as a Spanish-language church.^*

 

* * * * *

 

Van de Kamp's Bakery Shop

 
(1921)* - Exterior view of Van de Kamp's Bakery Shop on Western and Beverly Boulevard. This is the 1st of the windmill bakery shops which had first been a movie set and was purchased for use as a novel bakery.  

 

Historical Notes

Van de Kamp's Holland Dutch Bakeries was a bakery founded in 1915 and headquartered in the Van de Kamp Bakery Building in Los Angeles. The company's trademark blue windmills featured on their grocery store signs and atop their chain of famous restaurants that were known throughout the region.^*

 

 

 
(1921)* - Interior of Van De Kamp's first restaurant unit, on Spring Street in Los Angeles, in 1921. A few diners are seated on barstools at the counters, while restaurant staff smile for the camera.  

 

Historical Notes

The bakery was sold by the Van de Kamp family and acquired by General Baking Co. in 1956. The company was sold to private investors in 1979, and closed in bankruptcy in 1990.

Former Los Angeles County District Attorney John Van de Kamp is a grandson of the baker's founder. The family also founded Lawry's Restaurants and the Tam O'Shanter Inn.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Tam O'Shanter Inn (originally Montgomery's Country Inn then Montogomery's Chanticleer Inn)

 
(ca. 1924)**# - View of the Montgomery's Chanticleer Inn (later Tam O'Shanter Inn) located at 2980 Los Feliz Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Montgomery’s Country Inn was built in 1922 by Joe Montgomery partnering with Lawrence Frank and Walter Van de Kamp, founders of Van de Kamp's Holland Dutch Bakeries who also went on to found the Lawry's restaurant chain. They commissioned Harry Oliver to design the building. He constructed the Storybook Style building aided by movie studio carpenters.^*

By 1924, it was known as Montgomery’s Chanticleer Inn, with its quaint tower and small store that sold pretzels, potato chips and the odd mixture of Navajo, Chinese and Italian curios.**#

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)^***^ - View showing the Tam O'Shanter Inn, previously Montgomery's Chanticleer Inn.  

 

Historical Notes

When Montgomery's Chanticleer Inn failed to thrive, a fellow Rotarian of one of the partners suggested that the restaurant would attract more customers if it adapted a Scottish theme and the name Tam O’Shanter.**#

 

 

 

 
(1920s)* - A waitress stands in front of the thatched roof Tam O'Shanter Inn. A sign at extreme right reads "Good Food." At left, a counter area is visible, and in the middle, a door leading to indoor dining. Two umbrellas and tables have been placed outside for outdoor dining.  

 

Historical Notes

The exterior of the Tam O’Shanter has been remodeled many times since, but the initial design seen in the above picture shows the fairy-tale influence; tree trunk and branch columns, topsy-turvy roof lines, knotted wood, wrought iron flourishes and homely chimneys.

Owner Lawrence L. Frank, once explained that “every piece of wood which was used in [building the tam] was thrown into fire first with the result that we never had to paint it and it got more beautiful as the years went by.” #**

 

 

 
(1930)##^* – View looking toward the southeast corner of Los Feliz Boulevard and Boyce Avenue showing the Tam O’ Shanter, advertising Malted Milk for 15 cents.  

 

 

 

 
(1930s)#** - View of a man sitting at the outdoor counter of the Tam O'Shanter Inn.  

 

Historical Notes

This was Walt Disney’s favorite restaurant. He dined here nearly every week during the 1930s, 40s and 50s. #**

 

 

 
(1930s)+## – View showing car service at Tam O’ Shanter.  

 

Historical Notes

The restaurant was remodeled in 1968 and renamed the "Great Scot", but has since been brought back to the its original name "The Tam O'Shanter Inn". The restaurant's decor still features English and Scottish medieval weapons, kilts, and family Coat of Arms and Medieval Family Crests.^*

 

 

 
(2015)#^^* - Google Street View showing the Tam O'Shanter Restaurant as it appears today.  

 

Historical Notes

The Tam-O, as it is known for short, is located at 2980 Los Feliz Boulevard at the corner of Boyce Ave and Los Feliz Blvd.^*

Opened in June 1922 by the founders of Van de Kamp's Dutch Bakeries and is still around today, making it Los Angeles’ oldest restaurant that has remained in the same location under the same ownership and management.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hal E. Roach Studios

 
(1921)* - Hal Roach (1892-1992) steps out of his car, which is parked outside his Hal E. Roach Studios, located at 8822 Washington Boulevard in Culver City.  

 

Historical Notes

Most of the Laurel & Hardy movies, the Our Gang shorts, and many Harold Lloyd comedies were made at the studio, which was demolished in 1963.*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(1921)* - Exterior view of the Pacific Electric Railway station in San Pedro, 1921.  

 

Historical Notes

PE's two-story San Pedro depot was opened in 1920, and succumbed to the wrecking ball in 1961. The new 6th Station on the Port of Los Angeles Waterfront Red Car Line is located just east of the former PE station site, adjacent to the entrance of the Maritime Museum.*^^*

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of San Pedro and Wilmington

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1922)* - Exterior view of Eagle Rock City Hall, probably at time of completion in 1922 because the grounds are not yet landscaped. It was designed by architect William Lee Woollett. Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #59.
 

 

Historical Notes

The arrival of Owens Valley water via the Los Angeles Aqueduct and the concurrent depletion of the young city's wells ultimately led the city fathers to agree to annexation by Los Angeles in 1923. Eagle Rock is one of the few cities incorporated by Los Angeles to still have its original pre-annexation City Hall (2035 Colorado Blvd.) and Library (2225 Colorado Blvd.) still standing.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1922)* - Exterior view of Bank of Italy at 649 South Olive Street, in Los Angeles. Building is a neoclassical base supporting office block, a rusticated base, with 3-story monumental colonnades. Date built: 1922. Architects: Morgan, Walls & Clements. Building was remodeled in 1968, and declared a Landmark of Los Angeles on April 16, 1988.  

 

 

Angelus Temple

 
(ca. 1922)* - Exterior view of the bible school and residence of Aimee Semple McPherson, founder of the Foursquare Church, located at Park Avenue and Lemoyne in Echo Park, adjacent to the Angelus Temple.  

 

Historical Notes

Aimee Semple McPherson was a Canadian-American Los Angeles–based evangelist and media celebrity in the 1920s and 1930s. She founded the Foursquare Church which worshipped at the Angelus Temple adjacent to the bible school seen above.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(1920s)**# – Night time view of Angelus Temple located at 1100 Glendale Boulevard in Echo Park.  

 

Historical Notes

Angelus Temple was the central house of worship of the International Church of the Foursquare Gospel. It was constructed in 1922 and dedicated on January 1, 1923. Located opposite Echo Park Lake, the temple had an original seating capacity of 5,300, huge for a church then and now, but suited well for the crowds McPherson attracted as an evangelical sensation of the 1920s and 1930s.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(1930)^*^# - Evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson leading a song during Foursquare Gospel church service at the Angelus Temple.  

 

Historical Notes

In her time she was the most publicized Christian evangelist, surpassing Billy Sunday and her other predecessors. She conducted public faith-healing demonstrations before large crowds, allegedly healing tens of thousands of people. McPherson's articulation of the United States as a nation founded and sustained by divine inspiration continues to be echoed by many pastors in churches today. News coverage sensationalized misfortunes with family and church members; particularly inflaming accusations she had fabricated her reported kidnapping, turning it into a national spectacle. McPherson's preaching style, extensive charity work and ecumenical contributions were a major influence in revitalization of American Evangelical Christianity in the 20th century.^*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)* - Exterior view of Angelus Temple located at Glendale Boulevard and Park Avenue in Echo Park. The marquee reads: "Continuous Revival." The radio towers for the church's radio station, KFSG, are visible on the roof.  

 

Historical Notes

McPherson has been noted as a pioneer in the use of modern media, especially radio, and was the second woman to be granted a broadcast license. She used radio to draw on the growing appeal of popular entertainment in North America and incorporated other forms into her weekly sermons at Angelus Temple.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(1940s)#^^ – Postcard view of the Angelus Temple just as services are being let out.  

 

Historical Notes

The Angelus Temple was the largest construction of its time in North America, rising "125 feet from the main floor". A panorama of clouds, which was the work of artist Anne Henneke, adorns the ceiling, and the temple has eight stained glass windows depicting the life of Jesus Christ, created by artist George Haskins.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)**# – Postcard view showing men sitting on benches at Echo Park.  Across the street (Park Avenue) stands Angelus Temple, left, and bible school and residence of Aimee Semple McPherson on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

Angelus Temple underwent renovations in 1972, while still retaining its original interior and exterior appearance. The lighted cross atop the temple's dome is a longstanding landmark. The entire temple was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1992.^*

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Rose Bowl

 
(1921)#*^ - The Pasadena Rose Bowl under construction in the Arroyo Seco dry riverbed.  

 

Historical Notes

The game now known as the Rose Bowl Game was played at Tournament Park until 1922. The Pasadena Tournament of Roses Association, the game's organizer, realized that the temporary stands were inadequate for a crowd of more than 40,000, and sought to build a better, permanent stadium. The stadium was designed by architect Myron Hunt in 1921. His design was influenced by the Yale Bowl in New Haven, Connecticut, which was built in 1914. ^*

 

 

 

 

 
(1922)^^++ – View showing the Rose Bowl seats being assembled in the early stages of the stadium’s construction.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - After crowds out-grew Pasadena's Tournament Park, architect Myron Hunt drew up plans for the construction of the Rose Bowl stadium in 1920. On January 1, 1923, USC beat Penn State, 14-3, in the first Rose Bowl game.
 

 

Historical Notes

The Rose Bowl was under construction from 1921 to 1922. The nearby Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum also was under construction during this time and would be completed in May 1923 shortly after the Rose Bowl was completed.

The first game was a regular season contest on October 28, 1922 when Cal defeated USC 12–0. This was the only loss for USC and California finished the season undefeated. California declined the invitation to the 1923 Rose Bowl game and USC went in their place. The stadium was dedicated officially on January 1, 1923 when USC defeated Penn State 14–3.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(1923)#^* - Panoramic view of the 1923 Rose Bowl Game between Penn State University and the University of Southern California at the Rose Bowl Stadium in Pasadena. The stands are almost filled, with the exception of some of the higher areas on the far side of the stadium. Small groups of what appear to be military men are seated on chairs on the track surrounding the field. The game is in progress, with the two teams in the middle of a series near midfield. There are men positioned at several places along the near sideline with photographic cameras, and one man near midfield has a motion picture camera. There is a very tall flag pole on the far right with a large American flag. A large number of automobiles are parked on the far right, beyond the open part of the stadium, where there are also a couple hundred people watching the game over the stadium fence.  

 

Historical Notes

January 1, 1923 was the first time that the Rose Bowl Game was held at the Rose Bowl Stadium. The game featured Penn State University and the University of Southern California, with the score ending at USC 14 to  PSU 3. #^*

The name of the stadium was alternatively "Tournament of Roses Stadium" or "Tournament of Roses Bowl", until being settled as "Rose Bowl" before the 1923 Rose Bowl game.^*

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of USC.

 

 

 

 
(1925)* - Aerial view of the Rose Bowl on New Years Day, January 1, 1925. The stadium is almost full, yet crowds of people are still walking in. The football score that day was: Notre Dame, 27 vs Stanford, 10.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally built as a horseshoe, the stadium was expanded several times over the years. The southern stands were completed in 1928, making the stadium a complete bowl.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)* - Aerial view of the Rose Bowl after the southern stands were constructed making it a complete bowl. Though the stadium appears to be filled to capacity, people are still trickling in, and row upon row of automobiles can be seen neatly parked in the lots. View also shows the residential homes surrounding the stadium, as well as the mountains in the background.
 

 

Historical Notes

The Rose Bowl game grew to become the "granddaddy" of all bowl games, because of its stature as the oldest of all the bowl games. The Rose Bowl stadium is a National Historic Landmark, and was added to the National Register of Historic Places on February 27, 1987.*

 

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of Pasadena

 

* * * * *

 

 

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum

 
(1922)* - Aerial view showing the early stages of the Coliseum's construction. The arches and east entranceway are already in place.  

 

Historical Notes

The Coliseum was commissioned in 1921 as a memorial to veterans of World War 1. It was rededicated to veterans of all wars in 1968. The official ground breaking ceremony took place on December 21, 1921 with work being completed in just over 16 months, on May 1, 1923. Designed by John and Donald Parkinson, the original bowl's initial construction costs were $954,873.^*

 

 

 

 
(1923)* - Aerial views shows the progress of the construction work on the Coliseum. The stadium itself is almost complete with the surrounding area still needing work. In the foreground can be seen Exposition Park, including the Natural History Museum and Sunken Garden.  

 

Historical Notes

The Coliseum was constructed on land within Exposition Park which orignially was call Agricultural Park. Dating back to 1872, farmers once sold their harvests on the grounds, while horses, dogs, camels, and later automobiles, competed along a racetrack.  In 1913, it was renamed Exposition Park when four tenants moved in:  California Museum of Science and Industry (Exposition Building), National Armory, Domed National History Museum and the Sunken Garden (later called Rose Garden). 

Click HERE to see more of Agricultural Park.

 

 

 
(1923)**# - Aerial view looking north showing an almost completed Coliseum. The next step is the landscaping. Figueroa Street, running left to right, is seen at top.  

 

Historical Notes

When the Coliseum opened in 1923, it was the largest stadium in Los Angeles with a capacity of 75,144..^*

 

 

 
(1923)^*#* – View showing the 1st football game at the LA Memorial Coliseum, USC vs. Pomona.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum opened June of 1923; some 5 months later, on October 6th, the first football game was played in the stadium, with the University of Southern California defeating Pomona College 23-7 before a crowd of 12,836.^*#*

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)#*** - Postcard view of the Memorial Coliseum after its expansion in preparation for the 1932 Olympics. Note: The Olympic torch has yet to be installed.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1930, with the Olympics due in two years, the stadium was extended upward to seventy-nine rows with two tiers of tunnels, expanding the seating to 101,574. The now-signature torch was added. For a time it was known as Olympic Stadium. The Olympic cauldron torch which burned through both Games remains above the peristyle at the east end of the stadium as a reminder of this, as do the Olympic rings symbols over one of the main entrances.^*

 

 

 
(1920s)* - View of the front end of the Coliseum stadium at Exposition Park before the Olympic torch was added.
 

 

Historical Notes

The now-signature torch was added for the Olympics during the 1930 renovation. It is still being lit during the fourth quarters of USC football games.^*

 

 

 
(1932)**# - Final score: USC 13 - Notre Dame 0: USC shut out Notre Dame on its way to a second consecutive consensus national title, matching Notre Dame's feat in 1929 and 1930.  

 

Historical Notes

From 1928-1932, USC and Notre Dame combined to win the national title five straight years, with USC winning in 1928, 1931 and 1932, and Notre Dame winning in 1929 and 1930.^*

In addition to serving as the home field for the USC Trojans since 1923, countless historic events have taken place inside these venerable walls during nine decades of celebrated history. It is the only facility in the world to play host to two Olympiads (X and XXIII), two Super Bowls (I and VII), one World Series (1959), a Papal Mass and visits by three U.S. Presidents: John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon and Ronald Reagan.^*#*

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of USC.

 

 

 
(1932)* - Aerial view of Los Angeles, looking north, with the Coliseum in the foreground. Note: the Olympic torch is now in place. Downtown LA can be seen in the background with City Hall appearing to be the tallest building.  

 

Historical Notes

Prior to the late 1950s the Charter of the City of Los Angeles did not permit any portion of any building other than a purely decorative tower to be more than 150 feet. Therefore, from its completion in 1928 until 1964, the City Hall was the tallest building in Los Angeles, and shared the skyline with only a few structures having decorative towers, including the Richfield Tower and the Eastern Columbia Building.^*

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum during the Olympics

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(1922)^ - View of the California Bank branch office on the southwest corner of Vermont and First Street. Two poles stand in front of the bank with their streetcar wires weaving overhead. The bank has an arched entrance and tall, arched windows where two people lean on the right. Automobiles sit parked in front of Jones Goodie Shop on the far left.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hollywood Bowl

 
(1922)* - Hollywood Bowl at first Symphony Under the Stars, July 11, 1922. This was the "Bowl's" official opening and was on the site of a natural amphitheater formerly known as the Daisy Dell. It has undergone several upgrades to improve seating as well as acoustics.  

 

Historical Notes

On July 11, 1922, with the audience seated on simple wooden benches placed on the natural hillsides of Bolton Canyon, conductor Alfred Hertz and the Los Angeles Philharmonic inaugurated the first season of music under the stars at the Hollywood Bowl. The Bowl was very close to its natural state, with only makeshift wooden benches for the audience, and eventually a simple awning over the stage.^*

 

 

 
(1920s)^ - View looking toward the stage from an upper row of seats. The stage of the Hollywood Bowl is shown at center, bordered on each side by columns. Curved rows of bleacher-like seats sit to the left of the camera, while in front of it are rows of box seats. A group of several people stands in the front rows of the center and right sections of seats.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Bowl has been the summer home of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, since its official opening in 1922.^*

In 1922 the admission price was 25 cents.

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Hollywood Bowl

 

* * * * *

 

 

Hollywood Masonic Temple

 
(1922)* - Exterior view of the Masonic Temple located at 6840 Hollywood Boulevard, between Highland and La Brea. The building was built in 1922 and designed by Architects Austin, Field & Fry in a Greek Revival design with six tall pillars decorating the front entrance of the building. Note the two ornate 5-bulb streetlights in front of the building. Click HERE to see more in Early L.A. Street Lights.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1921, the Hollywood lodge of the Masons relocated from their existing lodge on the current site of the Kodak Theatre. The construction of the new three-story building was led by lodge master, Charles E. Toberman, who was responsible for the Hollywood Bowl, Grauman's Chinese Theatre, the Roosevelt Hotel and the Max Factor Building.

When the new temple opened, it was one of the most substantial structures in Hollywood. It had a billiard room, pipe organ, ladies parlor, ballroom and lodge rooms. One writer described the building as "unsurpassed for beauty, attractiveness and richness of equipment. The architect, John C. Austin also worked on the Shrine Auditorium, Griffith Observatory and Los Angeles City Hall.^*

 

 

 
(1955)**^# – View looking south on Orchid Avenue toward Hollywood Boulevard.  The Hollywood Masonic Temple is seen on the south side of Hollywood Boulevard at the end of the T-intersection.  

 

Historical Notes

Orchid Avenue at Hollywood Boulevard "disappeared" during the construction of the Hollywood Highland complex in the late 90s. The other half of the street still exists and can be accessed off of Franklin Ave, the next street north of Hollywood Blvd.^*

In 1984, the Hollywood Masonic Temple (now known as the El Capitan Entertainment Centre) was desiganted LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 277 (Click HERE to see complete listing). It was also listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Los Angeles Normal School

 
(1922)* - Millspaugh Hall at the Los Angeles State Normal School on Vermont Avenue (later to become UCLA).  Students can be seen sitting in the shade of a Eucalyptus tree.  

 

Historical Notes

The cornerstone for Millspaugh Hall was laid on November 18, 1913; in September 1914, the school began its sessions in the new building. Millspaugh Hall was the center of student and administrative activity and occasionally an outdoor assembly area. The University of California, Southern Branch would eventually come to be known as the University of California, Los Angeles - or UCLA for short.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - Millspaugh Hall, an ivy-covered Beaux-Arts style building with a flared polygonal dome, was the Administration building of the University of California, Southern Branch, located at 855 N. Vermont Ave.  

 

Historical Notes

UCLA's first Commencement was in 1920 and was held in Millspaugh Hall of what was then the Los Angeles State Normal School on Vermont Avenue. The institution conferred its first bachelor's degree in education in 1923, and its first bachelor of arts degree in 1925. The Class of 1928 was graduated in ceremonies held in the Hollywood Bowl, the site of UCLA Commencements for several years, even following the move from the Vermont Avenue campus to Westwood in 1929.^**

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of UCLA

 

* * * * *

 

 

Egyptian Theatre

 
(1922)^*^# - The Grauman's Egyptian Theatre on opening night. The film was Douglas Fairbanks' "Robin Hood," which was the first-ever Hollywood premiere.  

 

Historical Notes

The Egyptian Theatre was the venue for the first-ever Hollywood premiere, Robin Hood, starring Douglas Fairbanks, on Wednesday, October 18, 1922. As the film reportedly cost over $1 million to produce, the admission price to the premiere was $5.00. One could reserve a seat up to two weeks in advance for the daily performances. Evening admission was 75¢, $1.00 or $1.50. The film was not shown in any other Los Angeles theater during that year.*^

The address 6712 Hollywood Boulevard, now the site of the Egyptian Theatre, was once the address of Gilbert F. Stevenson and his wife. In 1903, Stevenson, the Secretary and General Manager of the Western Masons Mutual Life Insurance Association, moved from downtown Los Angeles to a five acre lemon ranch on the corner of Prospect (now Hollywood Boulevard) and Dakota (now McCadden Place) Avenues.^#**

 

 

 
(ca. 1923)* - A view of the courtyard of Grauman's Egyptian Theatre with statues of an Egyptian king, Indian elephants. Billboard advertising for Douglas Fairbanks "The Thief of Bagdad." The theatre opened in 1922.  

 

Historical Notes

The Egyptian Theatre was built by showman Sid Grauman and real estate developer Charles E. Toberman, who subsequently built the nearby El Capitan Theatre and Chinese Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard. Grauman had previously opened one of the United States' first movie palaces, the Million Dollar Theatre, on Broadway in Downtown Los Angeles in 1918. The Egyptian Theatre cost $800,000 to build and took eighteen months to construct.^*

King Tutankhamen’s tomb was discovered in Egypt on November 26, 1922 and an Egyptian craze swept the nation.^#**

 

 

 

 
(1922)* - Looking toward the stage across the seats in the auditorium, you can see the delicately carved arches around the stage as well as the ornate ceiling above it. The theatre was designed by architects Meyer & Holler.  

 

Historical Notes

Architects Meyer & Holler designed the Egyptian Theatre. The Milwaukee Building Company built it.^#**

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - Interior view of the Egyptian Theatre as seen from the stage.  

 

Historical Notes

The original seating capacity of the theatre was close to 2,071 in a 115 by 125 foot auditorium.^#**

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - View of the Grauman's Egyptian Theatre in 1924. Railroad tracks can be seen on Hollywood Boulevard in front of the theatre.  

 

Historical Notes

The courtyard of the Egyptian is 45 feet wide and 150 feet long. The store fronts along the east side of the courtyard were described as having an "Oriental motif" and apparently sold imports. On the west side, the Pig ‘n Whistle restaurant, which opened on July 22, 1927 and operated until the late 1940s, had a side entrance onto the Egyptian Theatre courtyard. A small tiled area featuring the "pig ‘n whistle" motif still exists in the courtyard on the west wall near the fountain.^#**

 

 

 

 
(1932)#^^ – Postcard view of the front entrance to the Egyptian Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard.  Now Playing:  “Back Street” starring Irene Dunne and John Boles.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1927, Grauman opened a second movie theater further west on Hollywood Boulevard. In keeping with the public fascination in that era with international themes, he named his new theater the Chinese Theatre. Its popularity eventually rivaled and surpassed the Egyptian because of its numerous celebrity handprints, footprints and signatures in the cement of its forecourt.^*

 

 

 

 
(1966)#**^ – View looking southwest on Hollywood Boulevard from Las Palmas Avenue during the holiday season. The Egyptian Theatre is seen on the south side of the Boulevard with the Hollywood Inn (previously Hotel Christie and Drake Hotel) in the distance.  

 

Historical Notes

As Hollywood declined in the 1980s and early 1990s, the Egyptian Theatre eventually fell into disrepair. In 1996, the city of Los Angeles sold the theatre to the American Cinematheque for a nominal one dollar with the provision that the landmark building be restored to its original grandeur and re-opened as a movie theatre. The Cinematheque committed to raising the funds to pay for the restoration and to using the renovated theatre as home for its programs of public film exhibition.^*

 

 

 
(2014)#^^* – Google street view showing the Egyptian Theatre located at 6712 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

The Egyptian Theatre was re-opened to the public on December 4, 1998, after a $12.8 million renovation. The original theatre seated 1760 patrons in a single auditorium. In the restored Egyptian the building has been reconfigured to add a second screening theatre. The main theatre now accommodates 616 patrons and is named after Los Angeles philanthropist Lloyd E. Rigler. The smaller, 77-seat theatre is named for Hollywood director Steven Spielberg.^*

 

 

 

Then and Now

 
(1924)* - Egyptian Theatre   (2014)#^^* – Egyptian Theatre

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Guaranty Building

 
(ca. 1923)* – View showing the 12-story Guaranty Building designed by John C. Austin and Frederick Ashley, located on the northeast corner of Hollywood Boulevard and Ivar Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

The northeast corner of Ivar and Hollywood Blvd. has always occupied a special place in the social and economic history of Hollywood. Part of the original Hollywood ranch owned by Horace and Daeida Wilcox, the corner became the first permanent site of the First Methodist Church of Hollywood in 1910. The Guaranty Building and Loan Association paid the church $2000 per front foot for the site in 1923, and proceeded to erect the twelve story Guaranty Building, one of the first height-limit buildings on Hollywood Blvd.

The owner and builder of the Guaranty Building was one of Hollywood's most prominent citizens. Gilbert Bessemyer was born in Hollywood on his father’s ranch in 1885. Gilbert, after attending public schools and the Normal School of Los Angeles, entered banking. By 1912 he was a director of the Hollywood National Bank and Citizens Savings bank. These were acquired by Security Trust and Savings (Security Pacific today).  In 1919, and Beesemyer and a partner organized the Central Commercial Savings Bank (later known as the Bank of Hollywood).

Beesemyer commissioned John C. Austin and Frederick Ashley to build the Guaranty Building. Classical Beaux Arts Buildings were popular from 1900 on for those businesses who wished to project a conservative image, primarily financial institutions.+^^

 

 

 
(1939)^^ - Looking west on Hollywood Boulevard toward Cahuenga Boulevard. The 12-story Guaranty Building is the tallest in view. Sardi's Restaurant is at lower center-right.  

 

Historical Notes

The complicated financial transactions of the film industry and a burgeoning real estate market had created a need for a number of financial services. Guaranty Savings took its place with other giants: Bank of America, Security Trust, and First Federal of Hollywood, among others. These and their smaller affiliates handled the investments of film moguls and citizens alike.+^^

 

 

 
(2008)^* – View of the Guaranty Building, located at 6331 Hollywood Boulevard in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

The Guaranty Building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1979. It is currently owned by the Church of Scientology.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Vista Theatre (originally Bard's Theatre)

 
(1923)* – View showing the opening of Bard’s Hollywood Theatre (later Vista Theatre), located at 4473 Sunset Drive in East Hollywood. Featuring Baby Peggy in "Tips".  

 

Historical Notes

Bard’s Hollywood Theatre opened on October 16, 1923 with Baby Peggy in “Tips” plus vaudeville acts on stage.

After the famous impresario Sid Grauman opened the Grauman's Egyptian Theatre in 1922, there appeared several movie palaces done in the Egyptian Revival Style in Los Angeles, Bard's Hollywood being one of the first; this wave of interest in Egyptian antiquities corresponded with the discovery of the tomb of King Tutankhamen in November 1922 by Howard Carter and the Earl of Carnarvon in the Valley of the Tombs near Luxor; their expedition electrified the world having recovered over 5000 relics, many composed of gold and alabaster; the theatre's exterior, done in the Spanish Colonial Revival Style, clashed notably with its Egyptian interior. *##*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - Nighttime view of the Vista Theatre (previously Bard's Hollywood Theatre) with its new neon marquee.  

 

Historical Notes

By the late 1920s, Bard's Hollywood Theatre became known as the "Vista." A new neon marquee was erected in 1938 for $1,000. *##*

The Vista also features a variety of hand and foot prints in cement that commemorate some of the cast and crew members of films screened at the theatre. 

 

 

 

 
(1930)* – View looking east showing the junction of Hollywood and Sunset. The marquee of the Vista Theater is visible at top center.  

 

 

 

 
(1951)* - View showing the Vista Theatre in East Hollywood, 4473 Sunset Drive. Note the architectural design details (Spanish Colonial Revival Style) on the face of the building. Architect: Lewis A. Smith.  

 

Historical Notes

Alongside its elegant facade, the interior with its Egyptian designs is the true stunner at this old single screen palace. The original seating capacity in the auditorium held space for 838 seats. The owners later removed every other row to allow for increased legroom, reducing the number of seats to 400.^*

 

 

 
(1980s)* - View showing a lone bicycle rider passing by the Vista Theatre. Now Playing: Postman and Body Heat.  

 

Historical Notes

The Vista got a new screen in the early 1980s during the time it was owned by Landmark Theatres; at this time the theatre reverted to showing revival films. Landmark dropped the lease on the Vista in 1985. *##*

 

 

 
(1980)* - A crowd of people stand at the entranceway awaiting the grand reopening of the Egyptian revival style Vista Theater, featuring the 1934 version of "Cleopatra." Silent-film star Mary MacLaren (1896-1985) helped re-open the Vista. Baby Peggy came back: In 1923 she opened the theater.  

 

Historical Notes

Standing at the "five corners" intersection of Hollywood Blvd, Sunset Blvd, Sunset Drive, Virgil Ave and Hillhurst Ave, the Vista is listed as being in Los Feliz, but some locals will tell you "even the Los Feliz Theatre isn't in Los Feliz!"  They say its East Hollywood, and in fact, old pictures of the theatre show the words "VISTA, EAST HOLLYWOOD" in neon on the rooftop sign and on the marquee. 

In a manner reminiscent of Grauman's Chinese Theatre, the theater's forecourt features cement handprints and footprints of notable film figures. However, the handprints and footprints at the Vista Theatre tend to include more icons of independent and cult films such as Spike Jonze, John C. Reilly and Martin Landau, among many others.^*

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

* * * * *

 

Beverly Theater (Beverly Hills)

 
(1925)* – View showing the newly built Beverly Hills Theater located at 206 N. Beverly Drive.  Its grand opening was May 18th, 1925.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by L.A. Smith in a style inspired by The Tomb of Second Mughal Emperor Humayun, Delhi 1880's. This was the first vaudeville and movie theater in Beverly Hills. It was built for Beverly Hills real estate mogul Daniel Quinlan.*

There was retail on the ground floor and two studios on the 2nd floor. The south storefront was occupied by Daniel Quinlan's real estate office.  The Quinlan family owned the building until 1936 when it got traded for property behind the Beverly Hills hotel. ++#

 

 

 
(1920s)**^# – View showing the Beverly Theater designed in the Indo-Chinese style and topped with an onion tower.  

 

Historical Notes

The theater was initially operated by West Coast Theatres as the West Coast Beverly. When the chain became Fox West Coast in 1929 the theatre was called the Fox Beverly. It stayed in the circuit until the late 50s and had a whole series of other operators: Amusement Corp. of America, Statewide, Loew's (as Loew's Beverly) and General Cinema. ++#

 

 

 
(1940)* - Auditorium and stage area of the Beverly Theater. Carved elephants decorate the bottom of pillars on either side of the stage, and this motif is continued on the stage curtain.   

 

Historical Notes

The Beverly Theater had a huge Wurlitzer Orchestral pipe organ. When it opened the theater also had an eight-piece orchestra as part of the house staff. ++#

 

 

 
(1970s)* - Aerial view of Beverly Hills with the domed Beverly Theater in the foreground at the intersection of Beverly Drive and Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

 

 

 
(1974)**^# – Front view of the Beverly Hills Theater with a double feature showing "MASH" and "HAROLD & MAUDE".  

 

Historical Notes

In the mid-1970’s, Beverly Hills had a number of theaters. But with the noise & traffic generated by such films as “Tommy”, “Woodstock”, and others, local citizens began to complain. Responding to these local complaints, General Cinemas closed the theater in 1977. ^^^*

 

 

 
(1978)* - Evening view of the Moorish style structure, located at 206 N. Beverly Drive in Beverly Hills, originally known as the Beverly Theater; a Christmas garland hangs from above.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1977, after decades of serving as a movie house, the building was closed. The interior was gutted and redesigned to accommodate commercial use; it was occupied by Fiorucci, a boutique and later an Israeli bank.*

 

 

 
(1978)* - Close-up view showing the dome of the old Beverly Theatre, at time of photo a bank.  

 

Historical Notes

After many years of housing a bank, the Beverly Theater was sadly demolished in August of 2005 to make way for new development. ^^^*

The onion dome ... brings to mind Beverly Hills' temporary original name, "Morocco".

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Beverly Hills.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Farmers and Merchants National Bank

 
(1923)* - Exterior view of Farmers and Merchants National Bank of Los Angeles, located at the southwest corner of 4th and Main Streets. Note the architectural designs on the building.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed in the Classical Revival style, the Farmers and Merchants Bank remains one of Southern California's finest examples of the early "temples of finance" which were popular at the turn of the century. Its two-story facade, reminiscent of a Roman temple, is punctuated by an entrance framed with Corinthian columns topped by a large triangular pediment. Built in 1905, the bank was designed by the firm of Morgan and Walls.

The Farmers and Merchants Bank was the first incorporated bank in Los Angeles, founded in 1871 by 23 prominent Los Angeles businessmen, with an initial capital of $500,000. The three largest subscribers were Isaias W. Hellman ($100,000), former California Governor John G. Downey ($100,000), and Ozro W. Childs ($50,000) who in later years became the founders of the University of Southern California. Other investors included Charles Ducommun ($25,000), I.M. Hellman ($20,000) and Jose Mascarel ($10,000.) Downey was named the first president. Isaias later served as president of the bank till his death in 1920.^*

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Farmers and Merchants Bank.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Biltmore Hotel

 
(1923)* - People sit in Pershing Square while across the street flag decorated banners hang from the still unfinished Biltmore Hotel. The view at the corner of 5th and Olive shows building materials on the 5th St. side of the hotel.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Biltmore Hotel opened in 1923. With it's 1,500 guest rooms, it was the largest hotel west of Chicago.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1923)* - View of the three towers of the Biltmore Hotel at 515 South Olive Street, as seen from the center plaza of Pershing Square.  

 

Historical Notes

The architectural firm Schultze & Weaver designed the Biltmore's exterior in a synthesis of the Spanish-Italian Renaissance Revival, Mediterranean Revival, and Beaux Arts styles, meant as an homage to the Castilian heritage of Los Angeles. The "Biltmore Angel" is heavily incorporated into the design—as a symbol of the city as well as the Biltmore itself. With a thick steel and concrete frame, the structure takes up half a city block and rises over 11 stories.^*

 

 

 
(1920s)* - People, fountain, trees and bushes of Pershing Square are in the foreground, while the Biltmore Hotel and Biltmore Garage are in the background across Olive Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Los Angeles Biltmore is known for being an early home to the Academy Award Ceremony for the Oscars. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was founded at a luncheon banquet in the Crystal Ballroom in May 1927, when guests such as Louis B. Mayer met to discuss plans for the new organization and presenting achievement awards to colleagues in their industry. Legend has it that MGM art director Cedric Gibbons, who was in attendance, immediately grabbed a linen Biltmore napkin and sketched the design for the Oscar statue on it. Eight Oscar ceremonies were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the Academy's early years of 1931, 1935–39, and 1941-42. In 1977 Bob Hope hosted the Academy's 50th Anniversary banquet in the same room.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)^***^ – View showing the two-story tall Biltmore ballroom (Biltmore Bowl), home to eight Oscar ceremonies.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally called the Sala de Oro and later renamed the Biltmore Bowl, the ballroom was a vast and sumptuous space two stories tall and played host to eight Oscar ceremonies in the 30s and early 40s. In the 1950s, it suffered a devastating fire and was not rebuilt. In its place, the hotel built two smaller ballrooms.^***^

 

 

 

 

 

 

(ca. 1930)^*# - View of Biltmore Hotel on the corner of 5th Street and Olive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(1940s)* - View of the lower eastern facade and entrance of the Biltmore Hotel, located at 515 South Olive Street. Buntings and a banner welcome visiting groups.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1969 the Biltmore Hotel was designated a Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 60 by the City of Los Angeles. Click HERE to see the LA Historic-Cultural Monument List.

As of 2009, the Los Angeles Biltmore is operated as part of the Millennium & Copthorne Hotels chain as the Millennium Biltmore Hotel. From its original 1500 guestrooms it now has 683, due to room reorganization.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - Looking east on 5th Street and Grand Avenue, the Biltmore Hotel and Biltmore Theater are seen on the right. A marquee halfway down the block reads "Biltmore Presents [illegible]". The corner dirt lot (seen on the bottom right) would eventually become part of Central Library.  

 

Historical Notes

Constructed in 1924, the Biltmore Theater was designed by renowned New York hotel architects Leonard Schultze and S. Fullerton Weaver who also designed the Biltmore Hotel. The theatre was connected to the hotel via an arcade and also had the entrance on 5th St.**^

 

 

 

 
(1924)* - The crowd at the Biltmore for the grand opening of Ziegfeld's smash musical "Sally".  

 

Historical Notes

The Biltmore Theater opened on March 3, 1924 with a Ziegfeld production of "Sally" starring Leon Errol. The musical was written by Jerome Kern, Clifford Grey and Guy Bolton.

The theatre was under Erlanger circuit management. Will Rogers was the emcee and tickets were $10.00.**^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - View from the balcony of the painted theater curtain of the 1,654-seat Biltmore Theater.  

 

Historical Notes

Tthe Biltmore Theater was a major venue for Broadway shows playing in Los Angeles for decades. The Biltmore was still part of the Erlanger circuit during the 30s and 40s. 

The theater was demolished in 1964 and the site was used as a parking lot until the 1980s when a tower addition to the hotel was built.**^

 

 

 
(ca. 2011)**# – View looking southeast showing Pershing Square as it appears today with the Biltmore Hotel on the right and the downtown skyline in the background.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Masonic Temple (Highland Park)

 
(ca. 1923)* - Masonic Temple on North Figueroa Street and Avenue 56 in Highland Park, which has a sign announcing Hall's Dry Goods and Men's Furnishing Goods Store will soon occupy the first floor. The brick building is located on the southwest corner of the intersection.  

 

Historical Notes

Completed in 1923, the 'Commercial/Renaissance Revival' style building served as Lodge 382 of the Free and Accepted Masons for sixty years. The original structure included retail shops on the ground floor with the lodge and banquet hall on the second floor. In 1983, the Masons were forced to vacate the structure when they were unable to afford the cost of retrofitting the building to meet seismic safety requirements.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Venice High School

 
(ca. 1924)* - The pool in front of the Venice High School contains a statue with 2 figures, a man kneeling and a woman standing above and behind him, done by sculptor, Harry Winebrenner.  

 

Historical Notes

Venice Union Polytechnic High School, as it was originally called, was established in 1911 with classes being held in an old lagoon bathhouse; at the time, it boasted of 52 students and 8 faculty members. In 1913, a 29-acre site was purchased and in September of 1924, the school moved to its current location at 13000 Venice Boulevard. A year later, in 1925, the school was annexed to the city of Los Angeles and its name officially changed to Venice High School.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - A closer view of the pool in front of the Venice High School. Actress Myrna Loy (at that time she was a student--Myrna Williams) posed for the statue.  

 

 

 

 

 
(1933)^*^# – View showing Venice High School following the 1933 Long Beach earthquake.  

 

Historical Notes

On March 10, 1933, the Long Beach Earthquake critically damaged the school, and it was subsequently torn down. As a result, for a period of two years classes had to be held in hastily constructed tents until a replacement school was built. On January 22, 1935 ground was broken for the new modern buildings that still stand today.*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Rancho Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera (also known as Baldwin Ranch)

 
(1924)* - Panoramic view of Rancho Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera (also known as Baldwin Ranch) located on the 2400 block of S. Crenshaw Boulevard in the Baldwin Hills area, looking east. The taller white building to the left of center is the Sanchez Adobe (not to be confused with the other Sanchez Adobe in Montebello) and is generally assumed to be the oldest building in Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

Rancho La Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera was a series of adjoining adobe structures located on the eastern side of the Baldwin Hills in an area determined to be approximately 4,481 acres.

The unusual title of the Rancho is actually two names combined: "La Cienega" ("The Swamp"), refers to the marshes in the area between Baldwin Hills and Beverly Hills; the latter half of the name "Paso de la Tijera" ("Pass of the Scissors"), was a name used by the early Spanish to describe the pass through the nearby hills that resembled an open pair of scissors.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)^ - Casa de Sanchez, ca. 1924. At this time, the house was already 130 years old.  

 

Historical Notes

This two story structure may have been built in the early 1790s, making it older than Avila Adobe, maybe older than Mission San Gabriel, older even, perhaps, than the 1795 Gage Mansion in Bell Gardens, currently considered the oldest structure in Los Angeles County. Like Mission San Fernando, the Sanchez Adobe wasn't previously part of Los Angeles but it's an integral part of it now, and was perhaps great-great-great-grandfathered in as the city's oldest building amid growth and annexation.^*^*

 

 

 
(1924)* - View of Rancho Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera shows two adobes, a single-story on the left, and the Casa de Sanchez on the right; another smaller building is visible in the background between the adobes.  

 

Historical Notes

The Rancho La Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera area remained unclaimed for many years following the first Spanish settlements in California. Squatters from the pueblo considering these lands public and built the La Tijera adobe as early as 1790 or 1795 for the purpose of raising cattle on surrounding land. In 1843, Manuel Michaeltorrena (then Mexican Governor of Alta California) formally granted Rancho La Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera to Vicente Sánchez.*

 

 

 
(1924)* - View of Rancho Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera shows two adobes, both single-story, with what appears to be a wooden well in the area between them.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1875, Tomas Sanchez (Vincente's grandson) sold Rancho La Cienega o Paso de la Tijera to Francis Pliney Fisk (F.P.F) Temple (brother of John Temple of Temple Block and Temple St.), Arthur J. Hutchinson, Henry Ledyard and Daniel Freeman. However, Temple experienced financial difficulties and in 1875 Elias J. (Lucky) Baldwin acquired the rancho, giving his name to the hills that dominated the western section of the rancho and thereafter known as the Baldwin Hills. Baldwin used the ranch primarily as a sheep pasture but it was not profitable. When Baldwin died 1909, his daughter Anita M. Baldwin realized that there was oil on the estate, and by 1916 drilling had begun.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)^ - Exterior view of the remodeled adobe home of Tomas Sanchez on the Rancho Cienega de la Tiejera in Baldwin Hills.  

 

Historical Notes

In more recent years, a portion of Rancho La Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera became the center of Sunset Fields public golf links located at 3725 Don Felipe Drive, off Crenshaw Boulevard. In 1959, Bernadette Fathers sold the property to Park View Women's Club.*

Rancho La Cienega O' Paso de la Tijera (Sanchez Ranch) was declared Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 487 on May 1, 1990 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

 

Sphinx Realty Company

 
(1920)* - Exterior view of the Sphinx Realty Company, in the shape of a sphinx, located at 537 North Fairfax Avenue, surrounded by signs listing these properties for sale: Beautiful five bedroom home, $6,750; Six room corner stucco near here, $7,200; Seven room stucco, $7,650; Corner near here, $2,500.  

 

Historical Notes

In the 1920s, as the automobile was becoming the default way to get around the Southland, buildings and structures in the area became more unique. These “hey-you-can’t miss-me!” buildings (referred to as Novelty or Programmatic Architecture) were made to pull automobile drivers right off the road.

Click HERE to see more examples of Programmatic Architecture.

 

 

 

 
(1920)* - View showing two men standing in front of the Sphinx Realty Company sales building located on Fairfax Avenue. The office was located across the street from where Fairfax High School stands today.  

 

* * * * *

 

Fairfax High School

 
(1927)* - Aerial view looking southeast showing Fairfax High School located on the southeast corner of Fairfax and Melrose Avenues. The Sphinx Reality Office (previous photo) was located at 537 N. Fairfax Avenue which is across the street from the track in the above photo.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally, the land around Fairfax “was a swampy area or cienaga, the home of the duck and the mudhen - a veritable hunters’ paradise during the wet season of the year. As land became more valuable, the old cienega was drained and filled and a region suitable for residence created. Because of its swampy condition, the Board of Education was enabled to buy the twenty-eight acres on which this high school stands at a very low figure. When the time came to build our school, through a friend we were able to secure gratis thirty eight thousand loads of dirt. This raised the frontage on Melrose twenty - two inches, and so we are kept out of the water most of the time. Thus we have passed by slow transition from the jungle home of the lords of the forest to the more sheltered home of the Lords of Fairfax.” Written by the first Principal of Fairfax, R.G. Van Cleve - 1963 Yearbook. #*#*

 

 

 
(1931)* - Aerial view of Fairfax High School looking southwest. The tree-lined street running diagonally at top right is Fairfax Avenue. Melrose Ave runs east to west in the foreground. The school's "Rotunda" and auditorium can be seen at center of photo.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1924, Fairfax High School, named for Lord Fairfax of Colonial America, opened its doors. Rae G. Van Cleve, the first principal, wished to make Fairfax very “American and Democratic.” The Fairfax family (direct descendants of Lord Fairfax) in Virginia gave permission to use the coat of arms (Rampant Lion) and the motto “Fare Fax” (“Say and Do”).  The student body chose to name “Colonials.” In keeping with the Colonial backgrounds, Student Body officers bore colonial titles. The first boys’ and girls’ groups were called Lords and Ladies, and the student body president was called The Lord High Commissioner.

Fairfax was initially designed to be an Agricultural & Mechanical school emphasizing “practical” skills. With 28 Acres of campus, school programs included landscape gardening, forestry, architecture, agronomy and an arboretum. The Domestic Science unit supervised the cafeteria so that the “girls” would get practice as well as the theory of cooking and serving “food”. #*#*

 

 

 

(1926)#*#* - View of what appears to be two lily ponds in front of the Fairfax High School Rotunda and Auditorium. Both the Rotunda and Auditorium are the only two original buildings still standing today.

 

 

Historical Notes

Because the buildings were not earthquake-safe, the last year of the original campus was 1966. Brick by brick, the old structures came down, and completely new earthquake-safe building arose. New additions included a four-story administration and classroom facility, a physical education plant, an industrial arts complex and cafeteria. Students and faculty moved into the new building in 1968. Because of the unique beauty of the Rotunda and the Auditorium, a public campaign was successful in saving them, and the Auditorium was reinforced for seismic safety. Subsequently, the Fairfax Hall of Fame was established in the Rotunda. #*#*

 

 

 
(1931)* - Interior view of the auditorium at Fairfax High School.  

 

Historical Notes

The auditorium was dedicated in 1926 and later named the DeWitt Swan Auditorium, in honor of the first Boys’ Vice Principal. The first annual in 1926 bore the dedication, “Enter to learn; go forth to serve.” In 1927, the summer graduating class dedicated the sunken gardens and the fountain that was located in front of the old building. The same year, a Fine Arts building and a gymnasium were added to the campus. By the time, Fairfax High School (containing grades 7-12) was an established, prestigious element in the Fairfax Community. #^#*

 

 

 

(ca. 1931)^ - Students standing outside the Moorish style archway of the entrance to the Fairfax High School auditorium.

“Never  say die, say do” - The Fairfax Motto, “Fare Fac”, was the subject of a 1930 contest for the best slogan and motto depicting its meaning. More than 150 entries were submitted. The winning motto: “Noble in speech, honorable in deed”. “Let your words be wise and your actions likewise”.

 

 

 

 

 

Historical Notes

When the United States entered the war, hundreds of Fairfax students and alumni joined the military. The 1946 Colonial Yearbook was dedicated to those men and women, 96 of whom lost their lives. During the war years, Fairfax students sold $90,000 in war bonds, conducted numerous recycling material drives. Also in 1946, a Fairfax drama featured Ricardo Montalban and Jim Hardy, once a Lord High Commissioner starred at football. He continued his career at USC ad professionally with Rams, Chicago Cardinals and Detroit Lions. #*#*

Click HERE for a list of Fairfax High School Notable Alumni.

 

 

 

 
(1929)#*#* – The Fairfax Varsity Baseball Team of 1929. Yearbook referred to the team as "Heavyweight Baseball".  

 

 

 

 

 
(1929)#*#* – The Fairfax Varsity Basketball Team of 1929, at the time referred to as "Heavyweight Basketball".  

 

 

 

 
(2006)^* - Fairfax High School as it appears today, with Rotunda in the background. Photo by Gary Minnaert  

 

Historical Notes

Fairfax was the foreign language magnet school in the 1960s and 1970s, offering Hebrew, German, Chinese and Latin, among other languages. The Fairfax Magnet Center for Visual Arts opened in 1981 and remains the only visual arts magnet in the Los Angeles Unified School District.

In 1984, Dr. Virginia Uribe, an LAUSD teacher and counselor for 42 years, founded LAUSD’s Project 10 program, the first dropout prevention program specifically for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) students in the United States.

Organized by a group of local theater artists, the first Melrose Trading Post was held in 1998 in the school's parking lot. Regarded as most successful on-going fund-raising activity in the LAUSD, the flea market evolved into the Greenway Arts Alliance, the Friends of Fairfax and the Institute for the Arts at Fairfax High School, all which are of immense benefit to the school and students.

In Fall 2008, Fairfax High School was reconfigured from a comprehensive high school into a complex of five new small learning communities (SLCs) and the existing Fairfax Magnet Center for Visual Arts.^*

 

 

 

 

 

The coat of arms of Thomas Fairfax, 6th Baron Fairfax of Cameron (1693–1781), which became the emblem of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, USA.^*

 

Historical Notes

There is a connection between Fairfax High School, Gilmore Gas Co., and Thomas Fairfax - a 'Lion'.

Fairfax High School and Gilmore's first oil well are located in proximaty to each other and to Fairfax Avenue. It turns out that both Gilmore's logo and Fairfax's mascot is a 'Lion' - which is more than a coincidence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fairfax High School's Mascot is a lion (left).

Gilmore Oil Company's logo was also a lion.

 

 

 

 

 
(1935)#^* – Night view of the Gilmore Service Station located at 7870 Beverly Boulevard, one block east of Fairfax Avenue. Note the lion on top of the illuminated Gilmore sign.  

 

Historical Notes

A.F. Gilmore and his son, Earl Bell (E.B.) turned their Gilmore Oil Company into the largest distributor of petroleum products in the Western U.S.

E. B. Gilmore appears to have invented the self-serve gas station. He created a “gas-a-teria” not far from Farmers Market where customers saved 5 cents per gallon by filling their own tanks. Those who preferred to have their gas pumped by “professionals” at the gas-a-teria got unusual service for a period of time when young ladies on roller skates would glide to the pumps to gas the cars up.^**#

Gilmore Gas Stations were eventually bought out by Mobil Oil Co.

Click HERE to see more Early Views of LA Gas Stations.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Temple Emanu-el

 
(ca. 1924)* - Exterior view of Temple Emanu-el, located at 639 S. Manhattan Place near Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

Historcial Notes

Designed by Russel and Alpaugh, Temple Emanu-el opened in 1923 and was occupied by the first "traditional reform" congregation. In 1929, the congregation was dissolved and the building was sold to become Christ Church.

In the late 1930s, the congregation of Temple Emanu-el reappeared in Westwood where it was located until a large temple was built at 8844 Burton Way in Beverly Hills. The home on the left was later demolished and the English style residence on the right later became the parsonage for Christ Church.*

 

 

 
(2015)#^** - Google street view showing Christ Church at 639 S. Manhattan Place (original location of Temple Emanu-el).  

 

* * * * *

 

 

Jonathan Club

 
(1924)* - Postcard view of the construction of the Jonathan Club building, with open steel frame. Date built: 1924. Architects: Schultze & Weaver. Location: 545 S. Figueroa Street.
 

 

Historical Notes

In 1905, the club was headquartered in the monumental new Pacific Electric Building at 610 S. Main Street, which was the transportation hub for Southern California. According to the National Trust for Historic Preservation, "the top three floors of the building housed the exclusive and lavishly adorned Jonathan Club, one of the city’s most exclusive private clubs.

In 1924 a contract was let for what Southwest Builder called a "magnificent new home" for the club — its present brick-faced structure at 545 S. Figueroa Street, one block west of the Los Angeles Central Library.

In 1927 a second club, The Jonathan Beach Club, opened in Santa Monica at 850 Palisades Beach Road.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - Exterior view of the Jonathan Club building at Figueroa and 6th Streets.  

 

Historical Notes

Established in 1894 as a political group Jonathan Club segued into a purely social club shortly after. The Club originally afforded an outlet through which members hosted political candidates, participated in political rallies and gathered for social activities. In 1895, Jonathan Club members determined that the social bond, and not the political one, was what interconnected its members. Jonathan Club was chartered as a “purely social club” by the State of California on September 23, 1895. +**

 

 

 
(ca. 1937)* – View across a parking lot showing the Jonathan Club in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

For most of its history, the club admitted only men, but since 1987 the club enjoys a diversified membership. When the Jonathan Club originated, only white, Anglo-Saxon, Protestant men were able to join. The club was alleged to have maintained discriminatory admission and access policies based on race and sex throughout the 20th century and into the 21st. The club admitted its first African-American and female members in 1987.^*

 

 

 
(1960)* - View looking northwest showing the Jonathan Club at 545 S. Figueroa Street. Dawson's Book Shop can be seen across the street.  

 

Historical Notes

The building was designed in a Beaux Arts version of early l6th Century Italian. Architects: Schultze & Weaver.*

 

 

 
(2015)#^^* – Google street view looking northwest toward the Jonathan Club from the intersection of Figueroa and 6th Street.  

 

Historical Notes

Membership in the club is by invitation. For most of its history, the club admitted only white men, but since 1987 it has also admitted women and minorities.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Montmarte Cafe

 
(1924)* - The Montmartre name is on the top and the corner of the building, and over the doorway on the right. To the left are the doorways of a hair store, and of the C.E. Toberman Co. Six windows across on the second floor each have individual shade awnings.
 

 

Historical Notes

Eddie Brandstatter was one of Hollywood's greatest early restaurateurs. A native of France, he worked in Paris, London and New York restaurants before moving to Los Angeles in the 1910s. In 1923 he built the famous Cafe Montmartre, designed by Meyer and Holler, at a cost of $150,000. This establishment was described as "the center of Hollywood life", where stars usually frequented, and which was the place to see and be seen.

 

 

 
(ca. 1928)* - Exterior view of the Montmartre Cafe, located at on Hollywood Blvd. between Highland and McCadden. It has a large lighted sign on top, and another which features Roy Fox's Orchestra. Crowds of people are waiting in line to get into the Cafe.  

 

Historical Notes

Eddie Brandstatter was "Host of Hollywood" and catered to Hollywood stars in the 1920s and 1930s. He was owner and manager of the fashionable Montmartre Cafe, Embassy Club and Sardi's.*

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of the Hollywood (1920 +)

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Hellman Commercial Trust and Savings

 
(ca. 1924)* - Exterior view of Hellman Commercial Trust and Savings Bank in the original financial district of Los Angeles, on the northeast corner of South Spring and West 7th streets.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1924, the Beaux Arts office building was designed by architects Schultze and Weaver. The bank later became the Bank of America.*

 

 

 
ca. 1928)* - An interior view of the Merchants Trust and Savings Bank, located on the NE corner of So. Spring St. & W. 7th St. This was formerly the Hellman Commercial Trust & Savings, which later became Bank of America. On view here is the lobby with tables, counters and benches, with a stairway on the far left leading to the 2nd floor. The many arches emphasis the 2nd floor and the decorated ceiling with hanging chandeliers.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - Street level view of Hellman Commercial Trust and Savings Bank. The street scene shows people, cars, and a streetcar all going about their way in the busy Los Angeles' financial district.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Elks Club

 
(ca. 1920)* - The old Elks Club building on Olive and 3rd Street on Bunker Hill. The lookout tower to the left is that which overlooks Angels Flight. Elk antlers are at the entrance.  

 

Historical Notes

The Elks had modest beginnings in 1868 as a social club (then called the "Jolly Corks") established as a private club to elude New York City laws governing the opening hours of public taverns. After the death of a member left his wife and children without income, the club took up additional service roles, rituals and a new name. Desiring to adopt "a readily identifiable creature of stature, indigenous to America," fifteen members voted 8-7 in favor of the elk above the buffalo.

The name Elks is short for The Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks (BPOE; also often known as the Elks Lodge).^*

In 1924, the Elks moved to a new building built for them at 607 Park View St. across from MacArthur Park (now the Park Plaza Hotel).^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - Exterior view of the Elks Club building at 607 South Park View Street. Searchlights beam into the sky, illuminating the building at night. The outline of parked cars may be seen in front of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

The Elks Club Building was originally designed for the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks (B.P.O.E). by renowned Art Deco architect Claud Beelman, during the time he was a Senior Partner at the prestigious firm he co-owned in the 1920s, Curlett and Beelman.

The building was constructed between 1923-1924.^*

 

 

 
(1925)* - Interior view of the Lodge Room at the Elks Club on 607 South Park View Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The elaborate interior murals and decorative paintings were designed and executed by Anthony Heinsbergen and Co, noted painter of many Los Angeles cultural landmarks. The central design of the lobby ceiling is based on the Villa Madama, a Renaissance era project by Raphael and Giulio Romano.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - Exterior view of the Elks Club as seen from the park. View shows the architectural designs and statues at the top of the building, the corners and at the very top corners of the building.  

 

Historical Notes

Eventually, the Elks sold the building due to shrinking attendance in their ranks, and the building ended up being transformed into a luxury hotel (Park Plaza Hotel), set perfectly then on the shores of what was once a very glamorous MacArthur Park.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 2011)**# - Exterior view of the Park Plaza Hotel located at 607 Park View Street just off Wilshire Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Though the neighborhood has gone through a period of urban decay and now urban renewal, the building, replete with angels at every corner, has lost none of its ethereal beauty, making it truly one of the classic examples of Beelman's architecture left standing in the modern world.^*

In 1983, the Plaza Hotel Building (Elks Club Building) was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 267 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(ca. 2011)**# - Exterior view of the grand entry to the Plaza Hotel Building.  

 

Historical Notes

Done in the Gothic Revival architecture style (Neo-Gothic), the building still sports a brass sculpture of a set of elk antlers embedded in the clock above the grand entry to the building.

The building is now vacant and is mainly used as a rental for movie shoots and special events.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Garden Court Apartments

 
(1924)* - Aerial view of the Garden Court Apartments located at 7021 Hollywood Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1919, the Garden Court Apartments were designed by architect Frank S. Meline in Beaux Arts style. They were built to accommodate the movie industry.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1934)* - View of the northeast corner of Sycamore Avenue and Hollywood Boulevard showing the western side of the Garden Court Apartments.  

 

Historical Notes

The Garden Court Apartments was the home of a number of celebrities in the first forty or so years of its existence, including Clara Bow, Louis B. Mayer and Mack Sennett.*^

 

 

 
(n.d.)**# - View of the front entrance to the Garden Court Apartments. A beautiful staircase leads to a fountain containing two figures holding up a bowl.  

 

 

 

 
(1976)^*# - View of the Garden Court Apartments (Hotel) on Hollywood Blvd. Sign in front of building reads Motor Hotel.  

 

Historical Notes

The Garden Court Apartments’ fortunes declined in the 1960s and 1970s along with those of Hollywood Boulevard in general. After being vacated in 1980, it was inhabited by homeless squatters and nicknamed "Hotel Hell".

The building was noted in the National Register of Historic Places in 1982, however, that did not prevent it from being razed in 1984.*^

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - View of the Garden Court Apartments on Hollywood Blvd. (foreground) and the residential neighborhood behind it, including the hilltop Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer, located at 1999 N. Sycamore Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

This 1914 hilltop estate was built to house the Bernheimers' priceless collection of Asian treasures. In order to have an authentic Japanese design, hundreds of skilled craftsmen were brought from Asia to recreate an exact replica of a palace located in the Yamashiro mountains near Kyoto, Japan.*

 

 

Bernheimer Japanese Palace

 
(ca. 1924)* - Aerial postcard view of the Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer located in the Hollywood Hills.  

 

Historical Notes

In an act of bad timing, Adolph Bernheimer, a multi-millionaire silk importer, and his brother built a replica of a Japanese palace and garden on a hill overlooking Hollywood.  Not only was the Bernheimer’s Teutonic name very suspicious, but so was their fluency in foreign languages.  The new home’s large concrete retaining walls led some locals to suspect an armory or wireless station in the bowels.  Under constant observation from a group of patriotic citizens, the brothers pacified neighbors by buying a $5,000 war bond.  They spent little time in Hollywood after that.*###

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - Postcard view of the hilltop Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer.  

 

Historical Notes

The hillside terraces included 30,000 varieties of trees, shrubs, waterfalls, hundreds of goldfish, and even exotic birds and monkeys.*

 

 

 
(1914)**^# - Close-up view of the Bernheimer Brother's Japanese Palace the year it was built.  

 

Historical Notes

The original Bernheimer structure included a 10-room teak and cedar mansion, where carved rafters were lacquered in gold and tipped with bronze dragons.*

 

 

 
(ca. 1920s)* - Front view of the Japanese estate and gardens of brothers Charles and Adolph Bernheimer.  

 

Historical Notes

After the death of one of the brothers in 1922, the art collections were auctioned off. A few years later, the estate served as headquarters for the exclusive Hollywood "400 Club," an organization for the elite of the motion picture industry. After WWII, the home was remodeled and converted into apartments. Soon thereafter, Thomas O. Glover purchased the property and began the restoration of what was to become the Yamashiro restaurant.*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Hollywood Athletic Club

 
(ca. 1925)* - Exterior corner view of the Hollywood Athletic Club building, with 1920s-era cars on the street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Hollywood Athletic Club was built in 1924 by Meyer & Holler, the same architectural firm that built the Grauman's Chinese Theatre and the Egyptian Theatre. At the time is was the tallest building in Hollywood. The building at 6525 Sunset Blvd has been known as the Hollywood Athletic Club, University of Judaism, Berwin Entertainment Complex, and Hollywood Landmark.^*

 

 

 

 
(1929)* - Street view of the Hollywood Athletic Club, located at 6525 Sunset Blvd.^*  

 

Historical Notes

When the Hollywood Athletic Club was first built in 1924, Hollywood was entering its greatest and most productive period. The building was the tallest building in Hollywood and loomed above Sunset Boulevard. Membership was originally $150 for initiation fees and $10 for monthly dues.

During its early years as a health club, its membership included Johnny Weissmuller, Errol Flynn, Charlie Chaplin, John Wayne, Walt Disney, John Ford, Douglas Fairbanks Sr., Mary Pickford, Cecil B de Mille, Cornel Wilde, Humphrey Bogart, Clark Gable, Jean Harlow, Frances X. Bushman, Howard Hughes, Joan Crawford and Rudolph Valentino, Mae West, Walt Disney, and Buster Crabbe.^*

 

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Women's Athletic Club

 
(1925)* - Exterior view of the Women's Athletic Club of Los Angeles at 829 South Flower Street on October 9, 1925. On the right is the Hotel Ritz.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - Interior view on a postcard of the Women's Athletic Club of Los Angeles at 829 South Flower Street, showing the living room.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Hollingsworth Building

 
(ca. 1925)* - View of buildings on the east side of Hill at 6th. On the left is the Hollingsworth Building with its ad of "absolutely fireproof" painted on the side. Next to it is Palais de Dance, a dance studio for ballroom, completed in 1925 at a cost of $800,000. The site was formerly occupied by the Rendezvous Cafe. On the right is the Continental Hotel.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Wrigley Field

 
(1925)* - Aerial view of Wrigley Field, Opening Day, September 29, 1925.  

 

Historical Notes

For 33 seasons (1925-1957) Wrigley Field was home to the Angels, and for 11 of those seasons (1926-1935 and 1938) it had a second home team in the rival Hollywood Stars. The Stars eventually moved to their own new ballpark, Gilmore Field.

Prior to 1925, the Angels played at their former home at Washington Park, and before that, at Chutes Park.*

 

 

 
(Early 1930s)* - Partial view of the "first" Wrigley Field - home for the Los Angeles Angels of the Pacific Coast League. The bleachers are practically bursting at the seams with eager spectators cheering on their favorite teams.  

 

 

Click HERE to see more Baseball in Early LA

 

* * * * *

 

 

Grand Olympic Auditorium

 
(ca. 1925)* - View looking at the southwest corner of S. Grand Avenue and W. 18th Street showing the newly constructed Grand Olympic Auditorium. Architect G.S. Underwood  

 

Historical Notes

The Grand Olympic Auditorium was built in 1924 by Jack Doyle, with the help of the Los Angeles Olympic committee for the 1932 Games. The grand opening of the Auditorium was on August 5, 1925, and was a major media event, attended by such celebrities as Jack Dempsey and Rudolph Valentino.*#

 

 

 

 
(1932)* – Wide angle view of the Grand Olympic Auditorium filled to capacity.  Spectators await the start of the Olympic wrestling competitions to be held on dual platforms in the center of auditorium.  

 

Historical Notes

The Olympic Auditorium was leased by the 1932 Olympic organizing Committee for a very nominal sum sufficient to cover expenses, for the purpose of conducting the training and competitions of the boxing, wrestling and weightlifting events of the Games. At the time it was the largest indoor venue in the U.S., originally seating 15,300.^*

 

 

 

 
(1932)* - Spectators have nearly filled the Olympic Auditorium to watch boxing, one of three events held at the venue during the 1932 Olympic Games.
 

 

Historical Notes

The building was the site of the boxing and Greco-Roman wrestling competitions for the Games. American Edward Flynn won the welterweight gold medal in boxing.*#

 

 

 

 
(1932)* – Canada's gold medalist in boxing was Horace "Lefty" Gwynne who survived a fierce battle against Germany's Hans Ziglarski (right) in the bantamweight final during the 1932 Olympic Games.  

 

Historical Notes

The 1932 Summer Olympics was celebrated in Los Angeles. No other cities made a bid to host these Olympics. Held during the worldwide Great Depression, many nations and athletes were unable to pay for the trip to Los Angeles. Fewer than half the participants of the 1928 Summer Olympics in Amsterdam returned to compete in 1932. Even U.S. President Herbert Hoover skipped the event.^*

 

 

 
(1938)* - View showing the Olympic Auditorium located at 1801 S. Grand Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

Throughout the 1930s, 1940s and 1950s it was home to some of the biggest boxing, wrestling and roller derby events and has become somewhat of a landmark for boxing history.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1970)^^+ - Freddie Blassie, Olympic Auditorium. Photo by Theo Ehret  

 

Historical Notes

The 1960s and 1970s were a major boom period for the Olympic, as major wrestling events were held at the arena every other Friday night, as well as being the home to the Roller Games Los Angeles T-Birds.

Wrestling legends such as Freddie Blassie, John Tolos, Buddy Roberts (as Dale Valentine), The Sheik, Fritz Von Erich, Gorgeous George, The Great Goliath, Black Gordman, Bobo Brazil, Buddy Rogers, Roddy Piper and Chris Adams competed in the arena at one point in their careers, along with the legendary Lou Thesz, Mil Mascaras and André the Giant.^*

 

 

 
(1976)^*^# - Andre the Giant, Roddy Piper, Porkchop Cash and approximately 17 other well-known Los Angeles wrestlers are competing for a $30,000 cash prize at the Olympic Auditorium in May of 1976 in an event called the Battle Royal.  

 

Historical Notes

In January 1970, the Olympic began its annual 22-wrestlers-in-the-ring "Battle Royale."  The goal was to not be thrown out of the ring.

Chris Adams was one of the last big draws at the Olympic before promoters Mike Le Bell and Gene LeBell ended its wrestling cards in 1982. Adams went to Portland afterwards and eventually to Dallas to join Fritz Von Erich's World Class Championship Wrestling, as the sport's top wrestling city shifted from Los Angeles to Dallas and Atlanta before Vince McMahon's WWF reached national prominence.

Some scenes in the 1976 film Rocky were filmed at the venue.^*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2014)^++ – View showing the Olympic Auditorium as it appears today, now a church.  

 

Historical Notes

In June 2005, the Glory Church of Jesus Christ, a Korean-American Christian church, purchased the entire property, thus the name Grand Olympic Auditorium ceased to exist. In 2007, the arena was given a new facelift back to its original brown coat of paint that was abandoned in 1993 when the arena reopened.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

St. Vincent Church

 
(ca. 1924)* - A construction fence and temporary buildings surround the St. Vincent Catholic Church, 621 W. Adams Blvd., as it is being built. Scaffolding is on the dome and sides. Limestone blocks for the facade lie on the ground in front of the entrance. The surrounding neighborhood has stately homes with extensive grounds.  

 

Historical Notes

The St. Vincent Catholic Church was built in the 1920s and designed by architect Albert C. Martin, Sr. Dedicated in 1925, it was located in what was then one of the wealthiest sections of the city, on land adjacent to the Edward Doheny Mansion and Stimson House. It was the second Roman Catholic church in Los Angeles to be consecrated.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - View of a newly completed St. Vincent Catholic Church located at the northwest corner of Adams and Figueroa St.  

 

Historical Notes

The Spanish Colonial Revival style St. Vincent Church was built in 1923-25. The decorative entrance is of Indiana limestone and brightly colored tile covers the 45 foot diameter dome. The interior ceiling decoration is by John B. Smeraldi.*

 

 

 
(1925)* - View of the newly constructed St. Vincent Catholic Church on northwest corner of Adams and Figueroa.  

 

Historical Notes

St. Vincent de Paul Roman Catholic Church was a gift from oil magnate and benefactor Edward Laurence Doheny I, who drilled Los Angeles' first oil well in 1892.*

 

 

 
(n.d.)**# – Close-up view of the Saint Vincent de Paul Church dome.  

 

Historical Notes

The Wurster Construction Company’s E.M. Lukens reported the strength of the 44-foot concrete dome was tested by hanging sand bags from “the entire circumference of the dome to the weight of thirty pounds per square foot and an additional thirty pounds per square foot over one-half the circumference.” After two days, an additional ten tons was suspended from the center with no deflection noted.

The underside of the dome features eight paintings of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John and their symbols: man; lion; ox; and eagle. ***#

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Exterior view of the main facade of St. Vincent de Paul Roman Catholic Church, located on the northwest corner of S. Figueroa and W. Adams, at 621 W. Adams Blvd.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1971, Saint Vincent de Paul Church was dedicated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 90 (Click HERE for complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

St. Vincent's Hospital

 
(ca. 1925)* - Exterior view of St. Vincent's Hospital, located on 3rd and Alvarado Streets. Built in 1924, it was designed by architects Austin and Ashley.  

 

Historical Notes

The Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul established the first hospital in Los Angeles - the Los Angeles Infirmary, in 1856. It was located in the Sonora Town adobe owned by then-Mayor of Los Angeles, Don Cristóbal Aguilar. Four years later, in 1860, the hospital relocated to 1416 Naud Street, between Ann (named for Sister Ann) and Sotillo Street (though other data indicates the location was 1414 Naud Street, between N. Main and San Fernando Road). In 1869, Daughters incorporated the Los Angeles Infirmary under their own ownership, the first women in the region to do so. In 1883 they purchased six and a half acres of land at Beaudry Park at a cost of $10,000, and a new hospital building was erected a year later at Beaudry and Sunset, on a hillside overlooking Sonora Town. By 1898, Los Angeles Infirmary had come to be known as Sisters Hospital, but both names were used interchangeably in reference to the same hospital; in 1918, the name was officially changed to St. Vincent's Hospital.*

 

 

 
(1933)* - View of the St. Vincent's Hospital, located at 2131 West Third Street.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1924, the Italianate style St. Vincent's Hospital building was erected on 3rd and Alvarado. It was desinged by Architects John C. Austin and Frederick M. Ashley.

 

 

 
(1964)* - Exterior view of a portion of St. Vincent's Hospital as seen in 1964.  

 

Historical Notes

For 47 years, the hospital had such a steady growth that they were forced to expand yet again, and groundbreaking for a newer, larger building took place in 1971 - this time, located at 2131 W. 3rd Street. With a "new" hospital came a new name, and in 1974, it changed again, this time becoming St. Vincent Medical Center.*

In 1995, the Daughters of Charity National Healthcare System sold SVMC to Catholic Healthcare West. In 2002, CHW sold the hospital to the newly established Daughters of Charity Health System.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Pacific Electric Hill Street Station

 
(ca. 1920)^^## - Pacific Electric Hill Street Station & Masonic Bldg. West side of Hill St between 4th & 5th Streets. Mt. Lowe Resort is advertised on the side face of the Masonic Building. Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Mt. Lowe Railway.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1920's)* - The Pacific Electric Hill Street station, located at 427 South Hill Street,  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1924)* - The Hill Street station for electric cars during 1922 to 1925, before the Subway Terminal Building was built, looking west toward Bunker Hill.  

 

Historical Notes

As street traffic increased in downtown Los Angeles, the Pacific Electric Railway undertook its most ambitious project, a dedicated right of way into downtown through a subway - the existing terminal in the Pacific Electric Building at Sixth and Main was reached by shared street running. Responding to the traffic congestion that clogged the streets, the California Railroad Commission in 1922 issued Order No. 9928, which called for the Pacific Electric to construct a subway to bypass downtown's busy streets.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

Subway Terminal Building

 
(ca. 1925)* - Subway Terminal Building and the Pacific Electric Railway Passenger Station in 1925, the year they were built. View is of the Hill Street side south of 4th Street.  

 

Historical Notes

The Subway Terminal Building, now Metro 417, is an Italian Renaissance Revival building in Downtown Los Angeles at 417 South Hill Street. It was designed by architects Schultze and Weaver and was built in 1925. It was the downtown terminus for the "Hollywood Subway" branch of the Pacific Electric Railway Interurban rail line. Currently it is a luxury apartment building. It is located near Pershing Square.

The Subway Terminal Building was built to conform to the 150 foot height limit imposed on all downtown construction. The other end of the subway line emerged at the surface at the Belmont Tunnel / Toluca Substation and Yard.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)^^## - View of the Subway Terminal main hall.  

 

Historical Notes

After 18 months of construction and $1.25 million in expenditures, the Subway officially opened to the public on December 1, 1925. The trains, which traveled a distance of slightly over one mile, transported passengers between the tunnel's mouth near the intersection of Beverly and Glendale Boulevards in Westlake, and the Subway Terminal Building.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - Interior view of the Subway Terminal Building in downtown Los Angeles, showing Pacific Electric car tracks running in various directions in the subway.  

 

Historical Notes

The early years of the Subway were widely met with success, as the Hollywood Subway emerged as one of Los Angeles's most popular modes of public transit throughout the 1920s and 1930s. Ridership hit an all-time high during the World War II-era; in 1944 – considered to have been the Subway's peak – trains carried an estimated 65,000 passengers through the tunnel each day.^*

 

 

 
(n.d.)^^## - View of the symmetry in the tracks within the Pacific Electric Subway Building. The subway was in operation from 1925 to 1955.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - A look down upon Seventh Street (running across in the foreground) and Grand Avenue reveals a busy intersection in this business corridor. The white building in the background is occupied by two businesses, a branch of Security Trust and Savings Bank (right) and Lyric Piano Co.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - Exterior view of the Figueroa Theatre, located on the corner of Figueroa and York Boulevard in Highland Park. The corner entrance is for McColloch Drug Co., offering perfumes, prescriptions, stationary, cigars, candy, and an array of goods. Two entrances for the theater are visible on either side of the building, each with a box office and marquees advertising Cecil B. DeMille's 1925 drama film, "The Road to Yesterday", starring Joseph Schildkraut.  

 

 

Central Library

 
(1925)* - Photograph shows the construction of the Los Angeles Public Library, located at 630 W. Fifth Street; view is of the southeast corner. The structure, which appears to be almost complete, is completely covered in scaffolding. Numerous vehicles are parked in the lot at the foreground, which has a sign at the entrance that reads "Savoy" (not visible in this angle). More automobiles are parked along Grand Avenue.  

 

Historical Notes

Central Library, located at 630 W. 5th Street in downtown Los Angeles, was designed by architects Bertram G. Goodhue and Carlton M. Winslow. Constructed between 1924-1926, it was designed to mimic the architecture of ancient Egypt, complete with a tiled mosaic pyramid tower and many beautiful murals throughout.*

 

 

 

 
(1925)* - Photograph shows construction of the Los Angeles Public Library, located at 630 W. Fifth Street; view is looking north on Hope Street. The structure, which is almost complete, shows scaffolding along the entire south side as well as surrounding the tower at the top. A sign posted above the tunnel entrance, at the end of this street reads: "Weymouth Crowell Co. - General Contractors". The Wayland Apts. offering "low rates" is visible on the left corner next to Savoy Auto Park, whose rates are .25 cents all day, or $5.00 per month. The large white building on the right is the Bible Institute, later to become Church of the Open Door/Biola Institute.  

 

Historical Notes

The Central Library Goodhue building was constructed between 1924 and 1926 on the site once occupied by the State Normal School (later to evolve into UCLA).

 

 

 

 
(1926)*##^ – Closer view looking north on Hope Street showing the Central Library Goodhue building in its final stages of construction.  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1935)* - Walkway and front facade of Los Angeles Public Library's Central Library, located at 630 W. 5th Street. View is looking east from Flower Street with the Church of the Open Door (Bible Institute) to the right.  

 

Historical Notes

On March 1, 1967 the Central Library Building was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 46 (Click HERE to see listing). It is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

 

 

 
(1926)* - Interior view of the History Department, at Los Angeles Central Library; view is looking toward the Travel and Biography section. The reference desk is visible mid-way on the left, and long wooden tables can be seen throughout the department - all have tall lamps illuminating each area. Note the colorful ceiling beams and checkerboard floor.  

 

Historical Notes

The History Department was previously known as the Reference Room - which was the largest reading room of the library.*

 

 

Click HERE to see more Early Views of the Los Angeles Central Library

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Million Dollar Theatre Building

 
(1925)* - Exterior view of a building on the corner of Third Street and Broadway.  It was the home of the Edison Company offices, the Million Dollar Theatre (formerly Gruman’s Theater), and the Owl Drug Company. The marquee indicates that Charlie Chaplin's 1925 film Gold Rush is playing at the theater.  

 

Historical Notes

Albert G. Martin and William Lee Woollett designed the building, constructed in 1918. The exterior, in the "Churrigueresque" style, was designed by A.C. Martin Sr., while the baroque interior was designed by W.L. Woolett. The interior includes the mural 'The Witch Scene from Macbeth' and a sculpture by Joe Morra.

Click HERE to see more early views of the Million Dollar Theatre Building.

 

* * * * *

 

 

Metropolitan Theatre

 
(ca. 1925)* - View of the Grauman's Metropolitan Theater Building (later the Paramount Theater) located on the northeast corner of Broadway and 6th Street across from Pershing Square.  

 

Historical Notes

The Grauman’s Metropolitan opened in January 1923.  It was designed by Architect William Lee Woollett, who had previously designed the Million Dollar Theatre for Sid Grauman.

The Metropolitan opened with an air conditioning system -- one of the Carrier Corporation's first big commercial jobs.**^

 

 

 

 
(1923)* - Interior view of the Metropolitan Theater as seen from the stage.  

 

Historical Notes

With over 3,600 seats, the Metropolitan/Paramount was the largest movie theater in Los Angeles for many years. Not only did it have one of the largest balconies ever built, its projector had the longest projection throw in the city.^^^*

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)* - View of the proscenium from the balcony of the Metropolitan Theatre (Paramount Theatre after 1928).  

 

Historical Notes

In July 1924 Grauman sold his downtown holdings to Paramount Publix. Like other west coast Publix theatres, the Metropolitan was actually operated by Fox West Coast for Paramount. Publix continued to use the Grauman name in advertising although he no longer participated in the theatre's operation. The Metropolitan name came off the building in 1928 and the theatre became the Paramount.**^

In 1963, the Paramount was torn down to make way for a parking lot. In the early 1980’s, a bank was built on this same lot.^^^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Cocoanut Grove

 
(ca. 1920s)^*# - Postcard view of he Ambassador Hotel and the Cocoanut Grove. Ben Bernie and his orchestra are featured at the Grove.  

 

Historical Notes

The Ambassador Hotel and the Cocoanut Grove began operation formally on January 1, 1921, and were located at 3400 Wilshire Boulevard, between Catalina Street and Mariposa Avenue.^*

In 1925 Ben Bernie and his orchestra did the first recording of Sweet Georgia Brown. Bernie was the co-composer of this jazz standard (also Maceo Pinkard), which became the theme song of the Harlem Globetrotters.^*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1938)* - A view across the dining room of the nightclub. Tables and the dance floor are filled with customers. A waiter stands in front. A large number of cocoaut trees spread throughout the room, plus the ornate decorations of ceilings and walls give the room an exotic look.  

 

Historical Notes

For decades, the the Ambassador Hotel's famed Cocoanut Grove nightclub hosted well-known entertainers, such as Frank Sinatra, Barbra Streisand, Judy Garland, Lena Horne, Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole, Liza Minnelli, Martin and Lewis, The Supremes, Merv Griffin, Dorothy Dandridge, Vikki Carr, Evelyn Knight, Vivian Vance, Dick Haymes, Sergio Franchi, Perry Como, Dizzy Gillespie, Benny Goodman, Sammy Davis Jr., Little Richard, Liberace, Natalie Cole, and Richard Pryor.^*

On February 29, 1940, the 1939 Academy Awards Ceremony was held in the Cocoanut Grove, with Bob Hope hosting.*

 

 

 
(2005)* - View of Cocoanut Grove entrance, facing south. For decades this was "the" hot spot for live entertainment on the West Coast, where people like Bing Crosby and Barbra Streisand got their start, and Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr. and many others came to perform.  

 

Historical Notes

In 2005, most of the Ambassador Hotel was demolished leaving only the annex that housed the hotel entrance, a shopping arcade, the coffee shop, and the Cocoanut Grove, all of which were promised to be preserved in some manner and used in a new LAUSD school to be built on the site. Due to poor structural integrity, however, the LAUSD decided to demolish most of the Cocoanut Grove, retaining only the hotel entrance and east wall of the Grove.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

George L. Crenshaw Residence

 
(ca. 1924)* - Exterior view of the home once owned by George L. Crenshaw, located at 1419 S. Wilton Place. The roof and eaves are adorned with tiles, there is a slightly rounded dome on the left of the house, and arches on the second floor balcony. Above that, a dormer with three windows. The home became the Philanthropy and Civics Club clubhouse in 1924. A sign next to a flagpole on the front lawn reads, "Philanthropy and Civics Club".  

 

Historical Notes

George L. Crenshaw was a banker and real estate developer who built several upscale residential developments in mid-city Los Angeles in the early 1900s. Among these was Lafayette Square and Wellington Square. The Crenshaw district of Los Angeles and its principal thoroughfare, Crenshaw Boulevard, bear his name.^*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

First Church of Christ

 
(ca. 1920)* - View of the First Church of Christ from Hoover Street. Alvarado Street is on the left and Alvarado Terrace is on the right.  

 

Historical Notes

Designed by architect Elmer Grey in the Beaux Arts/Italian/Spanish Romanesque style, the First Church of Christ, Scientist was constructed in 1912. It later became the Central Spanish Seventh-Day Adventist Church. It is Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 89.*

Click HERE to see the complete list of the LA Historic-Cultural Monuments.

 

 

 
(ca. 1925)* - Exterior view of First Church of Christ, Scientist, located at 1366 So. Alvarado Street.  

 

Historical Notes

Now the Iglesia Adventista Central. For a time in the 1970s it served as the Los Angeles branch of the ill-fated Peoples Temple led by the Rev. Jim Jones.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

B'nai B'rith Temple

 
(1926)* - Exterior view of the second B'nai B'rith Temple on the corner of 9th and Hope streets. Neighboring businesses, hotels and apartment buildings are visible all along Hope Street, which runs from the foreground to the left side of the image.  

 

Historical Notes

Architect Abraham M. Edelman designed this synagogue, the second building for the congregation of B'nai B'rith. The cornerstone was laid on March 15, 1896 and it was dedicated on September 5th of the same year. The synagogue, which had seating for 600 people, was built of red brick with twin towers and pomegranate domes, its floors were carpeted in deep red with plush-cushioned pews and had a chandelier containing 60 bulbs, which made it the largest in the city. H.W. Hellman, Harris Newmark, Kaspare Cohn, and Mrs. J.P. Newmark presented the beautiful stained glass windows. This grand edifice was replaced in 1929 when Wilshire Boulevard Temple opened.*

Congregation B'nai B'rith occupied its first building at Temple and Broadway in Downtown from 1862 until 1895.*

Click HERE to see first location of B'nai B'rith Temple.

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Wilshire Christian Church

 
(ca. 1927)* - Exterior view of the Romanesque Revival style Wilshire Christian Church during its construction, as seen from the western side of Normandie Avenue. The church's large rose window designed by Judson Studios has yet to be installed, but the window opening has been covered to protect the interior of the structure.  

 

Historical Notes

After land was donated by Charles Chapman in 1911, a small bungalow style church was built at this corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Normandie Avenue. In 1927 the original church was replaced by this Northern Italian Romanesque style structure with a 200-foot tower, designed by Robert H. Orr.*

Charles Clarke Chapman (1853–1944) was the first mayor of Fullerton, California and a relative of John Chapman, the legendary "Johnny Appleseed." He was a native of Illinois who had been a Chicago publisher before settling in Southern California.

Chapman was a supporter of the Disciples of Christ, who was a primary donor and fundraiser for California Christian College, which in 1934 changed its name to Chapman College, and is now Chapman University, in his honor.^*

 

 

 
(ca. 1927)* - Exterior view of the Romanesque Revival style Wilshire Christian Church, as seen from the southwest corner of the intersection of Normandie Avenue and Wilshire Boulevard not long after it was constructed in 1927.  

 

Historical Notes

Located at 634 S. Normandie Avenue, the church was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument No. 209 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(ca. 1930)* - Exterior view of the Wilshire Boulevard Christian Church taken from across Wilshire Boulevard. Located at 634 S. Normandie Avenue. The two towers for KFAC, a radio station next door, are visible.  

 

Historical Notes

On May 19, 1940, First Christian Church of Los Angeles merged with Wilshire Boulevard Christian Church to become Wilshire Christian Church, which is of the Disciples of Christ denomination.*

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Los Angeles Stock Exchange

 
(ca. 1927)^ - View of the Yosemite Building located at 115 South Broadway. This was the first home of the Los Angeles Stock Exchange in 1900.  

 

Historical Notes

On December 7, 1899, a group of oil men lead by Wallace Libby Hardison met to organize the Los Angeles Oil Exchange to promote their industry, figure out how to get more investments, and set up a marketplace for related securities. The Exchange’s first trading session was on February 1, 1900, in the Yosemite Building on South Broadway, with seats selling for fifty bucks. At the end of the year, on December 23, the powers-that-be broadened the market’s services and renamed it the Los Angeles Stock Exchange.***#

 

 

 
(1930s)^ - View looking east on First Street showing the second home of the Los Angeles Stock Exchange. It was located on the second floor of the Tajo building, 307 West First Street. The LA Times building is seen at right on the corner of First and Broadway.  

 

Historical Notes

The Exchange had relocated to half a dozen different locations in the city (including the Buildings Tajo, Hellman, and Chamber of Commerce) when, in early May 1929, the market bought the Strong & Dickinson (formerly Meredith) Building at 618 South Spring.***#

 

 

 
(1939)* - Exterior view of the Los Angeles Stock Exchange Building at 618 South Spring Street on May 5, 1939, ten years after it was built.  

 

Historical Notes

Built in 1929, the eleven-story exchange building was designed by Samuel Lunden in the Moderne style. Ground was broken in October 1929, just as the Great Depression hit, and when the Los Angeles Stock Exchange opened its doors there in 1931, the country was deep into the Depression. The Stock Exchange would stay in this building until 1986.^*

On January 3, 1979, the Los Angeles Stock Exchange Building was designated LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 205 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

 

 
(1938)^ - Stock brokers on the floor of the Los Angeles Stock Exchange at 618 S. Spring Street.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Temple Block to City Hall

 
(ca. 1926)* - Temple Block as it appeared just one year before construction of today's City Hall.  

 

Historical Notes

This site, at the intersection of Spring, Main and Temple, is where John Temple built his original two-story adbobe two-story adobe in the early 1800s.

Jonathan Temple was one of Los Angeles’ first developers, constructing the original Temple Block and the Market House, which later served as city and county administrative headquarters, contained the county courthouse, and featured the first true theater in southern California. Temple Street carries his name.^*

The Old Courthouse occupied Temple Block between 1861 and 1891.*

 

 

   
(1927)^*^* - The last stand of the historic Temple Block. As the steel frame of the new City Hall neared completion the proud building, once dominant in the business and professional life of the city, was razed.    

 

 

Click HERE to see more of Construction of Today's City Hall

 

* * * * *

 

 

Patriotic Hall

 
(ca. 1927)^ - View looking north on Figueroa from just south of Washington Boulevard.  A paperboy dressed in light-colored clothing stands at the center of the street to the right hawking papers while cars pass him on either side.  The large building in the background is the Patriotic Hall  

 

Historical Notes

The Allied Architects Association of Los Angeles designed Patriotic Hall in the Italian Renaissance Revival style. When completed in 1926, the building was the tallest in all of Los Angeles, at the equivalent of twelve stories. #^*#

 

 

 
(1937)* – View showing the front entrance to the Patriotic Hall located at 1816 S. Figueroa Street.  

 

Historical Notes

Patriotic Hall housed service members on leave during World War II. It also hosted top performers who entertained the troops, including Bob Hope, Bing Crosby, and Dorothy Lamour.

The building also housed the City’s municipal courts in the 1940s, as new ones were being constructed. During the Korean War, it served as a processing center for the Army and Air Force. #^*#

 

 

 
(1985)*++ - View looking up towards the top of Patriotic Hall. Photo by Julius Shulman  

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2012)^+^ – View showing the Bob Hope Patriotic Hall grand lobby after renovation.  

 

Historical Notes

On November 12, 2004, the building was renamed “Bob Hope Patriotic Hall” in honor of Bob Hope an honorary veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces.

Over the years, Bob Hope Patriotic Hall fell into disrepair. Its infrastructure and systems were sorely out of date, and it suffered from deferred maintenance. In 2006, the County of Los Angeles fundraised for the rehabilitation of the facility, a project with a budget of over $75 million.

The project entailed a large-scale, comprehensive interior and exterior rehabilitation. Internally, the project team restored wood doors and hardware, marble finishes, ceramic tile, decorative plaster and painting, murals, and auditorium and gymnasium seats.

Externally, the team restored and repaired all historic features, including cast stone, granite, brick masonry, terrazzo, steel windows and hardware, metal skylights, wrought iron doors, metal fire escapes and railings, decorative metal louvers and grilles, copper cornice and gutters, clay tile roof, plaster, decorative painting and stenciling, stained glass, and light fixtures. #^*#

 

 

 
(2015)#^** – Google street view showing the Patriotic Hall located where 18th Street meets Figueroa Street..  

 

Historical Notes

The building’s restoration project preserved one of Los Angeles’ most prominent, highly visible historical facilities, earning a Conservancy Preservation Award in 2014. Bob Hope patriotic Hall now enjoys new life as a multipurpose facility, with ample meeting and conference space for veterans and others in the community to meet and recreate.#^*#

 

 

 

 
(2013)*# - Close-up detailed view showing the ceiling of Bob Hope Patriotic Hall's arched entrance.  

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

Barker Brothers

 
(1926)* - Barker Brothers furniture store building, located at 818 W. 7th St. Cars are moving along Seventh St. and Pacific Electric streetcar tracks are visible in the foreground. A policeman is seen standing on a box in the middle of the intersection directing traffic.  

 

Historical Notes

The 1925 building, designed in the Renaissance Revival style by Curlett and Beelman, was said to have been inspired by the Strozzi Palace in Florence. The symmetrically developed twelve-story structure is faced in terra cotta and brick, with a monumental three-story round arched center entry. Inside there is a forty-foot-high lobby court with beamed and vaulted ceilings.*

 

 

 
(1930s)^ - View of the Barker Brothers building on the southeast corner of 7th & Figueroa. The M & H Cut Rate Luncheonette sits on the opposite corner adjacent to a parking lot. Sign on the mini-diner reads: “Optimo Cigars”  

 

Historical Notes

Obadiah J. Barker was a Los Angeles business man and the founder and president of the furniture company, Barker Brothers. Born in Bloomfield, Indiana, Barker moved with his family to Colorado Springs, Colorado as a young man. He attended Colorado College and also attended dental school in St. Louis. However, he did not complete dental school and moved to Los Angeles with his parents and brothers in 1880. The family began a successful furniture business on Spring Street in Los Angeles. The company became one of the world's biggest house-furnishing stores.^*

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Another look at the Barker Brothers building with a better view of its grand 3-story arched entryway.  

 

Historical Notes

Barker Brothers' fine furnishings was a Los Angeles upscale furniture chain that closed in 1992 after operating for more than 110 years.^*

 

 

 
(1930s)* - Exterior view of the Barker Brothers furniture store building, located at 818 W. 7th St. Pedestrians can be seen walking in front of the over-sized display windows.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1988, the Barker Brothers Building on the southeast corner of 7th Street and Figueroa was dedicated LA Historic-Cultural Monument No. 356 (Click HERE to see complete listing).

 

* * * * *

 

 

Coffee Cup Cafe

 
(1920s)* - View of the Coffee Cup Cafe located at 8901 Pico Boulevard. A giant coffe cup and saucer sit on top of the cafe structure.  

 

Historical Notes

In the 1920s and 1930s, more and more business catered to the Los Angeles automobile culture.  Buildings and structures became more unique, often resembling the merchandise or services they hawked.  Giant sized version of objects (Giant Hat – Brown Derby, Giant Dog - Pup Café, Giant Coffee Cup – Coffee Cup Café, etc.) began to pop up everywhere. #^#^

These “hey-you-can’t miss-me!” buildings (referred to as Novelty or Programmatic Architecture) were made to pull automobile drivers right off the road.

Click HERE to see more examples of Programmatic Architecture.

 

 

Coffee Pot Restaurant

 
(ca. 1925)#*#^ - View showing a car in the parking lot of the Wilshire Coffee Pot restaurant. The restaurant and coffee shop was located at 8601 Wilshire Boulevard, on the northwest corner of Stanley Drive and Wilshire Blvd. A giant coffee pot sits on top of the building. Ben-Hur Coffee is featured.  

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1930s)* - Close-up view of the Wilshire Coffee Pot restaurant, located at 8601 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills.  The building has a coffee pot on the roof with advertisement for: Ben-Hur Delicious Drip Coffee.   

 

* * * * *

 

Hollyhock House

 
(1920s)* – Aerial view looking north showing the Hollyhock House on top of Olive Hill. The estate is bounded by Hollywood Blvd (North), Sunset Blvd(South), Edgemont St (West), and Vermont Ave (East).  

 

Historical Notes

Originally designed by Frank Lloyd Wright as a residence for oil heiress Aline Barnsdall, The Hollyhock House was built in 1919–1921. Barnsdall originally intended the house to be part of an arts and theater complex on a property known as Olive Hill, but the larger project was never completed.*^

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1927)* - Aerial view showing Barnsdall Art Park and the Frank Lloyd Wright designed Hollyhock House.  At upper center-left is Los Feliz Elementary School.  At upper-right corner is the intersection of Hollywood Boulevard and Vermont Ave.  

 

Historical Notes

Disillusioned by the costs of construction and maintenance, Barnsdall donated the house to the city of Los Angeles in 1927 under the stipulation that a fifteen-year lease be given to the California Art Club for its headquarters, which it maintained until 1942. The house has been used as an art gallery and as a United Service Organizations (USO) facility over the years. Beginning in 1974, the city sponsored a series of restorations, but the structure was damaged in the 1994 Northridge earthquake. It was again restored, and was open to the public as of June 2005.*^

 

 

 

 
(1939)* - View of archway and greenery, Hollyhock House located at 4808 Hollywood Boulevard in Barnsdall Park. The home was built between 1919-1921. Architect: Frank Lloyd Wright. Home has a "pre-Columbian air and stylized hollyhock ornamentation" - Gebhard & Winter, restored by Lloyd Wright (his son).  

 

Historical Notes

Like many houses designed by Wright, it proved to be better as an aesthetic work than as a livable dwelling. Water tended to flow over the central lawn and into the living room, and the flat roof terraces were conceived without an understanding of Los Angeles' rains. The cantilevered concrete also has not stood up well to the area's earthquakes.*^

 

 

 

 
(2005)*^ – Close-up view of Frank Lloyd Wright's Hollyhock House, located at 4808 Hollywood Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

Originally designed by Frank Lloyd Wright as a residence for oil heiress Aline Barnsdall, The Hollyhock House is now the centerpiece of the city's Barnsdall Art Park.*^

Hollyhock House was added to the National Register of Historical Places in 1971 - Building #71000143 and designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #12 in 1963. The 12-acre Barnsdall Park was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #34 in 1965 and Residence A (Barnsdall Park Arts Center) was designated Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #33 in 1965.

Click HERE to see complete listing of LA Historic-Cultural Monuments.

 

 

* * * * *

 

Ennis House

 
(n.d.)#^*# - View showing the Ennis House, designed in 1923 by Frank Lloyd Wright for Charles and Mabel Ennis, and built in 1924. It is located at 2655 Glendower Avenue in the Los Feliz area of Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

The Ennis House, designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and built by his son, Lloyd, is the last and largest of the elder Wright’s four “textile block” houses in the Los Angeles area. These homes are noted for their patterned and perforated concrete blocks, which give a unique textural appearance to both the exterior and interior. #^*#

 

 

 

 
(n.d.)#++ - View looking up toward the Ennis House from bottom of hill.  

 

Historical Notes

Built for retailer Charles Ennis and his wife Mabel, the home is constructed of more than 27,000 concrete blocks, all made by hand using decomposed granite extracted from the site. The home’s unique appearance has made it a popular filming location for TV and movies, including The House on Haunted Hill (1959), Blade Runner (1982), and the television series Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

By 2005, deferred maintenance, earthquakes, and heavy rains had taken a toll on the Ennis House. Foundations and walls had begun to fail, and the situation grew so dire that the National Trust for Historic Preservation included the home on its 2005 list of America's 11 Most Endangered Places. Work to stabilize and restore the house began in 2006, earning a Conservancy Preservation Award in 2008. #^*#

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2008)#++ - Interior view of the Ennis House showing entryway  

 

Historical Notes

Wright's client was Charles Ennis, the owner of a men's clothing store in downtown L.A. and an enthusiast of Mayan art and architecture. For each of Wright's houses built with concrete blocks, or textile blocks as they are often called, Wright designed a custom pattern. For the Ennis house, the pattern was a Greek key. Within the interlocking form, it's possible to interpret a stylized "g" -- perhaps an allusion to the Masonic Order, of which Ennis was a member, and the organization's symbol, the compass with the letter "g" in the middle representing God.*#

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 2008)#++ - A long symmetical corridor connects two sections of the Ennis House.  

 

Historical Notes

The house consists of two buildings, the main house and a smaller chauffeur's apartment/garage, separated by a paved courtyard. Unlike the vertical orientation of the other three block houses, the Ennis House has a long horizontal loggia spine on the northern side, connecting public and private rooms to the south, and is very large at 10,000 sq ft. The kitchen, pantry, guest room, dining room, living room, master bathroom and bedroom, upper terrace, and second bathroom and bedroom are at the eastern and lower end of the main building.^*

 

 

 

 

 
(2005)^* - Front side of the Ennis House located at 2655 Glendower Avenue in the Los Feliz community of, Los Angeles.  

 

Historical Notes

When Frank Lloyd Wright completed the Ennis house in 1924, he immediately considered it his favorite. The last and largest of the four concrete-block houses that Wright built in the Los Angeles area remains arguably the best residential example of Mayan Revival architecture in the country. When The Times' Home section convened a panel of historians, architects and preservationists in 2008 to vote on the region's best houses of all time, the Ennis house ranked ahead of the Modernist Eames house, the John Lautner spaceship-on-a-hill known as Chemosphere and the Arts & Crafts beauty the Gamble house.*#

In 1976, the Ennis House was declared LA Historic-Cultural Monument No.149.

On July 15, 2011, The Ennis House Foundation announced the sale of the house to business executive Ron Burkle for just under $4.5 million.  A condition of the sale is an easement that allows public viewing 12 days per year, a condition binding on subsequent buyers.^*

 

 

* * * * *

 

Warner Brothers West Coast Studio

 
(ca. 1920)* - View showing the original "Barn" filming stage at the Warner Brothers West Coast Studio at Sunset and Bronson in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1918, the Brothers Warner (Harry, Albert, Sam and Jack) bought 10.2-acres of land in Hollywood from the Beesmyer family at a cost of $25,000. In 1919 they built a giant stage nicknamed The Barn, which measured 50-feet wide by 100- feet long. This stage was torn down in 1923 and was replaced by a collection of smaller stages and buildings.*

 

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1926)^ - View of Sunset Boulevard looking west from near Van Ness Avenue showing the Warner Brothers Studio.  Automobiles are parked along the left sidewalk while still others navigate the boulevard. To the left, the Romanesque architecture of the Warner Bros. West Coast Studio building can be seen flanked to either side by tall radio towers, with its entranceway supported by Doric columns.  Hotel Iris can be seen across the street (This is where Judy Garland once stayed).  

 

Historical Notes

The studio was the site where the first talking feature film, The Jazz Singer, was filmed in 1927.*

 

 

 

 

 
(1927)* - View looking southeast from the intersection of Sunset and Bronson Ave showing the Warner Brothers West Coast Studios, located at 5858 Sunset Boulevard.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1925, Sam Warner started KFWB radio station on the lot. Note the station’s two 150-foot towers in the above photo.*

 

 

 

 

 
(1930)* - Sunset Boulevard looking west from Van Ness. To the left is Warner Brothers West Coast Studios; to the right is the Hotel Eldorado, which was prviously the Hotel Iris .  

 

Historical Notes

Warner Bros bought a majority interest in First National Studios in 1928, consolidating its executive offices into that company’s 1926 Burbank lot after a $500,000 building program was completed in January 1930. Production followed over the hills shortly thereafter. While filming primarily occurred at the Burbank location, some shooting and phonograph recording continued at the Hollywood lot.  

In the 1930s, Termite Terrace, the animation production unit behind the Merrie Melodies and Looney Tunes cartoons operated out of the Warner Bros Hollywood studio.

By the end of 1937, the Warner Bros had vacated their Hollywood home.***#

 

 

 

 

 
(1937)^^** - View of the site of the filming of The Jazz Singer, the first feature film with synchronized sound. Converted to a bowling alley and sports center.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1937, Sam Warner's brother-in-law, Harry Charnas, opened Sunset Bowling Center behind the old executive offices of Warner Bros. Studios. The Sunset Bowling Center was part of a "sports palace" that also contained badminton courts and a skating rink.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1941)* - Facade of the Sunset Bowling Center on Sunset Blvd. in Hollywood most likely taken during a bowling tournament held there in 1941. The 1922 building served as the West Coast headquarters of the Warner brothers, Harry, Albert, Sam, and Jack, until 1929.  

 

Historical Notes

With 52 bowling lanes, the Sunset Bowling Center was the largest in the world at that time. Pin boys lived in the loft of the building. The bowling center operated for ten years.*

 

 

 

 
(ca. 1940)* - Exterior view of neoclassical style Sunset Bowling Center, located at 5858 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1954, Paramount bought the site to provide television production facilities for KTLA, which moved to the site in 1958. Gene Autry bought KTLA in 1964, and leased the space from Paramount for three years, after which he bought the property for a whopping $5 million dollars.*

In June 1968, radio station KMPC, of which Autry was a principal owner since 1952, also moved to the site.***#

 

 

 
(2008)^* - View of the Executive Office Building at the Old Warner Brothers Studio — on Sunset Boulevard, in Hollywood. It is officially called today Sunset Bronson Studios and also known as KTLA Studios and Tribune Studios.  

 

Historical Notes

In 1982, an investment-banking firm bought the lot and KTLA, and three years later, sold out to the Tribune Company. In January of 2008, Hudson Capital purchased the landmark 1920s Warner Bros. Studio for an astounding $130 million dollars.*

 

 

 
(ca. 2014)###* - View of the Sunset Bronson Studios, also known as KTLA Studios and Tribune Studios.  

 

Historical Notes

This beautiful building of classical design, which boasts of a big colonnade of Doric columns, was declared Historic-Cultural Monument No. 180 in 1977 by the city of Los Angeles (Click HERE to see complete listing).

Being the "Site of the Filming of the First Talking Film”, the facilities were also listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.^*

 

* * * * *

 

First Presbyterian Church of Hollywood

 
(ca. 1926)^^- View looking up an unpaved Gower Street showing the First Presbyterian Church of Hollywood located on the northeast corner of Gower and Carlos Ave.  

 

Historical Notes

The church was founded in 1903. A large brick gothic sanctuary was built in 1923, and seats 1,800, with a balcony on both sides and in the back. The church campus covers a full square block on Gower Street, one block north of Hollywood Boulevard and three blocks from the legendary intersection of Hollywood and Vine. ^*

 

 

 
(2015)^*– View showing the First Presbyterian Church of Hollywood located at 1760 N Gower Street.  

 

Historical Notes

Dedicated on November 16, 1924, the First Presbyterian Church of Hollywood immediately became one of the area’s most notable landmarks and one of its most popular churches with attendees coming not just from Hollywood but surrounding communities as well. In fact, by the 1960’s the church had grown to become the largest Presbyterian church in the world with a congregation exceeding 8,000 with nationally/internationally known pastors at its head. One of the best known, Dr. Lloyd Ogilvie, left the church in 1995 to become Chaplain of the United States Senate. Ogilvie was the second former pastor from Hollywood Presbyterian to be accorded the honor, the first being Dr. Richard C. Halverson.

By 2013, however, the congregation had fallen to 1,036. ^*

 

 

 
(2015)#^^* – Google Earth View showing the Hollywood Presbyterian Church located on the northeast corner of Gower Street and Carlos Avenue with the Hollywood Freeway in the background.  

 

Historical Notes

The church drew congregants from an area much larger than the Hollywood community, taking advantage of its access to the Los Angeles freeway system (the church is located one block south of the Gower Street exit from the Hollywood Freeway). ^*

The First Presbyterian Church of Hollywood remains one of Hollywood’s most visible, beautiful and historic landmarks.

 

Click HERE to see more in Early Views of Hollywood (1920 +)

 

 

 

 

 

 

* * * * *

 

 

 

For more Historical Los Angeles Views click one of the following:

 

 

For Other Historical Views click one of the following:

 

 

See Our Newest Sections:

 

 

To see how Water and Electricity shaped the history of Los Angeles click one of the following:

 

Water:

 

Power:

 

* * * * *

 

 

References and Credits

* LA Public Library Image Archive

^ USC Digital Archive

**DWP - LA Public Library Image Archive

*^Oviatt Library Digital Archives

^^ Daily Breeze: Los Angeles Motordome

*# LA Times: Hollywood Castles and Curious Cures; Olympic Auditorium History; The Ennis House; Bob Hope Patriotic Hall reopens in L.A.

#^^Calisphere Digital Archive

#**Themerica.org: Tam O'Shanter Inn

#++Mattconstruction.com: The Ennis House

#^*Huntington Digital Library Archive

#*^Pasadena Digital History

^*#California State Library Image Archive

^**UCLA Commencement

^++You_Are_Here.com

^+^Bob Hope Patriotic Hall Renovation

+**Jonathan Club History

+##RolandCommunications.com: Tam O'Shanter

++#Movie Palaces: Beverly Theater

^^*Early Downtown Los Angeles - Cory Stargel, Sarah Stargel

^^+Fightland: Fight Night at the Olympic

**#Noirish Los Angeles - forum.skyscraperpage.com; Elks Building - Horthos; Tam O'Shanter Inn; Garden Court Apartments; Angelus Temple; Coliseum Construction

**^Historical LA Theatres: The Philharmonic Auditorium; Downtown Theatres; Mason Theatre; Loew's State Theatre; Metropolitan/Paramount Theatre; Biltmore Theater

*^#Publicartinla.com - Bovard Hall

*##Curbed LA: California Broadway Trade Center

^^#CSULB - A Visit to Old LA: Hamburger Dept. Store

***Los Angeles Historic - Cultural Monuments Listing

*^*California Historical Landmarks Listing (Los Angeles)

*^^Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles: losangelespast.com

*++Getty Research Institute

^*^LA Street Names - LA Times

*^*^UCLA Libraries Special Collection: Pico House Courtyard

*^^*Pacific Eelecfric in San Pedro/Wilmington

^^**Flickr.com: Floyd Bariscale - Sunset Bowling Center

^^++Facebook.com - Pasadena Digital History

^^^*Cinema Treasures: Metropolitan/Paramount Theatre

^*^*Los Angeles Past: The Oldest Building in Los Angeles; Temple and Main Streets, Los Angeles - Then and Now

^*#*Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum and Sports Arena

^**#FarmersMarketla.com

^*^#Facebook.com - Bizarre Los Angeles

***#Big Orange: Los Angeles Stock Exchange Building; Warner Bros; Saint Vincent de Paul Church

**^#Vintage Los Angeles - Facebook.com: Bernheimer Japanese Mansion; Masonic Temple

^#**A Brief Egyptian Theatre History

^##*Los Angeles Fire Department Historical Archive

#**^Pinterest - Mid Century Hollywood

#*#*Fairfax High School Home Page

#*#^Flickr.com: Wilshire Boulevard History

#^*#Los Angeles Conservancy: Junipero Serra State Office Building; The Ennis House; Bob Hope Patriotic Hall

#^#^Weird California: Los Angeles' Programmatic Architecture

*###The Story of Hollywood by Gregory Paul Williams

^^##Metropolitan Transportation Library and Archive: Hill St. Station; Subway Terminal Building

###*Sunset Bronson Studios: Hudson Pacific Properties

##^*Facebook.com: Classic Hollywood-Los Angeles-SFV

#^^*Google Maps

#***Flickr.com: Old Los Angeles Postcards

^***^Facebook.com: Garden of Allah Novels

^* Wikipedia: Leonis Adobe; Occidental College; Beverly Hills; Beverly Hills Hotel; Huntington Hotel; Bank of Italy; Van de Kamp's Holland Dutch Bakeries; Rose Bowl Stadium; Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum; Farmers and Merchants Bank of Los Angeles; Los Angeles Biltmore Hotel; Jonathan Club; Los Angeles Plaza Historic District; St. Vincent Church; The Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Park Plaza Hotel; YMCA; San Pedro; Venice; Subway Terminal Building; St. Vincent Hospital; Los Angeles Herald-Examiner; Cahuenga Branch Library; Foy House; Frederick Hastings Rindge House; Los Angeles High School; MGM; Breed Street Shul; Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County; Jonathan Temple; Highland Park Masonic Temple; Egyptian Theatre; Phineas Banning; Eagle Rock; Hollywood Masonic Temple; Sawtelle Veterans Home; Downtown, Los Angeles; Los Angeles Philharmonic; Subway Terminal Building; Hollywood Athletic Club; Pío Pico; Los Angeles Plaza Historic District; Jonathan Temple; Charles Clarke Chapman; Los Angeles Stock Exchange; Park Plaza Hotel (Los Angeles); Broadway Theater District: Lowe's State Theater; Obadiah J. Barker; Leslie Brand; Ben Bernie; Ambassador Hotel; Tam O'Shanter Inn; Garden Court Apartments; George L. Crenshaw; St. Vincent's Medical Center; Fairfax High School; Old Warner Bros. Studio; Hollyhock House; Hollywood Bowl; Angelus Temple; Aimee Semple McPherson; Vista Theatre; Grand Olympic Auditorium

 

 

< Back